You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Check out Ed O'Neill from Modern Family's Jackie Healy-Rae impression

O’Neill spent some time in the Kingdom in the past.

ED O’NEILL IS known for lots of things, from Married With Children to Wayne’s World and more recently Modern Family.

But a strong Kerry accent isn’t on the list.

SOFIA VERGARA, ED O'NEILL ABC ABC

Which makes it all the more surprising when the A-Lister pulled off a surprisingly good impression of the late Jackie Healy Rae on the red carpet.

^words you never thought you would read.

Last night, 2FM reporter Stephen Byrne was in LA covering the run up to the Oscars, and the actor regaled him with a tale of a visit to Kerry

Heading into Leonardo DiCaprio’s Global Green party, Ed remembered his time in the Kingdom fondly and, in particular, Jackie’s stance on drink driving stood out:

I went by his town and I saw the photo of him as you drive in. He’s waving, with the combover, you know, and as you’re leaving he’s saying ‘goodbye, comeback’ because he owns the pub and the hotel and so forth.
And when we were going by he had a thing going where he was trying to get the blood alcohol level raised because he wasn’t selling enough Guinness.

And it was then that he whipped out an impression from nowhere:

Then I saw the ad that he made where he said “In my area, you hit a cow on the road and that’s about the worst you’re doing”

healyrae 2FM 2FM

Ed O’Neill: Straight out of Kerry.

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by David Elkin and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/02/img2-thejournal-592.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3255982" class="alignnone" /end]

Poll: Should pubs be allowed open on Good Friday?

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

30 Comments
    Mute Stephen Cahill
    Favourite Stephen Cahill
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:21 PM

Hahahahaha nailed it.

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:48 PM

@Stephen Cahill: Lol! IT would remind you of the average Donald Trump supporter!

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:10 PM

The average Donald Trump supporter is from Kerry? That’s a bit of a stretch even for you tariq

Mute Stephen Cahill
    Favourite Stephen Cahill
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:19 PM

It’s not often an American gets an Irish accent spot on. And the Healy Rae accent at that. Pmsl

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:33 PM

Open border. Jeez I just realised george soros looks like Jackie healy rae. They aren’t related by any chance. Jackie healy soros?

Mute Kieran W
    Favourite Kieran W
    Feb 24th 2017, 1:12 AM

They should all apply for ethnic status. Them and those who vote for them. It would be quite a number considering one of them got the most votes of any candidate in the last election. My God this country is more scary than Trump’s America.

Mute Cillín Ó hEadhra
    Favourite Cillín Ó hEadhra
    Feb 24th 2017, 1:53 AM

@Stephen Cahill: Bundys Law. Given enough nanoseconds anything whatsoever leads to some div bringing it back to Donald Trump.

Mute Cillín Ó hEadhra
    Favourite Cillín Ó hEadhra
    Feb 24th 2017, 1:55 AM

He was incredible as Al Bundy.

Mute Taylor
    Favourite Taylor
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:27 PM

Haha I love this guy

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:37 PM

Married With Children is better than Modern Family. There, I said it.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:41 PM

Nope

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:47 PM

Saying something doesn’t make it true or accurate.

Mute Fear Uisce
    Favourite Fear Uisce
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:48 PM

True

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:03 PM

Or not

Mute Grey Beard
    Favourite Grey Beard
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:07 PM

@David: The first two seasons of modern family were brilliant….went downhill from there

Mute Richard Mccarthy
    Favourite Richard Mccarthy
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:14 PM

Still love Ed and Married With Children got all eleven seasons cd.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Feb 24th 2017, 6:16 AM

All seasons of Married with Children were brilliant. Point proven.

Mute Johnny Rotten
    Favourite Johnny Rotten
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:05 PM

No such thing as bad publicity. The two cute hoors in Kilgarvan will be lapping this up!

Mute Dan Henry
    Favourite Dan Henry
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:24 PM

The Healy-Raes are like the muppet show fair play to Ed

Mute Milo C.
    Favourite Milo C.
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:36 PM

Married with children best ever American sitcom

Mute declan leonard
    Favourite declan leonard
    Feb 23rd 2017, 10:26 PM

Legend

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    Feb 24th 2017, 2:12 AM

Random trivia – Ed is a black belt in brazilian jiu-jitsu.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Feb 24th 2017, 2:23 AM

No it’s bad enough we have the mini-mes in stereo these days I’ve seen enough of the original even for imitations. The original gombeen like the jarveys of Killarney leprechaun exterior lacking only the dudeen pipe and the mind of a rattlesnake behind it draggin home the big bags of muny to the min that ate their dinners in the middle of the day wrested from the bilted irls in Dublin Cashtle bys. He had a 80 grand Mercedes and an ancient oul’ Datusn he’d use to go round canvassing in and he put every plant hire competitor out of business made a fine art of building ringroads around the parish pump which pumped every petty grievance every Epic local row up to Dublin for fixin and that was the extent of the vision but suppose political ‘gods’ make their own importance.

Mute Brian Ahern
    Favourite Brian Ahern
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:20 PM

I have a little stab at the accent here myself: https://youtu.be/pX4FYbtpvNg

Mute John Doe
    Favourite John Doe
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:40 PM

meh

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Feb 23rd 2017, 11:05 PM

@Brian Ahern: Genius.

Mute moe
    Favourite moe
    Feb 23rd 2017, 9:31 PM

Bad to the bone …

Mute Peter Buchanan
    Favourite Peter Buchanan
    Feb 24th 2017, 6:56 AM

More anti rural bullsh!t

Feb 24th 2017, 9:09 AM

Peter:: Boots are selling sense of humour in a bottle I recommend you buy everything they have