You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE FAMILY OF a man who has not been seen in almost six months have made a public appeal for information about his disappearance.
Gerry Taylor was last seen walking from the Milltown Luas stop in Dublin, along Dundrum Road and the Dundrum bypass, at around 11.15am on Saturday 25 May.
He was last seen passing Taylors Three Rock Hotel on Kellystown Road towards Ticknock in the Dublin mountains.
Speaking to RTÉ One’s Crimecall, his sister Fiona said his family were hoping for “another piece of the puzzle” to be put in place to help find Gerry.
His mother Nora also explained that the last six months have taken a toll on the family.
“It’s been very, very difficult,” she said. “Your life is on hold. Every day the first thing you think of in the morning is Gerry.”
Related Reads
'We can't solve this without the public's help': Family renew appeal for woman who went missing without a trace
His father Tommy said he expected to see Gerry coming home every time he saw a bus near the family’s home, saying “I still can’t think that he’s left us”.
The 55-year-old is described as being 5 foot 10 inches in height and of medium build. He has grey hair, stubble, blue eyes and wears glasses.
When last seen he was wearing a blue sports cap, black jacket with a hood, bottle green-coloured chino trousers and navy Adidas runners with a white sole and white stripes on the side.
Anyone with information that could lead to Gerry’s whereabouts is asked to contact Dundrum garda station on 01 666 5600 or the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
4 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Remember, the Church which was in theory in charge of these institutions still controls over 90% of our primary schools. WE NEED A COMPLETE SEPARATION OF CHURCH AND STATE.
I’m certain that most people would be none too pleased to have new schools here with an Islamic ethos, pushing Muslim values. Why have a Catholic equivalent? It’s hard to see when you’re inside looking out.
School for education.
Church for religion.
Agreed religion needs to be taken out of the school system. The silver lining was they did educate generations of Irish people who would never have received it from the state otherwise. The church without had an agenda of control, and u control the education system you control the culture and hence the state to an extent. Up north its worse, the only way they will ever solve their problems is through integrated schools. The catholic church is trying to block this at every turn to keep their monopoly on half the population at the expense of building a better society. Society and the culture at the time is to blame partially for this but where did this culture and society get formed, largely through the church. I lived in middle east for few yrs and it reminds me of what ireland was probably like in ireland in 50s 60s where conformity to social rules are influenced by religion.
If it was a problem for most people we would see the protests.
10,000 people might read this thread. Only 30 different people will respond. Us commentators on the journal are not representative of the majority.
If 82% of Irish people say they’re Catholics then there are an awful lot of liars in Ireland. I know virtually no one who is a Catholic or anything else for that matter.
Because less than 1 in 5 people claiming to part of that nut-wackery actually attend mass, if you confined worship to actual places of worship they’d be gone in a week.
@sean o’dhubhghaill: You will never be able to separate the church from the Irish state as long as they have control of school education. The church dominates most of our lives from the cradle to the grave.
The Church ruled Ireland, the country was effectively a theocracy and government was an illusion, no major decisions were passed without the consent of the Roman Catholic Church, a prime example being the battle for Dr Noel Browne’s Mother & Baby scheme where the church didn’t want mothers and children to have access to the public health system like they did in the North with the NHS so they could ensure they maintained complete control of women’s bodies.
@OpenBorders: why as a people did we let an Italian based church control our country? As a people we are not great at questioning or challenging our culture.
@Biróg: We were ignorant, brainwashed and indoctrinated by centuries of religious rule. We must remove this organization, from our country and seize their assets as punishment for their evil deeds.
@Tony Daly: I personally think in light of what has transpired in the last few days … Now is not the time for a Papal visit ..Show some respect to all these babies that were treated like animals by the church….
Have to agree with brid Smith.
Bríd Smith says she is sick of hearing that we are all at fault for Tuam.
She says it was all paid for by the State.
“It was systemic abuse – the Church and the State worked together,” she says.
She hits out against Minister for Finance Michael Noonan, for opening up a new Bon Secours hosital just a few days after the Tuam revelations.
Very few paedophiles break into homes to molest children, they generally get themselves into positions of authority over children. So does that somehow absolve them in any shape form or fashion for their evil deeds.
Hang your head in shame Kenny and anyone who would give you or your party any further ‘ authority’ in this country.
Littleone it could be perfect timing if we could keep the outrage going till then, we might get a decent number to protest his visit. But the sheeple are easily distracted, the outrage will fade and we’ll all move along to the next scandal.
@Tony Daly: Actually Tony while the Roman Catholic church was by far the dominant Church it was a stigma promulgated by most Christian religions including Protestantism.
But what I find most amazing about some of the comments here is the rush to criticise the Taoiseach for his statement which is quoted above. He is spot on. Some people are so determined to apportion political blame and religious blame that they don’t want to focus on a broader responsibility. The fact is Irish society colluded in what happened to these children – our own children, our sisters, our aunts. Some people seem to get angry when this broader responsibility is mentioned.
