You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here’s What Happened Today: Wednesday

Everybody’s talking about Savita, arrests in connection with a murder, and a cash-in-transit robbery.

NEED TO CATCH up? TheJournal.ie brings you a roundup of today’s news…

Bill Clinton meets Taoiseach Enda Kenny at Government Buildings in Dublin today. Pic: Niall Carson/PA Wire

IRISH

• HIQA’s report detailing the failures in care received by Savita Halappanavar at University Hospital Galway has been published.
  • On foot of the report, the hospital apologised to Savita’s husband Praveen, and their family.
  • A 22-year-old man has appeared in Cork in connection with alleged fraud at the call centre Abtran, which operated a helpline for property tax queries. [BreakingNews.ie]
  • Former solicitor Thomas Byrne is facing theft, fraud and forgery charges. [RTÉ]
  • Minister Alan Shatter has said it is misleading to call Direct Provision “inadequate”.
  • Gardaí have renewed their appeal for stolen radioactive materials that were taken in September.
  • Over 1,600 Leaving Certificate results were upgraded after appeal – but three results were downgraded.
  • Gardaí are appealing for witnesses to a cash-in-transit robbery in Dunboyne to contact them.
  • Gardaí investigating the shooting of Michael Kelly in Dublin have arrested two men.
  • A woman and her son have been reported missing in Mullingar, gardaí say.
  • The man abducted in Co Cavan last night was found alive and well.
  • Talks are still underway between the HSE and the Irish Medical Organisation over doctors’ hours.
  • A new report on child sex assault in Ireland makes for chilling reading.

INTERNATIONAL

A journalist takes a picture of Kennard Phillips ‘Photo Op’, which depicts former Prime Minister Tony Blair taking a ‘selfie’ in front of an explosion in Iraq. Pic: Martin Rickett/PA Wire

#UK A cull of badgers has been called a ‘farce’ after marksmen had to seek extensions to kill the minimum number of badgers required. (The Guardian)

#JAPAN Two Fukushima workers were doused in radioactive water while working on pipes.

#USA Obama has named Janet Yellen as the new chairperson of the US Federal Reserve, making her the first woman to head a major central bank worldwide.

#AUSTRALIA The gangster known as ‘Chopper‘ – Mark Read – has died from cancer.

#UK Metropolitan Police have said they will release a photo of a new suspect in the Madeleine McCann case – but at the relevant time.

#EUROPE Pilot flight hours have been restricted and rest days increased thanks to an EU vote, but unions are not happy.

INNOVATION

• A Canadian company is seeking Kickstarter funding for a gadget that will help people focus while using their computer. We’ll take one, please. [The Guardian]
  • A US ban on some Samsung devices has been upheld. Here’s why.

PARTING SHOT

You’ve heard of Cronuts – now here’s the Duffin. But there’s a bit of controversy about this, as Starbucks has copyrighted the name, to the chagrin of a woman who has been selling them for two years at her tea shop. (qz.com)

Here’s What Happened Yesterday…>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

8 Comments
    Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:05 PM

Its actually an Irish person they get to talk to when they ring a call service center…….

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Jul 5th 2014, 6:42 PM

I never want to go there ever. Only country in world i can say that about… Maybe iraq.

Mute Massimo returns
    Favourite Massimo returns
    Jul 5th 2014, 10:44 PM

Iraq is a beautiful country. I spent some time in the Middle East with work, it’s such a pity most people will never go as a result of the conflict. Extremely friendly people and rich in culture.

Mute Massimo returns
    Favourite Massimo returns
    Jul 5th 2014, 10:44 PM

I’d agree with you about India though.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:07 PM

Based on past events how does it rate in terms of women being raped…on a per capita basis?

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:53 PM

Not as bad as the US

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 5th 2014, 6:37 PM

He is actualy right. Even adjusted for non reported rape the US runs about 40% higher per 100,000.

I was about to lay into him as being a US hater myself.

That is depressing.

Mute Jim Brady
    Favourite Jim Brady
    Jul 5th 2014, 8:18 PM

Wow that IS depressing.
    I wonder if the rape is defined differently in the 2 countries? (E.g. In India rape might mean violent rape and in U any form of non-consensual sex?)
    Just guessing here mind.

Mute Frank
    Favourite Frank
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:15 PM

“Indian billionaire Mukesh Ambani’s home, Antilla, cost $1 billion to construct.”……..

…Looks like he got the plans from Liberty Hall…

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:32 PM

India, Road length = 4,689,842, Motorway length = 1,208
    Ireland, Road length = 96,036, Motorway length = 1,224

Jesus! Hard to believe we’ve more motorway than them.

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Jul 5th 2014, 5:01 PM

It’s a fascinating country, full of contrasts and the Indian people are very friendly unlike those in the neighbouring countries. Where at some of the more civilised Irish weddings there will be perhaps a bottle of red and white wine Indians will have several bottles of whiskey and boy can they knock it back :-) I went to one Indian home at 6AM on Christmas morning and was handed a full cup of whiskey and told to get it down me as “it is your festival, please drink to celebrate and have a happy day” I obviously survived.
    There is an enormous difference between the have and have-nots but India has become very prosperous in recent years as they work very hard and take great pride in educating their children and we could learn a thing or two about family cohesion from them. Of course it’s not Utopia but it’s not the ‘dump’ that some would have you believe.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 5th 2014, 5:10 PM

You forgot to mention how inclusive a society they are….oh I forgot that little thing they operate called the Caste system.

