You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A young man sleeping rough on the streets of Dublin. Gareth Chaney/Photocall Ireland

Not An April Fool: NGOs share unbelievable facts

A dozen non-governmental organisations tweeted on the topics of homelessness, emigration, and adult literacy.

A DOZEN IRISH non-governmental organisations used Twitter this morning to reveal almost unbelievable facts about their areas of work under the hashtag #NotAnAprilFool.

They used the opportunity to use “challenge myths and stereotypes about areas such as mental health, poverty, disability, homelessness, sexism and racism”.

European Anti-poverty Network, the Equality & Rights Alliance, Free Legal Advice Centres (FLAC), Inclusion Ireland, the Immigrant Council, Mental Health Reform, Migrants Rights Centre Ireland, National Women’s Council of Ireland, OPEN, Pavee Point, Simon and SpunOut all took part.

As the hashtag #NotAnAprilFool gained momentum, others joined in.

Here are just some of the tweets that appeared under the hashtag today. Spot any other interesting ones? Let us known in the comments below.

Read: A Definitive Ranking of Ireland’s April Fools’ Day Pranks >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:13 PM

How come, when it comes to domestic violence they never give statistics relating to men who are abused???? No need for all the red thumbs, it’s a genuine question!

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Favourite Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:16 PM

Cos there’s not that many?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:19 PM

Gearoid
    How many does it take on till you consider it a problem

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:32 PM

Well, it’s a problem if it even happens a few times. But that wouldn’t make a shocking statistic would it?

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:33 PM

Does a statistic need to be shocking?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:34 PM

It’s shocking to the person living with it gearoid !!
    It happens enough that there are men’s support groups available.

Mute Aideen O M
    Favourite Aideen O M
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:37 PM

Its only because the number of women who are victims of domestic abuse is higher than men so it makes for a better statistic.
    Its the same reason breast cancer is focused more on women,

Mute 3-Hours-Till-Sundown
    Favourite 3-Hours-Till-Sundown
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:39 PM

http://www.parliament.uk/briefing-papers/sn00950.pdf

In the UK “7% of women and 5% of men were estimated to have experienced domestic abuse in the 2011/12, equivalent to an estimated 1.2 million female and 800,000 male victims.”

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:42 PM

All the more reason for it to get a mention – sometimes one would be forgiven for thinking it only happens to women, but that’s not the truth..
    Men are victims of domestic violence AND breast cancer. Leaving them out doesn’t help anyone, even if it is just that the “focus” is on women or the incidence is higher. It feeds into to ignorance about the plight of men in these circumstances.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:43 PM

Eh, I’d say if you’re specifically posting “unbelievable facts” then you’re hardly gonna post something that’s not shocking. Anyway, it was just a guess. It could be bacause people don’t care? Because men are supposed to be “macho”? Or because there’s not that many. I don’t really know.

So, glen, you can be rude and indignent and up on your high horse all you want because as well as not reallly knowing why, I don’t really care either.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:58 PM

Well gearoid I hope you never are in that position
    But as they say mocking is catching

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:15 PM

I dunno Gearoid – maybe *because* there’s a stereotype of men being the stronger ones, people are less inclined to think of men being victims – so to put out the statistics would in itself be shocking – especially to those who thought men couldn’t be victims.

It all comes down to what you would consider unbelievable.. There were a few things on this list that I didn’t find especially “unbelievable”, many seemed spot on actually..

Mute feck'n voters
    Favourite feck'n voters
    Apr 1st 2014, 11:05 PM

Statisticly there are more men who are victims than women, but Irish society is intolerant of such whingers and the CEOs of NWCI does not get paid to represent men.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Apr 1st 2014, 11:20 PM

Feck’n voters, would it not serve the cause better to give a link to those statistics rather than having a go at another group?

Of course the NCWI don’t represent men, they’re the national WOMENS council, the clue is in the name..

I can appreciate that the issue doesn’t get enough coverage, but taking aim at women’s groups because their stated aim is advocacy for women just seems a bit childish and petty.

More men need to stand up. Men’s groups like Amen need to submit more articles to media, awareness of the issue needs to be raised and it won’t get done by simply bitching about the work other groups didn’t do for you.

Mute Gearóid Ó Murchadha
    Apr 1st 2014, 11:52 PM

I read up on it a bit since my earlier comments. When it comes to severe domestic violence, apparently 6%of men have been victims and 15% of women. But only 1 in 20 men report it to the gardaí where as 1 in 3 women report it. A large factor (so I’ve read) is that as men are stronger women on the receiving end of domestic violence come out a lot worse then men do. In general, a man will do a lot more damage to a woman then vice versa. I guess unless a guy actually looks like he got a hiding he’ll probably be afraid to go to the gardaí. He could be getting a box everyday of the week but if he’s not left with any visible damage he might not be believed, or worse, not taken seriously. Dunno how many times I’ve been out in town and seen a couples argument end with the guy getting a slap in the face. I guess if that was how your missus dealt with every row and you got a slap every other day it would be fairly depressing.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Apr 2nd 2014, 12:00 AM

See – that bit, that bit about feeling ashamed of reporting it.. That’s a big problem, it’s the same kind of problem that stops people reporting rape. Feeling as though you’re not going to be believed and you have no way of proving it so why bother.. It’s destructive.

