You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Leah Farrell/Rollingnews.ie

Navan Hospital campaign group to meet tonight as Drogheda consultants push back on HSE plan

The move would downgrade Navan Hospital’s Emergency Department and divert critically ill patients elsewhere.

A CAMPAIGN GROUP protesting the proposal to downgrade Navan Hospital’s Emergency Department is set to meet this evening as consultants in Drogheda resist the HSE’s plan to divert patients to its care.

The move would downgrade the Emergency Department at Our Lady’s Hospital in Navan to a 24-medical assessment unit, which would require a GP referral to attend.

Critically ill patients would be sent instead to other hospitals, including Our Lady of Lourdes in Drogheda.

The Save Navan Hospital Campaign, set up to push back against the move, is holding a public meeting this evening at the Newgrange Hotel in Navan ahead of a protest on 9 July.

Meanwhile, Drogheda consultants say that the plan could risk patient safety in the absence of adequate resources at Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital.

RTÉ reports that a letter, signed by 17 consultants, says that the “transfer of risk from an unsafe ED in “Our Lady’s Hospital in Navan to an under-resourced Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital in Drogheda will lead to poorer clinical outcomes for patients”.

The consultants told Minister for Health Stephen Donnelly that there were 66,000 presentations to the Drogheda hospital’s emergency department last year and that it is at full capacity.

They said that a lack of planning and resourcing is a “recipe for poor patient outcomes and investment in essential critical services must be prioritised now”.

Aontú leader Peadar Tóibín, chair of the campaign, said in a statement that the consultants’ message was “damning stuff”.

“The HSE management are being accused of potentially damaging patient health and of creating extreme A&E overcrowding,” he said.

“They are being accused of no consultation with those who are tasked with keeping us alive.”

He said he has “no confidence in HSE management” and that the Minister for Health should put an end to the plan.

Last week, Donnelly told the Dáil that the government was not satisfied with the plan and that he had instructed the HSE not to proceed.

However, HSE CEO Paul Reid said on Sunday that the health service would continue with the reconfiguration, which is due to begin imminently.

Reid defended the plan, saying that it was necessary for patient safety and that people in the Navan and Meath area would be at risk of poorer health outcomes without the move.

The following day, the HSE announced that Reid had decided to step down as CEO in December this year, citing that he wished to spend more time with family.

When asked, the Taoiseach said that Reid’s resignation had no connection to the dispute over Navan Hospital.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute Mr. Éirxit!
    Favourite Mr. Éirxit!
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:00 PM

I think them getting banned from that hotel has given them much more publicity than if everything had gone to plan

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:02 PM

Classic Streisand effect…

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:20 PM

Who is he? Well, Justin Barrett is that weird kid from school who was always a bit of a loner and seemed kinda quiet but on occasion burned insects with matches and laughed when he saw other people getting punched in the yard.
    Mammy made his sandwiches every day and little Justin ate them but then went to the sweet shop and bought a bag of cola bottles he ate slowly and steadily one by one, never taking the bag out of his coat pocket so no one would ask for one. He never got on with girls but did play dares once and got to kiss a girl on the lips – she stuck her tongue in and Justin jumped back terrified. He later wrote her name on a wall and called her a b&txh.

Now Justin’s all grown up and he’s mad at the world.

Justin needs to go away. Bye Justin.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Canning
    Favourite Tony Canning
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:29 PM

Personally I think both positions of “pro-life” and “anti immigrant” are things that should be qualified. I’m pro-life in that I’d like not to see women die or remain unsupported if abortion is a considered, timely, informed and mature decision. I’m anti immigrant in that I recognise that there is a difference between scammers and genuine refugees and that people should not be assumed to be either. With this, I’d far prefer to see genuine discussion, and while I would never support Barrett’s views, maybe it’s counter intuitive to not just have a discussion and argue against opposing views?

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane

@Colin Moran:
    Your description of this man is upsetting.