In the past Irish society rushed to judge certain types of people. Usually women. They were convenient scapegoats for our perceived moral failings and “sins”. This conveniently allowed us as a society to ignore the responsibilities of others. It was a nauseatingly hypocritical society that was judgmental and blind. I’m not convinced we have changed that much. We are still seeking convenient scapegoats. It’s all the fault of the religious, the politicians – but never our fault. We were brainwashed. We were controlled etc etc. Excuse after excuse by the same type of moral cowards who in the past pointed fingers at women who were pregnant outside marriage. Anything to avoid looking in the mirror.
So let’s be honest, both the Church and the State were actively supported by a large number of Irish people who shared the perverse sexually repressed shame filled misogynistic values of the time. Am I to believe that they were all brain washed? No. They took the easy route, surrendered their own power and colluded because this was the easier option. “We were just following orders” doesn’t wash with me. The people of Germany faced the same reality after WW2.
But it’s easier to finger others for your hate and to blame others for societal wrongs. In this sense what has changed? We are still scapegoating. Still avoiding responsibility and all under the new religion of “right on-ness”. The Catholic Church were toppled long ago which is why so many people feel happy to attack them. If they still had the same power as long ago the moral giants populating these boards would be hiding under their beds.
I have no sympathy for the Catholic Church or for any others involved. They deserve what they have coming to them. But is it too much to ask that we also take a good long hard look in the mirror at our own failings, the moral cowardice, the group think, the fear of sticking our head above the parapet which still plague us to this day? Irish people colluded on a mass scale with the Church and State. It was a symbiotic relationship. Let us at last deconstruct that relationship and own our own end of things. Let us grow up.
@John R: You are right, the same stigma still controls ethos in Roman Catholic and Church of Ireland primary education through asking parents for proof of a childs baptism.
Especially when he went to visit the Catholic Bishop of Galway in 1951…… He offered Noel Browne hand made cigarettes in a silver casket “These I have to have made in Bond St…. I always like champagne in the afternoon ”
And this was the same church that opposed the mother and child scheme ???
John R, maybe if the RCC cared for the people who society had hidden (because of the RCC’s doctrines) in their institutions instead of brutalising them while they were in their care you might have a bit of a point. These crimes were committed by nuns and priests, and encouraged by the Church hierarchy. Blaming society as a whole is generic and too simplistic and does a gross injustice to the victims of Catholic abuse.
John R, Are we the majority colluding now in the system which throws families on to the streets to enrich vulture funds or forces children with scoliosis twisted spines to wait in agony so that bondholders suffer not the slightest twinge for their failed gambles? Apportion blame where it belongs. On the shoulders of the ruling class which enforces a system of brute exploitation of the majority to elevate the few.
The same system of couse misinforms the many as to the nature of the socioeconomic system which exploits them. So for example those who vote for FF, FG , Labour and bogus Independents are in fact complicit in their own exploitation though many are unaware of that reality.
‘No nuns broke into our homes to steal our children’ says Kenny. Alas he is wrong on that score because in a massive way the Church penetrated itself deep into the lives of so many thousands of Irish families, the Church screamed of sin and sin and sin and hell and brimstone and MORTAL SIN and we had decades of it from every angle, from the moment of birth SIN!
The Church hacked its way into the population, much like the regime in North Korea has done to their people and the people are afraid to breathe, they wilfully betray each other out of fear, just like Ireland under the cosh of the Church, reverence was essential in both. The Church is to blame 100% Kenny is very wrong on that score, because he supports the church, they respect each other, he is a believer in their nonsense. His government still hands our children over to the 98% of schools still overseen by the church, he still has reverence, that is the problem now, nothing will change until that changes.
Enda and his ilk want us to flagellate ourselves now for the sins of his ruling class. It won’t wash. The weak ruling class depended on the authority of the church to preserve their power and privilege and so gave them carte blanche to pursue their murderous doctrine. Another force on which the establishment depends heavily is the police. And we see exactly the same instinct today as they stand full square behind an utterly discredited Commissioner. And in a few years FF and FG will be inviting us to blame ourselves for the systematic attacks on whistleblowers in the Gardai now.
It’s the equivalent of the risible “we all partied” lie as they bailed out the corrupt and delinquent banks with € 100 + billion of the people’s money.
Do you really think that the Church or politicians would let that happen.
So sad that all those poor little ones suffered such horrors an at the hands of ‘caring’ nuns. Shame on all involved and on you Mr. Kenny.
@John R: in reply, I take your points and answer them.
1. The primary culprit in Ireland in a causal sense is the institution of the Roman Catholic Church. Blaming all of society and all of the Irish people is too vague and non directed. Roman Catholicism is the preponderant religion in Ireland. It’s influence, cultural, historic, values and mores permeates every organ of state and almost every social institution in Ireland, the legislature, the judiciary, Givernment, An Garda Siochana, schools, hospitals, media, schools and universities.
2. Misogyny is firmly, deep,ply and inextricably embedded in all dimensions and aspects of the Roman Catholic Church. It is a core cause of the notion of illegitimacy and the concept of the “fallen woman”.
