You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here's What Happened Today: Sunday

Gardaí shooting a man in Dublin, Savita Halappanavar’s parents and a weather warning had everyone talking today.

NEED TO CATCH UP? TheJournal.ie brings you a round-up of today’s news.

IRELAND

Red Bull Flugtag A participant in today's Red Bull Flugtag event at Dún Laoghaire Harbour, Dublin. Morgan Treacy / INPHO Morgan Treacy / INPHO / INPHO

• A man was shot by gardaí who were searching for a young woman who they believe was abducted in Enniskerry, Co Wicklow.
  • Savita Halappanavar’s parents encouraged people to vote Yes in Friday’s referendum on repealing the Eighth Amendment.
  • Two opinion polls on the Eighth Amendment referendum showed that the Yes side is ahead, with the number of undecided voters declining.
  • Met Éireann issued a Status Yellow rainfall warning for 11 counties: Longford, Cavan, Donegal, Galway, Leitrim, Roscommon, Sligo, Clare, Cork, Kerry and Limerick.
  • Sinn Féin is more popular than Fianna Fáil, according to an opinion poll, but Fine Gael remains the most popular political party in the country.
  • A major housebuilder is planning to develop more than 200 homes on the site of Dublin’s second-most expensive house.
  • Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin spoke to TheJournal.ie about how he reached his own position on the Eighth Amendment.

WORLD

chelsea A worker adjusts a floral display as preparations continue for this year's RHS Chelsea Flower Show at the Royal Hospital Chelsea, London. Victoria Jones / PA Wire/PA Images Victoria Jones / PA Wire/PA Images / PA Wire/PA Images

#VENEZUELA: President Nicolas Maduro is expected to win a second six-year term in today’s election, despite a deepening crisis that’s made food scarce and inflation soar.

#SANTA FE: Tributes were paid to the 10 victims of the mass shooting at a school in Texas.

#CUBA: The black box from a Boeing passenger jet that crashed in Cuba, killing 110 people and wounding three others, has been found and is in “good condition“.

#WASHINGTON: US President Donald Trump said he will demand that the Justice Department reviews whether it or the FBI infiltrated his presidential campaign for political purposes.

PARTING SHOT

A loris that was found in a house has been released back into the wild by forest police in Pingbian County in China.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute BuffaloSoldiersky
    Favourite BuffaloSoldiersky
    Jun 5th 2020, 4:57 PM

Are Tayto considered food?

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:00 PM

@BuffaloSoldiersky:

Of course, nothing like a Tayto crisp sandwich washed down with about 12 pints. Wholesome food.

Mute Edward Fitzgerald
    Favourite Edward Fitzgerald
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:01 PM

@BuffaloSoldiersky: taytos &purple snacks are considered staple food groups the original pub lunch

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:01 PM

@Colonel Grant:

Literally just eating one now

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:39 PM

@Edward Fitzgerald: in the good ole days it was the pink snacks that were the connoisseurs choice.

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:22 PM

@Stephen Foster: had they run out of yellow schnacks?

Mute Tom Doyle
    Favourite Tom Doyle
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:44 PM

@Edward Fitzgerald: Don’t forget the Peanuts.

Mute Robaird O Raighne
    Favourite Robaird O Raighne
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:07 PM

Excellent news, so the responsibilty shifts more to people to make the correct decisions for themselves. Go to a restaurant or stay at hime if you don’t feel ready. Go to a shopping centre or don’t. With sensible social distance rules until the virus is squashed further. As an SME and employer of 12 I am happier today than the dark months. Thoughts with those that have gone and brighter times ahead.

Mute Ann Experiment
    Favourite Ann Experiment

All going very fast, very suddenly.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jun 5th 2020, 4:58 PM

@Ann Experiment: The end of the month is not fast or anything like it. I think the Government are finally waking up to the catastrophic damage to the economy this is doing….let’s hope we don’t end up a basket case after all this.

