You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

(L-R) Tree, Mrs Brown Courtesy of RTE

Mrs Brown's Boys was most-watched tv show in Ireland over Christmas

880,000 viewers tuned in to the Mrs Brown’s Boys Christmas Special on Christmas Day, ahead of Eastenders, Fair City, and Anne Doyle’s last ever appearance reading the news.

MRS BROWN’S BOYS Christmas Special, the RTE comedy starring Brendan O’Carroll, was the most-watched programme on Irish television over Christmas.

A total of 880,000 viewers tuned in to the programme on Christmas Day, giving it a 48.6 per cent audience share.

It had over 300,000 viewers more than the second-placed programme, which was Eastenders, also on RTE One on Christmas Day, which was watched by over 563,000 viewers.

Gay Byrne’s programme about 50 years of The Dubliners had 527,000 viewers tune in on Christmas Day, putting it in third place overall.

Other programmes which featured in the top 10 on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day include RTE Six-One News on Christmas Eve (480,000), Fair City (441,600 viewers), and Carols From The Castle on Christmas Eve (411,000).

Anne Doyle’s final ever appearance on the Nine O’Clock News was watched by 387,000 viewers on Christmas Day.

Daniel Craig’s second outing as James Bond in Quatum of Solace had 341,00 viewers on Christmas Eve. Meanwhile the Father Ted Christmas Special proved its enduring appeal garnering 275,000 viewers – fifteen years after it first aired.

In the top-rated Christmas pr, Mrs Brown had to plan an extra-special Christmas for her son Trevor returning home from the missions for the first time in four years.

RTE had a total of eight of the top 10 most watched programmes on Christmas Day and also on Christmas Eve in Ireland.

The figures were sourced from TAM Ireland/Nielsen TAM, Live + VOSDAL, National Individuals 4+, and programme averages, according to RTE.

Did you watch Mrs Brown’s Boys? What was your favourite programme over the Christmas period? Tell us in the comments…

What’s on? Christmas TV for every mood >

“For me, it’s been a pleasure”: Anne Doyle reads RTE news for the final time >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

72 Comments
    Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:09 PM

What a load of crap that show

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:28 PM

Ted….I’ve taped it & was just about to sit down with a cuppa to watch it…..I’m all disappointed now :-(

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:42 PM

I’ll be over shortly pet!!

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:58 PM

Ted….I’ll put kettle on luv !!

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:17 PM

Thanks babe love u always my little baba mwah ;)

Mute Kelly McCarthy
    Favourite Kelly McCarthy
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:21 PM

This show rocked!

Mute Easygoing
    Favourite Easygoing
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:30 PM

Ditto Ted x x x

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:32 AM

Utter rubbish!

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    Dec 29th 2011, 1:37 PM

its got to more interesting than havin to read easygoings blow-by-blow account of the action goin down between herself and Ted the super dog…….

or now that i think about it,,, maybe not,,,
    could do wit a laugh

Mute Rolf Harris
    Favourite Rolf Harris
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:08 PM

Why do we pay a licence fee when all we get from RTE is garbage like Mrs. Browns Boys. You should be allowed take RTE off your TV and pay no licence fee.

Mute North Pole
    Favourite North Pole
    Dec 28th 2011, 11:41 PM

Just don’t pay the licence! ! !

Mute Si Mon
    Favourite Si Mon
    Dec 29th 2011, 8:42 AM

TV licence is based on whether you have a tv in your house not on whether it is used or not (whether you watch rte or not)! Just get rid of the box! Best thing I ever did!!

Although in 2012 they are changing the tv licence to an entertainment licence which will mean everyone will have to pay if they have a tv, radio or Internet in their home :(

Mute Yvonne M
    Favourite Yvonne M
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:34 PM

Lordy.. it’s woeful tv. Brendan O’Carroll is as funny as getting a tooth pulled.

Mute Deirdre Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Deirdre Fitzpatrick
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:10 PM

We must have been the only family who didn’t turn the TV on at all Christmas day. We managed to have a lovely day without it.

Mute Dave Minogue
    Favourite Dave Minogue
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:19 AM

What did ye do?

Mute Si Mon
    Favourite Si Mon
    Dec 29th 2011, 8:43 AM

Dave, that made me laugh. Classic!

