You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP/Press Association Images

'Some serious criminal elements showed up': Feared motorcycle gang forms in Ireland

Gardaí are on high alert after the leaders of several biker chapters touched down in Ireland for the initiation ceremony.

GARDAÍ ARE MONITORING the activities of an Irish chapter of the Bandidos motorcycle club, which formed last weekend in Limerick.

An initiation ceremony of a ‘full patch chapter’ took place at the Crossagalla Industrial Estate.

According to gardaí, the leaders of several Bandido chapters from across Europe attended the initiation ceremony last Saturday.

Some members of the gang were seen wearing t-shirts in support of an alleged Bandido member who is charged with shooting dead a fellow biker.

A garda source said: “They are a serious outfit.

There are growing fears about them coming across from Europe as they are involved in criminality and violence.

“The head honchos of the Bandidos came to this event in Limerick from across Europe.

“Some serious criminal elements showed up. What may be coming down the road is unknown.”

Hells Angels - Bandidos - Germany The Bandidos have chapters all across the world. Roberto Pfeil / PA Roberto Pfeil / PA / PA

International police

A number of Belgian police were also present at the Limerick gathering to “liaise” with their garda counterparts.

The garda source added: “They were liaising with gardaí as part of their policing operations. There has to be cross border co-operation on these type of gangs because they can suddenly spring up anywhere across the world.

“Senior members of the Bandidos travelled to this event in Limerick, not the low level guys. It’s sending out a signal that this was an important event in their calendar.

“If they decided they wanted to open a chapter in Italy, for example, then the President of the Irish branch would pick members of the club to go there and represent Ireland.”

Large crowds

Around 200 bikers gathered in Limerick for the event with around 100 travelling from outside of the country and staying in a number of Limerick city hotels.

According to gardaí, two senior members of the Irish chapter have been convicted of attempting to rob a bank in Munster.

Australia Bikie Funeral Members of the Bandidos bikie gang ride in a funeral procession along a highway in Western Sydney. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

The garda added: “The gang is well known for criminality. I would watch this space. Many of the smaller Irish motorcycle clubs are afraid of the Bandidos. Their overall aim is to take over the rest of the clubs and increase their own membership. The Bandidos see themselves as having status and power.”

The Bandidos Motorcycle Club, also known as the Bandido Nation, was formed in the 1960s in Texas. It promotes itself as a “one-percenter” motorcycle club with members getting promoted through the the ranks and presented with badges. The “1%” patch is said to imply the gang’s division from the 99% of all law abiding motorcyclists.

The Bandidos are said to have estimated 210 Chapters with approximately 5,000 members across 22 countries. The club’s motto states: “We are the people your parents warned you about.”

Pensioner in her 70s seriously injured in road crash >

‘This is life changing, a once in a lifetime win for my family’: Carer wins €500,000 >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 100 comments
100 Comments
    Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:11 PM

Imagine if there was some kind of….. I don’t know, let’s say a border control where known criminals could be refused entry.

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Oct 14th 2016, 1:41 AM

Open borders within Europe and the Schengen Agreement. Can’t say No

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Oct 14th 2016, 2:01 AM

@Beachmaster:
    So journal .ie has become an expert in bandino. Pure bollix. The Pravda media are a bigger threar to society than a group of imagery bikers out for truth and a good spin.

Mute Jeremy McCarthy
    Favourite Jeremy McCarthy
    Oct 14th 2016, 2:48 AM

There’s worse criminals running this country I’d be far more worried about them (and am) than what’s basically a club for fellas who like riding motorcycles. Journals priorities all wrong.

Mute Ruairi O Neill
    Favourite Ruairi O Neill
    Oct 14th 2016, 2:51 AM

I think you should read up on this criminal enterprise before commenting Christy.

Mute Tony O'Regan
    Favourite Tony O'Regan
    Oct 14th 2016, 7:21 AM

@brian magee: We’re not in Schengen Brian. Pretty sure we could have refused them (the criminal ones anyway) in the way Beachmaster suggested, think we do it with known ‘football hooligans’ sometimes.

