You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
2. #BACK: The leaders of Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and the Green Party have agreed to a recall of the Dáil amid fury from the opposition following the Golfgate scandal.
4. #CARBON DIOXIDE: A widely-shared Facebook post claimed that wearing a mask can cause people to breathe in their own carbon dioxide, leading to health complications. This is not true.
9. #WEATHER: Met Éireann has said that today should be drier and brighter than recent days with highest temperatures of around 14 to 19 degrees.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
13 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
You only have to read the father of marketing Edward Bernays book “Propaganda” to know that to have a consumer society people must be miserable and in fear.
Fozz, nothing to do with serious escalations in the middle east, over 500 deaths linked to Ebola (worldwide not just Africa and that number is escalating quicker than we realise), over 1/2 million people marching in Hong kong yesterday against Chinese rule, riots in Berlin and Brazil? Take your pick. There’s plenty ‘going to happen’ that is already happening. It’s just kept out of MSM here. So we can go about our happy little lives.
You’re right about increased consumption derived from fear though.
Reminds me of Team B during the cold war. A taskforce commissioned by CIA to quantify and verify Soviet threat to the US.
They made claims that the Soviets were creating or had already created advanced weaponry and systems superior to the US arsenal. Their proof? That the systems were so advanced, they were undetectable, that Russia was just putting on an air of poverty to conceal these super weapons they never had.
To the electorate, there is nothing more scarier than an invisible enemy, lurking around us, which we cannot see, identify, and will strike without mercy. This kind of manipulation lead to the Patriot Act.
Loremolis
They won’t look up your anus. But the TSA will grope a woman’s breasts and vagina even if you are in a wheelchair. The men will endure the same intrusive behaviour ….. Oh don’t take my word for it.
It’s been very well documented.
You can always go in their x ray machine !! Yea I’m sure it’s healthy.
Paul
What reality are you currently living in ?
The name of the machine used is “backscatter x-Ray” it uses advanced x-Ray technology. It is more powerful and more dangerous than traditional x-ray machines. I would suggest looking it up or at the very least go on the manufactures website and see for yourself just how wrong you are.
The backscatter x-rays have been banned in the EU and they’ve currently replaced all the backscatter with millimetre wave scanners in the US (though the x-ray ones might come back over there as the reason they were removed was only due to a software issue and not because of a ban against them)
John
There was a massive outcry about these dangerous intrusive x-ray machines and TSA groping. People from all walks of life have been kicking up over this for a number of years. Members of Congress, celebs, doctors and millions of others have been very outspoken on this issue.
You don’t get rid of machines because of a software issue.
@Glen, well the outcry was the reason the law changed in the first place, either way it doesn’t matter much, my main point is that the X-Ray machines are gone.
Declan
Considering the fact you don’t even know me.
How do you come to the conclusion that I believe everything I read ?
Do you just post whatever drivel comes into your head!!!
@ Paul Flynn : If there is a grid breakdown, we can expect the following scenario : In THE SHOCK DOCTRINE, Naomi Klein explodes the myth that the global free market triumphed democratically. Exposing the thinking, the money trail and the puppet strings behind the world-changing crises and wars of the last four decades, The Shock Doctrine is the gripping story of how America’s “free market” policies have come to dominate the world– through the exploitation of disaster-shocked people and countries.
At the most chaotic juncture in Iraq’s civil war, a new law is unveiled that would allow Shell and BP to claim the country’s vast oil reserves…. Immediately following September 11, the Bush Administration quietly out-sources the running of the “War on Terror” to Halliburton and Blackwater http://vimeo.com/26718047#at=0
Has anyone seen the statement that Snowden is due to release the rest of his encrypted files at the end of the month?? Apparently he’s done the aul save the best till last. I think it’s gonna be big…
@ Katie Collins : Yes I heard of it . He is convinced the USA will begin a major war very soon. ”July is when war begins unless headed off by Snowden full release of crippling intel. After war begins not a chance of release,” http://whatsupic.com/news-politics-usa/1404226683.html
@Joe I think he’s sitting on something either to do with an upcoming war or something to at could possibly start another one. Nsa lists are childsplay in comparison to what this could be. Have a look at Padraig’s link there for more information.
It’s probably nothing that’s not known already, I think Snowdens a mis info agent anyway, most the stuff he’s come out with has already been known for a good while, he’s just bringin it to the mainstream gently and slowly
you think there should be no increase in security if threats are confirmed?”
- Confirmed by who – by the governments who wants to keep the populations in fear ??
