You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's What Happened Today: Wednesday

Here’s what made headlines today.

NEED TO CATCH up? The Journal brings you a round-up of today’s news.

IRELAND

Trucker protest 020 Truck driver Stephen and his son Riley, age 3, in a convoy of trucks protesting in Dublin this morning Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie Sam Boal / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

• Public health officials confirmed 3,893 new cases of Covid-19 in Ireland today, with 43 deaths notified in the last week.
  • Two major power stations disconnected from the national grid earlier this week, resulting in the loss of 820 megawatts of power.
  • Hauliers sparked major traffic disruptions around Dublin today as part of a protest to demand that the government lowers the cost of fuel.
  • Legislation that would require companies with more than 50 employees to report their emissions annually is moving forward in the Seanad. 
  • Irish citizens have been advised to leave Ethiopia immediately over the “deteriorating security situation” in the country.
  • More than 6,000 Covid-19 cases have been linked to hospital outbreaks since the start of the pandemic. 
  • Gardaí in Meath arrested 33 people during an operation targeting drug trafficking and burglaries ahead of Christmas.
  • SIPTU is calling for the return of reduced capacity on public transport to protect workers and passengers against Covid-19.

THE WORLD

brussels-belgium-19th-november-2018-sweden-finance-minister-magdalena-andersson-attends-an-eurogroup-finance-ministers-meeting-at-the-eu-headquarters-alexandros-michailidisalamy-live-news Magdalena Andersson attends an Eurogroup finance ministers meeting at the EU headquarters in 2018. Alamy Stock Photo Alamy Stock Photo

#FRANCE At least 27 people have died while crossing from France to the UK in the English Channel.

#CHINA China’s birthrate has fallen to its lowest figure in decades.

#SWEDEN The newly-elected prime minister of Sweden, Magdalena Andersson – the country’s first woman to hold the role – resigned hours after her appointment when her budget didn’t pass and the Green Party left the coalition government.

PARTING SHOT

The Great British Bake Off finale last night saw Giuseppe Dell’Anno, an Italian engineer from Bristol, crowned the winner of the 12th season.

Speaking on RTÉ Radio One today, he said winning has been “overwhelming” but that he is “enjoying every second of it”.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Arch Stanton
    Favourite Arch Stanton
    May 13th 2014, 9:45 AM

Did I miss something? Is climate change being caused by a lack of taxes? So why will the solution be more taxes? How much TAX has Ireland sent to the Antarctic to help stop this?

Mute One-Off Ireland
    Favourite One-Off Ireland
    May 13th 2014, 10:37 AM

i cannot see why people are so obsessed with Carbon Tax on this blog. It accounts for but a very tiny fraction of your fuel and other bills and generated in a way that does not destroy jobs.

If we are serious about ditching fossil fuels and climate change, it needs to increase steadily by about 4-5% per year

Taxes are never popular. But some taxes are less bad than others. People should be arguing for other taxes to be abolished/reduced and to keep this one

Mute Paul Creedon
    Favourite Paul Creedon
    May 13th 2014, 10:47 AM

Oh! Didn’t you know that? Shame on you! Just pay Al Gore and Eamonn Ryan your carbon tax penance allowance – and all will be well.

Mute One-Off Ireland
    May 13th 2014, 10:50 AM

it is but one lever, but an important policy tool nonetheless

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    May 13th 2014, 12:11 PM

One-off, you say that carbon taxes are a tiny fraction but then you propose that they should increase every year?! So they will be a big percentage of a persons income at some point!

Mute One-Off Ireland
    May 13th 2014, 1:36 PM

no,

the whole purpose of Carbon Tax is to reduce carbon use and incentivise non-carbon alternatives

Carbon Tax is a Pigovian tax. Its a progressive form of taxation.

If i was to raise the tax on 100 euro a plastic bag, it would not matter to me – as I do not use plastic bags.

Carbon Tax should move from 25 euro per tonne to something like 250-300 euro a tonne by 2050

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 4:03 PM

economists David Kreutzer and Nicolas Loris found that a tax starting at $25-per-ton of CO2 emitted and increasing by 5% per year would cut a family of four’s income by $1,400 annually, raise their utility bills by $500 a year, and increase gasoline fill-ups by up to 50 cents per gallon. That’s $2,000 a year chopped from their budget for food, vacations, home and car payments and repairs, college and retirement savings, dental and medical care, and overall quality of life. This is a crazy tax as Humans are putting out less than 4% of total natural emissions of CO2.
    Luckily in the real world the carbon credit scheme is collapsing as the price per tonne has plummeted from around $30 5 years ago to 30c now. In all its aspects the AGW fraud is unravelling as people can see what has been done.

