You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fine Gael MEPs have been compared to fascists

Flanagan didn’t hold back in his criticism.

LUKE ‘MING’ FLANAGAN has compared Fine Gael MEPS to fascists after they voted to postpone a European Parliament debate on the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP) trade deal.

The Midlands North West MEP took to Twitter earlier to express his views on the subject, posting the below message:

TheJournal.ie contacted all of the MEPs involved, including Flanagan, for comment.

The Fine Gael MEPs did not directly refer to the tweet, but did defend the deal and called for “a constructive debate” on the issue.

Flanagan claims the party is refusing to debate him.

However, in a Twitter exchange with the independent MEP today, The Week in Politics clarified that it had not made any decision to facilitate a debate:

Yesterday a discussion and vote on the deal was postponed as more than 200 amendments were tabled in relation to the deal.

The vote to suspend the debate was passed by 183 votes to 181 after it was supported by centre-right and conservative groups, this includes the European People’s Party of which Fine Gael is a member.

The parliament’s trade committee is due to debate the TTIP report and potential amendments next week (16 June) with a plenary vote to be rescheduled for a later date.

‘Elements of concern’

In a statement, Fine Gael MEPs Seán Kelly, Mairead McGuinness, Brian Hayes and Deirdre Clune said they “would like to see greater progress in the on-going negotiations between the EU and US which aim to establish a trade partnership”.

Speaking in Strasbourg, the leader of the Fine Gael delegation in the European Parliament and Ireland’s only member of the International Trade Committee (INTA), Seán Kelly MEP said:

“The Fine Gael delegation supports a balanced TTIP agreement that would guarantee and preserve high standards, strengthen economic, enhance investment opportunities and increase competitiveness and innovation.

Investment is crucial for further European growth in jobs and economic development. TTIP could greatly benefit Ireland’s strong trade relations with the US, with 21% of all Irish exports already going to the US. Indeed, an additional €2.4 billion could be added to our real national income with a successful TTIP agreement.

“However, the proper implementation of regulation is necessary in order to ensure our policy objectives in Europe are preserved and advanced,” Mr Kelly continued.

“One sensitive issue which will be discussed at the Trade Committee meeting of Parliament next week deals with a compromised amendment on investor-to-state dispute settlement (ISDS).

Fine Gael MEPs support the compromise proposal by the EPP Group for a permanent solution for resolving disputes between investors and states by having a revised version of the old ISDS system, subject to democratic principles and scrutiny.

Deirdre Clune said TTIP “has the potential to create 10,000 jobs for Ireland”, but admitted there are “elements of concern”.

It is still under negotiation. I cannot understand outright opposition to the prospect of a deal at this stage. Yes, there are elements of concern, for instance in relation to ISDS and food safety. We have acknowledged those and they will be addressed in due course. They form part of ongoing negotiations. What we are striving for here is a good deal which will create jobs and stability for Ireland and Europe.

Flanagan isn’t the only MEP who isn’t a fan of TTIP – or at least certain aspects of it:

Sinn Féin’s Lynn Boylan said the deal “will benefit the corporations at the expense of the citizens”.

Meanwhile, independent MEP Marian Harkin has raised concerns about the ISDS aspect of the agreement:

Nessa Childers, the only Irish member of the Socialists & Democrats (S&D) group which caused the vote in the parliament to be postponed, said Fine Gael is “downplaying valid and serious reservations about TTIP”.

“This is a very serious issue across Europe and, to put it simply, my concern and the concerns of many others are centred on the question ‘How can we trade with the US when that country has vastly different standards for example around affordable health care, food safety and employment law?’”

Childers has tabled an amendment to remove private arbitration mechanisms from the trade agreement. The amendment was tabled with fellow S&D parliamentarians who also oppose the ISDS scheme.

