You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sadhbh O’Brien greets her grandparents Ken and Maeve Whitaker through the front window of her home in Dublin. Yseult Whitaker

'Let's raise a glass to all the mammies of Ireland': Keeping your distance while celebrating Mother's Day

Some residents on the South Circular Road will be toasting to mothers from their front gardens this year.

IT’S MOTHER’S DAY but for many people around the country they won’t get to hug their mams, instead, they’ll have to wave through a window or chat over the phone. 

Social distancing can’t, unfortunately, be relaxed for Mother’s Day, and the HSE has urged people to continue to comply with Covid-19 guidelines. 

Some residents on Dublin’s South Circular Road – adhering to social distancing rules – are marking Mother’s Day differently this year. 

“Everybody is going to come out into their garden at 6pm Sunday with a glass Prosecco or Champagne or a cup of tea and raise a glass to mothers,” Roisin Dunne told TheJournal.ie. 

“This is just a way of waving to the mams that we can’t see and wishing them a happy Mother’s Day.”

Dunne said she organised the synchronised toast as a lot of people, on both sides of the windowpane, are beginning to struggle mentally with the reality of social distancing amid the ongoing coronavirus crisis.

“This is a nice way of giving a virtual hug,” she said, explaining that she and her daughter have been keeping their distance from her 79-year-old mother, something which has been tough on them all.  

I have breast cancer so I’m isolating, and I’m a single mam with a 12-year-old daughter so she’s here at the moment with me. But she normally would spend quite a lot of time with my mam when I’m having treatment and she can’t obviously at the moment.

“It’s all a bit difficult for us because I’m trying to keep her spirits up and I’m trying to get my mother’s spirits up too.”

Roisin said she’d love to see as many people join in their toast in their own gardens at 6pm this evening by using the hash-tag #MothersDayToast on all social media platforms, “just to feel that we’re all in this together”. 

Best thing to do

In order to stop the spread of the virus, the HSE advises that people should reduce interactions with people outside the workplace and home and reduce the number of people they meet every day. As a result, many parents and grandparents around the country are not able to meet their loved ones face-to-face.

“We’ve all seen photos of children waving at their grandparents through the window and granny waving back. That’s very hard for everybody but it is the best thing to do,” Professor of Health Systems at DCU Anthony Staines told TheJournal.ie. 

Staines said that regardless of the day, right now we should all keep our distances from others, particularly older, sicker people.  

Tweet by @Killian Byrne Killian Byrne / Twitter Killian Byrne / Twitter / Twitter

The HSE advises that those over 60 years of age and particularly those over 75 are vulnerable. But for people who are well and whose parents may not be considered high risk, they might be tempted to drop by later today.

Staines said it’s important to remember that there is no activity without risk and “it is all about balancing those risks”. 

“You might meet somebody in the supermarkets who will infect you without realising they’re unwell themselves, but you have to go to the supermarket. If you’re a healthcare worker you actually have to work, if you’re a lorry driver delivering food, you have to do it.

“The evidence says that the less time you spend with someone, the further away from them you are, and the closer you are to being outside, the better.”

“Say you met your mother and went for a walk on the local beach and then parted ways and waved politely as you went off. That’s a very low-risk activity but it’s not zero risks.”

Every family has to gauge for themselves what they’re going to do within the practicalities of life, what risk are you willing to take.  

But the more social distancing we implement now, the faster things will improve, says Staines. 

“Everyone just needs to play it safe this year, that would be my strong advice because god forbid anything does happen how would you feel about it afterward.”

Public health advice

Another 102 cases of Covid-19 in the Republic of Ireland were announced yesterday, bringing the total number to 785. 

Data from the Health Protection Surveillance Centre, which has so far studied 584 cases, shows that the median age of confirmed cases is 44 years while 30% of total cases have been hospitalised.

At yesterday’s briefing Dr Tony Holohan, Chief Medical Officer said that the Department of Health is aware that pubs in some areas of the country are continuing to open, in contravention of public health advice.

If any such premises become known to us, the Minister will be advised to use his regulatory powers to enforce the temporary closure of premises in order to prevent the spread of Covid-19. 

“We are also asking An Garda Siochana to assist in encouraging the public to abide by the public health advice on social distancing by encouraging any groups congregating in public to disperse.”

As things stand, there are over 270,000 cases of Covid-19 have been confirmed globally, according to the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control. 

