You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell

'It’s nasty politics': Martin says Varadkar will run a Boris-style general election campaign

He also accused Fine Gael of ‘targeting’ Fianna Fáil members.

LEO VARADKAR WILL run a Boris Johnson-style campaign in the next general election, according to Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin, who also accused the Taoiseach of engaging in “nasty politics”. 

There were rowdy scenes in the Dáil this week when Leo Varadkar came to the defence of former Fine Gael TD Dara Murphy, claiming that he has been present for more Dáil votes in this calendar year than Martin.

“I think an impression is being created that he was totally absent from the Dáil for two years – that of course isn’t true,” Varadkar said of Murphy. “In fact, he was present for more votes in this calendar year than deputy [Micheál] Martin was and the same number as deputy Martin was since the middle of July.”

Varadkar also told Martin that he “shouldn’t be so sensitive” and asked the Fianna Fáil leader if TDs from his party caught up in the votegate controversy “will be rewarded” with becoming ministers if Fianna Fáil makes it into government next year. 

Martin called the Taoiseach a “nasty piece of work”, adding that his “personal attacks” in recent days “impresses no one”.

When asked about the tetchy exchange with Varadkar this week, Martin claimed Fine Gael and the Taoiseach have been engaged in “political targeting” for some time now against some members of the Fianna Fáil party. 

Targeting Lisa Chambers

Martin claimed there has been a concerted effort to single out Mayo TD Lisa Chambers, highlighting a recent video Fine Gael released on social media this week. 

Lisa Chambers is one of the party members caught up in the votegate controversy, which involves politicians voting on behalf of their colleagues in the Dáil chamber. 

The controversy dominated the political agenda in October, when it emerged Fianna Fáil’s justice spokesperson Niall Collins had pressed the voting button of his colleague Timmy Dooley in the Dáil six times in one session.

Chambers made an admission at the time that she also voted for one of her absent colleagues during the same session, before pushing her own button.

She accidentally sat in Dara Calleary’s seat, she explained, but she accepted that she should have told the teller so that the record could be corrected. It has since been reported that she also voted on behalf of Dooley earlier this year. 

Timmy Dooley and Niall Collins were removed from the frontbench over the matter, and an investigation by the Dáil Ethics Committee on what sanctions they may face will reconvene in January. The committee’s report on Chambers said she should be issued an official warning for her conduct

Speaking to reporters yesterday, Martin said regarding the video:

That is bad politics. That’s dirty politics, dirty tricks stuff within the bowels of the Fine Gael Press Office. Let them at it but I’m not going down that route.
Fine Gael are targeting individuals within our party. And that’s the nasty side of it.

Coming to the defence of Lisa Chambers, he said she is “a capable parliamentarian, and was elected well by her people in Mayo”.

He claimed that over the period of 18 months his party noticed “that there has been a targeting”. “And I think its political targeting… I think that’s ongoing… I’ve no doubt about it, that’s the nasty side of it,” he said.

“‘Can we take people out?’ It seems to be on the agenda of Fine Gael. And that’s what I was getting at. And rather than dealing themselves with the issues, it’s about deflection and ‘how many people can we get?’” said Martin.

Calling last week’s complaint made by Fine Gael’s Fergus O’Dowd against Lisa Chambers over votegate “vexatious”, he denied there is a marked difference in the way that Chambers has been treated in comparison to Dooley and Collins. 

file-photo-fianna-fcil-td-lisa-chambers-is-to-be-issued-with-an-official-warning-for-her-involvement-in-the-votegate-controversy-end-26 Leah Farrell Leah Farrell

‘Nasty politics’

“No there’s not,” he said, again asking the question of why “Fine Gael people” are reviewing 12 months of video to examine Chambers’ movements in the Dail.

“That’s my point about this is getting in very nasty politics. So you have teams of people in Fine Gael, or whatever, are going through video after video, and can we nail somebody, and can we get somebody?” he said.

He added that there is a distinction to be drawn between people voting on behalf of others who are within the chamber and those that are not.

“Everybody has admitted that we had lax practices in terms of voting,” he said, adding that there is a members’ interest committee which has dealt with Chambers’ role in the case.