Read: Left-wing campaigners are derailing a free-trade deal with the US for ‘political reasons’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 114 comments
114 Comments
    Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:41 PM

TTIP is a monster. Resist Ming, all the way.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:00 PM

According to a recently published cross-border study over 1150 Irish people aged over 30 die annually as a result of air pollution, and burning turf is a principle cause of these deaths. Ming is a leading proponent of burning any and all the turf still remaining in Ireland and by implication possibly guilty of crimes against the Irish people on a huge scale. Does this qualify Ming as a Fascist also?

Mute Morgan Freeman
    Favourite Morgan Freeman
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:07 PM

A third of the population are obese. Are all parents who give their kids an ice-cream murderers too?

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute DisruptiveTechnology
    Favourite DisruptiveTechnology
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:09 PM

thats a pile of crap.. stopping turf cutting only allows the Gov’t to sell carbon tax credits, to billionaires, the likes of Denis O Brien & others, so he can fly his fat ass around the world on his private jet, alone, causing serious damage, burning aviation fuel to beat the band..

who knows, Gov’t probably make a nice x mas prezzie of them credits to their puppet master…

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:18 PM

we should certainly resist Ming.

Mute Declan Doyle
    Favourite Declan Doyle
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:20 PM

I was waiting for that, wait over…

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Favourite BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:21 PM

How many Irish people does Denis O’Brien employ?

How many people does cutting bogs in rural Ireland employ?

Jun 10th 2015, 5:26 PM

spoken like a true member of young FG…

do you FG bots not realise you can be identified by your pandering to oligarchy comments yet?

all young FG are looking forward to the next windfall of party donations, to help them along on their political careers…

shameless creeps…

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:27 PM

The question should be: how many people die prematurely as a direct result of lung disease and other ailments directly related to burning turf, compared to how many people die as a direct result of working for Denis O’Brien?

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:28 PM

Have children died as a result of eating ice cream?

Jun 10th 2015, 5:41 PM

how do u quantify what co2 came from turf. or came from DOB’s burning of highly toxic aviation fuel fumes?

you can’t.. more utter stupidity…

what are you even talking about? how many died working for DO’B?

are you capable of rational thought?

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:48 PM

What do you think Denis O’Brien does all day? Fly around Ireland in his private jet polluting the skies? Like him or hate him (which you probably do out of jealousy) he has done a lot more for this country than a few anti establishment bog men who just can’t bear to be told what to do.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:49 PM

ross question for you
    how many die on trollies everyday in our hospitals
    how many take their own life as a result of all the austerity measures brought in by gov and by brought in I mean not part of the few “protected” citizens etc,
    get your priorities right troll

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:00 PM

How many FG politicians does Dobby have in his pocket & how much money has he made courtesy of FG and FF? Power corrupts and absolute ……

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:12 PM

It is not the COs that kills, over 1150 Irish people over age 30 die annually as a result of inhaling the cancer and other ailment causing particles as emitted by peat when burnt. To my knowledge CO2 emissions from power plants have not resulted in the death of a single person. As to how many workers have died when employed by Denis O’Brien, I don’t know, do you?

Jun 10th 2015, 6:40 PM

@ ross;

which is completely unquantifiable…. your point is self serving conjecture, with zero basis in fact…

Mute Affinity
    Favourite Affinity
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:46 PM

You may have a point @banner, unfortunately the question remains how much did he make honestly and without preferential benefits. Clearly FG helped him win a sweet deal re mobile networks last time they were in power. Funny how his name appears when FG are in power yet again and with a lot of questions.

Mute Crom Cruach
    Favourite Crom Cruach
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:52 PM

Yeah, BannerBoy, Denis O’B is a true Irish hero. That’s why he doesn’t pay taxes here and does all he can to silence the press. Are you high?

Mute Gussy Hughes
    Favourite Gussy Hughes
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:34 PM

@Ross…..Your knowledge is minuscule then so

Mute Rebekah Corbett
    Favourite Rebekah Corbett
    Jun 11th 2015, 1:54 AM

And what about all the people who didn’t die of air pollution from burning turf? I reckon they outway the numbers of those who died because of it.

