You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Magnus Meyer Hustveit LinkedIn

This man was named and shamed as a rapist - but his own country barely noticed

Rapists are rarely named in Norway, with the emphasis firmly placed on rehabilitation.

A CONTROVERSIAL CASE which saw a confessed rapist have his entire seven-year sentence suspended by High Court Judge Patrick McCarthy has gained plenty of column inches over the last two days in Ireland.

The victim of the rapes, Niamh Ní Dhomhnail, even waived her right to anonymity so that her abuser, 25-year-old Norwegian Magnus Meyer Hustveit, could also be named.

Yesterday she took to Ireland’s airwaves in a series of impassioned condemnations of the leniency shown to Hustveit in his sentencing.

Yet, in Hustveit’s home nation, his conviction, while being reported, has barely registered as more than a mild curiosity. Why?

For starters, in Norway convicted rapists are very seldom named. It seems the Norwegian approach is firmly based upon the rehabilitation of those convicted.

But would Hustveit have been convicted in his home nation?

“He might have been convicted in Norway, but it’s slightly different; here violent and threatening behaviour is the defining element in the rape law, but in practice definitions are changing,” Lisa Arntzen, a social worker at the Dixi Resource Center against Rape in Oslo, told TheJournal.ie .

It’s correct that the rapist is not usually named here, although they sometimes are if it’s something special, a special case.
I can understand the logic behind it (naming the rapist), but it’s not like that in Norway.
I don’t think it’s right however that this guy doesn’t get any punishment at all. He admits that he did rape her – there’s no question but that he should have gotten some prison time.

While things are different in Norway, the idea of lenient rape law is really an international question. The UN has declared that absence-of-consent should be the defining element in rape laws.

“The absence of consent isn’t so important here, although it should be,” says Arntzen.

Cases get blocked. Having sex with someone who’s sleeping isn’t seen as part of the law.
But having sex with someone who is asleep or otherwise not able to give consent is rape, and this should be included in Norwegian law, as well as in all other countries.
Having said that, I do believe this particular man would have gotten jail time if he had been convicted here.

Arntzen doesn’t think that Hustveit would have been named in his own country however.

She points TheJournal.ie towards several (private, so not linkable unfortunately) Norwegian social media conversations where people (discussing Hustveit’s case) express incredulity that the press would name a rapist, and suggest that more conversation/treatment and less punishment is often the way forward.

“He probably wouldn’t have been named publicly. Here, it’s important that the punishment is also treatment,” says Arntzen.
We want these people to come back to society and not to re-offend. It’s important that perpetrators get better, and this is followed up afterwards.

And that’s not just the authorities’ idea either:

Many say that they don’t want the perpetrator to be named publicly because it may also identify the victim and their families.
But other also say they want the rapist to get help, most of all, so that they don’t re-offend, and that is why they report the rape.
It’s not only the length of the sentence, but also the content (such as treatment) of it that is crucial in prohibiting the rapist from committing new crimes.

Helpline

If you have been affected by anything in relation to this article, the Dublin Rape Crisis Centre operates a free helpline 24 hours a day, 365 days a year on 1800 77 88 88 or you can visit this website.

Read: Poll: Should there be mandatory minimum sentences for rape and sexual assault?

Read: Nine people given life sentences for rape last year

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute Noel
    Favourite Noel
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:16 PM

When you go into any of the banks now there are hardly any staff, just machines. If you have a complaint who do you talk to?
    The banks do not want customers in the branches anymore.
    Now they want us to be fans?
    Pay back the money you owe the taxpayers who bailed you out and then treat your customers with some respect. That would be a good starting point.

Mute Turk Oneeighttwo
    Favourite Turk Oneeighttwo
    Oct 14th 2017, 5:57 PM

@Noel: Just a measure of the incredible arrogance of AIB who have raided out taxes not once but twice.
    The arrogance that we might turn into fans is breathtaking from these abject failures.
    Zombie business kept afloat by our taxes for the next couple of generation. And that’s the moral hazard in a nutshell, they smugly know they can produce any knd of rubbish and continually fail knowing we have to bail them out. In what other business sector would that happen. I despise this Bank especially as it’s their second time to steal!

Mute WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Favourite WilhelminaMCallaghan
    Oct 14th 2017, 6:17 PM

@Noel: if only . Nah .. they won’t

Mute Shane Dignam
    Favourite Shane Dignam
    Oct 14th 2017, 7:19 PM

@Turk Oneeighttwo: The thing is, next time their won’t be the funds to bail them out.

Mute Bryan Kelly
    Favourite Bryan Kelly
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:15 PM

Glad they’re wasting loads of money on this guy to tell them they need to charge customers more money for services that were free for years before they ruined it for themselves with their own incompetence and needed all our money to stay afloat…

Wait, did I miss something in this article? It sounds all upbeat and positive, and there’s not one single solitary positive thing about it.

