You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Wooden coffin at a graveyard via shutterstock

'Burials without coffins' could save families money

The Department of the Environment announced rule changes today to facilitate the increase in Muslim burials.

NEW REGULATIONS ALLOWING burials without coffins could signal an end of expensive funerals for grief-stricken families.

Environment Minister Phil Hogan yesterday announced the changes which will allow ‘un-coffined’ funerals from the beginning of next month.

The new rules have been introduced to help facilitate the growing number of Muslim funerals, where the body is generally buried without a coffin.

However, the regulations do not apply just to Muslims and from 1 June anyone can be buried without a coffin.

Islamic Cultural Centre of Ireland spokesman, Dr Ali Selim, believes non-Muslim families will also take advantage of the new rules to save money on funeral arrangements.

“I think secular people will definitely avail of it,” Dr Selim said. “The funeral directors will not be happy with this. The family of the deceased have already been saddened by the death – all these expenses are not needed at all.”

He added: “What benefit does a dead person get from an expensive marble head stone put on his grave? It doesn’t help them at all.

“If someone left children behind their money should go to their children. It would be far better than making all these unneeded expenses in a way that does not benefit the deceased person.”

What the funeral directors are saying

Fanagans funeral director Gus Nichols said his business offers coffins ranging in price from €500 to €3,500 but pointed out his company offers mourners a wide variety of additional services.

“Funerals are changing everyday – whether its eco-funerals or a four-day funeral,” he told TheJournal.ie.

“We have always adapted to what people want and the coffin is a tiny part of the service we provide.”

The Burial Ground Regulations date from 1888 and strictly state no burials could occur “unless the body be enclosed in a coffin of wood or some other sufficiently strong material”.

Under the new amendment, local authorities will allocate areas for burials without coffins but cemeteries are free to opt out of offering the service.

The Department of the Environment will also be able to overrule any burials which they feel could be a health risk to the public or potentially cause environmental problems such as contaminating local water sources.

The new rules follow consultation between the Environmental Protection Agency, HSE and the City and County Manager’s Association.

Dublin City Council back in court over Priory Hall debacle

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 93 comments
93 Comments
    Mute Michael Kennedy
    Favourite Michael Kennedy
    May 7th 2013, 3:25 PM

Its about time this happened. When it is my time to go would prefer a coffinless burial. There is no need to burden my family with the expensive of a unnecessary coffin. I recently saw a service where they bury you and plant a tree over you. I like the idea of visiting a tree which has grown in place of past loved ones.

Mute Helen Hughes
    Favourite Helen Hughes
    May 8th 2013, 2:09 AM

The tree idea is done brilliantly in the film ‘the fountain’.

Mute Liz O'Connor Pender
    Favourite Liz O'Connor Pender
    May 7th 2013, 3:37 PM

That would suit me down to the ground!

Mute Freebies Ireland
    Favourite Freebies Ireland
    May 7th 2013, 4:51 PM

These regulations were most likely introduced to pacify Muslims , whatever about their merits , I believe this is the start of a slippery slope to please muslims , next it will be allowing them to set up Shariah Councils like they are allowed do over in the UK , Shariah Councils were women are often discriminated against by male dominated judges and are too afraid to seek help from state law for fear of being branded westerner , yes I’m afraid its only going to go down hill from here , it starts with small things like the above but the question we need to ask ourselves is where does it end ???????????????????????????

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 7th 2013, 5:13 PM

Freebies is here with his daily dose of hysteria…

Mute Prince Hector
    Favourite Prince Hector
    May 7th 2013, 5:29 PM

Every red thumb is from a fool, or a liar.

Mute Prince Hector
    Favourite Prince Hector
    May 7th 2013, 5:30 PM

@ Freebies Ireland, that is…

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    May 7th 2013, 6:30 PM

Thing is that Freebies is right about the creep of Islam and don’t forget that.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    May 7th 2013, 6:35 PM

Next they will be calling for burkkas for all the female’s in the country,the good dr Ali will tell us that irish women will save a fortune on mini skirts,jeans and make up as the auld head to toe burrka covers the lot.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 7th 2013, 6:38 PM

Actually, no he isn’t. The “Eurabia” myth of the far right has long been debunked as alarmist nonsense by dozens of political scientists, sociologists and historians.

Anyone who has still has nightmares about such a ridiculous fairytale should read something by Justin Vaïsse or Eric Kaufmann.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    May 7th 2013, 8:24 PM

Now I don’t have a lot of time for Muslims with regard to their treatment of women (their beliefs are their own business)….but I think your a tad paranoid on this one.

