You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/RollingNews.ie

New 'Cycling Office' announced by Ross as funding for cycling and walking set to increase

The National Transport Authority (NTA) has been asked to open a dedicated office to deliver cycling infrastructure.

FUNDING FOR CYCLING is set to increase by 33% next year and a new ‘Cycling Office’ established under plans announced today by Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport Shane Ross. 

Ross has said that the National Transport Authority (NTA) has been tasked with opening a dedicated office “to ensure much-needed cycling infrastructure is delivered as quickly as possible”.

Ross has also said that there will be an additional €48 million in funding for cycling and walking programmes next year. 

Several major projects are set to get underway in 2019 including several sections of the Royal Canal Greenway, Clontarf to City Centre cycle route and a walking and cycling bridge in Cork city.

A revised Liffey Cycle Route is due to be announced early next year, too. 

It’s also proposed under the NTA’s BusConnects programme to build around 200km of segregated cycle lanes alongside an overhaul of the bus network over the coming years.

According to Census 2016 figures, the number of people commuting by bicycle increased by 43% in Ireland since 2011 with over 82,000 people using bicycle as their main mode of transport. 

In recent years, there have been calls for funding increases and improvements in cycling infrastructure to ensure cyclist safety. It has been pointed out that Irish cities are behind their European counterparts in terms of dedicated cycling infrastructure. 

In 2017, over 350 cyclists were treated in Irish hospitals for injuries while there were 15 cyclist deaths last year.

In Dublin, over 95,000 people cycle every day. The city appointed its own Cycling and Walking Officer back in 2015. 

In September, The Irish Cycling Advocacy Network – cyclist.ie – made a pre-budget submission calling for a dedicated ‘National Cycling Office’ to be established. 

This office, it said, could develop national cycling policy and infrastructure standards as well as co-ordinate cycling initiatives. 

Next year, Dublin is hosting Velo City 2019, an international cycling conference taking place over four days. 

Announcing today’s new measures, Ross said that this conference “will be accompanied by the sounds of construction on a number of significant projects across the city and beyond”. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

150 Comments
    Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:43 PM

Howcome Donegal airport cancelled all but one flight , that’s gas , let one off and see what happens ?

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:30 PM

@Trevor Connolly: There is only 3 flights from that airport a day so it’s not that surprising. The 1 that remains departs at 8am, when the bad weather will not have hit land yet whereas the other two flights are at 3pm & 5pm which is when the weather is practically overhead.

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:17 PM

@Trevor Connolly: Donegal airport would be afraid they’d loose all their business if they cancel.

Mute Sean Mooney
    Favourite Sean Mooney
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:00 PM

@Trevor Connolly: that,s the way they do things in Donegal !!?

Mute Kieran Conroy
    Favourite Kieran Conroy
    Oct 16th 2017, 1:33 AM

@Trevor Connolly: Cause there’s only one flight per day.They actually didn’t cancel anything.

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:37 PM

whatever happens in Ophelia spare a thought for all emergency service workers who will probably be out in it, in particular the volunteers of the RNLI who will probably have to face the worst of it, saving some eejit who thinks sailing/fishing/swimming in a storm is cool for a selfie.

Mute David Wall
    Favourite David Wall
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:05 PM

@zippo: In the US for their really bad storms the advice from the emergency services is ‘you’re on your own’ and quite rightly so.

Mute Gerald Kelleher
    Favourite Gerald Kelleher
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:41 PM

@zippo: That would be victim blaming among some ,after all, the last fella that talked about taking personal responsibility for dangerous situations didn’t do too well. Of course we live in a victim-as-hero era.

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:30 PM

@Gerald Kelleher: brilliant…..as i was writing that comment my son said “sure as there’s a hole in me arse,someone will accuse you of victim blaming”…Hookism’s aside these gobshytes would be victims of their own stupidity !

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:39 PM

Just went to the shop to get provisions (wine) before the storm hits. Amazing the amount of crap still left out in peoples front gardens. Am i over reacting by putting everything in the shed.

