You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mullen Park, Maynooth. RollingNews.ie

115 homes in Kildare development at centre of controversy now won't be sold to cuckoo fund

There was outrage when it emerged owner occupiers would be locked out of buying homes in the Maynooth estate.

HOUSES IN THE Mullen Park development in Maynooth will now not be sold to an investment fund, but will instead be sold to individual buyers. 

There was outrage earlier this year after it was reported that owner occupiers were set to be locked out of buying any of the homes in the estate due to a deal to sell them in their entirety to UK-headquartered property investor, Round Hill Capital.

News of the discussions between the developer and Round Hill were first reported by the Business Post in May. 

The fallout from the sale of the new development in Maynooth to a so-called ‘cuckoo fund’ dominated political proceedings for a number of weeks and refocused attention on the continuing housing crisis. 

The government was accused of encouraging and incentivising the bulk sale of houses to investment funds, which resulted in ministers scrambling to find a solution.

In the end, the Government introduced a 10% stamp duty rate on the bulk-buying of homes by so-called cuckoo funds.

While initially welcomed, there was backlash when the coalition voted in favour of an amendment to the Finance Bill which will see these funds awarded tax breaks if the homes are bought for social housing.

The u-turn on the sale of the houses in Maynooth that initially sparked the push back from both the public and opposition parties will see a total of 115 three and four-bedroom houses now up for sale for regular, individual prospective buyers.

The remaining 20 homes in this phase of the development will be acquired by Kildare County Council for social and affordable housing under the terms of Part V of the Planning and Development Act, it is understood.

The estate, in total, has approximately 170 homes, some of which were sold to buyers in phase one of the development.

Housing Minister Darragh O’Brien welcomed the news that the homes would now not be sold to an investment fund.

O’Brien said: “I’ve been very clear that funds snapping up homes where there is a clear demand from buyers.”

The Government’s new Housing For All plan, which will outline new targets and policies in housing, will be launched in over a week’s time.

17 Comments
    Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:45 AM

The massive support for independents and the amount of undecided voters is proof that we are in a broken form of democracy. We need a new system. I haven’t got the solution but as the saying goes you don’t need to be a fireman to point out a building that’s on fire.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:42 AM

This poll reminds me of the old advert – “We don’t like your type round here !”
    To all backbenchers who can’t do maths – 16% means you LOOSE your seat !
    So stay in for another few weeks and become absolutely despised or organise an election – those Fine Gael and Labour backbenchers who leave now and stand as Independents are the only ones that have a hope of retaining their seat …
    Not enough voting emigrants left for ye at 16% !

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:12 AM

It’s not unreasonable to still be “undecided” fifteen or sixteen months before the election is due. This isn’t an American presidential election.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:16 AM

Stay in Fantasy land Neal …say hello to Mark Kennelly for me – tell him I said he isn’t as smart as he thinks he is !

Mute Darren Doheny
    Favourite Darren Doheny
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:36 AM

It’s a great point! We don’t trust any party. I think they lack expertise!

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:10 AM

@Dermot Ryan:
    “…..LOOSE your seat!”
    Does that mean that their arses will become detached?!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:25 AM

John – it shall be known as the jettisoning of the brains !

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Favourite Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Dec 4th 2014, 12:11 PM

Regardless of who is put in we need a mechanism to directly lobby the government by referendum. We currently only get that when our constitution is impinged on and I will vote for any party or group of independents that put that in bold on the manifesto.

Mute Darren Turner
    Favourite Darren Turner
    Dec 4th 2014, 3:13 PM

Direct democracy, works for the Swiss very well. Public votes every few months on important issues. Let the people decide, not these idiots we have in our government.