Martin said his team spoke to Chambers about the issue.

“As far as I’m concerned, this is part of a pattern where TDs have been voting for other TDs who are in the chamber”, said Martin, who added he didn’t know whether Chambers did vote for Dooley or not. 

Regarding the video of Chambers, he suggested it “was in the can” when the Taoiseach did his interview on Saturday on RTÉ with Brendan O’Connor and “said ‘look Lisa Chambers should be de-selected and what is Micheál Martin going to do with Niall Collins and Timmy Dooley’”.

“Of course it was in the can and then they do an attack video. That’s all coincidence? I’m supposed to believe that’s all coincidence,” he said.

Martin said Fine Gael are “very organised”, stating: 

They are – in a very dirty way.

He said the deputies caught up in votegate “work very hard… No one can question their commitment to political work”.

He accused the Taoiseach of targeting Fianna Fáil members when Varadkar is asked questions about Dara Murphy or Verona Murphy. 

Boris Johnson-type campaign

The Fianna Fáil leader also raised concerns about the Taoiseach and his ministers making announcements about things that he says will not be delivered for at least 10 or 20 years. 

“The government keeps talking about 2040, 2030. But when you’re on the ground in hospitals, meeting with people, they want to know what’s going to happen in 2020,” he said. 

Martin said it is similar to the kind of “Boris Johnson-type campaign which I think Leo Varadkar is going to run [in the general election] I think, that type of tactics”.

“I think also though we’ve seen negative tactics emerge and Fine Gael have said this, they’ve trailed this – they are going to go for Fianna Fáil frontbench people, they are going to go for me, that it’s going to be ‘attack dog’ approach. That’s what I mean by the nasty side of politics coming out,” he said. 

In response to Martin’s comments, Fine Gael said in a statement: 

The voting irregularities of frontbench Fianna Fáil TDs – Timmy Dooley, Niall Collins, Lisa Chambers – were exposed by good journalism. It is disappointing that instead of responding to the serious issues raised by the lax voting behaviour of some of his TDs, Micheál Martin is spreading conspiracy theories. As for targeting individuals, Frances Fitzgerald still awaits an apology from Micheál Martin for the events of 2017.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

86 Comments
    Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Dec 21st 2019, 6:38 AM

I don’t know what to call that play acting but it is definitely not politics. School yard style nonsense.

Mute Stiofán Mac Stáin
    Favourite Stiofán Mac Stáin
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:49 AM

@David Corrigan: It really shows Martin is not suitable for office; using the name of the prime minister of our closest neighbours & ally as a slur shows his immaturity.

Mute milton friedman
    Favourite milton friedman
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:36 AM

@Stiofán Mac Stáin: he think Irish people don’t like Boris (fairly true), so hoping that resonates with the electorate.

It’s fairly childish and assumes the Irish people are silly. FF should talk about their policies; and hopefully the electorate will take their policies and previous experience into account when telling them to take a hike.

Mute Kathleen O Connor
    Favourite Kathleen O Connor
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:32 PM

@milton friedman: why is it nor true. Like BoJo isn’t he half foreigner. Turk/ Indian.

Mute Margaret Morris
    Favourite Margaret Morris
    Dec 21st 2019, 6:53 AM

I hope they are voted out! Been leading this country for way to long, with not much work done for the hospitals, homelessness, people bringing in two incomes! still cant afford to buy a home!!! Something smells ROTTEN about the whole lot of the partys!!!!! Rotten to the core.

Mute Dan2078
    Favourite Dan2078
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:36 AM

@Margaret Morris: that coz they only look after their rich corporate friends

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:56 AM

@Margaret Morris: you’ve forgotten insurance. FG in particular have been pushing the narrative that false claims are to blame for pushing up prices and we know that is not the case.

Mute John Hanrahan
    Favourite John Hanrahan
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:01 AM

@Margaret Morris: And who would you put there instead. Don’t forget, after their last three Fianna Fáil led Governments, Fine Gael and partners, had to bring the country back from financial ruin. If you can’t remember who they were, here they are. Garrett Fitzgerald, John Briton and Enda Kenny. Obviously, Enda Kenny had the most difficult job, with the country on the verge of bankruptcy and the I.M.F. in town. Do not forget that Grease was in every bit as big a trouble as we were, and they’re still trying to get out of it, 5 years after we saw the back of the bankers.

