You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
FROM JANUARY 1ST, new rules on the restrictions of how to use pest controls that have been agreed by the European Union will be enforced in Ireland.
The new restrictions will mean that stores that sell rat poison will have to keep a record of how many rodenticides are sold, and professional pest controllers will have to sign up to a register to ensure they have the proper training.
In a statement to TheJournal.ie, the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine said that the rules would also affect the farming community.
As of the 1 January 2018, a Pest Management Users (PMU) will be required to provide their PMU Number to purchase rodenticide for trained professional use. Farmers will be required to provide their herd/flock number to purchase professional use product.
As of the 1 January 2018, retailers/wholesalers will be required to keep records of rodenticides purchased and sold.
EU rules
The EU has voted to introduce new restrictions for AVK rodenticide products because of their “potential risks to people and animals from primary and secondary poisoning and to the environment”.
AVK rodenticides – short for Anti-Vitamin K rodenticides, a name used to describe the way in which rodents are poisoned – are the most widely-used type of rodenticides.
Despite AVK rodenticides being classified as toxic for reproduction, particularly in the high quantities that are found in rodenticides, their “use is permitted… since there is currently no satisfactory alternative product available to control rodent pests”.
But, from the New Year, new restrictions will track the use of these pesticides in stores, on farms and in the professional pest control sector.
According to the Department, under the new rules, the general public will be restricted to using rodenticides only indoors for mice control, and in and around buildings for rat control, in both cases in tamper-resistant bait stations.
The concentration of poison in products available to the public will also be reduced:
Due to the classification, the content of the active substance in the products was also reduced to <30 mg/kg for the general public. Consequently, the toxicity of rodenticides available to the general public will be reduced.
Professional pest controllers can also use rodenticides in open areas, waste dumps and sewers, but will be required to sign up to a register.
“Trained professional users will be required to register with the Department as a Pest Management Trained Professional User. In order to register they need to be appropriately trained and must carry out CPE to maintain their status on the register.”
Brendan Ryan, co-founder and director of Irish Pest Control Association said that there were pest controllers out there that operated “below the standard that should be expected”.
Farmers will also be affected by the new regulations – they will only be allowed to use specific types of rodenticides (anticoagulants) in and around buildings and only in tamper-resistant bait stations unless they complete additional training.
They won’t be permitted to use permanent baiting or pulsed baiting techniques, as professional pest controllers can.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
31 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Can I just say, it is a pleasure to listen to Alison Curtis in the mornings at the weekend. Her upbeat humour and generally positively is an absolute joy and puts me in a good mood and and there’s always laugh out loud moments, if only there was more like her on the radio. I’d be proud to call her a fellow Irish person even if she wasn’t born here. Keep doing your thing Alison nobody should ever be told to good home.
My wife who comes from NYC is pretty much in the same boat. You will get that in every country though. I moved to the UK for a while and was told to go back to Ireland whenever they’d a few drinks in them or ran out of steam during a discussion.
No matter where you go in the world that is the kind of attitude many have. It’s sad but whilst we do our best to make them aware of their behaviour I don’t think it will stop anytime soon, human nature and all that.
@Stephen Mc Elligott: G’day just been reading that woman’s sad comments, and it make you realise that there are right Drongo’s around, I’ve traveled much of South East Asia, who was seconded to join the Royal Navy from the Royal Aussie Navy during the 2nd WW, he was in the Submarine Business as a Scientific and Ordinance Officer, which meant that he was on various Boats, experimenting with underwater stuff!. (In my set of rules; it matters not where you are from, what skin colour you have, it is simply how you are to me & I am to you! (And always take care of each other if you can?
@Stephen Mc Elligott: While i would agree with your comment, your profile photo makes my blood boil!!! Have enough respect for women to make the right choice about their own bodies. #repealthe8th
@alisoncurtis here’s an idea maybe you could go back to Canada and when you get there you can arrange for an Irish emmigrant who has gained Canadian citizenship to come back here. And here’s me thinking that Ireland of 2018 was an inclusive society. I guess we still have some work to do. Keep doing what you’re doing Alison, feck the begrudgers
I was due to be naturalized on the day of Storm Ophelia, and had to miss the rearranged ceremony due to being in Liverpool; but I will be ‘become’ legally Irish on the 21st, and I can’t wait. I say ‘become’ legally as coming from Liverpool, I didn’t feel English/British, but that was due to my Irish ancestry. On the 21st I will find some inner peace to my self-identity.
