You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
IT’S DIFFICULT TO remember an Irish-made TV show that has arrived with as much hype and anticipation as Normal People.
Based on the New York Times best-selling novel of the same name, the show is to be broadcast on the BBC in the UK, Hulu in the US and RTÉ here.
The wheels were already in motion on the show even before the book became a runaway success. That was on the back of Element Pictures producing the series, Oscar-nominated director Lenny Abrahamson being on board to direct and author Sally Rooney giving approval.
The result is a 12-part series that is out tomorrow in full on the BBC iPlayer and starts broadcasting in both the UK and Ireland this week.
The series sticks very closely to the text on which it’s based and follows the love story of Connell (Paul Mescal) and Marianne (Daisy Edgar-Jones) as they make the transition between school life in a Sligo town and their university life in Trinity College.
Often describing in lucid detail the thoughts running through the heads of the main characters, the book is about their intense relationship and how they seem constantly drawn apart and back together.
Such is the praise that has seen Rooney repeatedly being hailed as somewhat of a voice for her generation, the book has also garnered a devoted following that has contributed to the hype around the series.
“I think there was a moment through the process where we suddenly went, ‘Oh, gosh, this really is a very big book’, but we started before it even came out,” executive producer Emma Norton explains over Zoom.
She says the buzz around the book only served to heighten the excitement and challenge they felt in adapting it for television.
“The idea of adapting a book that not only seemed to capture the spirit of generation but particularly captured a version of Ireland that we hadn’t seen on screen before – that was another thing that really appealed to us,” she says.
It was a very international book showing a contemporary version of Dublin life from a company based in Ireland. We felt like we were the right people to do it, so that kind of gave us confidence as well.
Norton works alongside Ed Guiney at Element Pictures and it was he who first sent the book to Abrahamson with the intention of developing it.
Abrahamson directs half the episodes in the series and the other half are directed by English director Hettie Macdonald.
“The BBC greenlit the show on the basis of the book itself and Lenny’s interest” Guiney says.
“It was a very powerful thing for us to be able to say back to Sally. To say to her, if we get the rights to this book, we’re gonna make it as a TV show. There’s no ifs or buts about it, we’re doing it.”
Speaking about making the programme with the BBC rather than Ireland’s national broadcaster, Guiney is honest about the constraints RTÉ operates under.
“Obviously RTÉ is kind of in a very difficult position. I mean, you can only imagine the kind of hit that advertising is taking at the moment,” he says.
“We didn’t develop it with RTÉ, we developed it with the BBC and with Hulu in the States, so it’s a piece of Irish literature, Irish filmmaker, Irish production company, bringing an Irish story to the world, and it will be seen on RTÉ obviously. But it’s something that’s made for the world.
I think sometimes we get a bit obsessed by RTÉ’s lack of ability to do things, and we don’t really see that changing that quickly into the future. I think they could be an awful lot more clever about how they interact with drama, I think they could do a lot more clever about how they develop stuff, but they have limited resources, is the truth.
Kildare actor Paul Mescal plays the lead male character in the series. Twitter / Hulu
Twitter / Hulu / Hulu
Guiney and Abrahamson have worked together on most of the director’s films but they both felt the book being played out in different places over a number of years would work better on the small screen.
“I agreed it felt very much suited for television because it is episodic and progresses in these distinct phases over a period of time,” Abrahamson says.
I think also that television gives you the advantage of having a lot more screen time to go into real detail. To look at the really small shifts that occur between the two main characters, and really spend time with them in each of the phases of their relationship.
The first episode of the series is set largely in the two main characters’ school and shows Connell’s GAA prowess and Marianne’s frustration at still being there.
Connell’s mother (played by Sarah Greene) is a cleaner who cleans Marianne’s house and the awkward situation provides the setting for the early stages of their relationship.
Much of the book is about what’s not said between the two characters but the series is not narrated to give this insight to the viewer. Instead, it’s up to the actors to portray how their chemistry progresses.
