You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Mary McAleese: "Utterly offensive" New York Times reached for "lazy tabloid stereotype"

The former president says she herself was a J1 student.

Updated 10.46 am

MARY MCALEESE HAS written to the New York Times over its Berkeley article which the former president says reached for a “lazy tabloid stereotype”.

The Irish Times has published the letter from McAleese who said that the famous newspaper should be ‘hanging its head in shame’.

Referring to herself as a former J-1 student from 1971, McAleese says that the paper “rushed to judgement” on the victims “without the remotest evidence”.

Adding to her letter on RTÉ’s Today with Sean O’Rourke, McAleese said she found the article to be “utterly offensive”.

“It was so insensitive, so insensitive it was dissociated with any sense of human empathy and human feeling and any sense of human grief,” she said.

Berkeley Balcony Collapse Flags and flowers at the site of the building collapse. AP / Press Association Images AP / Press Association Images / Press Association Images

The two term former president said that she found it “remarkable” that there was “no focus on the obvious context, which was a balcony that should not have collapsed, collapsed.”

Her intervention follows an apology the paper published yesterday for the “pain the story caused”.

The story was first published on Tuesday evening, the same day as the deaths of the six J1 students. It claimed that the visa programme was an “embarrassment for Ireland”.

The piece was titled ‘Deaths of Irish Students in Berkeley Balcony Collapse Cast Pall on Program’ also made reference to two incidents of Irish students damaging properties in California.

The piece was roundly criticised in Ireland and abroad for being insensitive, for suggesting blame on behalf of the dead students and for also being simply inaccurate in some of its claims.

PastedImage-27157 New York Times New York Times

It led to the paper publishing a clarification in which it said that it never intended to blame victims of the Berkeley tragedy.

The paper’s public editor Margaret Sullivan also described details about the development of the piece. It also published an email exchange between one of the story’s writers and the paper’s national editor Alison Mitchell.

Mitchell told Sullivan that, in hindsight, the second paragraph which refers to “high-profile episodes involving drunken partying” should not have been included.

The email from one of the reporters on the story, Adam Nagourney, to Mitchell also explained the rationale for the focus on the J1 programme:

This is what we – I – was trying to do, and I mean this as by way of explanation and not excuse. By the time I came on the story, it had already been on our site for five hours or so and we wanted to do something to move it forward. The idea for a second-day story was to focus on the J-1 visa program, and the number of Irish students who, through the program, came here in the summer; I think that was a relatively new thought to us and many of our readers.There are obviously positive aspects to the program, which has been a great resource for thousands of young Irish students, as well as negative ones. Looking back, I had the balance wrong; I put too much emphasis on the negative aspects, and they were too high in my story.

Read: Berkeley Mayor says fatal balcony collapse was ‘more than likely’ caused by water damage >

Read: The New York Times says it never intended to blame victims of the Berkeley tragedy >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

103 Comments
    Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jun 18th 2015, 8:45 AM

And yet the Irish media won’t look at or criticise it’s own! Bother the examiner and Star had disgusting front pages which would cause more distress than the NY Times article

Mute Paddy Obrien
    Favourite Paddy Obrien
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:10 AM

@wayne, the n.y.t is a w.a.s.p production who would look upon the Irish as a pack of drunks with a sneer of disapproval, remember when they first landed on the moon the Irishman on board..Michael Collins, wasn’t allowed set foot on the moon, he was left in the mother ship while the two wasps got to do the moon walk, the wasps simply detest us

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:17 AM

If they detested him so much why did they let him go to the moon? And what the f*ck is a w.a.s.p?

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:22 AM

…You know the Michael Collins who went to the moon (as a pilot with a specific role) was Italian/American right?

Mute Barry O'Connor
    Favourite Barry O'Connor
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:25 AM

White Anglo-Saxon Protestant

Mute James O'Nolan
    Favourite James O'Nolan
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:35 AM

True, but I think the difference is you’d expect more from the NYT. If it was the New York Post or Fox News saying this, I doubt there would be such an uproar.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:48 AM

White Anglo Saxon Protestant!

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:55 AM

James why would you expect any better from self obsessed snooty manhattan liberals who masquerade as enlightened and tolerant people but they actually look down on anything beyond Fifth Avenue.