Mute rumug
    Favourite rumug
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:20 AM

@John Hanrahan: words fail me your absolutely deluded.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:10 AM

@John Hanrahan: Good man John. You can type that while you sleep. Time to wake up and do a few jobs around the house.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:13 AM

@John Hanrahan: this coming drom someone who cant spell Greece properly. Obviously a die hard FG supporter

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Dec 21st 2019, 12:12 PM

@John Hanrahan: Ah jog on John ye numpty. Whose ar$ehole are you rimming in FG?

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:03 AM

@Anne Marie Devlin:
    Not false, just huge amounts for injuries which are miraculously self healing once compo is paid.

it;s a monumental racket with the legal profession encouraging false evidence and the judges facilitating it because they are closely connected to the solicitors.

Personal injury claims should be adjudicated by volunteer magistrates. People who represent the cost burden of the present system.

Mute KJmadra.
    Favourite KJmadra.
    Dec 21st 2019, 7:36 AM

Varadkar/Fianna Gael and Martin/Fianna Fail have both failed the people while they have been working together in Government.

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Favourite Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:43 AM

@KJmadra.: Both FF and FG are nearly the same but that is what us Irish people want..
    There is no other party outside FF and FG that has the ability to run this country successfully..

Mute Hawm Quinzy
    Favourite Hawm Quinzy
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:49 AM

@Tim McCormack29: are you saying that FF and FG are running this country successfully? That sort of ridiculous defeatist attitude is why we keep voting in circles and then get shocked when nothing changes.

Mute conriel
    Favourite conriel
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:44 AM

@Tim McCormack29:
    I hope there are not many like you,

Mute ian walsh
    Favourite ian walsh
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:56 AM

@Tim McCormack29: Well, I won’t be voting for either – I’m voting SINN FEIN, and I’ll be using a black ballpoint pen to mark my ballot.

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:06 AM

@Hawm Quinzy: we have the 3rd highest quality of life in the world and we are wealthier per person than ever before.. FF and FG have achieved this..

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:15 AM

@Tim McCormack29: keep thinking the spin

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Dec 21st 2019, 1:01 PM

@Tim McCormack29: What pub you working out of this morning Tim? Sounds like the place is bangin!

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:46 AM

This public bickering is all about trying to establish FF and FG as “rivals” and encourage people to pick a side, despite them operating in perfect harmony for 4 years.
    Neither party greatly care which side you pick, so long as the seesaw keeps going they’ll both get their turn in time.

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:39 AM

@Rochelle: Indeed, this faux outrage building pre-election between two absolute bed fellows should fool no one. Co-designed to maintain the long existing duopoly that has our services in tatters. They’ll be back laughing together in the Dail bar come April.

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:29 AM

@Rochelle: I agree FF and FG have similar policies.. Each are good for Ireland.. It will be hard to decide which one to choose this time.

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:35 AM

@Toon Army: There is a good chance that the next government will be FG in coalition with SF, if the numbers stack up that way. Leo as Taoiseach and Mary Lou as Tainiste. They have been making eyes at each other for a long time now – watch this space. SFG to replace FFG.

Mute Miller
    Favourite Miller
    Dec 21st 2019, 7:22 AM

Martin and FF need to be absolutely clear that Varadkar will fight like a dog using social media, trump and boris tactics to do what ever it takes. Martin needs to dispense the alter boy image and get the gloves out. Leo has failed the irish people in government bar LGBTI++

Mute Dom Layzell
    Favourite Dom Layzell
    Dec 21st 2019, 7:52 AM

@Miller: honest question, what did Boris Johnson do in his campaign that was different?

Mute Miller
    Favourite Miller
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:09 AM

@Dom Layzell: promised to bring them on the path of national suicide.

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:37 AM

@Miller: Martin has kept FG in government this whole time. Getting FF in certainly isn’t the solution. Also, I don’t think Martin has ever been mistaken for an altar boy.