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:47 PM

@Piarais Mac Maoláin: pmsl at that one

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:47 PM

@Piarais Mac Maoláin: Tis grand so much crap in there i’d be only too happy to see it fly over the house.

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:52 PM

@Richard Sweeney: No Richard,everything gone into mine now since earlier. No room for the dog so he’s sleeping inside tonight.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:54 PM

@An Observer: Ya i brought the dog in too. Herself has been relegated to the shed. Thought i’d hedge my bets.

Mute Philip Mc dermott
    Favourite Philip Mc dermott
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:40 PM

@Piarais Mac Maoláin: classic

Mute Gary
    Favourite Gary
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:49 PM

@Richard Sweeney: Not great weather for astrophotography. I hope your shed doesn’t double up as your observatory.

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:02 PM

@Gary: Hi Gary. No all the gear safely inside. Observatory to be built when we move house. If it was in the shed I’d be in there with it.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:12 PM

@Richard Sweeney: lol just did my clean up into the shed and had the same conversation

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:25 PM

@lavbeer: Your wife is in there too?

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:17 PM

@Richard Sweeney: I could answer that be killed later … and not by the wind !!!

Mute Kieran Conroy
    Favourite Kieran Conroy
    Oct 16th 2017, 1:36 AM

@Richard Sweeney: Would that be ‘it’s’ or ’tis’. People like you are the reason for Irish jokes.Diddely Diddely no doubt.

Mute Mary Carmel
    Favourite Mary Carmel
    Oct 16th 2017, 3:40 AM

No.

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Oct 16th 2017, 10:29 AM

@Piarais Mac Maoláin: hehehe comment of the week

Mute Kevin Phelan
    Favourite Kevin Phelan
    Oct 16th 2017, 4:44 PM
    Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:32 PM

Standby Theresa Mannion .Salthill awaits

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:13 PM

Should be written into law – Teresa Mannion should HAVE to do all the weather alerts. She was brilliant – and took it so well.

Oct 15th 2017, 5:36 PM

Stay safe folks and don’t take risks.

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:36 PM

What do you call a Kerry man with a long string attached to him? ……………………….A kite.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:32 PM

Public services closed but private employers and banks have issued no guidelines for employees and the minister has been silent

Mute Pádraig O'Faolain
    Favourite Pádraig O'Faolain
    Oct 15th 2017, 11:59 PM

@marg fitzgerald: not them all and I know a few private companies that closed up shop for tomorrow.

Mute John Ryan
    Favourite John Ryan
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:19 PM

Over 40% of the population of the state reside in the 8 counties under the red alert
    - so hopefully serious injury and any potential loss of life will be as low as possible

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:14 PM

@John Ryan: imho they should close all schools – wind will be at its worst when schools close. Dart and trains are bound to have a tree down.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Oct 15th 2017, 9:17 PM

@John Ryan: Im gonna hide under a bush.

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    Oct 15th 2017, 9:05 PM

Ive seen flocks of crows flying inland this evening in silence and cattle moving to sheltered areas. The animals know what’s coming . Scary stuff

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:51 PM

If you meet a lion, a Tin man and a scarecrow you are well and truly In the sh.ite..

Mute Billy Connelly
    Favourite Billy Connelly
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:08 PM

@Dave Sherman: only if you’re a witch

Mute Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Favourite Larissa Caroline Nikolaus
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:46 PM

@Dave Sherman: that’ll just prove your not in Kansas anymore

Mute Gerry Ryan deG
    Favourite Gerry Ryan deG
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:23 PM

Seems that the schools in East Limerick will be closed due to the ‘Red’ status but the schools in West Tipp will be open due to ‘Orange’ status. It’s great to know that official Ireland is taking this seriously and that Ophelia has been told to keep away from West Tipp.
    Let’s hope the parents of Children in the areas near the Red warning have the sense that officialdom lacks and keep their children at home.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:16 PM

@Gerry Ryan deG: bang on – ridiculous to take a chance

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:26 PM

@Gerry Ryan deG: dept of ed have called it – all schools closed – common sense really and should have called it earlier. Will be major inconvenience to many parents but …. the right decision.

