You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Treasury

New Zealand launches investigation into incoming Irish Central Bank governor

Questions have been raised about whether he misled authorities following a high profile budget leak.

NEW ZEALAND HAS launched an investigation into Gabriel Makhlouf, the incoming Central Bank of Ireland governor, after questions were raised about whether he misled authorities following a high profile budget leak. 

Makhlouf, who is the Treasury Secretary and Chief Executive of the New Zealand Treasury, is due to take up the position as governor of the Central Bank of Ireland on 1 September.

The New Zealand State Service Commission confirmed yesterday that it had launched an investigation into recent questions raised concerning Makhlouf, his actions and public statements about the causes of the unauthorised access to budget material. 

Last week, Makhlouf’s department called in police after the opposition National Party released parts of the government’s annual budget, which was not due for release for a number of days. 

At the time, Makhlouf said his department had fallen victim to a “systematic” and “deliberate” hack, rejecting “absolutely” any suggestion the information had been accidentally posted online.

He was forced into an embarrassing backdown after police found no evidence that illegal activity was behind the leak.

“On the available information, an unknown person or persons appear to have exploited a feature in the website search tool but… this does not appear to be unlawful,” Makhlouf said in a statement.

He said Treasury prepared a “clone” website ahead of the Budget’s release but did not realise that entering specific search terms on it revealed embargoed information.
Budget documents are a closely guarded secret and Makhlouf said an inquiry would be held to ensure such a breach was not repeated.

‘Not tenable’

The National Party, which released the leaked information earlier this week, called for Makhlouf’s resignation, saying he had implied the party was behind an illegal hack.

“Clearly his position is not tenable,” National leader Simon Bridges told reporters.

State Services Commissioner, Peter Hughes, said the questions that have been raised are a matter of considerable public interest and should be addressed. 

“It’s my job to get to the bottom of this and that’s what I’m going to do,” Hughes said.

Mr Makhlouf believes that at all times he acted in good faith. Nonetheless, he and I agree that it is in everyone’s interests that the facts are established before he leaves his role on 27 June if possible. Mr Makhlouf is happy to cooperate fully to achieve that. I ask people to step back and let this process be completed.

The Irish government announced on 1 May that it had agreed to nominate Gabriel Makhlouf for appointment as the new governor of the Central Bank of Ireland. His term as Treasury Secretary finishes on 27 June.

At the time of nomination, Minister for Finance Paschal Donohoe said he was delighted to nominate a person of Makhlouf’s “international calibre” for appointment as Governor adding that he will bring with him a “wealth of experience to the role”.

Makhlouf was chosen to succeed the outgoing governor, Philip Lane, following his appointment to the executive board of the European Central Bank from 1 June.

With additional reporting from AFP

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

45 Comments
    Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:17 AM

Seems perfect for job by ffg standards..

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:16 AM

@Willy: would anyone care to explain what exactly he has done that has all our in house ‘negative nancys’ so excited?

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:40 AM

@Tim Pot:
    At the time, Makhlouf said his department had fallen victim to a “systematic” and “deliberate” hack, rejecting “absolutely” any suggestion the information had been accidentally posted online.

He was forced into an embarrassing backdown after police found no evidence that illegal activity was behind the leak.

Seems dodgy to me….

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 10:59 AM

@Willy:

what is ‘dodgy’ about admitting you were wrong after being confronted with new information?

what is he trying to gain?

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jun 5th 2019, 11:00 AM

@Tim Pot: No smoke without fire an all that ..
    Besides that, these people should be beyond reproach ..

But to FG and their apologists like yourself honor-ability, decency and morals are no longer attributes to strive for

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jun 5th 2019, 11:04 AM

@Tim Pot: You mean change the story when caught out, a fg trait.. God bless us Tim, ya do your best as a blue troll..

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:15 PM

@Willy:

an unknown person accessed the information before it was due to be published using an exploit found in the government website. The police ruled however it was not illegal. Therefore it was not an illegal hacking as Mr. Makhlouf stated originally.

again what did he gain from this? what exactly was he ‘caught’ doing? where is the corruption in this?