Mute Tanya Breen Murphy
    Favourite Tanya Breen Murphy
    May 7th 2013, 10:50 PM

I agree, if I moved to a muslim country would they be as accommodating to my religious beliefs??? I think not!

Mute Eoin Sher
    Favourite Eoin Sher
    May 7th 2013, 11:10 PM

Tanya,
    There is an easy way to test that.
    Step 1. Go to see muslim country.
    Step 2. Die.
    Step 3. See if you are allowed to be buried in a nice big shiney expensive, inheritance squandering coffin.

Mute Andrew Lynch
    Favourite Andrew Lynch
    May 8th 2013, 12:06 AM

How can 9 people give that comment the thumbs down?

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    May 8th 2013, 12:50 AM

Freebies, don’t worry I’ll start a collection for a coffin for you. Would you like a early grave? :)

Mute Fiona Kerrane
    Favourite Fiona Kerrane
    May 8th 2013, 10:44 AM

I always scroll on the right hand side so I’m probably always hitting the thumbs without realising it.

Mute Eamonn Bolger
    Favourite Eamonn Bolger
    May 8th 2013, 12:34 PM

“To facilitate Muslims”. Sweet Jesus.

Mute Chris Neville
    Favourite Chris Neville
    May 7th 2013, 3:52 PM

I want to be shot out of a cannon from George’s head in Kilkee, dressed as a clown, arms flaying as I hit the water.

Mute Derek Coughlan
    Favourite Derek Coughlan
    May 7th 2013, 4:22 PM

Chris, that sounds like the lotto ad ‘What I’d do for a million euro!’ Haha

Mute Mark O'Malley
    Favourite Mark O'Malley
    May 7th 2013, 6:04 PM

Hunter S Thompson style

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    May 7th 2013, 3:38 PM

You can build a coffin out of chip-board for €5.
    In 10 minutes.

Mute Triona
    Favourite Triona
    May 7th 2013, 3:48 PM

Very hard to do when you are dead.

Mute Will Hourihan
    Favourite Will Hourihan
    May 7th 2013, 3:51 PM

Lol, Trona!

Mute Green Burqa
    Favourite Green Burqa
    May 7th 2013, 4:30 PM

youve never bought chipboard!

Mute Adam
    Favourite Adam
    May 7th 2013, 5:38 PM

Lol

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    May 8th 2013, 8:03 AM

You build it BEFORE you die Triona.
    Mine is in the shed.

Mute Gary Guilfoyle
    Favourite Gary Guilfoyle
    May 7th 2013, 3:24 PM

I want to be cremated and my ashes used to plant a tree.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke

Me too. It would seem like the best way of giving back to the earth. There are kits available online for precisely this purpose witha wide range of trees and plants available.

Mute Marshmallow O Brien
    Favourite Marshmallow O Brien
    May 7th 2013, 3:46 PM

what preference of tree would you like Gary?

Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    May 7th 2013, 3:56 PM

I’d go for a hard wood. Make up for all those years in my 70s/80s with without any.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    May 7th 2013, 4:01 PM

Stuffed and put on the couch! Re-purpose my hands as beverage holders :)

Mute Enda Quinn
    Favourite Enda Quinn
    May 7th 2013, 3:24 PM

Can’t wait to save a few quid that way!

Mute CD
    Favourite CD
    May 7th 2013, 3:43 PM

Become a coffin maker they said. People will always be dying they said. Be grand they said…

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    May 7th 2013, 5:24 PM

Phil Hogan has killed the coffin industry, on top of everything else?

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    May 7th 2013, 9:05 PM

I’m starting my new business Coffin Dodgers Ltd. today.

Rental reuseable coffins.

The body is wrapped & placed on a board. A coffin top is placed on this & clicks hold of the board.

When the coffin is lowered, the top releases & when everyone has left the graveside, the coffin top is lifted off leaving the wrapped body on the board to be buried.

€199.99 per funeral rental (+ VAT)

Mute Susan O Connell
    Favourite Susan O Connell
    May 7th 2013, 10:05 PM

Comment of the week:)

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    May 7th 2013, 4:32 PM

Coffin or not I’d like to be buried in Beyonce

Mute Marshmallow O Brien
    Favourite Marshmallow O Brien
    May 7th 2013, 4:35 PM

How deep….?

Mute Lucy
    Favourite Lucy
    May 7th 2013, 4:45 PM

To the left, to the left?

