You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin addressing the nation this evening.

Coronavirus: Entire country to be placed under Level 3 restrictions from midnight on Tuesday

NPHET had recommended that the country enter Level 5 – the highest level of restrictions.

LAST UPDATE | 5 Oct 2020

THE ENTIRE COUNTRY will be put under Level 3 Covid-19 restrictions from midnight on Tuesday, Taoiseach Micheál Martin announced in an address this evening. 

The Taoiseach confirmed that the government decided not to enter further into lockdown measures by moving to Level 5. Ireland will instead enter Level 3 for a period of three weeks. 

The situation will be reviewed again after this period.

“This is not about public health and businesses competing against each other, it’s about lives and livelihoods. We can’t have one without the other,” Micheál Martin said. 

The Cabinet met today following a recommendation from the National Public Health Emergency Team (NPHET) that the entire country enter Level 5 – the highest level of Covid-19 restrictions.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin, Tánaiste Leo Varadkar and Green Party leader Eamon Ryan and other senior ministers discussed this with Chief Medical Officer Tony Holohan earlier today. 

The government this evening rejected calls to move to Level 5 and instead proposed moving the country to Level 3. This was then approved by Cabinet. 

Currently, the rest of Ireland is at Level 2 while Dublin and Donegal are at Level 3. 

Level 3 restrictions

No more than six people from no more than two households can meet in a home or garden. 

No social/family gatherings should take place, aside from funerals and weddings. 

There are no indoor gatherings permitted. Outdoor gatherings of up to 15 people are allowed.

People should remain in their own counties except for those who need to travel for essential reasons such as work or education. 

All retail shops and shopping centres can stay open. People aged over 70 and the medically vulnerable are advised to continue to exercise personal judgement. 

As part of the new measures, indoor dining in pubs and restaurants will be banned across the country.

Outdoor seating and service will be allowed outside restaurants, bars and wet pubs.

Pubs that do not serve food outside Dublin will be allowed to open but they will only be able to provide an outdoor service to a maximum of 15 people. ‘Wet’ pubs in Dublin will still remain closed.

Taoiseach Micheál Martin said the challenge with implementing new measures is “to be as effective and proportionate as possible”. 

“The virus is spreading because people are allowing it to spread,” he said. 

A NPHET source told TheJournal.ie last night that the “projections are very bad” and there needs to be a “major shift”. They said that there has been a “big deterioration” in the situation in the country in recent days.

The number of new daily confirmed cases has been increasing in Ireland over the past few weeks, with more than 1,000 new cases confirmed over the weekend.

On Saturday, there were 613 new cases confirmed, 470 cases on Friday and 442 on Thursday.

According to the latest data from the HPSC, the national incidence rate is 107 cases per 100,000 of the population on a 14-day rolling average.

With reporting by Christina Finn. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 194 comments
194 Comments
    Mute P1
    Favourite P1
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:41 AM

A public body in Ireland wasting public funds? Never…must be some mistake surely!!

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:32 AM

Yes when your found doing something dodgy . You don’t get sacked . You get promoted up wit a higher wage . Its normal .

Mute Maria Beaton
    Favourite Maria Beaton
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:51 AM

It’s about promoting people out of the way. Get them up in top jobs where they don’t make any decisions or mistakes… They are guided by the lower paid, competent individuals who’ll never get promoted because they are too good at what they do and could never be replaced!

Mute Stuart O Connor
    Favourite Stuart O Connor
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:21 AM

Read that back to yourself there please

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:23 AM

In the last week alone, there is this huge waste from Dublin City Council, the €1m which they have spent securing the Priory Hall site and the €6m that they spent buying a hotel from the developer of Priory Hall, Tom McFeely… and the City Manager who oversaw all of this, John Tierney, is given the job as Head of Irish Water?

Mute Vera Brophy
    Favourite Vera Brophy
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:32 AM

Add to that all the other money wasted by the Council, recent report of purchase of house in Fitzwilliam for housing of the homeless, seven years ago, never used to date. In the mean time the Council are overcharging tenents for rent and refusing to be accountable or to support their figures.

Vera

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Favourite One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:49 AM

and don’t forget the incinerator!

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington

Grand little country all the same isn’t it? Christ, Bob Geldof knew what he was writing years ago with ‘Banana Republic’.

Mute Maria Beaton
    Favourite Maria Beaton

I don’t understand why they didn’t just use the money to fix priory hall rather than secure it. Not sure if a million euro would cover it but it would help. I don’t like the idea of local authorities using people’s money to fix a private developers mistake but in fairness, let the residents back into their homes. Then have lost enough in this mess already.

Mute Bryan N
    Favourite Bryan N
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:13 AM

Actually Maria, originally the cost of Priory Hall corrections was quoted at €1 million… Go figure… :)

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:44 AM

cos the didnt have the money in the first place. This is a cost

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:03 PM

I should nip in at this point and clarify that there has been some incorrect reporting about Priory Hall in the last few days.

As we understand it, the €1 million being quoted for Priory Hall repairs refers only to to the Council’s own share of the repairs bill (because of the number of apartments it owns itself). The total repairs bill is far higher, when you include the apartments which are owned by private individuals.