Now who can tell the dog that the wall is off?

Mute Red hurley
    Favourite Red hurley
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:34 PM

Is that cork in the middle of that cloud?

Mute Kevin Lynch
    Favourite Kevin Lynch
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:48 PM

@Red hurley: it’s a bit early for the champagne

Mute zippo
    Favourite zippo
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:33 PM

@Red hurley: there’s always a cloud over us in Cork…its called Dublin rule ! We demand our independence now ! Caulfield for Taoiseach…Keane for President…Coveny for the iron mask.

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:01 PM

Insurance companies are brickin it .

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:09 PM

@Slim Browne:

They will just pass on the costs to us with increased premiums. That’s the whole concept of Insurance. The majority pay to cover the minority

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne

@Slim Browne: most of the higher risks are off cover or subject to large excesses. Larger insurers have taken global warming and related events seriously, displacing risk back on to policyholders.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:15 PM

In 70 years time people applying for pension will say…..They remember the Day of the Big Wind…..Pension age will be 80 then…..

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:18 PM

@Fiona deFreyne:

Global warming risk?

Insurance is based upon maths. You can get Insurance on anything you want and the premium is calculated based upon the likelihood of the event occurring.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:29 PM

@Slim Browne: people with policies bricking the renewal !!!

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:31 PM

@Nick Allen: easy with the common sense there Nick

Mute Christy Pop
    Favourite Christy Pop
    Oct 15th 2017, 11:39 PM

@Nick Allen: act of god ,they wont payout

Mute Leo A. Anderson-McFly
    Favourite Leo A. Anderson-McFly
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:51 PM

It’s gonna be tropic!

Mute Rex Banner
    Favourite Rex Banner
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:13 PM

“Professor! Without knowing precisely what the danger is, would you say its time for our viewers to crack eachothers heads open and feast off of tge goo inside?”

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:41 PM

Not a mention off Rosslare ferries the main ferry port in the country,
    Forgot not in Dublin

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:08 PM

@Mark:

What do you mean by main?

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:18 PM

@Mark: County Wexford ( all of) is in the red warning area..

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:43 PM
    Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:14 PM

@Mark:

Purpose of the link? Doesn’t explain why you believe a port that carries a fraction of the traffic and cargo as Dublin Port is the main port

Mute Thomas McGilly
    Favourite Thomas McGilly
    Oct 15th 2017, 10:27 PM

@Mark: waaaa waaaaa waaaaa waaaa. Meeeeedja hate us forgotten folk. Dry your eyes mate.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo

I’ve such a sense of foreboding, I just wish it would flippin come and go!!

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:10 PM

@mcgoo: it’s a bit like a date with with a fella called Harvey.

Mute Erich Butler
    Favourite Erich Butler
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:40 PM

What everyone needs to do is just take a deep breath, calm down, and start preparing their bodies for the Thunderdome. That is the new law. I think people should freak the geek out. Withdraw all your money and hide it.

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:36 PM

The Dublin Underground will be shutdown all day tomorrow.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:12 PM

@Eric De Red: man, and I was hoping to get the Redadilly line to Jervis Circus

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:34 PM

Why are people joking about a life threatening situation?

Mute Bryan Mc Hugh
    Favourite Bryan Mc Hugh
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:59 PM

@marg fitzgerald: Helps them to cope with the anxiety.

Mute Finnster
    Favourite Finnster
    Oct 15th 2017, 9:05 PM

I’ve seen flocks of crows flying inland this evening from the coast of galway and cattle heading to sheltered areas. The animals know what’s coming. Scary stuff

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:22 PM

Well so long as Dublin is Ok!!