The worldwide death toll from the virus has now reached more than 11,000 people.      

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute Tommy D
    Favourite Tommy D
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:31 AM

Can someone explain to me why me and the lads i work on site with are expected to turn up Monday morning and work together while all our office staff are afraid to attend site and are trying to run the job through conference calls.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:33 AM

@Tommy D: are they indoors and desks close together?

Mute Tommy D
    Favourite Tommy D
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:37 AM

@Peter McGlynn: nope most working from home

Mute Harry Trafford
    Favourite Harry Trafford
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:54 AM

@Tommy D: seems the sites are gonna keep on trucking until the end. I’m doing air con and we have to clean the aircon to ensure covid 19 isnt being spread through the ac.

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:50 AM

@Tommy D: I think that someone would be your union rep

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 6:17 AM

@Tommy D: Because there is no official shut down. Lot’s of pretty speeches but no real action.

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Mar 22nd 2020, 6:23 AM

@Tommy D: You’re looking at it all wrong Tommy. The more that work from home the better for all off us. I need to go into work to support our frontline staff because I can do it better on prem. But I encourage all who can work from home to do so … We all gain by more people staying at home.

Mute nicknack
    Favourite nicknack
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:20 AM

@Tommy D: construction workers in this country are treated disgracefully.your only living from job to job.conditions on building sites are tough.no pension,very little entitlements.its all about the cheapest bid wins and for that either there is corners cut on the product or the employee gets screwed over.the construction union is nearly non existent only to be seen at photo opportunities.thats why construction workers are still working at the moment

Mute Vin
    Favourite Vin
    Mar 22nd 2020, 11:09 AM

@Tommy D: like someone else commented you have the wrong attitude. It’s about keeping everything to an absolute minimum. Those that can work from home should, and that is protecting you and your co-workers.

Because of this, they can get on a bus without being crammed like sardines and getting the virus.

Mute Gordon Lambe
    Favourite Gordon Lambe
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:56 PM

@Tommy D: bang on gloves and masks at least,i know its arkward but its workable

Mute mark d
    Favourite mark d
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:04 PM

@Tommy D: because they can do their jobs from home, you can’t. The reason they’re working from home is because that is the recommendations from the HSE. If you can work from home, then do.

Mute Justice Mickey
    Favourite Justice Mickey
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:46 AM

What I wouldn’t give to just hear my Mum’s voice one more time.
    Please keep in touch with your Mum, one day She won’t be there.
    This is one on my personal saddest days of the year.

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 5:53 AM

@Justice Mickey: Sorry to hear that, but..
    “Wash your feckin hands! Eat up, there’s plenty in it!
    Sure that one doesn’t know what she’s missing!”
    Happy days.

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Mar 22nd 2020, 11:34 AM

@Justice Mickey: I totally agree what I would give just to even hear her voice again, her laugh let alone a hug. Mother’s Day Christmas and her birthday are like a fresh punch from grief. Buy her flowers today regardless celebrate her memory and life. They may be gone but they live on in us and our memories. Be kind to yourself today x

Mute Patrick Collins
    Favourite Patrick Collins
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:58 AM

My mother sadly passed away in 2004 aged 53 .Last Monday March 16th She would have celebrated her 69th birthday . I miss her every moment of single day since that Early August 12th day .I miss her caring ways and her loving hugs and an empathetic ear over a cut of tea as she tried to put any problems i had right . But the thing i yearn for today most of all is just one small hug and kiss-from you Mam and then to look you in your eyes and for you to say to me ‘’it’s all going to be ok,stop worrying we got this sorted’’.
    She was a great courageous and sincere lady
    Her motto when she was alive is the following :
    ‘’Don’t even think of making your father and I a cup of tea without washing your hands first Patrick’’ and use plenty of soap too !!!
    How important a lesson that was for 2020

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Mar 22nd 2020, 11:37 AM

@Patrick Collins: she sounds like an incredible person I lost mine two months after you. I posted earlier but I suggest you buy flowers for her today regardless just in her memory and as a token of the memories you will always cherish

Mute Laura Clayton
    Favourite Laura Clayton
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:34 PM

@Patrick Collins: well ya made me cry, sorry for your huge loss but thanks for the reminder that I’m very lucky to have my amazing Mammie. Even though I had to have a garden meet up with her today for Mother’s Day……

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:24 AM

Lads, ye might want to shut the side window :)

Mute DK
    Favourite DK
    Mar 22nd 2020, 9:37 AM

@Mill Lane: Why would they need to close the window?

