You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Family handout
Milly Tuomey
Verdict of suicide returned at inquest into death of 11-year-old Dublin girl
A coroner returned the verdict at the inquest into the death of Milly Tuomey from Templeogue
9.36pm, 30 Nov 2017
A CHILD AGED eleven unhappy with her physical appearance posted on her Instagram account of her intention to die.
A coroner returned a verdict of suicide at the inquest into the death of Milly Tuomey from Templeogue in Dublin 6. The child died on 4 January 2016.
“Milly was loving and greatly loved, fit, healthy, connected, engaged and talented,” the child’s devastated parents Fiona and Tim Tuomey said in a statement after the inquest.
“When we discovered out of the blue that our child had told her friends on Instagram that she had chosen the day she would die, we couldn’t believe it. We did not know what to do,” they said.
Dublin Coroner’s Court heard that on 3 November 2015 Milly posted on Instagram to hundreds of friends of her intention to die on a certain date.
Her parents were alerted by her elder sister and her school. They took Milly to see their GP and during this visit Milly expressed a death wish. She spoke about thoughts of self harm and said she had been unhappy with her physical appearance for a number of years.
Her GP recommended she see a clinical psychologist at An Cuan, a private counselling and psychotherapy clinic. The Tuomeys made an appointment but the psychologist was no longer taking patients. Milly was assigned to an art therapist, who was not qualified to make clinical assessments, the inquest heard.
The child began a series of weekly appointments on 4 November 2015 where she was encouraged to explore her emotions through verbal and visual means.
After Milly’s first visit, the therapist advised her mother to make an appointment with the HSE’s Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services (CAMHS).
An appointment was made for January 30 2016 but this was brought forward after Fiona Tuomey found a ‘suicide diary’ along with medication indicating an attempt at self harm under her daughter’s bed.
“We were terrified. We had no experience of this and no idea what to do,” she said.
The family was advised to go to their local emergency department if any concerns arose over Christmas or out of hours.
The court heard that on 1 January 2016 the family ate dinner together and watched a film. That evening, Milly declared she was bored and left the room.
She was found moments later in a critical condition and emergency services were called. She was rushed to Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital where she died on 4 January.
Suicidal ideation
Irish children as young as seven have expressed suicidal ideation, Psychiatrist Dr Antoinette D’Alton told the court.
“Years ago this would have been unimaginable. Now suicidal ideation is increasing in children as young as seven. There is a care pathway but it is under resourced,” Dr D’Alton said.
Ireland currently ranks fifth in Europe in cases of suicide in the ten to 14 age group and the past decade has seen a ‘step by step increase’ in instances of non-fatal self-harm among ten to 14 year olds, according to Director of Research at the National Suicide Research Foundation Professor Ella Arensman.
Coroner Dr Myra Cullinane commended the Tuomeys for their decision to donate their little girl’s organs.
The coroner noted comments from experts who stated further resources were required for child and adolescent mental health services and recommended the provision of information to support parents and families while they wait to be seen by services.
In their statement, the family said that they discovered there are no clinical protocols for when a child has a mental health crisis: “In 21st Century Ireland this is simply not acceptable.”
They had hopes and dreams for their daughter, and Milly had hopes and dreams for herself, they said. In an excerpt from her diary, Milly told how she hoped to be a ‘famous doctor,’ get married and have children.
“When I am 23 I would like to have my first baby and when I’m 24 my second baby. If I have two girls I want to call them Vanessa and Grace Tuomey,” she wrote.
If you need to talk, contact:
Samaritans 116 123 or email jo@samaritans.org
Aware 1800 80 48 48 (depression, anxiety)
Pieta House 1800 247 247 or email mary@pieta.ie (suicide, self-harm)
Teen-Line Ireland 1800 833 634 (for ages 13 to 19)
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
….meanwhile burglaries are going through the roof, communities are wide open because there are not enough Gardai to cover vast Districts at night. But didn’t the Gardai recently receive a fleet of new cars. Yes, Minister. Ford Caddy vans, that can only seat two Gardai. Ideal for when you need several Gardai to deal with a situation. This “New fleet” versus a high powered BMW X5 full of “travelling criminals” with weapons…laughable if it wasn’t so pathetic, a bit like David V Goliath…..unfortunately Communities are learning the hard way….
Taking on more Gardai is not the solution to the problem. The solution lies in freeing up the tightly regulated (and bureaucratic) framework in their protocols.
