You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Curiosity captures its own shadow in photo from Mars showing the view from beneath the rover. NASA/JPL-Caltech

NASA reports damage to Curiosity wind instrument

The rover is being put through its paces ahead of its first drive on Mars today.

ONE OF THE CURIORISTY rover’s wind sensors has been damaged and is not providing data, according to the latest NASA update on its Mars research mission.

The rover landed on the Red Planet on 6 August and researchers are putting it through its paces before sending it on its first proper run which will involve the unit drilling into the Martian rock to collect samples for analysis.

NASA says that one of the rover’s two sets of REMS wind sensors is not providing data, but that the problem won’t seriously hamper the measurements it records. Curiosity deputy project scientist Ashwin Vasavada says that the damage could have been caused during its recent descent and landing onto Mars:

One possibility is that pebbles lofted during the landing hit the delicate circuit boards on one of the two REMS booms. We will have to be more clever about using the remaining wind sensor to get wind speed and direction.

Meanwhile, the rover has ‘wiggled’ its four corner wheels from side-to-side for the first time since landing in preparation for its first drive on Mars, which is due to happen today.

Curiosity has also begun “shooting neutrons into the ground” to test the soil for water, according to the principal investigator for this instruments on the rover, Igor Mitrofanov of Space Research Institute in Moscow.

“We measure the amount of hydrogen in the soil by observing how the neutrons are scattered, and hydrogen on Mars is an indication of water.”

Hydrogen is most likely to be found in the form of hydrated minerals close to the equator in the shallow ground of Gale Crater.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

32 Comments
    Mute Jason Culligan
    Favourite Jason Culligan
    Aug 22nd 2012, 11:53 AM

The landing was by far one of the most technical ever attempted by a space exploration organisation. It is a miracle the vehicle survived, so one of a pair of wind sensors damaged is more than reasonable I assume.

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    Aug 22nd 2012, 1:10 PM

gotta say it’s money well spent. and if the money wasn’t used for the Mars mission, it would never be redirected towards charity work, probably towards developing some horrific weapons that could eventually be used to wipe out life on this planet. so it would be nice to have some place like Mars to sit out side on a sun chair and watch the fireworks from afar.

Mute Paul Carr
    Favourite Paul Carr
    Aug 22nd 2012, 2:44 PM

NASA was allotted a measly 19 billion dollars in 2011. The US “Defense” budget was 683 billion dollars in 2010. People whinge that the Mars Curiosity rover is a waste of money. I wonder if these same people whinge about the US “Defense” budget just as vehemently. As others have pointed out, look at the huge technological spinoffs of investment in space exploration over the past 50 years. Imagine if human society spent a trillion dollars a year on space exploration. We could develop nuclear pulse propulsion rockets so that we can reach these planets in a day or two and all the other planets of our Solar System within a week. We could send men and woman to the surfaces of Mars, Venus and Mercury and bring them back safely to Earth. Within 20 years, we could assemble in orbit around the Earth, the Moon, Venus and Mars, torus shaped space stations that could house 100 people at any one time. Think of all the unforeseen technological spin-offs of all that investment. Think about how those technological breakthroughs would improve the quality of our lives even more.

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Aug 22nd 2012, 2:55 PM

Won’t someone please think of the children?
    *wrings hands*

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Aug 22nd 2012, 2:56 PM

Agreed, the US military budget is truly eye-popping, but its also worth noting that military innovation has also led to many civilian benefits, eg. gps…

Mute Brendan Roche
    Favourite Brendan Roche
    Aug 22nd 2012, 12:14 PM

Children dying and so called civilisation is wasting money on mars missions, what rot.

Mute Brendan Williamson
    Favourite Brendan Williamson
    Aug 22nd 2012, 12:34 PM

I agree. I also think that we should tear down the Eiffel tower for scrap metal, turn the Statue of Liberty into copper wiring, and use the money made from selling those to convert the Pyramids of Giza into a big orphanage.

Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Aug 22nd 2012, 12:39 PM

I know its such a waste of Children, we should use these dying children as a fuel source for our Missions to Mars ;-)

Mute the lost lenore
    Favourite the lost lenore
    Aug 22nd 2012, 12:45 PM

Herp derp, there wouldn’t be a civilisation at all without innovation. Given what humanity expends most of its effort on, this is money extraordinarily well spent. Are you saying questions about or origins and ultimate destiny should be ignored and we should all live in ignorance until we sort out every problem on earth first? What rubbish, if we did that we’d still be living in caves.

Mute Partysaurus Rex
    Favourite Partysaurus Rex
    Aug 22nd 2012, 12:49 PM

Not to mention the obvious ones like Teflon, the Microwave oven etc, just a small list of stuff space exploration has given us:

1.The hand-held vacuum cleaner

2.Air-cushioned trainers

3.Firefighter breathing apparatus

4.Blankets for marathon runners

5.Safer runways

6.Pill transmitters

7.Faster racing cars

8.The roof of the Millennium Dome

9.Greenliving

10.Personal storm warning system

11.The most impressive soundbite of all time

12.Better sunglasses

13.First detailed map of another planet

14.The potential to preserve priceless art

15.Car crash technology

16.Longer golf shots

17.Plane wing-tips

18.Freeze-dried meals

19.Baby food

20.Warmer feet

21.Increased understanding of the beginning of life

22.’Anti-gravity’ treadmill

23.Hang gliders

24.Straighter teeth

25.Heat-absorbing sportswear

26.Heart surgery

27.Life support for patients

28.Medicinal light- emitting diodes

29.Artificial limbs

30.Intelligent underwear

31.Detection of forest fires

32.Plant research

33.Chromosome analysis

34.Less rubbish

35.Better skiing

36.Better brakes

37.Improved air quality

38.Life-saving heart technology

39.A possible end to water shortages

40.More competitive swimming

41.The self-righting life raft

42.Home blood pressure kits

43.Hydraulic rescue cutters

44.Satellite television

45.Voice-controlled wheelchairs

46.Mine-clearing technology

47.Long-life tires

48.Eye screening

49.The personal alarm system

50.The first photos of Saturn’s rings

Mute Imran Ali
    Favourite Imran Ali
    Aug 22nd 2012, 1:09 PM

You’re wearing a Nike top in your pic, taken by your iPhone.

If you’d bought a vest in Dunnes and held off from upgrading your phone you could have fed a small village in Africa for a month.

In other words, shut up

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Aug 22nd 2012, 1:16 PM

51. Nerds.

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Aug 22nd 2012, 2:23 PM

Brendan Roche, your standpoint is depressingly lazy, wreaks of self loathing, steeped in hypocrisy and shows a staggering lack of understanding of the way human society functions now and in the future.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Aug 22nd 2012, 2:44 PM

52. Begrudgers

Mute Damian O'keeffe
    Favourite Damian O'keeffe
    Aug 22nd 2012, 7:20 PM

That’s a better answer than the one to ” what have the Romans ever done for us?”. lol.

Mute Brendan Roche
    Favourite Brendan Roche
    Aug 22nd 2012, 12:56 PM

So we had to spend billions to invent a non stick frying pan and 1 billion people have no food to fry on it. In forty years time the population will have grown by a further two billion and we/you will have to exist on forty percent less food and fuel and guess who will have the lion’s share.

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Aug 22nd 2012, 1:04 PM
    Mute Brendan Williamson
    Favourite Brendan Williamson
    Aug 22nd 2012, 1:08 PM

in 40 years the next 2 billion can live on Mars :) If you’re looking for a humanitarian output, CERN (whose LHC I presume you also oppose), invented the modern version of the World Wide Web, which is probably the best thing to happen in the 20th century as far as human rights is concerned, as unbridled communication sharing has already proven its use in Egypt in Libya.

Curiosity caused 17% of the cost of the Olympics, I presume you boycotted that?

Mute Martin Murphy
    Favourite Martin Murphy

Grow your own food and get solar panels and a wind farm ;-)

Mute Mark Dennehy
    Favourite Mark Dennehy
    Mute the lost lenore
    Favourite the lost lenore
    Aug 22nd 2012, 1:17 PM

And the only way humanity will be able to support itself and give all people opportunity and a decent quality of life is through technology. Aside from everything we learn from it now, space exploration is vital to our ultimate survival.

