You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

This caravan has been converted into an Irish pub. And it's awesome

Pints. Anywhere, any time.

The Shebeen The Shebeen

HAVE YOU BEEN stuck in the middle of nowhere with a fierce yearning for a pint of Guinness and a bit of craic? Well, your prayers have been answered.

Enter The Shebeen – a humble caravan put through a Cinderalla-like transformation to become a traditional Irish pub on wheels.

While it’s not the first time someone has tried their hand at a mobile pub, this one comes complete with wooden floors, faux-brick walls and enough memorabilia to put most Irish snugs to shame.

Shebeen3 The Shebeen The Shebeen

The project was the brainchild of Galway-based John Walsh, who came up with the idea as a Friday-afternoon wind down for the staff from his main business, laboratory and commercial fit-out firm Clinical Cabinets.

“It started off as a team-building exercise with my guys, but then, as we were getting clients in, everyone seemed to show great interest in it,” he told TheJournal.ie.

Walsh and a friend bought the 1980s-era caravan a few years ago for an Electric Picnic visit, and ended up holding on to it after they were unable to get a good price for its sale.

Shebeen2 The Shebeen The Shebeen

“We did a bit more brainstorming with it and I suppose our love of Irish pubs made it a natural route,” he said.

“As we started work on it, we started to get a bit more serious – we realised this could turn into a business.”

The hardest part of the job was getting the details right, Walsh said, with the work including sourcing materials like the textured wallpaper and other adornments from auctions and car-boot sales.

The finished product includes seating for 10, bar space for two draught beers and even a working (albeit electric) stove heater.

Shebeen4 The Shebeen The Shebeen

It took about four months of labour – from initial design to finishing touches like the distressed woodwork for that vintage look – and a budget of nearly €20,000 to see it through.

And despite starting life as a bit of fun, the Shebeen has also emerged as a serious business for Walsh.

He has already hired out the mobile pub for a handful of weddings since he started advertised it a month ago – and found a US buyer for the second-ever Shebeen-on-wheels.

Shebeen5 The Shebeen The Shebeen

“We haven’t done any marketing or research into it and we have got this order already,” Walsh said. ”I’m hoping with a bit more of a push we might get more orders for it.”

And the million-euro question – how much for your own Shebeen? Surprisingly cheap, really.

Walsh said the cost of making another pub-on-wheels and delivering it to its new home in Boston would come in at about €30,000, including a voyage across the Atlantic.

But if you can’t afford that kind of coin, a fully-kitted Shebeen can be yours for a weekend from only €1,500. Road trip, anyone?

Applesauce Films / Vimeo

Originally published at 12.20pm

READ: The Irish pub is set to become even harder to ignore on your holidays >

READ: Dublin pub begins ‘Welfare Wednesday’ drinks deal >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Aasif
    Favourite Aasif
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:23 PM

Let a Guinness fart in one of them things and its game over

Suz
    Mute Suz
    Favourite Suz
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:34 PM

A lot of attention to detail was given, well done, I love it … !! :P

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:43 PM

ehh… where is the toilet Suz ?

Suz
    Mute Suz
    Favourite Suz
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:08 PM

Opppss.. I didn’t think of the loo’s Johnny, I guess outside in the woods.. ??
    Living in Dublin a lot of men seem to think they need a toilet anyway.. but you’re right, a missing toilet wont do at all… even a small one is required..Like McDaids pub in town, you have to reverse out of the one womens loo cubicle there its so small : /

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:29 PM

Sounds like that’s a health and safety issue there Suz
    or a design fault next time I’m there I will look into it for you.
    perhaps it was designed for small children ?

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:27 PM

Shut up and take my money

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:31 PM

Gives new meaning to,
    I’ll have one for the road…

Mute Paddy Devaney
    Favourite Paddy Devaney
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:23 PM

Pint sized pub

Mute Alan Quinn
    Favourite Alan Quinn
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:25 PM

Savage!!! I want!

Mute Eddie Grady Grady
    Favourite Eddie Grady Grady
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:35 PM

That looks nice compared to some pubs I have visited in my time like when the abbey inn tralee had only one toilet and always there used to be a queue to get in and the smell of shite coming from the toilet it was always blocked especially the weekends…

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:23 PM

Jaysus, you’ve really got it in for that one particular establishment, haven’t you. What did they do to you?

Mute John Teevan
    Favourite John Teevan
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:12 PM

€1500 Euro does that come with kegs ?

Mute Maire Ben
    Favourite Maire Ben
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:59 PM

well caravans have toilets so I presume this one has as well. People live in caravans so 10 people would be well confortable in this…… I love it!

Mute Master Kaye
    Favourite Master Kaye
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:50 PM

Does it stink of Piss and failure just like a real one?

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Jan 23rd 2015, 6:35 PM

Jasus , never mind hittin the road it it, I would stick that in the front garden!!

Mute John Waters
    Favourite John Waters
    Jan 23rd 2015, 3:45 PM

Great idea Location Location Location

Mute Tony Flynn
    Favourite Tony Flynn
    Jan 23rd 2015, 5:17 PM

Could do with a pool table.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:54 PM

There would be a bit of a queue for the jacks

Mute Paul McNevin
    Favourite Paul McNevin
    Jan 23rd 2015, 6:30 PM

Mini-Bar.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:40 PM

Benny Andersons in Ardee. Peerless old school. ( haven’t been in years)

Mute YippyDee
    Favourite YippyDee
    Jan 23rd 2015, 5:29 PM

Brilliant idea, Love it!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:09 PM

No dancing!

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:27 PM

Just no!

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:17 PM

Is there anywhere to sleep ??

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Jan 23rd 2015, 1:27 PM

Mute Johnny Merren
    Favourite Johnny Merren
    Jan 23rd 2015, 12:42 PM

The Fr Ted Pub its a wee bit claustrophobic
    and does anyone know where the toilet is ?
    Just a health and safety question.

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    Jan 23rd 2015, 2:43 PM

So you said johnny

Mute irishspudman
    Favourite irishspudman
    Jan 24th 2015, 8:07 AM

Great idea, would love a creamy pint from there.
    What’s with the shite music on the promo video. A bit of trad would’ve been more fitting instead of that kack!

Mute GAZZAMAZZA
    Favourite GAZZAMAZZA
    Jan 23rd 2015, 7:03 PM

Does brainchild mean original idea?

Jan 23rd 2015, 10:30 PM

Looks nice.

Mute Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Favourite Dónal Mac Cormaic
    Jan 23rd 2015, 10:09 PM

Summer! Where are you?