You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Garda press office

Missing man located in Dublin

He was found safe and well.

A MAN WHO had been reported missing by gardaí has been found safe and well.

Neil Dolan was reported missing this morning.

Gardaí said that he has since been located safe and well in Dublin.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute Dream Of Jennie
    Favourite Dream Of Jennie
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:08 PM

The council should be reported to the EU and have their funding withdrawn until remedies are taken. Appalling behaviour.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:20 PM

@Dream Of Jennie: No, the already under funded council have to contend with on a weekly basis the cleaning up of the parks and public thorough fairs in its constituency due to the irresponsible users of the amenities, trash is rampant after every weekend in these places( way to many to name) there are enough empty cans and bottles you could stack ‘em all and they’d reach the moon. Blockading them albeit probably fair would create a lot of municipal problems on an already strained infrastructure.

Mute Thomas
    Favourite Thomas
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:22 PM

@Dream Of Jennie: They assumed responsibility which is more than most government departments or state funded bodies would do. They will restore it and life will return to it. It is not lost forever.

Mute Brendan Cooney
    Favourite Brendan Cooney
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:33 PM

@Thomas: sorry, but it’s not as simple as that. Ecosystems are not that easy to restore, particularly when so well destroyed as in this instance. Looks like somebody thought of the simple engineering solution, not the environmental one!

Mute Mark Trudgeon
    Favourite Mark Trudgeon
    Sep 23rd 2019, 6:36 PM

@Thomas: I guess you are a council employee then!

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Favourite Lorraine Mac Rory
    Sep 23rd 2019, 7:09 PM

@Thomas: the animals living in the wetlands weren’t offered temporary housing before their homes and food sources were destroyed! Where do you think they are? Even if the silt is removed (an incredibly difficult thing to do) most of the plants and animals making up the site are already dead.

Mute HONEY BADGER180
    Favourite HONEY BADGER180
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:18 PM

All to save a few grand in dumping fees. No 1 someone needs to loose there job over this. No 2 it’s goes to show you how much South Dublin county council cares about the residents in tallaght. No 3 not a thought for Mother Nature. Jesus I am livid. Someone will burn for this.

Mute HONEY BADGER180
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:20 PM

@HONEY BADGER180: I am fuming I am after throwing a bowl of good soup at the kitchen wall. She’s going to burn me now. Jesus how could this happen

Mute HONEY BADGER180
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:21 PM

@HONEY BADGER180: back to work no lunch now. I hope the person who signed off on this gets burned hoop for a month

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:46 PM

@HONEY BADGER180: Lose their job… This is the public service, no chance.. Big pension instead..

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:03 PM

@MickN: and a promotion too most likely

Sep 23rd 2019, 3:26 PM

@Eric Davies: maybe the next Health Minister. After all the present one got the job with zero qualifications.

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Sep 23rd 2019, 4:02 PM

@HONEY BADGER180: The residents more than likely put the “in excess of 40 tonnes of illegally dumped rubbish” in the lake in the first place

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Sep 23rd 2019, 7:07 PM

@Peter Buchanan: it’s often “residents” who illegally dump rubbish. If you specifically mean the people beside the lakes in question I suggest you learn how rivers work. Also no residents of anywhere caused the silt build up in the lakes so I’m really not sure of the relevance of your comment to the destruction of a natural habitat.

Mute Carla Killeen
    Favourite Carla Killeen
    Sep 23rd 2019, 11:57 PM

@HONEY BADGER180: I hope your right.

Mute SmidgenDublin
    Favourite SmidgenDublin
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:25 PM

While Varadkar tells the UN to impose carbon taxes on us to protect the environment. There’s no consistency of communication in any area of govt.

Mute Artugal
    Favourite Artugal
    Sep 23rd 2019, 4:53 PM

@SmidgenDublin: he’ll fly around the world in the government jet, with his ‘disappointed’ demeanour, while chucking world class levels of guilt at everyone. This while he is the leader of the worst country in EU for tackling emissions.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Sep 23rd 2019, 6:41 PM

@Artugal: while he’s in new York see all the SUVs driving around those big V8s leo tax the irish for other countries indulgence

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:22 PM

Somebody needs to lose a job over this.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:37 PM

@Sean: This is Ireland, the land of no accountability. John Delaney is still on the FAI payroll FFS!

Mute Tom Jordan
    Favourite Tom Jordan
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:26 PM

Given that we have declared a climate emergency and are in the midst of an extinctions crisis, all parkland and public land management needs to be done in conjunction with ecologists for minimum disruption to wildlife.
    Public space can and should be managed for both people and nature.

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Sep 23rd 2019, 4:00 PM

@Tom Jordan: They actually claim to be following”best practice” in their destructi… sorry, management of this area, but fail to cite what exactly this is.
    It’s more than bizarre that they were actively engaged with experts about the area, appeared to have reached an agreement, then ignored it. You’d be forgiven for thinking it’s destruction was the desired result from the outset.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:35 PM

Political sound bites have changed towards the environment but the attitudes haven’t. South Dublin council is controlled by FG and FF, hopefully folks remember that in the ballot box.

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Sep 23rd 2019, 2:55 PM

@Rochelle: SDCC is controlled by independents (6) and SF (6) making up 50% of the crew

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:02 PM

@Tony Harris: who makes up the other 50% ?