In related news, passport holders of the new Islamic State (formerly known as ISIS) will be exempt from these “unspecified steps”. All other passport holders are advised to practice “assuming the position”.
You’ve got to admire Osama Bin Laden. Possibly the greatest military strategist since Sun Tzu. With no air force, no tanks, no missiles, half a dozen motorbikes and a six figure budget, he’s managed to drag the US into spending trillions on a middle east conflict it can’t get out of, knock out three anti-Islamist regimes, erase a 90 year old border between Iraq and Syria, raise a cohort of home-grown jihais in Europe and cause huge civilian disruption in the US
There was a report a while back that AQ’s chief bomb maker in Yemen was experimenting with a new type of sub-dermal device. Basically it consists of implants like those used in breast implants but instead of saline they were filled with hydrogen peroxide. The implant is inserted into the stomach cavity and the bomber then uses a needle to inject acetone into the implant which then creates a binary explosive that is very unstable. A detonator hidden in a piece of electronic equipment is then held to the stomach and this creates enough of a force to detonate the mix.
I don’t know how advanced they are on this but it would be practically impossible to detect unless you got every fat person boarding the plane to lift their clothing to see if they recently had surgery.
Brian have you just told us all how to make a basic undetectable bomb? Hope you not planning to travel to USA anytime soon. The TSA will be looking very close at any scars.
Thomas it was printed in the Sunday Times and easily available off the Internet. I doubt that I will ever go to the US seeing as I did my final year project on terrorism and no doubt the NSA would be telling the TSA to have a word with me! I mean if they sent home 2 lads for making jokes on twitter they would have a field day with me!
Is anyone else sick of “the war on terror”? Time was when your holiday started as soon as you reached the airport – sadly, no more. The “Terrorists” have definitely won when your average Joe has to put up with an increasing amount of utter shite in order to go anywhere.
“amid concern that terror groups are developing new explosives to circumvent airport security”
ah lads, come off it. if they circumvent, you won’t catch it. clearly it’s just a “threat level” top up, because there’s something planned or just, you know – the citizens were getting uppity and needed to be reminded that freedom isn’t free, or whatever pamphlets they’re handing around.
never want to go back to the US anyway, TSA is so (deliberately) insulting and demeaning.
Have you seen the footage of where the TSA come over the tannoy and say “Everyone freeze” and you have to freeze right there? If you move or even laugh they haul you away for questioning. Seriously it’s actually as hilarious to watch as it is disturbing.
A lot of people are now afraid to go to the USA….On arrival only to be met by TSA Gestapo ..and the possibility of then being booted back by the Feds on the next plane over some trivial Twitter joke..
Locked up for 12 hours in a holding cell waiting to be Interrogated by armed FBI agents would seem the norm before being frog marched on to a returning flight ……as what happened in this incident. …Readers comments in that article starting from the Best rated sums up the situation well.
But Frank is the ultimate drama conspircy nut Queen we have here.His looney tunes posts are now part of my daily reading and pass for the Funnies page on Journal.ie.
Was over a few weeks ago Frank…got through pre-clearance no bothar in Dublin and arrived in Newark as a domestic passenger. On my way back the TSA agent even said hello and smiled as he checked my passport details and I went through the x ray scanner. I feel fine, sorry I couldn’t tell you a tale of shady CIA agents on my tail as I left the airport or feeling unwell since the scanner experience…oh well.
Rubbish.
I am in the US at the moment, their security and their care for the own population is top class.
We could learn a thing or two from them about who we allow into our country ( ref. Roma story above)
If you call the rubbing up of your genitals by some stranger or getting blasted with radioactive waves just so you can air travel first class security then you’re an absolute fuhking idiot, you’ve more chance to be killed by a jumped up copper over there than by an Islamic terrorist. The TSA isn’t about border security it’s all about exerting power and control over the population, how do we know that now? Because the Mexican border is gone, the flood gates have been opened down there to anyone and they’re welcomed with open arms.
i don’t see how one would feel negative about going to america if they’ve nothing to hide, if they’re stringent, let them get on with it rather than huff puff. border controls vary from country to country. The US aren’t the only stringent gates. Travel a bit and understand what its there for.
Lobbyist for company who supply millimeter wave scanners: “Mr Congressman, our sales are down, we can’t survive on maintenance alone, we need to boost sales”
Congressman: “But what I can I do, my old friend”
Lobbyist: “We really need to get the EU on board to mandate the use of our technology, that’s a ripe market then for us”
Congressman: “Sure, but how can I do that”
Lobbyist: “We need a vague security scare. Elevate some threat levels, then make people queue for extra time while everyone gets frisked for a couple of weeks due to the threat level”
Congressman: “Aha, then people will be either annoyed or scared, so we can easily set new rules, and the EU airports will have buy lots of scanners”
Lobbyist: “Exactly. How are you liking that ’74 latour?”
Congressman: “It’s no bourbon, but it’ll do”
Its good to know the US takes these security threats seriously, memories are still fresh of the Air India plane deliberatly blown out of the sky by politically motivated terriorists off the west coast in the seventies.
I am traveling to NOLA US in Sep,and as an Irish citizen id like to get there in one piece if possible,if this means increased security guarentees my safety,and that of other passengers,obvously i am in complete agreement.
Damn right. Imagine the US ignored it and something actually did happen. It’s too easy for the Irish and everyone else to slate Americans for taking death threats seriously. The twin towers and Boston marathon actually happened in their country. To their people. Same with the UK. Of course people perceive safety precautions to be silly or OTT, while they comment from a country that never experienced such horrific events, ( don’t start about the RA, completely irrelevant)
And their intervention in the middle east: yes it’s multifaceted, yes it’s causing problems, but if the US wasn’t in any way involved, they’d still be killing each other, like they have been for the past few hundred years. It’s kinda their thing.
If Ireland had two planes blown up as acts of terrorism, and had various countries around the middle east actively plotting it’s demise, I’m sure the comments here would be very different.
But your right…..those US idiots…..taking threats seriously because they’ve had thousands murdered by terrorists before……..dopez……
They always check my luggage and open my stuff and don’t close it properly, and then my clothes get covered in cream and shower gel. And they leave a note to let me know it was them.
Security is essential for all travellers to the USA. Enough of these namby pamby measures that won’t affect anyone. There should be full strip and cavity searches for everyone entering the US. Cavity searches deep and hard. That way safety can be guaranteed against the freedom haters.
Treasa, Sorry to have to tell you this but 9/11 was a staged event. Criminal elements within the US government in cooperation with Saudi intelligence took those towers down. The whole war on terror is one massive lie. It’s like Hitler said, “the bigger the lie, the more people will believe it”
Your not telling me anything. I believe in the whole 9/11 conspiracy. I just don’t see why people who have not personally experienced death threats to their country feel they have the authority to disregard the concerns of those who do. Every excuse of “what about the US doing” ect ect doesn’t answer the question, but skirt it.
Yes USA intervention in those countries is part of origin of such threats. believe it or not ordinary Americans do not want their government wasting taxpayers money on wars or funding rebels. The majority of Americans i meet on a daily basis would strangle Obama if they got the chance.
But the US/UK government, like most governments don’t represent the people. And it’s the people who bear the brunt of terrorist attacks.
So if they want to hike up their security because they have very realistic and plausible excuses to, Who are we to slate them? they are the ones getting blown to pieces at marathons, or hacked to death in broad daylight, not us who merely read about it and say “god that’s terrible”.
Treasa I’m trying to comprehend what you are saying. You accept 911 was a staged event. I presume you accept a level of US gov fore knowledge and complicity at the least. The result of it is an Orwellian and patently ridiculous “war on terror” to cow the public into giving up any semblance of their rights. Would you agree? But the important thing is that we applaud the security measures which are foisted upon us, because the of the 911 false flag. I’m confused!
9/11 aside, the US people know the the majority of the world hate them. That alone is enough to cause fear. The US government has caused its own problems , but it’s the people who feel the brunt of terrorism. That’s the point I’m trying to make. And who are we to slate them for hiking up security measures? For them terrorism is very real. Their country is currently involved in a disgustingly violent war in which no one agrees with their interference, even them. You think they don’t know the animosity other countries have towards them?
Hiked up security measures aren’t just for the planes, it will also combat terrorists circulating around Europe and the US. Why is that a bad thing? That confuses me. Is it seen as an infringement on human rights or privacy? I’m not trying to be a smartarse here I’m genuinely asking.
I fly to the US all the time, I don’t mind jumping through hoops and being crucifyingly interrogated by CBP if it’s in the interests of security. I’ve been giving absolute hell by TSA and CBP before, and if it’s any condolence they can be just as horrible to US citizens.
Treasa we agree on one thing, liking American people. I never said I don’t like them. Their country is taken over by undemocratic unseen forces, they know it, we know it. They are scared of course. I can only speak for myself but the American people are not the problem. If more of them wake up something might change. I disagree with you that we should welcome these crazy security measures. We should resist them at least intellectually. If you agree with me about the US gov why do you think all these security measures make anyone safe?