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Dec 4th 2014, 3:28 PM

enda finally in where he belongs the shisters club,,with haughey ahearn and cowen

Mute Enda Smith
    Favourite Enda Smith
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:47 AM

FG and Lab were given a chance to help the people of Ireland. They have decided to tax and levy those who are working into near poverty. Five point plan(Bull&hit) should be renewed to include restoration of peoples living standards to above breadline. Let the politicians hit the European bondholders as hard as they hit those who did not gamble or finance overpriced bricks and mortar.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:06 AM

I’ve said it before, the electorate are now in the habit of voting parties out not in. A warning for the next party that gets in, your jobs are on the line if you don’t start serving the people who put you there. No more lies

Mute myownboss
    Favourite myownboss
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:12 AM

Simon, when the next election is on and they cone banging on my door, I will be handing each and everyone a ‘contract’ to sign so if in power they break that promise/ contract they will see me in court. I really believe any promises should be legally binding, we are THEIR employer after all. There has to be consequences for break of contract. A bit idealistic of me I know, but this whole area needs to be looked at.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:17 AM

myownboss – they actually are – McKenna and McCrystal judgements …..legally binding

Mute VoiceOfVanguard
    Favourite VoiceOfVanguard
    Dec 4th 2014, 12:34 PM

If independents gained control, one priority should be to slash the salaries and exorbitant pensions that ministers and senior civil servants get after the next election- and apply it retrospectively.
    The thought of the Labour, FG and FF so-called elite having the smug look wiped off their faces would bring a little cheer to anybody’s heart.

Mute Mac Dara Powell
    Favourite Mac Dara Powell
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:32 AM

It’s a sad day when 16% of people would still vote for FF .

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:44 AM

There will always be idiots unfortunately.

Mute Gerard Byrne
    Favourite Gerard Byrne
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:51 AM

anyone who votes for fianna fraud are either their family members or masochists after the way those gangsters destroyed the country

Mute Noel Cosgrave
    Favourite Noel Cosgrave
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:17 AM

Ah, sure, didn’t my father and mother always vote for them. And their parents before that.

Mute Marjorie Magee
    Favourite Marjorie Magee
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:28 AM

Sad, but true!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Dec 4th 2014, 12:44 PM

I think somewhere around the 12/13% is their core vote. So they clawed a bit back. Used to think it was going to be a ff/FG next gov. With these polls it could be anything. More likely ff/FG/ selection of indp candidates.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:35 AM

History repeating itself. FG had a chance to actually make a difference & decided that they’d screw the country & guarantee their own futures financially if not politically. They have lied & when theyre not busily screwing the country they spend the remainder of that time just screwing up. The only surprise in this story is that 16% of voters would waste a vote on them. Roll on Dec 10th.

Mute D is Illusioned
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:33 AM

Ends & Joan now do you hear what people are saying. Your Governments time is up, RESIGN NOW.

Mute Paul Flynn
    Favourite Paul Flynn
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:44 AM

That’s what happens when you take orders from vulture capitalists (the troika) rather than your electorate.

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:00 AM

In 2011 they’d all be taking orders from the Troika in fairness.

Mute ciaran mccall
    Favourite ciaran mccall
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:44 AM

that’s what happens when you want people to vote for you and promise them things will change at least in the running of the country and you get voted in and completely change become more arrogant and uncaring, pick on the least well off in society and continue to spend taxpayers money like it is water
    good riddance to them all, the generation of politicians we have had in the last 20 years are a shame on us

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:42 AM

Headline is misleading – they were this unpopular last week.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:35 AM

Headline should have read they wont be this popular for another decade

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:34 AM

They are even more unpopular today.

Mute Paddy Mc Quillan
    Favourite Paddy Mc Quillan
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:37 AM

Tick tock tick tock.

Mute rsdowney
    Favourite rsdowney
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:34 AM

The real battle ground is the 22% undecided.

SF, FF and FG will target this group. The question is will they return to their traditional pattern of FF or FG.
    Or will they go over to SF.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:39 AM

ABOLISH THE…………..U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C, U.S.C,

Mute Diarmuid Danger Lenihan
    Favourite Diarmuid Danger Lenihan
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:43 AM

People go on about it bringing in €4.5 billion in taxes but if the scrapped it they’d get most of it back in VAT and income tax from all the extra people that would be put back to work. I suspect FF will promise to scrap it if elected and then we’ll be back to that shower of c..ts again.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:53 AM

@ RS: As seen in the locals, SF/Independents could make SERIOUS gains in a GE. The fact that a GE would allow the public, unlike the local elections, to bring about a decisive sea-change in our politics may bring even more to the polling booth for the first time.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:06 PM

Perhaps it could jam-man but the seas ebb and flow when it comes to general elections, hence you get clowns like Mick Wallace representing nobody other than themselves.

