You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'Forget ageism, it's the truth' - Norris claims 77-year-old Michael D running for second term would be ill-advised

Norris himself ran against Michael D Higgins in the 2011 presidential election.

GAY CELEBRATION DUBLIN CASTLE II2A5751_90548038 David Norris Eamonn Farrell / Rollingnews.ie Eamonn Farrell / Rollingnews.ie / Rollingnews.ie

SENATOR AND FORMER presidential candidate David Norris has launched a blistering  attack on those who would let President Michael D Higgins run unopposed for a second term.

Norris threw his hat in the ring against President Higgins in the 2011 election.

Speaking in the Seanad, Norris suggested that the president’s age (he turned 77 in April) is an issue, but one that people are afraid to raise.

“With the best will in the world, do you want a president who’ll be 85 in the last year?” he said.

Because, forget about ageism, it’s the truth.

On Tuesday, Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin confirmed that his party would support Higgins’s candidacy should he seek a second seven-year term.

A consistent source of debate in recent times given the imminent end of his first term, Higgins has said that he will announce whether he will run for a second term in office in July.

‘Courage and guts’

The Irish Times reported last weekend that he had recently informed senior government figures of his intention to seek a second term in office.

The President can nominate himself for re-election; challengers however need the backing of either 20 TDs or senators, or four councils to contest the race.

Norris meanwhile bemoaned the fact that people say they would run for the presidency if they didn’t have to face the incumbent president when doing so.

“I’m fed up listening to people say ‘I’d go only for Michael D’,” he said.

Why the hell don’t you have the courage and the guts to run? I ran, I was a great friend and colleague of Michael D.
I told him if I wasn’t running myself I’d be out on bus canvassing for you, that’s how highly I felt about him, but it didn’t stop me.

“I think we should encourage this kind of attitude,” he added.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

76 Comments
    Mute Ronan McKeon
    Favourite Ronan McKeon
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:26 AM

Michael D returned the Presidency to it’s former role of a retirement home for politicians.
    Time for someone fresh to represent Ireland.

Mute Tony Le Blanc
    Favourite Tony Le Blanc
    Jun 28th 2018, 10:14 AM

@Ronan McKeon: Or to scrap the office entirely

Mute The Quare Fella
    Favourite The Quare Fella
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:26 AM

@Tony Le Blanc:
    along with the Seanad

Mute Tom Mc Cormack
    Favourite Tom Mc Cormack
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:34 AM

@The Quare Fella: well said

Mute Aindriú Purfield
    Favourite Aindriú Purfield
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:44 AM

@Tony Le Blanc: And make Leo head of State, eh no thanks.

Mute Platypus Parcel
    Favourite Platypus Parcel
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:56 AM

@Tony Le Blanc: god another referendum

Mute Ronan McKeon
    Favourite Ronan McKeon
    Jun 28th 2018, 2:56 PM

@Tony Le Blanc: it still has its place in Ireland. The power to get the Supreme Court decide on the constitutionality of a bill before they sign it has proved it’s worth in the past.

Mute Sean Flaherty
    Favourite Sean Flaherty
    Jun 28th 2018, 3:10 PM

@Ronan McKeon: The role of the Irish president is that of an ambassador. He has done that excellently.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin
    Jun 28th 2018, 7:03 PM

@The Quare Fella: Yesthe two are only for politicians who lost their seats and serve no useful purpose

Mute Des Groome
    Favourite Des Groome
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:32 AM

Norris is correct. Michael D is energetic and effective now but he is unlikely to remain productive into his 80s. Tax payers deserve someone in the role who will give value for money.
    The Aras shouldn’t become the most expensive nursing home for retired politicians.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:40 AM

@Des Groome:
    So we have to pay him a pension and someone else a salary? Let him stop there, cheaper.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:06 AM

@Des Groome: You would prefer a young politician in that particular nursing home with 60 years of a huge pension ahead of him or her?

Mute Larry Fitzwell
    Favourite Larry Fitzwell
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:17 AM

@Larry Doyle: Why are we all so hung up on politicians pensions and water charges? We bailed out unsecured bond holders for 100s of billions! Thats the problem here. I guess its just easier for the lazy to quote salaries and pensions. Drop in the ocean. Get over it.