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:13 PM

@DK: because the young child might make a dart for it, fall out and Grand parents grab her to save her. Then the kiss her as they are a little panicked and before you know it they are infected. (That’s just one possibility).

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:00 AM

Two suggestions.
    At a time of social isolation could we ask RTE to bring back Mike Murphy for a radio show. Heard him interviewed this A.M on RTE by Brendan O Connor.
    A delight.
    Maybe a show just him talking to comedians and interesting positive people. All interspersed with comedic excerpts from the likes of Billy Connolly. We need this.
    He’s a guy who older people know and love. And the youngsters might enjoy.
    Ask DG in RTE to consider.
    And Mike time for you to raise the spirit of the nation.
    All pulling together. Green jersey time.
    If Gaybo was around he would step up to the plate.
    If not RTE, then Newstalk or whatever. IF you agree, start lobbying.
    The pensioners, our grandparents would love it. All hands to the wheel.
    Imagine if Larry G was here.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:06 AM

@David Glynn: sinn fein

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:22 AM

@Ross: He can help. Having gone to Spain on hols 4 weeks ago he gets it.
    He would offer comfort, entertainment and familiarity to his fans. Also,safe pair of hands.
    Sorry Mike, but you and other retired personalities are needed.
    Apologies, but we need you.
    You could host a radio show in your sleep and you have a major plus. People trust you.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:42 AM

@Ross: He is a guy who older people and his fan’s trust. No scandals, no abuse issues, just an amiable broadcaster. Brendan Balfe an other.
    Join this campaign to reassuring our elderly.
    E mail Dee Williams.

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:47 AM

@David Glynn: is that you Mike Murphy??

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:52 AM

@David Glynn: You mean going back to the eighties/ nineties? What did the momma tomato say to the baby tomato? Ketchup.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:05 AM

@Tom Leddy:
    NO. Why do people at a time of pandemic crisis feel the need to banter. Tom, good banter.
    Someone, who walked away from the Live Mike at its peak, does not need this gig.
    He could be the calm down voice of reason.
    Met him once. Nice guy.
    He may say no thanks. That’s is if he comments. He’s retired.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:10 AM

@Colette Kearns :Missing the epoint. So you don’t have older relatives who could die.
    Reflect Collette, please think.

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:16 AM

@David Glynn: I’m behind you Dave, show me where to sign.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:31 AM

@Sean Fahey: Thanks Sean. It’s not a petition. Just a thought that we need to deploy all our resources. Just like the retired medical staff coming back.
    Said he’s done a podcast with an Uachtarain for the Senior Times. That’s what gave me the idea.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:53 AM

@Colette Kearns: Just heard Oprah is coming back on air to help.
    Going back can be good sometimes.

Mute George Sheils
    Favourite George Sheils
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:59 PM

@David Glynn: I agree with you David. Mike would be a tonic. Especially during these testing times.

Oh, and by the way well done on not reacting to the troll.

Mute paul johnston
    Favourite paul johnston
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:50 AM

I have not seen my parents (both cancer patients) in 10 days while looking after my kids who miss their grand parents n I drove down Oconnell street today (urgent message) to see normal footfall and the usual dirt loitering in vicinity of McDonald’s etc..please can all decent law abiding people force the government to order complete lockdown. The inner city is rotten to the core. Leo please respect all health workers n order lockdown because the Garda have no powers under your ‘recommendations’

Mute Paul O'Sullivan
    Favourite Paul O'Sullivan
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:23 AM

I feel for the Grandma’s they love getting flowers brought to them by their grandkids… grandkids love bringing them..

Let’s beat the hell out of this virus, Cmon stay safe and isolate it will be worth it…

Mute Clodagh Downing
    Favourite Clodagh Downing
    Mar 22nd 2020, 8:53 AM

@Paul O’Sullivan: it’s possible if social distancing was more policed then maybe it would be more successful. But people who share the same flat/house are most likely social distancing in groups. So, is it possible these groups could be co- habitants? Maybe we’ll all be given colour-coded armbands to identify as a group!!! No mixing!!! It is a war really- we just can’t see the ‘enemy’.