Mute Paul Mc Namara
    Favourite Paul Mc Namara
    May 7th 2013, 5:31 PM

Burried to my balls in bi bi baskin …. ( a classic from gay Byrnes radio show about 20 years ago) ….

Mute James Power
    Favourite James Power
    May 8th 2013, 2:44 AM

The Jerry Ryan show

Mute Claire Cullen-Delsol
    Favourite Claire Cullen-Delsol
    May 7th 2013, 3:27 PM

You can’t just fire ‘em in a hole in their good clothes!

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    May 7th 2013, 6:24 PM

Put on their old clothes

Mute Chris Mullin
    Favourite Chris Mullin

Burying Thatcher without a coffin wuda saved the tax payer millions

Mute Frank Brady
    Favourite Frank Brady
    May 7th 2013, 4:17 PM

She was cremated

Mute Dan Yan
    Favourite Dan Yan
    May 7th 2013, 3:29 PM

I’m just going to straight donate my body to be stuffed and mounted on a banker’s wall.

I imagine they’d dress me in a sort of paupers clothing and perhaps tuck a little mortgage denied slip in my breast pocket.

Mute Lucy
    Favourite Lucy
    May 7th 2013, 4:48 PM

I don’t think its fair to say that having a marble headstone is a waste of money. Yeah it costs a lot but if people want to do that then go ahead. If people want to just leave a wooden cross then go ahead. Its up to a family what they want to do.

Mute Alan Dunne
    Favourite Alan Dunne
    May 7th 2013, 3:43 PM

Yea I’d be up for that wrap me up in a bag and fire me in over a ditch for all I care..

Mute Lisa Coyne
    Favourite Lisa Coyne
    May 7th 2013, 3:25 PM

The coffin dodgers will be happy!!

Mute Frank Brady
    Favourite Frank Brady
    May 7th 2013, 3:27 PM

This could catch on.I wouldnt mind trying it…just once :) It would be awkard to shoulder me though :)

Mute Frank Brady
    Favourite Frank Brady
    May 7th 2013, 3:35 PM

This is a nail in the coffin for the coffin makers :)

Mute Andrew Telford
    Favourite Andrew Telford
    May 7th 2013, 3:58 PM

It’s a racket… You can bet cemeteries will opt out to protect the interests of their colleagues in the industry making overpriced wooden boxes…

Mute Uncle Mort
    Favourite Uncle Mort
    May 7th 2013, 5:50 PM

I want to be buried near Mecca, with a nice Celtic Cross flanked by a Star of David and on each side as me headstone, after a nice wake with plenty of the crature and hang sandwiches

Mute Austin Mooney
    Favourite Austin Mooney
    May 7th 2013, 4:24 PM

Phil hogan will then charge a coffin less tax you we can’t win

Mute murphy 11
    Favourite murphy 11
    May 7th 2013, 4:48 PM

Another cracker of a money saving idea from this government, probably will be another condition of insolvency.

Mute Mary Lynch
    Favourite Mary Lynch
    May 7th 2013, 5:30 PM

Good point!

Mute Joe Sixtwo
    Favourite Joe Sixtwo
    May 7th 2013, 6:35 PM

This is an old subject, in the seventies some people wanted to be buried without a coffin and it was refused. Now some want to be buried without a coffin based upon religious reasons and they will be allowed….once again preferential treatment for religions and sky fairy followers.

Mute Lillian O'Connor
    Favourite Lillian O'Connor
    May 7th 2013, 6:30 PM

If the Irish people looked for burial rights without coffins a decade or so ago bet your “Death” Hogan would have insisted it couldn’t be allowed, yet here he’s looking out for the Muslims in preference to the Irish people .

Mute Casey
    Favourite Casey
    May 7th 2013, 8:41 PM

There is such thing as Irish Muslims. Anyway, there is no preference – the law will apply to everyone.

Mute Credible Alibi
    Favourite Credible Alibi
    May 7th 2013, 4:06 PM

This will make it a far more down to earth ceremony …..

Mute Dar Ryl
    Favourite Dar Ryl
    May 7th 2013, 5:33 PM

Being told how you are allowed to die is a bit archaic, and has been coming up in the media really.
    Its an English law anyway if it dates from 1888. Surely we can alter it a bit and make it our own. Micheal Collins would be turning in his wood enclosed grave

Mute Simon Eales
    Favourite Simon Eales
    May 7th 2013, 4:20 PM

Presumably the Americans buried Bin Laden at sea to save money?

