You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Minister for Jobs Richard Bruton Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland

More than 500 new jobs announced nationwide

Some 445 jobs will be created by Enterprise Ireland firms, with another 100 announced by a Cork healthcare facility.

MORE THAN 500 jobs will be created across Ireland in healthcare and startup companies after two major announcements in the last 24 hours.

Jobs minister Richard Bruton today announced that 445 new positions are projected in 24 startup firms backed by the government’s Enterprise Ireland scheme. The companies, which are earmarked as “high potential” by the enterprise body, include technology, hygiene, and financial analysis outfits and are almost all focused on the export market.

Among them are AskMoby.com, which develops weather applications for websites and smartphones (10 jobs); Reflex Plastics, which recycles agricultural plastics for the manufacture of plastic bags (34 jobs); and Handle Hygiene, which sells products to automatically disinfect bathroom door handles (13 jobs).

Minister Bruton said the jobs would help create “an indigenous engine of economic growth” for Ireland. “We must crucially ensure that more high potential small businesses can establish and expand here,” he said. “Government actions are directed towards ensuring that more companies like
these can establish and grow and provide the basis for Ireland’s economic recovery.”

No date was given as to exactly when the jobs would be rolled out, but the companies are understood to have committed to creating the positions within the next three years.

Meanwhile, a community nursing facility in Cork separately announced it would recruit 100 staff by early next year. Mowlam Healthcare will be operating the centre when it opens in the next four months, reports the Irish Independent. Most of the positions will be for healthcare professionals but there will also be a need for staff in catering, administration and assistant roles.

The dual announcements come after online payments firm PayPal yesterday said it will create 200 jobs at its operation in Blanchardstown, west Dublin.

Read more: PayPal creates 200 jobs in Dublin >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Ziggy722
    Favourite Ziggy722
    Jul 1st 2016, 9:59 PM

She had A Brief History of Crime.

Mute clad
    Favourite clad
    Jul 1st 2016, 10:32 PM

Great stuff. I thought the commenting folk would struggle for a good pun on this story.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Jul 2nd 2016, 7:03 AM

Remember, as long as the victim is a male this stuff is all fine.

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Jul 2nd 2016, 11:31 AM

“…as long as the victim is male, this stuff is all (considered) fine (by other men).”

I fixed it for you. Have another look at the comments, it’s lads making light of this. Don’t go throwing a “waaaah..society doesn’t care about male victims” when it’s us men who mock male victims of CSA and DV.

Call it out when you see it from other guys, just like I’m doing now. If your friends make comments about boys abused by teachers, saying stuff like “I wish I’d had a teacher like that when I was in school” or “what’s he complaining about? He must be gay.” (all comments I’ve seen from lads on articles concerning male victims of sexually abusive teachers).

Or call it out when they say stuff like “If that’d been me it’d be a totally different story”, or “Jaysus, why didn’t he just act a man and stand up for himself” when talking about male victims of domestic violence.

We really are our own worst enemies.

Mute james mc donagh
    Favourite james mc donagh
    Jul 1st 2016, 9:30 PM

No communication for the next 8 months???? But then she’s fine to go again… Huh

Mute bingo
    Favourite bingo
    Jul 1st 2016, 9:51 PM

She’s been pursuing him throughout the world! She’s a very dangerous person and should have been locked up!

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 1st 2016, 11:59 PM

She’ll say a good confession and it’ll be alright.

Mute Darragh Mac Domhnaill
    Favourite Darragh Mac Domhnaill
    Jul 1st 2016, 9:46 PM

Funny how religious nutbags have no problem killing/threatening to kill people they deem haven’t followed the teachings of their religion. The irony is baffling.

Mute Daniel Wilson
    Favourite Daniel Wilson
    Jul 2nd 2016, 3:08 AM

It is the Almighty’s will for us to murder each other

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Jul 1st 2016, 9:48 PM

“Women. They are a complete mystery.” Stephen Hawking.

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Jul 1st 2016, 11:19 PM

Stephen Hawking is not afraid to say it as it is and leave God out of his equations and that seems to rattle certain mindset groupings.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 2nd 2016, 6:17 AM

Say it as it is indeed, you mean the guy who is babbling on about the effects of carbon dioxide and global catastrophe while advertising 2L Jaguar cars. They are little more than voodoo merchants who have carved out a nice living for themselves with a take-my-word-for-it nonsense for those who know no better.

Mute Gemma Shah
    Favourite Gemma Shah
    Jul 1st 2016, 11:00 PM

I threaten to kill the kids several times a week. Where are my handcuffs? I need a rest!

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Jul 2nd 2016, 12:05 AM

Feeble minded people are everywhere.
    Low IQ people used to threaten Einstein also.
    They used to think that having high mental abilities means you the work of the Devil himself.
    In the Middle Ages Hawking would have been burned alive as an agent of Satan.