“I found that slightly scary at the start, because obviously you have all that information in the book for all those big scenes, you can kind of jump between their perspectives,” Mescal says.
Whereas in the filming of it, you’ve just got to hope from a playing perspective that all that internal monologue is banked somewhere inside of you. I think both Lenny and Hettie were really supportive in terms of not trying to show that or not trying to over-explain to an audience what’s exactly going on in both Connell and Marianne’s heads.
“I think that’s why the characters are both so infuriating and so accessible from an audience perspective because you see them miscommunicating but they’re not aware of it. Because if you were showing those things to each other, you’d pick up on it. And I think it was just about kind of dialling it back and dialling it down and making it as naturalistic as possible.”
English actress Daisy Edgar-Jones plays Marianne. Twitter / Hulu
Twitter / Hulu / Hulu
Edgar-Jones agrees that the way the two lead actors were shot is key to telling the story of the on-screen relationship.
Lenny has a very special sort of way of telling a character’s perspective. When you watch Room where he manages to adapt a story which is all from the little boy’s head into a kind of visual form where we really access the boy’s mind. I think he’s just got an amazing way of filmmaking that he lets you into a part of a person that you don’t usually see. So I really found his filmmaking fascinating and really helpful.
“Paul and I were very in touch with the choices of camera that they were using because they spoke quite openly about it. I learned a lot about filmmaking just from working on it.”
As the reviews for Normal People have come out after the past week or so, the realism and intimacy of the sex scenes in the show has got people talking, with praise for how this side of the central relationship has been shown.
The book was not shy about going into this either, but it only described these encounters on a couple of occasions. Instead, the couple’s internal thoughts showed the passion between them.
On TV this had to be shown in a different way and when the first trailer for Normal People was released in January, the fifty-second clip showed at least five separate sex scenes.
The makers of the show all say it was important they didn’t shy away from tackling this and that it is now a central part of how the story.
“A huge part of Marianne and Connell’s relationship is how they connect sexually and they have a really intense sexual connection right from the beginning,” Norton says.
It was really important that we got that right, that we didn’t shy away from it or hide it. And I think we also felt that there was a chance to show sex in the way that we didn’t feel that we saw in TV shows very often, especially for characters of this age. There’s lots of sexual content around about young people that is kind of played for laughs or undermined in that way. So we wanted to do it naturally and honestly and Lenny and Hettie put a huge amount of thought into setting the tone of how the sex scenes play, and doing it in a way that would feel real and serving our purpose. You know, you’re not just watching sex scenes for the fun of it.
In filming these scenes, the actors worked with intimacy coordinator Ita O’Brien who took charge of the choreography while Abrahamson could concentrate on making it look right for the show.
“These scenes were was a huge, huge part of the story, it’s where things occur in their relationship,” he says.
It’s not like you can have this story with or without the sex scenes in the way that sometimes they’re superfluous. Like in movies or drama where it’s ‘okay, here’s the sex scene’. It was actually part of the story. It was really interesting and challenging and exciting to do, you can’t just suddenly make beautiful pictures, you’ve got to continue to tell this psychological story and this love story through those scenes.
“I’ll be really interested to see what Irish audiences feel about it. Go back to the Late Late Show in 1985 or something and think about that and you will see how much has changed in Ireland,” he adds.
Love in a time of pandemic
When talking about the show’s setting in contemporary Ireland, or indeed anywhere, it’s impossible to ignore that it’s being released at a time that is anything but normal.
Unlike many shows whose production has been brought to a shuddering halt by Covid-19, Normal People’s release has not been affected. How it is received by people could certainly be, however.
Norton says the hope is that the show will “offer some escapism” to people and Guiney describes it as “the exact opposite of social distancing”.