3. The stigma of illegitimacy was originally a feudal type notion and later embraced by Roman Catholicism and and some Protestant faiths. Illegitimacy in a moral and social sense finds it most extreme and hateful manifestation in the Canin Law and Catechism of the Roman Catholic religion. Contrast this with the milder admonitions in the Protestant faiths.
4. The social values, mores and norms of Ireland, its legal system and its culture are primarily set in the public sphere by Roman Catholicism. The Roman Catholic Church looms over all public issues, especially those which involve, procreation or the lack of.
5. The Religion of most of the “baby farms” , euphemistically called Mother and Child Homes, was Roman Catholicism. The religion of those who condemned pregnant mothers to such homes was Roman Catholicism. The Dustruct Judges who made the judicial orders were Roman Catholics. The medical practitioners were Roman Catholic and the Guards were Roman Catholic. These were all dutiful Roman Catholics performing a non negotiable religious duty.
6. Avoiding the identification of and acknowledging the full and pervasive extent of the role and influence of Roman Catholicism is to scapegoat the wrong people and to avoid confronting the real causal factor, the Roman Catholic Church.
7. The Roman Catholic Church remains a hugely powerful, influential force in Irish public affairs. Our two largest political parties are Roman Catholic dominated, FF and FG, and the Taoiseach shows his Roman Catholic credentials at every available opportunity.
8. Irish people have been habituated and conditioned to follow the diktats of a a highly dogmatic, authoritarian and assertive Church an institution which has elements of fascism in an institutional sense.
9. Looking at Irish people or Irish society or other vague categories is to ignore the giant herd of elephants and to focus on the mere incidentals.
10. We need to focus on the true causal factor, the repressive and authoritarian role of the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland.
@Paulo mclawlor: Agreed Paulo. The context of this is, that families were advised and shamed by the catholic, so called religious clergy and their supporters, to hand over their illegitimate babies to these horrible institutions.
The nuns did not break into homes to take the babies but they and their organisation played a large part in facilitating it to happen.It’s disgraceful statement by Kenny, totally ignoring the context of the situation.
@John R: Yeah sure John let’s blame the people. It’s a well known political tactic. Let’s focus away from the institution that are really to blame like the church and the state.
Minister Zappone and Mary Lou are Strictly Dancing. Katherine is afraid to put a foot wrong and Mary Lou is skating on the thin ice over the ‘Disapeared.
The first I ever heard of the Magdalene laundries was the 1998 channel 4 documentary, Witness – sex in a cold climate.
I was shocked, and angered to learn about it. I know that none of my peers, who I spoke to at the time, had heard about the Magdalene laundries either.
Following the broadcast on British TV, an article in the Irish Times described the program as unbalanced, since it did not give the nuns’ side of the story.
An attempt to respond to this by Dr Frances Finnegan, consultant on the Channel 4 documentary remained unpublished “due to pressure of space”.
(http://www.broadsheet.ie/tag/sex-in-a-cold-climate/)
(http://congravepress.com/article/)
Some years later, the documentary was scheduled to be shown on Irish television. I set my video, but the broadcast was cancelled.
RTE finally broadcast the documentary in 2013, 15 years after it was first shown on British television.
The Irish media was involved in, and had a policy of, covering up abuse in this country.
Politicians were aware of what was happening.
Doctors, psychiatrists, police, judges, etc, would all have had some awareness of what was going on. In many cases, for example, the courts were involved in sending victims to these places of incarceration, and the police were involved in returning escaped victims to these awful places. Psychiatrists and other doctors would have dealt with the victims and abusers. Certain of these people are still working today.
I myself was sexually abused on various occasions at the age of 8 by the headmaster/priest of my school, a Fr. Casey. My family were abusive.
I resent any implication that as a member of society, I had any responsibility for the Magdalene / mother and baby concentration camps.
It would be nice if Enda was to say that his party, and the other shower, bore a lot of responsibility for what went on in those places, rather than shrugging off any blame.
For once I agree with a Kenny statement. We can thank the Catholic Church for brainwashing people into thinking it was shameful to have a child out of marriage and suggesting such Christian ways of dealing with the “problem” while denying the fact that sexual abuse was rife throughout the country
That’s what his ilk do, just like ‘we all partied’ when clearly we did not but the object was to protect big institutions of banks and now it’s protect the institution of the Roman Catholic Church and its back to All of us are at fault.
We were a Republic run by cowards in the early days and we’re still run by cowards.
@Gerry Ryan: He’s protecting much more than that, by trying to lay the blame on society. It is why the reports into sex abuse have been buried for 75 years.
All these “concentration camps” for women and children, or the industrial schools for children, were no more than knocking shops for the great and the good in both church and state.
Grace is one ugly issue, Mary Boyle another, and there are enough questions about the disappearance of Philip Cairns being linked to a powerful pedo gang.
@RMcG: “But again he’s blaming society, society alone is not to blame, the Catholic Church is, but he’s too chicken to call them out.”