But more upsetting is that you have been following this man around all ‘your’ life.
    Watching him, taking note of everything he has done.
    Are you obsessed with him?
    He may be weird. You seem to have bigger issues!

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:30 PM

Martin, we all know the type.

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:38 PM

Complete fruit-loop this Barrett lad, I’m sure an absolute nutter like him will have a lot of support from the low IQ Alt-Right commenters on The Journal though, after all, they did support the KKK leanings of Donald Trump. They’d be a dangerous bunch if they ever left their parents’ basements.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:44 PM

@Colin Moran:

Not as well as you. Did you try and join the guards? Did you get it ?? !!!!!
    I was playing sport, trying out smoking, trying to look cool in front of girls, being a child.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:48 PM

Ah ok Martin, I see where you’re coming from now. Bye now.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:05 PM

@Colin Moran:

Grand. Having a little fun.
    I agree with you really.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:18 PM

Colin you’re making yourself sound like an utter creep who wants to go back and bully the kids at school that were a different

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:21 PM

@Emeralds: You could do with going back to school yourself, anonymous troll with the creepy anonymous account.

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:27 PM

Wow Emeralds, getting that kind of constructive feedback from someone that I don’t know at all is incredibly meaningful.

Mute Michael Shimaoka
    Favourite Michael Shimaoka
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:32 PM

@martin kilbane: He’s a Fascist, and the fact that he’s DESCRIBED as being a Fascist is accurate. If you have a problem with that, then you can go and….

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:36 PM

Exactly. I have nothing to go on but what you’ve said, and that’s how you’re coming across

Mute Living The Laws
    Favourite Living The Laws

@Colin Moran: man, you are ignorant. your description of this git fukwit applies to so many people of whom the vast majority never ended up being a fascist. and your view of this is worrisome, as if you are better than them in some way or why else would you feel it reasonable to come to such conclusions

i am not sure i have ever come across such an apt phonetically meaningful surname, Colin MORON

Mute Dan Aspell
    Favourite Dan Aspell

@Colin Moran: brilliant

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:41 PM

Hi Living, appreciate the richness of your feedback AND the originality of your pun on my name.
    Genius.

Maybe not all boys like that turned into fascists, but all fascists were boys like that.
    And I am better than ‘them’.

Mute Living The Laws
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:58 PM

@Colin Moran: lol, just like the song goes

i fail to understand people like you. small minded, bigoted, greedy. entitled to your opinion though

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:19 PM

People shun and laugh at this man yet celebrate De Velerea who had the same ideas.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:32 PM

@Colin Moran: Colin, if this is the best critique you can come up with wouldn’t it be better if you just(in closed your account, get rid of your unseemly tattoos and disgusting body piercings, cleaned yourself up a bit, got a job and just shut up.

Mute Living The Laws
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:52 PM

@Shawn O’Ceallaghan: probably the same people

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:52 PM

@john murphy: you’re just a bit cranky because Mass is still two days away, don’t worry, nearly there!

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Nov 18th 2016, 10:01 PM

@johnmurphy
    Tut tut John, that’ll be three Hail Marys.

(And I have a job – it’s giving people unseemly tattoos and piercings).

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:01 PM

The best bit was when “Joey Westland” with a greyed out avatar criticised me for posting anonymously

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:46 PM

@Michael Shimaoka:
    Here we go again.
    Mr. Hitler’s loyal followers getting bad press.
    Mr. Hitler had great ideas. A bit severe in some matters, but you would have to admire his dedication.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 19th 2016, 1:00 AM

@martin kilbane: Ya wohl, eh? Fancy a bit of exterminatin of a few million?

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 19th 2016, 1:04 AM

@Daisy Chainsaw:

Only on a very selective basis. Bad people all over the world.
    Everybody knows who they are.
    Simple really.

