You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A TV screen shows pictures of North Korean leader Kim Jong Un (R) and his older brother Kim Jong Nam (L). AP/Press Association Images

North Korea says it 'categorically rejects' autopsy results before they're even released

Kim Jong-Nam, the half-brother of North Korea’s leader, was killed in Malaysia.

MALAYSIAN POLICE HAVE arrested a North Korean man over the assassination of Kim Jong-Un’s brother, as relations between Pyongyang and Kuala Lumpur nosedived in a battle for his body.

A 46-year-old was arrested on yesterday evening with documents that identified him as North Korean citizen Ri Jong Chol, a police statement said, making him the first person from the North to be detained over the case.

Kim Jong-Nam died after an as-yet unidentified liquid was sprayed in his face at Kuala Lumpur international airport on Monday, in an attack Seoul says was carried out by female agents from Pyongyang.

Local officers have already arrested a woman with a Vietnamese passport and a Malaysian man, as well as an Indonesian woman who foreign police said could have got involved in the murder thinking it was a reality TV prank.

Jong-Nam’s body has been held in a Kuala Lumpur morgue since an autopsy on Wednesday, the results of which are still pending, according to Selangor state police chief Abdul Samah Mat.

After Malaysia ignored demands to return the remains, Pyongyang accused the Kuala Lumpur of conspiring with its enemies and said it would reject whatever results came from the post-mortem.

“The Malaysian side forced the post-mortem without our permission and witnessing. We will categorically reject the result of the post-mortem conducted unilaterally excluding our attendance,” the North Korean ambassador told reporters gathered outside the morgue shortly before midnight last night.

Malaysia North Korea The car of the ambassador of North Korea to Malaysia leaves the hospital. Vincent Thian / AP Vincent Thian / AP / AP

The comments were the first official remarks from the country since the killing, but ambassador Kang Chol stopped short of identifying Jong-Nam or touching on his cause of death.

North Korean state media has remained silent on the murder.

The ambassador had met with Malaysian police, demanding the release of the body without success, according to an English transcript of the envoy’s comments distributed by an aide.

“They are colluding with the hostile forces towards us who are desperate to harm us of malice,” the transcript said, suggesting South Korea was trying to defame the North in a bid to distract from a corruption scandal at home.

A ‘TV show prank’

Today, Malaysia’s police chief has said Pyongyang would have to wait for the investigation to be completed, which would include a family member sending a DNA sample to identify the body.

“While in Malaysia, everyone has to obey and follow our rules and regulations… that includes North Korea,” Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Khalid Abu Bakar told national news agency Bernama.

Pyongyang and Kuala Lumpur had enjoyed warm ties until the assassination, with a reciprocal visa-free deal for visitors — an unusual proposition for the reclusive North.

Before the arrest of the North Korean, detectives had detained a 25-year-old Indonesian woman named Siti Aishah and her Malaysian boyfriend, along with a woman carrying a Vietnamese passport that identified her as Doan Thi Huong, 28.

Margie pic from KL airport Kuala Lumpur International Airport where the killing took place. Margie Mason / AP Margie Mason / AP / AP

Indonesian Police Chief Tito Karnavian said he had information from Malaysia that Aishah was tricked into thinking she was simply taking part in pranks for a TV show.

“Probably she was just used — she did not realise it was an assassination attempt,” he was quoted as saying in local media.

The drama erupted on Monday morning as Jong-Nam prepared to board a plane to Macau. Malaysian police say the 45-year-old was jumped by two women who squirted a liquid in his face.

Jong-Nam told staff he was suffering from a headache and was taken to the airport clinic grimacing in pain, according to Malaysian media citing CCTV footage from the airport.

He was once thought to be the natural successor to his father, but on Kim Jong-Il’s death in 2011 the succession went to Kim Jong-Un, who was born to the former leader’s third wife.

Reports of purges and executions have emerged from the current regime as Jong-Un tries to strengthen his grip on power in the face of international pressure over nuclear and missile programmes.

South Korea has cited a “standing order” from Jong-Un to kill his sibling and a failed assassination bid in 2012 after he criticised the regime.

© – AFP 2017

Read: Woman arrested over ‘assassination’ of Kim Jong Un’s half brother >

Read: Half-brother of North Korean leader ‘assassinated in Malaysia by poison needles’ >

View 24 comments
24 Comments
    Mute Cathal O'Hagan
    Favourite Cathal O'Hagan
    Feb 18th 2017, 10:19 AM

“a woman who got involved in the murder because she thought it was a prank” jaysus.. I don’t know where to start with this

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Feb 18th 2017, 10:31 AM

Kim and the Donald should meet up for coffee. I’m sure they’d have a lot in common.

Mute Brian Farrell
    Favourite Brian Farrell
    Feb 18th 2017, 10:32 AM

Putin supplying the coffee?