Mute Paul Linehan
    Favourite Paul Linehan
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Larry Fitzwell: Because as well as paying the bond holders, we’re paying huge pensions to the many who failed us as politicians….

Mute Tom Mc Cormack
    Favourite Tom Mc Cormack
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:35 AM

@Des Groome: value for money ?? please explain

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:18 PM

@P.J. Nolan: It should be done away with,it is costing too much to run it,what is its purpose other than running around the world while there are children living in hotel rooms,It would make a great hospital if you could get nurses to staff it

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Jun 28th 2018, 2:36 PM

@James Mc Loughlin:
    BTW it would make an incredibly bad hospital, converting old buildings like that to modern state of the art hospital costs many many times more than building a hospital from scratch.

Mute Larry Fitzwell
    Favourite Larry Fitzwell
    Jun 28th 2018, 4:27 PM

@Paul Linehan: Off ya go Paul. No qualifications need to be elected to office. Sounds like you could qualify.

Mute Stephen Adam
    Favourite Stephen Adam
    Jun 28th 2018, 4:41 PM

@Larry Fitzwell: Ridiculous point Larry. It’s very easy for politicians to make questionable decisions when their own financial well being is protected for life. Why should Bertie Ahern care if the economy melts down? He’s going to be on 150k a year forever.

Prudent decision making becomes a lot more important when it’s your own financial future at stake. Which is why politicians should face having their pensions stripped from them if they bankrupt the state.

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:55 AM

Norris is backing Olivia O’Leary for president, in fairness what has she ever done for Ireland except collect a paycheck at our expense along with the rest of the golden circle that is RTÉ……

Mute Jack Jackson
    Favourite Jack Jackson
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:32 AM

@Sean Higgins: So who’s your choice?

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:55 AM

@Jack Jackson: Jack if you want the job it’s yours…….

Mute T Beckett is back
    Favourite T Beckett is back
    Jun 28th 2018, 6:54 PM

@Sean Higgins:

Whatever about Higgins, Norris has an ambivalence towards paedophilia and the British empire.

Olivia O’Leary is chairwoman of the golden circle.

She’s an elitist through and through.
    With no connection to even a few everyday Irish people.
    She’s like an older version of Miriam ‘Genuinely’ O’ Callaghan.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:25 AM

I would not like to see micky d get a second term without a vote, but also would not like to see the like of Norris get it either due to his shady dealings in the past.
    He should be reminded of that before critizing others.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:54 AM

@Simon Miller: Yes and the article in Mcgill about “something to be said for classic paedophilia”
    Twisted sick individual.

Mute MerryLounyMcDonald
    Favourite MerryLounyMcDonald
    Jun 28th 2018, 10:30 AM

@Trevor Hayden: yes …. somehow he is still deemed fit to be a senator… after writing that letter in Senate headed paper.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:06 AM

@Rosemarie F Martin: So it’s perfectly OK to protect a paedophile, the church has really gotten to you with their fairytales of fire and brimstone.
    I can honestly say if anyone got to one of my children, nephews, nieces I’d do life for them but each to their own and all that palaver.

Mute MerryLounyMcDonald
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:12 AM

@Rosemarie F Martin: the boy was 15 not 17.

Mute Battaz
    Favourite Battaz
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:57 PM

@Simon Miller: Don’t you mean Pedarast? There’s a difference between a sexual attraction for underage teenage boys and kids; apparently.
    RTE archives have an audio recording of his drunken admission.
    Gary Glitter would relate.

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:34 AM

Yes, Totally agree. He was a successful president but now is the time to step aside and get his bucket list in order and pass the shovel over to someone else. No trailer at end of hearse or pockets in the shrouds.

Mute brian boru
    Favourite brian boru
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:25 PM

@C_O’S: He said seven years and Norris is right 85 is too old for a President. Time to get someone in with a bit of youth and drive and can offer a counter balance to all the power that sits in the Dail. President Higgins has completed what he said he would do time to move on and get someone in that will make something of this office. If he makes a liar of himself and takes the office for another seven years he does irreparable damage to an office that is meant to serve a purpose.