Mute sarah kerrigan
    Favourite sarah kerrigan
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:34 AM

There is no such thing as a popular politician they are all conniving b@stards at the end of the day

Mute Stephen Gregg
    Favourite Stephen Gregg
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:39 AM

Pretty vapid statement in all fairness.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:41 AM

@ stephen, the way politics has treated the electorate of this country recently, Sarah’s statement is mild in all fairness

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:43 AM

Kenny always strikes me as someone who spends a lot of time conversing with himself in front of a mirror, running his finely manicured fingers through his silky hair and with the Wu Tang Clan providing the soundtrack to his life in the background.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:04 AM

He would make a great spitting image character.

Mute Denis Reidy
    Favourite Denis Reidy
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:37 AM

I thought he was one

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:13 AM

He’s a plank wearing a mask!

Mute Charlie Mountney
    Favourite Charlie Mountney
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:01 AM

Hey David. Leave The Wu Tang Clan out of this. I think Kenny is more a Celine Dion fan.
    Maybe Status Quo with the seminal, Down Down Deeper and Down which is quite obviously about FG poll ratings.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:09 PM

Thats equostic Charlie…..

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:32 AM

It seems no one is giving a feck about all the good news released to date or all the mud being slung at SF.
    The 10th will be interesting ie numbers on the street.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan

The nation fawned at Fianna Fail’s feet and the party took us to the brink of collapse, despite all the obvious signs that Fianna Fail were just in it for themselves, corrupt and embezzling.

Now it is irrelevant to so many people that the mud slung at Sinn Fein is largley composed of rotting truths.

We are fools waltzing once again towards our next infatuation with a party ‘of the people’ that will whisper sweet nothings in our ear and whitewash over reality.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:40 AM

John, it all depends on one’s view of what reality is. Reality for the rich and the political classes is totally different to reality for ordinary people.

Mute Randy
    Favourite Randy
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:54 AM

We live in a time of information, people see siteserv, people see IW, people see patronising attempts of the media to skew peoples wills, people see destroyed letters, people see junior bond holders getting paid, people see water balloon ‘terrorists’, people see waiting lists, dead health care system, bloathed inefficient services, people see obsence pensions and a lack of accountability…people see people rising and it’s frightening the status quo..shiiiiiiiiiit, let them hear us loud and clear on the 10th!!!

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:54 AM

If you suspect you have cancer, it doesn’t automatically follow that you should drink the bottle of bleach being marketed by a snakeoil salesman just because he tells you it will cure you.

Mute ciaran mccall
    Favourite ciaran mccall
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:56 AM

mudslinging at sf…. fine gael have form here as well in 96 when they were in power they refused to set up an inquiry in the wexford/ferns debacle and called two local councilers who brought it to their attention irresponsible for suggesting that there would be any enquiry. Michael noonan should remember not to throw stones as he was the health minister who refused to meet with the councilers and passed them off to Austin curry
    strange that was not reported recently… thank you phoenix magazine

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:58 AM

@ J Gahan. Repeatedly saying things like ” composed of rotten truths” etc does not make your assertions true or factual. So would you like to furnish us with some evidence to back those claims up please.

Mute Randy
    Favourite Randy
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:39 AM

If you suspect you have cancer you get an informed opinion…media tries to convince us that this cancer in our society (fg/lab/ff) is doing us good…people are becoming informed, Irish people are rising above the smearing and petit name slinging…let them hear us all on the 10th, let them know we are not lying down anymore settling for scraps and patronising pats on the head..return the country to the people

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:55 PM

Ok M Bowe, let make a random start with the eur700,000 siphoned off for ‘research expenses’ in NI by SF and the eur50k of print toner?

Can you explain that in a few sentences without any whataboutery?

Mute D is Illusioned
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:40 AM

Joe Costello on Morning Ireland singing the Government chorus, Mary Lou trying to distract attention from Sinn Fein. Joe your Government is the only ones trying to distract attention. It will not work Joe leave with some dignity now.

Mute Jonny Lennon
    Favourite Jonny Lennon
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:52 AM

In addition to SF.. Independents, People before profit, Socialist party will be the big winners come election time, I truly believe most Irish people have woke up and realised the vicious cycle of FF, FG, Lab isn’t and won’t work as they are all the same.

