You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA

Michigan court rejects bid to bar Trump from 2024 ballot

The court said it will not hear an appeal of a lower court’s ruling from groups seeking to keep Trump from appearing on the ballot.

MICHIGAN’S SUPREME COURT is keeping former US president Donald Trump on the state’s primary election ballot.

The court said on today it will not hear an appeal of a lower court’s ruling from groups seeking to keep Trump from appearing on the ballot.

The state’s high court said in an order that the application by parties to appeal against a December 14 Michigan appeals court judgment was considered but denied “because we are not persuaded that the questions presented should be reviewed by this court”.

The ruling followed a 19 December decision by a divided Colorado Supreme Court which found Trump ineligible to be president because of his role in the 6 January 2021 attack on the US Capitol.

That ruling was the first time in history that Section 3 of the 14th Amendment has been used to disqualify a presidential candidate.

The Michigan and Colorado cases are among dozens hoping to keep Trump’s name off state ballots.

They all point to the so-called insurrection clause that prevents anyone from holding office who “engaged in insurrection or rebellion” against the constitution.

Trump pressed two election officials in Michigan’s Wayne County not to certify 2020 vote totals, according to a recording of a post-election phone call disclosed in a 22 December report by The Detroit News.

The former president’s 2024 campaign has neither confirmed nor denied the recording’s legitimacy.

Lawyers for Free Speech for People, a liberal non-profit group also involved in efforts to keep Trump’s name off the primary ballot in Minnesota, had asked Michigan’s Supreme Court to render its decision by Christmas Day.

The group argued that time was “of the essence” due to “the pressing need to finalise and print the ballots for the presidential primary election”.

Earlier this month, Michigan’s high court refused to immediately hear an appeal, saying the case should remain before the appeals court.

Free Speech for People had sued to force Michigan secretary of state Jocelyn Benson to bar Trump from Michigan’s ballot.

But a Michigan Court of Claims judge rejected its arguments, saying in November that it was the proper role of Congress to decide the question.

Additional reporting by AFP

40 Comments
    Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:27 PM

Some poor guy was sentenced to five years in jail for importing garlic and calling them broccoli. Lowry by his own words (as secretly recorded) was engaged in massive tax fraud yet he never spent a day in the slammer.

Mute Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Favourite Peadar Ó Gréacháin
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:43 PM

I will ring you back on that.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:48 PM

Who is Michael Lowry and what’s everyone’s problem with him? I often wonder what Michael Lowry knows and that’s the problem. Keep the problem in side so it doesn’t become a problem.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:50 PM

@Tony

That “poor guy” evaded tax by passing garlic off as apples and his sentence was reduced to two years on appeal.

Unfortunately, testimony that is given in a tribunal of inquiry cannot be used as evidence in a criminal trial.

Lowry is facing charges for incorrect filing of tax returns but is trying to have the trial blocked.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/michael-lowry-urges-high-court-to-halt-alleged-tax-offences-trial-claiming-his-right-to-fair-trial-has-been-breached-34357292.html

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:54 PM

Ciaran. No one is suggesting the evidence used in the tribunal be used in a criminal trial. What they are wondering is why gardai couldn’t do an investigation and get the evidence. If a tribuy unearthed evidence , then surely the gardai also could . after all can unearthed something. This evidence could be used in a criminal trial.

Mute Super Ted
    Favourite Super Ted
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:10 PM

DOB will make sure that Lowry is part of the next government if Fine Gael are re-elected. Enda won’t have a say in the matter. This is reason why he won’t distance himself from Lowry when asked the question.

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:14 PM

This GAA connection with every dogsbody/ratbag in the country, is interesting.
    not saying that everybody who swings a hurley is corrupt,or involved ib scams, nevertheless a job is always found for many of them when other people cannot get one.
    Seems to me an Irish version of the Freemasons.

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:30 PM

The garlic/apple guy wasn’t some poor guy. He was and is a multi millionaire, well educated business man. His only excuse is greed.

Lowry, beneath contempt.

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:29 PM

Truely he belongs in the vast collection of Irish TDs marked “The unembarrassables”.