Mute Debbie Ennis
    Favourite Debbie Ennis
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:41 PM

It’s not even funny so I am guessing the high figures were due to the fact there there was f**k all on the television so had to resort to watching that garbage ( I didn’t by the way would not waste an hour of my valuable life watching such tripe ) :)

Mute Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Matthew Fitzpatrick
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:47 PM

There really was fuck all on wasn’t there?

Mute Liam Redmond
    Favourite Liam Redmond
    Dec 28th 2011, 11:07 PM

It was only on for thirty minutes…..

I love how people are saying it only got high figures because there was nothing else on. Nobody is forcing anyone to watch it. It is just as easy to read a book, throw on the radio, get drunk etc.

Did it ever cross your mind that 880,000 people actually like the programme (excluding yourself, obviously)?

Mute Rónán Ó Conchúir
    Favourite Rónán Ó Conchúir
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:21 PM

Unbelievable. I don’t know anybody who admits to watching it.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:32 PM

Nobody admits to picking their nose and eating it either… but we know it’s done!

Mute Lar Hayden
    Favourite Lar Hayden
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:19 PM

Shame on you viewers. Shame!!!

Mute sharon clifford
    Favourite sharon clifford
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:54 PM

It was probably on whilst everyone was having dinner in the other room ……

Mute Lee Marvin
    Favourite Lee Marvin
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:27 PM

€160 a year for utter crap like this and Wagons Den etc. Great value for money. Rte just don’t seem to have a clue nowadays.

Mute Faceless Man
    Favourite Faceless Man
    Dec 28th 2011, 11:21 PM

Don’t forget PJ Gallaghers new show, like poking yourself in the eye repeatedly

Mute Rónán Ó Conchúir
    Favourite Rónán Ó Conchúir
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:18 PM

Unbelievable. How is this measured?

Mute Colm Flaherty
    Favourite Colm Flaherty
    Dec 29th 2011, 6:29 AM

It was the one thing my mother came into the back room to tell me to “come quick and see!” The fact is there’s a large chunk of demographic that connects with and likes this show. Like killinascully, mum said that what she liked was some of the characters reminded her of people she knew or once knew in real life in communities. I suspect rhe kind of people who become heavy commenters on Internet forums and here come from a certain demographic that wouldn’t partake in the kinds of activities & lifestyle that would introduce them to characters similar to the ones portrayed, ergo the negative bias of opinion against these kinds of “community character” based TV shows.

I had the honour (yes I call it that) to congratulate Mr. O’Carroll on “the highlight of my mother’s evening”, and he said he was hearing that it was popular with the older generations.

So give the man some credit. *You* mightn’t like it, but there’s a big chunk of demographic that does. Don’t belittle them.

L
    Mute L
    Favourite L
    Dec 29th 2011, 8:02 AM

Very well put Colm. It’s exactly what I was thinking.

Mute Paul McMahon
    Favourite Paul McMahon
    Dec 29th 2011, 9:10 AM

Well said Colm!

Mute Pat Allen
    Favourite Pat Allen
    Dec 29th 2011, 9:15 AM

Absolute bollocks. Like everything carrol has done this is terrible rubbish. It’s 70′s british humour with the casual racism removed. Nothing original has ever come from carrol and never will. The same tired jokes over and over again.
    Here look! Man dressed as woman. Hilarious. How wonderfully refreshing! And sooo new.
    It’s depressing really that anyone can like it.

Mute Jennifer Egan
    Favourite Jennifer Egan
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:38 PM

Wow, I didn’t realise how many ppl didn’t like this show!:-0 I love it:)

Mute Anthony Arkins
    Favourite Anthony Arkins
    Dec 28th 2011, 11:55 PM

160 euros every year or a fine or imprisonment for a second rate service at best, they also have the revenue from advertising, it’s no wonder that pat Kenny or finucane can be paid nearly half a million each per year.

Mute David Delaney
    Favourite David Delaney
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:55 PM

Mrs brown absolutely brilliant show can’t wait for new series rock on

Mute Spillinksuz
    Favourite Spillinksuz
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:16 PM

Well if you took into consideration what was aired…..it was just as crap as the rest!

Mute S P Mc Grath
    Favourite S P Mc Grath
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:50 AM

That show is pure shite

Mute Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown
    Favourite Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:25 PM

Compared to the savage eye and hardy bucks, mrs browns boys is a hundred times better!!!

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:31 AM

That was the top show? Good God!
    It was absolutely dragging the bottom of the barrel when it comes to entertainment!
    Its an embarrassment.