Mute Joey Gee
    Favourite Joey Gee
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:08 PM

Has anyone asked the poor fascists how they feel being compared to a bundle of g*bsh*tes?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:43 PM

They won’t respond to ttip questions on Facebook, won’t respond to ming on Facebook and won’t debate ming on irish media. I feel if they had something to say it would have been said by now

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:43 PM

I got the joke after my comment by the way, good one!

Mute Joe Stop #TTIP!
    Favourite Joe Stop #TTIP!
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:51 PM

And Kevin, they wont even discuss it on the telephone. I called Sean Kelly, FG MEP, in Brussels. I could only speak to his assistant. Obviously Sean hisself wasn’t available to talk to a pleb like me. I was told that Kelly will be voting Yes, and that was essentially that.

Oh, anyone got a bit of spare credit on yisser fones? Give him a call on +333 88 1 75206 … let him know yer not happy with his lack of discussion on #TTIP. Indeed, if yis so believe, let him know yer not happy with him voting yes!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:11 PM

Fg are conning the Irish again fascism is a live and well within fg. Fg = dob and banker lackeys eu yes men ttip is a disaster waiting to happen._.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:54 PM

Ming is a nice chap, but at the end of the day he represents only himself at the European Parliament. He says what he likes and turns up when he likes. Even though I voted for him, I wouldn’t trust him to sit on the toilet properly…….

Jun 10th 2015, 7:01 PM

so u think the corpo facists, who are trying to destroy democracy & our freedoms, are representing us, and ming, who is one of a few who really do speak up for us, is only representing himself?

I’m embarrassed for you Chris .. really…

You are exactly wrong…..

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:07 PM

So you for vote and then ridicule the man, WTF>

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:30 PM

Why would you vote for somebody you don’t trust to sit on a toilet properly, assuming sitting properly on a toilet is a red line issue to you…

Mute Ina Mcarthy
    Favourite Ina Mcarthy
    Jun 12th 2015, 9:24 PM

has anyone noticed that the media, newspapers, radio have not said one word about TTIP or CETA or the Bilderberg secret meeting being held for the Elites. total blackout!

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:44 PM

Fascism:a governmental system led by a dictator having complete power, forcibly suppressing opposition and criticism, regimenting all industry, commerce, etc., and emphasizing an aggressive nationalism and often racism.
    Enda and Co?

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:46 PM

or as Mussolini said “Fascism is the merger of government and corporate power “…..TTIP epitomizes that to a tee.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:50 PM

“forcibly suppressing opposition and criticism”

Well if they were fascists Ming would be locked up… Alas we Irish would never be that lucky. Ming is the biggest waste of space politician I have ever seen.

I remember him being on TV once and being asked what his policies were… He didn’t answer the question and instead launched into a tirade about the government.

Negative politics of the worst kind. I abhor the man.

Jun 10th 2015, 4:55 PM

because everything is grand for you and your family / friends no doubt… another blue shirt shill here if i ever saw one…

is this how the irish water call center staff fill their days, with all the queries ye are not taking, all day, every day?

Mute Morgan Freeman
    Favourite Morgan Freeman
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:02 PM

You’re wrong. When Ming got elected as a TD he outlined his policies pretty well. He stood for local issues like turf cutting. He campaigned on these issues and won on them. He may be the king of hyperbole but he has a large set of balls. Even if he achieves nothing but sticking it to the man then I am a fan. We have completely sold our souls to the interests of big business, from Sepp Blather to Denis O’Brien everywhere you look there is another business winning and another government bowing bending over backwards.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Good man Ming ( the merciless ) telling it like it is.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:19 PM

Oh my apologies, I was wrong. I suppose he does have a policy on turf… That is true. That is the one policy area on which he is fluent.