You’re actually wrong. Society alone is not to blame you are correct but they have a large part of the blame. Perhaps you don’t remember the times. I remember what it was like even in the 1970s and 1980s and that was but a pale reflection of what it was like in earlier generations. Ireland was a conservative society that sucked the life out of people and it placed all authority on a pedestal. It as also a poverty stricken society.
As for Kenny, he is certainly no chicken. He was the first Taoiseach to come out in the Dáil and criticise the Vatican in very direct terms previously unknown. Give the man some credit.
So many people posting here on this issue are posting in an era when it is easy to make these statements of condemnation. The war is over. The Catholic Church lost. Thank goodness. But the terms in which many people are posting here reminds me of a different times when that bile was reserved for women and other non-conformists. It was easy to condemn such people because it was popular just as it is now popular to do the same to the likes of the Catholic Church. Can we please open our eyes and stop living in denial?
Irish society supported the Church with great fervour. Many in Irish society were even more extreme in their views. We also elected the politicians and punished them when they stepped out of line by speaking anyway harshly of the Church. Our sons populated the ranks of all the repressive Irish institutions. But its all the fault of the Church? Are we so blind and so unwilling to admit that our own parents, grand-parents and ancestors colluded and offered up their own daughters to the torture?
But no. It is all the fault of the Church and everyone else but us. I see little has changed in Ireland except for our choice of convenient scapegoats. How can we change if we can’t admit that our own choices and non-choices gave power to the very institutions that destroyed the lives of these poor women and children and that when we, eventually, took back that power these institutions crumbled? Because that is what happened.
A Fine Gael-er and apologist if ever I saw one! Kenny has repeatedly shown himself to be a spineless and lickspittle coward, the hypocrite even reopened The Vatican Embassy so his condemnation of them was hollow posturing and nothing more.
@Adrian: John’s a naive little fella, trying to cut his jib with the big boys on here, and failing, let him have his waffle comments, it’s almost his bedtime now.
This is not society’s fault ,people lived in fear of politicians, church,Gda.if you opened your mouth against them,you could lose your job,your home your family.they were the ” pillars of society ” and could do no wrong.stop blaming society.
There was economic emigration from this place throughout the history of this State but many left with a great sense of relief to get away from what was an oppressive Catholic State more akin to the modern day Taliban than Christianity.
In fact there was very very little Christian about it at all.
But given their turning of the Vatican into a sanctuary for Vile Nazi murderers it’s hardly surprising.
Hang on a minute, he says the Nuns didn’t break into our houses and take the children, we gave them up, how many mothers were made give up their children because of societal views that were forced on the people by a Church with too much power in our Country?
He also stated we had a perverse pursuit of respectability, now which organisation was it again that had the control over the people and their views, remember a lot of people where uneducated with most leaving school at 12 with only a very basic education, which organisation was it that had a hold over most of society and that could lecture to them every Sunday?
In 1969 I was 17 and pregnant, I refused to go to a Mother and babies home . Everyone including myself knew you wouldn’t get your baby back The priests of the Parish scandalized my Family and said I HAD to get Married. On the morning of my “Wedding ” I went to 8am mass outside my Parish, to keep it all hidden. I was 17 , my Husband to be was 18 , My “bridesmaid ” was 16, and the best man was my 13 years old brother in short trousers. These were my witnesses. My “carriage” was the 27 bus. Nobody else went to the Church. The priest had no trouble presiding over this type of Child abuse. We were all terrified of the PRIEST and the Church. How Enda can say thee was any choice back then is not true .
@Mr Snuffleupagus: Actually he isn’t defending the Church and Ava’s story is horrific but not untypica of the times. So many people liek Ava suffered and were judged, especially women. It was not a nice society. That was Ireland and it only ended when people rebelled and took back their power and support from the Church.
The primary causes of the “mother and child homes” in Ireland was the rise of a highly conservative and sexually condemnatory form of Roman Catholicism, associated with the ultramontane Roman Catholicism. This ultramontane Catholicism was based not only on the notion of papal infallibility but on an almost Calvinist sense that sexual behaviour was innately and inherently sinful and that the sexual lives and behaviour of Roman Catholics required strict and severe regulation by the Roman Catholic Church. This form of ultramontane Roman Catholicism was led from Maynooth Diocesan Seminary and became very much embedded in the all-Ireland Diocesan Church of the late 19th century in Ireland. We saw the more ribald version of this in the actions of local priest hunting courting couples out of the bushes. Added to this was the rise of a Jansenist hard line and extremis form of Roman Catholicism imported from France by Irish clerical students who had studied in France.
There were particular factors which drove this particular form of obsessive need to control the sexual lives of Roman Catholic adherents. One dimension was the memory of overpopulation and a realisation that farms, the primary source of economic activity had been excessively subdivided. Factors which combined with this were of course the consideration that any form of artificial contraception, especially condoms, were so evil as to constitute a heinous mortal sin.
As a result of the rise of this rigidly conservative and sexually condemnatory form of Roman Catholicism, which borrowed certain elements from extreme evangelical Christian movements, the obsession of the Roman Catholic clergy and hierarchy became focused on sexual morality to the exclusion of all other forms of morality. Sexual abstinence and chastity took over as the greatest virtue, far greater than the notions Christian charity and kindness.