Mute David Vaughan
    Favourite David Vaughan
    Feb 18th 2017, 10:34 AM

Hopefully the coffee will have a healthy glow to it.

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Feb 18th 2017, 11:10 AM

@David Vaughan: __ There’s nothing like a Poloniumuccino to make life worth living.

Feb 18th 2017, 2:18 PM

North Koreans must think the world is as crazy as them!

Mute Avina Laaf
    Favourite Avina Laaf
    Feb 18th 2017, 10:40 AM

The North Koreans – great bunch of lads….

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Feb 18th 2017, 12:55 PM

Lardarse may finally have bitten off more than he can stuff into his chubby face. The only reason for North Korea still existing is the fact that it has had the PRC standing behind it since his granddaddy first seized power. By assassinating a man nominally under Chinese protection, Lardarse has made a public mockery of them – there has to be a limit somewhere to Beijing’s willingness to shrug off Lardarse’s regular embarassments. Maybe he’s so drunk on power he genuinely believes he no longer needs the PRC – if so he may be in for a nasty surprise.

Mute Johnny Diggin
    Favourite Johnny Diggin
    Feb 18th 2017, 4:27 PM

Id say you are into conspiracy theories are ya?

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Feb 18th 2017, 5:05 PM

Hardly a conspiracy – the PRC’s backing of North Korea is open knowledge. They’ve been getting pretty pissed off in the last few years with Lardarse’s constant sabre-rattling, and now the latest mockery of their special relationship may be one of the final few nails in to go in its coffin. http://history105.libraries.wsu.edu/fall2014/wp-content/uploads/sites/3/2014/08/cartoon.14.jpg

Mute Johnny Diggin
    Favourite Johnny Diggin
    Feb 18th 2017, 9:33 PM

Im sorry now buddy but you have no clues about what you are on about. Copy and pasting articles from fake news websites doesnt validate your points either. Its very clear you are into conspiracy theories and you dont question what you read pal. Dont take me the wrong way, id say your a nice guy just grossly misinformed

Mute Ger
    Favourite Ger
    Feb 19th 2017, 12:52 AM

So you’re saying that China don’t back North Korea? By the way just because you disagree with something you read doesn’t mean it’s from a fake news site. You’re starting to sound like the big orange muppet.

Mute Johnny Diggin
    Favourite Johnny Diggin
    Feb 19th 2017, 10:03 AM

I never said China don’t back North Korea, how you got that idea into your head shows you also are into conspiracy theories that you read on these ‘sound’ websites. Agree with or disagree with what something ylu read doesnt make it real news either. Im starting to sound like an orange muppet? So what exactly are you saying? Im a protestant? Im a chatacter on sesame street? It doesnt make any sense what you are saying. Name calling doesnt enforce your point it makes you look silly. I thougt u had a good point until you proved you have no clues what you are on about and you like conspiracy theories also. Get informed buddy. Id say your a nice guy too, just very niave. Im not getting into a name calling match with you cause if we do. You will lose boy.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Feb 19th 2017, 6:48 PM

Err did you actually click on the link? It’s NOT an article, it’s just a little cartoon which I thought humourously illustrates the situation. It’s very clear from your clueless blundering you’re just throwing terms like ‘fake news’ and ‘conspiracy theory’ about without actually knowing what they mean. Stop wasting bandwidth and get back to your crayons.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Feb 20th 2017, 10:05 AM

They routinely make a mockery of Beijing. This is nothing new. Beijing’s usual response is simply to support UNSC resolutions sanctioning them (which they could choose to veto — like the US consistently does for certain countries)

Mute Eye_c_u
    Favourite Eye_c_u
    Feb 18th 2017, 12:37 PM

Hmm they go on about imperialists and they have a jag as embassy car.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Feb 18th 2017, 6:07 PM

Worth about a grand at her age (15 years plus).

Mute P-O-B
    Favourite P-O-B
    Feb 18th 2017, 10:55 AM

They’re dead right.

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Feb 18th 2017, 10:36 AM

Just a case of food poisoning.

Mute alphanautica
    Favourite alphanautica
    Feb 18th 2017, 12:03 PM

Kim Jong-Un got his media under control.

They all love him in North Korea; you’ll never see a bad word written about him or even questioning his authority.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Feb 18th 2017, 12:44 PM

Imagine if the Malaysians then deliberately announce that Jong Nam was not murdered and that North Korea is totally innocent…

Mute Johnny Diggin
    Favourite Johnny Diggin
    Feb 19th 2017, 10:06 AM

Imagination is the core of someone that believes fake news articles and then goes on the journal to tell everyone about it. Again I would pay your a nice guy but believes everything you read. Im just tellling you question what you read. Be safe out there buddy. You are very niave

Mute Teddy
    Favourite Teddy
    Feb 18th 2017, 4:33 PM

Get your retaliation in first

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Feb 18th 2017, 6:21 PM

Jom Nang Gon!