Mute ian walsh
    Favourite ian walsh
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:07 AM

@Dom Layzell: Made all kinds of promises and when the election was over 10 Downing St., said “we won’t be keeping those promises”. Like FF here going to do away with IW, and the election wasn’t over 5 minutes when Barry Cowan said “water charges are back on”

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Dec 21st 2019, 12:15 PM

@Miller: What has Leo done for the LGBT+ community?

Mute Dom Layzell
    Favourite Dom Layzell
    Dec 21st 2019, 2:03 PM

@ian walsh: Exactly what promises did he renaigue on! All I hear him say was get Brexit done! And now he’s just doing it!

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Dec 21st 2019, 2:47 PM

@Dom Layzell: All the money he promised to the NHS for one all the lies he told about Brexit, he said they would align and now he said they wont , hefor starters

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:09 AM

@Miller: LBGTI ++ is liberalism’s sheeps clothing for liberalism’s economic was on society.

Utterly meaningless virtue signalling to a crowd of deplorables

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Dec 21st 2019, 7:59 AM

Boris won the election because Labour are a basket case . He didn’t have to try very hard.

Mute John Hanrahan
    Favourite John Hanrahan
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:04 AM

@John Quill: I agree and Fianna Fáil are another basket case.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:09 AM

@John Hanrahan: I just don’t see the point of FF?

Mute Paul Moreland
    Favourite Paul Moreland
    Dec 21st 2019, 7:39 AM

Ms Chambers has received special treatment from Mr Martin. Dooley and Collins were sacked for the same crime.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:37 AM

@Paul Moreland: they’ll be back what they did will be worn as a badge of honor in f fail.

Mute Mike Murphy
    Favourite Mike Murphy
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:32 AM

Wont be voting for either party …they are useless

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:53 AM

That was always the way FG worked, even as Cumann na nGael they acted dirty, Varadka is a master at it, and hopefully it will backfire on him. Indeed, He has much to worry about himself, with fools like Harris, E .Murphy, Doherty M dArcy, Creed, and I could go on, They are all very poor performers . I suppose He has to try and deflect attention away from them . Anyway, I think their Goose is cooked now.

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:57 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: And FFs goose got cooked in 2008 when they sold the country to the banks and bond holders.

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Dec 22nd 2019, 2:26 AM

@Eugene Comaskey: I voted FG always. Not this time.
    The party has been taken over by ideologues of every PC issue.
    RTE is utterly owned by them
    Families are under attack by women mentored by organised feminists.
    Immigration debate is shut down by well funded NGO’s.
    Immigration cases drag on forever to fatten the legal profession.

The Catholic church is a free-fire zone while state atheism is subsidised
    Quango courts hand out huge awards under gender rights, traveller’s right, racism rights all at the expense of the ordinary citizen and a clear encouragement to fabricate cases.

This country is Kafka come true

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Favourite Ebeneezer Goode
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:02 AM

Neither will command a majority to form a government. So vote FG, get FF. Vote FF. get FG. Here’s a mad idea….vote for neither.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:04 AM

One cheek of the backside having a jibe at the other one .
    If it was the script of a sitcom it would be funny but alas it isn’t.

The unfortunate part is that these people will be returned to office as the “Sheeple” are too scared to see past their noses .

Mute Paddy J
    Favourite Paddy J
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:24 AM

@Justice Mickey: I think you misunderstood the “sheeple” as you call them. It’s not like they are voting for aliens when they vote for FF and FG, they are voting for their own. FF and FG and if you include their genepool independents account for around 2 in every 3 people in the country and they reflect the values and aspirations of those people. That’s the plain unvarnished truth of it.

Mute Moorooka Mick
    Favourite Moorooka Mick
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:00 AM

Martin should worry about his own campaign and in particuluar social and economic policies that will counter the negative impact of Brexit.
    Fianna Fail should be all about:
    -compensating working class by lowering USC
    -lift corporate tax to 15%
    -reduce car tax for pensioners
    -abolish the TV licence charge
    -decentralise more government agencies from Dublin to regional areas
    -institute a Government Insurance auto injury scheme and package it with car tax
    -legislate maximum claim payouts by category
    -provide a strategic plan for a north/south motorway connecting Monaghan with Tipperary via Longford.