Sure Toorkeel. The images of Greece-style austerity riots failed to impress. The defaults on intr-European loans and subsequent bailouts failed to leave a mark. The spending experiment that has finally run out of other people’s money and no one noticed how the dots connect. Let’s go on another spending binge and take on more government workers. Even then, why stop there? Why not keep spending until the taxpayers are no more.
As for the detractors, e.g., Mary’s ad hominem attack on me, is yet another example of a non-contributor’s attempt at wit. And Dermot’s attempt at direction explains his lack of insight considering he isn’t contributing either.
Gardai spend too much time doing paperwork. Most of this could be done by civilians which would release gardai for the duties they are trained for. Rather than firing public servants and paying them big pensions to do nothing they should be offered jobs in garda stations.
Speaking as an ex Police Officer (not Garda) civilianise! You don’t need a Garda in Dublin taking radio calls, this can be done by civilians with a Sargent supervising. Does the Garda still have mechanics, musicians, and scenes of crime officers who are Garda ?? If so why? Police should be out doing there job exercising there powers and not doing admin work, etc that civilians can do cheaper! Role on the thumbs down from the members who haven’t exercised there powers of arrest in years who would be out of there comfort zone actually out patrolling!
The Gardai have less civilians than almost all european forces. It’s been highlighted in many reports but the wheels of change turn very slowly in good old Ireland.
I can remember an advert in the paper, I think it was the Independent less than ten years ago for Garda band members , just to play the trumpet or whatever, it stated if they got the job they would be Garda!!! Although I thought it was the 1st of April it was real. Play the trumpet and become a Garda, you will never have to make an arrest as long as you can hold a tune!!!!! The Garda are 20 years behind modern Police forces, the government should have no involvement either in promoting senior officers. Judiciary and the state should be separate isn’t this why Egypt is currently protesting?????
when a garda investigates an incident, he/she will have to take statements, write up reports and respond to all the follow up queries… this takes up huge time which a civillian will not solve as all evidence to be gathered is gathered by the garda…
The reason the Gardai have no civilians is because they treat civilians badly in everyday life. My friend know’s a protestor who was approached by a Guard who demanded his name etc despite being 100% peaceful. This would infuriate any ordinary citizen. Also, the Gardai treat everyone in an authoritative manner. A real police force respects its citizens whilst interacting with them. This encourages people to deal more closely with them and assist.
Like I said, I did the job but not with the Garda. Yes they take statements etc. but when I did it we handed our paperwork over to civilians to type, and update the victims. As a victim of crime have you ever tried to get in touch with a Garda? Impossible they are always on night shift! I am not saying the members are in any way at fault it’s the system. It’s 20 years out of date. Garda present cases at court why? Trained civilians can do this better than the Garda. Freeing them up to patrol the streets.
” As a victim of crime have you ever tried to get in touch with a Garda?”
Give citizens the right to bear arms on their properties – the only realistic solution.
In public, give citizens the right to bear pepper spray – deters muggers and attackers.
I totally agree with your comments, when my force went to civilians a lot of my colleagues treated them with contempt, stating only a Police Officer could do a particular job. That’s the Garda today! They need to change, it’s not easy but it needs to happen.
Michael i 100% agree with you thats the most sense ive heard all week and most members i think would agree. ITS student where have you been this thread has been open ages and you only start trolling now…. come on horse you need to get out of bed earlier.
I recently had to give a statement to a Garda , relating to an incedent I had witnessed . The Garda came into my place of work , on “THEIR” day off, just so they’d have all the paperwork done …
Why can’t a civilian ( public servant do that job??)
your missing the 3rd option. Restore garda levels to actually cope with the rising criminal “commuting crime gangs ” ( like them words barry ) . We as joe public are not asking for extra garda just a full restoration of the garda numbers to safely police our community.
Alan “We as joe public are not asking for extra garda just a full restoration of the garda numbers to safely police our community”
Speak for yourself, you do not represent the entire public. And since your reply is devoid of any realistic facts, I ask where do you think the money will come from to finance more government workers?
Dramatization of the facts won’t distort the facts:
1) These people have to be paid,
2) These people have to justify their existence,
3) Gardai already have proper resources.
“While we recognise and support the need to make overall budgetary savings of €3.5 billion next year, this can be done without slashing resources for frontline policing,” he said.” Shatter.
Amazing ! These idiots in government have not a clue. When Shatter’s house was burgled the gardai responded immediately , but this is not always the case for the rest of us.
I do not envy the Gardai their jobs.
