You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sasko Lazarov/RollingNews.ie

Nama has identified nearly 7,000 homes for social housing - but only 2,748 have been taken

That is according to the agency’s annual report, published yesterday.

THE NATIONAL ASSETS Management Agency (Nama) handed over 2,378 social housing units last year.

That is according to the agency’s annual report, published yesterday. The report shows that 1,909 of those units have been completed, with another 469 contracted.

Dublin City Council has one unit awaiting completion, with another 384 already completed. Cork County has the second most, 307 in total with 110 awaiting completion.

Nama says that another 370 houses and apartments are in the “delivery pipeline”.

“NAMA provides whatever funding is required to make social housing units habitable and to ensure that they comply with current planning standards. NAMA has invested or committed over €107m to remediate and complete properties.”

Since the start of 2012, NAMA has identified some 6,941 houses and apartments, controlled by its debtors and receivers, as potentially available for social housing. However, just 2,748 of those have been confirmed as suitable by local authorities and the Housing Agency.

Many councils turn down units for a number of reasons – some because the homes aren’t fully built or habitable and others because of the high density of social housing.

The Irish Times this week reported that 2,000 homes were rejected in 2016. 1,064 of those because there was “no demand” for homes in the areas offered.

In private housing, Nama has provided 4,700 homes since 2014, with work ongoing on 2,148 units. Another 7,300 units have received planning permission.

In Dublin’s Docklands, construction has started on Nama-controlled sites that will deliver 1.4 million square feet commercial space and 231 homes. The agency also says it hopes to clear its senior debt by the end of this year.

Apollo House

The report comes at a time when the agency’s role in housing is being widely discussed. Yesterday, the Home Sweet Home group demanded Housing Minister Simon Coveney and Finance Minister Michael Noonan to use powers under the Nama Act (2009) to make properties available to house the homeless.

Under Section 14 of the Nama Act, the Finance Minister may direct Nama to make available certain properties under its control in order to achieve its purposes.

Under Section 2 of the Nama Act, one of the nine purposes laid out is for Nama “to contribute to the social and economic development of the State”.

Read: Apollo House occupiers demand Government puts Nama buildings ‘on the table’ to address homelessness

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:15 PM

Here come the US marines.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:32 PM

There are many ways the oil companies use to seize nations resources. Thats what the IMF are there for.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:44 PM

The Irish state, i.e us, won’t make a cent from this

Mute David Higgins
    Favourite David Higgins
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:33 PM

Better than the Irish State making a loss for us. Because let’s be honest, that’s what’d happen if you had civil servants and politicians drilling for oil.

Mute Richard Fitzwell
    Favourite Richard Fitzwell
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:40 PM

20 years on I can see a tribunal being set up questioning as to why our government gave away our natural resources! Just like the mobile phone licences! The rich get richer and we get pissed on!..

Mute Richard Fitzwell
    Favourite Richard Fitzwell
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:42 PM

20 years on I can see a tribunal being set up questioning as to why our government gave away our natural resources! Just like the mobile phone licences! The rich get richer and we get pissxd on!..

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:56 PM

So David, you are admitting that your beloved FG would screw it up, yeah?

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Aug 8th 2012, 7:37 PM

Wow Barry now there’s a comment without substance! My apologies if I’m trolling. Your just full of it!

Mute Barry O'Brien
    Favourite Barry O'Brien
    Aug 8th 2012, 7:40 PM

Sorry Declan, didn’t realise I’m not allowed to have a sense of humour anymore.

Mute Declan Foley
    Favourite Declan Foley
    Aug 8th 2012, 7:54 PM

@David… Norway’s politicians and civil servants are doing a pretty good job of making sure their populace receive what they’re due from their natural resources… Free and equal education being perhaps the most impressive.

Mute Ireland Reborn
    Favourite Ireland Reborn
    Aug 8th 2012, 8:05 PM

Pipe Down is an hour long documentary that tells the story of a rural community in Co. Mayo in Ireland, who have been battling the oil giant Shell over their plans to put a dangerous raw gas pipeline through the community and complete construction of a gas processing terminal that is a threat to their delicate environment.

The documentary features interviews with Colin Joyce of Shell Ireland; Willie Corduff, a local farmer & one of the Rossport Five; Pat O’Donnell, a local fisherman; Gerry Coyle, a County Councillor for the area (Fine Gael); Eoin O’Leidhin & Diane Amber, activists with the Shell-to-Sea group; Terence Conway, a spokesperson for the Shell-to-Sea group; and Niall Harnett, who co-ordinates the solidarity camp in the area.

http://www.documentarywire.com/pipe-down

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Aug 8th 2012, 9:35 PM

Very good Barry! Got great giggle outa that.

Mute Hakuin Murphy
    Favourite Hakuin Murphy
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:16 PM

Woohoo! We’re rich! Oh wait…..