Mute paul gurney
    Favourite paul gurney
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:16 AM

Varadkar is a dirty player.You only have to look at his treatment of Verona Murphy over the last few days..the person who he defended and walked beside when she was still a possible seat for FG but treats her with utter contempt now she’s no use to him..The sooner this man is removed from power the better as his approach to people in general is no different..the peasants are an unwelcome nuisance on his road of statesmanship.

Mute Glenn O'hAilpín
    Favourite Glenn O'hAilpín
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:26 AM

Rather nasty politics than be duped into allowing that relic from 2008 back into power in our country… but God I wish there was another way.

Mute Hawm Quinzy
    Favourite Hawm Quinzy
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:50 AM

@Glenn O’hAilpín: vote for literally anyone else.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Dec 21st 2019, 7:59 AM

Two cheeks of the same ass! I won’t be voting for either of them.

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:44 AM

@Colette Kearns: who else can you vote for..

Mute Hawm Quinzy
    Favourite Hawm Quinzy
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:53 AM

@Tim McCormack29: what’s your political priorities? Try filling out the ‘isidewith’ quiz for Ireland and seeing who matches up.

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:07 AM

@Hawm Quinzy: my priority is to maintain the status quo.

Mute ian walsh
    Favourite ian walsh
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:08 AM

@Tim McCormack29: SINN FEIN

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:27 AM

@ian walsh: sinn Fein would ruin Ireland. People are sensible enough to see through their socialist ideals.

Mute Ian Breathnach
    Favourite Ian Breathnach
    Dec 21st 2019, 12:25 PM

@Tim McCormack29: There is no evidence to back up your bullshyte claim. FF almost broke this country. FG have continued with neoliberal economic policies that we cant afford and they are setting this country up for future misery. SF is the only option in the next GE.

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 12:39 PM

@Ian Breathnach: Lucky a huge majority here don’t agree with you about SF. The Country would be a basket case if any of SFs policies where implemented.

Mute Hawm Quinzy
    Favourite Hawm Quinzy
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:27 PM

@Tim McCormack29: the status quo isn’t working for most of the population. Floundering public services and slavishness to neoliberalism has lead to rampant socioeconomic issues. You can’t scrimp and save your way out of the doldrums.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:31 AM

The GDA should be viewing recordings and arresting every 1 that has voted fraudulently, Mr Martin has a hard neck.

Mute Robert O’H
    Favourite Robert O’H
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:53 AM

Every party has its own votegate situation. The only difference with FF is that they got caught

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:42 AM

Since at least one TD from main pol parties, at some time in the past, has engaged in this loose arrangement on Dail voting, why not call a truce on the matter now and request SIPO, or whoever, to forgive all “seatgate sinners”, & wipe their slate clean, subject to signed undertakings from all TD’s that they will abide by House rules, in future, or face defined sanctions. An individual political career should not be sunk on an honest mistake by a genuine, sincere trier in what is becoming a very challenging career in this age of big bro & s/media.

Similar to C/Tiger era looseness at Sov Gov level with o/sight of rules/regs involving for e.g. Banking, Gov Contracts’ processes, Insurance industry, etc, which almost sunk the country, Dail rules/regs boot needs monthly application.

Mute Mark Sampson
    Favourite Mark Sampson
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:50 AM

No difference between FF & FG and as always there is no creditable alternative expect for some passionate local independence where parish pump politics prevail. Unfortunately the circle continues and nothing will change

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 12:44 PM

@Mark Sampson: Yes Ireland has been fortunate to have stable Government over the years and that is why we are one of the wealthiest countries in the world..

Mute Paul Mujcas
    Favourite Paul Mujcas
    Dec 21st 2019, 1:15 PM

As if making the pocket stuffer Micheal Martin Taoiseach will make one iota of difference to ordinary workers.