Abrahamson agrees:
“It’s a show about intimacy and connection and physical intimacy, so it’s completely the opposite to the experience that we’re having right now which is talking to each other over Zoom. I think people are spending a lot of time watching screens because they have a lot of time and I hope this show is quite a rich kind of experience and I hope it provides some relief from that state.
I don’t know if anyone else feels this but watching things right now, all the behaviours you’re watching suddenly feel amazing, things you wouldn’t have questioned before, people hugging each other when they meet, shaking hands, sitting closely, being in queues packed in small restaurants.
“So I’d be really interested to know what people feel watching this and whether they feel that contrast, particularly because of how much intimacy is in it.”
The first two episodes of Normal People are on BBC One at 9pm on Monday and on RTÉ One on at 10.15pm on Tuesday.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
26 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Imagine the amount of revenue we could generate by legalising cannabis and taxing all sales. Furthermore, we could regulate the purity of the drug and make it safe for users.
Instead we leave this market to criminal gangs who use their sales to fuel violence and crime.
The amount of drug and gun seizures in the last few weeks just goes to show that this scourge can be tackled successfully if the guards and government put their minds to it.
@Shimmy Shammy: I’d say most people would have objections to that sort of extreme version of legalisation. Nobody is probably suggesting towns and cities in Ireland to open up numerous ‘coffee shops’ where people can walk in freely and buy cannabis as they please.
Legalising it in the same sense as tobacco would make sense. Having strict regulations on where it can’t be consumed i.e public places, pubs etc.
From a revenue perspective it makes perfect sense. It also would eliminate a lot of the power that these underground gangs have. Legalise and regulate
@Shimmy Shammy: they don’t have to be like anything. This is Ireland, we can put our own stamp on it. Cannabis clubs like there are in Spain would be a good shout. I’d say a fair percentage of the public would want it legal, it would save the country a fortune trying to keep a lid on it. Wouldn’t it make more sense to take the lid off and profit from something a lot less harmful than alcohol?
@Phil O Stine: Portugal have paved the way on how to successfully reduce drug addiction. Before they decriminalised all drugs, 1% of their population was addicted to heroin- a ridiculously high figure. Since then, addicts instead of being penalised are provided with support and help, instead of being locked up and pushed away further from society.
With weed use currently being a taboo topic in Ireland because of it’s legality, I’d imagine many who have a dependence refrain fro seeking help. If this was legalised we could regulate the purity, implement widespread awareness programs similar to alcohol programs. Educate people on what is safe and unsafe usage of the drug.
The pros of legalisation of cannabis significantly outweighs the cons. And just to add, this is coming from someone who hasn’t smoked weed before
@Shimmy Shammy: are you aware that marijuana is legal to the residents of Barcelona? It is regulated so only residents can purchase for private personal use in their home – no smoking on the street.
@Nosmo King: yeah you’re dead right. Why stop there we should ban sugar and meat too! Actually come to think of it weed is a plant….we should ban all vegetation too! Then we can all be drones eating grey sludge on the omnibus! That’s what you want isnt it ;)
@Bobby: imagine the carnage on the roads with drug driving increasing significantly. You’re living in a fantasy land if you think the people of Ireland are responsible enough for legal cannabis.
@Shimmy Shammy: His point is very clear, he wants a vote where the people of Ireland choose what they want whether it be for or against, thats the ‘we’ he is referring to, wheres the confusion? You would also get your vote its called Democracy
@Nosmo King: a niave comment from someone who doesn’t know what they’re talking about. It looks good to people like yourself. It really doesn’t matter. Nobody will be without their joint this evening. Legalise, regulate, educate and tax.
@Liam Byrne: imagine the carnage on the roads when they legalised alcohol !!! Only a tiny percentage of people who drink are foolish enough to get behind a wheel, since every has the right to access to alcohol, those who drink and drive would be near equal to those who consume cannabis and drive.
I’m sick and tired of laws and restrictions being implemented for the smallest minority. Society will always have its fair share of fools, we can’t regulate all of society to stop them because we will in up in a totalitarian society in an attempt to protect the 0.001% from themselves. Its counter intuitive.