@Ian Heaton: Your accent will tell everyone you’re English. Also not being able to talk about how badly Irish was taught in your school will tell people you aren’t Irish.
@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: I am 1st generation irish born if irish parents in England. I am 64 and always held an Irish passport. My Father fought for Collins and was in the first An Garda Siachana. I have continually been referred to as the ‘Englishman’ despite being a resident here for many years. The Irish on the Island of Ireland do not recognise you as being Irish unless you have an Irish accent.
So sorry to hear this, Alison. For a country that saw millions upon millions of its people find refuge elsewhere – and often not with the warmest of welcomes – you would think you would be warmly embraced. That said, I suspect ’tis but a small but vocal number of trolls who wish you anything but céad míle fáilte.
Alison sure we eat our own too.Spent the age of 3 through 13 living in Limerick being told to go home to Dublin where I was born.When we moved back to Dublin I was told to go back to Limerick.Its all noise.
@Pateen Johncruck: try dealing with this your whole life, even as a kid. I have done so, despite being Irish and raised here, because I have a hard to place accent and an English dad, plus the fact all my Irish family is in other parts of the country.
I am at a point whereby after 30 years, I’ve given up trying to figure out what I am. I hold dual uk/Irish citizenship with Irish nationality, but don’t feel like I belong to either. Ireland is my home because that’s where the people I love are, but there is nowhere my heart calls home.
I grew up in a small village, so whilst we were very warmly welcomed, it was always clear that we weren’t locals. I was aware of this from age 3 or 4, so a very long time.
I have made peace that I will never feel as if I truly belong anywhere. I don’t have a true sense of identity that comes from knowing, feeling and understanding where you belong, so I go with what my documents say, even if that’s not what I feel.
@Mirabelle Stonegate: sorry to here that, quick ? so you can have an english passport even thou you were born here , is that because your dad was born in england?
@Elvis Polkasalad: I was born there but raised here from 6 months, and have an Irish passport. But yeah, if I had been born here, my father’s status would entitle me to s UK passport.
I suppose as another person said you get those people everywhere. The only response needed is to assure yourself that regardless of your geographical location you are leading a full , happy and open life. They aren’t. If their mind is so closed, as to form that opinion they surely cant be happy or fulfilled. Just wish them well and move on being happy.
Having listened to Alison for several years I have to say she is one of the most energetic and entertaining radio presenters around and we are lucky to have here. So forget the begrudgers and keep on doing what you do best .
I don’t really understand how anyone puts any merit in what a troll would say. These people will just look for whatever perceived weakness they can identify, so I’m not sure it’s about being from another country. The only thing that you should feel for a troll is pity. For someone to go online and attack another person means they have psychological problems. An honest argument is fine but anyone saying ‘go home’ should be pitied and then ignored.
@Jim Power: I’ve had it said to my face. Kicker? I’m Irish, though uk born (lived here since I was 6mo with an Irish mum). Problem is, I have a largely unplaceable accent. I’m Cork raised, with a westmeath mother and Oxfordshire dad, and went to school with people from Tipperary. I speak German with a perfect accent. I have also worked hard to ensure I don’t develop a strong Cork accent. Mix all that with British and American TV shows and you get people abusing you for being anything from American to eastern European and everything in between!
@Joey Navinski: it’s not my favourite accent, though definitely not the worst. Got teased a lot by English family also for it. Plus I have always found stronger Cork accents hard to understand, so worked hard to make sure that didn’t happen to me.
There was also a couple of weeks when I was a kid where something went wrong and my parents and I lost the ability to properly understand each other.. three people, three accents, all going “sorry, what? Repeat that?” Every time something was said. It was…unusual.