Martin is the clown who was part of the ruination of the lives of so many in this country with his pals like Haughey and Aherne, the clown who commissions reports for fun at taxpayers expense, the clown who ‘rested’ a builders cheque in his wife’s bank account, the clown who has done NOTHING for five years except claim a massive salary and expenses to stuff into his bulging pockets, the clown who didn’t notice Dara Murphy (also Cork !) missing from the Dáil for two years, the clown who has unflinchingly supported the austere tory policies of FG for the last five years and that includes supporting complete dunces like Eoghan Murphy and Simon Harris, the clown supporting the absolute madness of putting a childrens hospital in James, the clown supporting the rolling out of an outrageously expensive broadband plan and then giving it away FREE to the rich, the clown who has sat back while thousands have suffered on hospital trolleys, the clown who supports the nanny state sugar taxes and beer taxes punishing the many for the sins of the few, the clown who did nothing to eliminate homelessness, ETC !

You will get what you vote for and FFG are always worse than FFG – same as Torys across the pond.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:36 AM

their both useless -2 cheeks of the same ars*

Mute Tim McCormack29
    Dec 21st 2019, 5:24 PM

@Eric Davies: they are or they’re.

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Dec 21st 2019, 2:06 PM

A vote for either FF fg is a vote for both

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Dec 21st 2019, 8:53 AM

What a load of Rubbish.
    Dirty politics is synonymous with FF.

Mute trebloc01
    Favourite trebloc01
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:39 AM

Problem is FF have left us to the mercy of FG

So who do we vote for next year?

Nothing telling us it won’t happen again

Mute Hawm Quinzy
    Favourite Hawm Quinzy
    Dec 21st 2019, 10:03 AM

@trebloc01: vote for literally anyone else?

Mute padr4
    Favourite padr4
    Dec 21st 2019, 1:57 PM

this is laughable, we live in a fine gael, fianna fail dictatorship

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:10 AM

Dear Santa i would like all FFG supporters to recieve a brain from you this christmas. When God created the FFG supported it may have been late at night and he omitted to provide them with a brain that was rational and capable of understanding the concept of memory. Election after election they vote in the same imbeciles and then wonder how the country is surly going down the river without a paddle. Thank you Santa

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Dec 21st 2019, 2:24 PM

Wake up and review 12 months of video. FF.

Can we afford 4 yrs of FG.

When LV said there is a world of difference in being in dail and have someone vote for you , I was stunned. There is not, you are abusing the process and condoning recording votes for others, it’s sets the culture and is ethically wrong. You personally vote. He clearly has done this himself. They were all at it. Not to mention Enda K’s non presence but full pay

Mute Dermot Foley
    Favourite Dermot Foley
    Dec 21st 2019, 9:40 AM

Except we are not as gullible as a acRoss the water.

Mute Alan Currie
    Favourite Alan Currie
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:38 AM

So will be be giving up reading the Guardian and no more virtue signalling?

Mute Stephen Duffy
    Favourite Stephen Duffy
    Dec 21st 2019, 4:50 PM

Can’t see “get Brexit done” working for Leo..

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Dec 21st 2019, 5:59 PM
    Mute dB O'Neill
    Favourite dB O'Neill
    Dec 21st 2019, 4:31 PM

‘NEW politics’ is here. Brash, shouty arrogant politicians with clever 3 word slogans and impossible to achieve promises who win voter support over considered commentary on world issues and carefully chosen achievable goals. It’s hairography over ballet, if you get me.

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Dec 21st 2019, 12:37 PM

The anti-Conservative bias in Irish politics, as exemplified today by Micheál Martin, is ignorant and stupid.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Dec 21st 2019, 6:11 PM

@J. Reid: But none of the FF tribe says boo to anything FG does???

Mute SandraMeyler
    Favourite SandraMeyler
    Dec 22nd 2019, 12:43 AM

Pair of idiots

Mute Denis Doyle
    Favourite Denis Doyle
    Dec 21st 2019, 11:06 AM

And he will win by a land slide there is no one to come near him

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Dec 21st 2019, 6:02 PM

@Denis Doyle: Yes vote for the party of rich farmers who walk on the poor at every opportunity as they ask FG for more poverty…
    https://www.thejournal.ie/leo-varadkar-supports-taoisigh-foi-documents-4932619-Dec2019

Mute Anna69ex
    Favourite Anna69ex
    Dec 21st 2019, 7:01 PM

hi
    my hot photos are here …
    http://69chat.club
    only 18+

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Dec 21st 2019, 5:57 PM

Boris style is really copying Trump?