It’s obvious rubbish to suggest otherwise. I recommend you check out daily life in medieval Europe – lucky for you and me your opinion is in the distinct minority.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Aug 22nd 2012, 1:30 PM

Yo can thank an English man working at CERN (spends billions in research) for the fact that you can moan on the internet, about billions spent in anything other than feeding the poor. Your comment is not without a large dollop of irony.

Perhaps you’re one of those types who complain when money is donated to Irish children’s charities or the RSPCA instead of charities for starving Africans? There’s no winning with you people.

Mute James O Donoghue
    Favourite James O Donoghue
    Aug 22nd 2012, 4:54 PM

Still mr Roche it does not take from the fact you phone would feed a village in Africa.

Muppet.

Also do what ? Throw money at Africa like live aid did and have it used and controlled by warlords?

Mute Hazel McDonagh
    Favourite Hazel McDonagh
    Aug 23rd 2012, 12:07 AM

53: Water purification technology.
    Look at the stats, Brendan. NASA’s budget is utterly minuscule compared to what is spent by the American government on weapons and ‘defence’. And what good has anyone ever gotten from a bomb or gun? Send your bile that way. Not onto people dreaming of something better. Space and planetary exploration is A GOOD thing. We need to keep dreaming and exploring or we’ll just destroy ourselves. Mars is just a necessary step to getting off this sorry overpopulated, polluted rock.
    Read some Carl Sagan and Neil DeGrasse Tyson. Might brighten your viewpoint.

Mute BandaraBoy
    Favourite BandaraBoy
    Aug 22nd 2012, 5:41 PM

Down with this sort of thing !

Mute Barry Murphy
    Favourite Barry Murphy
    Aug 22nd 2012, 6:45 PM

Space exploration has brought us phenomenal technology. Considering the money spent by the US on arms vs NASA, this should really be the talking point about sorting the poor before space exploration.
    Bottom line is, most of the richest people in the world either own oil fields or make weapons!
    It’s greed & it’ll never change because they buy up all the technology & alternative fuels that the real scientists invent/Discover to fall back on.
    We need to stop moaning & just enjoy the ride because before you know it, they’ll own your feckin eyes or the sky next!

Mute Monica Conway
    Favourite Monica Conway
    Aug 22nd 2012, 4:40 PM

Partysaurus Rex,

You need to get a job….you defo have too much time to over think !!
    Maybe you could clean up our towns and cities ….rubbish collecting!

Mute Monica Conway
    Favourite Monica Conway
    Aug 22nd 2012, 4:42 PM

Conor Conneally, such a pity they didn’t use you as fuel, we wouldn’t have to listen to your stup comments.

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Aug 22nd 2012, 5:07 PM

I’m 100% certain the reply was utilising sarcasm to illustrate the vapidity if the original posters comment. I don’t know the man but I’m willing to go out on a limb and say that Conor does not advocate the use of children as rocket fuel.

Mute SkepticallySpeaking
    Favourite SkepticallySpeaking
    Aug 22nd 2012, 6:48 PM

@Nivag what a silly point to make, of course he’s not advocating children to be used as rocket fuel, not when there are plenty of bankers and politicians still around :)

Mute Damian O'keeffe
    Favourite Damian O'keeffe
    Aug 22nd 2012, 7:40 PM

You shouldn’t use dying children as rocket fuel. Use healthy ones they have a much better energy conversion ratio (especially the fat ones).

Mute Ken Harris
    Favourite Ken Harris
    Aug 23rd 2012, 7:13 AM

Half of the money given to the military industry complex would feed ALL the starving people on earth and give them adequate medical attention. Also if the other half was not spent there would be no need for income TAX worldwide. Why not play more games and explore? Let’s have more fun on earth. Not fight and pay big bankers to fund needless stupid wars that only kill people. At least that’s what I heard.

Ive no political experience… but … I’m not a puppet of the money lenders and care more for people than anything else.
    Anyone want to vote for me to be president of the US?