Mute Mick Whistler
    Favourite Mick Whistler
    Nov 19th 2016, 3:06 AM

Brilliant.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 19th 2016, 7:28 AM

@Colin Moran: This made me splutter my coffee all over the monitor. Brilliant analysis. The best weapon against whack-jobs like Barrett is laughter, but it is always a good idea to keep a close eye on them nevertheless. Barrett has spent too much time for his own or anyone else’s good hanging around with some really nasty and potentially dangerous neo-nazi nutters on the Continent, not to mention his association with our own street thugs like Yob Defence.

Mute Cram Wood
    Favourite Cram Wood
    Nov 19th 2016, 10:41 AM

We’ve already had the Catholic Republic thing for decades. Don’t think anyone wants to go back there again.

Mute Cen Sored
    Favourite Cen Sored
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:08 PM

Interesting how the Journal don’t refer to AAA as extreme left wing

Mute Dublin Living
    Favourite Dublin Living

@Cen Sored: They are extreme alright, I wouldn’t call them left wing though.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:19 PM

Well, they are

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:50 PM

No, the AAA are just Left. We don’t peddle racism, xenophobia and hate. We fight to replace the current exploitative capitalist system with one which provides for the welfare of all. In reality we’re the moderates.

Nov 18th 2016, 10:04 PM

@Billy Mooney: It’s sad that you have to explain that. Extremism has many guises, looking out for the most neglected in society is not one of them. Singling out the scapegoat, usually a vulnerable target like a minority, most certainly is.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 10:25 PM

@Billy Mooney: Communism is it, Capitalism is no better and we should try something different?

Nov 18th 2016, 10:39 PM

Billy can explain it better than me, but basically, capitalism is getting rich off the back of someone else’s misfortune and socialism is about looking out for your fellow human and your shared society. Gorbachev once described capitalism as a greedy monster that would one day eat everything and leave nothing. First-Nation Americans also spoke words of wisdom when talking about only realising that you can’t eat money once all the fish are caught and trees chopped down.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:03 PM

Having a job is not “misfortune”

Mute Billy Mooney
    Favourite Billy Mooney
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:13 PM

Jamie, The support is appreciated.

Nov 18th 2016, 11:40 PM

@Billy Mooney: I’ve always backed you, you speak the truth. I’ve always spoken from the heart too. I’m a nationalist craving sovereignty for the Irish people.

Nov 18th 2016, 11:55 PM

Stop the wars, no more refugees. People can be happy in their own land. Unreal concept due to profiteering. Get real people.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Nov 19th 2016, 12:00 AM

AAA/PBP are Extreme Left Wing – Proper Journalism would easily expose this – They call for open borders and the lunantic notions that ‘Those who live here belong here’ . Basically they don’t believe that this tiny rock in the North Atlantic home to the Irish people should belong to the Irish People – They believe anyone who comes here by whatever means has equal right to it.
    They oppose all deportations under all circumstances – So those who come here illegally , under false pretenses and commit horrid crimes on Irish individuals – rape, murder – AAA/PBP think they should stay, think about that!
    Is this a party that represents the interests and future prosperity of the Irish People and children of Ireland? Absolutely not – Their very manifesto is tantamount to treason

http://www.peoplebeforeprofit.ie/2015/08/immigration-racism/

Open Border to all with no deportations would in a generation or 2 lead to destruction and displacement of the Irish from their homeland – The Trojan horse metaphor is very relevant here.
    Thankfully they only have 2% of the Electorate with them because simply anyone with an education beyond junior cert would see through their insanity – take a look at their constituencies, they pray on the most deprived, low educated , most vulnerable.