AIB Bosses: “Lads…how can we make customers like us again?”
    This Fairytale Lad: “I know! Comfy chairs, colourful paint schemes, and making them pay to talk to a human being.”
    Someone with common sense: “Could we try not screwing them over every opportunity we get?”
    AIB Bosses: “Comfy chairs and charges for basic services it is!”

Mute Michael farrelly
    Favourite Michael farrelly
    Oct 14th 2017, 4:31 PM

@Bryan Kelly: probably stopping the practice of deliberately stealing money from customers by deliberately over charging would be a help

Oct 14th 2017, 6:19 PM

@Bryan Kelly: I am a total fan of having my direct debit screwed up cause on a win they took some fee for some imaginary thing that they dreamed last night .

Oct 14th 2017, 6:20 PM

@WilhelminaMCallaghan: dumb phone
    # on a whim

Mute Shane Gleeson
    Favourite Shane Gleeson
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:21 PM

Let me stop you there Mr. Gowl. Don’t get too comfy in the job and keep that CV handy. Banks are utilities, a means to an end. No one will ever buy into your brand. All that matters is who is the cheapest, who doesn’t rip off its customers and who doesn’t bring the country to its knees. Come back to us when you figure that out.

Mute John Owens
    Favourite John Owens
    Oct 14th 2017, 11:18 PM

@Shane Gleeson: not true. All industries are being disrupted by companies who focus right at what the customer values, and putting the commodity to the back of the thinking. Your thinking is backwards. Innovation in banking as a service will happen. The only question is whether blockchain will drive it or not

Oct 14th 2017, 3:08 PM

Mark Gould are you nuts? Turning customers into “fans” after the misery you caused? You need a miracle, go see that guy with the Mary statue….

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:24 PM

@Gus Sheridan: i wonder do the mean literally

Oct 14th 2017, 4:39 PM

@Gus Sheridan: not in my lifetime. Too much destruction caused by these a-holes. The only type of fan I would be is a rioting one.

Mute Shane Gleeson
    Favourite Shane Gleeson
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:22 PM

And AIB should be the fans. Fans of every man woman and child saddled with billions of debt and keeping these zombies in business.

Oct 14th 2017, 3:54 PM

“Self service should be cheap or free” l never darken the door of my branch do everything on line. But they still chargd me €45 every quarter…..

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:09 PM

That sounds like it came from a court session in a domestic abuse case or a from a terrorist training manual on instilling Stockholm Syndrome. It will also come a pot of KY Jelly and handcuffs

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:34 PM

@Patrick J. O’Rourke: Who makes this shite up? I

Mute Martin Carter[#No2x]
    Favourite Martin Carter[#No2x]
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:12 PM

Buy Bitcoin & finally put the need for banks in the bin. Take control of your own money

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Oct 14th 2017, 7:46 PM

@George Harvey: Funny, if I kept all my savings solely in bitcoin from the past 3 years I would a multi millionaire, instead, my savings are worth less now due to inflation.

Oct 14th 2017, 3:21 PM

Haha. What a horrendous joke of an idea. And will they be expecting the “fans” to pay to interact with the banks then?

Mute Sean c
    Favourite Sean c
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:25 PM

I had my first account and was my main account for 22 years
    I needed to get a job abroad for a while but insured I still used it every few months
    Once and once ever I went 4 months without using it. It was shut down
    No letter, no email. When I contacted them and went into the branch no care or shits were given

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:26 PM

They must have borrowed Leo’s strategic communications unit to come up with this excrement.

Oct 14th 2017, 4:40 PM

@Dave Doyle: ha!

Mute Arthur O'Neill
    Favourite Arthur O'Neill
    Oct 14th 2017, 4:45 PM

No sane person should consider themselves a ‘Fan’ to any Bank.

Mute Abe Brennan
    Favourite Abe Brennan
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:59 PM

Credit where its due, that clown got one thing right, we will never forget how they made us feel.Banksters.

Mute Club Ireland
    Favourite Club Ireland
    Oct 14th 2017, 5:06 PM

I was a customer of AIB and was trading as a small company had an overdraft of a couple of grand I paid back on time but never saved much.
    AIB sent me a letter more or less saying they did want me as a customer no reason given my account was closed.

This was back in early nought ‘s during the boom.
    So I have no time for AIB.
    Have been banking with ptsb since.

Mute Dan
    Favourite Dan
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:48 PM

They can f…. right off

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:23 PM

They must be on some great drugs

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:33 PM

@Rui Firmino: Exactly.

Oct 14th 2017, 4:41 PM

@Rui Firmino: they’re so far removed from reality it’s actually amazing.

Mute Terry Cahill
    Favourite Terry Cahill
    Oct 14th 2017, 5:42 PM

@Deborah Behan: the scary part is that they ARE the reality and we let them become that. I have no problem telling my banks where to go and the number of the bus to take, but I am old and self sufficient. The people who depend on banks to get by and other things in life such as mortgages, cannot adopt the contemptuous attitude I have towards them, and I have nothing but contempt for the leeches that they are.