Mute Michelle Whelan
    Favourite Michelle Whelan
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:31 PM

Oh Jesus.

Mute North Pole
    Favourite North Pole
    Dec 28th 2011, 11:38 PM

Don’t know how anyone can watch that show it’s awful shit! And sure tv on every channel was shit Xmas day. thanks to the local DvD rental on St Stephans much better viewing.

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:45 AM

What a group of tossers. If u don’t watch it how do u know it’s crap. The same people constantly moaning for the sake of it. If u have a problem with it let’s see what u can come up with. If not shut the f*** up.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Dec 29th 2011, 1:37 AM

I watched it, but needn’t have bothered. Should have dug out “how’s your wobbly bits”. Same humour….. but 20 years later

Mute Thinkshpake
    Favourite Thinkshpake
    Dec 29th 2011, 10:19 AM

I gave it a chance and watched 15 minutes. It was utter shite, not even remotely funny. I can’t for the life of me see why anyone finds this show entertaining.

Mute Dave Minogue
    Favourite Dave Minogue
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:21 AM

I find it hard to believe that there was over 800,000 televisions in people’s homes that had mrs browns boys.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Dec 29th 2011, 8:39 PM

Mine was most certainly not one of them!

Mute Waffler
    Favourite Waffler
    Dec 28th 2011, 9:42 PM

:(

Mute Sharon Delaney
    Favourite Sharon Delaney
    Dec 29th 2011, 1:19 AM

at least it had a christmas theme. old action and horror movies was all I could find on other channel’s . like it or loath it brendan o’carrol has achieved fantastic success with his show watched around the globe. I say fair play and thanks for the laugh.

Mute Dave McDermott
    Favourite Dave McDermott
    Dec 29th 2011, 1:07 AM

Watched this with my parents because I couldnt say no to my Ma. Absolute Garbage! I thought it was some sort of prank until it ended and the ads came on. That’ll learn me.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Dec 29th 2011, 1:00 AM

over 6 million people watched it in the uk on BBC 1 on boxing day!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:28 AM

Says a lot of the standard of television offered by RTE this Christmas…films on that were shown 3years ago….

Mute Frank McMahon
    Favourite Frank McMahon
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:30 PM

Its bad in an unnerving, surreal way

Mute Ave Lynch
    Favourite Ave Lynch
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:14 PM

Doesn’t say a lot for what was on the box over xmas.

Mute Tim Lawson
    Favourite Tim Lawson
    Dec 29th 2011, 2:32 AM

I am shocked by the viewing figures. Completely shocked. Gay Byrne told the nation that that lame dickhead was funny and so many believed him. The jokes are all stale and telegraphed.

Mute Jon Jo Ha
    Favourite Jon Jo Ha
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:19 AM

I watched it.

Mute Ben ben
    Favourite Ben ben
    Dec 29th 2011, 5:55 AM

Terrible tripe, says a lot for our tastes…that o carroll is about as funny as cancer. Genuinely can’t believe that many people watch that utter shite…

Mute Neil Cremins
    Favourite Neil Cremins
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:01 PM

It’s an awful show but is it any worse than X-Factor, I’m a Celebrity, Big Brother or whatever is the latest fad show is?

Do yourselves all a favour and support good comedy and look up Louis CK, he recently had a download DRM free show for $5, worked out as €3.84 on my credit card. Absolute bargain.

Mute Daryl Walsh
    Favourite Daryl Walsh
    Dec 29th 2011, 3:15 AM

I think it’s the funniest programme ever to be aired on RTE even tho it is commissioned and produced by BBC we should be proud of it.. Can’t rememeber which…. Either Vernon Kay or Dermot o Leary tweeted about it the other night saying how funny it was and they will definitely be buying the 1st Series and tuning into the 2nd

Mute Strongbow62
    Favourite Strongbow62
    Dec 29th 2011, 7:42 AM

The worst part of it is watching Carroll going around with his glasses hanging around his neck like some latter day self satisfied English professer. I don’t know how he’s doing it but apparently lots of people like that slapstick humour.. Just throw in a few ” fuckin this and that” from the lips of a middle ages transvestite and it’s a winner. I think much of his success is down to the fact that TV is flooded with “intellectual ” comedy that is just too smart for its own good. PJ Gallagher must be someone’s friend.. I think his show is pure suite. Recession time.. People want a laugh and they want it without having to have Phd to understand what the joke is about. That’s why it’s watched.