AAA/PBP support the extermination of unborn Irish Children along with policies to displace the native Irish through mass Immigration – they are enemies of the state and its people.
    Continuing with the current policy will see the Irish a minority in their own country within 50 years, follow the AAA/PBP plan and that will be less.
    They are Soros supported aggitators disguised as a peoples movement

Mute Cathal Murphy
    Favourite Cathal Murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 6:58 PM

After Irish people were accepted all over the world for hundreds of years, we shouldn’t accept anyone? That’s pretty sad to me

Nov 18th 2016, 7:07 PM

Cathal, we went through the proper channels , got the visas required and worked hard and didn’t receive welfare .. that’s probably why we were accepted all over the world …

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks

Charity begins at home. Only allow in those from western countries or foreigners with rare skills like heart surgeons. We have 20% unemployment in Wexford. The biggest problem is low skilled migrant labour such as fruitpickers. Such people do not fill labour shortages and merely compete for low paid manual labour, driving pay and conditions down further. Limousine liberals who vote for Clinton and co. will never understand this and they don’t care either. Also in the light of ISIS/AQ we need serious vetting of Islamic immigration. I don’t support neo Nazism but neither do I support a free for all.

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:09 PM

Hmmmm were we accepted by the people who burned Catholic churches in New York?

Mute Cen Sored
    Favourite Cen Sored
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:10 PM

We weren’t accepted all over the world and we only migrated to colonies

Mute Vincent Foley
    Favourite Vincent Foley

You are joking?

Mute Tweety McTweeter
    Favourite Tweety McTweeter

Suzie, there’s 50,000 undocumented Irish in the US alone

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:11 PM

Tweety they knew the rules and broke them

Mute fiachra29
    Favourite fiachra29
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:13 PM

In fairness Suzie that’s a very romanticised idea of Irish immigrants, they very often were not accepted and if they were it was probably because they provided cheap labour.

Mute Peter.
    Favourite Peter.
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:15 PM

Can’t agree with you Suzie, A very high percentage of Irish were claiming welfare aswell as working in London when I was there. In fact looking back they fleeced the U.K.

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:16 PM

No Suzie, we didn’t. Which is why we have negotiations at the highest levels surrounding the issue of undocumented Irish in the USA for the last number of years.

Nov 18th 2016, 7:20 PM

Tweety. . I agree they broke the rules but they needed to have visas first in order to get in .. I also think they should be deported too if they illegal or undocumented. .

Nov 18th 2016, 7:22 PM

Thomas .did they not have visas first in order to get into the country ? They broke the rules afterwards .

Nov 18th 2016, 7:24 PM

Peter .. correct .. I was talking more about America and countries requiring a visa. .

Mute Liam Dunne
    Favourite Liam Dunne
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:26 PM

That’s one of the stupidest most ignorant ill informed loads of sheite i ever read on here.

Mute Dublin Living
    Favourite Dublin Living
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:28 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: We did in our arse Suzie.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:35 PM

@Suzie Sunshine:
    You are correct.

Mute Andy Sinclair
    Favourite Andy Sinclair
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:35 PM

@Suzie Sunshine: Really, so why exactly do we have Government after Government talking to the US about Illegal Irish? Currently it’s about 50K,no different than the South American’s that Trump is building a wall to stop.

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:40 PM

@Andy Sinclair: Don’t bother with Suzie Sunshine, he’s just another ultra-nationalist far-right extremist who suffers from severe xenophobia. No logic to his thoughts.

Nov 18th 2016, 7:41 PM

Andy .. were they legal when entering the country?

Nov 18th 2016, 7:44 PM

I see Joey the troll is back ..

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:49 PM

Is it the real Joey though? There was Joey and also Imposter Joey

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:51 PM

Suzie, they got there legally but stayed and worked illegally. Just because they arrived legally doesn’t make it all rainbows and gummy bears.

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:53 PM

Suzie, if someone enters the US (or anywhere else) on a holiday visa, with the intention of working and/or staying longer than the permitted term, then they are acting illegally from the start. And speaking from personal experience, many illegal Irish in the US had jobs and living arrangements sorted before they even left Ireland, so they were absolutely not legal when they entered the US. It was (and probably still is) commonplace to be questioned by US immigration on your intentions on the way in – and obviously the only way they were getting in was to lie and say “I’m just here on my holidays”. Is all of that “legal” in your opinion? Pull the other one.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:18 PM

Is it still arriving legally when your intention before even arriving is to break the terms of the visa?