Mute Prince of Burren
    Favourite Prince of Burren
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:36 AM

Obviously he likes the trappings I agree with David Norris completely it makes a mockery of the office

Mute dave mc nevin
    Favourite dave mc nevin
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:03 AM

Somebody put Maurice mc cabe name forward be good to have an honest man as figure head of our country instead of retired corrupt politicians

Mute MerryLounyMcDonald
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:46 PM

@dave mc nevin: didn’t O Higgins find that he made unsubstantiated and unfounded allegations of corruption against other Gardaí…nice words that actually mean LIED.

EK
    Mute EK
    Favourite EK
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:26 AM

Michael D is a great ambassador for the country and anyone who has met him will vouch for him as a great man. I think he should continue until he sees fit.

Speculating about the potential health risks of continuing in the job is just that-speculation-and a poorly reasoned argument for Michael D stepping down.

Mute Tadhg
    Favourite Tadhg
    Jun 28th 2018, 10:14 AM

@EK: Agreed. He’s been a great representative and I see no reason why he should step down. If his age catches up with him, he can step aside.
    Norris is a little sore as he knows if Micky D goes for another term, Norris himself will never get a shot at the presidency.

Mute madabot
    Favourite madabot
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:54 AM

David Norris again proving why he wouldn’t have been a good choice for President. I’ve no problem with people giving out about the fact that Higgins said he wouldn’t go for second term but, this tasteless nonsense about what age he would be x number of in years…..? If his mind is good and he wants to continue…..his age shouldn’t preclude him or anyone.

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:21 AM

Michael D has been a great president for our country much like Mary Robinson but he did say he wouldn’t seek re-election if he won. Time to be a man of his word & hand the keys to the Aras to a suitable candidate. BUT WHO?? NOT BERTIE THE BO**OKS

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:01 AM

I told him if I wasn’t running myself I’d be out on bus canvassing for you, that’s how highly I felt about him, but it didn’t stop me.
    The irony of these comments,apart from his recommendation of Michael D,. it is OK to discriminate on grounds of age, for an individual who fought discrimination all his life, a most peculiar stance.

Mute brian
    Favourite brian
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:44 AM

Anyone but Norris! Oh wait Bertie? No thank you, anyone except Norris or Bertie.

Mute Paul Laing
    Favourite Paul Laing
    Jun 28th 2018, 10:04 AM

Better a good 84 year old than an indifferent 40 year old.

Because the President will not be drawing his pensions during the Presidency, using him actually saves a lot in ongoing pension payments, looking at the matter in cold financial terms.

I remover some years ago a company recruiting a 35 year old ahead of a 53 year old who was in the job and performing well. The 53 year old was “retired off”. His 35 year old replacement was competent but not experienced enough. He developed MND. His position had to be kept open. The logistics function collapsed and triggered an Examinership. Life is uncertain. The Presidency does not require a youthful incumbent.

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:17 AM

Very concerning to see FF, FG and Labour conspiring to try and deny the public a democratic vote. Even if Michael D is doing a great job he ran last on the basis of staying for a single term and his broken promise combined with his age in a 7 year position are relevant reasons for people to change their mind.

Jun 28th 2018, 9:51 AM

Why do our proven grossly incompetent politicians have so much control on who gets to be a presidential candidate. They’ve made a farce of our political system with their carry on, can’t we just have someone in the aras that is non political instead of having it as a reward for one of our useless gombeen politicians.

Mute El Diablo Pollo
    Favourite El Diablo Pollo
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:11 AM

Norris isn’t far behind him and makes f all sense when he opens his far mouth. MDH is up to it.

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Jun 28th 2018, 2:12 PM

It’s not about his age. It’s about the fact that he said right from the start that he was only interested in one term. He’s obviously become overly fond of the fancy house and the free food.