@Jenny: I would not be a massive fan of her choice of music, but the song would be over in a few minutes and would get to hear her upbeat personality and sexy voice.
My folks are Irish and both speck Irish as their first language. They went to London in the 1960′s and had 3 kids and then moved back to Ireland in the 70′s. All of us kids are plastic paddys and we have worked all over the place. In the UK you would meet a few Tw@ts who would call you Irish names. In Ireland I have meet a few Tw@ts who called me English names. Combined total Tw@t number was less then 5 I’m sure…but they all got the same response from me..Fucc off!….i have told my Irish kids to use same response as needed and don’t waste time thinking about the Tw@ts you will meet up with in life….just my 2 cents
@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: ok, so this woman whose family are Irish and has contributed to Irish society and wants to be part of this country and raise an Irish family isn’t entitled to call herself Irish! Also how do you describe all those Irish who are now naturalized Australians, Canadians, Americans? What do want to call them! Just because you have a name as Gaelige doesn’t entitle you to determine who is Irish and who’s not!
@Ian Heaton: Not at all. You’re more used to foreigners calling themselves British once they get citizenship because Britain isn’t a country. How was your experience of learning Irish in school? The Irish education system etc?
@Ciara Ni Mhurchu: if I had US citizenship, lived there long term, contributed to life there, raised a family as Americans and paid taxes, then over time, i would be entitled to call myself an American, yes
@Cionnaith Mac Suibhne: He uses it when heading back to NZ after being back home. Still doesn’t make him a kiwi though, just an Irish man with citizenship.
@Johnny Mason: ok! Fair point! But let her say that outright! Cut the ambiguity! Also who is to say that Alison Curtis hasn’t gotten rid of her Canadian citizenship? Hypothetically speaking? Also what would her view be on my neighbours 2 doors down from me! Both Chinese born and raised, but naturalized in 2009 & 2013 respectively and who had to renonounce their Chinese citizenship as the PRC does not permit dual nationality! How does she describe them? Irish or Chinese??
@Johnny Mason: yes you can renounce! Also many countries do not permit dual citizenship! You must surrender one nationality! For goodness sake, do your homework! Stopped be honest, you could have done some research before your answered! With respect, you are starting to come across as someone who likes her own voice and what is said goes! Also if you say is true, come to my neighbours and tell them face to face what you say is true and how their legal standing with their homeland was bull! You really are coming across as someone shooting down their own argument by lack of education and unwillingness to research!
Ah sorry for the crap you have to put up with. Usually they are unhappy people with unhappy lives and look to spread the misery. I know it’s hard not to take the bate but please feel pity for them and then move on. I work with many immigrants and they all truly light up my life. They and you enrich our country and I’m delighted to call you a fellow citizen and Irish woman.
To Alison and all those who have come here from other lands…Thank you for making our country a better place. You are one of us now and you are entitled to call yourselves Irish. You have contributed to the new Ireland, a better Ireland, an Ireland that is thankfully different from the insular one I grew up in. It still has a way to go but you will all contribute to a modern, tolerant society that shows empathy, love and positivity. I thought we were there in the 80s but I had no idea it would take this long. There are a few more hurdles to rid us of the bigotry and closed minds of the remaining few who are very good at making their feelings known and still try to control the narrative on a daily basis but their time is up. Remember for every one that might speak harsh words to make you feel uncomfortable there is a silent majority who welcome you as part of the family with open arms.
As an Irish person with Australian citizenship I’m in a similar position… There are car bumper stickers here saying “Love it or leave it” and “Fit in or f**k off”. They anger me… more for other immigrants who don’t “pass” as well or don’t fit into the category of “we don’t mean you, you speak English (implicitly: and are white)”.
Completely unacceptable for people to discredit or disparage based on your accent or place of birth. Call it for what it is… racism.
Good on you for saying it, it may be more acceptable for some people to hear if from a Canadian-Irish person than some other nationalities but may make those people think twice before saying it to someone else.
Alison I think you’re great.