Mute James Onedin
    Favourite James Onedin
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:54 PM

The garlic/apple guy also repaid IN FULL the tax he had avoided paying in the first place and he was still sentenced to jail, which makes no sense at all.

Mute Leadóg Hackett
    Favourite Leadóg Hackett
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:08 PM

As a Tipp person, it’s an embarrassment that he keeps getting elected.

Mute Carl Thompson
    Favourite Carl Thompson
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:01 PM

That’s the problem with Irish politics, we complain about national issues and then we vote according to local issues, all well and good if you’re from Tipperary North but how can we expect National politics to remain stable if we vote for the fella’ who fixed the whole in the road

Mute Greg Power
    Favourite Greg Power
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:29 PM

An absolute charlatan of the highest order.

Mute D H
    Favourite D H
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:06 PM

C O R R U P T I O N

Even Ray Burke (who went to jail) has had all the Tribunal findings against him reversed and his expenses paid.
    Ray will probably sue the state now for wrongful imprisonment.
    What a corrupt little country we live in.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:31 PM

Tipperary, the land of the crook Lowry, Noel ISIS Coonan, the weasel Kelly and Mattie McGrath. They elect some strange ones down there!

Can any Tipperary person tell me how a corrupt politician tops the poll not a bother?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:33 PM

He got the potholes filled?

Mute Bob Freeman
    Favourite Bob Freeman
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:34 PM

Because he fixed the roads

Jan 26th 2016, 6:36 PM

They found a 3 foot long rat down there a couple of months back and I dare say if it ran for the Dáil it too would be elected by the good folk of Tipperary. #nomorals

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power

Can confirm he fixed the road: https://youtu.be/cjl8OIZijjY

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano

This will probably sound like culchie bashing but I think there’s an element of parish pride at play in these constituency’s. ‘He’s one of our own and look at him there in the big smoke getting money to fix our roads, isn’t he great stuff altogether’. People are willing to turn a blind eye. Would they be as forgiving if it was Bertie Ahern who was TD for Tipperary? Probably not

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:44 PM

@ pjm none of those you mention above topped the poll in South Tipperary

Mute John Jones
    Favourite John Jones
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:52 PM

Brilliant…

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:55 PM

Ah now Beano we live in Tipperary not the moon.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:56 PM

Because he is their corrupt politician and nobody in Dublin is going to tell them who to vote for……….

Mute Keith Ryan
    Favourite Keith Ryan
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:56 PM

@pjm It’s a game that he has perfected over the years.

Mute Carl Nolan
    Favourite Carl Nolan
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:03 PM

Because they care more about getting disproportionate levels of funding from the Government more than their sense of fairness or morality?

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:17 PM

Blaming the people of Tipperary for voting to elect 5 TD’s from a list that’s put in front of them on election day, all of whom are legally entitled to be on that list, is hardly the fault of the good people of Tipperary.
    Given what we know about the wholesale corruption of the last 35 years through the findings of the various Tribunals, with ‘politicians’ up to their necks in dodgy dealing, maybe the people of Tipperary are just unconcerned because they probably realise that even the Saintly types are guilty as hell but just haven’t been caught.

True John.!
    Lol.

Mute pjm
    Favourite pjm
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:39 PM

Gerry who’s fault is it but the good people of Tipperary who vote in their thousands for one of the most corrupt politicians of our era? I know most of those crooks are North Tipp but it’ll be interesting to see the tally figures on election day to see what support Kelly and Lowry get from that part of the constituency.

Mute Michael Kearns
    Favourite Michael Kearns
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:40 PM

Michael Lowry is the greatest current example of what is wrong with politics in Ireland. He cost the country several hundred million in one deal alone in order to feather his own nest, and that of his party. By feeding down a few crumbs at a local level he keeps the peasants happy and they continue to vote him in. This despite the obvious fact that the money he has cost this state would be a vast multiple of any good above that he has brought his own area above and beyond the remit of his role as a local TD.

The above is obvious to everyone in the country. The people of Tipp must think; yeah he’s a crook, but he’s our crook. It’s time to leave this type of mentality in the past where it belongs, in Tipp and the country as a whole. Starting in this election, it’s time to stop settling for crumbs!!!!