Mute Billy Connelly
    Favourite Billy Connelly
    Oct 15th 2017, 5:25 PM

Sharknada

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:05 PM

Hope people are sensible and checkin regularly on Facebook that they are ok

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:41 PM

@Brian: thanks, I’ll check Facebook to see if I’m okay.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:14 PM

I think that if one looks at the last proposed computer model track it is due to make landfall in Cork and travel up over the country – it is a very minor change in track but a major change in emphasis shift and the worst of the winds will be east of the storm and had it travelled up the coast the the west would be the worst hit, but as things stand it will be the south, south-east and parts of the east – but that could change with every passing hour – so it is important to keep up with all the latest official forecasts to know exactly with is happening.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:35 PM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: well said. Department of Education have made the right decision for our young folk. All going well by Tuesday we will have little damage and no causalities. Likely to be power cuts etc

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Oct 15th 2017, 8:42 PM

@lavbeer: it’s times like these when doomsday prepers look slightly less insane

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:10 PM

Looks like it might be a little breezy in spots.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:44 PM

@Fiona deFreyne:
    I hope no old person or child is hurt going to mass in the morning, they will be told they deserved it by some on here.

Mute John Culhane
    Favourite John Culhane
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:31 PM

Day off tomorrow wahoo

Mute Sinead m
    Favourite Sinead m
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:12 PM

That’s a scary picture

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 15th 2017, 6:58 PM

Hopefully the colder sea temperatures nearer Ireland will suck as much as possible of the destructive energy out of this former hurricane.

However bad it will be, it will be mild compared to what happened recently to some islands in the Caribbean.

Mute Graham Kelly
    Favourite Graham Kelly
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:36 PM

Hopefully gone by Tuesday morning for our trip of a lifetime trip ( ironically to the carribean ).

Mute munsterman
    Favourite munsterman
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:24 PM

Ah shur it’ll be grand..

Mute The Irish Gripe
    Favourite The Irish Gripe
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:13 PM

Good job the RSA released that statement, I’d never have guessed!!!!! Another shower of overpaid underworked gits sitting in offices spending tax payers money . Put them out on the roads with speed guns ..

Mute Alan Murphy
    Favourite Alan Murphy
    Oct 15th 2017, 10:10 PM

@The Irish Gripe: of would you fk off going off the point.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Oct 15th 2017, 11:08 PM

Bus Eireann has grounded it’s fleet until 2pm tomorrow. That’s unprecedented. Wonder what will Dublin bus do? If a bus ends up on it’s side the driver will be blamed.

Mute Denis White
    Favourite Denis White
    Oct 15th 2017, 10:22 PM

Buddy at work told me, he’d seen countless people putting out their Wheelie Bins earlier

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:29 PM

Trump certainly let off a very big one.

Mute Eamonn Atyea
    Favourite Eamonn Atyea
    Oct 15th 2017, 10:04 PM

Ah booollox will my flight be cancelled

Mute Ich bin brendan
    Favourite Ich bin brendan
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:52 PM

I work on the promenade Salthill Galway, still hoping to get the text. They’re praying that we’ll be in the building before it hits and the worst of it over by 5pm

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Oct 15th 2017, 11:48 PM

Leo is hoping this gets rid of the homeless.

Mute Louise Ní Riain
    Favourite Louise Ní Riain
    Oct 16th 2017, 12:59 AM

Great day for drying

Mute Craig Barry
    Favourite Craig Barry
    Oct 16th 2017, 10:33 AM

@Louise Ní Riain: with the torrential rain?

Mute classic
    Favourite classic
    Oct 15th 2017, 11:18 PM

I pitty the birds holding on to the trees for dear life!

Mute Louise O'Flynn
    Favourite Louise O'Flynn
    Oct 16th 2017, 12:47 AM

Just to clarify- ALL the ferry services from Ros a’Mhíl to The Aran Islands are cancelled. In case anyone was planning a daytrip.

Mute purple rain
    Favourite purple rain
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:39 PM
    Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Oct 16th 2017, 2:49 AM

I seen a flock of insurance gent’s fleeing to the hills