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland

@Suzie Sunshine: Says The Journal’s full-time troll. Hurry Suzie! A new article was just posted, you better go and comment on it like you do on every single other one!

Nov 18th 2016, 9:11 PM

@Titus Groan: Imposter Joey

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:13 PM

Like the so-called “undocumented”?

Nov 18th 2016, 9:17 PM

@Joey Westland: just like you so !

Nov 18th 2016, 9:21 PM

@Thomas McGilly: i never said it was ..

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 19th 2016, 1:04 AM

@Suzie Sunshine: That’s why there’s so many thousands of Irish illegals in the US and welfare recipients in the UK!

Nov 19th 2016, 1:23 AM

Daisy I have already explained what I meant …

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 19th 2016, 7:36 AM

@Titus Groan: Good question. This is either an Imposter Joey or the original Joey has had a Damascene conversion to sanity.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 18th 2016, 6:57 PM

Would love a good right wing party but they guys are just a little to extreme for my vote!

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:04 PM

@Paul: Fianna Gael and Fianna Fail not right wing enough for you?

Mute Liam Treacy
    Favourite Liam Treacy

FF and FG are centre left and centre right. We have no nationalist party and as has been shown in the US, UK and France there is a market………seems to me this is not it though.

Mute Mr. Éirxit!
    Favourite Mr. Éirxit!
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:11 PM

@Bobby Moore: Considering FF/FG have non of the hallmarks of a right wing party (i.e small government and low taxes) then I would argue no, FF/FG are not right wing enough for anybody

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit

my favourite bit of his Wikipedia profile is where it points out that as a so called Irish nationalist he cannot even speak Irish.

you just need to skip over the longer sections about his neo-nazi links

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Justin_Barrett

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:18 PM

doh. that wasn’t supposed to be a reply to a post. anyway.

Mute Buster VL
    Favourite Buster VL
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:32 PM

@bobby. A ittle to the right of FG will do nicely.

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:59 PM

@Liam Treacy: “FF and FG are centre left and centre right.”

They’re not actually liam. FG are center right and FF are right of center-center right depending on the mood of the day when they’re in government. Most political compasses put both partys firmly on the right.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:20 PM

Renua were/are a genuine right wing, non-racist party

Mute Cornelius Talmadge
    Favourite Cornelius Talmadge
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:25 PM

For Connolly, do you have any objective reasons for labelling FG in that way? I get that you don’t like FG and that they are clearly some distance to the right of your own views, but neither of those things makes them right wing per se.

It’s interesting, as in the US, Hillary Clinton was widely criticised for being too “left wing”, when she is undoubtedly more right wing than FG on most issues. Similarly, here in Australia, I would say FG are nowhere near as right wing as the (so-called) Liberal Party, which in itself is considered centre right. As such, I think it’s true that FG are only considered right wing because there are no actual right wing parties in Ireland.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

Bobby and all, no FG and FF are not, FG are more right but fail to address core issues which a right wing party should.

I do think a change of FG leaders would help!

Mute Mark Owen
    Favourite Mark Owen
    Nov 18th 2016, 10:09 PM

Wrong. Both centre right.

Mute JFN
    Favourite JFN
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:06 PM

Why does this party have so many articles? They literally have done nothing

Mute Derek Walsh
    Favourite Derek Walsh

Same thing happened with UKIP. A joke party full of incompetent bigots whose leader kept being invited to appear on TV, making them seem like a real and serious party.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:48 PM

@Derek Walsh:
    They had 1 goal and were successful. 100% record.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:13 PM

Were they? Nothing has happened and they’re at each other’s throats while the party’s physical manifestation is on to bigger things

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:28 PM

@Dave O Keeffe:
    The people voted for exit.
    UKIP wanted a referendum, Tories gave them one, and UKIP won.
    That is all they asked for.

Mute Joey Westland
    Favourite Joey Westland
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:32 PM

@martin kilbane: The mental gymnastics of a 3-year-old, take a bow, LOL!