Thomas, depends on the Garda Reserve, my son gives up to 15 hours of unpaid time, and has faced plenty of threats and danger in the process! Ask any Full time Guard in the large station do they depend on the reserve and they will tell you ‘absolutely’
Hate to break it to you Mary but the reserves are considered a hindrance more then a help!! While I’d imagine your young fella is eager & perhaps wants to join the force proper, what I hear is that they, as a collective body, are a waste of space! We need more actual Guards on the street & ramp up the policing! Not pretenders in a similar uniform!!
Mary,
I’m sorry but nuffsaid is 100% correct. The reserve are unwanted by rank and file Gardai. What is needed is more qualified Gardai. I hope your son gets in if that’s his overall aim.
@marie
I know the reserve give there free time and fair play, but it’s not the answer , not even close, the reserves are now being used to bloat the numbers by the minister, at the end of the day a Garda has to complete the investigation himself and this is what takes up so much time for them which means they are not out on the street detecting crime, the reserve rightly does not have this duty and never will hence there use is limited in my opinion
What happened to the idea of deducting fines at source? Im sure many gardai are wasted bringing people on day trips to prison, not to mention the gardai in the office taking account of fines and warrants. The gardai joined the job to work on the streets, it’s our justice system forcing them behind desks.
When “inspector clueless” was burgled the culprit was caught and behind bars within a few days….
Not having a go at the Garda but how come inspector clueless got such preferental treatment ?.
Why not cut solictors/barristers? If there are savings to make start there and lives don’t have to be put at risk. O, wait Alan Shatter is a barrister so I guess that makes them safe
get rid of the traffic core,hassling and delaying people speeding to work while criminals throw pipe bombs,shootings etc ,more gardai in the streets ,fine people for motoring offences,scrap penalty points,let the ordinary decent motorists get on there way and start tackling real crime
Please Mr Shatter look at what solicitors earn from free legal aid and what it is costing the state every year?could some of that money not be put towards Garda resources?oh wait you used ta be a solicitor,that won’t be happening.
Gyp Rosetti – Do you realize it would cost more in terms of appeals (due to no lawyer provided) and unsuccessful prosecutions the taxpayer would be liable for? Everyone must have a right to a lawyer if they cannot afford one. Even in America, there is free legal aid. Otherwise, it would give an unfair trial.
Local paper reported on case in court where criminal looked for and got free legal aid despite pocketing €750 a week in benefits….you would pay TWO Garda recruits on that!!
Its burglaries have risen in the last few years , the same ‘years’ in which the numbers of gardai has declined , does that not stick out to you as some sort of true reflection . Where is your evidence of gardai not doing their job properly is causing an increase in burglaries ?
The GRA are a representative organisation for the gardai…. The guards are prohibited from having a trade union… Get your facts right at least some if the time ITS
I don’t agree with it student however why do all ye guards out there posting just give a load of abuse when ye are criticised. This is not helping the perception of ordinary people have of you. We just want a police force that will do the job you are paid for.
No you don’t Sean. If you did, burglaries would be down. Public sector pay increments reward failure. And to think some of the people on here want more Gardai to be hired! More government workers = higher taxes and more debt and more austerity.
If anything, we should be downsizing the government – not taking on more.
Its you have no idea of policing strategy which is reflected in you ill informed statements , You make poor comments never backed up by proofs or statistics , I wonder what is it you do or study that qualifies you to make all these ridiculous observations on stuff you clearly know nothing about. And as for commenting ‘no you don’t sean’. You have no idea of how I work or any idea of what is required of me day to day . And if your so well informed ! What was this strike in 2009 you speak of ? Now off with you Not bothered with u ,
Shatter is a waister can’t do anything wright like the rest of those bigheads in the dail I would love to see a bolt of lightning hitting all of them and no I didn’t vote those idiots in
If you are so unhappy being a guard, you should leave ,do something you like because u really don’t seem to like what you are doing. its not good for you to be moaning all the time you will end up in an early grave. you just picked the wrong job.
naoibh b:
I don’t know who you are or where you’re from but your reply indicates a distinct lack of knowledge leaving you with a single rhetorical impediment, one of which I will refrain from taking any further advantage.
'No-one wants to talk here': The silence surrounding the killing of Claire Collins
Niall O'Connor
10 hrs ago
Earthquake
Myanmar death toll passes 3,300 as rescue efforts continue following major earthquake
31 mins ago
trade war
China slaps extra 34% tariffs on US imports as Trump vows his 'policies will never change'
Updated
17 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 164 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 111 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 146 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 116 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 85 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 136 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 76 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 84 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 47 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 93 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 100 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 73 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 55 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 91 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say