You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Friar Stefano Tamburo checks the Kickstarter page. AP Photo/Domenico Stinellis

Monks turn to the internet to restore cell used by St Francis of Assisi

The Franciscan monks say they want to ask people who can afford it to donate, rather than asking for money from the State given the economic crisis.

CROWDFUNDING AND MEDIEVAL history are coming together in Rome as a group of Franciscan monks take to the internet to drum up funds to restore a dusty cell said to have been used by St Francis of Assisi himself.

Located in the trendy Trastevere district, the church of San Francesco a Ripa looks much like any other of 900 churches in the Eternal City and is better known for a statue by Baroque master Gian Lorenzo Bernini.

But the monks in charge of the church say the real treasure tucked away on the first floor of the church is a cell that hosted St Francis (1182-1226) — the famous saint of the poor who inspires Pope Francis.

“We need €90,900 to restore the cell of St Francis,” Brother Stefano Tamburo, who is in charge of the church-monastery, said during a visit.

The Kickstarter project runs out on 11 April and has already raised more than a fifth of the sum to clean up the room measuring 17 square metres (183 square feet).

“Few people know of its existence,” Tamburo said.

The monk explained that St Francis stayed in the room at least four times between 1209 and 1223 when he visited Rome to try to meet with pope Innocent III to obtain recognition of his new monastic order.

“The saint slept sitting on the ground, directly in contact with a large stone that is still visible today and which he used as a sort of cushion,” he said, pointing to a stone that is now covered by a grill.

He said there are no written records from that time, but that an “uninterrupted oral tradition from St Francis’s period attests he stayed in the monastery, followed by later references to it in written texts.”

The windowless cell was transformed in the 17th century into a small chapel dedicated to St Francis and is not accessible to the public but was visited by late pope John Paul II to pray — as seen in a photo on the wall.

People who can afford it

The space is badly dilapidated — its walls blackened by candles and oil lamps, its wall paintings fading away and its ceiling in need of extensive restoration.

Following Franciscan tradition, the monastery has appealed for charity to finance the project, refusing to ask the Vatican or the Italian state for funds.

“With the economic crisis, the priority is for spending on social issues. For restoring the cell, we prefer to ask people who can afford it,” said the monk.

The project has already received some 400 individual donations — most of them coming from the United States.

Donors will receive symbolic gifts for their contributions, including T-shirts with the Franciscan slogan Pax et Bonum (Peace and Goodness), wooden pendants and for the most generous a holiday to Rome for the inauguration of the restored cell.

An added bonus could be the presence of Pope Francis.

“Since Pope Francis was elected, people are more interested in the cell,” Tamburo said. “We hope he will come and visit it. I think it will be on his agenda.”

All photos: AP Photo/Domenico Stinellis

- © AFP, 2014

Read: Pope Francis explains how his name was inspired by St Francis of Assisi >

Read: Pope Francis is selling out (in Irish bookstores) >

View 37 comments
37 Comments
    Mute Keith Moran
    Favourite Keith Moran
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:01 PM

Why not ask the Vatican
    The Catholic Church one of the richest organisations in the world

Mute joe stodge
    Favourite joe stodge
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:24 PM

Why pay for it themselves, there’s more than enough idiots out there who’ll fund this.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 3:17 PM

You’d think with all the knowledge at their disposal they could do this work for themselves . Why do they always need money ?

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Mar 31st 2014, 1:50 AM

They are monks not professional restorers!

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:31 PM

Well done for the Journal.ie reporting this. I hadn’t heard if it before, but can see its already well on its way ($28,000+) to having the pledges in place to enable the restoration to go ahead.

Mute Zoe Daly
    Favourite Zoe Daly
    Mar 30th 2014, 5:06 PM

agree – lovely to see this. Italy has a fascinating medieval heritage.
    Assisi is one of Europe’s cultural treasures.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 6:54 PM

With all the resources the Catholic Church had at its disposal you’d think it would have educated enough of its clerics in the arts of preservation and restoration . You’d think those lazy Franciscans would use their initiative and do the work or at least learn to do the work themselves. Funny I thought Franciscans took a vow of poverty , I wonder how Francis of Assisi ( the one from oral tradition) would feel about all that money being spent restoring his alleged bedroom. Especially when people are starving , dying and homeless in the world . Hypocrisy leaps to mind !

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 7:01 PM

non enim sciunt, molles sacerdos laborem manuum

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 8:08 PM

He (Saint Francis) allegedly stayed there four times in four years. So it was hardly “his bedroom” . Furthermore there is no evidence of him sleeping there other than in “oral tradition”. Still four hundred years later they decide to devote the chapel to him despite the fact that no one could prove he actually stayed there. However the lack of evidence has perturbed the church before nor will it stop the Franciscans capitalising on the new popes popularity to raise a bit of cash (90 thousand no less) to preserve or restore a building that the character st Francis may or may not have slept in four times over four years . No doubt all the homeless and starving people In the world would be just as curios as I am as to whether he only stayed for four nights over that four year period or was it for much longer.

Sent from my iPad

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 8:10 PM

Correction: the lack of evidence has not perturbed the church before….