Of course you’ll always have certain types who’ll vote for them but I think their days are numbered.

Mute Thomas Mac
    Favourite Thomas Mac
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:55 AM

The ballot box will be the ‘charge’ against the government that will dearly cost them.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:54 AM

My daddy voted Fianna Fáil so I have to .are we ever going to cop on f fail and f Gael have lied to us since the foundation of the state.

Mute stephen lane
    Favourite stephen lane
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:56 AM

Regressive taxes make it harder to buy a loaf of bread. Progressive taxes make it harder to change the Mercedes for a new model. This Govt has introduced nothing but Regressive taxes. Thus the unpopularity.

Mute Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Dec 5th 2014, 12:41 AM

Taxes in this country are too progressive, you can’t expect the better off to pay for everything, it removes any incentive to work hard. The top 10% of households pay 50% of the tax in this country. To be in the top 10%, the household needs to be earning €100k, that could be a couple on €50k each. That’s a very progressive tax rate. What regressive taxes has the government brought in?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 5th 2014, 1:52 AM

so by normal banking mortgage rules only the top 10% can purchase a property in Dublin …
    2.5 times the salary …
    I’d say the top bankers made an absolute fortune in bonuses when the billions were being ran through ould Eire – would they have joined the new Landlord class I wonder

Mute Ellie Ward
    Favourite Ellie Ward

I’m playing the smallest violin.

Mute Noel Cosgrave
    Favourite Noel Cosgrave
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:18 AM

No you’re not. The violin I’m playing can only be seen with an electron microscope ;)

Mute Honest Tom
    Favourite Honest Tom
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:43 AM

The options aren’t great.

FF. Have proven themselves to be corrupt over the years.
    FG. Promised us a complete change in how things are done, they’re no better.
    Labour. I’d never vote for labour due to their links with trade unions.
    Greens. Who?
    SF. Not a hope in hell would I vote for them.
    SP. Let’s create a Union of Irish Socialist Counties. Someone needs to show them communism didn’t work.
    Independents associated with AAA. NO. They love that word. No to everything.

I’d like to see a new party started by someone like Shane Ross, with members of similar quality and standards. I’d give them my vote.

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:28 AM

Good analysis, Tom.

I certainly won’t vote SF after Mary Lou’s disgraceful stunt in the Dail yesterday.

FG/FF/Labour – no thanks. Never.

Looney Left/Trotskyites – definitely not.

Seems like there is no one to vote for.

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:46 AM

We’d better just hope that we get 50 TDs like Shane Ross rather than 50 like Michael Lowry.

To be honest, most of the Independents in the Dail aren’t worth voting for.

I’d like to see more analysis of the Others figure.. Is it all votes for Independents or does it disguise a rise in support for the Socialists, SWP/PBP or even the Greens.

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes

Where is all this Shane Ross love coming from? He’s just like the rest of them.

Mute Andy Purf
    Favourite Andy Purf
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:42 AM

Ive news for you Tom.

Shane is working with leftwing TDs in his new alliance such as Cuba Admirer Finian McGrath and ex WP pro SME and living wage stalwart John Halligan.

Shane spurned what he called the Fundamentalist ideals of Lucinda Creighton, despite her sincerity in her fundamentalism.

As the man himself says, he goes abroad quite a lot and he has some good ideas on political, justice and democratic reform, supports reversing the worst of the cuts on disabled and others, and some form of Direct democracy and power decentralisation like in Switzerland where he studies, as well as ending cronyism and inbred Gombeenism.

Hardly the PD people paint him as and sounds to me from his speeches and attacks on the main parties he and others would be all too happy to go in with SF or prop up SF in exchange for real reform.

Mute Doc Benway
    Favourite Doc Benway
    Dec 4th 2014, 2:59 PM

As Einstein said Tom, insanity is doing the same thing again and again and expecting different results. Change is what is required. Here are some Eu countries that have seen fit to elect left wing governments recently. Spain,Italy,Portugal,Greece,Slovakia. Do you see a connection between these countries and Ireland. Are the peoples of these countries “loonies” or gullible fools buying easy cures from the snakeoil salesman. I think not.