@Bobby: Plenty of information & education on the dangers of tobacco smoking yet in remains a major issue. Causes lung cancer and other respiratory problems which cost the health service a fortune every year.
Based on that how well do you think education & information on weed would work?
@Nosmo King: How many billions have been spent trying to do this? How many lives have been lost by gangs fighting aroumd the world? How can you belive your statment to be true? Inform your self . No body slaps the beer from your hand when alcohol had much worse effect on your body and on socity. You should learn why it was made illegal in the first palce , RACISM and fear of inovation in paper. Educate your self
@Terry Walks:weed is a psychoactive drug with harmful long term effects on the brain and is a gateway to harder drugs. but sure telling a pot head that is pointless so I’ll say no more
@Martin Gordon: gateway? It’s legal in Canada where I live. Funny enough you wouldn’t even notice. I don’t smoke weed because I don’t smoke. Should I be worried that I’ll start taking drugs because it’s a gateway?
You sound like an idiot with a comment like that.
@Martin Gordon: Where’s the gateway dippy? I bet most people smoked a cigarette first. Then had a drink. They’re your gateway drugs but sure telling a brain dead person that is pointless so I’ll say no more.
@King B: It certainly would and it’s an optional way of boosting the economy, not to mention helping people who suffer from nausea during chemo. Having said that, I was at a hilarious talk on growing it in Holland. The speaker had an interesting slideshow but he’d inexplicably forgotten how to use a mouse, so it ended up with him just passing samples around. I don’t think he got them all back.
@Ferdia McManamon: you think so , you must be talking about yourself so , ignorance if the highest order , as someone who has been dealing with teenagers with paranoia as a result of taking weed , my advice to you would be to stay quiet , people react differently to taking that drug and for the likes of you to be trivialising it just goes to show how little you know ,
Regards
@Logan Shepherd: agreed some people have no issue but the amount of youngsters who are getting parodied and ending up suicidal as a result of it is shocking
@Paddy Dunne: that’s a very fair point and a massive reason as to why it should be legalised. Kids will always get there hands on it just like drink, but it’s far more controlled and safe than young people smoking the weed equivalent to potín.
There’s an article below about weed that has 25%thc, it’s lovely weed but the experts are worried it’s too strong for younger people or people who don’t smoke regularly. You can’t buy that strength weed in Amsterdam or I think Spain as they have it regulated. Regulation makes it safer, personally I feel it’s a no brainer.
@King B: I’ve never used it myself but have seen the positive and negative impact of it on friends who do. Based on that experience alone, I agree with you.
@Paddy Dunne: ya teenagers? How many teenagers are treated each year for alcohol dependency and the effects that has on everyone’s mental state? The dangers of cannabis is tiny compared to effects of everything else. So because ,under your logic, “some people” who react differently to alcohol means it should be illegal for everyone else, who use it medically and recreationally? If you stopped geting your information on the dangers of cannabis from the Regan administration and opened a book,read a study or even get in contact with someone who uses cannabis medically. And if you really want to know the real killer in this country ,well for young men anyway ,is suicide , so stick to treating your imaginary teenagers and do some proper reading…
Is this really the most valuable use of the Gardai’s time and efforts? Smoke a bit of grass at home and you hurt nobody but maybe yourself (less than with alcohol really). All it does is make you waste your day a bit.
Sure, if you smoke it too often you can end up with problems, same with alcohol.
I just think it’s weird how the Gardai turn a blind eye to dangerous parking on corners, footpaths, and cycle lanes, can’t seem to shift themselves to prosecute “minor” assaults, but are all gung-ho about seizing some plants.
Given the prevalence of the issue, the Gardai doing it themselves, and seeing Gardai pass & ignore it, it’s not a huge stretch to say “they’re turning a blind eye”
Ireland is the only country in Europe where you can be walking on the footpath and have a car start beeping at you to get out of the way so they can park. I’ve never had to jump out of the way of a car in any other country but Ireland.