Mute Paddy Obrien
    Favourite Paddy Obrien
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:56 AM

@guy, wrong…his folks came from county cork, Ireland

Mute Beano
    Favourite Beano
    Jun 18th 2015, 10:37 AM

What do people want…heads on a plate? The NYT article was poor taste but they have since apologised so time to move on. It’s generally a well respected newspaper and mistakes like this are rare.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:33 AM

yeah all the indignation and yet 2 of our own papers and we hear nothing from them

Their editors haven’t being called upon to apologise, come on radio and explain their decisions

They should have had a better grasp of the feeling in this country

Mute mcdb06
    Favourite mcdb06
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:40 AM

@paddyobrien You do realise that for the Apollo missions 2 men land on the moon and the command module pilot stays on board orbiting the moon. Wind up merchant

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:44 AM

I’m still laughing at how moronic paddy o brien is !! michael collins was first and foremostly an American citizen and considered himself Italian american as he was born and lived in Rome before emigrating to america. always a conspiracy. oh and btw, his father was a us major in the army and born n louisianna. His mother is Italian.

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:45 AM

His grandparents on his father’s side came from Ireland. He himself was born in Italy to a father who was American born. His mother’s family originated in mainland Britain. His nationality/passport was American.

Mute Louise Maxwell
    Favourite Louise Maxwell
    Jun 18th 2015, 12:03 PM

White Anglo Saxon Protestant

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:49 PM

I wonder if it was Perth instead of Berkley and they were young Irish immigrants instead of college students,would we have the same outrage.Doubt it..

Mute Supes Kz
    Favourite Supes Kz
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:58 PM

His name is Michael Collins clearly he had significant Irish heritage. His father James collins was born into a large Catholic Irish American family and his grandfather bernard was from Cork Ireland. http://www.irishcentral.com/The-Irish-emigrants-grandson-who-took-part-in-historic-mission-to-the-moon.html

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Jun 18th 2015, 3:42 PM

It sounds like you agree with paddy o brien and his utterly ridiculous conspiracy theory

Mute Kevin Geoghegan
    Favourite Kevin Geoghegan
    Jun 18th 2015, 3:44 PM

this was brought to my attention yesterday night. can it be legal to show a photo and put it on the front page of a national newspaper?

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:04 PM

White Anglo Saxon Protestant.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:07 PM

When my ex brother in law who’s originally from Jamaica was visiting from the States, a wasp landed on his shoulder. So I said to him: “don’t look now but there’s a white Anglo Saxon Protestant on your shoulder”. It cracked him up.

Mute Supes Kz
    Favourite Supes Kz
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:18 PM

To he honest it’s not the place for it and I shouldn’t have commented only to say I agree with other posters that the Irish newspapers showing body bag pictures was also shameful and they like the nyt should be held to account. I only pointed out that Michael Collins was indeed of significant Irish heritage, I said nothing about any conspiracy theories.

Mute Rob Mahony
    Favourite Rob Mahony
    Jun 18th 2015, 8:40 AM

It needed to be said…perhaps from michael d rather than our former president but nonetheless a good letter and exactly the tone required. .

Mute Jack_Teller
    Favourite Jack_Teller
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:40 AM

In Mary’s world she is still the president.

Mute Biodiversity Watch On Biology-ie
    Favourite Biodiversity Watch On Biology-ie
    Jun 18th 2015, 7:23 PM

Jack_Idiot.

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Jun 18th 2015, 8:42 AM

Best president we had who held the office with dignity and honour. Still representing the voice of the people.
    Well done Mary!

Mute Irisheye
    Favourite Irisheye
    Jun 18th 2015, 8:52 AM

Mary Robinson described in the Seanad in 2011 as an “honourable tradition” of past presidents: that is, not commenting directly on Irish policy and politics.

This Mary up turned the role into one of personal agenda and self value.

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jun 18th 2015, 8:42 AM

People are now turning the New York Times reporting into a little sideshow in and of itself and it is distracting from the real tragedy here.

Mute Northern Craic
    Favourite Northern Craic
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:08 AM

Agreed

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:17 PM

It got very little coverage here in the states, hardly any of the networks covered it. It seems Irish lives don’t matter.

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Jun 18th 2015, 2:19 PM

There are many who can’t pass up on an opportunity let loose their righteous indignation.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Favourite Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:29 PM

“There are many who can’t pass up on an opportunity let loose their righteous indignation.”
    Talking about yourself dude …
    God bless the NYT

Mute Jerry Hoffman
    Favourite Jerry Hoffman
    Jun 18th 2015, 7:39 PM

“It got very little coverage here in the states, hardly any of the networks covered it. It seems Irish lives don’t matter.”
    Absolute bull, Paul!