Mute Gisbert Bayertz
    Favourite Gisbert Bayertz
    Jun 28th 2018, 10:03 AM

He is right, should be someone younger

Mute Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Favourite Brían Ó Cionnaith
    Jun 28th 2018, 9:34 AM

I have a respectable candidate MEP Lynn Boylan (Sinn Fein) wife of current TD Eoin O’Broin (Sinn Fein) politicians of the people.

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Jun 28th 2018, 1:52 PM

@Brían Ó Cionnaith: A misandrist feminist bigot who wants to indoctrinate young boys in primary school with feminist propaganda telling them that because they are born male they fundamentally flawed.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:13 AM

I voted for him I stood by him when rte allow the age gaffe to be broad cast making the report to have reason put in place . at 77 I will not vote for him for he will be in him 80s in the term and the time to retire is now make a stand Mr President retire .people need a younger person.

Mute Barry O Toole
    Favourite Barry O Toole
    Jun 28th 2018, 10:37 AM

Presidency and seanad should be abolished absolute waste of money

Mute Barry O Toole
    Favourite Barry O Toole
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:30 PM

@Rosemarie F Martin: good point rosemarie maybe limit it to a single five year term michael d should stick to what he said when he stood for election then people might not b so cynical about politicians

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:15 PM

If he had worked all his life like the majority of men he would be happy to retire.

Mute Patrick Dunne
    Favourite Patrick Dunne
    Jun 28th 2018, 1:55 PM

It’s time to scrap this position anyway, a president in Ireland has very little clout anyway and all he’s really done is sign us into austerity while he lives in the lap of luxury at our expense. All it is is yet another plum job for politicians and their well connected friends. We can least afford such extravagance while the country’s in debt for generations.

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:39 AM

Churchill was 70 when Nazi Germany fell…

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Favourite George Oscar Bluth
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:45 AM

@Fabio Dillon: So younger than Michael D was when he assumed office? Also, it’s hardly like Churchill single handed was the one who defeated them….FDR and Stalin were also massive contributors.

Mute Conor Convey
    Favourite Conor Convey
    Jun 28th 2018, 1:56 PM

@Michael Allen: he wasn’t an alcoholic, he was just fond of a good drink

Mute John Rownano
    Favourite John Rownano
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:58 AM

This office should either scraped or open to ANY Irish Citizen that wants to run for the Aras rather than those chosen by Norris or the other Senead Dail Mafia tossers .

Mute Paddy Downey
    Favourite Paddy Downey
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:58 PM

The 7 year term is the real issue. If he runs again, we’ll have had just 3 presidents in 35 years since Mary Robinson was elected.
    14 years is far too long

Mute Frank McGlynn
    Favourite Frank McGlynn
    Jun 28th 2018, 1:53 PM

@Paddy Downey: Seven years is OK but it should be restricted to one term.

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Jun 28th 2018, 6:55 PM

@Paddy Downey: Yes 4 years should be enough,and only one term in office

Mute Thomas Murphy
    Favourite Thomas Murphy
    Jun 28th 2018, 8:56 AM

What age is Norris?

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle
    Jun 28th 2018, 11:20 AM

@Thomas Murphy: Why is that relevant? Norris has already said he won’t be running as he considers himself too old.

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:24 PM

Seems to be a no brainer. Michael D should run for office, if he wants to, and other candidates do not hesitate to step up to offer to have a go … and let the public vote decide. That’s being a Republic, it seems.

Mute David Walshe
    Favourite David Walshe
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:18 PM

BBB – Bring Back Bertie!

Shout it on the streets, on the streets I tell you.

Mute Andy Dowdall
    Favourite Andy Dowdall
    Jun 28th 2018, 12:56 PM

This coming from a Man..who take a lot of nonsense but really says nothing of note..

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jun 28th 2018, 5:55 PM

Simple:
    We should vote for a President and a Sub – could sit in a dugout outside the Arus ready to continue seamless play!

Mute anthony o cathain
    Favourite anthony o cathain
    Jun 29th 2018, 12:19 PM

Where were they when we needed them before the crash ? Scrap presidency, scrap seanad. (Even if it saves a euro, I want those rooms back)

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jun 28th 2018, 4:16 PM

Would be be very intresting to see who would run if MD did not want another seven bells. All kinds of everything I suspect even a snowflake or two.