Mute Gerry O'reilly
    Favourite Gerry O'reilly

should be banned from political life if we ever want a honest political future

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:23 PM

For Lowry see Moriarty, ESAT, Dunne, Redacted and various other headlines. He must know something pretty hot or he was born lucky. The Thurles Fgangsters must be worried about alll the free publicity and adoration from hugh. Now tthe problem for Tipp FG is that Isis Coonan has been pushed aside and looks like losing FG a seat. Come on Tipp and send these “What’s in it for me” cronies back to oblivion.

Mute Ian
    Favourite Ian
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:32 PM

I blame the muppets in Tipperary who vote for him.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:38 PM

So do I and I’m from Tipperary.

Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Favourite ConcernedCitizen

What’s in it for me? FG, the nasty Tory party.
    “We’ll do business wth criminals and fraudsters and allow the most powerful in our society dictate terms and conditions on every decision we make”
    That’s ‘Fine Gael’ ness.

Mute Paddythewatersprite
    Favourite Paddythewatersprite

Fine Gael – more Tory than the Tories themselves!

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit

The epitome of all that is wrong in irish politics/society

Mute PJ Berry
    Favourite PJ Berry

Much prefer to see him in jail rather than Leinster House.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin

Much prefer to see him taken out in a meteor strike* than sitting in Leinster House , unfortunately there’s about as much hope of that happening as him doing proper jail time. *If the universe does decide to send one in we honestly wouldn’t mind if it took out a nice chunk of Tipperary as well. Ya know, just to rule out the possibility of them electing another one of his ilk…

Jan 26th 2016, 7:23 PM

I suppose he would be less hated by the public at large if his pal was not Citizen Kane Redacted O’Swine..?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:08 PM

We don’t all vote for him. In fact people in South Tipp have never voted for him.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:12 PM

Sorry Jane.. We must nuke the whole site.. It’s the only way to be sure… ;-)

Mute William T Smith
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:33 PM

we don’t all vote for him John,more than half the county has never had the chance to get rid of lowlife like him and Kelly until now.

Mute Diarmuid Doran
    Favourite Diarmuid Doran

You forgot an important point , he is ex (debatable) FG

Mute jane
    Favourite jane

I’m glad this has come up. I’m glad Kenny didn’t rule out cozying up to him after the election. Some people
    have forgotten how bad he is just because they think he got debts in Semple stadium paid off or other such nonsense. Having his face in the media again with a list of all his ‘issues’ is a great reminder.

Mute Pauric J O'Brien
    Favourite Pauric J O'Brien
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:59 PM

Let’s get one thing straight, the only deal Lowry ever done was in support of Michael Lowry ! The only thing that interests him is his strangle hold on power in Tipp and how he can make cash out of it !
    Lowry is almost single handedly, stoping a sports development in north Tipp because it’s near the home of one of his flunkies, facilities waiting to open, jobless families waiting to start work and Mr Lowry is holding it up to keep his friends quiet !! He is a joke!

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:03 PM

He’s a Serpent who never saw justice served to him.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan

The people of Tipp this guy wanted to put a casino in yere county for his own ends. Can you imagine the anti social behaviour going on around yere towns and villages as every drunk down on their luck person trys to score big and lose and goes off trying to get some more coin to bet again. Not a house would be safe there. This is the reality of what greed does , He keeps people sweet in Tipp to keep the cookies in his own pocket. I doubt he give a flying Fine Galer about ye.

Mute Kieran OKeeffe
    Favourite Kieran OKeeffe
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:37 PM

By all accounts,7000 of his first preferences have been lost to Offaly,not popular in s.Tipp,nearly as respected as Kelly…hopefully neither are returned..but having said that..choices are slim enough..

Mute James Coyne
    Favourite James Coyne

Pablo Escobar was loved in his city for what he done for his local community.

Jan 26th 2016, 7:20 PM

So Lowry is a modern day “Robin Hood”.?

Mute James Coyne
    Favourite James Coyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:32 PM

I wouldnt compare Robin Hood to Pablo Escobar. Pablo Escobar made a lot of money from the suffering of millions of others. Robin Hood as far as im aware was fictional. Although he may have been based on some real life person way back.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:43 PM

He’s more of a Maid Marion with his perma tan.