Mute Dave McDermott
    Favourite Dave McDermott
    Dec 29th 2011, 1:11 AM

I’m sorry but nearly a million people watchin THAT! What’s happened to us? I need a shower.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Dec 28th 2011, 11:39 PM

Well there you have it.. irrefutable proof that some majority of TV viewers will always watch a particular channel.

Mute Gerry Waterstone
    Favourite Gerry Waterstone
    Dec 29th 2011, 4:14 AM

We pay tv licence to watch BBC programmes, RTE didnt even back this just like FATHER TED which I think channel 4 did. Why can’t we support our own. It wasn’t that bad really.

L
    Mute L
    Favourite L
    Dec 29th 2011, 8:05 AM

Get your facts right. Mrs Brown’s boys is a joint venture and Dermot Morgan said in interviews that he never approached RTE with Ted. That is just shit about them refusing it.

Mute stephen corrigan
    Favourite stephen corrigan
    Dec 29th 2011, 6:29 PM

Well it would have been strange for dermot morgan to approach rte as he neither wrote or produced it.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Dec 29th 2011, 8:34 AM

I’m just back from the UK and Mrs Browns boys is huge over there, people love it…6 million watched it at Xmas.

Mute Stewart Curry
    Favourite Stewart Curry
    Dec 28th 2011, 10:44 PM

Was no-one watching Sky? How is 880,000 48.6% of the total audience? Is this only for the Irish TV channels? I didn’t realize we had 880,000 villages in Ireland.

Mute Erin McGreehan
    Favourite Erin McGreehan
    Dec 29th 2011, 7:29 AM

No wonder ireland is in d state it is wen we r watching such rubbish

Mute Tom McDermott
    Favourite Tom McDermott
    Dec 29th 2011, 12:31 PM

If you read the anti Mrs Browns Boys comments in Mrs Browns voice its not too hard figure out where Brendan got Mrs browns character from.

Personally I love the show after I was made watch it. Before I ever watched it when i’d see little bits of it advertised I used to say to myself i’d say thats some muck. Thankfully I was wrong.. Dont know bout the rest of ye, but between 10pm & 10.30pm xmas night I fell around the place laughing.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 29th 2011, 5:02 PM

I watched it too , having thought , no way, BUT I enjoyed it , and even laughed out loud . Hilarious.

Mute Aidan Molloy
    Favourite Aidan Molloy
    Dec 29th 2011, 11:13 AM

Fair play to him. He has stuck with this tranny act for years and it has finally paid off.

Mute Multi talentless
    Favourite Multi talentless
    Dec 29th 2011, 6:42 PM

Is there any funny sitcoms on BBC at all?think this fares well against the other current BBC sitcoms even ‘life’s too short’ was a bit scrappy.

I’m not a fan of O’Carrols stand up but in interviews he comes across as a genuine funny guy not just a self promoter desperate for a laugh.he obviously knows his target market too
    Then again he’s never been cool , I remember a review in hot press slating him when he was doing the Dublin pub circuit back in the 90′s

He’s written books , produced plays & scripted a movie so he must be doing something right , some people can’t get their head around this

Watched mrs brown a couple of times & to my surprise found myself laughing
    It’s no Fawlty Towers but it’s not aiming to be, it’s broad smutty humour so what? Don’t like , don’t watch

As I recall prior to Father Ted Morgan was past his best & was basically an impressionist who released unfunny novelty records

Mute Robert O'Brien
    Favourite Robert O'Brien
    Dec 29th 2011, 11:27 AM

I Don’t believe that nearly 1m viewers watched this tripe on xmas night viewing figures being massaged i think. Also Downton Abbey was on and thats not even mentioned in the list

Mute Angela Connolly Mitchell
    Favourite Angela Connolly Mitchell
    Dec 29th 2011, 6:27 PM

TV in general was crap over Christmas, but no matter how bad, could not resort to watching Brendan O’Carroll!

Mute Ian Walsh
    Favourite Ian Walsh
    Jan 3rd 2012, 9:31 PM

I have never read such negative comments after a simple story. All the moaning and whinging is shocking! I feel sorry for the family and friends that have to suffer the tripe you people drivel out. I’ve just made my New Years resolution now and its to stay away from whingers and moaners like you people. Away off with you all now and get some anti-depressents or something, or better still, emigrate…