I don’t know if it will or won’t. Maybe terrorists will move on to American schools and shopping centers. But what’s the harm in hiking it up? even if it is the illusion of safety from external forces, while ignoring internal threats (us gov)
Americans don’t trust their government as far as they can throw it, but they have a very realistic fear of terrorism because of what their government is doing, which they have no say in. Increasing airport security in Europe and the us in the midst of the situation right know, with jihadist extremists floating around both continents doesn’t seem unreasonable to me.
Treasa, I know that the majority of Americans don’t want their tax money being spent on multiple illegal wars. Do you not understand that all of these security measures and institutions (Homeland security etc.) exist because of this one event? It is also ridiculous to imply that “you shouldn’t slate them” for making your average person feel like a terrorist when travelling to the US. And most terrorist events in the US are also perpetrated by the federal government. You’re almost there but not quite
So increased security for American citizens, regarding who they let into their country, considering for the last two decades their government have been embroiled in horrific wars, is wrong because it Inconveniences the traveller?
Niall I’m genuinely asking: what is the issue with increased security for who the US lets into their country? If its their country, are they not entitled to do what they want really regarding discretion between who they let in? And what measures they take?
Nobody forces people to travel to the US. if it a truly oppressive, restrictive country, that murders its citizens in top secret CIA projects, and enforces unnecessary intrusive measures, and inconveniences, as you suggest, then people don’t have to go there. But I don’t see how slating Americans over genuine fears and concerns makes sense.
Or are you more concerned with them lying to people? And making them believe they are being threatened? And on that note, was the Boston bombing an inside job too? I know the conspiracy about 9/11, have not heard one iota about Boston.
Ye boston bombing was staged too and yes Obama has authorised the killing of American citizens. My whole point is they don’t care about your security. It’s just a big show of force to make you feel safe from a non-existent threat. You’re more likely to be killed by an infection than by a terrorist. Why is all the money being pumped into anti-terror units and not a much bigger threat like infections? Bees kill more Americans than terrorists aswell. Where’s the bee sting prevention unit?
Things must be getting too quiet at the Pentagon. They need at least the War of Terror – and as many others as the can find or generate.
Money needs to be made – and the real enemy of USA – as Gen. McCrystal said were at home ie the people of USA .
Same goes for most countries.
If the people of US cop on to what their government is doing and what they are paying for ??.
So they hype up a security threat so the TSA can grope everyone arriving by plane.at the same time thousands of illegal immigrants are pouring over the border, then being fed and looked after by border patrol agents. I smell a false flag soon
You should check out the reports coming from nurses in those refugee camps, regarding the diseases the kids are raging with, and the camp staff being threatened if they talk to the media about it.
Well, if they’re untraceable, why are they bothering to search for them and making the queues longer. Untraceable means just that – they might as well just start searching the passengers’ auras too.
Do terrorists only build bombs at home and then jump on a plane and transport them?
Have they not realised by now that it’s much easier to build it in the territory you intend bombing.
Why the fascination with terrorists and planes? All because of 9/11?
How do terrorists working out of derelict buildings and the back of 4x4s invent something the mighty US military or one of its contractors hasn’t already made?
If it’s non traceable how do they know about it and how do they intend to actually (if this report is to be believed) detect and counter this?
Just sounds like more propaganda and spin which will no doubt lead to more civil liberties being removed or violated and more invasive means of screenings for everyone going about their normal already made stressful travels due to existing security.
Personally I believe we have given into to manufactured terrorist threats enough with the level of check points and screenings which exist.
Every train and bus should have the same level of security and checks if there was a real threat. Instead we have policy’s and procedures in place which only remind us of our place, that we must give in to big governments intrusions who apparently are here for our protection and I should be OK that they can feel me up and search me like a criminal everything I need to travel on holidays or for work.
Why should we tighten up security, it’s the english who are starting a war. They need their little psychodramas to put their population in a flap and pass a few sly little laws.
It’s not the very low probability of a terrorist incident which bothers me but the intrusive and ineffective security checks and searches. The technology for scanning at airports seems highly unreliable and unpredictable in its results.
I wonder if these security measures are a mere nominal gesture.
I avoid air travel to the maximum extent possible and many others are starting to take a similar approach. It’s safer if we are really to believe that terrorism is such a high risk.
In unprecedented move, Ireland's psychiatrists say CAMHS 'urgently' needs to be overhauled
9 hrs ago
Good Morning
The 9 at 9: Tuesday
Updated
1 hr ago
trump administration
White House confirms Defence Secretary accidentally texted journalist US plans to strike Yemen
Updated
11 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 160 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 142 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 112 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 133 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say