Considerable emphasis was placed on the notion of illegitimacy, that is, conception out of holy wedlock. The product of such sexual conduct was seen to represent and to record this mortal sin. The illegitimate baby was the direct product and personification of mortal sin. The illegitimate baby confirmed was reminder of the sinful status of the mother who had engaged in illicit sex outside the bounds of marriage. Not only was the mother to be condemned but so also, and even more so, was the illegitimate child to be condemned. Not only in Ireland, but especially so in Ireland, a form of social and moral pariah was created. This loathsome and detested pariah was the illegitimate child, the living embodiment of sin and a creature to be condemned and hated by all proper and devout Roman Catholics.
The Roman Catholic Church managed in a highly effective manner to personalise a hatred of sexual immorality in the form of a personalised hatred against each and all illegitimate children. It was helpful that the legal system, a remnant of the feudal system and increasingly Roman Catholic influenced designated children born outside wedlock as legally illegitimate. As against this there was a very mild and moderate effect in that child could be legitimated by subsequent marriage but that did not remove the stigma of original moral illegitimacy. Once illegitimate, then always illegitimate and permanently tainted by the stigma of illegitimacy. “Illegitimatus”. Of course, notions of inheritance and property were also raised but the primary driver was the use of sexual morality and illegitimacy so as to aggrandise finances, power and influence of the Roman Catholic Church.
The Roman Catholic Canon law of the time and the Roman Catechism reinforced this message about the stigma of illegitimacy. Neither the seventh son of a seventh son of an illegitimate person could enter the kingdom of heaven. Still less could an illegitimate person ever qualify for valid holy orders. These were deeply embedded concepts in Roman Catholicism. These notions were pervasive in effect and, so much so, that every nun, every priest and every devout and loyal layperson was expected to express their profound hatred and moral revulsion for any illegitimate child. In a literal and vivid sense, the supposed sins of the fallen mother were visited on the child and the child was considered the living embodiment of the most terrible sin of all, the sin of sexual immorality and, specifically, sexual intercourse outside the bounds of holy matrimony.
This created in the late 19th century and into the 20th century a highly febrile (Witches of Salem like) and hugely judgemental atmosphere in which the local social communities, ruled by their Roman Catholic clergy, acted in a constant fervour of condemnation of only sexual immorality and specifically of illegitimate children. Every illegitimate child was proof of mortal sin. Should they even be baptised? Had they real souls. Were they human or sub-human?
All of this produced the atmosphere and circumstances in which it was possible for Roman Catholic orders of nuns to administer mother and child homes. These mother and child homes had to be funded. They also had to be profitable. These mother and child homes were partly state funded but also had other sources of income. In some cases, middle income and wealthy families when a position to pay in advance substantial sums of money to these homes in order to fund the upkeep and care for the mother and for the child and to do so on and in on an anonymous basis. In such cases, such mothers and children were in a position to escape from these mother and child homes and to resume living in the mainstream social environment.
For other mothers, who could not pay their way, the solution was that they would be enslaved and required to do menial tasks in order to discharge their debt. The usual period of time required was a minimum of three years but often was much longer and could frequently extend into five or six years. At that point, institutionalisation tended to take over and frequently such mothers remained in these homes indefinitely, a form of serfdom.
In the 1920s, the relevant homes discovered a potential new source of income. Although illegal adoptions had been an occasional feature from time to time these were of an ad hoc nature. Now it was realised that childless Roman Catholic couples in the United States and in Australia, often from impeccable Roman Catholic backgrounds of an Irish immigrant nature, were interested in adopting Roman Catholic children and were willing to pay substantially for such adoptions and to avoid the normal legal processes. This became a highly profitable source of income.
There was also an additional consideration. The Roman Catholic Church was always supportive of medium and large farmers. In some cases, such farmers were reluctant to pay farm labourers full wages. A suitable alternative was to obtain the slave labour of children from these homes would be taken into the homes of the farmers and effectively treated as local slave labour. Exploited to the hilt and frequently treated with social derision, such persons were seen never as suitable persons to get married. The only escape from many of these men was to depart for England and to lives of solitary labour. For the young women the situation was even more difficult. A life of domestic servitude was the best that they could aspire to and frequently they were seen as objects of sexual exploitation. The remark made was “Your mother was the same and you are the same as your mother.” A blind eye was made by the Roman Catholic Church to such sexual predation. Men had their needs.
The painful challenge for Ireland is to come to terms with this particular aspect of its past.