As you say, a man can (generally) do more damage with his fists than most women can – but that’s not to say that either sex can’t pick up an implement like a knife or an iron and do some serious damage. If the victim feels like there’s nowhere they can go or no one to turn to then it’s a big problem.
    This is why awareness of the fact that men can be victims too needs to be raised – so that men won’t feel laughed at or like “less of a man” (whatever that’s supposed to mean) if he reports it.

No one should be on the receiving end of domestic violence, but by the time it has gotten that far, there has usually been substantial psychological abuse beforehand, that’s why awareness, help and support is needed. Because just walking away is never that easy.

Mute talkingsense
    Favourite talkingsense
    Apr 2nd 2014, 12:05 AM

Very well said!

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:07 PM

Happy ‘Liberal Guilt Day!’

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Favourite Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Apr 1st 2014, 7:25 PM

Oh, they’re not guilty my dear fellow. They’re too busy trying to save the world from the rest of us primordial savages. They expect us to be the remorseful ones.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:37 PM

Four million people had failed bank debts forced upon them! #notanaprilfool

Mute Owen Slattery
    Favourite Owen Slattery
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:13 PM

Non governmental, yet the majority funded by the government.

Mute Dom O Donnell
    Favourite Dom O Donnell
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:24 PM

Been holding back for weeks now but today im weak so i have to just say…Jaysus Jeremy your one miserable b*****x…it seems you troll the Journal every day just to throw in your silly negative comments for the sake of being a grumpy miserable w****r #getalifejez that is all..

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:28 PM

Get a grip man.

Are you having your period or something?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:31 PM

Dom does have a point in fairness !

Mute White Fang
    Favourite White Fang
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:42 PM

What point is that, Glen?

Jeremy, like all of us on here, is just voicing his opinion. It would be easy to post the exact same comment about you, and it would be just as accurate.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:51 PM

Hey fang in trying to stir the pot here do you mind !!!!!!

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:19 PM

Love the tax take one, when you consider the waste our public officials manage, the inflated salaries of top civil servants, enormous pensions, and losses refund of some private investors it should be even less.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:23 PM

Today Ireland’s tax rate on labour would be slightly higher than that 2011 graph.

However, we have one of the lowest thresholds for upper-rate tax in the EU.

That stat only tells part of the story.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:39 PM

We don’t have the water tax yet and our property tax is still low.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Apr 1st 2014, 7:22 PM

Yes I hate the idea of a property tax on somebody’s home, shelter is not a luxury it’s a basic need and should be treated like education, health or welfare. All policies should make housing a cheap as possible which s good for Ireland inc as lower housing costs equals lower wage demands.
    Yes have a tax on second homes or capital gains tax on buy to let’s they are a asset but a family home is not really an asset. But successive Governments treat them as profit centres.

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Apr 1st 2014, 8:05 PM

“The Government has been compelled to levy taxes which unavoidably hit large sections of the population. The Italian people are disciplined, silent and calm, they work and know that there is a Government which governs, and know, above all, that if this Government hits cruelly certain sections of the Italian people, it does not so out of caprice, but from the supreme necessity of national order.”
    Benito Mussolini

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Apr 1st 2014, 8:47 PM

Andrew, some people live and own tiny one bedroom flats in bad areas. Some people live in luxury mansions in fabulous areas.
    Only taxing second investment properties is just a tax on people who happen to want to invest in property. They already pay income tax on their rental income. That’s not really fair.
    We need investment in housing.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Apr 1st 2014, 9:14 PM

But that is the point of the argument we don’t want shelter to be a profit centre, the idea goes against the grain but if accommodation is cheap it means less stress on income because you have to pay for shelter.
    As for property tax it makes no allowance on the ability to pay or size so a box in a town could be a lot more then something bigger elsewhere that is hardly fair either. It should be quite easy to run a formula which uses income, size and value that would at least fairer. With a 100,000 odd on a waiting list for housing shelter is a crises

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Apr 1st 2014, 9:29 PM

If there’s no income (or profit) to be made from property then no one will invest in property.

Supply and demand. We want supply of housing, don’t we?
    Or do we wanna begrudge people with second properties and tax the sh!t out of them because we’re secretly jealous.

Rents are so bloody high as it is.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Apr 1st 2014, 4:20 PM

NGO’s are a waste of money.

Mute Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Favourite Amphroaí Ó hAipilbí
    Apr 1st 2014, 7:21 PM

Perhaps they can now tweet their salaries, administration costs and success rate. I wager that the populace would find those facts and figures even less credible.

Mute Trevor Beacom
    Favourite Trevor Beacom
    Apr 1st 2014, 8:00 PM

Hmmm id merge a lot of these quangos. Too many high paid secret saleries for my liking

Mute Nelly Bergman
    Favourite Nelly Bergman
    Apr 1st 2014, 5:33 PM

Pandas only exist because of artificial insemination, they aren’t big into natural procreation – doomed. They’ll fade together with nuclear weapons. Is the tweet wondering which ones gonna go first?

Mute Sean O'Keeffe
    Favourite Sean O'Keeffe
    Apr 1st 2014, 8:11 PM

Would the artificial insemination of nuclear weapons help the pandas?

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Apr 2nd 2014, 9:24 AM

So how did pandas exist for the many thousands of years before artificial insemination? What an idiotic statement you make