Mute Feargal Mac Dubhaill
    Favourite Feargal Mac Dubhaill
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:46 PM

No doubt some Nordic oil company will drill it, refine it, then sell it back to us at a tidy profit for their own economy…

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    Favourite Adrian de Cleir
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:48 PM

Better than it sitting there doing nothing

Mute Biggins31
    Favourite Biggins31
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:50 PM

Pass leasing drilling rights on to them for a price and a percentage of the profits?
    Best of a win/lose situation?

Aug 8th 2012, 4:05 PM

Adrian, does it really make sense to you that we give away our most valuable resources at a time when we are forced to sell off state assets and worse still so many of our citizens are barely making ends meet.
    If it’s an asset why doesn’t the government explore it with the assistance of international expertise? We’re basically giving it away, the government only claims tax on profit minus cost of exploration, a figure in the billions which these global oil companies just pull out of their behinds!

Aug 8th 2012, 4:08 PM

This kind of moronic behaviour by our government makes me so angry!! What is wrong with this country?!!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Aug 8th 2012, 5:39 PM

Two words are what is wrong with this country Fergal…..vested interests.

Mute Ireland Reborn
    Favourite Ireland Reborn
    Aug 8th 2012, 8:06 PM
    Mute Nappy
    Favourite Nappy
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:41 PM

wait for it more excuses from new goverment telling us Why we wont be making any money from it and that its to hard for common man to understand except for teachers now working in dail

Mute Stephen Redmond
    Favourite Stephen Redmond
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:08 PM

ah its only oil. lets just give it away instead of learning how to drill it for ourselves. too much hassle that whole learning from your mistakes thing

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:18 PM

Shell thank us very much

Mute Jennifer O Keeffe
    Favourite Jennifer O Keeffe
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:24 PM

Can I come home now !!

Mute Nappy
    Favourite Nappy
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:42 PM

no Stay were u are

Mute PeeedOff
    Favourite PeeedOff
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:16 PM

The Govt leave the oil barons take the huge multi Billion profits from Irish Oil in Irish Waters and gain nothing for the country, and the taxpayer foots the bill for the bailouts….Hmmm….!!!

Government of the people, by the people, for the people
    More like
    Government of Clowns, by the people, for big business/bankers/developers

Mute Derek Larney
    Favourite Derek Larney
    Aug 8th 2012, 5:08 PM

Nothing to stop you yourself buying shares in Providence, I’ve been on them since €2.20 and they are now around the €8 mark, I’ll sell when they hit €10 and take a tidy 450% return on investment.

So it’s not true to say the Irish people haven’t made money from our oil and gas, I’m not the only one, there has been a thread on Boards.ie on Providence since they were at 21c a share.

By next year my initial €5k will have turned into €23k, I then owe Revenue 30% capital gains on the €18k profit so they’ll be getting a (reluctant ! )cheque for around €5,500, I’ll pocket the difference and use it for a house deposit in 2013, at the very least money is washing around the economy and Revenue is getting their slice, not to mention the new property tax I’ll have to pay on buying a house.

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Aug 8th 2012, 6:25 PM

Seeing as you are loaded, Can I get a sub off you until Friday? Cheers

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:27 PM

Do any of you moaners know the costs of drilling for oil? Over the last 40 years billions have been spent looking for oil off the coasts of Ireland with very few showing any promise. So am I to take it that you’d all have been happy with the Irish government spend that sort of money with slim prospects of return over the years?

So typical of the kind of comments on Journal. Ignore the failed well over the last 40 years and moan about the 2 that have proven someway sucessful.

Mute Joe Maher
    Favourite Joe Maher
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:37 PM

Don’t be bringing sense and reason to the journal comments don’t you know that’s only people who once saw a video once on youtube or read an article online and are therfore instant experts are allowed

Mute Ross Bowe
    Favourite Ross Bowe
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:41 PM

I agree. More ill-informed, reactionary opinions from morons here than anywhere else.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:53 PM

Billions spent ??? U got that figure from where. I’ll moan all i want when its deserved. U keep that charade up of believing oil companies and your government. I’ll just go on their history.

Mute Diarmuid Murray
    Favourite Diarmuid Murray
    Aug 8th 2012, 5:30 PM

the cost of drilling, a sure there’s not much out there and tis dear to extract it ! and of course we will take your word for it! sure the oil companies are only doing us a favor!!! ,then why take it out of the ground? this stuff is getting more expensive as time goes by.why let it go so cheaply?whats wrong with leaving it for the next generation or two?what will the value be in 50 yrs?and the talk of a pension deficit in the years to come?we seem to be in a rush to unburden ourselves of a valuable resource.

Mute Brend Egan
    Favourite Brend Egan
    Aug 8th 2012, 9:29 PM

Give Hugo Chavez a ring he’l send up a few experts to show us the way problem sorted .Enda might not make the call though due to fear of assassination.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:15 PM

Oil and Gas resources!! Wonder what excuse the US can use to invade Ireland for the Oil and Gas???
    Weapons of mass destruction??
    Crimes against humanity??
    Surely they will think up something !!!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Aug 8th 2012, 5:40 PM

The Guinness we’re sending them is off??