Mute One-Off Ireland
    May 13th 2014, 6:55 PM

It is the most progressive of taxes in a world of finite fossil fuels, man made climate change and massive inequality.

Even economist Richard Tol, who is no fan of the IPCC, agrees that an escalation in Carbon Tax is the way forward

http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/article/pii/S0165188913000092

Carbon credits a separate issue

Mute Rick Grimes
    Favourite Rick Grimes
    May 13th 2014, 8:50 AM

It would be great to see all the deniers live to see it happen

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    May 13th 2014, 9:23 AM

With all the oil under the ice you’d wonder why it’s melting all of a sudden after thousands of years ..

Mute James Hughes
    Favourite James Hughes
    May 13th 2014, 10:37 AM

In the last year the journal has published 34 articles on climate change. On none of these occasions have they published an article outlining the argument that humans have little
    or no effect on the climate.
    This is despite a poll conducted by themselves with almost 7000 participants showed that opinion was evenly split on the issue.
    Have they no shame?

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Graham Kavanagh
    Favourite Graham Kavanagh
    May 13th 2014, 10:53 AM

Science isn’t determined by democratic process. You can vote against climate change, but it pays no heed to the ballot box.

Mute James Hughes
    Favourite James Hughes
    May 13th 2014, 11:17 AM

I agree totally Graham, but it does demonstrate that there is far from a consensus on the issue, either with the public or with scientists. This is despite the worlds media saturating us with global warming propaganda for many years now. The believers are melting away despite the best efforts of a clearly bias media. I think people just want the facts & not the widely exaggerated predictions based on failed computer models

Mute Jim Higgs
    Favourite Jim Higgs
    May 13th 2014, 11:24 AM

Well, maybe they should split the articles in the same percentage that scientists are ” split” – ie 97% of of scientific papers taking a position on climate change “endorsed the consensus position that humans are causing global warming.”

iopscience.iop.org/1748-9326/8/2/024024/article

That seems like a pretty widespread consensus to me.

Of course, those without any scientific knowledge, or study of the issue tend to shout loudly, so people might think that there is some sort of scientific divide. There isn’t.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    May 13th 2014, 11:31 AM

“I agree totally Graham, but it does demonstrate that there is far from a consensus on the issue, either with the public or with scientists.”

No it doesn’t, because public opinion is irrelevant. Those in the field who actually study climatology, in overwhelming numbers accept and support that humans are contributing to climate change. 97% here according to NASA: http://climate.nasa.gov/scientific-consensus

If that’s not a consensus, I don’t know what is.

Mute James Hughes
    Favourite James Hughes
    May 13th 2014, 11:34 AM

Jim, even the most enthusiastic of Informed believers know the 97% figure is IPCC propaganda.
    And FYI I’ve an honors degree in science, even though that proves nothing.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 13th 2014, 11:43 AM

Graham Kavanagh that’s the best one liner on climate change denial I’ve ever heard.

Mute Jim Higgs
    Favourite Jim Higgs
    May 13th 2014, 12:21 PM

Ah James, come on now. It’s a peer reviewed paper published in a reputable journal
    http://www.iopscience.iop.org/1748-9326/8/2/024024/article

Why don’t you do a search yourself and see what sort of (reputable) data is out there?

Or else just listen to the real experts, the self proclaimed pundits on Fox news, and people paid by large industry with a vested interest.
    http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2014/05/krauthammer-george-will-attack-climate-science.html

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 12:37 PM

Climate science is corrupt,read the CG2 emails. Given the corruption and gate-keeping we have seen in climate science over the past 2 decades, We can be glad that we have real data and observations. But even some of those are being massively tampered with.

Mute Joe Bergin
    Favourite Joe Bergin
    May 13th 2014, 12:51 PM

There should be 97 articles with the scientific view for every article by flat earth society people. It is time to NOT debate but work out action plans. To bandy words with the people who believe that a huge majority of scientists are working together to get grants to study something they know is not there is delusory. Most scientists are straining at the leash to discover something new or overturn current wisdom; dynamic, driven people who are not interested in wasting their time or talents.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 1:01 PM

Most scientists are not involved in the climate scam.

