You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here are the tunes Irish Spotify users couldn't stop listening to in 2015

Spoiler: we sure do love Ed Sheeran.

App Stock Andrew Matthews Andrew Matthews

A FEW WEEKS ago, Spotify released data on what people across the world were listening to in 2015.

Drake was named as the world’s most streamed artist of 2015, while Major Lazer’s Lean On was revealed as the most streamed song of the year.

But what were people in Ireland listening to?

DailyEdge.ie reached out to Spotify to find out and here are the results…

The top 10 most streamed artists in Ireland were…

1. Ed Sheeran
  2. Hozier
  3. Calvin Harris
  4. The Weeknd
  5. Sam Smith
  6. Kygo
  7. Kanye West
  8. One Direction
  9. Avicii
  10. Rihanna

As you can see, poor auld Drake is nowhere to be seen.

giphy (26) Giphy Giphy

As for the most popular albums?

The Weeknd topped that list followed by James Bay, Years & Years, OMI and Avicii.

1. The Weeknd – Beauty Behind the Madness
  2. James Bay – Chaos And the Calm
  3. Years & Years – Communion
  4. OMI – Me 4 U
  5. Avicii - Stories

giphy (27) infatuatedbythefamestatus / Tumblr infatuatedbythefamestatus / Tumblr / Tumblr

And finally, the most streamed songs were…

*drum roll*

1. OMI – Cheerleader 
  2. Major Lazer – Lean On (feat. MØ and DJ Snake)
  3. Mark Ronson – Uptown Funk (feat. Bruno Mars)
  4. Ed Sheeran – Thinking Out Loud
  5. Kygo - Firestone
  6. Wiz Khalifa – See You Again (feat. Charlie Puth)
  7. Hozier - Take Me To Church
  8. Ellie Goulding – Love Me Like You Do
  9. Maroon 5 – Sugar
  10. James Bay - Hold Back The River

A playlist containing the top 100 tracks in Ireland for 2015 can be viewed here. Please note that Ed Sheeran has 7 (!) songs in the top 100.

It’s Ed’s world and we’re just living in it, y’all.

giphy (28) gingerpawfection / Tumblr gingerpawfection / Tumblr / Tumblr

Written by Amy O’Connor and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2015/12/img2-thejournal-153.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2505056" class="aligncenter" /end]

Read: Here are the most timeless 1990s songs, according to Spotify >

Read: 32 iconic Christmas songs, ranked from worst to best >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

34 Comments
    Mute Liam Kennedy
    Favourite Liam Kennedy
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:38 PM

I used to be with it, until they changed what it was. Now what I am with isn’t it and what is it seems weird and scary to me. :(

Mute Sam
    Favourite Sam
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:42 PM

Are you ok?

Dec 15th 2015, 9:48 PM

You’re not alone Liam I’d say they’re a few of us that are feeling the same way

Mute Very angry sales rep
    Favourite Very angry sales rep
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:50 PM

Simpsons ref, respect! I hear Ed Sheeran has gone rogue to join Isis

Mute John O'Dwyer
    Favourite John O'Dwyer
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:51 PM

It’s still the same Liam your just looking at it differently. The real truth is you don’t want to be with, which is easier.

Mute GI Joe
    Favourite GI Joe
    Dec 15th 2015, 10:53 PM

I hear ya Abe

Mute Rachel McEneaney
    Favourite Rachel McEneaney
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:28 PM

I have Spotify and I have listened to none of the above. I’m obviously not down with the young people.

Mute James Lyons
    Favourite James Lyons
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:51 PM

Same here!

Mute Pilib O Muiregan
    Favourite Pilib O Muiregan
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:31 PM

What scares me is that if Oasis, Nirvana, Guns n Roses and REM all released their first albums in the morning not one of them would make it.

Mute John O'Dwyer
    Favourite John O'Dwyer
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:36 PM

Nirvana deservedly. The rest you have a point.