Mute Scott S. diVincenzo
    Favourite Scott S. diVincenzo
    Oct 25th 2016, 7:27 AM

@Jeremy McCarthy next time you’re chilln’ near San Antonio , Jeremy, feel free to casually pass these biker ‘fellas’ on the highway – and be sure to waive (-:

Mute Scott S. diVincenzo
    Favourite Scott S. diVincenzo
    Oct 25th 2016, 7:28 AM

@Scott S. diVincenzo: wave

Mute Datu Young
    Favourite Datu Young
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:07 PM

Dont worry it’s winter soon, let’s see if they can still roll out their bikes then

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:09 PM

@Datu Young: motorcycle mittens…

Mute Teene Nyantoon
    Favourite Teene Nyantoon
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:20 PM

Good that they think the helmet law makes sense.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:40 PM

@Datu one of their creed is “Dirty deeds are done with cars”

Mute Paul Wickham
    Favourite Paul Wickham
    Oct 14th 2016, 12:57 AM

@Teene Nyantoon: I can tell you empirically that winter does not stop even a 99% biker riding. Old age on the other hand…

Mute Martin Ryan
    Favourite Martin Ryan
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:16 PM

They’ll fit in perfectly here we have a very diverse range of criminals to choose from, bankers judges solicitors travellers garda, drug lords etc etc etc.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:19 AM

Dont forget Brian

Mute Uncle Monty
    Favourite Uncle Monty
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:41 PM

My mother told to be wary of long-hired guys in leather, but I was always bike curious…

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:40 PM

Bandidos Motto: “We are the people your parents warned you about”

Oct 13th 2016, 10:46 PM

Boganity are you a Bandido?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:32 AM

Lols just informed

Mute Diar O Doc
    Favourite Diar O Doc
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:17 PM

Lived next to a Bandidos club house in Brisbane a few years ago… sound enough lads

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:43 PM

Spot Diar the comments on here suggest Ireland has no idea what its in for. The current gang war is nothing compare this mob

Mute Leo Powers
    Favourite Leo Powers
    Oct 14th 2016, 6:18 AM

I can just see them roaring into South Armagh upsetting the locals. They would be lucky if one percent got out again.

Mute Leo Powers
    Favourite Leo Powers
    Oct 14th 2016, 6:22 AM

Bandito country!

Oct 13th 2016, 9:10 PM

“Some serious criminal elements showed up” eh seeing as we are a island why were those “serious criminal elements” allowed to arrive onto our shores?

Puff story to be honest. I’d be more concerned about our ordinary decent local criminal.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:28 PM

Ireland is about to be introduced to the Methamphetamine epidemic

Mute thenightmancometh
    Favourite thenightmancometh
    Oct 14th 2016, 8:39 AM

@Boganity: Sweet I’ve been wanting to try meth since watching breaking bad.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:09 AM

Will ya stop FFS it’s not Sons of Anarchy fantasy land. A good puncture would ground there fleet.

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:07 PM

Ya need to read up on these lads. They’ve been in Ireland a few years now.

Mute The Boogeyman
    Favourite The Boogeyman
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:29 PM

So like… what do biker gangs do day-to-day? Just drive around the countryside robbing banks?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:49 PM

Manufacture Methamphetamine.

Mute colm connolly
    Favourite colm connolly
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:49 PM

Hold on lads until we have a tellermorrow garage along side them and a nice doctor being turned cause she loves the veep were be grand , it’s when the IRA and Damon pope show up in town when things get serious

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Oct 14th 2016, 12:08 AM

At least the Irish accents will be believable now

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:11 PM

Lock up your daughters we need Gaybo back on his harley!

Mute nl
    Favourite nl
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:37 PM

I met a bunch of them on the boat home from France this summer. They were a very ordinary bunch of Limerick lads just having a bit of craic. A few days earlier we ran into a large group of them with German plates on the motorway in northern Spain. Turns out they were all at a large euro meet that weekend. Beats golf any day!! IMHO

Mute Adam
    Favourite Adam
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:04 PM

That garda is a bit of pansy.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:36 PM

If ignorance is bliss you must be euphoric as you have absolutely no idea what you’re talking about.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:37 PM
    See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:38 PM

@Boganity: I know exactly what I’m talking about.

Mute John Collins
    Favourite John Collins

@John Collins: that was meant for someone else.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:10 PM

John to say what you said about a Garda who is quite obviously better informed than you are demonstrates you don’t. Read the link” A Brief and Bloody History of the Bandidos”

Oct 13th 2016, 10:42 PM

Caught rapid lol

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:09 PM

Roll out those old Hells Angel movies. Two bank robbers, wouldn’t have happened if they were in some soccer supporters club, or GAA members. Bloody bikers.