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Mar 22nd 2020, 2:22 AM

My mum lost her battle to cancer but I’m glad she isn’t here to fight this. Mother’s Day was everyday we fought we loved i hated her “cooking” but this day given even the times I will buy her flowers

Mute Frank Mc Caffery
    Favourite Frank Mc Caffery
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:04 AM

I’m just so bored out of my mind.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Mar 22nd 2020, 1:06 AM

@Frank Mc Caffery: watch some mammy…. Social media posts

Mute Marianne
    Favourite Marianne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:29 PM

@Frank Mc Caffery: turn on Spotify workout music and power walk up and down ur hallway for 40 mins you will feel more positive energy best of thoughts

Mute Patrick Collins
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:05 AM

My mother sadly passed away on Aug 12.th 2004 aged 53 .Last Monday March 16th 2020 She would have celebrated her 69th birthday
    To say I miss her every moment of single day since that Early August 12th day .I miss her caring ways and her loving hugs and an empathetic ear over a cut of tea as she tried to put any problems i had right . But the thing i yearn for today most of all is just one small hug and kiss-from you Mam and then to look you in your eyes and for you to say to me ‘’it’s all going to be ok,stop worrying we got this sorted’’.
    She was a wonderful and courageous and sincere lady who I deeply miss every day. We were/are honoured and proud to be able to call you our mum and our best friend

Mute John O Donoghue
    Favourite John O Donoghue
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:23 AM

The women of the world Happy Mother’s Day have a great day my kids were busy yesterday evening making cards for their mum and grandmothers and were posting them hope it’ll bring a smile to their faces when receiving the cards in the morning please all mind yer selves take care and God Bless have a great day

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Mar 22nd 2020, 9:12 AM

Happy mothers day to all mother’s in Ireland and around the world

Mute Patrick Collins
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:55 AM

My mother sadly passed away in 2004 aged 53 .Last Monday March 16th She would have celebrated her 69th birthday . I miss her every moment of single day since that Early August 12th day .I miss her caring ways and her loving hugs and an empathetic ear over a cut of tea as she tried to put any problems i had right . But the thing i yearn for today most of all is just one small hug and kiss-from you Mam and then to look you in your eyes and for you to say to me ‘’it’s all going to be ok,stop worrying we got this sorted’’.
    ‘’Don’t even think of making your father and I a cup of tea without washing your hands first Patrick’’ and use soap too !!!

Mute Patrick Collins
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:07 AM

My mother sadly passed away on Aug 12.th 2004 aged 53 .Last Monday March 16th 2020 She would have celebrated her 69th birthday
    To say I miss her every single day since that Would be an understatement.I miss her caring ways and her loving hugs and an empathetic ear over a cut of tea as she tried to put any problems i had right . But the thing i yearn for today most of all is just one small hug and kiss-from you Mam and then to look you in your eyes and for you to say to me it’s all going to be ok,stop worrying we got this sorted
    She was a wonderful and courageous and sincere lady who I deeply miss every day. We were/are honoured and proud to be able to call you our mum and our best friend

Mute Patrick Collins
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:57 AM

‘’Don’t even think of making your father and I a cup of tea without washing your hands first Patrick’’ and use plenty of soap too !!!

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Mar 22nd 2020, 9:09 AM

@Patrick Collins:
    We get it Patrick

Mute Liam
    Favourite Liam
    Mar 22nd 2020, 12:18 PM

Just saw our neighbours grandkids call to visit for mothers day and they waved in from outside and left a gift in a storage box outside the front door before saying goodbye and leaving – sad but great to see they are respecting the social distancing

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Mar 22nd 2020, 4:11 AM

Just as long as the raised glass has been sanitized and has no alcohol!!!!

Mute Patrick Collins
    Mar 22nd 2020, 3:56 AM

‘’Don’t even think of making your father and I a cup of tea without washing your hands first Patrick’’ and use soap too !!!

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    Mar 22nd 2020, 7:09 AM

@Patrick Collins: how many mammys did you have?

Mute TheDublinGirly
    Favourite TheDublinGirly
    Mar 22nd 2020, 9:21 AM

I’m looking for #MothersDayToast on Twitter – and can’t find anything posted this year. Is that definitely the hashtag?

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Mar 22nd 2020, 10:56 AM

Not all the mammies. Im just saying some people have terrible mothers.