Mute Arron
    Favourite Arron
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:42 PM

Tell them to get lost

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:36 PM

The mind boggles, we are charged for using the service every week, in transaction, etc how is the service free? How Can they ask for even more money just to speak to someone, you hold you money there, you have loans and paying interest, you use the atm and get charged, now more money to keep the people there already there, is this guy crazy? He can just f c u k right off ff,
    Fans me a r s e,, idiot

Mute Alan Campbell
    Favourite Alan Campbell
    Oct 14th 2017, 7:10 PM

Yeah right.. cancelled my overdraft without any notice back in days of austerity and bank bailouts left with nothing for three weeks. I definitely won’t be forgetting.

Mute DarkHorse
    Favourite DarkHorse
    Oct 14th 2017, 4:10 PM

I preferred their earlier stuff

Mute Donal Martin
    Favourite Donal Martin
    Oct 14th 2017, 4:24 PM

Buy bitcoin, be your own bank and fan

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:13 PM

Pay yer takes ye robbing *********

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:13 PM

@Zossima: taxes, can’t spell with anger

Mute Oliver van Dijk
    Favourite Oliver van Dijk
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:42 PM

Really, fan of a bank? Banks always have and always will be institutions that offer an umbrella when the sun is shining and take it away when it starts raining. AIB in particular …

Mute Teresa Mullarkey
    Favourite Teresa Mullarkey
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:10 PM

What a shame AIB plc didn’t appreciate the staff they had who were loyal.hard working and knew their customers. Instead they have ushered them out the door and NOW they are looking to hire staff to push this new cuddly agenda. And live in Dublin on less than 25k. Good luck with that!!!!!@

Mute Remington
    Favourite Remington
    Oct 14th 2017, 6:23 PM

instead of “soft seating” they could drop the fees for having a bank acc., paying with card, direct debits etc.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Oct 14th 2017, 4:33 PM

It should’ve been kept in public hands. now it will be abused by developers and speculators.

Mute Sean Healy
    Favourite Sean Healy
    Oct 14th 2017, 5:50 PM

Fans? What about all the people hoodwinked by AIBs Belfry Investments. Proposed, pushed, managed by AIB. Money lent by AIB to investors. All monies lost and AIB – who didn’t lose a penny – walked away and said tough luck to all the investors, some of whom were very elderly pensioners. Fans my ass!

Mute Vinny Hughes
    Favourite Vinny Hughes
    Oct 14th 2017, 6:00 PM

They have a long way to go thats for sure

Mute DeFonz
    Favourite DeFonz
    Oct 14th 2017, 5:55 PM

are they going to reach out to us?

a puck up the h-le if they try it on me..

Mute Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Naoimh Ó Murchadha
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:05 PM

Two words “Credit Union”. Where the members are put first.

Oct 14th 2017, 6:16 PM

Ah do they now

Mute Early Cuyler
    Favourite Early Cuyler
    Oct 14th 2017, 8:56 PM

Beyond all the fans nonsense they’ve expressed no desire to be competitive and intend to gouge the most loyal.

I only have a little bit of dealings with them but that ends on Monday.

Totally disgusted that a financial institution would allow this crap to be seen by the public.

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Oct 14th 2017, 3:44 PM

Hilarious rubbish. AIB must think we are all stupid. Then again maybe we are!!!!!

Oct 14th 2017, 4:43 PM

@Micheal S. O’ Ceilleachair: I’d need a lobotomy. Although that may have already happened!

Mute holden mcgroin
    Favourite holden mcgroin
    Oct 14th 2017, 11:27 PM

economic crash took out most of their competitors here too left them with a free run robbers

Mute Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Oct 15th 2017, 9:31 AM

AIB headquarters should be symbolically burned to the ground by thousands of its victims !

Mute Sonny Dublin
    Favourite Sonny Dublin
    Oct 15th 2017, 7:38 AM

‘Customers will never forget how you made them feel’ …… yeah suicidal for many

Mute Bryan Bonny
    Favourite Bryan Bonny
    Oct 15th 2017, 4:21 AM

C@nts

Mute Ger Martin
    Favourite Ger Martin
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:09 PM

That dirty rotten cont
    It’s the tax payer that bailed that shower of wankirs out and we are still paying for it and until I retire if I live that long
    Every customer should and has to treated like a special individual and not criminalized into a feeling like they are doing you a great favor for trying to do a it of personal business or whatever the case may be

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:41 PM

What has this dude been smoking?

Mute Damian McEvoy
    Favourite Damian McEvoy
    Oct 14th 2017, 9:04 PM

If there are more evil people out there, I simply feel obliged to deny their existence. This “fans” business is beyond horrifying. Thank you for this story – I trust it will win Hunanitarian Campaign Of The Year.