Mute Jim Higgs
    Favourite Jim Higgs
    May 13th 2014, 2:58 PM

Because all those scientists are getting rich on the back of climate change. Sure you can’t walk past a university without being knocked over by a Lamborghini driven by one of the boffins.

Mute Joe Bergin
    Favourite Joe Bergin
    May 13th 2014, 8:21 PM

Conspiracypsychology.com has articles exploring the phenomena of denialism in the context of connected disordered thinking such as reptilian conspiracies, pro-kid killing disease people (anti-vaxxers) 9/11 nuts of all persuasions, and of course, the Jews and masons….it is as important to understand these people as it is to avoid engaging them above their capacity to reason. There are important issues which must be dealt with and people like bill nye the science guy should be instructing kids in science and not playing the shrink.

Mute Dominic Kenneally
    Favourite Dominic Kenneally
    May 14th 2014, 9:47 AM

Did u count…

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 14th 2014, 1:32 PM

opinion was evenly split okay on a journal poll but it’s not evenly split when it comes to scientists.

Mute Mick Collins
    Favourite Mick Collins
    May 13th 2014, 9:10 AM

Very sad.

Mute fionn mac cumhaill
    Favourite fionn mac cumhaill
    May 13th 2014, 9:38 AM

“Unstoppable”???
    Ok Government, I want my carbon taxes back !

Mute I love my County
    Favourite I love my County
    May 13th 2014, 9:02 AM

Does this mean the faster the ice melts, then more water becomes available?? then we can supply water to Africa and eradicate famine, do away with the Water Charges due to plentiful supplies… In fact lets send a load of lads up to the Antarctica now with blowtorches and ladders too speed up the melting process, put them on a Jobbridge scheme and bring down the unemployment figures too and sure we’ll be killing shite load of birds with one stone…..?

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    May 13th 2014, 9:16 AM

I’d say they’re having a fire sale on $10million homes in Stinson Beach, California about now.
    http://www.zillow.com/stinson-beach-ca/

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    May 13th 2014, 9:34 AM

Soooo, no links to these ‘published’ studies then???

It is widely know but not reported in the mainstream media that the ice in the Antartic has increased, not decreased. The reason we arent seeing the sea levels rise is because whatever melts at the north pole, deposits and freezes at the south pole.

Funny how this ‘report’ gives a decade where we today will be long dead by the time it comes around.
    So a bullsh!t story with no links to the data and an outcome based in a time in which we wont be there to witness.

Climate change is real. Its as real 4billion years ago as it is today. It was real a hundred years ago when you could actually sail by the north pole area because of the absence of ice.

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    May 13th 2014, 11:53 AM

The danger about the internet is that a faceless, anonymous poster can continue to post complete and utter nonsense until it sticks.

To avoid countering the same old arguments – Skeptical science has written up the issue surrounding what ice is increasing and what ice is being lost, and why it’s significant to differentiate between the two: http://www.skepticalscience.com/antarctica-gaining-ice.htm

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    May 13th 2014, 12:05 PM

The not so dangerous, is the ignorant who thinks a poster can be faceless or otherwise on the internet.
    Anymore links or just that? You know, while you’re making a fool of yourself with that first paragragh. Nice intro though, to set the tone.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 12:43 PM

Skeptical Science? FFS

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    May 13th 2014, 3:06 PM

“Anymore links or just that?”

How about you address the points cited in the article?

Mute Seán Ó Briain
    Favourite Seán Ó Briain
    May 13th 2014, 3:07 PM

“Skeptical Science? FFS”

It’s not science by skeptics, it’s scientific articles refuting claims made by skeptics.

Mute Trealoch O Loinsigh
    Favourite Trealoch O Loinsigh
    May 13th 2014, 5:53 PM

And the climate deniers go silent in the face of peer reviewed evidence…funny that!

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    May 13th 2014, 7:53 PM

Jason perhaps you can publish links to peer reviewed studies that show that antarctic ice is increasing.

Shouldn’t be too difficult as its ‘widely known’. Take your time now….