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:33 PM

@Derek Walsh: We are serious Derek, get used to it!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 10:26 PM

@martin kilbane: They lied, now they are imploding and being exposed for the fraud’s they really are.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:37 PM

@Stephen murphy:
    They are politicians, that is what they do.
    Farage looked for a vote, Cameron wanted to sort out some Tories, allowed an in / out vote and lost.
    If it was here we would voting till they got what EU wanted.
    I’d prefer to be with UK than EU.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:39 PM

@Joey Westland:
    What are you on about. Daft comment.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 19th 2016, 7:31 AM

@martin kilbane: Remind us again, how many seats have Ukip in the UK Parliament? And we’ll have to wait and see how successful they were in their one goal as the reality of the mistake they have made dawns on the British.

Mute martin kilbane
    Favourite martin kilbane
    Nov 19th 2016, 10:39 AM

@Fintan Oflaois:
    UKIP have 1 seat.
    What happens next is not up to UKIP. The government have to sort that out.
    The people were asked , in or out.
    UKIP with there 1 seat won the vote. That is the result.
    Cameron allowed the referendum. Voters decided. Out
    Shin E.

Mute Alan Mulvey
    Favourite Alan Mulvey
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:16 PM

I had some up close experience of Justin in a business I ran in the mid 90′s. Even without his abhorrent policies he is one of the most repulsive individuals I’ve ever had the misfortune to happen across

Mute Cally
    Favourite Cally

A catholic republic….i thought we had one of them and look how that turned out…clerical abuse..stealing babies for adoption..working vulnerable people as slaves in laundries…and viewing women as nothing more than baby incubators..

Mute Jimmy jones
    Favourite Jimmy jones

I say let these clowns have their say.

By banning them or chasing after them and beating them up , they get far too much publicity.

Nov 18th 2016, 8:35 PM

They have a very dangerous message though. Essentially spreading hate.

Nov 18th 2016, 9:35 PM

I agree though that they should be allowed have their say, and be challenged and debated. We can’t ignore them, that won’t work.

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:36 PM

@Jimmy jones: What violent political party do you belong to Jimmy Jones who wants to chase and beat up this harmless young man who just wants justice for the unborn child and the citizens of our once great little country?

Mute john murphy
    Favourite john murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:41 PM

@Jamie McCormack: Jamie your left wing, liberal reign of terror is at an end, gays, pro-aborts and imigrants will be told gently to know their place in a proper society thus bringing some normality back to this Christian country. Get ready for the backlash!

Nov 18th 2016, 9:49 PM

Don’t drop that basket john, all your eggs seem to be in it.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Nov 18th 2016, 10:28 PM

@john murphy: When was it great Johnny, was it during your time or your dreams?

Nov 18th 2016, 10:42 PM

@john murphy: “who just wants justice for the unborn child” you do understand the difference between fetus and child john?

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 19th 2016, 1:02 AM

@john murphy: Boring troll is boring. Instead of turning your swords into ploughshares, you’ll be turning your crucifix into a swastika.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 19th 2016, 8:27 AM

@Jimmy jones: “By banning them or chasing after them and beating them up , they get far too much publicity.”

That is right, but in fact no one banned them, chased after them or even suggested beating them up.

What happened was that a function room in a reputable hotel was booked under false pretences for the launch of this group, which is not registered as a political party. As soon as the hotel realised – thanks to vigilant, civic-minded citizens informing it – that it was a thoroughly nasty hate group headed by an individual with close links to dangerous neo-nazi groups in several foreign countries, it cancelled the booking.

What decent establishment would want its reputation tarnished, probably irrevocably, through association with a group that advocates hate, xenophobia, gender discrimination, denial of women’s rights and abrogation of Ireland’s international commitments?

I only hope the hotel insisted on an advance, which it has every right to refuse to refund.

Those unpleasant people can certainly find a venue more suitable to them if they really want to have their launch event. There will never be many of them and some of the public toilets in Dublin are certainly big enough.