But I’ve never once heard Ming say what he would do to the Health Service if he were Minister for Health, or what he would do in Finance if he were Minister there bar “ending austerity” which isn’t a complete policy in any form if you don’t spell out how you will do it. Likewise “sticking it to the man in Europe” is not a policy on how the country should be in the future.

Stephen Donnelly and Catherine Murphy prepare their own costed budgets each year at Budget time. Mick Wallace and Ming (when he was a TD) have never done this as far as I know. Stephen Donnelly and Catherine Murphy are the Independent politicians we need, not gombeen men against everything like Ming.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash

@ DisruptiveTechnology:

I’m far from a “blue shirt shill”

Please tell me how Ming’s policy on the health service will help improve my father’s treatment? Tell me how his tax policies will help create new jobs in my locality. Turf cutting won’t create many jobs, that I can tell you… Tell me how his education policies will improve Ireland’s education rankings…

I just prefer politicians with ideas and policies…

Jun 10th 2015, 5:33 PM

what has that got to do with TTIP, and the nefarious way FG/ PPE are trying to vote this psychopathic law through EU parliament without even a debate on its contents before a vote?

The same way they did with Irish water privatisation… we are governed by traitors, selling us out, for the benefit of corporates, who seem to be writing these law and force them through undemocratically.

you are scraping the bottom of the political barrel, trying to obfuscate the actual thread, while carrying out a character assassination in the process…

Good day Sir…

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:35 PM

Ryan…….I must say that watching Ming at EU meetings is quite refreshing, he doesn’t mince his words and lets them know what he thinks.
    But Ming understands TTIP better than Richard Bruton…
    https://www.facebook.com/Lukemingflanagan/posts/829124837164834:0

Bruton claims a growth rate for Ireland two and a half times the best estimates of the ‘EU payed for independent experts’ his figures are pulled out of his arse, like most pocket stuffers he hangs around with in this country.
    https://www.facebook.com/Lukemingflanagan/posts/829124837164834:0

Mute Justin Dawson
    Favourite Justin Dawson
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:38 PM

Who writes this stuff for ming. Where has he been since the election. FOI questions well overdue.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:45 PM

Justin…the only time Independents get media time is when the do something controversial, otherwise it’s a FG/Lab love in with a media afraid to print anything that upsets the applecart of their owners.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:56 PM

too risky to be seen to give opposing view these days just look at what happened to the journalist who knocked on callinan’s door, got the boot nad won her case plus damages and apolgies from the independent newspaper, but still gone all the same

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:08 PM

Ryan. this is how it starts, bit by bit they take away your rights.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:18 PM

Ming can be a bit rude and abbrupt but he makes good points The Irish Nigel Farrage

Mute Robin Hilliard
    Favourite Robin Hilliard
    Jun 10th 2015, 9:59 PM

I don’t think we need a suave thug like Farage in Ireland.

Jun 10th 2015, 11:32 PM

Ming is on the ball here. This is a bad deal unless you’re a fat rat.

Mute IrishAmbitions
    Favourite IrishAmbitions
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:49 PM

He’s just reminding them of their predecessors in the Blueshirts and how they’d be proud of present day Fine Gael, I don’t see the problem..

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:20 PM

Fine Gael expelled the blushirts.

Jun 10th 2015, 5:22 PM

looks like they’ve been back a while..

they must have forget to send us all out the memo….