Mute Jay Singh
    Favourite Jay Singh
    Jul 5th 2014, 5:14 PM

I cannot agree with you more and I’m glad that you had a great time in India.

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Jul 5th 2014, 5:15 PM

Do you always have to snot and fart Norman?
    “There is an enormous difference between the have and have-nots”
    “Of course it’s not Utopia “

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jul 5th 2014, 5:29 PM

Have and have not? Interesting why to gloss over a class system designed to keep people in their place.
    Interesting writing style becoming very familiar.

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Jul 5th 2014, 5:39 PM

Thank you Jay, I was in India a good few years ago and enjoyed the experience ,warts and all :-) A month in Calcutta, 2 weeks Madras, 2 weeks Bombay [all names in old money :-) ] I of course love the food and learned how to cook it properly and when I did various dishes for almost 100 people on a charity night the highlight was when an Indian doctor asked who the Indian chef was only to see me in my best piny :-)

Mute Jay Singh
    Favourite Jay Singh
    Jul 5th 2014, 9:14 PM

Haha cool story man, I’m from Rajasthan anyway..

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Jul 6th 2014, 11:19 AM

Well said Fognostical and Jason. It is a Fantastic country in so many ways. I have lived there, on and off, for over 8 yrs and find it wonderfully fulfilling. However, my huge bugbear with it, as with Ireland, is how it is governed by the incompetent greedy self-serving politicians. Very sad.

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:57 PM

Indian cuisine is directly responsible for over 68% of all liquid bowel movements in the western world.

Mute sinlacasa
    Favourite sinlacasa
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:10 PM

Dump

Mute Pokey2013
    Favourite Pokey2013
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:31 PM

How on earth did that building cost 1 billion? Gold leaf bog roll and champagne on tap no doubt!

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:23 PM

Rape capital of the world?

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:52 PM

The rape capital of the world is the US, in fact every large city in the US has a higher incidence of rape than Deli.

Mute James Franco
    Favourite James Franco
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:31 PM

Them Indians killed General Custer

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:33 PM

Shsss!! t’was an accident

Mute Jane McSherry
    Favourite Jane McSherry
    Jul 5th 2014, 8:12 PM

India looked to Ireland when drawing up their Constitution after gaining Independence.

Mute Jay Singh
    Favourite Jay Singh
    Jul 5th 2014, 9:16 PM

The most underrated fact !

Mute Donal Costello
    Favourite Donal Costello
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:10 PM

Not one mention of cricket…..

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:15 PM

I do love a nice Lamb Jalfrezi

Mute Chief
    Favourite Chief
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:14 PM

Wonder if they need a handsome leader….

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor
    Jul 5th 2014, 7:59 PM

India is a sub-continent with huge variations in the in the haves and have nots, the caste system survives in the more remote and rural areas but not so much in the large cities. It is like referring to Europe as if it were a single country. Some of the most gifted mathematicians in the world are Indian. One would need to go there to grasp the vastness of the place, certainly worth a visit. To generalise based on stereotypes is utterly pointless.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Jul 5th 2014, 9:40 PM

Damn. I thought rain and whiskey drinking was our thing.

Mute Yilmaz Gumustekin
    Favourite Yilmaz Gumustekin
    Jul 5th 2014, 7:38 PM

There is no mention of cast system one of the most discriminative nation on earth and some worship cows over there but ‘the cows’ over here not worthy to worship!!

Mute Brian O' Connor
    Favourite Brian O' Connor
    Jul 5th 2014, 10:15 PM

To add to my previous comment the caste system has no legal basis in India and is actually banned by its constitution,however like other quasi religious beliefs is still practiced in certain regions.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll
    Jul 5th 2014, 6:37 PM

It has the highest rate of teenage pregnancies in the world (WSJ October 2013), no wonder its about to have a population explosion.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:19 PM

dots not feathers.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jul 5th 2014, 6:44 PM

Indians have the highest IQ in the world.

Mute Fognostical
    Favourite Fognostical
    Jul 5th 2014, 6:52 PM

And some brilliant Mathematicians.

Mute Jamie Brogan
    Favourite Jamie Brogan
    Jul 6th 2014, 4:37 PM

I’m quite sure that Ashkenazi Jews have the highest IQ’s in the world.

Mute Joe Sullivan
    Favourite Joe Sullivan
    Jul 5th 2014, 10:31 PM

Hard for anyone with intelligence not to hate the most evil and corrupt nation on earth. Some great people, like anywhere, but a true force for evil and suffering – the mordor of our times.

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    Jul 5th 2014, 11:00 PM

The article is about India not North Korea or some other ludicrous shite box.

Mute Eoin Cowan
    Favourite Eoin Cowan
    Jul 5th 2014, 4:54 PM

They recently cancelled plans to erect that life size statue of Gade Goody!

Mute Neil Smullen
    Favourite Neil Smullen
    Jul 6th 2014, 12:01 AM

The barber in that pic looks like he just spotted a spider in that guys hair……

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 5th 2014, 6:43 PM

Goosey Goosey was the first name of the founder of the independent nation.

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Jul 5th 2014, 11:40 PM

Ah hell . I red thumbed myself for that. ‘Bad Paddy’.