You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Nick Leeson: I sat my sons down this week to pass on the hard lessons I have learned

In an exclusive piece for TheJournal.ie, the former ‘rogue’ trader writes of his panic and embarrassment on this week 20 years ago as he collapsed a 232-year-old bank.

nickleeson Nick Leeson on his arrival from Germany in Singapore in 1995; on the day of his release from jail in 1999; this week. Press Association / AP images Press Association / AP images / AP images

THE 23 February 1995 and the ensuing days are not ones that I am likely to forget. Not least because the 25 February marks the date of my birthday but, by some strange twist of fate, these are the same days that mark the collapse of Barings bank.

So in my world, my birthday is always inextricably linked with the most embarrassing period of my life. It’s a tough one: Do you celebrate, commiserate or lower your head in shame and hide away?

The fact is, it’s been 20 years now since the judge handed down my sentence. I don’t believe that there is a minimum length of remorse that I was told to serve.

However, life moves on and it’s important that we all remember that.

On the 23 February 1995, I left Singapore for the last time. Finally, I’d been asked an intelligent question about the illegal trading position that I was holding on the Singaporean International Money Exchange and there was no longer any way to continue the deception.

My number was metaphorically and literally up.

Planes, trains and automobiles comes to mind. I needed the quickest route out of Singapore.

Paranoia was my constant companion; everyone was looking at me. As I approached the immigration desk, it seemed that my passport grew to twice the size of everyone else’s and that every conversation in the departure lounge concerned me. Every nod of the head was directed at me and there was no way out.

Somehow, I managed to stumble aboard the plane and start – what for this period of my life – was the beginning of the end. My simple apology note when I hit mainland in Malaysia escalated the problem that the bank was facing.

Early on the morning of 24 February, the Barings’ desks on the trading floor were vacant. The more astute vultures on the trading floor were already collecting memorabilia. By the close of business, Barings had informed the Bank of England of its insolvency and the message was conveyed to parliament.

The weekend of 25 and 26 February 1995 saw intense discussions taking place in the City of London. Was there a way to rescue Barings for the second time in its history or were the losses too big to quantify, or more importantly, to accurately calculate?

Unfortunately, the latter was the case and on the evening of 26 February, all 232 years of history of Barings bank was placed into administration. In the early morning of 2 March, I was arrested leaving a flight at Frankfurt airport and handed over to the border police.

It is impossible to distance myself from the embarrassment that still is the over­riding memory of that period. I wanted to be successful but will always be remembered for my biggest failure.

That still rankles to this day but whilst it was a livid open wound in the beginning, as you read and heard things about yourself, it does become easier to live with.

No longer do the words disgraced banker, fraud, criminal feel like fingers digging deeper into that open laceration, they simply brush off the scar tissue that now remains.

As much as that period serves to remind the financial world of how badly things can go wrong, it also serves as a reminder that you can recover and move on. I suppose that has been the most empowering part of my journey; at least to me. Prison was quickly followed by divorce and the onset of cancer, chemotherapy and a very bleak outlook.

Somehow though, you garner the strength to overcome. I firmly believe that it is innate within all of us and that we are only ever confronted by problems that we are able to work through.

I sat down with my two sons earlier this week to discuss in more detail than they’ve previously heard about the collapse of the bank and the messages that I would like them to take from my experiences.

I was never a great communicator but thankfully I have had to become one through the circumstances that I have had to face. It’s not always easy and I started by keeping a diary. Confronting my thoughts and problems on paper was an easier way to start.

The lessons I gave my sons are all quite simple but I think they need to be regularly enforced.

• All action has consequence. Before you take any action, make sure that you are aware of the consequences and properly appraise them. It is always important to be responsible and accountable for you actions.
  • There is no mistake/problem that cannot be overcome. I have had to face into the abyss many times but there is always a way to work through your problems. It’s not always readily apparent what that route is, but you have to communicate and explain the problems that are facing you, at work, at home, at school. I explain that I am always there to help and whilst I’ll give advice, I will not judge.
  • Always ask for help and advice. I was surrounded by people that could have helped and steered me in a different direction but I thought I was able to deal with the situation and, as we now know, I wasn’t. Asking for help and advice early in my time in Singapore would have seen a very different outcome.
  • Everyone makes mistakes. Don’t ever be afraid of making mistakes but if you do make a mistake, never hide them. Hiding a problem only ever compounds the issues.
  • There are things in your life you can influence and things in your life that you can’t. Focus on the things that you can influence and don’t let the things that you can’t influence worry you.

Nick Leeson now lives in Barna, Galway.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 13 comments
13 Comments
    Mute Gregson from the Block
    Favourite Gregson from the Block
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:09 PM

Calleary on the way back on the same day as Sean O’Rourke. We are actually a nation of gombeens ourselves for putting up with it all.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Aug 25th 2022, 3:50 PM

@Gregson from the Block: Both served their time for not doing much wrong in the first place

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:17 PM

@Gregson from the Block: Stepford TD’s.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Aug 25th 2022, 10:17 PM

@Gregson from the Block: what did they do that they can’t have a second chance People on here love to be outraged

Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:29 PM

Christ, is there anyone left in Fianna Fail who isn’t tainted by scandal? We’re talking about the same guy who threw his toys out of the pram because he wasn’t given a ministry, then gets it on foot of another TD getting sacked due to a drink driving conviction, before himself having to resign in disgrace because he attended a social event that was in violation of the COVID regulations in force at the time. You couldn’t make it up.

Normally, I’d take a view that we all make mistakes and deserve a chance to make amends, but this is a regular occurrence with FF/FG. The politicans concerned always try and spin to the narrative to one of decent politicians being persecuted by agenda-driven journalists, illustrating a culture of arrogance, entitlement, and hypocrisy. In FFG, laws are for the little people, not the chosen few in the golden circle. Calleary should be political kryptonite, yet there they are looking to welcome their prodigal son back into the fold. Michael Martin has done himself no favours acting as a scandal apologist in the last couple of weeks.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Aug 25th 2022, 3:04 PM

@Eric: Worth of course remembering that if any ordinary person made those “mistakes” while working for Revenue or other public office there would be no such second chance or chance to make amends. There would be no defence from higher ups, no opportunity to clear your name and no time to resign first to spare embarrassment. You would be fired immediately, branded a fraudster of the state and blacklisted for life.

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Aug 25th 2022, 10:20 PM

@Eric: Calleary paid a heavy price for F All They were all cleared in court He paid for his mistake

Mute aidan mccormack
    Favourite aidan mccormack
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:19 PM

All different but some how all exactly the same.

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:44 PM

We don’t need junior ministers

Mute Gregson from the Block
    Favourite Gregson from the Block
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:08 PM

A who’s who of shitehawks

Mute der Fussballmeister
    Favourite der Fussballmeister
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:21 PM

Whatever about property ownership, how about seeing their qualifications & experience? Our national parliament being full of unqualified people is a far bigger problem than…

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:32 PM

@der Fussballmeister: actually you will find the vast majority of TDs are highly qualified. Some are Teachers, others are Doctors. Anyway by putting inplace a need for a high qualification to become a TD puts it outside the reach of normal people making it elitist. The only restrictions on becoming a TD is if you are a member of the judiciary, the Garda Síochána, and the Defence Forces other than that its a simple enough process for any citizen to run for election as an Independent.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Aug 25th 2022, 3:05 PM

@der Fussballmeister: Half of them can’t talk. The other half can’t do anything.

Mute Tommy Berry
    Favourite Tommy Berry
    Aug 25th 2022, 3:16 PM

@der Fussballmeister: What qualifications should they have?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:15 PM

After the rehabilitation? Of the golfgate elite, they have their pick. Perhaps Sean O’Rourke ..The pay would be an added bonus considering the rehabilitation with RTE. It would be the continuing the circus.

Mute Ernie Gallagher
    Favourite Ernie Gallagher
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:46 PM

And the needle goes back to the start of the song
    And we all sing along like before …

Mute Ger O'Reilly
    Favourite Ger O'Reilly
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:45 PM

Nothing about the wrong that was done. The vultures are too busy fighting over the carcass. This government has no moral compass.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:00 PM

On the radio today they were interviewing people from Troy the Landlords constituency. While I was listening 100% said that they would vote for him again in the next election. We love the auld cutehoorism in our beautiful little country and it make me sick.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:01 PM

@OConnelj: *makes

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Aug 26th 2022, 1:38 PM

@OConnelj: You need to update yourself on Sinn Feins equivalent of Mr Troy. MaryLOO very quiet on this, you’d wonder why

Mute Ciaran Leonard
    Favourite Ciaran Leonard
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:38 PM

If he’s not fit to be a Minister of State because of his actions and decisions – then he is not fit to be a TD. How did he manage to purchase / finance so many properties?

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:43 PM

@Ciaran Leonard: who cares, maybe he was born with a silver spoon up is sphincter.

Mute Ciaran Leonard
    Favourite Ciaran Leonard
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:48 PM

@OConnelj: When you say “who cares” it explains why these things happen continuously. Many care, that’s what stops it getting worse. As for what’s up his sphincter – I have no idea.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:55 PM

@Ciaran Leonard: The issue is not how he can afford so much property, the issue is declaring it. One investigation at a time Ciaran.

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Aug 25th 2022, 3:15 PM

Time for a change.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Aug 25th 2022, 2:35 PM

One white collar is as bad as the other.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 25th 2022, 3:55 PM

Callery another disgrace being brought back ,Cowan the drink driver could be back also ,the endless pit of ff corruption continues
    Please stop voting fffg

Mute Sheila McNulty
    Favourite Sheila McNulty
    Aug 25th 2022, 10:26 PM

@James Delaney: Calleary a disgrace ? Would u cop on He made a mistake & he paid a heavy price think he has had enough punishment or are u one of these who can’t forgive everyone deserves a second chance

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 26th 2022, 1:09 PM

@Sheila McNulty: you and the likes ,are the reason the country is in this situation ,you seriously have to look at yourself

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Aug 26th 2022, 2:35 PM

@James Delaney: Don’t research Sinn Fein’s past or u will be shocked

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Aug 27th 2022, 1:58 AM

@Tim Quigley: Sinn Fein ?

Mute Gregory Casey
    Favourite Gregory Casey
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:24 PM

It doesn’t matter who Tricky Mickey appoints for all of them and all in FG & the Greens should be turfed out on their axxes come the next election. Unfortunately, our sound asleep electorate will vote the majority of them back to Dáil Éireann. We really do deserve the politicians we get.

Mute Richard Ahern
    Favourite Richard Ahern
    Aug 25th 2022, 5:16 PM

Does it really matter who replaces him? If it does then shouldn’t a junior minister have a sub-junior minister, &, in turn, an ultra-junior minister. Twould fit in nicely with other quangos & would build up a fantastic wall of confusion & obfuscation so that we are all bamboozled & left wondering why we asked questions in the first place. In fact we probably wouldn’t even remember what our question was.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 25th 2022, 10:15 PM

Is Jim Figgerty still around?, He could call him up maybe?

Mute Fintan O'Halloran
    Favourite Fintan O'Halloran
    Aug 25th 2022, 10:04 PM

Shame really. Robert was a highly effective local politician. That said he kicked himself in his own backside so it’s hard to feel any pity for the man

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Aug 25th 2022, 10:10 PM

Is Jim Figgerty still around ,?? maybe he could call on him ?.

Mute OConnelj
    Favourite OConnelj
    Aug 25th 2022, 4:44 PM

*his

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Aug 25th 2022, 5:54 PM

Hard Act To Follow A brilliant Representative For Longford Westmeath my Tip Barry Cowan for 6he job

Mute Charles McCarthy
    Favourite Charles McCarthy
    Aug 26th 2022, 9:37 AM

And nothing ever happens, nothing happens at all
    The needle returns to the start of the song
    And we all sing along like before
    And we’ll all be lonely tonight and lonely tomorrow.