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson

@IrishAmbitions. Well said brother Irish. #KnowsHisHistory

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:35 PM

@ThomasAquinas. You spelled Blueshirts wrong. Fact. #LearnToSpell

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:47 PM

You’re right Uncle Sam! I did spell it wrongly. But I also know my history and another fact is that Fine Gael expelled the Blueshirts while Eddie Coll was busy imposing his corporatist constitution, modelled on Mussolini’s, and executing splittists from his own splinter off the original Sinn Fein which ratified the Anglo Irish Treaty.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas

Forgot my hash tag Sam…#Learntohistory

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:15 PM

@ThomasAquinas. Whats your point?? What you seem to be saying is that the Shinners also have a Fascist past. Interesting. I did not know that. Well, Fianna Fail, The Republican Party, unlike Fine Gael and (according to you) Sinn Fein, definitely does not have ANY Fascist past and has always been fully committed to Democracy. Fact. #GoodatDemocracy

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:30 AM

I suppose “slightly constitutional” means nothing to you and neither does “humpph, don’t like that vote so we’re outta here… see you in the civil war”.. democratic… my eye

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Jun 11th 2015, 12:32 AM

Forgot the hash tag again.. #goodatlies

Mute Mick Bacon
    Favourite Mick Bacon

A trade agreement written in secret by corporations ,whereby sovereign goverments are liable to be sued by the same corporations if they don’t do as these corporations wish.
    We may as well accept the microchip in the hand if this goes ahead , this is global corporate government in our faces .
    I bet not one of our MEPs has read this treaty or will , much the same way no politician read the lisbon treaty .

Jun 10th 2015, 11:41 PM

It’s a scary thought. First person i heard bring it up was Carthy of SF. Not too much talk of it since. Until now. NWO folks what can we do?

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:42 PM

DOB is illuminati, his rise in Ireland is all part of a bigger plan, a world wide plan where we are only a pebble in the lake, he is in fact systematically taking over the media and as much as he can get his hands on in Ireland, he doesn’t once have FF in his pocket he has numberous other politicians too from all parties, Irish water, TTIP, the IMF bailout, it’s all part of the big plan for a one world government, no borders, depopulation… It’s all a sinister plan!! JFK spoke against them he got shot, many others have suffered the same fate, open your eyes people!! This shit is real!!

Jun 10th 2015, 11:59 PM

The powers that be know exactly what they’re doing my friend. At least your comment will annoy them a tad as people will read it.

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Jun 11th 2015, 7:14 AM

Indeed Jamie my friend I hope it does, if it just wakes up one person I consider it a job well done!

Mute John Donnelly
    Favourite John Donnelly
    Jun 11th 2015, 7:15 AM

Disinformation!!! What is the secretive Bilderberg Conference – and why has Michael O’Leary been invited?
    http://jrnl.ie/2153804

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:44 PM

I agree with Ming.. Kenny and Noonan are under the command of Dennis the menace with Varakar and Buttimeir bringing up the rear.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:47 PM

Was your “bringing up the rear” reference to FG’s gay TDs a lame attempt at a homophobic “joke”?

Jun 10th 2015, 4:59 PM

the only one who mentioned sexual orientation was you ryan….

you’re the one with their mind in the gutter…

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:24 PM

All I want to know is what has Buttimer got to do with this debate exactly? He’s not in any way involved in the TTIP debate as far as I know. He’s not on the Dáil committee dealing with the issue. Why is he singled out from an FG group of 70 TDs?

Jun 10th 2015, 5:46 PM

well you’re the only one who mentioned sexual orientation on here…..

no one else is interested…

might be time to have a word with yourself there Ryan…

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:42 PM

Ming is being merciless

Mute MaryLou(ny)McDonald
    Favourite MaryLou(ny)McDonald

Did Ming actually turn up to work for a change?

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:48 PM

And why are you asking me this question for ?

See 19 more replies ▾
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:52 PM

he actually has the best work attendance record in EU Parliament from all irish MEP’s, since his wife recovered for a serious illness.

of course a fool such as yourself wouldn’t know about this, since your hero’s paper the indo don’t do balanced reporting, only character assassinations on the people who are fighting the oligarchs for real change for the better of all the people they represent…

What a typically ignorant comment from a government shill….

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:59 PM

Anybody remember the cannabis debate on TV where Ming was pro cannabis all the way. Then, when asked at the end if he would let his kids smoke it he said NO!! What an idiot of a chap.