Mute Denise Daly
    Favourite Denise Daly
    Oct 14th 2016, 12:38 AM

Calm yourself Boganity, you’ve repeated your story enough times. You’re a bit over-concerned and out of character this evening. Are you having motorcycle and drugs nightmares or hallucinations?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 14th 2016, 1:46 AM

No I’ve just seen first hand the damage Ice can do to a community. These guys are not a bunch latte sipping tossers. They’re the world’s largest manufacturer and distributer of Methamphetamine. This is their franchise moving on Ireland and there’s a reason they choose Limerick. The Gardai’s comments are informed and correct and the threat they pose to the community cannot be overstated.

Mute Pants Machine
    Favourite Pants Machine
    Oct 14th 2016, 8:28 AM

And what’s the reason they chose Limerick Boganty?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 14th 2016, 9:47 AM

If you where Irish, or lived in Ireland, you’d know the answer to gag question

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 14th 2016, 9:48 AM

*that

Mute Pants Machine
    Favourite Pants Machine
    Oct 14th 2016, 10:16 AM

I am Irish. From Limerick in fact. I can’t think of any obvious reason they’d chose Limerick over any other city or town in the country. Surely Dublin or Cork would make more sense?

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:16 AM

Ok so there are no crime families in Limerick ?
    And if there where they wouldn’t be at war with each other like in Dublin ?

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:20 PM

Don’t underestimate the Bandidos. They are serious. But we have our own 1% clubs here. Vikings, Hells Angel’s, Devils Diciples, Free Wheelers, Road Tramps and a few more. This isn’t a game. This isn’t even funny. Boganity has a point, we should be very concerned.

Mute Jho Harris
    Favourite Jho Harris
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:12 PM

We have criminals running the country on every level now, why are these s(um getting away with setting up, more needs to be done against crime but it might have start with a clean up in The Gardai and government first.

Mute Ronan Sexton
    Favourite Ronan Sexton
    Oct 14th 2016, 7:23 AM

I think I’ll start up a Toyota Auris drivers club. We can sit around pubs in manky clothes looking moody, then drive home trollied. Who’s in?

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Oct 14th 2016, 1:25 PM

@Ronan Sexton: count me in: I’ll park my Harley around the corner and wheeze silently in my Mk2 Prius into yer illustrious gathering.

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:24 PM

Any of them with criminal records should have been refused entry. Our laws and enforcement in Ireland are (rap.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:24 PM

They have so much income they can afford the best lawyers

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:11 PM

Los Homos.

Oct 13th 2016, 10:44 PM

Gays? I don’t think so Ted.

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:04 PM

@Jamie McCormack: well they call themselves Los Bandidos – it’s like a childish parody from Speedy Gonzales.

Oct 13th 2016, 11:40 PM

Yeah, whatever they call themselves, I think we’d be better off without them. We have enough bandits running around as it is.

Mute Ruairi O Neill
    Favourite Ruairi O Neill
    Oct 14th 2016, 2:53 AM

There’s a good South Park episode on the subject…

Mute Colette Mullins
    Favourite Colette Mullins
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:47 PM

Looking for new members???? I think they are s*it out of luck here. All motor bike clubs I know are filled with mammy s and daddy’s (my own family included) who are out for a bit of fun. And I must say motor bike society in Ireland has to be the most family orientated sport we have. A lot of the other organisations could take a leaf out of their books

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:25 PM

what kind of serious crime are they into? drug dealing?

the two senior lads/ladies in Ireland couldn’t even rob a bank.

meh.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:26 PM

Methamphetamine (Ice) ! Ireland in virgin territory for this hottie drug and it’s far worse than heroin

Oct 13th 2016, 11:48 PM

Crystal meth, that horrible drug that destroys people in no time. I read a while ago that the drug was introduced in New Zealand by one of the biker gangs. Interesting how they are looking at Ireland now. Do they spot an opportunity?

Mute Dj
    Favourite Dj

Oh look at me with my leather jacket and narley ride..ya you’re a tosser.

Mute liam hayes
    Favourite liam hayes
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:13 PM

So that’s the hells angels in Dublin west will be getting a visit from the badidos soon.
    Hells angels are actually sound lads out here, they have a family fun day everyday at the back of their club house, bouncy castle, bbq the whole shebang

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:10 PM

Think we need the HAMC now more than ever…

Mute Tony O'Donnell
    Favourite Tony O'Donnell
    Oct 15th 2016, 9:06 PM

@John Travers: We Have The HAMC.

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:46 PM

lol – Bikers. Is there anything more lame? Yeah, I’m so scared of fat old guys in leather with big moustaches.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:47 PM

You should be: they have lawyers, guns and money and are about to introduce Ireland to Methamphetamine. A drug so additive and evil that it will change Ireland’s definition of junkie. It won’t be the homeless guys you see on the streets of Dublin, it’ll be people in suits like your solicitor, realtor, bank manager etc

Mute Congress Tart
    Favourite Congress Tart
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:24 PM

@Boganity: I’d slap the fake tits off their fat birds.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:22 AM

The stuff is already on the streets didn’t take off.

Mute Bigus Diccus
    Favourite Bigus Diccus
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:43 PM

Maybe one of our friendly neighbourhood subversive groups could have a word in their ear.

Mute Frank's Cat
    Favourite Frank's Cat
    Oct 14th 2016, 8:08 AM

Sure it’ll be grand. Send them to Cork and they’ll spend the rest of their holidays stuck in roadworks at Buttevant.

Mute Daniel Fontaine
    Favourite Daniel Fontaine
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:14 PM

Interesting.
    A lot of other biker clubs are fearful of being taken over by the Banditos, who if they target a club arrive some night and issue an ultimatum. ‘Leave right now or join us’
    Clubs are fast tracking new members in and giving out patches where traditionally they would have to be earned over a period of time in an effort to boost numbers.
    Lot of money at stake here.

Mute Derek Goulding
    Favourite Derek Goulding
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:17 PM

Looks like the Mayans are here for retribution from The Sons

Oct 14th 2016, 12:40 AM

@Derek Goulding: Where did all the Mayans go, into the portal? It’s a strange one.

Mute Joseph Caulfield
    Favourite Joseph Caulfield
    Oct 14th 2016, 8:51 PM

@Derek Gouldin
    Where is chief Unser when you need him.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:16 PM

Motorcycle gang! Pathetic.

Mute Niall Tuohy
    Favourite Niall Tuohy
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:39 PM

Take over the rest of the smaller clubs lol!!! Let’s see what the rest of the 1%’er clubs here say about that! They are their own clubs for a reason and won’t be pushed about.

Mute David Newman
    Favourite David Newman
    Oct 13th 2016, 10:51 PM

Just leaving this here ..
    https://youtu.be/xGyKBFCd_u4

Mute O-'Seán
    Favourite O-'Seán
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:22 PM

Lol!!

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke
    Oct 13th 2016, 11:15 PM

Alot of profesional types in the club alot of cash involved More of a buisness than a club

Mute John Kennedy
    Favourite John Kennedy
    Oct 13th 2016, 9:43 PM

Some nice harleys they drive 900cc up

Mute Denis Coleman
    Favourite Denis Coleman
    Oct 14th 2016, 2:06 PM

They won’t be long ditching the short sleeves after a spin around Ireland

Mute William T Smith
    Favourite William T Smith
    Oct 14th 2016, 2:33 AM

s(um,not welcome here!

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:06 AM

Ah the meth monkeys have arrived

Mute Kieran Wemyss Crowe
    Favourite Kieran Wemyss Crowe
    Oct 14th 2016, 2:30 AM

What a bunch of children

Mute John Travers
    Favourite John Travers
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:24 PM

Eh, not exactly. You obviously don’t know much about 1%’ers.

Oct 15th 2016, 12:23 AM

@Kieran Wemyss Crowe: They won’t last.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:13 AM

I was thinking of joining them. And maybe we could do a bike run for a charity,and then maybe an open day in the phoenix park with a cake sale and free rides on their choppers! What do ye think?Ah it’d be a lovely day out.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Oct 14th 2016, 11:13 AM

A good puncture would ground there fleet.

Mute Liam Plante
    Favourite Liam Plante
    Nov 1st 2016, 11:09 AM

the bandits are here already,only they have state cars

Mute Ngoc Nguyen
    Favourite Ngoc Nguyen
    Nov 1st 2016, 10:50 AM

I doubt if they will be able to steal 85 Billion, you need a suit for that!

Mute Gerry Mc Donnell
    Favourite Gerry Mc Donnell
    Oct 14th 2016, 12:49 AM

I am not a member of this gang….staying with The Black Widows.

Mute Seán ❎
    Favourite Seán ❎
    Nov 1st 2016, 6:37 PM

Grown men……. won’t end well for them in this country