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 9:46 AM

Jason, the Arctic ice almost vanished in 1817 as recorded by an Admiralty report to the House of Lords. It almost vanished in the 1920′s too. Warmists believe that the Arctic was to have vanished by last year but as always they were wrong. Computer models have failed.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    May 13th 2014, 11:36 AM

good find!

http://wattsupwiththat.com/2009/06/20/historic-variation-in-arctic-ice/

“It will without doubt have come to your Lordship’s knowledge that a considerable change of climate, inexplicable at present to us, must have taken place in the Circumpolar Regions, by which the severity of the cold that has for centuries past enclosed the seas in the high northern latitudes in an impenetrable barrier of ice has been during the last two years, greatly abated….

….. this affords ample proof that new sources of warmth have been opened and give us leave to hope that the Arctic Seas may at this time be more accessible than they have been for centuries past, and that discoveries may now be made in them not only interesting to the advancement of science but also to the future intercourse of mankind and the commerce of distant nations.” A request was made for the Royal Society to assemble an expedition to go and investigate.

Mute One-Off Ireland
    May 13th 2014, 11:46 AM

nothing found on that website could be described as a ‘good find’

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 12:45 PM

That good find is a letter to the House of Lords
    “President of the Royal Society, London, to the Admiralty, 20th November, 1817, Minutes of Council, Volume 8. pp.149-153, Royal Society, London. 20th November, 1817.”

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 1:42 PM

@ dee4, did you find there the report from the Wahinton Times showing a similar shortage of Arctic Ice in 1922 ? “Great masses of ice have been replaced by moraines of earth and stones, the report continued, while at many points well known glaciers have entirely disappeared.” Of course the glaciers came back as did those on the Spanish/French border and others during the LIA.
    As for http://wattsupwiththat.com/ “The world’s most viewed site on global warming and climate change” no wonder the ecoloons fear it so much.

Mute One-Off Ireland
    May 13th 2014, 1:58 PM

eh, old newspaper articles!

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    May 14th 2014, 12:00 AM

@dee, after reading your quote a few times, all I see is that the arctic sea ice went from an ‘impenetrable barrier’ to ‘greatly abated’. How this can compare to ‘almost vanished’ is beyond me. I think I’d rather trust present day scientific data rather than vague interpretations of a speech from over 100 years ago.

Mute Dee4
    Favourite Dee4
    May 13th 2014, 9:41 AM

when the Germans were losing the war their newsreels would zoom in on one tiny area where they might be winning to fool the people back home, seems to be similar strategy here.

Mute Carina Clarke
    Favourite Carina Clarke
    May 13th 2014, 10:04 AM

Well I’m off to get a vodka with ice to test this experiment and sure I suppose I should have two or three for control purposes. I will report back with my findings later…..

Mute Mack O'Connell
    Favourite Mack O'Connell
    May 13th 2014, 1:48 PM

You’re not comparing like with like. Antarctica is a continent, not an iceberg.

Mute Aidan Molloy
    Favourite Aidan Molloy

Read the timescales. 200-500 years. Its pure guess work.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    May 13th 2014, 10:33 AM

Aidan you can’t be proved wrong if your not alive when your report proves to be complete nonsense but Governments will increase taxes on it now all the same.

Mute Gerard Casserly
    Favourite Gerard Casserly
    May 13th 2014, 9:44 AM

Will this BS ever stop.

Mute HULK SMASH!
    Favourite HULK SMASH!
    May 13th 2014, 1:05 PM

It will Gerard once we are all forced to live in tiny micro appartments, cycle bikes for transport, eat only vegetables and noodles daily and have no kids just like Oneoffireland does.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 1:15 PM

@ Hulk, it’s happening now in the USA as they build 9 story blocks with no lifts and a shared kitchen. Just like the Dublin tenements of my childhood.

Mute Susan Quinn
    Favourite Susan Quinn
    May 13th 2014, 10:08 AM

Instead of talking about it and moaning about carbon taxes do something about it and save money!!!

Check out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aKystuzj0kM
    to see how much energy can be saved using smart technologies.

If everyone installed LED lighting we wouldn’t need to be having these discussions as they save energy, money, waste and time!!!
    FYI – http://www.ikea.com/ie/en/catalog/categories/departments/living_room/20514/

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 10:17 AM

@ Jason, there’s that link to a scientific paper you were asking for,IKEA !

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    May 13th 2014, 9:38 AM

I have zero technical knowledge about global warming etc. so I accept that the reports of Antartica ice melting and resulting sea level rising are true.
    I do however, have a question and it is this: prior to the 20/21st centuries fossil fuel was the only source of heating, cooking , light, washing for all of humankind, so why has global warming only now become a problem ?