Jun 10th 2015, 5:03 PM

you’re the idiot..

why would any reasonable, responsible adult let their kids smoke weed?

he also said it was their own choice when they were old enough to make that decision for themselves.

some of these idiot FG/Lab troll bots should get a life.. not much to do in the irish water call center, to actually earn their wages, with all the customer queries they don’t have…

Mute Rory Stafford
    Favourite Rory Stafford

Maith thú. Spot on. These trolls know they can’t win a reasoned debate so constantly resort to character assination.

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:17 PM

I was pointing out what a double standards hypocrite he was. Imagine going on for an hour about how harmless Cannabis is, insisting that alcohol was far worse. Then they asked him will you bring your son for his first joint when he turns 18? He completely contradicted his own argument.

That is being an idiot.

it is his kids decision to make for themselves you fool…

are you hoping he will tie them down and force feed them week, just to avoid a blatantly obtuse, ridiculous accusation of hypocrisy from a journal commenter?

as far a hypocrisy in Irish politics go, your point is beneath contempt… utterly stupid even..

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:26 PM

So who was he suggesting cannabis was harmless for? Other peoples children?

You don’t argue in favour of something that you wont allow your own kids to do.

Fool.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:31 PM

No you were trying to be smart.

Jun 10th 2015, 5:44 PM

and failed miserably… why can’t banner understand its a persons right to chose for themselves?

there really is a lot of utter stupidity on here today… total bunkum…

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:24 PM

I have absolutely no problem with people choosing for themselves.

I do have a problem with the number one cannabis legalisation lobbyist admitting that he wouldn’t take his adult son for a joint. Its obviously not as harmless as Ming claims. If it was, why would he have a problem with taking him for a joint.

Thousands of dads take they’re son for there first pint. Ming claims alcohol is far safer than alcohol. But yet he wont bring his son for a joint? That’s pure idiotic hypocrisy.

Mute John Martin Brennan
    Favourite John Martin Brennan
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:30 PM

He’s an idiot because he won’t encourage his kids to smoke? you are a complete clown.

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:33 PM

I think you missed the point Bannerboy. Ming is a father and advocates the right to let his children make their own adult decisions when they are of age to do so.

If Ming Jr says to his dad on his 18 birthday, “Da, I’d like to try a joint” I’m sure he’d say “Son, your old enough to make your own mind up now, if you wanna smoke your gonna have to run to the shop, grab skins and dominos is on me”

Ming wasn’t advocating anyone under the age of 18 smokes cannabis. That would be silly now wouldn’t it.

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:34 PM

Yes exactly. If he does not want to encourage his own kids to smoke it, then what he is he doing lobbying for and encouraging its legalisation?

Mute buzzbaron
    Favourite buzzbaron
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:43 PM

You’re some fool.

Jun 10th 2015, 7:09 PM

@ buzz; absolutely pointless exchanging with bannerboy… some points can only be argued by the utterly obtuse… no grey area here…

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:10 PM

My point is, you don’t hear the head of the NRA telling people he wouldn’t encourage his own kids to use guns.

Jun 10th 2015, 7:13 PM

you have no point… thats the point…

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Jun 10th 2015, 10:20 PM

I won’t let my kids drink smoke or drive. But when they are old enough the decision is theirs to make. No hypocrisy involved. Just logic.

Mute Rebekah Corbett
    Favourite Rebekah Corbett
    Jun 11th 2015, 2:01 AM

@Banner….not really. I drink but when my daughter reached 18 and said she didn’t want to drink I found a drink.-free way to celebrate the occasion

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson

You hit the nail on the head there Ming. Fact #TalkingSense

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:49 PM

Hi,Sam

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:51 PM

Sam do you like fianna fail?

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:27 PM

@Supernova. They’re alright. #Understatement

Mute Sam Robertson
    Favourite Sam Robertson
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:28 PM

@Thomas Mac. Hi Tom!! Hows it hanging??

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:45 PM

I’m not sure a metaphorical cliché can be a fact, but then I’m not a Fianna Fail supporter. Fact. #nailinthehead

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Jun 10th 2015, 6:07 PM

Been a long day brother Sam.Fact. Hanging like a donkey .Fact. Enjoy the rest of your evening,Sam.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:36 PM

When a piece of legislation which 71% of the country don’t know about gets passed in a parliament where the irish people make up 2-3% of that very parliament one has to ask how diluted democracy gets before its considered fascism. fascism is always one vote or one law away and ming is right to bring up the founders of fine gael and to draw comparison. If fine gael won’t debate him In the irish media then why are they voting yes? Surely they can defend their reasoning for their yes vote

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:43 PM

Great to see that Ming is actually in the Parliament for a change…

“Independent MEPs Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan and Brian Crowley have the worst voting record among Irish MEPs at the European Parliament, new figures show.

Data from VoteWatch Europe shows Mr Crowley participated in none of the votes held during the plenary sessions of the European Parliament since the European elections in May, while Mr Flanagan had a voting rate of 16 per cent.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/two-irish-meps-have-worst-voting-record-in-parliament-1.2037668

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:46 PM

ming had one of the best attendance records in roscommon council for a decade. After the spindo falsely reported his attendance record we found him to be one of the highest attended tds in the dail and the only reason he missed a few weeks in Europe was because his wife was in hospital. despite this he worked from home and you want to use these circumstances to paint a negative picture? sad individual.

there are some commenters on here that will stoop to any new low to score a political point Kevin…

the shameful face of treachery in irish society… corrupt, self enriching, scurrilous traitors..

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:54 PM

As much as I hate fianna fail Brian cowley was also in hospital. another low blow…

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:42 PM

A vote is required to happen but just won’t happen yet… Is that too difficult for Ming to understand?

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:33 PM

The vote postponement was objected via a citizens initiative with 2.5 million signatures and if 40 MEPs stood up (which they did) in the parliament the vote had to be added to the agenda, it wasn’t.

Then ming asked all the YES MEPs on twitter to debate him and they all refused. Comparison to fascism or not we are far away from a inclusive, open democracy.

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones
    Jun 10th 2015, 4:47 PM

Is Ming turning up at work again? Or doing all of his work by Twitter these days?

I actually am against the TTIP myself but this guy should start going to work again if he has not done so already.

Mute Mick Bacon
    Favourite Mick Bacon
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:22 PM

I hope you have contacted your MEP to voice your concerns regarding TTIP.

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins
    Jun 10th 2015, 7:34 PM

ming had one of the best attendance records in roscommon council for a decade. After the spindo falsely reported his attendance record we found him to be one of the highest attended tds in the dail and the only reason he missed a few weeks in Europe was because his wife was in hospital. despite this he worked from home and you want to use these circumstances to paint a negative picture?

Mute Justin Dawson
    Favourite Justin Dawson
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:09 PM

Check out his expenses and it might help. The biro is working anyway.

Mute Spike Nolan
    Favourite Spike Nolan
    Jun 10th 2015, 5:14 PM

Makes a difference as to when he wasn’t bothering to get off his ass to attend the European Parliament!

Mute EC P Ford
    Favourite EC P Ford
    Jun 10th 2015, 8:17 PM

Ming has returned he has been hiding since he got the big wage

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 11th 2015, 9:05 AM

Fine Gael always have been a fascist party even going back to mick Collins !

Jun 12th 2015, 12:52 AM

Time to leave the Euro…

Mute Seán Leahy
    Favourite Seán Leahy
    Jun 16th 2015, 10:34 PM

He’s just looking for publicity. I hardly blame him, we haven’t heard a thing from our MEPs in the last year.

Jun 12th 2015, 12:51 AM

They are doing the will of Merkel, I can see why, not mentioning their history either???