Mute Jeremiah A Craic
    Favourite Jeremiah A Craic
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:06 PM

@Peter Hughes: they’ll be a serious rise in George Forman purchases this month!

Mute Jake Kelly
    Favourite Jake Kelly

@Peter Hughes: this was a shut down done for the benefit of public health and the HSE. If we didn’t go into lockdown this would have gotten seriously ugly. Yes it’s taken a toll on the economy and we will have to be on the back foot after this but human life is more important than the economy

Mute Dino
    Favourite Dino
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:50 PM

@Jake Kelly: ban cars and planes in ireland so and save lives!

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jun 5th 2020, 6:12 PM

@Jake Kelly: The problem is the government after seeing what was going on in Italy left pubs, cafes, restaurants, cinemas etc OPEN and not only that let flights carrying thousands from Italy come here for a piss up….these decisions cost us dearly and kicked off everything. I walked by my local the week before paddy’s day and it was jam packed….I was watching what was going on in Italy I thought we are in big trouble. Now when the virus is crushed we are doing what should have been done at the start, zero logic to.it lol…..comical governance which makes no sense but I expect no different.

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:25 PM

@Dino: Silly comment. Cars and planes have a positive and beneficial purpose. Lethal Corona Viruses don’t.

Mute Bain triail aisti
    Favourite Bain triail aisti
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:17 PM

@Peter Hughes: Yeah, with 200 deaths due solely to Covid19 it was a disaster. 87% had health issues.
    You must be fuming the number wasn’t higher to somehow give your pathetic existence a bust..
    A similar number of people will die from traffic accidents this year, should we ban vehicles until we can be certain no deaths will occur to healthy people due to traffic accidents ?

Mute Billy
    Favourite Billy
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:03 PM

I’ve been enjoying the peace and quiet myself.

If you live somewhere which has a problem with drunken vandalism get ready for some serious damage to your property in July.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:37 PM

@Billy: quite a strange response. Does that happen a lot round your way?

Mute Stephen Foster
    Favourite Stephen Foster
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Billy: In fairness, ye must live in a bit of a sh!t€hole

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:50 PM

@Billy: Not with pubs operating table service only. They’ll probably restrict the time you can book a table for, just like a restaurant

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:53 PM

@Stephen Foster: Carlow. ‘Nuff said.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Jun 5th 2020, 6:14 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: So book a table and if you have it pass it on to whoever comes after you after your time is up?…am I missing something?

Mute Winston Smith
    Favourite Winston Smith

I’ll have a crisp sandwich,… And 45 pints

Mute Eamon Ryan Jnr
    Favourite Eamon Ryan Jnr
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:14 PM

Great to see things opening up again. 29th of June here we go.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes

Thank christ for that lol

Mute Mel Finn
    Favourite Mel Finn

So surely all will open and offer a sambo for a yoyo with your 14 pints!

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Jun 5th 2020, 6:44 PM

@Mel Finn: I can see bookings only, 2 hour limit on tables etc. coming in the coming in the i industry specific guidelines next week. Could be wrong but that’s what some other countries like Australia did. 1 person per 4m squared in their restaurants, although they can sit in groups but that’s the premises capacity rate. Only 10 in a pub.

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:47 PM

@NotMyIreland: I think you should run for office…

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Jun 5th 2020, 6:13 PM

Bars & restaurants opened here ( Netherlands ) on Monday. Big rush on the first day day but they have been dead quiet since. Only half of them actually opened up again.

Mute Angelika Passet
    Favourite Angelika Passet
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:41 PM

Leave the pups closed….open the hairdressers

Mute Angelika Passet
    Favourite Angelika Passet
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:42 PM

@Angelika Passet: pubs..

Mute OhToBeARossie
    Favourite OhToBeARossie
    Jun 5th 2020, 9:38 PM

@Angelika Passet: u get your hair done on the black market I’m off for a cup of soup and 12 pints.
    Premiership back to if u don’t feel comfortable stay at home and wash ur hair.

Mute Ríain HenC
    Favourite Ríain HenC
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:03 PM

Ahhh Gimme 5 pints please , and when I’m done I might order some grub

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:07 PM

I won’t take my chances thanks I will leave going to. The pub till 2021 like any normal person will

Mute Baldy Boo Bolingoli
    Favourite Baldy Boo Bolingoli
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:25 PM

@BriP75: great craic you are id say!!!!!

Mute Eoin
    Favourite Eoin
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:49 PM

@BriP75: thanks to be good you won’t be there

Mute James O Lone
    Favourite James O Lone

Would that include golf clubs with a bar/restaurant

Mute Dara O'Brien
    Favourite Dara O'Brien
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:27 PM

@James O Lone: if they have a restaurant licence then I’d imagine so

Mute Sam Lowry
    Favourite Sam Lowry
    Jun 6th 2020, 12:31 AM

Finally table service in pubs like in a proper civilised country.

Mute Mary Downes Montcho
    Favourite Mary Downes Montcho
    Jun 6th 2020, 5:55 AM

@Sam Lowry: brings me back to my first job as a lounge girl at 14 serving drinks and food in Madigans Pubs . Great money in tips. Loved it great crack.

Mute Anthony Sweeney
    Favourite Anthony Sweeney
    Jun 5th 2020, 6:00 PM

Why has food to be linked to a pub now? It’s no different than going to your local grocery stores

Mute David Lawless
    Favourite David Lawless
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:28 PM

@Anthony Sweeney: Pubs have been applying for a restaurant cert for the last 15+ years. It allows an extra hours drinking up time as opposed to 30 mins. After closing’ for customers having a meal.
    If your serving a meal at 9:30 on a Sunday and you can be prosecuted at 11:30 for having customers on premises, it is a necessity.
    To gain a cert from the court, you must prove that a large portion of your business is food orientated.
    As a cert can cost up to €10000 euro to gain first time (Costs included).
    This is why pubs were annoyed at restraunts being allowed to open and not them.

Mute Anthony Sweeney
    Favourite Anthony Sweeney
    Jun 5th 2020, 6:07 PM

You will have to book an appointment

Mute biggybald
    Favourite biggybald
    Jun 5th 2020, 7:34 PM

So they will all open then and serve sambos if they’ve no cooking facilities.

Mute Desmond Lyons
    Favourite Desmond Lyons
    Jun 6th 2020, 5:25 AM

That fellow Chawke stayed on the Duffy show that if one ordered a ‘plate of chips’ or a sandwich at any of his establishments then they could order pints. Not exactly a restaurant. Looking for loopholes!

Mute BmcG
    Favourite BmcG
    Jun 5th 2020, 9:08 PM

The pubs will bleeding jammers will their be some sort of unofficial national holiday on the 29th or somethin yup

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:16 PM

Wait till you see all the pubs serving sambos

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Jun 5th 2020, 8:21 PM

Ahhh come on now Tony, we will at least be having the chicken wings!!

Mute P Shei
    Favourite P Shei
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:54 PM

Packet o’ Peanuts please

Mute Ann Bourke
    Favourite Ann Bourke
    Jun 7th 2020, 3:25 PM

Pubs that’s don’t normally maybe able to overcome the lack of a licence to make hot food. A licence is not required for one of those giant soup pots. Buy a catering size box of soup mix and make it up and store it in the giant soup pot. Every day go to your local bakery and buy some of their locally made bread to serve with the soup. Or buy a mixture of ready made sandwiches from your local cafe down the street to serve with your soup. All equipment to invest in is one of those giant soup pots and a new fridge solely for storage of the sandwiches and the milk to serve with the teas and coffee.

Mute Real Online Career
    Favourite Real Online Career
    Jun 7th 2020, 2:18 AM

I have set up a petition for Ireland to only reopen pubs on the weekends to improve people’s health, pockets and to reduce alcohol problems. Please sign if you agree at http://chng.it/PW9vPxtY