You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Missing 18-month-old girl and her grandfather found safe and well

Gardaí have thanked people for their assistance.

AN 18-MONTH-OLD baby and her grandfather who had both been missing have been found safe and well. 

Gardaí had appealed for help in finding Shania Constantin and her grandfather Condrut Iosca who had been last seen on Thursday. 

Both have now been found safe and well and gardaí have thanked people for their assistance. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

29 Comments
    Mute Johannes Baader
    Favourite Johannes Baader
    May 4th 2019, 8:35 AM

36 year old grandfather?

Mute Humphrey Harold Haddington
    Favourite Humphrey Harold Haddington
    May 4th 2019, 8:59 AM

@Johannes Baader: If he became a father at 18 and his child became a parent at 18 that would make him 36 years old…. Its pretty simple maths whats the big deal?

Mute Carol Conway
    Favourite Carol Conway
    May 4th 2019, 9:10 AM

@Humphrey Harold Haddington: for most people in Ireland being a grandparent so young is not “the norm”. When you think of grandparents you think of people in their 60′s, 70′s and so on. So you can understand someone’s immediate confusion. Anyway, a child is missing so let’s get back to that priority.

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    May 4th 2019, 9:11 AM

@Humphrey Harold Haddington: his child would have to have been a parent at 16 or 17 but I get your point.

Mute Sirius
    Favourite Sirius
    May 4th 2019, 9:23 AM

@Johannes Baader: to be fair you raise a very good point. “Grandfather” to most people is someone over the age of 60 so, people may see this man with a child and think it’s a father and daughter and not match him with this story.

Mute Denis Riordan
    Favourite Denis Riordan
    May 4th 2019, 10:55 AM

@Johannes Baader: I was thinking that. The maths don’t add up. 36 year old grandest say 16 when he had his son/daughter. That would put them at 20. Yep it’s possible.

Mute Johannes Baader
    Favourite Johannes Baader
    May 4th 2019, 12:51 PM

@Humphrey Harold Haddington: Knacker Expert

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 4th 2019, 2:00 PM

@Johannes Baader: A baby girl has gone missing but let’s be more concerned about the Grandfather’s age shall we

Mute Aidan Mitchell
    Favourite Aidan Mitchell
    May 4th 2019, 8:09 AM

Can we get a picture of the grandfather too? Likely more easily recognisable. Child can be in a pram not visible.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    May 4th 2019, 8:19 AM

@Aidan Mitchell: also babies can look pretty similar when they’re so little. Photo of the grandfather and the van’s license plate number would be very helpful.

This has sent shivers down my spine, I really hope this is resolved quickly and that both baby and grandfather are not in harms way.

Mute Monika Broughill
    Favourite Monika Broughill
    May 4th 2019, 8:53 AM

@Aidan Mitchell: There is a picture of him on Independent.ie

Mute Tony Donoghue
    Favourite Tony Donoghue
    May 4th 2019, 1:07 PM

@Aidan Mitchell: But there clearly is a picture

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    May 4th 2019, 8:43 AM

Guessing they could be Roma. The name……young age for grandfather….loads of them residing around the nth circular. I could be wrong…..

May 4th 2019, 9:05 AM

@Michael Collins: did you ever think of becoming a detective and helping to solve crime. I would of never in a million years put all of them clues together.

Mute Michael Collins
    Favourite Michael Collins
    May 4th 2019, 11:37 AM

@Humphrey Harold Haddington: im also guessing Humphrey is not your real name there Humphrey

May 4th 2019, 1:04 PM

@Michael Collins: Your good….. Real good!

Mute Alan Barry
    Favourite Alan Barry
    May 4th 2019, 8:07 AM

Why are CRI (Child Rescue Ireland) alerts not prompted anymore? Hope this is resolved and they are found soon.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    May 4th 2019, 12:03 PM

@Alan Barry: A CRI is issued when there’s believed to be an immediate risk to the missing child’s safety; if the risk isn’t there, the alert isn’t raised.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    May 4th 2019, 8:17 AM

God almighty I hope she is found safe and sound!

Mute andyearley
    Favourite andyearley
    May 4th 2019, 8:54 AM

Please let her be found safe and sound

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    May 4th 2019, 9:00 AM

Why is 36 year old grandfather so hard for people to grasp.he has a baby at 18 his daughter or son then has a baby at 17/18???? Also..bigger picture!!!

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    May 4th 2019, 10:57 AM

@Lisa Quinn: Point is people would be looking out for an older man with a baby, not a 36 yr old.

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    May 4th 2019, 11:50 AM

@Kath Noonan: which is why they said his age? Also the comments i read seem to be sceptical that someone could be a grandfather at 36.I don’t see where we are having trouble here?

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    May 4th 2019, 12:17 PM

@Lisa Quinn: becsuse it’s not the norm. That’s why.

Mute Michelle Keeley
    Favourite Michelle Keeley
    May 4th 2019, 2:27 PM

@Sean Ryan: : Plus baby is now 18mths so this is a very young grandfather. Average age of having first child is in 30s so people could easily mistake him for the father.

Mute Peter Cavey
    Favourite Peter Cavey
    May 4th 2019, 8:37 AM

Are you sure you have the Grandfather’s age correct? 36? A photo would be more helpful.

May 4th 2019, 9:12 AM

@Peter Cavey: In my local town we have grannies much younger tham 36…. Grandfathers are unusual because them or the fathers can never be found.

Mute helen walsh
    Favourite helen walsh
    May 4th 2019, 2:25 PM

There’s nothing wrong with saying he is probably Roma, at least one is not on the lookout for a blond, as for his age so many Irish Travellers marry very young too, nobody questions that. The article states the baby is in the care of her grand dad, does that mean he is the guardian? Or is it a typo? Sounds like a family feud or was the child not being properly cared for, it’s all very unusual. Hope nothing sinister is afoot and they are both found safe and well

Mute Nigel Garvey
    Favourite Nigel Garvey
    May 4th 2019, 11:40 AM

Fascist censorship again ….