Sorry, but it is you guys who are just completely trolling this article for some anti goverment ‘likes’

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:25 PM

@Gowon Geter:

Why is it that just because i don’t agree with the majority of posters on this article I am being labelled as to where my political preference lies?

If its ok with you I will decide who I support.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:38 PM

@Tim Pot: Are you for real ? your allegiance to FG is obvious since as long back as the Irish Water fiasco days ..

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 1:22 PM

@Gowon Geter:

“The only allegiance I have is to myself”… I’m sure thats a song lyric or movie quote…

So because of my views on one issue, that predetermines who I support on all other issues?

I do not agree with your logic and will continue to support whomever I choose based on my own beliefs and values.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:21 AM

He’ll fit right in so!

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:22 AM

Not even in the job and he is already blaming someone else…..FG here I come

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Favourite Cathal Mac Einri
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:46 AM

@Alan Dignam: its page one of the ffg handbook

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Jun 5th 2019, 10:14 AM

@Alan Dignam: did you look at prime time last night. The TD who was looking for compo after his car was hit from behind and no damage caused.

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:42 PM

@Cathal Mac Einri: Unfortunately too true Cathal

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:46 PM

@Dave Barrett: I did Dave. isn’t it amazing that these people apparently develop laryngitis when questioned by a respected reporter, but can sing like a canary when with their solicitor he he he……..Go figure

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:26 AM

Looks like one of our own

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:45 AM

Did Paschal not look for a reference from the New Zealand Treasury? It’s one of the great ironies that the higher position and rank you hold within an organisation the less vetted you are for a new job. There’s just a presumption that you’re capable. A lot of these positions are filled via cronyism however and not necessarily based on capability. This could be a case in point.

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:30 AM

As the saying goes “ Birds of a feather flock together “

Mute Alan Dignam
    Favourite Alan Dignam
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:21 AM

Sure does Willy. He will fit right in

Mute Alan Farrell
    Favourite Alan Farrell
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:44 AM

Donoghue was told by his Bilderberg masters to give him the lob

Mute Luke Lee
    Favourite Luke Lee
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:32 AM

And the Irish government elected this dude? On what basis?

Mute Kerry Evans
    Favourite Kerry Evans
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:38 AM

Just the man to expose the banks ongoing corruption ….Nama…land grabs..
    .vulture funds…..etc…
    FG the landlord and bankers party
    Apathy towards the citizens of Ireland knows NO bounds…
    He their new Capo..
    We are living in a gangster paradise…

Mute Bill Clay
    Favourite Bill Clay
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:46 AM

@Kerry Evans: and all aided by the Irish electorate. The majority don’t care, it’s only a handful on these comment sections that seem to voice other opinions.
    Why waste your time when the majority, and it is the majority, simply are content with FFFG.
    Every election, as the last one did, proves this.

Ok, both parties lose a few seats one year, but only to gain them back the next.
    Look at what FF did, and now it’s like it never happened.
    Nothing will change, pointless pretending otherwise.

Mute The Oracle
    Favourite The Oracle
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:05 AM

I am relatively well off. Both I and my partner have secure middle class jobs, own a house and enjoy things such as foreign holidays. In truth, although I may protest consciously, in my subconscious I don’t want the world to change. We elect people who we subconsciously know won’t rock the boat. We elect scallywags like Varadker, Bertie, Biffo, etc because we know that they will protect our interests. Some will talk the talk about social justice but like us they don’t really wish for true social fairness. If that is to occur then we need to lose out. When one of our own, such as Boyd Barrett, actually looks for real change, we dismiss them as loonie left, social justice warriors, extremist etc. Promoting lads like this fellow will never stop.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jun 5th 2019, 11:06 AM

@The Oracle: Totally agree, I am also relatively well off, dont really have any money worries etc and being that way for a long time, I see family and friends struggling, while the FG PR Spin and Narrative in the media is that aside for some minor crisis that dont affect people like us as in the housing crisis, health crisis etc, Ireland is a great place to do business for Vulture Funds, Bankers, Developer friends on FG etc but not so great fro ordinary Irish workers paying extortionate rates for rent and mortgages and getting to work

Mute The Oracle
    Favourite The Oracle
    Jun 5th 2019, 11:26 AM

@Gowon Geter: the problem is that almost all voices in the media are from the middle, upper middle and upper strata. The have nots, as Pat Kenny might say, are disenfranchised by their silence. With no advocate from the establishment they take harsher actions and speak angrily, allowing us to cry thuggery and extremism.