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Aug 8th 2012, 8:01 PM

Your crime against humour??

Mute D B cooper
    Favourite D B cooper
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:42 PM

More talk from providence every few months they seem to find oil are they ever going to drill

Mute Timmy O Toole
    Favourite Timmy O Toole
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:52 PM

Ah, tis yourself. so what happened you after jumping from the plane?

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:34 PM

Large Amplitude verses Offset Response – Seismic waves are made up of Shear Waves (sideways vibration) and Pressure Waves (compression vibration). When a rock contains allot of fluid … Pressure Waves are conducted through the rock more efficiently than Shear Waves. That way seismic profiling can map areas of rock that’s full of water, sorry oil.

Mute Francis Foran
    Favourite Francis Foran
    Aug 8th 2012, 3:55 PM

Another failed seismic for Ireland !!

Mute Francis Foran
    Favourite Francis Foran
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:00 PM

Sorry seismic event .

Mute Tom Newell
    Favourite Tom Newell
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:59 PM

why bother reporting these stories, its not gonna mean a btl of piss to the ordinary person who will still pay huge amounts for oil and gas, all this does is rub it in our faces we were too stupid as a nation to try invest in our own gear to try find this oil instead for a quick euro we handed over and now someone has struck oil and were hear moaning……..thats life lads thats how the rich get rich and the rest of us have to suffer from there greed and wealth

Mute Marc Anthony Power
    Favourite Marc Anthony Power
    Aug 8th 2012, 9:32 PM

Can we bring the Norwegians in to manage our resources?

Mute Irish Mule
    Favourite Irish Mule
    Aug 8th 2012, 7:52 PM

Once again the Govt have been silent on this issue. I thought FG were going to be different and keep us informed with regular national broadcasts from An Taoiseach. They need to come out and explain to the people why whey arent bothered negotiating better terms for OUR resources.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Aug 8th 2012, 6:21 PM

We will be members of OPEC soon, christ the craic will be mighty with that bunch

Mute Stefan Hanrahan
    Favourite Stefan Hanrahan
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:46 PM

What is the price of a barrel of oil surely not $8 as is mentioned in the article

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Aug 8th 2012, 11:10 PM

This is very pertinent. Brent Crude closed at $112.14c per barrel. Do those sums. Borrow 3Bn and set up a state oil company and learn how to drill our own oil. Employment, cash for the state coffers and expertise for future projects. Better than giving it all up for relatively naff all. Am I missing something?

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:31 PM

Keep on raping the planet, see what happens!

Mute Joe Maher
    Favourite Joe Maher
    Aug 8th 2012, 4:44 PM

Hm online doesn’t use energy plugging into magic sockets that run on love are you

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Aug 8th 2012, 5:19 PM

Obviously joe they don’t but surely investing in wave or wind or algae based ethanol is better than using something that is nearly finished. We are scraping the sides of the bottle at this stage as regards oil.

Mute martin mc cullagh
    Favourite martin mc cullagh
    Aug 9th 2012, 6:38 AM

It’s almost the end thank f:)k

Mute Martin Sinnott
    Favourite Martin Sinnott
    Aug 8th 2012, 5:39 PM

These articles brings out the begrudges, they don’t risk investing in drilling holes in the sea.

Mute Gagsy 99
    Favourite Gagsy 99
    Aug 8th 2012, 6:05 PM

I don’t think I would be approving my government to spend a fortune on speculative projects such as this.
    Am I missing something here or what is it that the government has done wrong now?

Do the US and UK governments drill for oil in their own territories or do they licence oil companies?

Mute Max Krzyzanowski
    Favourite Max Krzyzanowski
    Aug 8th 2012, 11:55 PM

What a lot of governments do is lure in oil companies with low taxes, then hike them after large finds, or better yet, nationalise the finds, once they have been located and developed.
    That better well be the bloody plan in Leinster house!
    A total of 2.1 billion barrels @ €112 each.
    That’s our national debt sorted!

Mute Sean MacLochlainn
    Favourite Sean MacLochlainn
    Aug 8th 2012, 11:31 PM

So how much of this would the Irish exchequer see?

Mute Martin Dorgan
    Favourite Martin Dorgan
    Aug 9th 2012, 1:05 AM

How come all of a sudden there is a glut of oil of our immediate coast?

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Aug 8th 2012, 7:23 PM

I am bound to strike oil soon, I have dug my garden so many times?

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Aug 8th 2012, 7:24 PM

Bertie would love that job, dressed as a Sheikh in his canary yellow colours!

Mute Cian Doherty
    Favourite Cian Doherty
    Aug 9th 2012, 11:36 AM

Drill baby Drill.

Mute Michael Campbell
    Favourite Michael Campbell
    Aug 9th 2012, 4:56 AM

Ah great more money on the social and more new Irish on the way.