It was the lead news story when it happened on ABC, NBC, CBS, CNN, etc. It was the lead on Good Morning America even before they covered massive flooding throughout the southern states.

And a pretty low blow to say “It seems Irish lives don’t matter.” Shame on you.

Mute Paul Darby
    Favourite Paul Darby
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:43 PM

No it was not the lead story on the day it happened, it barely even got mentioned on the evening news.Even the white woman in black face got more airtime than this tragedy. Don’t know what your ranting on about.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Favourite Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:01 AM

This was an utter tragedy. However, I read the NYT article several times because if all the criticism here and honestly found no offense there. It never blamed the victims. It did suggest that the J1 programme was being used by some students as a Spring Break type of outing to the States and we all know thats true. There are many students that come here to the US and work like I did back in 1971 and 1972 like Mary. I have hired many J1 students over the years and they have worked out very well. The others give the Irish a bad name. Maybe USIT needs to tighten up the regs on those that come out without jobs. My sincerest condolences to the victims families.

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:09 AM

I agree. There have now been more articles about the NYT than the accident itself. I long for a day when Irish people don’t care what papers/commentators I other countries say. That goes for positive and negative comments. We still seem to be desperate for attention.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:15 AM

BTW I am a former Director of USIT, just in case anyone accuses me of not knowing what I’m talking about.

See 40 more replies ▾
    Mute Aideen Thornton
    Favourite Aideen Thornton
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:20 AM

So you think such an article was appropriate the day after this horrible tragedy took place Michael? What does the behaviour of previous J1 students or the J1 programme itself got to do with what had happened in Berkeley? The tragedy was down to shoddy building work, there was no need for that article and the majority of it’s content.

Mute Shane Manton
    Favourite Shane Manton
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:21 AM

Desperate to be offended as well!

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:21 AM

It was the headline of the article that was really offensive and which was later changed. The insinuation was that this was yet another incident caused by the drunken Irish. It was put into the same category as the Irish who wrecked the apartment and who quite rightly, were an embarrassment to us all.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:28 AM

No matter what your view of the J1 programme is (I was in Berkeley myself a few years ago and it was fantastic, and we were well behaved) the fact of the matter is that the NYT thought it appropriate to publish an article about drunken J1 students causing mayhem and being an embarrassment to Ireland THE DAY AFTER 6 students fell to their deaths because of what looks to be shoddy building work. The article suggested indirectly that drunk J1 students are a serious problem, and the logical line drawn there was that because this particular group may have been drunk (does it matter if they were or not?) they were somehow responsible for what happened. There was literally no good that could come out of such an article the day after something like this happening and the writers should have know better.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:33 AM

Aideen, I totally agree with you about the quality of the construction. It appears that could be the cause of the accident. You don’t live here in the US so are probably not aware of many of the ‘incidents’ caused by the J1 partyers every summer so you don’t feel the frustration or embarrassment many of us do.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:35 AM

@Michael. Stop trying to defend and deflect. The NYT has admitted what they did was offensive and issued an apology. They have admitted that the article – albeit non intentionally – implied a correlation between this tragedy and the bad behaviour of some Irish students on a J1 visa.
    Likewise, you have used this awful event as a vehicle to criticise the J1 programme as well.
    The j1 is not a factor contributing to the death of these people. The only factors seem to be shoddy workmanship and lax building controls – ie things that have nothing to do with the status of the victims.

Mute Aideen Thornton
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:40 AM

I don’t care if every single J1 student that has visited America has embarrassed our country in the many ‘incidents’ you mention (I obviously know they haven’t), it has NOTHING to do with what has happened in Berkeley and should never have been brought up in the article. You seem to have a pretty bleak opinion of our J1 students so I’m delighted you’re a ‘former’ Director of USIT and are no longer looking after of our young that we send abroad – God forbid this incident would cause you any more ‘frustration or embarrassment.’

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:44 AM

“It appears that could be the cause of the accident”

Honestly, you sound disappointed that the kids aren’t to blame.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:49 AM

Also Michael, I was unable to get a job sorted before I went over to the states because nowhere was willing to take me on without a social security number. It took 3 weeks for that to be issued, during which time I lived off my savings. Surely, as a former director of USIT, you’re not suggesting students go over and work illegally are you?

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 10:04 AM

Guy, I’m not an engineer like the rest of you. I’d prefer to wait for the investigators report.

Mute Aideen Thornton
    Jun 18th 2015, 10:09 AM

No I’m not an engineer, but I work for a Construction firm and anyone in the construction industry that has seen the up-close shots of that balcony have made it very clear that it was not structurally sound. So unlike you, I don’t need to wait for an investigators report to know our 6 J1 students that lost their lives are not to blame.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 10:14 AM

@Anne Marie 1. The NYT article was indeed offensive to many – but not me. 2. The J1 programme was never intended to be one for Spring break party goers which is in danger of becoming. 3. I am not going to lay blame for this tragic accident anywhere right now (unlike many here). Let the investigators do their work.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 10:25 AM

@Aideen. I’m not blaming anyone. like you, I feel the evidence is obvious but I’m prepared to wait for the official findings. People on here are so quick to blame and judge.

Mute Aideen Thornton
    Jun 18th 2015, 10:39 AM

‘You don’t live here in the US so are probably not aware of many of the ‘incidents’ caused by the J1 partyers every summer so you don’t feel the frustration or embarrassment many of us do.’

I know Michael – some people are so quick to blame and judge.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:02 AM

I’ve been dealing with honest hard-working J1 students in various capacities for 20+ years. I am also acutely aware if the other kind. I haven’t rushed to judgement here.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:09 AM

“Maybe USIT needs to tighten up the regs on those that come out without jobs”
    “BTW I am a former Director of USIT,”
    ___
    The NYT MADE an apology for the naff article

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:11 AM

when were you in charge of USIT ?
    ” I feel the evidence is obvious but I’m prepared to wait for the official findings. People on here are so quick to blame and judge.”
    the evidence is obvious yet you say People on here are so quick to blame and judge.”
    All I can is wow

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:12 AM

and Mr Dinnenn J1 Visas has nothing to do with the tragedy
    a balcony was at fault

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:26 AM

Exactly. Saying anything about the J1 here is completely irrelevant. A group of young Irish people were on a balcony which collapsed, killing 6 of them. Their reasons for being in America are completely irrelevant. If 13 elderly holidaymakers had suffered the same fate there’d be none of this victim blaming.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:31 AM

@Michael. Again with the J1. It is not relevant to the death of these students and this is not an appropriate platform for you to air your criticism of it.
    Take your issues up with the relevant authorities and stop turning a tragic accident, which by all accounts, including the mayor of Berkley, seemed to happen because the balcony was supported by wooden beams which had subsequently rotted, into a tirade against the issuing of J1 visas.
    It is offensive, insulting and irrelevant.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:32 AM

@Guy@Dingle The subject under discussion is the NYT article which discusses the J1 programme. You all are getting sidetracked. No one – repeat – no one is blaming the victims. May they rest in peace.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:41 AM

@AnneMarie. This topic is about the Mary McAleese letter I’m response to the NYT article. The NYT article discusses the J1. I am NOT blaming the J1 programme for building a sub standard balcony that collapsed and caused this tragedy. I saying that they should not include the Parry goers in their programme.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:42 AM

Michael the NYT made an apology for the article ..
    J1 Visas has nothing to do with the deaths …
    You made this comment ?
    ” You don’t live here in the US so are probably not aware of many of the ‘incidents’ caused by the J1 partyers every summer so you don’t feel the frustration or embarrassment many of us do.”
    So take your “May they rest in peace.” and shove it you are tarring dead students – VERY DISTASTEFUL
    Read up on the dead young people Profiles here
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/eimear-walsh-profile-always-smiling-and-full-of-energy-1.2253544

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:45 AM

“I saying that they should not include the Parry goers in their programme.”
    We get American Student Party goers to Ireland …
    Are you suggesting the dead Irish students celebrating a 21st party were in the USA just to party ?
    “Both former Loreto girls had been working as hostesses at the Hana Zen sushi bar and Japanese restaurant overlooking San Francisco Bay at Pier 39.

Restaurant owner Alvin Louie told local media they were “hard workers and very sweet”.

The restaurant held a candlelight vigil in their memory.

Mr Louie said Ms Walsh was on the verge of promotion.

His wife, Angie Louie, said: “They were quick and smart. They were always smiling, enthusiastic and full of energy.” “

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:46 AM

@Michael. No you’re not an engineer. You seem to be a real estate agent which may be why you are unwilling to accept that the building was faulty.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:48 AM

A real estate agent and a former chief of USIT ???
    Probably a member of the Republican party as well and speaks fluent Irish to boot

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:48 AM

@Dingle. I have no idea what reading level you got to in school but I suggest some remedial work may be in order. Just read ALL my comments SLOWLY (or have an adult read them to you) and you’ll understand where I’m coming from. My comments have nothing to do with the victims.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:57 AM

God knows what Irish or American education you have obtained …

But if 6 American students died in similar circumstances in Ireland .. I guarantee you ‘we’ Irish would not be debating their behavior .. we would have empathy for their loved ones and America and investigating the actual cause of the tragedy.
    “I suggest some remedial work may be in order. ” I have higher qualifications than you

“My comments have nothing to do with the victims.”
    Then stop talking about J1 Visas / Party goers

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:58 AM

oops misread
    ““My comments have nothing to do with the victims.”
    100 % accurate …
    no empathy for the dead

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:17 PM

Michael what has your former occupation at USIT got to do it and how does that knowledge translate over to Journalism exactly?

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:34 PM

I`d give up if I were you Mr Dineen, whatever the merits of your views and notwithstanding your own experiences,people seem to have made up their minds on this one and don`t want to know.

Mute Michael Dinneen
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:42 PM

Agreed, PJ

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:59 PM

True PJ you have to be a fully signed up member of the lapel ribbon, coloured wristband brigade to have a valid opinion.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 18th 2015, 2:30 PM

Mr Dinneen, being a relative of one of the critically injured I read the nyt article yesterday and was shocked and grievously upset by the authors statement that j1 students cast a ‘pall’ over the programme and implying that all they do is party. It was hurtful and wrong and in very poor taste. You lack empathy sir, and for that I feel sorry for you. I promised myself that I would not comment in this matter anymore, but in your case I make an exception. Good day to you, and I hope you never ever have to wear my shoes.

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Jun 18th 2015, 2:33 PM

Shoddy workmanship and loose building controls are instantly recognisable to anyone who lives in Ireland.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:26 PM

“Shoddy workmanship and loose building controls are instantly recognisable to anyone who lives in Ireland.”

Inane comment …
    But then I did hear houses in Blackrock Village were built badly

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:27 PM

” notwithstanding your own experiences,” of selling property ?
    “don`t want to know” that Dineen has a thing about Irish students working in America ?

Mute Lolo
    Favourite Lolo
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:42 PM

Very sorry molly hope your relative recovers very soon. Thankfully the vast majority of the country are behind the students and their families affected. Not as many bad eggs!

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 18th 2015, 5:39 PM

Thank you Lolo. I know what you said is true it’s just that the self righteous misinformed few are very loud.

Mute Alison Kenny
    Favourite Alison Kenny
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:40 PM

So it is a substandard balcony now michael. I thought you had to wait for the report.

Mute Kevin M Smyth
    Favourite Kevin M Smyth
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:17 AM

Adam Nagourney, Mitch Smith and Quentin Hardy – The three reporters involved in the offensive piece.

With so many Irish Americans, it seems like crass idiocy to offend such a large chunk of America.

Mute An Lámh Láidir
    Favourite An Lámh Láidir
    Jun 18th 2015, 8:57 AM

Good old Mary. Would stoop to no depths to cash in on some publicity.

Mute E. O'Leary
    Favourite E. O'Leary
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:08 AM

Aodohan O’Riordan would fall into that category also.

Mute James O'Nolan
    Favourite James O'Nolan
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:28 AM

You’ll have to explain that one to me. How exactly is she “cashing in” on the tragedy? Why as a former president does she need extra publicity? It’s not like she’s looking for a slot on “I’m a celebrity get me out of here”.

Maybe, just maybe, she’s using her high profile to throw extra weight behind the protest to an article that caused extra distress and upset to the friends and families of victims and was a punch in a gut to all current and former J-1 students.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:16 AM

An Lámh Láidir ‏@AnLaimhLaidir 2h2 hours ago

I’m having the former president of ireland over for dinner tonight.
    i,e stalker

Mute An Lámh Láidir
    Favourite An Lámh Láidir
    Jun 18th 2015, 8:57 AM

This is what a 14 year presidential term does to someone; instills them with delusions of importance.

Mute Spilt Pint
    Favourite Spilt Pint
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:41 AM

What’s your excuse?

Mute michaelhenry
    Favourite michaelhenry
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:28 AM

Unfortunately instead of just reporting the story a lot of journalists have to add there own views into the reports- a lot of journalists think they should be stars and their word should be followed- but say boo back to them and the huffing starts-

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:57 AM

And Mary “wow” McAleese reaches for lazy emotional lecturing.

Mute Dingle Photographer
    Jun 18th 2015, 11:15 AM

And TheoWolfe “wow” the anonymous reaches for cynical comment..

Mute Brian Rochford
    Favourite Brian Rochford
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:57 PM

wow

Mute Jack_Teller
    Favourite Jack_Teller
    Jun 18th 2015, 10:01 AM

At least it’s stopped her banging on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on about same sex marriage and the Church.
    Which is a good thing really..

Mute Paul Murphy
    Favourite Paul Murphy
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:07 PM

The article by the NYT is akin to an Irish newspaper Article on Sept 11th referencing the various atrocities carried out by the Americans under the guise of war and counter terrorism over the last 80 years. Think Hiroshima, Vietnam and every other place they went to fight a fight that had nothing to do with them. It is disgraceful but then what more should we expect from a nation with the intelligence to elect 2 Bush’s as President for 2 terms each

Mute Jack_Teller
    Favourite Jack_Teller
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:50 PM

Even worse.
    It could be two Clintons by this time next year.
    And people bang on about the House of Saudi?

Mute Jerry Hoffman
    Favourite Jerry Hoffman
    Jun 18th 2015, 7:49 PM

This is ONE newspaper that we are talking about, and you are slamming a country of over 300 million? Cop on.

And it’s especially funny that you berate someone’s intelligence then write “2 Bush’s as President for 2 terms each” – the first Bush was only one term.

Mute TheoWolfe
    Favourite TheoWolfe
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:12 PM

Apart from an unnecessary apostrophe and a missing e Jerry.

Mute Northern Craic
    Favourite Northern Craic
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:01 AM

@Jack you are a dick.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Jun 18th 2015, 4:01 PM

Just saw on Sky app that the balcony was “decorative”. If so there should not have been a door leading on to it. The decorative balconies on the Georgian houses here in Dublin all have ordinary sash windows.

Mute Dan The Man
    Favourite Dan The Man
    Jun 18th 2015, 12:11 PM

dinneen you have your head so far up your ass it’s hard to believe you see anything stop self promoting and show some respect

Mute Supergran
    Favourite Supergran
    Jun 18th 2015, 9:03 AM

and you are?

Mute Supergran
    Favourite Supergran
    Jun 18th 2015, 6:45 PM

my comment looks lonely :(

Mute Chris Jones
    Favourite Chris Jones
    Jun 18th 2015, 1:04 PM

Ok, please get over it now.

Mute Roisin Ni Dhuill
    Favourite Roisin Ni Dhuill
    Jun 19th 2015, 12:41 AM

Mr Dinneen, I think you were one of the few who found the inappropriate nature and timing of the article acceptable. There may be J1 participants who take advantage but that is the world we live in. It is unacceptable to tarnish everyone with the same brush and particularly in the wake of such a tragedy. It could, for example, have been an afternoon children’s birthday party that this tragedy occurred at, killing parents and children, had different tenants been on the balcony with their friends at another time. The party hard student type is not an unfamiliar type in the U.S., I do believe there are plenty of American students who celebrate 21st birthday parties rather raucously and do so abroad as well. Or am I mistaken? American students abroad have created ripples too. I hope you see my point. It was excruciatingly painful timing and insensitive journalism, causing I am sure some damage to the reputation of Irish students. Having fun and having a party is not a crime, all students do it, wherever you go. Yes, there has been an apology by the NY Times but the seed has been sown and the emotional damage to families and friends (as well as the slight that was made towards the Irish in general if I’m honest) is irretractable since it went out in print. I haven’t seen an apology on their Facebook page for example. It might be worth reconsidering your opinion and maybe not making the same mistake of generalising quite so much as the newspaper did.

Mute Cristian Go
    Favourite Cristian Go
    Jul 15th 2016, 3:40 AM

Thought-provoking ideas – Incidentally , if your business has been looking for a NY DTF CT-34-SH , my family encountered a fillable document here “http://pdf.ac/6gC455″

Mute Paddy Obrien
    Favourite Paddy Obrien
    Jun 18th 2015, 7:42 PM

P