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:27 AM

Unless your name is Creighton, Ross or Martin this was a bad poll.

Mute Darren Norris
    Favourite Darren Norris
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:51 AM

FG would have a better chance if they kicked enda out now

Mute Ciaran Burke
    Favourite Ciaran Burke
    Dec 4th 2014, 9:34 AM

No they wouldn’t because that lying smug snake Varadkar would just slither in and he is just as revolting as Kenny. Sooner a general election comes the better FG are gone regardless of what they do. Only difference is do they leave with honor or do they drag out to 2016 and become the second most hated party in this state. Behind FF and with Labour nipping at their heels.

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:47 AM

Top up the pension Enda.

Mute John Smith
    Favourite John Smith
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:12 AM

Labour would be this biggest party in Ireland today if their leadership had picked the people who voted for them over their own personal gain, Gilmore, Rabbit, Burton and their ilk saw the last election as their last chance to grab a ministerial pension. Shortsighted greed will see them go the same way as the PDs and the Greens.

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:24 AM

See the problem with FG/Labour is the result of the last GE. Both party’s arrogance grew out of this result but what they both forgot was it wasn’t an endorsement of FG or Labour it was a anti Fianna Fail vote.

FG/Labour had the best chance of making a huge difference but they blew it by continuing where Fianna Fail left off.

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:00 AM

Fine Gael get what they deserve. They had their chance to get rid of Enda Kenny and they chickened out. He got elected simply because there was no one else. If they want any chance of survival they must dump him now.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:11 AM

Can’t – they fought the election on a very clear mandate – “Enda fo Taoiseach !”….. the second he goes – off to the high court – hey presto election !

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:38 AM

They are a bunch of €&@”?€&/)…….. Let us not forget we have a Collision Government. That makes them all Guilty

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:14 AM

Two things to take away from this poll:

1. Support for FG/LAB is almost equal to support for SF alone

2. Gerry dropped 11 points, but still is the #1 most liked leader in the country, while Enda is on the bottom and Joan is next to him.

The government can try and spin it however they want, but it is pretty clear they have no mandate and their numbers will only continue to drop. If they don’t pull the plug now, wait until the first water bills hit peoples doorsteps the same week this government pays out hundreds of millions to junior bondholders, something they also promised during the run up to the last GE that they would by no means ever do.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:36 AM

Don’t forget that fg are planning to privatise the health system and hit us all with a bill for compulsory private health insurance which will run into thousands per family per year. Way in excess of current rates

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:57 AM

That is what happens to PIXIEHEADS.

Mute James O'Sullivan
    Favourite James O'Sullivan
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:49 AM

In fairness to Enda, he did go to the Pantibar.
    Rumour has it that he dropped a 2 euro coin while he was there and had to kick it halfway up the street before he could bend down to pick it up.
    Personally, I don’t believe that happened at all.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:55 AM

That’s nonsense James O’ Sullivan. Why would Enda need a 2 euro coin when he has us to pay for everything?

Mute James O'Sullivan
    Favourite James O'Sullivan
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:00 AM

Martin,
    I stand corrected.
    Mea culpa

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:29 AM

” I only use notes!” …Ivan Yates – and he expecting us to think that he had to rummage down the back of a couch for the dinner – Anglo-Saxon to his self-admitted core !

Mute Paddy Woods
    Favourite Paddy Woods
    Dec 4th 2014, 12:04 PM

Enda has the lowest popularity rating because ENDA IS A DlCK

Mute Grim Reaper
    Favourite Grim Reaper
    Dec 4th 2014, 12:06 PM

Blueshirt liars and Labour spare tyres…
    The people have had enough of you waffle. .
    Justice will be done..
    Roll on December 10th…

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:10 PM

Anglo junior bondholders to be paid on April 1st . Frankfurters way then ! And where’s gilmores game changer deal on bondholders

Mute John Blessing
    Favourite John Blessing
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:01 PM

One thing is clear the FG parasites days are numbered.

Mute Ben Dover
    Favourite Ben Dover
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:35 AM

It now seems that they are asking the people that are reading the comments on the journal. We will now see them being much more humble to other posters :)

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:32 PM

Fine Gael were warned, back in 2010, about the inadvisability of retaining a buffoon-like empty vessel such as Enda Kenny as their leader. A plurality of the Fine Gael parliamentary party did no listen, and now the desert of barren fruit is plain to see.