Jan 26th 2016, 9:02 PM

Al Capone looked after the sheepies in Chicago like this chancer is doing back home

Mute William T Smith
    Jan 27th 2016, 12:46 AM

robin’ b*st*rd and definitely a hood

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas

What happened to those councillors who were caught rapid on prime time last month?…… Nothing. John Gotti wouldn’t have a look in with our politicians. In fact he’d probably be Taoiseach

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:05 PM

He fixed the road!!

Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:41 PM

Despite Hugh the ridiculous Fine Gaeler ‘analyst’ removing my comments, I still stand by what I said.
    What’s in it for me?
    Fine Gael, the nasty Tort party who’ll do business with criminals & fraudsters.
    That’s Fine Gaelness.

Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:46 PM

Oops Sorry Hugh! Thought you deleted last comment. Please accept my apologies. Too quick off the mark.

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:14 PM

Lowry is the poster boy for the absolute filth that has been running this country into the ground for the last 90+ years. A criminal with the law on his side. The powers that shouldn’t be in this country turn a blind eye to conmen like Lowry because they are cut from exactly the same cloth. Shame on anyone who votes for FFFG, you are part of the problem.

Mute Matthew O' Reilly
    Favourite Matthew O' Reilly
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:30 PM

The shocking truth of the matter is that Kenny, Lowery and Denis o” Brien are as thick as thieves. So don’t be under any illusions. Lowery, might be out of the FG political party, but the party is not outt of him. He’s uncomfortably close to the main people like Kenny, Noonan and the old guard. He is very much a part of the Fascist ethos of the FG blueshirt anti liberal pro-catholic wing that whip up a frenzy Irish woman demand there fundamental right to protect they’re own bobies from the invasive abuse of Irish political culture. Nothing surer folks, Kenny will enlist the Leinster House Pariah from Tipp, at the drop of a hat.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:24 PM

Read the connections . Big Phil Hogan is the cement.

http://www.moriarty-tribunal.ie/images/sitecontent_426.pdf

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:42 PM

Simple answer is that he is a gangster who robbed the people of Ireland and gave to the rich (DO’B). The modern day anti-Robbin Hood. And shame on the people who re-elect him for their 30 pieces of silver.

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Jan 26th 2016, 10:57 PM

He is an exact representation of exactly what is wrong with irish politics

Mute Pete Slattery
    Favourite Pete Slattery
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:16 PM

The people of Tipperary North must be some of the thickest people in the country to keep electing this inexcusably corrupt piece of work back in.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:43 PM

Pete. They are god love them they know no better.

Mute Ken Thornton
    Favourite Ken Thornton
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:02 PM

He obviously has something on Enda that is why he will never say anything against him. As far as I am aware Enda has not accepted the findings of the Moriarty Tribunal either. I have e-mailed Enda on this a number of times without getting an answer to my question.

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:06 PM

Parasitical viper up there with the piece of sh!t haughey. You can’t take your money with you lowry. Remember that.

Mute Keith Healy
    Favourite Keith Healy
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:55 PM

Gangster

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy

FG and Morals just don’t go together.. Just corrupt.. Plain and simple.. Enda not dismissing any advances towards Lowry will be the mistake that costs FG dearly..

Mute von
    Favourite von

He us a dishonest Independant was with FG until he pulled a good one by selling Eircom to Denis O’Brien for a big fat brown envelope and the people frim Tipp love him his didhonesty dies not count with them.
    I know he was thrown out if FG and is a Independant , what i don’t understand is DiO B is Kenny’s pal and Lowery gets the rap for a bag of goodies. I think the shame should fall on Enda’s head and of course Lowery’s. Ah money whst it makes you brcome.

Mute William T Smith

South Tipp Says No To Lowry

Mute Andrew S
    Favourite Andrew S
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:13 PM

https://youtu.be/cjl8OIZijjY my thoughts exactly man

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33

Kenny is a disaster for fg,hopefully he talks more often,he reveals how corrupt the party is,ask john perry, fg td,he brought the party to court on corruption charges. As for Lowry,he is a parasite, laughing at the poor people in his constituency.

