You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Everyone is sharing this wonderful New Yorker tribute to Alan Rickman

Oh, just crying again.

THE TRIBUTES TO Alan Rickman have been pouring in since the news of his death was announced yesterday.

The New Yorker’s might just be the sweetest one yet.

The poignant cartoon, featuring Rickman’s rivals, Harry Potter (as Snape) and John McClane (as Hans Gruber in Die Hard), really sums up the imprint Rickman made with his characters.

The cartoon, by Ben Schwartz, has been retweeted over 2,000 times, and shared on Facebook a massive 50,000 times.

Written by Nicola Byrne and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/01/img2-thejournal-226.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2551694" class="alignnone" /end]

10 of Alan Rickman’s brilliantly delivered villain lines>

Alan Rickman’s fellow actors are paying emotional tribute to the screen legend>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

22 Comments
    Mute Wandy Wilson
    Favourite Wandy Wilson
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:55 PM

The legendary Hans Gruber. One the few bad guys I wanted to win in film

Mute verbal kint
    Favourite verbal kint
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:01 PM

” I have.. a machine gun.. now. Ho…Ho…Ho “.

Mute Darragh O'Connell
    Favourite Darragh O'Connell
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:54 PM

I wanted Eamon de Valera to win …

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:16 PM

He played the part of the odious traitorous two faced back stabber and loyal British agent develara expertly in the movie Michael Collins

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 16th 2016, 1:18 AM

Hans gruber….sounds like name of some notorious war criminal who was responsible for the deaths of millions in one of the nazi camps back then

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jan 16th 2016, 8:33 AM

Is there any German name that doesn’t make you think like that, Paddy?

Mute Dave Meagher
    Favourite Dave Meagher
    Jan 16th 2016, 8:57 AM

Paddy here’s a question for ya , who signed the treaty before anyone could vote on it ? Huge clue it wasn’t dev . Who knew about the cabinet being arrested and who used to walk in and out of Dublin castle and who kept G men as “informants”. Who ran around in a generals uniform yet never trained or served as a soldier, who appointed him to that position?

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Jan 17th 2016, 1:05 AM

Dave, you need to read up on your history. Collins and the rest of the delegation were sent as plenipotentiaries – given the power to negotiate without referring back to their ‘superiors’. The treaty then had to be ratified by the House of Commons in Britain and the House of Commons for Southern Ireland to take effect. This was done and it was also ratified (narrowly) by Dáil Éireann – which was at that time not recognised by the British Government. Despite this latter ratification de Valera decided to ignore this democratic decision and initiate a civil war instead.

Mute tmwtbc
    Favourite tmwtbc
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:00 PM

I’ve held back since yesterday but by God he was a class act. That’s all I can say without going on a ramble. Fantastic actor. Great tribute.

Mute Chicinho
    Favourite Chicinho
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:11 PM

Glad for the explanation, I was wondering why Tin Tin was on a date with the Potter lad

Mute Tim O Connor
    Favourite Tim O Connor
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:57 PM

Best. Comment. Ever!!!

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 16th 2016, 2:29 AM

Me too :-)

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Jan 16th 2016, 2:48 AM

Haha… the Tintin ‘lad’! Brilliant!

Mute Tim O Connor
    Favourite Tim O Connor
    Jan 16th 2016, 11:03 AM

23 red thumbs!?! Aw here! That’s just downright mean!

Mute Zozzy Zozimus
    Favourite Zozzy Zozimus
    Jan 16th 2016, 2:31 PM

Gosh, the years have not been kind to poor Tintin. I guess that spending so much time with a dysfunctional alcoholic like Capt Haddock was bound to rub off on him eventually.

Mute Matt Donovan
    Favourite Matt Donovan
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:15 PM

Alas your Mr Takagi didn’t see it that way so he won’t be joining us for the rest of his life. Dialogue delivered only the way Alan Rickman could. Truly saddened by his death. Be nice to think he’s sitting on a beach earning 20%.

Mute Greg McGarry
    Favourite Greg McGarry
    Jan 16th 2016, 3:03 AM

“You asked for miracles, Theo, I give you the F – B – I!”… Rickman singlehandedly elevated Die Hard from just another one-off, forgettable, Hollywood ‘cop against the odds’ VHS-rental-fodder movie to silverscreen masterpiece. Gone too soon. RIP. (I hope Willis makes the effort to attend his funeral, he owes much of his success to the man)

Mute David McShite
    Favourite David McShite
    Jan 16th 2016, 12:40 AM

Die Hard as a movie series went on too long. The original was brilliant and a massive success.Everybody put it down to Bruce Willis but they were wrong, it was Rickmans Hans Gruber that cast the magic.
    Willis went on to undeserved success as the good guy in a vest in other movies based on the mistaken assumption that he was the key. The Die Hard franchise continued downhill and died hard itself. To be fair, the second wasn’t bad but the other 67 were pure shite. Pity Gruber didn’t kill McLain in the first one. Would have spared the world a lot of pain.
    Bottom line ….. Alan Rickman was a legend and one that will not be forgotten.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Jan 16th 2016, 12:38 AM

A true character especially to kids nowadays will be remembered for a long time to come

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Jan 16th 2016, 1:23 AM

Do you really think you have a chance against us, Mr Cowboy?

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:13 PM

And…. You felt the need to recursively share it again. And again. And again. Fair play.

Mute Alfie Bonney
    Favourite Alfie Bonney
    Jan 16th 2016, 10:11 AM

Kevin Costner is in the jacks