You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The 9 at 9 Here’s what’s making headlines this morning.

LAST UPDATE | 6 Oct 2020

EVERY MORNING, TheJournal.ie brings you all the news you need to know as you start the day.

1. #CORONAVIRUS: Concerns have been raised that the relationship between NPHET and the government is “changed forever” after the government ultimately decided to reject advice to go to Level 5 and opt for Level 3 instead.

2. #CMO LETTER: In a letter to government, NPHET warned that going to Level 5 is the “only opportunity” to control Covid-19

3. #REBUKE: Tánaiste Leo Varadkar launched a stinging attack on NPHET last night and said the Level 5 recommendation “came out of the blue”

4. #BULLISH: US President Donald Trump told the American public “don’t be afraid of Covid” as he left hospital and returned to the White House yesterday

5. #ECONOMIC FORECAST: The Central Bank has said the Irish economy is set to shrink by between 0.4% and 1.1% this year.

6. #HEALTH: Ireland’s public health expenditure ranks ninth in Europe according to an ESRI report.

7. #CONTROVERSY: The National Union of Journalists has defended Golfgate coverage after remarks from Supreme Court judge – and event attendee – Seamus Woulfe.

8. #CORONAVIRUS: Here’s how other European countries are currently dealing with surges in Covid-19.

9. #WEATHER: There’s more rain and unsettled weather forecast over the coming days

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute David Lee
    Favourite David Lee
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:10 PM

We’re trapped in a revolving door… lockdown followed by spike… lockdown again, spike again…and so on and on… That is not living with covid, that’s hiding indoors away from other humans everytime theres a spike.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:20 PM

@David Lee: spot on here, you’d wonder how so called medical experts can’t see this or is there something sinister going on?

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:28 PM

@SB: The medical experts are well aware of it. The problem is that we don’t yet have the ammunition to go out and face this thing head on. Restrictions are our only really effective weapon against the spread.

Nothing sinister, but maybe a fantasy about the evil medical men sounds better and gets people excited…

See 36 more replies ▾
    Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:33 PM

@ihcalaM: so tell me then if its a situation where there’s lock downs every few weeks , open up again , another spike in cases, another lock down repeat and repeat over and over and the virus doesn’t go anywhere, meanwhile 50% of the population will likely lose their jobs and society is on the verge of crumbling, because if they keep on doing this is exactly what will happen, instead of just opening up and protecting those most at risk.

Mute Peter Denham
    Favourite Peter Denham
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:34 PM

@David Lee: That time of day where David needs everything explained to him again. Locking down areas where the virus is getting out of hand is the only way we can stop over crowding in hospitals for now. They then reopen when numbers have stabilised. See you again tomorrow.

Mute Isabella Hickey
    Favourite Isabella Hickey
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:37 PM

@David Lee: 100% – round and round the mulberry bush

Mute Isabella Hickey
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:38 PM

@SB: something sinister going on..NWO power, control and manipulatation …lockdownnthen when a smidgen of freedom doled out the sheeple think giv is great and life’s wonderful…bonkers loo la stuff and it’s a game of jump ok how high!!

Mute Peter Denham
    Favourite Peter Denham
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:39 PM

@SB: We had record numbers on trollies last year. Throw a pandemic in the mix with our terrible health service and it’ll be a disaster for people suffering all illnesses.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Peter Denham: and the virus is just going to magically disappear is it? You do realise lock downs won’t eradicate the virus don’t you, all it’ll do is cripple the economy, so keep on with lock downs every few weeks and by next year the country will be bankrupt,and that’s the fact, they haven’t got the money to substain this indefinitely.

Mute Peter Denham
    Favourite Peter Denham
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:44 PM

@SB: it obviously won’t eradicate it. Just ignore the part where I said our health system will collapse then why don’t you? Also it’s a complete lie that there’s been lockdowns every few weeks. This is the way it has to be until there’s a vaccine.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:49 PM

@David Lee: have you a better solution

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:50 PM

@Peter Denham: you don’t know for certain it’ll cripple the health system, the majority of cases are young people who don’t need hospital treatment, what’s very certain though is that the economy will absolutely crash if you keep with constant lock downs which do no good whatsoever

Mute Emma Dobbyn
    Favourite Emma Dobbyn
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:50 PM

@David Lee: what do you suggest we do instead? Abandon all restrictions and hope for the best?

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:51 PM

@Peter Denham: plus you could be pi**ing in the wind waiting on a vaccine,it could take years.

Mute Mary Oliver
    Favourite Mary Oliver

@Peter Denham: absolutely

Mute Peter Denham
    Favourite Peter Denham
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:52 PM

@SB: records numbers and trollies last year and massive waiting lists. It will cripple the health system

Mute DJ François
    Favourite DJ François
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:53 PM

@Isabella Hickey: I’ve some shares in an aluminium millinery factory should you want to buy some

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:56 PM

@Peter Denham: you have conveniently ignored what I said, the majority of cases are younger people most who won’t require any hospital treatment, even with this spike in cases there’s no shortage of hospital beds right now, you also never answered my question about the economy?

Mute Shane Fitzgibbon
    Favourite Shane Fitzgibbon
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:57 PM

@Peter Denham: And what if there’s never a vaccine? Or it takes years? Or it’s rushed out, and unsafe (manufacturers are indemnified against and harm it causes)

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:17 PM

@Shane Fitzgibbon: then we continue as we are with a traffic light system. Cases increase, we protect ourselves by minimizing the spread with a lockdown. The whole world is in the same boat and you’re so tied up with what about the economy, the economy, the economy…. what good is the money if you don’t have your health. If you don’t have a solution or can’t suggest something different don’t ask questions cos it makes you sound unbearable.

Mute saoirse janneau
    Favourite saoirse janneau
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:21 PM

@ihcalaM: agreed. We currently have 16 patients in icu. The maximum number of icu beds in this country is 64. When or if it reaches that level medical personnel will need to decide who lives or who doesn’t. No one wants a repeat of what happened in Italy. We have leeway of 45 more people in icu. This is an insidious disease. Its not only life threatening its side effects are widespread chronic and unpredictable in all ages.

Mute James
    Favourite James
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:23 PM

@Peter Denham: so why did Sweden who never shut down not experience over crowding in their icu’s when we have more icu beds per 100,000 than they have?

Mute Chris Linehan
    Favourite Chris Linehan
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:43 PM

@SB: By that logic, I don’t know for certain that jabbing a pencil in my eye will kill me. It will probably blind me and will definitely hurt. We know for certain our health system is crap. Throwing the pressure of a pandemic on top, might not cripple it but it won’t be pretty.

Mute ihcalaM
    Favourite ihcalaM
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:48 PM

@James: Because they doubled their ICU capacity over the course of the pandemic. And many other reasons.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.thelocal.com/20200623/how-sweden-doubled-intensive-care-capacity-to-treat-coronavirus-patients/amp

Italy had more than double the ICU beds per capita than us, yet their ICUs were absolutely overwhelmed and the system was blown to pieces by C-19.

Mute Joe Bloggs
    Favourite Joe Bloggs
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:26 PM

@Isabella Hickey: If it’s a big conspiracy, why wasn’t it done years ago?

Mute Ronan Fahy
    Favourite Ronan Fahy
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:38 PM

@Isabella Hickey: anyone who uses the word sheeple immediately loses all credibility. (Except those of us pointing this out)

Mute Jeannie Laing
    Favourite Jeannie Laing
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:50 PM

@Laro Alba: correct, what good is the money
    When your; pushing up the Dasies…

Mute Graham Manning
    Favourite Graham Manning
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:02 PM

@Isabella Hickey: you’re just a whole buncha dim crazy huh?

Mute donal bigley
    Favourite donal bigley
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:05 PM

@saoirse janneau: we have more than 64 ICU beds a simple Google search will tell you that but sure you keep peddling manure

Mute Philip King ⚡️
    Favourite Philip King ⚡️
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:29 PM

@SB:

Give us a percentage and a figure of the population that are vulnerable and need to shelter?

Mute D'oh
    Favourite D'oh
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:34 PM

@Ronan Fahy: Slowly slowly the world revolves, slowly slowly the revolution.

Mute ahhere
    Favourite ahhere
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:55 PM

@SB: sensible medics being shouted down by bedwetters

Mute Claude Saulnier
    Favourite Claude Saulnier
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:06 PM

@ihcalaM: the problem is the healthcare system is very poor. Good front line staff, but not enough of them, and all reaching their limits.

Mute Alison Kennedy
    Favourite Alison Kennedy
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:07 PM

@Peter Denham: I bet there very few on trolleys now. Nobody going near the hospital. Just shows that people going to the hospital as a first resort rather than last. Obviously not in all cases but in some.

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Sep 24th 2020, 10:18 PM

@saoirse janneau: it’s far, far more than64.

Mute John Madden
    Favourite John Madden
    Sep 24th 2020, 10:20 PM

@donal bigley: We have 411. Google it.

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Favourite Teresa O'Halloran
    Sep 24th 2020, 10:23 PM

@Isabella Hickey: you’ve been watching too much Netflix.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 24th 2020, 11:09 PM

@Laro Alba: a traffic light system for years? People talk about the economy because we need a functional economy to pay for public services. If you think the health service is based now, what about when cuts come because income tax is way down and there are less businesses paying tax. The solution is more research and resources towards rapid testing. A short term lockdown may he needed but once numbers are very low then we need to be randomly testing everywhere and testing at our airports. The only way to close clusters is to break chains of transmissions. This can only be done if the vast majority of asymptomatic cases are caught before they become a problem. With better contact tracing then the virus can be chased down. We can’t go in and out of lockdown for years. That will cost more lives.

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Sep 24th 2020, 11:33 PM

@David Lee: It’s the price we have to pay for electing governments that refused to tackle our shambolic health system for decades.

Mute Tim Otoole
    Favourite Tim Otoole
    Sep 24th 2020, 4:56 PM

Free the Dublin 1.4 mil

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:09 PM

@Tim Otoole: nah.. At least donegal pronounce covid correctly.. The dubs should get level 5′d for saying “Cowwwwvid 19″ instead of covid 19 hehe.. Particularly news presentors

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:16 PM

@Ross: Presenters!! Just saying.

Mute Aidocasey
    Favourite Aidocasey
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:37 PM

@Ross: who are you listening to – never heard it called that….

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:44 PM

@Olivia Smith: thanks, not the best of spellers.. I have athlete’s foot

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Ross: Is it in the mouth all the time?

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross

@Olivia Smith: must be :)

Mute Richard Doherty
    Favourite Richard Doherty
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:01 PM

@Tim Otoole: free the pubs

Mute Laro Alba
    Favourite Laro Alba
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:05 PM

@Olivia Smith: hahahaha

Mute Caddyshack
    Favourite Caddyshack
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:38 PM

@Ross: I agree with the view of news presenters but in fairness very few people understand Donegal people

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:47 PM

@Laro Alba: I’d usually call that a BURN. Lol

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:00 PM

@Ross: jealous of the Dubs yeah? It’s alright we’re used to it.

Mute T Dawg
    Favourite T Dawg
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:06 PM

@gary mullen: yes it must be very tough for you personally Gary. So many people envying your geographical location. I particularly hear the people of the wild Atlantic way are sick of being woken up by the waves crashing against the cliffs. They dream of the loud brutish Dublin accent and police sirens for their wake up call!

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:14 PM

@Ross: I take it your a culchie dubs hater

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:00 PM

If they don’t close Donegal’s pubs and restaurants every Dublin based restaurant owner and Publican should be absolutely infuriated

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:08 PM

@Luke: “Indoor dining in pubs and restaurants would not be allowed, with only outdoor dining permitted to a maximum of 15 people” don’t think there was an indication that that would not be the case if moved to level 3

Mute Luke
    Favourite Luke
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:14 PM

@John Egan: apologies I’ve jumped from a times article who state that it was unclear
    John look at the road map at level 3 it states pubs and restaurants can be open for indoor dining
    Making it up as they go along

Mute John Egan
    Favourite John Egan
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:19 PM

@Luke: yeah, agreed. I saw that graphic too. It does say level 3 indoor dining is allowed with restrictions, so not closed. Very misleading alright.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:21 PM

@Luke: Donegal to go into Level 3 confirmed. Happy?

Mute Life in no motion
    Favourite Life in no motion
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:59 PM

@Luke:

-> Level 3
    Bars serving food, Cafés & Restaurants: Range of restrictions up to and including no indoor dining

Wet Pubs: Range of restrictions up to and including no indoor service*

https://assets.gov.ie/87604/405b1065-055a-4ca8-9513-390ce5298b10.pdf

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:47 PM

@Luke: the comments about not sticking rigidly to the road map and the levels remind me of the car driver who drivers through the potholes cause google says so rather than going around them as real thinking people would.

A roadmap and plan that are rigid and not flexible is doomed to failure if anything changes – so great if we have level 3 with some items excluded but that is the same as having level 3 with some extras included too.

The sad fact is that where road maps are interpreted too rigidly the wheels fall off the car from driving through the potholes and likewise with covid-19 rules.

Mute Jimmy Mac
    Favourite Jimmy Mac
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:21 PM

Government don’t care about SMEs, trying to get orders of fresh produce ready for weekends, only to be told it won’t be needed, Green Party talking about waste of food, when your on a 100 k plus every year why should they care, small grant is not going to keep doors open, 6 weeks of paying staff before you get top up on wages, it is easy to see that not one of them had to pay wage packets every week, if we are all in this together why are they not suffering wage cuts and in some cases SME employers are getting no wages.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Jimmy Mac: look at them caring about human life!!! How dare they!!!!!

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:27 PM

@Craic_a_tower: you don’t care about human life when you sleep through votes on very same.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:31 PM

@Peter McGlynn: So a fetus should be kept alive at all costs but adult humans lives are expendable?

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:03 PM

You couldn’t make this up, so now they are saying it’s people “staycationing” who might be behind the spike, after all the effort they put into forcing people to stay in Ireland on holidays with tales of how dangerous it was to travel abroad on holiday, when the reality is it’s actually a lot safer, unbelievable stuff, another day more comedy gold.

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Favourite Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:20 PM

@SB: isn’t it October they’re supposed to start giving the tax incentive on staycations & eat out . How convenient. Nobody will have anywhere to spend it on .,

Mute Lee Brennan
    Favourite Lee Brennan
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:32 PM

@SB: unfortunately a lot of those holidaying in Donegal are from across the border, where the problem is even worse. There’s no quick fix for border hoppers as you can’t just close the border out right.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Pascal Coleman
    Favourite Pascal Coleman
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:35 PM

@SB: They can’t win with people like you. “Staycationing” was an obvious encouragement for everyone to restrict foreign travel. Would you have preferred they completely banned all travel outside your county until next year…. to be on the safer side?

Mute Nioe
    Favourite Nioe
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:21 PM

@Pascal Coleman: spot on, government are in a no win position

Not surprised Donegal has spiked. Was there and very little controls in place. Buffet breakfast in hotel with guests sharing scoopers, people ordering and gathering at the bars. That combined with the proximity to NI where the virus is in overdrive. Perfect storm

Mute PeeedOff
    Favourite PeeedOff
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:51 PM

@SB: Ya see there’s the problem right there, they are basing The Donegal and other Casedemic lockdowns on “Might have been”. In other words completely baseless reasons. On top of this, pretty much everyone with the infection will suffer nothing more than a Common Cold (Also Coronavirus) or possibly nothing, purely asymptomatic.

NPHET, mere getting orgasmic now at wanting to shut down many parts of the country. Last night one of this NPHET muppets came out with a nefarious statement about the young dying, still trying to figure out what their agenda is with this unsupported by research narrative they keep using.

The NPHET ego is losing the run of itself and this failed Government have absolved themselves from making any economic, social and generally helpful decisions. They merely allow an unelected body drive this country into the ground.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:15 PM

@Pascal Coleman: why, it’s far far safer to fly on half empty planes to quiet holiday resorts abroad as I did myself then it is fork out a small fortune to stay in brutal weather in Ireland bored to tears and then you get Covid-19 to top it all off, yeah sounds great alright.

Mute Sean O'Doherty
    Favourite Sean O'Doherty
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:38 PM

@PeeedOff: Casedemic? I’ve searched all my dictionaries and can’t find this word. Did Gemma give it to you?

Mute Macca Attack
    Favourite Macca Attack
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:39 PM

@SB: it’s 50% safer. Or half the chance. It’s about limiting risk

Mute Pascal Coleman
    Favourite Pascal Coleman
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:45 PM

@SB: @SB: Because the experts (who are certainly not you and me) say that containment is the key to alleviating ALL of us of this virus that is killing off the vulnerable who die alone and without a proper burial for their families. Travelling hundreds of miles between countries while sharing limited breathing space with several people wouldn’t be my idea of virus containment….. But then people who won’t take expert advice are a big part of the reason why we’re ALL still in this situation and will be for the considerable future.

Mute ahhere
    Favourite ahhere
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:59 PM

@SB: haha that comment cracked me up so true

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:15 PM

@Pascal Coleman: you are aware that planes have air filtration, plus everyone wears a mask, this isn’t the case on Irish rail or Bus Eireann, so you’ll forgive me for saying I feel much safer on a plane than travelling to some overcrowded Irish resort a crowded bus or train, I and many many others have absolutely zero faith or confidence in what NPHET say or do any more, they have all but lost the Irish people.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:16 PM

@ahhere: it’s actually true as well lol

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:32 PM

@Pascal Coleman: another thing if air travel is supposedly so dangerous why aren’t there multiple clusters of airline staff with the virus eh, your not making any sense at all pascal time to admit defeat here.

Mute Cliff Burnby
    Favourite Cliff Burnby
    Sep 24th 2020, 10:25 PM

@SB: “I and many many others have absolutely zero faith or confidence in what NPHET say or do any more, they have all but lost the Irish people.” …. You got your a$$ handed to you a few days ago by loads of people for saying that and yet here you are repeating the same old cràp again. No, SB, the vast majority of people do listen to expert advise, a small minority of gibshìtes ignore it and prolong the restrictions for all of us. Cop on and stop thinking you know more than medical experts, you don’t.

Mute kieran lynch
    Favourite kieran lynch
    Sep 25th 2020, 9:42 AM

@Lee Brennan: its happening both ways Lee. Half of Donegal is shopping in Strabane and Derry

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:00 PM

Death of business, not of people.

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:02 PM

@Paul Potts: Which is preferable?

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:04 PM

@Paul Potts: Death of business equals death of economy equals death of people.

Mute Paul Potts
    Favourite Paul Potts
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:04 PM

@Thomas O’ Donnell: very few deaths so the answer is pretty obvious. These restrictions aren’t necessary. The livlihoods of hundreds of thousands do matter!

Mute Declan
    Favourite Declan
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:25 PM

@Paul Potts: absolutely

Mute Isabella Hickey
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:41 PM

@michael: correct!

Mute Isabel Oliveira

@Paul Potts: the economy is the people. No jobs equals poverty, lack of health, death , homelessness.

Mute James Gannon
    Favourite James Gannon
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:12 PM

@michael: not very good at maths.. Are we?

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:12 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: your health is your wealth.

Mute Claude Saulnier
    Favourite Claude Saulnier
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:01 PM

@Paul Potts: relax, the GAFAM will take over Ireland and these 5 companies will employ a fifth of the population each, all working.from home with free pizza delivery.
    PS I am being sarcastic. I’d tend to agree.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:11 PM

Give it a rest with the lockdowns, it’s just kicking the van down the road lads! There will be no country left to reopen.

Mute Craic_a_tower
    Favourite Craic_a_tower

@Joan Featherstone: you kick the van first as you aren’t bright enough to understand why lockdowns are vital I am not sure if that is a spelling mistake or what you think the expression is

Mute Monster Munch
    Favourite Monster Munch
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:01 PM

@Craic_a_tower: for all the talk of Cases “rising exponentially”. We had 1,043 cases in last 7 days
    933 cases the previous 7…

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:39 PM

@Monster Munch: They would rise exponentially if no actions were taken, however as I’m sure you’ve noticed almost everyone is wearing a mask while shopping or working indoors, washing their hands regularly and abiding by the guidelines and restrictions. There are as always a few that prefer to shirk their social responsibility but for the most part it’s great to see the deaths not rise exponentially thanks in part to the actions that we as a collective have taken.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:30 PM

I really don’t get the mentality of commenters on here who take joy from counties their not from going into lockdown. Have your nothing else to do to get a kick from? It’s very sad to see. And people want a United 32 counties. Yeah good luck with that.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:04 PM

@Olivia Smith: no neither do i, many did when Dublin was locked down I’ve every sympathy with people in Donegal.

Mute There is no hope for humanity!
    Favourite There is no hope for humanity!
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:07 PM

@Olivia Smith: I believe you meant my comment, I am in hospitality business in Dublin, closed again, I was so angry because they didn’t ask question and no trace, but what I can do? Laughing on my face but cry inside, life needs move on no matter what. If my comment offended you, my apologies. By the way I am not Irish and I do wish Ireland 32 counties will be United in next 5 years somehow, that is from bottom of my heart!

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:49 PM

@There is no hope for humanity!: No it’s just in general I don’t get it. We should be united in wherever restrictions are brought in.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:53 PM

@SB: So we agree on something on here? It can happen. :)

Sep 24th 2020, 7:13 PM

@Olivia Smith: from the first lockdown I chasing news everyday, read comments, then gov respond, act, tracing app, test, boarder control … the way some business run … the world politics game, then I changed my ID to this, I don’t see any light in this tunnel till vaccines, even vaccines out, still will be a game again. My business is on the thin ice, just received 2 more bills today council rate and IMRO, reduced but still big and need to pay with zero incoming, we should be face this pandemic together, but… so frustrated, as said life still move on :)

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:30 PM

@There is no hope for humanity!: I do think there should be some exemptions for the likes of council tax and such and I genuinely feel for business who might never recover but I value life over business. I’m sorry if that’s hard to hear. Business can start again, life can’t:(

Sep 24th 2020, 10:56 PM

@Olivia Smith: yes, they did give big credit for the bill, for past few months when we opened still hardly to cover. Anyway as a resident in Ireland I will do my part. no matter what the sun will rise again tomorrow :) stay safe

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:47 PM

Incorporeal. Government of ghosts . Decisions taken by telephone call, no accountability, no opposition, no scrutiny. Just slap people with last minute restrictions.

Another lockdown, more unemployment more misery for the people & all for nothing and based on false premises of clusters in hospitality or travel, where they are not significant.

Mute SB
    Favourite SB
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:09 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: in all my years I’ve never seen a government as bad, truly truly shocking beyond belief.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:53 PM

@SB: I wonder was Olivia’s point about the lack of opposition?
    “no accountability, no opposition, no scrutiny.” – QED

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Sep 25th 2020, 4:11 AM

@Niall Ó Cofaigh: Considering the context of Isabel’s comment and the article, I’d say yes, because the opposition parties/independents have been very weak but, the cynical aspect of this is that they are just going to let the government hang themselves – which they’re doing quite successfully – but it is also wrong because without opposition all we have is authoritarianism which only benefits those who impose it on the rest of us plebs.

We can’t rely on journalists; we can’t rely on the opposition parties/independents; we can’t rely on medical doctors/scientists who are politically affiliated; similarly, we can’t rely on pharmaceutical companies; we can’t rely on civil servants; we can’t rely on politicians; we can’t rely on the WHO, so, who can we rely on?

Mute Newto2016
    Favourite Newto2016
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:04 PM

How can any business survive in these conditions where they can be shut down with just a few hours notice if there happens to be an outbreak in a meat factory (for example) on the other side of the county? How is anyone expected to plan staycations? All this uncertainty is going to bankrupt hotels and restaurants around the country. A more measured and sensible approach is needed.

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy

I thought they brought in the level system to make things more easier for people to understand. Dublin is in level 3 and no pubs serving food are allowed open but level 3 in Donegal the pubs serving food are allowed to stay open. So level 3 in Donegal is not level 3 at all it’s level 2.8 or something. This country is a complete joke. They make up the rules as they go along.

Mute June Kennedy
    Favourite June Kennedy
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:05 PM

@paul mccoy: Dublin started at 2.5 and moved to 3.5
    Donegal started at 2.0 and moved to 3.0

Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Sep 24th 2020, 4:56 PM

F”"king lovely

Mute michael
    Favourite michael

@Shaun Gallagher: A few hours notice too. Millions worth of food wasted as the stock is thrown out. They really don’t live in the real world.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:15 PM

@michael: oh yeah.. do you want them to say: “would ye all make the most of the next four days and go to the pub & restaurants” Surely donegal people have been aware of the increasing numbers over the past week. Change to level 3 should not be a surprise.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:22 PM

@Ger Murphy: it’s like level 3.5 pubs and restaurants are allowed to open in level 3

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:28 PM

@Ger Murphy: Pubs and restaurants are already working under restrictions so what difference would it make? Not as if they can be rammed for a few days as people know level 3 is on the way.

Mute Jonathan McCoy
    Favourite Jonathan McCoy
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:15 PM

@michael: It’s a public health emergency, what do you expect.

Mute Damian Mac An Bháird
    Favourite Damian Mac An Bháird
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:45 PM

@michael: they dont care. This is about health my ařse

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:47 PM

@Jonathan McCoy: Some reality checks on how economies fail?

Mute James
    Favourite James

Did they learn nothing from sweden

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:42 PM

@James: I’ll buy you a one way ticket to Sweden if you want? I’ll even meet you at the airport to make sure you get on the flight. Give it a rest with the Swedish method. We are in Ireland. Not bleeding Sweden.

Mute Paul Cunningham
    Favourite Paul Cunningham
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:59 PM

@James: We did learn that we wish to keep our elderly alive unlike what the Swedes did, and that our country has a higher density. Why you defend that method is beyond my comprehension.

Mute Bee Bonthuys
    Favourite Bee Bonthuys
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:33 PM

@James: The Swedish Covid Utopia myth has been debunked. Go looked at their numbers during the height of the first wave compared to their neighbours. Even the mastermind behind the Swedish plan admitted there were missteps. Just this week a Swedish doctor had to U-turn on the Irish/Sweden model.

Mute Franny Ando
    Favourite Franny Ando
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:27 PM

@Paul Cunningham: We didn’t keep our elderly alive. Government and NPHET threw them to the wolves. Remember nursing homes and care facilities. Our elderly were also moved out of hospitals and into these hell holes to free up beds. Whats worse a blind eye was turned until they were exposed.

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:44 PM

@Olivia Smith: go back into ur cave

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:45 PM

@Paul Cunningham: because there is a difference between living and surviving because that’s why sweden choose not to lockdown

Mute Terry Molloy
    Favourite Terry Molloy
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:33 PM

And where is safe for “staycation” mehole?

Mute Kieran Hayes
    Favourite Kieran Hayes
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:21 PM

We are now almost 7 months into a 2 wk lockdown to “flatten the curve”

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:19 PM

Pubs and restaurants to close? That’s not part of level 3.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:02 PM

@Aidan O’ Neill: yes it is, outdoor dining only, maximum of 15

Mute tirnanog1979
    Favourite tirnanog1979
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:46 PM

Trying to pay a mortgage with 300 euro a week. Thanks FFG

Mute Isabel Oliveira
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:09 PM

Just to stress how ridiculous this is:

In the last 14 days ( up to 22nd Sep Donegal registered 195 cases. ) say they have 260 up to today.

If countries around the world destroyed their People’s livelihoods and human interaction for this minuscule amount of cases the world would be doomed.

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:16 PM

@Isabel Oliveira: the problem isn’t the number of cases right now. The problem is the inevitable exponential growth of those cases if a lockdown is not put in place. It’s simple maths really.

Mute Vit Raiser
    Favourite Vit Raiser
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:59 PM

Donegal’s 14-day Covid-19 incidence rate of 122.5 per 100,000 … phew … one would think it’s at least 10 times that to introduce such drastic restrictions

Mute Shinners Abú
    Favourite Shinners Abú
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:00 PM

Open the Dublin Pubs!! Open our economy!! Wear your mask, wash your hands, and stay away from people

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:12 PM

Give it a rest with the lockdowns, it’s just kicking the van down the road lads! There will be no country left to reopen at this rate!!!

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:14 PM

@Joan Featherstone:

Mute sandra clifford
    Favourite sandra clifford
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:29 PM

I suppose it all depends on whether it’s level 3 or level 3 and a bit

Sep 24th 2020, 5:17 PM

1st East: Dublin
    2nd North: Donegal
    3rd: west:
    4th: south:
    Is this the order they are doing the lockdown?

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:01 PM

@There is no hope for humanity!: Well Louth and Waterford are the next highest so that will only fit for south

Mute Fred the Muss...
    Favourite Fred the Muss...
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:44 PM

@Adam J: Waterford has stabilised, and most of the recent outbreak was in a meat factory in South Kilkenny.
    Even Covid has given has high given Waterford a wide birth.

Mute BlaaBoy
    Favourite BlaaBoy
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:16 PM

@Adam J: Waterford has had back-to-back days of 0-5 cases and once Monday comes, the big spike from the meat factory cluster will fall outside the 14 day incidence level. Fingers crossed we don’t have another spike between now and then.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:25 PM

Donegal Says No.

Mute Seanboy
    Favourite Seanboy
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:08 PM

Good luck trying to police that

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w

not surprised but the county is almost split in 2 with the north east having the high rates and the south west numbers been tiny. having said that it’s going to spread so movement needs to be curtailed.
    wonder if I can go on my training course in sligo next week.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:58 PM

@ed w: Hard to complain with level 3 but you’re right, the vast majority of cases in Donegal are in the area that joins on to Derry & Tyrone.
    The rest of the county has very low levels of infection.

Mute Pat McGinley
    Favourite Pat McGinley
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:39 PM

Level 3 Light. Is each county going to have a different set of rules!!!

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:27 PM

Government doesn’t spread Coronavirus, people do by ignoring the advice that has proven to be effective.

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:51 PM

@Kevin50: well said. The best comment on here. Someone talking sense.

Mute Aidan O' Neill
    Favourite Aidan O' Neill
    Sep 24th 2020, 11:14 PM

@Kevin50: the government doesn’t help with its confusing plans. The Government doesn’t help with its terrible contact tracing system. A lot of outbreaks were in meat plants that the Government knew could be an issue but didn’t do anything about before it’s too late. People had to go to work there as they have no employment rights and then work without social distancing. Once an asymptomatic outbreak happens and is taken home before anyone even knows they are sick then it’s pretty uncontrollable. People have to take responsibility but the Government haven’t been keeping up their side of the bargain.

Mute Seamus Gallen
    Favourite Seamus Gallen
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:43 PM

Lovely place, Donegal.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:12 PM

I think the government are enjoying this total control over the people of Ireland

Mute Teresa O'Halloran
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:53 PM

@Margaret Kane: if the people of Ireland were under the governments control there wouldn’t be a second wave, so that’s a cow poop comment.

Mute Conall
    Favourite Conall
    Sep 24th 2020, 10:14 PM

@Margaret Kane: I presume you know that “the government” are made of people of Ireland and living under the same total control, and not some external imposed organisation.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Sep 25th 2020, 4:24 AM

@Teresa O’Halloran: Wind your neck in and show some respect; but you’re right in one sense, the people of Ireland are only partially under this authoritarian government’s control because they themselves are being politically and financially manipulated by NPHET.

If you’re looking for an argument, pick on someone your own size and age – bring it on, I’m waiting.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Sep 25th 2020, 4:25 AM

@Conall: See my comment below as it also applies to you.

Mute Olivia Smith
    Favourite Olivia Smith
    Sep 25th 2020, 9:04 AM

@Lao Tzu: You’ve an egg for a head so how can she tell if it’s a man or woman hiding behind that screen trying to be a keyboard warrior. Also no indication if age. It’s laughable that you’re telling someone to pick on someone their own age. You sound like a child.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:45 PM

Daniel cannot get out for 3 weeks so that can’t be too bad except for the people up there

Mute Adam Conroy
    Favourite Adam Conroy
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:27 PM

I see the “living with Covid” plan is going along nicely.

Mute Adam J
    Favourite Adam J
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:00 PM

Louth and Waterford need to be Level 3 too

Mute Sean Dalton
    Favourite Sean Dalton

@Adam J: Waterford certainly doesnt, cases lower than 5 last 2 days lower than 10 every day for the last 5 days its well under control since the large number of cases in the meat plant was controlled

Mute BlaaBoy
    Favourite BlaaBoy
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:22 PM

@Sean Dalton: Yep, as I said in a previous comment – we just need to hope that no spike comes before Monday when the original meat plant cluster falls outside the 14 day incidence level. That will reduce the number per 100,000 significantly.

Mute Kipper O Keeffe
    Favourite Kipper O Keeffe
    Sep 25th 2020, 10:14 AM

@Adam J:
    No case in Waterford in 3 days
    Fool

Mute 王明辉
    Favourite 王明辉
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:58 PM

good ! You hear them before you see them!

Mute Noel Doherty
    Favourite Noel Doherty
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:25 PM

@王明辉: what are you talking about you absolute tube?

Mute Barry Larkin
    Favourite Barry Larkin
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:10 PM

Close the border too out of derry and Close down them leitrim borders 2

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:13 PM

Not enough Gardai on donegal to monitor. Under resourced. This could be a huge issue with tourists coming from all over the country (north and south) and abroad.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 24th 2020, 6:58 PM

restart grant to restart what loads of businesses havent reopened from the last lockdown.

Mute Kathy-Davy Wright
    Favourite Kathy-Davy Wright
    Sep 24th 2020, 8:54 PM

I’m not surprised. We spent the weekend in Donegal and twas scary how many people were not wearing masks, from hotel staff to customers in shops.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 24th 2020, 9:26 PM

@Kathy-Davy Wright: dont where you were but indoors I cant remember the last time I saw someone without a mask

Mute Chief Buck Cat
    Favourite Chief Buck Cat
    Sep 24th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Kathy-Davy Wright: So scary that you stayed a whole weekend so you could really scare yourselves, then travell back home and tell scary stories about how scared you were on Journal.ie.

Mute Ray Fox
    Favourite Ray Fox
    Sep 25th 2020, 12:39 AM

@ed w:
    Same. It’s an incredibly rare sight. Genuinely can’t recall when I last seen someone in a shop without one. Hilarious though to see the confidence of one of the county’s many staycationers from elsewhere log on to give their tuppence worth and never even consider for a second maybe that’s been a factor.

Mute Lao Tzu
    Favourite Lao Tzu
    Sep 25th 2020, 4:28 AM

@Chief Buck Cat: Nice one, saucer of milk to table CBC, hahaha >.<

Mute Ann Neylan
    Favourite Ann Neylan
    Sep 24th 2020, 7:17 PM

Where did the assisted dying bill platform go to?

Mute Paulpablo Boland
    Favourite Paulpablo Boland
    Sep 24th 2020, 11:03 PM

I’m so angry….I can’t comprehend

Mute Kipper O Keeffe
    Favourite Kipper O Keeffe
    Sep 25th 2020, 1:20 AM

Waterford no case in 3 days
    I think ?
    And talking about lockdown ?
    Yasus I know government have no time for us

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Sep 24th 2020, 10:26 PM

I have a airbnb in my home. . I refuse all non Irish guests every week.. it’s difficult to refuse as you loose all income. . Lost an amazing group this weekend and it’s horrible because they are wise, coming from Dublin they decided a day before arriving that they could cancel and did. I offered to cancel them a week ago when we all learnt about the Dublin restrictions… don’t get me wrong I am delighted they cancelled and full refund. … but.. why can tourists from the UK come to Ireland ffs

Mute Edel Quinn
    Favourite Edel Quinn
    Sep 25th 2020, 10:10 AM

Mad yokes up there in Donegal. They won’t give a rat’s backside if there are Level’s 1, 3 or 5, they’ll carry on regardless!! :-))

Mute Ray Fox
    Favourite Ray Fox
    Sep 24th 2020, 11:51 PM

Same. It’s an incredibly rare sight. Genuinely can’t recall when I last seen someone in a shop without one. Hilarious though to see the confidence of one of the county’s many staycationers from elsewhere log on to give their tuppence worth and never even consider fir a second maybe that’s been a factor.

Mute Capax
    Favourite Capax
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:40 PM

Perhaps if contact tracing was conducted properly the approach can be more targeted

Mute Capax
    Favourite Capax
    Sep 24th 2020, 5:23 PM

If contact tracing was conducted properly, potentially the localized lockdowns could be avoided/reduced

Mute Paulpablo Boland
    Favourite Paulpablo Boland
    Sep 24th 2020, 11:01 PM

Let’s not March…