Mute Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán Domhnall O'Sullivan

Definition of the parish pump politics we get here. The absolute definition.

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:27 PM

Dong forget Dobby’s part in this. He got the mobile licence. And waiting for Kenny to give him IW

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:30 PM

People of Tipperary, please remove this parasite, he is laughing at all of us.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:31 PM

Who is Michael Lowry?

Who is Gerry Adams?

Who is Martin Ferris?

Who is Dessie Ellis?

Who is Mick Wallace?

Should we have any of these guys as TDs?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:15 PM

Who is Enda Kenny?

Who is Michael Noonan?

Who is Joan Burton?

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:26 PM

•Who is “Powerabbey” – A fake name operating a Twitter account – while cowering and hiding away ???

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:33 PM

Eddie – do you expect people to give their name and address to IRA/SF. You must be joking.

Good to see Fiona (“I was never a SF member”) showing her colours!!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 27th 2016, 12:24 AM

Powerabbey, supports political corruption. Is he Date of Birth’s illegitimate son?

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 27th 2016, 1:51 AM

Fiona supports murderers, rapists, terrorists …..! Then she claims she is not an IRA/ SF member.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:12 PM

You’d want to be living under a rock not to realise how odious this slimebag is.

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:00 PM

If he is voting with them
    They will all do business with him
    He will top the polls and can do what he wants

People of North Tipperary are in for a windfall…….

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:09 PM

The people of Tipperary can be bought very easy ,,that’s the message each time this parasite is elected

Mute Michael McLoughlin
    Favourite Michael McLoughlin
    Jan 27th 2016, 3:35 AM

Sells their vote for money. Demands huge investment for only their constituency. Hundreds of council jobs to be created for the constituents. But that’s wasn’t Lowry it was Tony Gregory who is viewed as a saint.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:30 PM

This guy is the most corrupt politician ever yet tops the poles, it is real Irish, so long as some small group benefit to hell with the rest of society.

Mute The Journal TD
    Favourite The Journal TD

Michael is innocent can people just drop this, the man is here to earn a living like.

Mute Richard Cheney
    Favourite Richard Cheney
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:38 PM

Hmm,I think you know yourself that was a pretty poor effort. D-

Mute Oran Joyce
    Favourite Oran Joyce
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:41 PM

Semple Stadium.

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:55 PM

What does it say about the gombeens of Tipperary more like?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 27th 2016, 12:32 AM

A vote for FG is a vote for Lowry.

A vote for Lowry is a vote for FG.

A vote for Lowry is a vote for corruption.

A vote for FG is a vote for corruption.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 27th 2016, 1:59 AM

A vote for IRA /SF is a vote to support terrorists, murders, rapists, fuel launderers, cigarette smugglers, “good republicans”……..

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:09 PM

Bring loads of money Nina. It’s the FG way. He will top the poll in Tipp, as will Wallace in Wexford as would Hugh in Monaghan, if he was running.

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:12 PM

A tit

Mute pat Ryan
    Favourite pat Ryan
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:21 PM

Michael Lowry is one of the hardest working Tds in dail that’s why He tops poll

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:35 PM

Lowry is excellent at raising money. He puts great effort into that.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:38 PM

Just like IRA/SF. Can you arrange some cheap diesel and fags for me?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 27th 2016, 12:36 AM

Powerabbey, I see that you are both a supporter of corruption and off criminality.

Cheap diesel and fags are dealt in by criminals who supply those who condone criminality. You are trying to engage in criminality.,

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 27th 2016, 1:55 AM

Fiona – try telling your guys in IRA / SF That fuel laundering and cigarette smuggling is an offence. Please do!

Mute Rayven
    Favourite Rayven
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:57 PM

Lowry is a made man in dobbys mafia and dobby owns fine Gael lock stock, enda is never goin to rule this guy out period corruption is wholesale in fg

Mute ted hagan
    Favourite ted hagan
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:58 PM

Ah shure he’s a lovely man so he is, so he is, so he is. Ah wouldn’t hear a word against him. Now.