Mute Ruairi Colton
    Favourite Ruairi Colton

People will only vote independent if there is a good independent to vote for. I certainly wouldnt vote for an ex ff or ex fg independent. Sf probably wont get transfers so we are looking at a fg/ff coalition it seems.

Mute inproperganda
    Favourite inproperganda
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:56 AM

you would think FG/IRA and FF/IRA would join together and form a new party, they are two cheeks of the same arse anyway

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:30 AM

Your kidding

Mute Stephen Gregg
    Favourite Stephen Gregg
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:36 AM

No, you’re kidding.

Mute Randy
    Favourite Randy
    Dec 4th 2014, 8:41 AM

Y’all kiddin’…Shiiiiiit

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Dec 4th 2014, 12:41 PM

Vote clay Davis.

Mute Leslie Skinner
    Favourite Leslie Skinner
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:10 PM

You bet i was

Mute Fifty Shades of Sé
    Favourite Fifty Shades of Sé
    Dec 4th 2014, 12:32 PM

Inda, MeHole, Mungo Jurry and iPhone Joan…Jaysus, have we nobody better to represent us in our wonderful island of talented, creative, articulate people than those 4 muppets?

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Dec 4th 2014, 4:23 PM

Unpopular .. Out of touch .. Deluded.. Worse government in the history if the irish state .. Liars ..

Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Dec 4th 2014, 10:58 AM

BE careful what you wish for, Paul Murphy on Radio wants a wealth tax of 10,000 on anyone who is a millionaire. Idiot would send every company and entrepreneur out of the country.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Dec 4th 2014, 11:25 AM

You do realise that if you have a million sitting in the bank, you pay about that in CGT anyway? Very wealthy people are used to paying some tax on what they gain, and would not be put off by a wealth tax as much as you think (as long as they don’t pay it twice)

Of course, everyone would always like to keep as much as they can.

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Dec 4th 2014, 5:29 PM

Where is every millionaire going to go with their money.

Its a myth to think something disastrous will happen if a few millionaires leave our shores, bye bye.

Mute Unreasonable Dazzer
    Favourite Unreasonable Dazzer
    Dec 4th 2014, 6:13 PM

”Sinn Féin is again the most popular party in the country according to this poll, as 17% of people said they would vote for them, though the party has fallen slightly since the October poll. The Maíria Cahill controversy does not appear to have damaged party popularity much but leader Gerry Adam’s own rating dropped 11 points. Despite that, he is still the most popular party leader.” Sinn Fein and Ming the merciless and Barrett and Ruth Coppinger and Joe Higgans could rule and do well. FG and FF and Labour can F right off….Broken promises!!

Mute Mary Connolly
    Favourite Mary Connolly
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:22 PM

Doesn’t matter who’s most popular party. Fact is politics is changing . The ‘old’ parties haven’t changed with the times and think they’ll be elected because of their fathers/uncles etc. Dynasty politics is well gone. We’re tired of the same old stuff, same faces that have been around for decades.

Mute Telbar Comuta
    Favourite Telbar Comuta
    Dec 4th 2014, 1:55 PM

Shows you what idiots there are in this country that Fianna Fail are likely to be the biggest party in the next Dail. I guess people are so thick they don’t realize that Fianna Fail are actually the ones who signed an agreement with the Troika to introduce water charges.

Mute David Nolan
    Favourite David Nolan
    Dec 4th 2014, 5:23 PM

The stupidity of the faceless nameless trolls.

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Dec 4th 2014, 5:23 PM

The people have seen the LIGH,WOW

Mute _doesnotcompute
    Favourite _doesnotcompute
    Dec 4th 2014, 2:11 PM

I applaud Fine Gael for taking the unpopular yet necessary decisions. They are probably expecting not to be popular after doing what needs to be done.

Mute Duncan Paul
    Favourite Duncan Paul
    Dec 4th 2014, 6:40 PM

Can’t think of one thing that may have contributed to this.

Mute Mary Connolly
    Favourite Mary Connolly
    Dec 4th 2014, 7:24 PM

You’re obviously not suffering.