These coward trolls should be made Public. A TV show maybe where they doorstep random trolls and ask them to stand over their comments?
@White Rabbit: Some celebrities did that over here in the UK – they actually found out where the trolls lived and doorstepped them! The trolls were not very keen to be filmed – and one even apologised – as far as I remember..not so brave when confronted!
Sorry Alison that you’ve had that happen to you. i well remember you talking on air about getting citizenship. You described it as a really proud moment. I felt proud to have you here and I’ve always enjoyed listening to you on the radio. Thanks for everything
I totally agree with you Alison. I felt the same way when I moved from Germany in 1998. A year or two became 20 years and I nearly spent more years of my life in Ireland than Germany. Even though I never took on Irish citizenship..I will always be more Irish than German! You’re living in a country where your heart is…that’s Irish enough in my opinion
Born in NYC to Irish parents…I get ya, even though there’s only a tiny hint of a Yankee accent it’s been said to me. Anyone who chooses their citizenship deserves extra congrats! You’re Irish if you feel Irish hun, to hell with the ar$es who think otherwise.
GO BACK TO CANADA! For holidays and fun times. Come back whenever, stay for however long you want. Down with that sort of thing ( the xenophobia I mean)
the people that say them things are the people that never left the country. A few years back i was getting a bus in Dublin and a fella across from dressed head to toe in Adidas drinking out of a can was complaining about forigeners coming over taking Irish jobs, i say if i offered him a job he would run a mile
I think the people who tell you to go back to Canada are just idiots! I’m living in Canada just over 7 years now (was born and lived in Ireland for 28 years previous), I’m eligible for Citizenship and will most likely get it to make life easier here but I would never ever consider myself Canadian. Each to there own I suppose.
I remember that photo in The Irish Times of a smiling new citizen,Alison Curtis & I was so delighted to have one of my favourite radio broadcasters become one of us.All our new Irsh citizens are very welcome.
great that you stayed in Ireland and made such a great success of life here for yourself !! stop being so hard on yourself ! you were NEVER the WORST PA…. ;-))
@Fabio Dillon: Unless this Lass has a Mother who was born in Ireland, she can never be Irish, however she has become a Citizen of Ireland which is acceptable! It is a shame about these Trolls, their Tongues should be cut out , no more “tongue in Cheek” then Pal! RIP.
Hi Alison, Sorry to read about your experience. A country is judged by the nature, actions and deeds of the majority of its’ people but the nature, actions and deeds of a minority of people which shame the Irish are far outweighed so please always feel at home here.
@Fabio Dillon: @ if all it took to be Irish was to be born and raised here, then that would mean that a child that was born here but had for example African or Pakistani parents, they would be Irish and the child born of Irish parents and grandparents etc but born outside of the country would not be considered Irish. In other words the rat born in the stable would have to called a horse, even though it is a rat.
Alison, it’s hard to believe that Irish people are saying this to you. But none the less some are. You got out of your bed and made something of yourself. America, Canada England Australia and many more countries are infested with us, the Irish, I am confident that you are paying your taxes, and that is all that matters, unlike some of our fellow countrymen and women living illegally in other countries. Beware the old adage folks, ” don’t point your fingers with dirty hands”
Very interesting, I notice that a thread where I entered to a very interesting debate with a couple of persons on this issue seems to have been deleted!, one of those persons, who like myself has a name as gaelige,was adament, amongst many examples that Alison is a Canadian with Irish citizenship, nothing more and with me asking how she would describe overseas neighbours of mine who became Irish nationals and had to surrender their original nationality! I asked if she would describe those persons as Irish or their original nationality! Not only was that question not answered, but that entire thread was deleted! Nice to see people stand by their principles by running away from a full debate!
Do these idiots not realize that it’s virtually impossible to go to any corner of the world, and not find a paddy. I would like to think that our expats receive a level of respect, wherever they are. The same level of respect that should be given to visitors and people that have moved to Ireland.
How did you get your first ‘break’ into Radio? How did you get that top PA job? How many other candidates for that and the Ian Dempsey Show job? Many have tried.