Mute Kate Reddin
    Favourite Kate Reddin
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:40 PM

Wasn’t he the character in ” bad boys”???

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:21 PM
    Mute martin.
    Favourite martin.
    Jan 27th 2016, 2:02 AM

Disgusting the ordinary man on the street gets locked up for non payment of s TV license,

This dirt bag is rotten to the core and our taoiseach is willing to do a deal with him,

I’ve heard it all now Kenny would deal with the devil to stay in government,

No vote from me.

Mute Noel O'Gorman
    Favourite Noel O'Gorman
    Jan 26th 2016, 8:31 PM

I can’t see anything to be gained for him by joining Fine Gael before the election. The electorate will either vote for him as they have always done, or won’t vote for him no matter what he does. While Fine Gael are doing their best to talk up how good a job they are after doing getting the country’s finances back on track, the truth is that many rural communities are still far from sharing in all of this reported recovery, and will not vote for Fine Gael nor Labour, no matter who the candidate is. There are a lot of permutations to go into the mix to make the next Dail, and it is not until the polls are in that the sums will have to be worked out. If taking Lowry on board is the means to make it up, not only will Enda welcome him with open arms, but Alan Kelly and Labour will as well. One thing that Lowry has proven in the past is that he can be relied on to stay the course of the Government, once he has done his side deal to get him to table. From that point of view, he is a very attractive prospect for any party leader when it comes to getting the support of an independent or two to form a government.

Jan 27th 2016, 8:45 AM

I know a few small farmers in Tipp who think the sun shines out of his ar*se hole.

Mute Michael walsh
    Favourite Michael walsh
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:52 PM

‘I’m Mike Lowryyyyy’

Mute Mary Power
    Favourite Mary Power
    Jan 27th 2016, 9:08 AM

One of the biggest crooks in this country

Mute Maggie
    Favourite Maggie
    Jan 26th 2016, 9:53 PM

No 1 for lowry

Mute William T Smith
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:44 PM

No one for Lowry !

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 27th 2016, 12:30 AM

Nice one!

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:18 PM

Give Enda Kenny time to consult with Date of Birth through Big Phil Hogan.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:52 PM

@For Connolly

Lowry did wrong but that doesn’t make it OK to be riotous.

Mute Dave Thomas
    Favourite Dave Thomas
    Jan 26th 2016, 7:02 PM

It might make them pay attention and listen

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:34 PM

http://www.moriarty-tribunal.ie/images/sitecontent_426.pdf

The Report issued in December 2011, over 4 years ago. No consequences except Date of Birth gets richer and more influential,in Oreland and Lowry’s fir tunes are restored and soon will have a key role in maintaining the next Government.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:36 PM

Fiona – what time did your shift start in Parnell Square?

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 27th 2016, 12:30 AM

I’m dealing with FG corruption and you go off on a tangent about Parnell Square. You are the master if deflection, a weapon of mass distraction, just like Date of Birth. Birds of a feather, I have no doubt.

It is sad to see you ignore and then implicitly endorse corruption.,

Mute Spenda Kenny
    Favourite Spenda Kenny
    Jan 26th 2016, 6:45 PM

Ireland is a the best small country to do business and Michael Lowry knows best how to get that business done with a few envelopes on the side.

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 27th 2016, 9:58 AM

Politicians are just a reflection of the larger populace as a whole, unfortunately.
    The only difference is that they get away with corruption, cronyism and double standards even though they are held in such low regard. Weird but fact!

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 27th 2016, 10:00 AM

People are fvcking stupid.

Mute John Gorman
    Favourite John Gorman
    Jan 27th 2016, 7:20 AM

Yep. The ” I’m alright Jack” mentality always comes to the fore through the public come election time.

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Jan 27th 2016, 9:59 AM

Gangster… but he’ll be back in no time, probably in the next Government.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 26th 2016, 11:19 PM
    Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Jan 27th 2016, 9:47 AM

The “whole” in the road – great country isn’t it?

Mute Paul J. Redmond
    Favourite Paul J. Redmond
    Jan 27th 2016, 12:45 AM

The Journal need to focus on articles like this. Well done Huge. Now this is proper journalism..

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected