You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Close friend of 'The Monk', Noel Duggan, shot five times in driveway ambush

The father-of-three was shot dead last night as he sat in a car in the driveway of his home.

Mark Stedman Mark Stedman

THE MAN WHO was shot dead outside his home at a Meath housing estate last night has been named locally as Noel Duggan.

Duggan, who was in his 50s, was shot five times as he sat in his car in the driveway of his home. The gunman fled across a green area in the Old Mill housing estate to a waiting car.

Three other men who accompanied the gunmen are believed to have made off in a second getaway car.

Burned-out cars

Two burned-out cars – a Saab and a BMW – were later found a short distance from the scene of the shooting. A second burned out BMW, believed to be connected to the incident was also found at the back of Dublin Airport.

Nicknamed ‘Mr Kingsize’, the victim was a close friend of Gerry ‘The Monk’ Hutch and was heavily involved in cigarette smuggling. In the past, he made a significant settlement with the Criminal Assets Bureau (CAB). The agency confiscated a Dublin city centre premises as part-payment for the €4 million bill.

The father-of-three had been living in the estate in Ratoath for several years. Sources said the hit on Duggan was unexpected as he had walked away from his criminal past.

Mark Stedman / RollingNews.ie Mark Stedman / RollingNews.ie / RollingNews.ie

Locals last night described him as “a nice man” who was approachable and respectful.

Independent councillor Nick Killian, who lives in the area, said people were “in shock” at hearing the news.

“One person I spoke to on the phone said they never thought the Dublin gangland war would end up here,” he told TheJournal.ie.

A post mortem is due to take place at Our Lady of Lourdes hospital in Drogheda today.

Gardaí are appealing for anyone who was in or around the housing estate or the Fairyhouse Road this evening, and who may have seen anything unusual or suspicious, to contact Ashbourne Garda Station on 01 8010600, the Garda Confidential Telephone Line 1800  666 111 or any garda station.

Read: Associate of The Monk shot dead at housing estate in Co Meath>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

41 Comments
    Mute Dorothy Graham
    Favourite Dorothy Graham
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:06 AM

Ha ha ha a local said they can believe Dublin gangland is spreading to Meath, half of Meath is full of Dubs

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:14 AM

That’s the problem.

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:06 AM

Live by the sword…

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:12 AM

Die by the pen

Mute declan leonard
    Favourite declan leonard
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:40 AM

I don’t you understand the meaning of living by the sword as he wasn’t involved in gangland

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:42 AM

It says he was. But isn’t anymore. You can’t hide from your past with these fellas

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:44 AM

If you’ve watched any gangster movie you’ll know you can never truly leave your last behind! Try “A history of violence” for a relevant start point.

Mute Pharmyco
    Favourite Pharmyco
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:44 AM

Unless, of course, he was.

Mute Máirtín Ó hAodha 父
    Favourite Máirtín Ó hAodha 父
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:50 AM

Sure he got a going away party and a parker pen!

Mar 24th 2016, 8:00 AM

Do we positively know he was out? The best thing the devil did was convince the world he did not exist and all that crap.

Mute Mondoburley
    Favourite Mondoburley
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:08 AM

Live by the smokes…

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:34 AM

Must be some money in cigarettes. One report had estimated his wealth at €20m before CAB got him.

Mute Paul Harte
    Favourite Paul Harte
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:35 AM

You live in Swords?

Mute El Jefe
    Favourite El Jefe
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:32 AM

Yeah shur star wars was a true story.

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:30 AM

Turns out cigarettes ARE bad for your health!

Mute Daniel De Síne
    Favourite Daniel De Síne
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:05 AM

Good riddance, pretty sure he never added anything positive to his community or society, just typical vermin who made good on his criminal ways & connections so he could retire quietly away for himself. Great country for some!!

Mute Dais:]
    Favourite Dais:]
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:40 AM

That’s a horrible thing to say! At the end of the day the poor man is dead. Thoughts are with his family.

Mute AJ
    Favourite AJ
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:03 AM

Couldnt agree more, dirtbag nothing more

Mute Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen NíDhochartaigh
    Mar 24th 2016, 11:13 AM

From the sounds of it you don’t know him or his family either.

Mute Jarrett moon
    Favourite Jarrett moon
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:16 AM

The father of three then the father of two later in the text. Hastily proof read ?

Mute Shane Ferguson
    Favourite Shane Ferguson
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:27 AM

I need to get me a BMV

Mute Assel Dannourah
    Favourite Assel Dannourah
    Mar 24th 2016, 7:32 AM

Guys Ireland is in lockdown now, there is not a king size smoke to be had country wide

Mute Frank Reynolds
    Favourite Frank Reynolds
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:57 AM

And maybe better if headline said he was DEAD

Mute Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Favourite Maria Hickey-Fagan
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:34 AM

Jesus, some of the comments here are desperate. Tell you what, why don’t you all go to his funeral and instead of telling his family “sorry for your loss”, tell them you’re glad he’s dead. Oh wait, no, that would mean growing some balls and stepping away from your keyboard. It’s clear what’s happening here. He’s another soft target, shot purely because he was a close friend of Gerry Hutch.

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:46 AM

On the nail MHF

Mute Tony O Neill
    Favourite Tony O Neill
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:51 AM

Well said Maria. Just shows you what we have all become in this sad little world.

Mute John Reese
    Favourite John Reese
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:59 AM

I love the way Irish media try to make these thugs look human “father of….” in the headline.

Mute Barry Barrison
    Favourite Barry Barrison
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:35 AM

He was a human. With a family. He smuggled smokes…hardly Pablo bleedin Escobar!

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:49 AM

Barry, in terms of numbers of users & deaths caused by smoking, they probably have a bigger impact on the population than illegal hard drugs!

Mute Jean Calgues
    Favourite Jean Calgues
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:51 AM

He also was the chief suspect in the very brutal murder of a young man in the 1990s. Due to factors including witness intimidation Gardai were unable to gather enough evidence to convict him.

Mute Owen McDermott
    Favourite Owen McDermott
    Mar 24th 2016, 8:20 AM

Taking out the trash….

Mute Tracy O Riordan
    Favourite Tracy O Riordan
    Mar 24th 2016, 11:05 AM

Shame on the whole lot of ye! The man is dead! Known locally as a quiet man never bothered anyone and that’s coming from someone who lives in area! Let his family grieve in peace! RIP Noel

Mute S Fudge
    Favourite S Fudge
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:01 AM

All the saints on here cheering a man’s death without any knowledge of his past. Some holy Joe’s.

Mute Mick Fitz
    Favourite Mick Fitz
    Mar 24th 2016, 11:23 AM

how can a man who was allegedly one of the largest smugglers of illegal cigarettes into Ireland NOT be involved – does the Irish media only rate “illegal” drugs as real drugs, while alcohol and nicotine are considered “food stuffs”….

Mute Mick Fitz
    Favourite Mick Fitz
    Mar 24th 2016, 11:21 AM

how can a man who was allegedly one of the largest smugglers of illegal cigarettes into Ireland “have walked away from his criminal past”

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:51 AM

Nail on the head MHF

Mute postman pat
    Favourite postman pat
    Mar 24th 2016, 9:32 AM

Oh Well

Mute Jack Green
    Favourite Jack Green
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:00 AM

Self-cleansing…

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Mar 24th 2016, 10:26 AM

Cigarettes are bad for your health.