All my family are irish. I was born in London and lived there until i was 10. I moved closed to limerick city and i got awfully bullied as a kid for my accent when i moved to ireland. I found it hard to adjust.. i mean them kids didnt know any better but especially with an english accent along with the past history etc.. certain stigma to it
Great article. You’ll always find insular, xenophobic people wherever you go. I’ve found the same very occasional prejudices. However the one thing I would say is don’t compare Canadians to Irish and say the Irish win 100% of the time. Every country, culture and ethnic group have their good and bad. That’s what makes the world different. This place isn’t utopia by far, and I havent yet lived in a country that us. You’ve got to take the good and the bad and make it work wherever you choose to live. However, if you do, you need to put your roots down and become part of the fabric; and that really shows in your article. Well done Alison!
All my family are irish. I was born in London and lived there until i was 10. I moved closed to limerick city and i got awfully bullied as a kid when i moved to ireland. I found it hard to adjust.. i mean them kids didnt know any better but especially with an english accent along with the past history etc.. certain stigma to it
I used to listen to Todayfm all the time especially Ian Dempsey and Ray Darcy. I heard Alison Curtis a couple of times and thought she was okish. That was until 2014 when israel had just carried out it’s latest round of genocide against the Gaza Strip in occupied Palestine. She was spouting on about the passing of Joan Rivers and how great she was. This was the same zionist Joan Rivers who had said she hoped israel bombed the Palestinian filth into the stone age and how right and justified hey were. When I sent Alison an email on her show reminding her of zionist Joan Rivers comments and how strong we Irish felt about the suffering of the Palestinians and our support for them. She said “Oh I know she said some unpleasant things but at the end of the day it was her show and she could say whatever she wanted, so tough. I asked her if she understood the depth of outrage Irish people felt about the genocide being committed against the Palestinians, she blanked me. So I have never listened to her show again or if she fills in for some of the others presenters I switch it off. She might have an Irish citizenship on paper but she’ll never be Irish in heart and soul or in a lot of peoples eyes either.
“welcome to Ireland” Alison I see you meet the best we have to offer!!?
Just wit till ya see the referendum build the hatred the spite, the hour than thousands, attitude, and the ‘who are you to have an opinion’ brigade will all be out ranting a siliikar type of ignorance and hatred towards others.
But thanks for choosing Ireland it is a lovely country, mostly nice friendly welcoming people such as yourself.
The nasties are a minority but with technology and no manners!
I’m é straining from the eh? Comment. ☺️
You are Canadian and an Irish passport holder. No issue with skilled individuals such as yourself staying in the country. However , economic immigrants with incompatible cultures who come here for a better life knowing that they can sponge from our generous welfare system while having 3 or 4 kids , those types are not who Ireland should be permitting entry to. They dislike our culture and strive to spread their own backward ways.
I used to listen to Todayfm all the time especially Ray Darcy and Ian Dempsey. I heard Alison Curtis a couple of times and thought she was ok. That was until 2014 when israel had just carried out it’s latest round of genocide against the Gaza strip in occupied Palestine. She was spouting on about the passing of joan rivers and how great she was. This was the same zionist joan rivers who had said she hoped israel bombed the Palestinian filth into the stone age and how right and justified they were. When I sent Alison an email on her show reminding her of zionist joan rivers comments and how strong we Irish felt about the suffering of the Palestinians and our support for them.
She said oh I know she said some unpleasant things but at the end of the day it was her show and she could say whatever she wanted so tough. I asked her if she understood the depth of out rage Irish people felt about the genocide being committed against the Palestinians, she blanked me. So I have never listened to her show again. She might have an Irish citizenship on paper but she’ll never be Irish in heart and soul or in a lot of peoples eyes.
59 people dead following nightclub fire in North Macedonia
Updated
3 hrs ago
that's a wrap
And the winner of Dancing With The Stars is...
18 mins ago
St Patrick's Day
Quiz: Can you spot which of these 'Irish' sayings are real and which are completely made-up?
22 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 157 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 109 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 141 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 111 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 132 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 38 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 90 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 97 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 68 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say