Mute C_O'S
    Favourite C_O'S
    Jun 28th 2018, 5:02 PM

@Aidan Dorney: what about Phil Coulter ? Congratulations and celebrations all round. He would be a great president with his lovely wife Geraldine as first lady for one term only.

Mute Canny Jem
    Favourite Canny Jem
    Jun 29th 2018, 7:27 AM

Ok, so President Higgins feels he’s up to his Constitutional Responsibilities to the job of being President of the Republic of Ireland for another 7 years, despite his age. I have a big “but” on that.
    That’s proof enough that he a theatrical politician and his somewhat equally-aged theatrical actress wife are enjoying life being pampered in Áras an Úachtaráin, travelling 1st-class around the world every time, entertaining foreign dignatories or whosoever they personally choose to be partying with in the Gardens, all paid for by us taxpayers.
    The “but” I have on Mr Higgins (I never respect him as ‘President’ Higgins, never considered him a potential or existing worthwhile President of my country, never trusted him in his past as a Labour Party politician), is that he is the epitome of Leprechaun politics (no pun intended)… the kind of Politics that our present Political Parties are playing against us Irish “wee” people in trying to foist him upon us once again.
    Not once has has he exercised his Constitutional duty to challenge any law passed by the Oireachtas or referred it back for appropriate consideration by people more responsibly sensible than him or his influencing actress wife, during his tenure of Ireland’s Presidential Office. There are some laws he could have exercised his duties of office on in his time so far… but choose not to “rock the boat” on.
    Let truth be told. You’d be afraid what other new laws he wouldn’t challenge as President in a tax-paid comfortable job and handmaid-servant mansion house.
    He has not done his job, like Presidents Douglas Hyde, Cearbhall O’Dálaigh or even as Eamonn de Valera did, with all their honesty for our Republic’s best interests.
    Time for a change of President. We need someone like Cearbhall O’Dálaigh, a man who executed the functions of a President of Ireland with impeccable honesty to challenge a discrepant, inconsistent Dail Éireann’s ignominous imposition of an unjustifiable law on our country’s citizens.
    Out with hangers-on people like Higgins and “Cringer” Norris. Let them earn their own independent livelihood instead of bleeding off taxpayers in their old age.
    New blood, new responsible thinking, please.

Mute Brendan Cafferty
    Favourite Brendan Cafferty
    Sep 27th 2018, 7:13 PM

Norris is just a bitter old man,he was found out writing letters as senator to have Ezra released from jail in Israel

Mute Brendan Cafferty
    Favourite Brendan Cafferty
    Sep 27th 2018, 7:15 PM

Norris is a bitter old fart,he was forced out of race cos he wrote letters as senator to have Ezra released from jail

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Jun 28th 2018, 5:16 PM

@C_O’ S Why not.? Fourteen years is far to long anyhow plus the fact MD said he would not seek a second term.
    Get rid maybe Chuck Norris in no play on name BTW. Then we can have a Gay President & Taoiseach all will be dandy!!

Mute Fergus Moroney
    Favourite Fergus Moroney
    Jun 28th 2018, 7:52 PM

Forget ageism. Big problem is with him comes the ubiquitous Sabina.

Mute Matthew Roche
    Favourite Matthew Roche
    Jun 29th 2018, 7:11 AM

I know its a BIG ask, but would Vicky Phelan do us the honor of becoming OUR PRESEDENT, What a GREAT WOMAN. She has done more for the women of Ireland in 4 Months, than most of our T.D. would do in their life time. I think that would help Michael D. make up his mind very quickly. She should have no problem getting a nomination and cross party support. GO VICKY, GO!

Mute Canny Jem
    Favourite Canny Jem
    Jun 29th 2018, 8:15 AM

@Matthew Roche: Regretfully, not a chance for Vicky because the austere duties of the Office of President of Ireland require a huge understanding of legal rigmarole before s/he is eligible for the duties of that office.
    The qualifications for the position of the Office of President of Ireland are based in law, not based on any political, religious or public popularism kind.