(It’s also a bit of a folly to split the prices this way because you can’t just repair individual apartments – it’s the entire building, including common areas like entry-exit routes, that needs fixing.)

Mute Mara Byrne
    Favourite Mara Byrne
    Mar 13th 2013, 2:42 AM

Thank you Gavan for clarifying that. I live on Hole in The wall Rd beside Priory Hall and there is no way 1 million Euro would even begin to sort that mess out. Mr. Tierney of DCC should be held accountable for the damage that he has caused to our community. When on earth will the people in “power” be punished for their contribution to the ruination of our wee country? It seems to me that the only people being blamed for this depression/recession is us! I would love you “The journal” to do a where are we now? About the rogue builders/developers of the last ten years. I bet my life they’re not in temporary accommodation, I bet they’re still in their palatial homes. I know they are. Justice? Is there such a thing as justice in Ireland? If I was young, I’d flee this country, I’m devastated to say that.

Mute Ciaran Nolan
    Favourite Ciaran Nolan

I think we need a report into how the money was wasted.. A really expensive one

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:50 AM

this one cost you nothing!

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Mar 12th 2013, 1:36 PM

The problem is Councillors, I wonder how many contracts were awarded to the friends of friends and they weren’t tendered I bet! The Garda fraud squad, needs to be beefed or horsed up and we need a team of untouchables!

Mute Arbitrasure
    Favourite Arbitrasure
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:18 AM

Meanwhile the man in charge of Dublin City Council managing this EUR40 million of wasted taxpayer money gets recognised for this incompetence, by recently being awarded the top job at Irish Water, on EUR200,000+ a year + perks.
    The commercial provision of water is a business he has zero experience in. Where was the role advertised? Was he the best man for woman for the job?

Dublin City Council under his management also squandered EUR80+ million on the Poolbeg Incinerator disaster. Management of that massive waste of money deemed as ‘weak and inadequate’ by the auditors. Was he asked about his handling of that at interview for the Irish Water job?

These are only two stories we know about in terms of massive monies wasted by Dublin City Council. God knows how much more is not yet in the public eye.

How about the very murky way in which Greyhound was awarded the domestic waste contract without a full transparent public tender. The council voted against Greyhound but he veto’d the no vote – despite Greyhound having a poor track record in the provision of services to Iarnrod Eireann and being fined substantially for it.

Can someone let me know how one develops the skills to rise and rise in the Establishment yet have a piss poor track record when it comes to performance, grotesque waste and incompetence?

If it was the Private Sector he would either have been fired years ago or else the company he was in charge of would be in liquidation.

Mute Ucanthandlethetruth
    Favourite Ucanthandlethetruth
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:15 AM

Wasted €40 million in public funds on one project, what about all the other ones.

Mute Cian O Donoghue
    Favourite Cian O Donoghue
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:19 AM

30 mill. 10 on the others…..

Mute Ryan'O
    Favourite Ryan'O
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:30 AM

That’s one hell of a lot of peoples house hold charges gone to waste.

Mute mohamad oconnor
    Favourite mohamad oconnor
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:20 AM

Can someone explain why we have a height limit for buildings in the city?

Mute family guy
    Favourite family guy
    Mar 12th 2013, 11:51 AM

I am a civils contractor who do contracts for cork county council and can honestly say that thought there are some good council engineers a lot would never survive in the private sector. They have a total different mentality than private sector. A lot of them have no drive and are there for the easy life. This time of year they are tight with their budgets and come the end of the year they are throwing money at you to spend their budget as they won’t get the same amount next year if they don’t spend it. It is sickening to see it at times.

Mute JayTee
    Favourite JayTee
    Mar 12th 2013, 12:50 PM

Just look at how roads are constructed. Sure in Sandyford there are 2X 1km long heavy concrete ‘noise’ walls to separate 1) a road within an industrial estate from the noise of the LUAS and 2) the industrial estate from the noise of the road. There is a million wasted right there.

Mute Paul Quigley
    Favourite Paul Quigley
    Mar 13th 2013, 3:21 AM

I too would like to know why there is a height limit for buildings in Dublin – its about time we started building up not out.

Mute Joey Casey
    Favourite Joey Casey
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:17 AM

I can never understand the phobia they always have of building ‘too high’ in the capital city!!

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:46 AM

there are lots of good reasons not to which are not about aesthetics

Mute ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:50 AM

I think it is there for good reason. If it wasnt we would have about 40 high rise skeleton buildings from failed developers. The self named ‘Baron of Ballsbridge’ and his Knightsbridge nightmare come to mind.

I’m glad in a way the boom ended as the planning authorities were a disgrace. If I wantted to build a house in the country on families land I would have to apply for years.

Adebayo

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 11:55 AM

actually the statistics show otherwise – 54,000 single dwellings permitted since 2007. Besides the fact that the land is ‘your family’s’ is irrelevant.

Mute Joey Casey
    Favourite Joey Casey
    Mar 12th 2013, 6:50 PM

well if they went ahead with the 25 floors of a new liberty hall redevelopment it would create building jobs as well as a bar/restaurant on the top floor and a viewing tower…… so yet more jobs AND becoming a massive tourist attraction AND creating money for the gov also who doesn’t visit the highest building in a city to get spectacular views of the place???