Mute Michael Evans
    Favourite Michael Evans
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:36 AM

I’m sure they spelled his name incorrectly. It should be MAKULAUF!

Mute Sea Graham
    Favourite Sea Graham
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:12 AM

They need to remove vat from lube in this great little country of ours. It has become an essential for the average person here. The ones that have their pockets emptied every month to keep the 1% where they are.

Mute Donna Hughes
    Favourite Donna Hughes
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:00 AM

Perfect candidate for the job so, he’ll do well!

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:13 AM

Not even in the job yet and already under criminal investigation. Great choice there, I’m sure in his new role he won’t possibly crash the entire Irish economy.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:06 AM

In fairness, he probably issued his initial statement based upon the information available to him as it shouldn’t have been as easy as it was to get the information from the website. As for the website vulnerability, he is head of the organisation, if he did get involved in that level of a technical vulnerability he would be condemned for extreme micro-management.
    But that is what is great about some on here, pounce on any slight vulnerability and exaggerate to make political points. The man isn’t even being given a chance to set things right here, and as for allegations of cronyism, he is from the far side of the planet, how much more external to the current regime would you like, Mars?

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:19 AM

@Vocal Outrage:

I feel like no-one has even read the article they just see ‘central bank governer’ and ‘investigation’ and thats all they need for a comment.

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jun 5th 2019, 11:10 AM

@Tim Pot: Maybe Leo its because we are getting used to the FG way of doing business, deflect on every issue, make some grand pr announcement about what it going to be done, kick the can down the road, make some more announcements, eventually hear about the real issues, but ten hear we todfar down that road now and it will either take to long or cost too much to fix now ….. Suckers !!!

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jun 5th 2019, 11:12 AM

@Vocal Outrage: You should change your title from Vocal Outrage to LNSU.

Leos New Spin Unit ..

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:24 PM

@Gowon Geter: My name is Tim Pot, I did not think that would be so difficult to miss….

Mute Gowon Geter
    Favourite Gowon Geter
    Jun 5th 2019, 12:48 PM

@Tim Pot: Walk like a duck, sound like a duck …!!!

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Jun 5th 2019, 1:26 PM

@Gowon Geter:

… must be a blue Teapot?

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Jun 5th 2019, 8:33 AM

Mick should give him a shout, he’s definitely qualified.

Mute Mike Keane
    Favourite Mike Keane
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:47 AM

@Thewestisbest: Mattress Mick?

Mute Keith Murray
    Favourite Keith Murray
    Jun 5th 2019, 9:24 AM

Perfect for for an Irish govt job requirement!
    Are you corrupt? Yes !
    You got the job !! Lol

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Jun 5th 2019, 11:36 AM

leo -” ok lads – we need a new governor at the central bank , now the public are very weary of who gets these jobs nowadays – after all that ‘trouble’ we had a few years back , so i want you to go through the list of candidates and sort out anyone who has been involved in any sort of scandal , inquiry , allegations , criminal activity or dodgy dealings. put all there names into a file on my desk –and we’ll choose one from there !! “

Mute Adolf Galland
    Favourite Adolf Galland
    Jun 5th 2019, 10:09 AM

He looks like Danny Healy Rae…….!!

Mute Artugal
    Favourite Artugal
    Jun 5th 2019, 7:41 PM

It’s like no matter what FFG do they have to do it the hard way. Do ye not know ANYONE that hasn’t a huge “?” Over their head?

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Jun 6th 2019, 1:15 PM

Iceland had the best idea…