Mute RG Cuan
    Favourite RG Cuan
    May 13th 2014, 10:17 AM

John, since the Industrial Revolution the use of fossil fuels, and the release of greenhouse gases, had increased rapidly. The world’s population has also grown vastly.

Therefore until relatively recently the effect humans had on climate was negligible.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 9:31 AM

The observed ice extent at the Antarctic shows that this latest computer model is as useless as all the others have been plus the Arctic is heading for a greater extent than in recent years. Warming stopped 18 years ago yet the bedwetters continue to panic.

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    May 13th 2014, 10:04 AM
    Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    May 13th 2014, 9:05 AM

Never figure out the logic in this . Ice takes up greater volume then water . If ice melts the level of water drops not increases .

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    May 13th 2014, 9:09 AM

Ice floats on water. If it melts the water rises

Mute Chris Judge
    Favourite Chris Judge
    May 13th 2014, 9:11 AM

The majority of Ice is actually above the water, as it floats.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    May 13th 2014, 9:14 AM

Also, much of the ice in the Antarctic is on land….
    regardless, your lack of understanding should be filled by the work that the qualified, intelligent and peer-reviewed scientists carry out. It’s this concept of the layman questioning the experts due to their own ignorance that has the deniers actually listened to and not marked as loons.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    May 13th 2014, 9:15 AM

This Antarctic ice melt is glaciers on land. Nothing to do with ice floating on water

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn

I thought it was only 9% above the surface.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan

The majority of ice is below the water . Ice doesn’t float on top of water .

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    May 13th 2014, 9:16 AM

Look at the picture above, the majority of the ice is over land which melts and flows into the sea.

Mute Jonathan Barr
    Favourite Jonathan Barr
    May 13th 2014, 9:17 AM

Floating ice still displaces water. If you had a glass of water with an ice cube in it and the water melted the level of water in the glass wouldn’t change. In the case of Antarctica, the ice is supported by the land and it doesn’t alter sea levels. However, if the ice was to breakaway from the land this would displace the water causing sea levels to rise. That’s my understanding anyway, I could be wrong.

Mute Paddy Scully
    Favourite Paddy Scully
    May 13th 2014, 9:18 AM

The floating ice won’t add to the volume, but the grounded ice will.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton
    May 13th 2014, 9:19 AM

@ Fozz,

Obviously a scientist yourself with vast experience of ‘Global Warming’ and extensive research into this modern scientific development or maybe you just ‘ Google’ and discard the pieces that don’t conform to your populist view.

Mute Fozz
    Favourite Fozz
    May 13th 2014, 9:27 AM

I’m not taking a populist view…I am taking what I have read and adding to a respect for the scientific community as a whole to enlighten us and making a decision.
    But maybe I’d be more hip if I just looked at what the established (and reinforced by experiments and much study) view was and decided on the opposite…for no good reason that to be different…

Mute Richard Sweeney
    Favourite Richard Sweeney
    May 13th 2014, 9:29 AM

There’s less ice there now than before. It’s melting and flowing to the sea. It’s a populist view because it is a fact.

Mute Josh Barton
    Favourite Josh Barton

Or Maybe Fozz you should just open your mind. take a look at the article on Nuclear Power in the Irish Times this morning. One of the interesting things about it is an analysis of the IPCC report. The IPCC scientists have by and large given a balanced scientific analysis which states that their are un-explainable
    Differences between the ‘ Modeled’ predictions and the actual outcomes. Credibility also comes under scrutiny when the IPCC researchers then put their own spin on the findings. Scientists don’t normally start off with the answer and then produce the justifications . But for a Googler like yourself the internet knows no boundaries

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan

Melting sea ice is besides the point, it’s effect is small, most of the West Antarctic Ice Sheet is >3000 feet above sea level, and it is now flowing into the sea faster than ever, where it will melt and cause several metres of sea level rise.

Jenkins, A. & Holland, D. 2007. Melting of floating ice and sea level rise. Geophysical Research Letters, 34, L16609, doi: 10.1029/2007GL030784.

http://geology.com/world/antarctica-map.jpg

Mute Gerard Casserly
    May 13th 2014, 10:01 AM

Read about water displacement.

Mute Gerard Casserly

When the ice melts in your vodka and red bull does it overflow the glass. NO.
    More BS scare tactics.