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Sep 23rd 2019, 4:01 PM

@Eric Davies: 1’s and 2’s from all the other party’s

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Sep 23rd 2019, 4:33 PM

@Tony Harris: Wikipedia says council control is with FF + FG + Greens and 1 Independent.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/South_Dublin_County_Council

Mute El_Duderino
    Favourite El_Duderino
    Sep 23rd 2019, 6:44 PM

@Rochelle: The ‘council’ in this case means the public servant employees in the executive, not the elected councillors. Your local county councillor doesn’t sit in an office signing off on orders to take silt out of lakes.

Mute Gavin Conran
    Favourite Gavin Conran
    Sep 23rd 2019, 7:12 PM

@Rochelle: And who if not FG or FF do you recommend they vote for?

Mute Bobby McLoughlin
    Favourite Bobby McLoughlin
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:16 PM

So they remove it and dump it near by? Doesn’t make sense.

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:20 PM

@Bobby McLoughlin: I may be somewhat cynical in my old age, but will this essentil de-silting and cleaning of the area by the local council result in the it being rezoned, sold off to a developer and built upon.

Mute Lionheart1
    Favourite Lionheart1
    Sep 23rd 2019, 4:02 PM

@Arch Angel: That’s the conclusion I came to.Something not quite right about this.

Mute Bobby McLoughlin
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:19 PM

So dredge the rubbish up and then dump it near by as is? Seems like a lazy solution. How is that best practice?

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:26 PM

@Bobby McLoughlin: County Council and Best Practice?
    That’s a good one.

Mute Bobby McLoughlin
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:35 PM

@Fozz: its what they claim in their statement

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:05 PM

@Bobby McLoughlin: Seems that they dredged up muck, picked out the rubbish and then put the silt back beside where it came from. Not defending it, but it does look like crossed lines rather than malice- the average machine driver mightnt necessarily recognise an important habitat.

Mute Bobby McLoughlin
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:16 PM

@George Salter: Did they pick the rubbish out though? Videos I have seen still looked to have rubbish in the silt

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:41 PM

@Bobby McLoughlin: I have no idea. There is a level of diminishing returns involved, in general.

Mute Jen Sandford
    Favourite Jen Sandford
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:38 PM

Just half-arsed promises as usual. This is sickening! SDCC needs to be held accountable for this and a definitive plan of action outlined/ money made available to regenerate the wetlands. Anything less is NOT acceptable and is a complete disgrace.
    Action please, not words!

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:39 PM

@Jen Sandford: It’s utterly absurd that the council decide to take it upon themselves to “enhance” this area with out consulting anyone, this is done by destroying it.
    There, doesn’t it look much better now lads?
    While we have a leader trying to convince the world of our Green credentials, this is the real Ireland back home. Pitiful.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:33 PM

Heard an interview with someone from the HIS on the radio this morning. This wetland was only discovered a few years ago as it didnt exist previously. He was saying the theory as to how it formed was in fact the dumping of silt waste at that location previously. Doesn’t excuse in any way what happened but at least gives reassurance that the site maybe recoverable

Mute Arch Angel
    Favourite Arch Angel
    Sep 23rd 2019, 4:54 PM

@Vocal Outrage: Errr, shouldn’t the “Herpetological Society of Ireland” be the HSI and not the HIS…?

Mute Support Cancer research
    Favourite Support Cancer research
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:51 PM

Check out my Twitter I have pics from my drone of them doing it

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:21 PM

Who cares about nature. Job well done in my book!

Mute HONEY BADGER180
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:23 PM

@Socky Varadkar: your book is Ann and Barry so that tells us everything about you.

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 23rd 2019, 1:33 PM

@Socky Varadkar: feeble troll.

Sep 23rd 2019, 3:29 PM

@Paul Whitehead: don’t insult trolls!

Mute Mick Scanlan
    Favourite Mick Scanlan
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:21 PM

Large site for sale only councillors friends need apply . FPP for dog box apartments .

Mute Lorraine Mac Rory
    Sep 23rd 2019, 7:13 PM

Sure the councils next target is 10 hectares of woodland and wetlands near Saggart. Zoned residential and to be bulldozed for housing. Is it any wonder that biodiversity is declining faster in Ireland than any other country in Europe?!

Mute Peter Mc
    Favourite Peter Mc
    Sep 23rd 2019, 9:58 PM

@Lorraine Mac Rory: I’m sorry but housing trumps biodiversity at the moment!

Mute Tony Harris
    Favourite Tony Harris
    Sep 23rd 2019, 2:57 PM

SDCC removed all the silt and illegally dumped rubbish and…..

……..Illegally dumped it?

Mute Felim O'Rourke
    Favourite Felim O'Rourke
    Sep 23rd 2019, 3:06 PM

It seems from the picture that the wetland was dry. If we wet it again it would destroy all the ecology that existed there

Mute Rebecca Owens
    Favourite Rebecca Owens
    Sep 23rd 2019, 5:39 PM

The very same thing done to our beaches. The rubbish is gathered and then buried on the beach for the tide to take care of. Utter disgrace!

Mute Sportmad
    Favourite Sportmad
    Sep 23rd 2019, 10:49 PM

They should be charged over this and serve a sentence also. Let this one go and they will do it again.
    Imagine a farmer doing this?
    opw made a mess of the pitches in Na Piarsaigh GAA limerick yet nothing about it since as to who will be brought to account either.

Mute Leo Lalor
    Favourite Leo Lalor
    Sep 23rd 2019, 2:33 PM

Idiots. Name names. Who authorised this

Mute Nigel Mcatamney
    Favourite Nigel Mcatamney
    Sep 24th 2019, 2:33 PM

You can’t build on silt…..