You dont know that they dont ticket takes 2 second to jot a registration. Theres no physical ticket left. So come back with some numbers please cheers.
This should be given out with the 350 a week payment free of charge for those worried about their jobs to have a few smokes to take their mind off things
A bit of a beating more likely. Most of the serious gangland violence is related to cocaine, sometimes heroin. But cocaine for whatever reason (probably the price, and the fact that the dealers are often coke-heads themselves) coke gangs are the most vicious.
@Thomas Meaney: imagine writing that about someone who crashes a lorry carrying a million quids worth of drink and dies in the accident… Bar the loss of tax revenue to the government, what’s the difference? I’d genuinely struggle to say who was supplying something which is worse for society.
Yeah, idk how cocaine is socially acceptable given the horrors related to it. From the violent cartels producing it, to the gangs here distributing it, it’s blood from start to finish
If guards want to catch the dealers, it would be better to replace the canabis with a bag of lettuce and stake the area. No pt making big announcement as opportunity is now lost..
Watch this space..a shooting or suitcase will follow..the guards were prob a mile up road .anyone else agree that this guard thing on the roads has found a lot of drugs.keep them out there.the scales and mini bags were idol last night.
I’ve been smoking weed since I was a teenager , I’m 44 now , I agree with it being legalized , but I also think it can bring problems , I gave it up 6 weeks ago , as it started to get out of hand , for the last 5 years I’ve been going through a half ounce every week, while I don’t think it’s physically addictive it’s definitely mentally addictive and can do harm the same as alcohol , if not taken in moderation , I lost 2 stone in weight and became very aggressive and angry if I couldn’t find enough to support my habit, I found the first month was extremely hard mentally to get off it, but the last 2 weeks I find my mind us clearer and I have a more positive outlook… when I think of all the money I gave to little scally wanabee gangsters it makes me sick ..
@alan nolan: yeah half o of weed his bit much,keep up the good work stay strong,even give yourself 6months or 12works,you’ll feel the results bigtime,but all it takes is boredom and back to square one but you’re doing good at the mo,that weed going about this country is old Spanish guff that they wouldn’t smoke!
@alan nolan: good man. Stay off it if u can. My addiction to it caused a lot of pain to my now ex wife and kids. The modern strains of skunk are really bad for your brain. Different to ‘a bit of hash‘ we smoked in the 80s/90s. The violence associated with the drug trade is to do with the money, not the type of drug. Every joint is drenched in the blood of someone.€20 a gramme in my experience is pretty standard.
If it was to be made legal i think pubs and pharmacies should be the ones to sell it. They already sell drugs, already have the controls in place to regulate who can buy it. In canada where its legal i think i read that the age people start smoking has lowered.
Overall it is not a good thing, nor is alcohol, our underage drinking problem stems from example.
@Learned Chew: yeah 80/90 is when i use to smoke the hash was good quality back then utter tripe nowadays,yeah of it since 99/00 around then best thing i ever done!
I live in Canada where you buy it in the shop. There’s been no real difference since legalization in anti social issues. Prices have dropped if you buy it from other sources so either way you look at it it has taken money out of smugglers hands and put it ba k into the community. Each province is given money to spend on different projects from the revenue produced
Donald Trump threatens 200% tariffs on alcohol from EU countries
Updated
20 mins ago
Soccer
Heimir Hallgrimsson announces Ireland squad for Nations League play-off against Bulgaria
The 42
9 mins ago
As it happened
The Taoiseach invited Trump and Vance to visit as Washington celebrated Ireland
Updated
15 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 156 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 106 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 137 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 106 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 78 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 38 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 34 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 127 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 60 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 75 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 82 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 39 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 45 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 89 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 96 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 71 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 52 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 86 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 66 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say