Mute Paul Creedon
    Favourite Paul Creedon
    May 13th 2014, 10:44 AM

More alarmist propaganda from the IPCC and their tax payers funding dependent government hacks.

Mute Jay Warner
    Favourite Jay Warner
    May 13th 2014, 10:26 AM

Scaremongering bullshit from pseudo-scientists as usual. Just securing this year’s huge grants. Money would be better spent if the gave grants to astrologists and mediums.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 13th 2014, 8:51 AM

Ear we go…how long before tin foil hat type mentions Agenda 21?

Mute Rick Grimes
    Favourite Rick Grimes
    May 13th 2014, 8:53 AM

You just did

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 13th 2014, 8:56 AM

Apart from me :-) …and my hat, wool

Mute Padriag O'Traged
    Favourite Padriag O'Traged
    May 13th 2014, 9:05 AM

Had to look that up; the Direct Democracy Ireland website has a piece on it – so much tin foil it looks like my packed lunch
    http://directdemocracyireland.ie/agenda-21/

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 10:32 AM

Just a few short months ago we had the ‘ ship of fools’ episode where one of these ‘ climate scientists’ got stuck in the Antarctic ice that they said have vanished thus risking lives and ships and the idiot even brought his own family along. Ecoloons.

Mute One-Off Ireland
    May 13th 2014, 11:14 AM

i think you are mixing glaciers up with sea ice maestro

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 13th 2014, 11:56 AM

It in the deniers handbook: only use arguments that have freed themselves from the shackles of consistency and evidence

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 12:47 PM

Just a few short months ago we had the ‘ ship of fools’ episode where one of these ‘ climate scientists’ got stuck in the Antarctic ice that they said have vanished thus risking lives and ships and the idiot even brought his own family along. Ecoloons.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 13th 2014, 2:10 PM

Cool story bro

Mute Startled Sapien
    Favourite Startled Sapien
    May 13th 2014, 6:18 PM

Needs more dragons.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    May 13th 2014, 9:24 AM

The North Pole is one big ice cube . A piece of ice floating in the sea is 70 percent under water and 30 percent above water .All the weight pushes sea levels up , when they melt they drop .

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    May 13th 2014, 9:32 AM

this article is on the South pole and your comment is ridiculous anyway :)

Mute Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    Favourite Rónán O'Suilleabháin
    May 13th 2014, 3:33 PM

Archimedes had nothing on you

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    May 13th 2014, 12:21 PM

My house is 98 m above sea level so bring it on !

Mute Dan Broderick
    Favourite Dan Broderick
    May 13th 2014, 9:42 AM

Water expands as it freezes, most of an iceberg’s volume is below the water level, this is junk science, as ice melts, it has zero effect on the water level

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    May 13th 2014, 12:17 PM

Dan, the ice at the south poll is on land!

Mute Al Picino
    Favourite Al Picino
    May 13th 2014, 2:36 PM

They’ll say anything to have their grants awarded … meanwhile heavy snow has returned to Colorado in the middle of May !

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 2:52 PM

Al, I saw snow in Dublin in May when I was a kid, it was gone by lunchtime. Last night parts of Ireland had a low of 3c and my poly tunnel only reached 22 yesterday and that with it all sealed up :-)

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 6:29 PM

Looks like its time to light up the stoves for the chilly evening ahead, thank the Lord for plastic bottles.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    May 13th 2014, 2:11 PM

There’s a whole industry built around global warming existing . It’s worth billions . David Bellamy argue the point constantly . Bellamy’s later statements on global warming indicate that he subsequently changed his views completely. In 2004, he wrote an article in the Daily Mail in which he described the theory of man-made global warming as “poppycock”.[9] A letter he published on 16 April 2005 in New Scientist asserted that a large percentage (555 of 625) of the glaciers being observed by the World Glacier Monitoring Service were advancing, not retreating. You don’t see Bellamy on TV anymore I wonder why .

Mute Jim Higgs
    Favourite Jim Higgs
    May 14th 2014, 1:25 AM

Cos he’s a prat

Mute Horgay H
    Favourite Horgay H
    May 13th 2014, 4:35 PM

Oh the lies. It’s sickening. The presstitutes keep releasing press release as their own work and people just belive what they are told unquestioningly.

There is so much wrong with the above article and the utter lies it puts forward I don’t know where to start.