Mute Pat Gorman
    Favourite Pat Gorman
    Jul 2nd 2016, 1:13 AM

P.S.
    “The Devil plays all the best tunes” means that the stuffy Vatican people are jealous of us party-loving Irish musical pagans.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 2nd 2016, 6:24 AM

Where do you get this rubbish from Pat, the objections of the Pope at the time of Galileo in respect to the method of approach to heliocentricity was well founded as the astronomical facility which predicts astronomical events such as eclipses and transits cannot be used to prove that the Earth orbits the Sun while turning as it does so. It can only really be resolved with 21st century imaging but was just beyond the reach of the original heliocentric astronomers such as Copernicus,Kepler and Galileo. It takes nothing away from what Copernicus did however the specific technical objections of the Pope remain valid as it is impossible to account for the observed motions of the inner planets using the framework Copernicus and Kepler used.

Mute Gunnarsahn
    Favourite Gunnarsahn
    Jul 2nd 2016, 9:47 AM

turns out copernicus and kepler were well ahead of their time.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 2nd 2016, 10:11 AM

This IQ business is a fable, we are all gifted with the same intelligence but people tend to be cunning, creative or productive in some measure. Newton was the Boris Johnson of astronomy, full of bluster and bravado but no depth nor substance to his agenda and his followers like Hawking exploit the eccentric jargon for lifestyles and reputations and no real concern for the discipline they disrupt and destroy.

“The demonstrations throughout the book [ Newton's Principia] are geometrical,
    but to readers of ordinary ability are rendered unnecessarily
    difficult by the absence of illustrations and explanations, and by the
    fact that no clue is given to the method by which Newton arrived at
    his results.” Rouse Ball 1908

Hawking is merely another clone in a succession of many and good luck to him, after all, there always has to be a living icon to keep the lifestyles and reputations of people who never left the classrooms of schools ad colleges going and great work if you can get it. The price is that productive astronomy lays in ruins for the indulgences of experimental theorists with their voodoo and bluffing.

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2016, 10:47 AM

Are you a religious man Gerald?

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 2nd 2016, 11:15 AM

I’ll tell you what I am not there Andy, I am not a follower of nonsensical academic jargon that mocks human intelligence but is force fed through the schools and classrooms as high intelligence. It is not a question of intelligence but rather curiosity , in this case – how the f@ck did a society get to believe it could control the planet’s temperature by scaling up the conditions in a common greenhouse to the planet itself. Boris Johnson had nothing on Newton, he could project authority while not actually knowing where he was going with his notions -

“Rule III. The qualities of bodies, which admit neither [intensification] nor remission of degrees, and which are found to belong to all bodies within the reach of our experiments, are to be esteemed the universal qualities of all bodies whatsoever.” Newton

If people can’t figure that statement out then they get what they deserve.

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2016, 11:18 AM

Fair enough, but do you believe in God and the bible and what not?

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 2nd 2016, 11:34 AM

Do you believe in the laws of motions/physics,gravity and what not ?. It all boils down to that ‘method’ which began its existence as a rule but is now known as the ‘scientific method’. Maybe the English are given to following the dictates of eccentric toffs like Johnson and Newton but that is all it is, pure bluff and bluster passed off as high intelligence.

Mute Andy Byrne
    Favourite Andy Byrne
    Jul 2nd 2016, 1:25 PM

Are you having trouble answering that question? A simple yes or no there Gerald!!

Mute Paddy Ryan
    Favourite Paddy Ryan
    Jul 2nd 2016, 3:04 PM

Did you seriously just dismiss Newton as just an eccentric toff?? Great trolling..

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Jul 2nd 2016, 4:42 PM

Silly man, I just allowed people to make up their own minds based on a statement as to whether you can scale up an observation at a human level to large scale observations such as astronomy or terrestrial sciences. An eccentric toff might therefore say that the fall of an apple and the planet’s motion around the Sun is the same thing or a greenhouse is the same as the planet Earth but the entire agenda now called the ‘scientific method’ is a bad joke . Read it again and if you can’t understand it you hardly are going to be able to know exactly what Sir Isaac tried to so -

“Rule III. The qualities of bodies, which admit neither [intensification] nor remission of degrees, and which are found to belong to all bodies within the reach of our experiments, are to be esteemed the universal qualities of all bodies whatsoever.” Newton

Nothing worse than an Irish Royal Society apologist.

Mute AGuyWithARant
    Favourite AGuyWithARant
    Jul 1st 2016, 10:01 PM

Annie Wilkes?

Mute AGuyWithARant
    Favourite AGuyWithARant
    Jul 1st 2016, 10:04 PM

Oops wrong stephen I read it as Stephen King

Mute Martin Flood
    Favourite Martin Flood
    Jul 2nd 2016, 12:01 AM

Take her passpprt at the very least, no? Sheesh!

Mute Jim Woodcock
    Favourite Jim Woodcock
    Jul 1st 2016, 10:59 PM

Say they’re ramping up the pressure for police to roll on and make an arrest. Watching her like a hawk for sure.

Mute IBenn 孔子 ICaesar
    Favourite IBenn 孔子 ICaesar
    Jul 2nd 2016, 12:49 AM

Who wants to see her face? I have her nudes too

Mute IBenn 孔子 ICaesar
    Favourite IBenn 孔子 ICaesar
    Jul 2nd 2016, 12:57 AM

She was not a religious nutjob. She was a wiccan

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jul 2nd 2016, 8:58 AM

@ IBenn $#%: I thought wicca was for basket cases!