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    May 7th 2013, 7:49 PM

What ever happened to when in Rome do as the Romans do . Any guests to my house normally follow my rules if thy don’t like it thy can f@@@k off

Mute Stephen Hartery
    Favourite Stephen Hartery
    May 7th 2013, 7:00 PM

I’d rather be buried in a brown paper bag. I’d rather the money put to a good knees up in my memory. Free bar.

Mute Simon Jester
    Favourite Simon Jester
    May 7th 2013, 6:40 PM

Cremate and fire me ashes off into space on the next handy satelite launch so I finally get away from this World.

Mute Richard McCarthy
    Favourite Richard McCarthy
    May 7th 2013, 5:12 PM

There is a company in the UK that will ensure you will be remembered forever by incorporating your ashes in glass manufactured to your wishes,so every time someone take a swig you know they wont forget you in a hurry.

Mute Pete Gibson
    Favourite Pete Gibson
    May 7th 2013, 5:04 PM

Swim between Cuba and America.
    The sharks are hungry.
    No coffin necessary.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    May 7th 2013, 5:22 PM

I want to donate, what’s left of me, live on in those people and be buried in a recycled cardboard box or cloth!

May 7th 2013, 6:48 PM

Happened in famine times as well, the dead being buried without coffins, be afraid very afraid on what’s coming down the tracks….

Mute Mick Woods
    Favourite Mick Woods
    May 7th 2013, 5:54 PM

Jaysus… What a depressing story Journal!

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    May 7th 2013, 7:00 PM

Does the rule only apply to “grief-stricken families” as the first paragraph suggests.

Stick to facts Journal, no need for the RTE style emotive dramatics.

Mute Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    Favourite Debi-Nikita Rathbone-Rentzke
    May 7th 2013, 10:54 PM

Buried naked in the ground or cremated. Makes much more sense to me then being buried in a box.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    May 7th 2013, 7:55 PM

Although I was against it at the time, I’d like to go the same way as my older bro Tiberius, and be fecked into the Tiber River

Mute Robert Bussell
    Favourite Robert Bussell
    May 7th 2013, 10:14 PM

Cremation for me “every time”

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    May 7th 2013, 8:57 PM

We won’t be able to afford a coffin by the time hogan is finished ,but he will ,but he will still rot

Mute Mary Mcmahon
    Favourite Mary Mcmahon
    May 8th 2013, 1:36 AM

The government are thinking ahead, by the time they’re finished fleecing us , we wont be able to afford any kind of funeral.

Mute Polkadot Pat
    Favourite Polkadot Pat
    May 10th 2013, 6:50 PM

Freeebies ireland, it’s ecofriendly after all, it’ll do away with some of the financial burden of burials if you so wish, worms/spiders/beatles will get fresh bacon for dinner and, most importantly, people should be allowed their dying wish, shouldn’t they?..and by reading the rest of your post regarding sharia law and blah blah scaremongering, you’re definitely a culchie I(no offence culchies, I have relatives who are too), not travelled much and read newspapers regularly running stories on UKIP *yawn* ..and just counting the question marks at the end there, you’re very frightened of Islam aren’t you?it’s actually more similar to Chrisitanity, if that’s your thing, than I’m sure you’d care to realise. Oh well.

Mute Ally Sommer
    Favourite Ally Sommer
    May 8th 2013, 6:27 AM

I think its a great idea and the idea of planting a tree has got me thinking, though I would say (for me) it would very much depend on the age of my children when I “move on”. I think kids would need somewhere to go to visit their parents, ie the traditional grave, to work through the trauma of loosing them if they were very young….

Mute James Hyland
    Favourite James Hyland
    May 8th 2013, 12:34 AM

couldnt give a dam cause i,ll be dead save the money for the living not the dead.

Mute Catherine Crotty Brett
    Favourite Catherine Crotty Brett
    May 8th 2013, 9:58 AM

I think we should be planted wherever we want. We could be wrapped in compost that comes on a roll put in a hole shove a timber cross on top. Plant a tree on top. Then Im Buried for very little money.

Mute Dilean MacSearraigh
    Favourite Dilean MacSearraigh
    Sep 8th 2014, 4:46 PM

This is exactly how people in \Ireland were buried in Ireland for about 2 thousand years, it is entirely traditional. Coffins have only been used for about a century. Burial in a shroud is not just Islamic it was also Christian practice.

Mute Pat Bruen
    Favourite Pat Bruen
    May 7th 2013, 7:17 PM

Has any one ever seen a hearse with a Towbar ? I have ! and was told that the undertaker would leave nothing behind ! I presume he (the undertaker) would bring all your euros too , but where would it be deposited ?