Here is a good place :

http://dotearth.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/03/18/study-west-antarctic-melt-a-slow-affair/

The IPCC models are continually wrong and are so basic and simplistic they should he discarded never mind the fact no one can ever repeat their conclusions in other computer models.

The ice in Antarctica is at record levels, so while ice might melt in the northern hemisphere it is increasing at Antarctica with the result being ice levels are the same as they were in 1972 despite all the doom and gloom.

Can people just start thinking and reflecting. A good book I read lately was “The Deliberate Corruption of climate science” by Tim Ball. I’d recommend for anybody who likes to have informed opinions on topics.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 6:52 PM

Remembering of course that the IPCC is a political and not a scientific body. This is the 100th comment on this item and by an amazing coincidence I just did the 100th post on my blog :-) I love the smell of burning ecofascists in the morning …

Mute Shane Hickey
    Favourite Shane Hickey
    May 13th 2014, 1:51 PM

If it wasn’t happening, what would the scientists do for a living?

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 1:59 PM

It’s not real scientists that flute about with climate scares Shane, just those that couldn’t make the grade for the difficult stuff.

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 13th 2014, 2:33 PM

Ah yes, more dire news from the harbingers of horsesh-, sorry, doom.
    First it was Warble Gloaming, until that theory was disproved by non affiliated scientists. Now it’s been repackaged as “climate change”. Strange how the Greenies (AKA the cycling Taliban) did that, isn’t it?
    Since the earth existed, it’s gone through periods of warming and cooling. This is what’s happening at the moment, and there’s nothing that you, I, or anybody else on the planet can do about it. Get over it.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 3:37 PM

“AKA the cycling Taliban” good one :-) but i thought that Gerbil Worming came before Warble Gloaming?

Mute Jonathan Murphy
    Favourite Jonathan Murphy
    May 13th 2014, 6:11 PM

I’m sure I’ll get plenty of red thumbs for this , but the whole ‘man made global warming’ theory is utter nonsense ! Average global temperatures are dropping and have been doing so for quite a while now and while parts of the Antarctic ice sheet is falling off into the sea , the reason is not a great thaw .. The ice cap is thickening at its centre ! Man made global warming = man made lie !!

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    May 13th 2014, 6:28 PM

“while parts of the Antarctic ice sheet is falling off into the sea , the reason is not a great thaw .. The ice cap is thickening at its centre ”
    Why did you have to go and tell those ecoloons how the ice behaves? :-)

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 13th 2014, 9:40 PM

Jonathan did you just make that fact up ?

Mute Jonathan Murphy
    May 13th 2014, 10:33 PM

No I didn’t . Scientists who spend their working lives measuring such things figured that out . NASA’s satellites were a great help to them ! Go look it up … though I warn you , you might not like what you find !

Mute Jonathan Murphy
    May 13th 2014, 8:45 PM

Glad to see that many people are questioning the whole ‘man made global warming’ theory , which is now known as climate change : the reason being a lack of evidence to support the ‘man made’ part ! The word ‘climate’ comes from ancient Greek .. it’s original meaning is cyclical or in cycles . The planets weather systems are in a constant state of flux (as is everything) , so when the climate changes a bit from time to time , it’s a perfectly natural phenomenon ! Unfortunately , due to human nature and the way the modern world operates , many have seen the climate as a way to create a sense of foreboding and fear amongst the world’s people ! The reason ? Control and financial gain ! Our climate will do what it always does : change and change and change …. ! We don’t enter the equation !

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    May 13th 2014, 9:45 PM

It’s the same old noisy minority every time, so keep your head buried in the ground and when it’s not make sure your tin foil hat is on tight. Meantime think about what you’ll say to your grandchildren when they ask why you where once a flat-earther in the face of all the science.

Mute Jonathan Murphy
    May 13th 2014, 10:19 PM

I think you will find that the loud minority are the scientists who put forth their theories of climate change caused by human activity ! Scientists (and everyone else) who happen to question the ‘accepted’ model(s) I.e that greenhouse gases produced by man are causing global temperatures to rise , are dismissed as madmen who don’t give a damn about the environment , and are rarely , if ever , given a platform to air their views ! That’s why you never hear what they have to say on tv or radio . You have to search them out in bookstores or online ! Science is all about asking a question and then searching out the answer ! ‘Climatologists’ already have their answer ( man is causing global warming) and now they are trying to fit their models to that answer ! This is why their models change continuously . This is not science !