Mute Jake Gundersonn
    Favourite Jake Gundersonn
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:28 PM

Since when is being pro life a negative thing?

Mute Michael Shimaoka

@Jake Gundersonn: It’s only negative when demented lunatics try and force that view on other people. Sort of like what Yob Defence… Um, sorry, Youth Defence normally do.

Mute Jake Gundersonn
    Favourite Jake Gundersonn
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:51 PM

@Michael Shimaoka: @Michael Shimaoka: I agree nobody should force their views on it. However it is portrayed as being negative by the left wing side which is counterproductive. Also use of the word demented sounds like a passive aggressive attack.

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:04 PM

It just sounds aggressive aggressive to me

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Nov 19th 2016, 1:08 AM

@Jake Gundersonn: Barrett is not “pro life” he’s anti choice. He’s about controlling women, putting them back in the home while the manly men provide/control. His nasty little cabal is trying to drag us back to the 1950s.

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson

A lot of right wing anger and hatred has to do with penis envy and napolean syndrome. Some real basket cases out there.

Mute Cen Sored
    Favourite Cen Sored
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:14 PM

Studies have shown that people who talk about penis size are the most self conscious about their own penis size

Nov 18th 2016, 7:33 PM

Very true .. those who brag about it are usually the ones who ain’t getting it ..

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan

Please don’t make this Shower the next Westboro Baptist Church,a tiny group of oxygen thieves who get a ridiculous amount of media coverage because of their extreme/ridiculous views.

Mute Peter.
    Favourite Peter.

Sad individual, listening to him speaking today reminded me of that one guy from your past that craved any kind of attention & would say stuff just to be ‘mad’. He seems to be a little embarrassed by his past statements. Can’t really see him knocking anyone bandy.

Mute Living The Laws
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:04 PM

bound to have issues with a set of lobes like that

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:14 PM

Stephen Hawking lookalike… just without a brain.

Mute Living The Laws
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:21 PM

@Get Lost Eircodes: probs has same brain minus the intelligence and the will to use same for good

Mute Brian O'Donnell
    Favourite Brian O'Donnell
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:55 PM

Stephen Hendry more like.

Mute Living The Laws
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:12 PM

@Brian O’Donnell: i can see that. and strikes a pose like michael o’leary

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:28 PM

He sounds like an absolute bell end !

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap

Lads like him never amount to anything and should be ignored. Stopping writing articles about him and his deluded groupies would be a good start.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:24 PM

70 odd years ago the bodies of guys like this fool were used for decorating petrol stations in Italy.Right,left and center of the political spectrum got together to wipe his like from the face of the earth. Never forget that. This guy is not right wing, he’s a freaking fascist and not in the way that gets thrown around as an insult, but in the absolute sense of the word. Arguably we could probably do with a real right wing party in Ireland but we do not need this nut or what he represents.

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:15 PM

Who is Justin Barrett? An attention seeking gob$h1te in my opinion. End of article.

Mute Science of beer
    Favourite Science of beer

This shower are just a bunch of tight fisted wan3ers who were bullied at school. National party my hole.

Mute Titus Groan
    Favourite Titus Groan
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:23 PM

I dunno… sometimes grown up bullies were also the child bullies.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes

SPUC OFF Barrett

Mute Upowthat Burke
    Favourite Upowthat Burke

Some people just don’t get the message….this butt head has failed at everything he has come near…….no sane person would entertain anything he would dribble for his gob

Mute Michael Shimaoka
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:40 PM

@Upowthat Burke: There are A LOT of lunatics in Ireland. Just look at the likes of Youth Defence and the Iona Institute.

Mute Poole Hyde
    Favourite Poole Hyde
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:55 PM

As far as I can tell Youth Defense and Iona are the same crowd operating under those and about half a dozen other different names. On the plus side at least now they can be tied to neo Nazi groups.