Many social, cultural, current affairs and historical commentators in Ireland and media personalities do not want to confront the reality of the role of the Roman Catholic Church in Ireland. It has to be remembered that practically every person in any position of influence or significance in Ireland is the product of a Roman Catholic education, a Roman Catholic upbringing and cultural and social Roman Catholicism. We are to a large extent influenced by the Roman Catholic religion and, whether we like it or not, there is a strong remnant of passionate loyalty to that Roman Catholicism even if and when we may argue against or dissent against some of its more extreme manifestations. The consequent difficulty for the country is that Roman Catholicism has been so pervasive and invasive in its effect, so deeply embedded and so substantially part and parcel of the Irish way of life of our social circumstances and of the evolution of all of our social institutions and agencies, that to criticise the Roman Catholic Church seems to be a self-criticism of an extremely painful kind. For perfectly understandable reasons, it is one which we do not wish to embark upon.
Confronting the past is an enormous challenge. It is an especially difficult and painful challenge where that past is an embedded and intrinsic part of us all, our Roman Catholicism. Even in the case of those who do not practice as Roman Catholics, there was often a strong desire for a resolution, for a return to the embrace of the Roman Catholic Church and a sense in which any strong criticism of the Roman Catholic Church as an institution for its historical role is seen as a form of betrayal. For that reason, criticism of Roman Catholicism in Ireland frequently evokes from many persons, even from those who are not especially devout, an extremely painful form of reaction and an intensely intolerance for such criticism.
The difficulties of confronting Roman Catholicism and its adverse effect are compounded by the fact that largely, and with some exceptions, the Irish intelligentsia who were opposed to this dominant and negative effect of Roman Catholicism have been forced into exile over the generations. Countless Irish writers found that they had to leave the country. Even those who were brave enough to wish to remain found that their employment for example as teachers was terminated when their views were expressed. John McGahern is only one example.
Now a great difficulty, after the elapse of so many years, is to identify the context within which the abusive and oppressive role of Roman Catholicism can be objectively examined. Memories have dimmed. Most of the victims are long dead. Much of which evidence has been disposed of. The underground chambers are silent.
Adding to that difficulty of memory and evidence, is the reality that the younger generation, especially those born from the 1960s onwards, have little or no recollection especially those born from Vatican II onwards of that dreadful repressive atmosphere of that terrible and that enormous sense of repression which pervaded Irish society at the time. It was not merely that they was a religious form of ostracism for those who did not conduct themselves according to the norms of expectations of the Roman Catholic Church. It was also the case those Roman Catholic norms were backed up by powerful social norms which were precisely reflective of and informed by Roman Catholic norms. To challenge the Roman Catholic Church, to disagree with that Church or not to act precisely in accordance with its diktats, was to invite social ostracism and extreme public and private opprobrium.
That was the reality of life that formed the background and circumstances to the manner in which these mother and child homes could thrive, could be highly profitable and could be used to park the embarrassment of those who became unwittingly pregnant, often as a result of abusive and predatory relationships. Blame the woman and the child; do not blame the man.
The mother and child homes represent our greatest embarrassment, or profoundest shame, the place for our religious and social lepers. They were the place where we could conveniently locate the reminders of the stain of sin and serve the notion that we were a nation of pure and decent folk uncontaminated by the sins of our English counterparts.
Now we have to examine the very fabric of our society, our defining characteristics, those things which are embedded so deeply in all of us that they are part of us. We have come to terms with the fact that for many generations we created an entire class of persons were treated with contempt, hatred and who were abused and exploited.
To deny or to distract from the role of Roman Catholicism is to fail to confront the fundamental and basic reason why these terrible events and such awful maltreatment occurred.
Tony, you might make an important point or two in there somewhere, but not many are going to read something that length. Do you have a condensed version, by any chance?
The more I hear about Tuam the more I cringe. The Catholic Church are responsible for immense damage. Colossal damage. I couldn’t condemn them enough. But let’s face it they weren’t the only ones who ruined these people’s lives. The parents who shoved them in there in the first place knowing the kind of place it was. The community, the Gardai, the teachers, the medical people who helped the girls who were pregnant. The State. Is there anyone or any organisation that stood up for the mothers and their babies at that time. Cos I haven’t heard of any….
@Jumperoo: that is a far and justified criticism. Thanks you for your courtesy.
I typed that very long and even tedious comment as closely reasoned rebuttal of the point that it was not Roman Catholicism or religion were to blame but society and parents and grandparents.
I consider that Roman Catholicism and the status of illegitimacy are responsible for what happened.
I have a short comment above sets out my conclusion but not how I arrived at it.
Sinead there were a few groups fighting against these injustices. While there were groups before it the IWLM (Irish Women’s Liberation Movement ) led by Margaret Gaj was probably one of the most famous. Today they’d probably be derided as “liberal feminists).
Many countries had a stigma against illegitimacy at the time not just Catholic ones….Like Ireland or Spain…..In England or protestant countries in Europe there was a similar stigma against having a child out of wedlock… There were homes for such women not as bad as the Irish ones…..In Muslim countries today there would be terrible shame to be pregnant out of wedlock…. The woman would be forced to marry father of the child or in some cases an honour killing would happen..
Well all cultures in Stalin’s Russia they were also intolerant of single mum’s….. In communist China single mum’s would be forced to have an abortion in present times…However yes when any religion gets political power can be dangerous …
Agree with every point you made here Tony, but you are presenting just one side of the coin. Would it not be true to add that for Irish society, the church and its rules were a convenient vehicle for us as a people to act in a despicable way.