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 13th 2013, 11:25 AM

well, actually research shows that the majority of tourists visit Dublin rate low-rise Georgian charm highly together with social/cultural aspects. If you pepper the city centre with high rise you erode character, thereby eroding the tourist draw. Besides there is a very popular viewing tower on top of Guinness and Croke Park – to follow your logic jobs are not cumulative they simply compete against each other – no net gain.

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:20 AM

Hi Gavan

Slight correction

“The body says a total of €30 million was squandered by approving planning permission for the construction of the National Children’s Hospital at the site of the Mater hospital, which was later overturned by An Bord Pleanála.”

This is not what the report says. DCC encouraged/or did not discourage the proposed development of the NCC. This was a Strategic Infrastructure Development project and the decision was made directly by the Board.

if you change ‘approving’ to ‘supporting’ that would do it. Check out consultation notes in annex of report – you could hardly believe that one of the biggest applications in the State could be recorded by a few scribbles.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:06 AM

Thanks OOI – I’ve made a quick change to it now; hope it more accurately reflects the report!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:40 AM

I wonder what the logic was behind the decisions that resulted in the massive losses.
    It reminds me of the “farmleigh” saga where ahern gave over the asking price (I stand to be corrected on this) but there must have been some reason behind the decisions.

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:48 AM

largely competition. Local councils in Ireland are in competition with each other for investment, commercial rates and development levies. This is the consequence of having no stable local tax base.

Mute JayTee
    Favourite JayTee
    Mar 12th 2013, 12:46 PM

and no centralised planning control to restrain the excesses of local government. When Ireland adopted the British Planning system in the 1960s, that part was left out.

Mute Emmet Cahill
    Favourite Emmet Cahill
    Mar 12th 2013, 9:53 AM

That kind of money never gets wasted .. it gets squirrelled away in Caymen Islands bank accounts!!

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    Mar 12th 2013, 1:07 PM

Blah, blah, blah…. Cynical am I? You darn tootin’… Nothing will ever change in this country regarding anything related to power and money. Those elected to power, assigned to paid board positions, and managing funds will continue to misappropriate funds, steal money, hide money and make deals that financially benefit their pocket, unless systems are put in place to track their spending, jail and fine their poor decisions, inactions, misuse of funds and misappropriations of funds.

However… It will never happen… Why.. Because we the tax payer have no power. Supposedly, the way we elect individuals is suppose to be our power…. The sad thing is that the way the election process works here makes it in possible to make true change. Parish, front porch and fiefdom politics don’t work. The politicians have also taken our democratic power away from us… So we don’t have a course of actions.

With an exception of few…. The average politician, when voted in, is given an invitation to demand that we drop our pants, bend over and grab our ankles and take it till they get what they want.

Am I cynical… Yes…. Am I angry… Yes…. Am I tired…. Yes…. Am I frustrated…. Yes….

Thank God I know that there are people worse off…

Mute John Cash
    Favourite John Cash
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:24 AM

Respite Grant!
    Mobility Allowence!
    Laughing stock of europe!!!!

Mute David Mc Skane
    Favourite David Mc Skane
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:51 AM

Just wondering if anyone was held accountable anywhere along the line here. Did anyone get fired or demoted. Seems that one of the top dogs actually got promoted. This s**t makes me sick to my stomach when you think of the millions that were wasted and people in this country can hardly afford to feed their kids or even keep a old beat up car on the road because there being taxed to the hilt. ” Those who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it”.

Mute Triona Murphy
    Favourite Triona Murphy

Surely it was the National Paediatric Developement Board that is responsible for 30 million(??) being wasted on the new childrens hospital. BTW the (??) are inserted because the board only published their 2010 company accounts last month.I wonder when/if we will ever know the full amount.They spent half a million defending the project at Bord Pleanala alone…!!

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:06 AM

point is if DCC advised them that the proposal breached their development plan and therefore they could not support it, the money would not have been wasted. This is the job of a planning authority as a statutory consultee. Have a look at the very last few pages of that report – the scribbles.

Mute JakkiB
    Favourite JakkiB
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:38 AM

Is there actually no accountability in this Country?!?! And here was me thinking the property tax was to fund failed banks!!

Mute Sean Duignan
    Favourite Sean Duignan
    Mar 12th 2013, 10:51 AM

C’mon JacckiB accountability in Ireland !! The more incompetence the bigger the promotion pension and wages . We reward failure in Ireland.

Mute Neil Richardson
    Favourite Neil Richardson
    Mar 12th 2013, 1:17 PM

Happening at every level. Dad had to go to An Bord Pleanála to overturn a granted application on a site next door to build concrete and glass apartments next to 130 year old Victorian railway houses. An Bord Pleanála overturned the council’s decision on the grounds that the development contravened the council’s own development plan. Cost Dad 300 euro to force An Bord Pleanála to do the council’s own job for them.

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Mar 12th 2013, 3:23 PM

Sounds like a “Brown envelope” job to me!!!