Mute Joey Joe-Joe Junior Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey Joe-Joe Junior Shabadoo
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:55 PM

I thought he was searching for extra terrestrial life with them ears

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 19th 2016, 8:09 AM

@Joey Joe-Joe Junior Shabadoo: LOL, but are you sure he isn’t extraterrestrial life.

Mute FOX
    Favourite FOX
    Feb 9th 2017, 3:55 PM

@Joey Joe-Joe Junior Shabadoo: Whatever works.

Mute Frederick Burden
    Favourite Frederick Burden
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:42 PM

He’s pro life?
    My God, lock him up and throw away the key.

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 19th 2016, 6:44 AM

@Frederick Burden: We are all pro-life. But not that many of us spend a lot of time hanging about with foreign neo-nazi and fascist groups the way he does, and the Norwegian fanatic Hans Behring Breivik did.

We still live in a society that does not lock people up nearly as quickly as the likes of Barrett would do, and even nutters like him deserve their freedom. But I sure hope whoever is responsible for the safety of the public in Ireland are keeping a closer eye on him and his henchmen than the Norwegian authorities did with Breivik before he went a step or two beyond writing rambling manifestos and advocating crazy policies.

Mute Robert Loughran
    Favourite Robert Loughran
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:08 PM

Deport the fascist.

Nov 18th 2016, 8:28 PM

“I can never understand why feminists have a problem with this — that women are much better at minding children than men. In that sense, women are superior.”

I hope his mum doesn’t read that or he’ll get a clip around the ears.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:02 PM

He’s a nobody trying to become a somebody.

Mute Labhrás Hayden
    Favourite Labhrás Hayden
    Nov 18th 2016, 9:21 PM

He’s a shitepipe.

Mute ijlester
    Favourite ijlester
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:57 PM

Who cares?

Mute Emeralds
    Favourite Emeralds
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:23 PM

Let him make his awful arguments. The people of Ireland will reject them again

Mute Michael Shimaoka
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:35 PM

Does Justin Barrett not know that Identity Ireland and by extension PEGIDA Ireland got nowhere in this year’s general election? The fact that he launched the so-called “National Party” clearly seems to indicate that he doesn’t.

Fascism also has NO place in society. Maybe he should be sent to a place where his views are fully appreciated. I’ve heard that Uganda is lovely this time of year.

Mute Mercurial One
    Favourite Mercurial One
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:40 PM

Who is Justin Barret. Eh, Eimear’s big eared brother perhaps?

Nov 18th 2016, 10:21 PM

Eimear who?

Mute Ulick McGee
    Favourite Ulick McGee
    Nov 18th 2016, 7:54 PM

Yawn

Mute Fintan Oflaois
    Favourite Fintan Oflaois
    Nov 19th 2016, 6:36 AM

Why can’t that eejit Barrett just get a job? His party has just about as big a chance of coming to power as the Monster Raving Looney Party had in Britain.

Mute Robert James Behan
    Favourite Robert James Behan
    Nov 19th 2016, 12:41 AM

Barret and his ilk will actually end up making the AAA look like a proper political party!

Mute Peter McGloin
    Favourite Peter McGloin
    Nov 19th 2016, 5:18 AM

Isn’t a catholic republic an oxymoron?

Mute Brian McDonnell
    Favourite Brian McDonnell
    Nov 18th 2016, 11:04 PM

Oh yipee, another party, all loud and brash and full of promises, just like the last 2 that went nowhere.

Mute FOX
    Favourite FOX
    Feb 9th 2017, 3:45 PM
    Mute FOX
    Favourite FOX
    Feb 9th 2017, 3:57 PM

@FOX: look at this video. you are to be exterminated. https://youtu.be/mWJSKhEwjy8

Mute femo
    Favourite femo
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:17 PM

Why You are making la Publicite for him ?
    Promoting and Implementing Hatred in the Republic, that’s only what We Need ?
    http://www.tuxboard.com/table-groland-ikea/groland-president/

Mute king Tut
    Favourite king Tut
    Nov 18th 2016, 8:47 PM

Plug