Look at today’s scavenger funds hiding behind the law to steal homes, or today’s children being allowed to suffer painful illnesses in the name of fiscal responsibility . Any system based in idealism can be used in perverse ways to suit what society really wants for itself.. Our main concern (then and now) is personal wealth and stability, with an ‘at least it’s not me’ outlook. We did not want the drain of ‘sluts’ with ‘bast**d children’ hanging about
Many Germans did not want other races polluting their ideal racial profile, allowing the Nazis to take care of this out of sight. .Siberia was a good place for sending those without a true faith in soviet system. The English and French had the colonies to send their problems to.
While it’s true what you say about the Roman Catholic Church, they were our ideal dance partner, but we would’ve found another.
@Greg Blake: it was the Roman Catholic Church which formed and informed our sense of morality, which set the tone and values of our republic and which influenced the state and all of the agencies of the state.
The State and its servants and agents were dominated by the Roman Catholic Church and were beholden to it. The State was utterly and completely in thrall to the Roman Catholic Church and to its judgmental and discriminatory ethos.
Gradually, the Roman Catholic Church is receding and the new gods are the money interests.
@John003: some countries had a feudal and early Christian notion of illegitimacy but nowhere else in Europe was the stigma of illegitimacy so highly developed as an instrument of social control and financial exploitation as it was in Ireland.
Illegitimacy in Ireland, especially in rural communities, packed a powerful and vicious punch.
Very good post Greg and bang on point. You have to be wary of those posters who simply have an anti-Catholic church agenda and will find the root and cause of all problems in the church. Their hatred clouds their judgement unfortunately. The mere fact that this abuse spans religions, 227 children disposed of in an unmarked grave at protestant Bethany, the trafficking of children across the border by protestant homes, the putting up of children for adoption in the US by church of Ireland homes tells us all that this was not a specific religious order problem. The state dumped it’s responsibilities for taking care of these children by decreeing that religious bodies should run these homes. Would the outcome have been any different if only the state ran these homes, I would suggest not. You only have to look at resent state record on care homes to see this. Society didn’t care for it’s children back then. They were an unwanted burden on society, an inconvenience, a cost. They were to be disposed of one way or the other. It didn’t matter by whom. Surplus to requirements. What parent could ever give up their daughter, and grandchild to be, to a prison run by strangers knowing what the likely outcome would be. Shame on our citizens of the era who stood over this; parents, politicians, religious heads, doctors, gardai etc. People knew about this.
The Roman Catholic Church dominated Irish society for decades, they took advantage of a society that at the time was racked with hunger and poverty, society lived by the church, before you were a man or a woman you were a Catholic above all else, they ruled with an iron fist and brain washed a vulnerable population, society cannot be blamed and nor should it be blamed or held responsible for the actions of the Catholic Church in Ireland, a cop out if I ever heard one, yet again the blame is heaved on society when we all know it was the so called bride’s of Christ that committed these atrocities……
No one is accusing the nuns of burglary, their crimes may be far far worse than that as we are all too well aware of. It’s difficult under the circumstances to put that statement from Kenny into any sort of context. And to think that some Americans are not happy with their leader..
@cryptoskitzo: it’s the dishonest political ploy taught by Terry Prone.
Create a false assertion of something no one has said or thought, that is that nuns abducted the children and then rebut that totally false, contrived and specially manufactured argument so as to absolve the Roman Catholic Church.
No one accused the nuns of breaking into homes and abducting the children. It’s a false and contrived straw man.
I cannot believe Kenny just, in effect, defended the Church. This is a far cry from his speech soon after taking office and I can only assume he’s doing this as he is a Catholic himself. Shame on him.
Get out of our schools, Get out of our beds, Get out of out of lives.
I don’t think religious orders should disband as I know some people gain some solace from them but pay the country what you owe and get out of our lives
Pregnant single girls/women with nowhere to live and no income support signed what they were told to sign, and custody of the baby was thus granted to nuns, Enda Kenny.
The cheek of him , the majority of those young women didn’t give up their babies, they didn’t beg the nuns to do it , they were taking from them . And isn’t he a lucky b@sterd all the same , if his mother knew how he would turn out I’m sure she would have begged the nuns for him to taken away ,
Yes, families gave up their children and grandchildren alright under the guise of shame created by the state and religious institutions. His comment reflect his attitude towards the people of the country, under the boot of illegitimate authority for years.
In the early 20th century a judge of the Irish Court commented ruefully on ”the plague of infanticide” that was sweeping the country. Young women, ”fallen women” as they would be known, were accused of ‘sleeping on their infants’ and getting rid of them in other ways besides. The only option for such cases was jail.
And so the county homes and Church refuges were established to provide shelter for these women and their babies and an alternative to infanticide and suicide of the mother, is my understanding.