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Mar 31st 2014, 1:49 AM

Beabad, did it not occur to you that people will earn money restoring this cell thus keeping them away from poverty.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 31st 2014, 6:10 PM

Dublinlad you are indeed naive to think that they would take unskilled labour and save them from poverty . No doubt a contract will probably be rewarded to some relative of a senior ranking cleric. How old are you exactly ?

Mute Rachel Owens
    Favourite Rachel Owens
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:03 PM

What about raising money for the victims of abuse rather than this nonsense

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:06 PM

Rachel, I don’t think St Francis is responsible for what went on in Ireland.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:13 PM

Jesus Christ & holy saint Joseph, would ye not give it a rest!

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:21 PM

What about keeping quiet and not betraying your ignorance at every hands’ turn? Our cultural heritage is not nonsense.

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:57 PM

Rachel,
    This cave does not mean much to me but I would rather see those who care about it most pay for the restoration project. I do not know how old you are but there often comes a point in your life when concepts like culture, heritage, and preservation for the next generation have deep meaning and significance.

Mute Rachel Owens
    Favourite Rachel Owens
    Mar 30th 2014, 3:35 PM

Catholic contamination isn’t culture

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 30th 2014, 3:43 PM

Yawn. Grow up you fool

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 4:52 PM

Rachel your right on the mark ! all those people who gave you a thumbs down must be really proud of themselves. Clearly they care more for dead legends than living survivors of clerical child rape and abuse.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 4:59 PM

Who mentioned Ireland ? Don’t you know catholic clerics raped and abused thousands of children all over the world. Don’t you read the news? Are you aware of the United Nations condemnation of the Vatican and it’s wilful protection of clerical child rapist ? Your not to clever or that well informed !

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 5:09 PM

Yes we should preserve culture and heritage. We should also preserve the memories of atrocities committed against humanity lest future generations
    forget . Spend the money building a memorial to the thousands of victims of clerical abuse so that the memory of their suffering will never be forgotten to the world .Now that’s something I would happily donate to !

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 30th 2014, 5:21 PM

A prime example of what is wrong with this site. Hysterical hyperbole that makes grandiose and totally false claims about what others believe masquerading as informed comment.

You should be totally ashamed of yourself.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 5:58 PM

Yes Alan you surely are describing yourself . Denying the truth doesn’t make it go away . Hasn’t your church learnt that by now. You can’t simply make the thousand of victims vanish into thin air no matter how hard you pray. The vile history of the Catholic Church is being revealed to more and more people every day. People only have to know that a simple search on the internet concerning Catholic Church sponsored atrocities will reveal far more than just child rape.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 6:04 PM

Hysterical hyperbole is a statement that is commonly used in the organisation to try and discredit dissenters or those who wish to point out its crimes. Hysterical was also a description commonly used to describe the statements from victims of child rape and clerical abuse in order to discredit their stories. Fortunately many citizens across the globe have woken up to this
    tactic.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 30th 2014, 6:08 PM

You see, this is what I mean. It’s not my church. I don’t attend a church. I just think that preserving our history is important. And somehow you an one other lunatic on this thread think that that means we’re all in favour of rape and abuse.

You need to get a grip.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 6:15 PM

tu es sacerdos in vestimentis ovium .

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 6:34 PM

Now we are lunatics because we question yours and others priorities and preferences to the preservation of a Catholic Church building than justice for its victims of clerical child rape. What was wrong with the comments Rachel or I made . There was nothing exaggerated yet you attempted to denigrate and belittle them. Ignorant , lunatic, hysterical and grow up you fool ! are all expressions you used. Your approach and response expose you for what you truly are and where your loyalties lie .I can only judge you by Your post and my interpretation tells me your lack of empathy for survivors of abuse. You appear to care more about bricks and mortar than real human suffering !

Mute dublinlad
    Favourite dublinlad
    Mar 31st 2014, 1:52 AM

Beabad, give it a rest and eff off!

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 31st 2014, 6:13 PM

“Give it a rest and eff off ” Charming! What’s wrong have I hurt the little worms feelings with the truth ?

Mute Rugby DadaiO
    Favourite Rugby DadaiO
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:03 PM

Lovely to see private donations at work .

Mute Sean Lynch
    Favourite Sean Lynch
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:30 PM

Francis of Assisi had a mobile phone ??…oh THAT type of cell

Mute Daniel Herley
    Favourite Daniel Herley
    Mar 30th 2014, 2:45 PM

90 grand, I’d do a job on it for 90 quid!

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Mar 30th 2014, 6:20 PM

Yeah. Good luck with the rest of your treatment you utter lunatic.

Mute Beabad Bishop
    Favourite Beabad Bishop
    Mar 30th 2014, 6:39 PM

Alan I can now understand your love of bricks and mortar are borne out the fact that you are a cavity block ! Thick on the outside and cold and hollow on the inside ! Kind regards the lunatic .

Mute Timmytime
    Favourite Timmytime
    Mar 31st 2014, 1:52 AM

‘Monks turn to the internet’ – Yes, I’ll bet they do visit their fare share of left-handed websites alright.

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Mar 30th 2014, 8:15 PM

Francis of Assisi is as a dirty lie of the Devil……….There is no mention about it in the Bible.