Mute Foghorn Leghorn
    Favourite Foghorn Leghorn
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:58 PM

Just as I suspected, we’re a bunch of knobs

Mute John O'Dwyer
    Favourite John O'Dwyer
    Dec 15th 2015, 10:07 PM

haha that we are

Dec 16th 2015, 2:23 PM

Popularity is what is sold the best way to those who want to be seen as sheeple?

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:26 PM

No Daniel O Donnell? Rebecca black? Westlife??

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:25 PM

Well done Ed Sheeran..you deserve it

Mute COYBIG
    Favourite COYBIG
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:26 PM

I know he’s taking a break, but he’s hardly reading the comments on the journal now

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:29 PM

Sure didn’t the CIA/FBI buy up all the Westlife songs to torture the prisoners. They’ll make No1 on the prison list.

Mute John O'Dwyer
    Favourite John O'Dwyer
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:35 PM

I have Ed on the phone here Jenni he says he’s looking at your message and told me to say “she’s some Clown, I’m only in it for the money, tell that jenni one ill see her in the 3 Arena next year to take all of her dole earnings to hear me fart out my larynx”. I told him he was being a bit harsh but he didn’t really seem to give a shite.

Dec 15th 2015, 9:50 PM

Ah John thinks he’s being funny …

Mute John O'Dwyer
    Favourite John O'Dwyer
    Dec 15th 2015, 9:52 PM

Ahh suzie I got four thumbs up there, that’s a new personal best.
    I usually can only fit my own two.

Dec 15th 2015, 10:00 PM

Oh sorry John didn’t realise you were aiming towards getting the most red thumbs , you’re doing well so ..

Mute John O'Dwyer
    Favourite John O'Dwyer
    Dec 15th 2015, 10:07 PM

God no suzie not during ‘that’ time of the month. Give me a shout next week.

Dec 15th 2015, 10:27 PM

Pathetic

Dec 16th 2015, 2:27 PM

IT as in???

Mute Remy's Musicfilmblog
    Favourite Remy's Musicfilmblog
    Dec 15th 2015, 10:25 PM

Behold, all is not lost! Here’s my Spotify Playlist of the 10 Best International Albums of 2015, in my humble opinion of course https://play.spotify.com/user/11155734402/playlist/2UnKwVW2Qy3u7xpwOEF7kU?play=true&utm_source=open.spotify.com&utm_medium=open and you can read why here http://thebestofmusicandfilm.blogspot.ie/2015/12/remys-top-10-international-albums-2015.html

Mute Dee on Doc
    Favourite Dee on Doc
    Dec 16th 2015, 12:38 AM

That’s more like it

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Dec 15th 2015, 10:35 PM

Bubble gum music. Where’s the deal, it’s the digital top ten. If it was 10 yrs ago it would still be the top 10 in different format for the then bubble gum crew. Feck away.

Mute GameOverMan
    Favourite GameOverMan
    Dec 16th 2015, 6:37 AM

Well that was depressing. I see charts in this day and age are still driven by 10 year old girls. I lost interest in following music trends with the rise of RnB. Commercialism in misic used to be shameful now its reality…

Mute Finn Bar Regany
    Favourite Finn Bar Regany
    Dec 15th 2015, 11:49 PM

I just stick on me vinyl albums(lots of old stuff,and some new)..ya can’t beat a classic..

Mute Danny Nash
    Favourite Danny Nash
    Dec 16th 2015, 1:45 AM

No surprise. A large amount of the population are sheep

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Dec 16th 2015, 2:02 PM

For a long time I assumed Kygo, The Weekend and Years and Years was the same band. Was baffled as to how they got so much airplay. James Bay and Hozier are the only decent entries on the list.

Dec 16th 2015, 2:25 PM

Now, That is what I call… Sh…e.

Mute Dave Curtis
    Favourite Dave Curtis
    Dec 16th 2015, 9:25 AM
    Mute Stephen McGrane
    Favourite Stephen McGrane
    Dec 15th 2015, 10:23 PM

Jaysus

Mute Mickey Fennessy
    Favourite Mickey Fennessy
    Dec 15th 2015, 11:18 PM

How sad and predictable