But Mother Church rarely does owt for nowt, and the temptations of the vast earning power offered by these poor ignorant girls and their despised mites proved too much for the custodians of ”Peter’s Pence”, and in keeping with the brutality of the times, the living conditions, society generally, the centuries of trauma that made as Yeats would say ‘A stone of the heart”; the frustrations of clerics and nuns who were made by their mothers, not by God, the motivations a desire for power and respectability and a total lack of accountability; not a desire to serve God and Man; all conspired to create a highly profitable industrialised murder machine, in which even the toll of the Dead was kept secret, death certificates not issued (a crime then and now), and babies buried in charnel houses or rather pitched into the place of excrement, so as to keep the numbers up, so that the horror of the true incompetence and brutality that was offered to these babies and their m others as the only alternative to society’s brutal prurient condemnation, and/or killing one’s own baby and oneself, was concealed, and the shekels could keep rolling in, even long after those in whose name they were ostensibly paid for, were consigned to the excremental tanks.
That, imo, is it in a nutshell. Christ-And-Caesar-Hand-In-Knuckle-Dusters, because there was money in it, the avoidance of scandal, AND THAT WAS WHAT IRISH SOCIETY DEMANDED OF BOTH.
As we cry ‘J’Accuse!’ we should also cry ‘MEA MAXIMA CULPA!”
At the back of it all as always, same as with Shannon Illegal War and Torture Port today, is the greasy till shouting its piece, as Paddy and Biddy fumble therein for coppers and ha’pence and shivering prayers are said by the light of an holy candle to drown out the screams of the innocent victims of Ireland’s National Cowardice Inhumanity and Rapine.
Will Terry Prone who sent a letter to French Documentary Producer that there was no mass grave site in Tuam ,have to send another one to retract her words …
The people of the time were brainwashed into religious fairytales, and the fear of the catholic church. This was caused by the control of the church, some of the wording in the posters nearly has it suggested that we are to blame, I was not alive at the time, I had no play in it, but the previous generations have. The church is a evil cult, with a history child molestation and now this? Can we just get religion banned from being taught at schools please? I think it’s time all religion is seen for what it is….a method of control and evil.
@A Random Guy: The same cowardly Catholic Church that encouraged thousands of Irishmen to sign up to join the army during WW1, then denied them when the war was over.
Nothing turned my stomach more since FG took power than seeing Noonan’s smug grinning face opening the new Bon Secours private hospital just days after the Team revelations. How dare he.
Francis Fitzgerald in her Children’s Referendum has made it quite legal to do that in recent years. Kenny sounds like the oracle from Minority Report. In fact the Dail is becoming a get together for the criminally insane to pass legislation for the future crimes we are all expected to commit. Keep the auld ball rolling there comhchaoirle.
Enda, I have to remind you of what you said in 1993 …” It is morally wrong, unjust and unfair, to tax a person’s family home”. Yet, you presided over the LPT on family homes, replacing the oppression and control by religion, by the State/Political Class, confiscating the tax from families’ pay, pensions and medical expenses refunds, without exemptions, right of appeal and with not a thought for the impact on children.
@Tom Burke: The organisation you are in thrall of concealed and committed countless rapes of children, the serial neglectful homicide of thousands more, the incarceration of thousands of women for having sex out of wedlock or the possibility that they might…you actually support this organisation, with glee it seems. You consider yourself a christian…that seems utterly baffling, don’t you think so and if not you must be some sort of sociopath.
Contraception would have prevented a lot of this back then. I was unable to buy condoms in a chemist in Newbridge in the early 90′s ffs. You would think i was looking for heroin the way the chemist looked at me.
Catholic Church: Composed of Priests (riddled with paedophiles). Nuns (riddled with sadists). ‘Christian’ Brothers….(frustrated virgins allowed teach in our schools, and about as ‘Christian’ as Genghis Khan)…we are a nation who have allowed ourselves, over the last 90 years, to be ruled and directed by religious diktat, in whatever form….. We can see a light at the end of The Tunnel of Enlightenment, as it draws ever nearer, and we can rid ourselves, once and for all, of the Holier-Than-Thou Brigade…and become a more mature society……………..
From outside Ireland the mistreatment of children sounds like the description of a nazi labour camp. The people in charge should be prosecuted in Haag for crimes against humanity. They are not too old. The Germans are still prosecuting SS-people who served at Auschwitz.
How it is possible to have religious symbols at the mass grave in Tuam is beond me. It’s like flagging a swastika at half mast at the jewish memorial in Berlin
How dare he, The state took the children and handed them to the nuns though and they all got plenty money from the corruption of selling babies. Kenny and is ilk ran a corrupt country that savagely ate its own children. It was massive class distinction and discrimination that institutionalized children and people like Kenny, the ones with no backbone or integrity handed innocent children over to sick people in religious orders.
'Ireland was very smart': Trump namechecks Ireland as he pledges tariffs on pharma imports
Keith Kelly
9 hrs ago
votail
Opposition to consider 'all options' to counter official Dáil record due to conflicting claims
9 mins ago
As it happened
Verona Murphy 'fully intends' to continue as Ceann Comhairle as opposition parties draft no confidence motion
12 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say