You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Dr Tony Holohan RollingNews.ie

'Now is the time to move': The Chief Medical Officer explains why these restrictive new measures are essential

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar has announced further restrictions from midnight tonight for a two-week period until Easter Sunday

IRELAND’S CHIEF MEDICAL Officer has said additional measures announced this evening are aimed at suppressing the transmission of Covid-19 in the country in order “to drive it out of the community”. 

This evening, Taoiseach Leo Varadkar announced further restrictions from midnight tonight for a two-week period until Easter Sunday, 12 April. 

Everybody in Ireland has been told to stay at home for two weeks, except essential workers travelling to work and other exceptions.

The announcement comes after a further 302 cases of Covid-19 were confirmed in the Republic of Ireland, bringing the total here to 2,121.

Varadkar said health officials were concerned that more than 50% of the confirmed cases in Ireland involved community transmission and that clusters were developing in places such as nursing homes and residential care settings.

“We believe that now is the time for these further actions,” he said.

Speaking this evening, Chief Medical Officer Dr Tony Holohan said that recent measures adopted over the past two weeks have resulted in a drop in the number of contacts associated with each case of Covid-19 in Ireland. 

“This gives us encouragement that the public is working with us. We’ve also seen that the day-on-day increase in the total number of case has slowed down relative to what we might have expected a few weeks ago,” said Dr Holohan. 

“But this does not tell us the worst is over. It tells us we’re having some early impact,” he said. 

Dr Holohan said he remains concerned that ICU admissions for Covid-19 cases have continued to rise. 

“While we think we’re still at an early point in the course of this disease we think now is the time for us to move, to strengthen the measures further, to try to spend two weeks to really suppress the transmission of this virus as much as is possible,” he explained. 

Earlier today, Varadkar said that the country’s intensive care units (ICU) could reach capacity within a few days but that the health service is making an “unprecedented effort” to increase capacity. 

Data released by the Health Protection Services Centre yesterday showed that as of midnight, Tuesday 24 March, 25% of cases (340) have been hospitalised, and 47 cases have been admitted to ICU. 

Under further measures announced this evening, people who do leave their homes for exercise will be required to stay within a 2km radius.

Shielding or cocooning will also be introduced for all of those over 70 years of age and specific categories of people who are extremely vulnerable to Covid-19. 

All visits to hospitals, residential healthcare settings, or the residential settings and prisons are to cease with specific exceptions, on compassionate grounds

All public transport and passenger travel will be restricted only to essential workers, and people providing essential services.

Dr Holohan said this evening that around 50% of Covid-19 cases in Ireland have no link to explain how a person got the virus. 

“This tells us that the virus is in the community. We think in the early course of this infection, with the support we’ve had from the public, with these additional strengthening measures we can drive the infection out of the community and into households,” said Dr Holohan. 

He went on to urge people who experience symptoms to self-isolate in order to keep the virus “out of the community”. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

117 Comments
    Mute Gerard McAuliffe
    Favourite Gerard McAuliffe
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:16 PM

Necessary at this stage

Mute Mel Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Mel Fitzpatrick
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:18 PM

The time to move was two weeks ago

Mute Emma Dobbyn
    Favourite Emma Dobbyn
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:26 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: where did you do your medical training Mel? Did you specialize in the control of global pandemics?

Mute EdmundOrlando
    Favourite EdmundOrlando
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: Do tell, are you as qualified as the good Dr? If you were in control with all the facts at your hands, would you have waited until now or do you have the same gut instinct as Trump?

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:29 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: I’m going to side with the experts on this one and not urself. Hats off to all involved, from the Dail to the front line worker’s. “Ni neart go cur le cheile”.

Mute Eamonn Roche
    Favourite Eamonn Roche
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:33 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: EXACTLY

Mute Niall Molloy
    Favourite Niall Molloy
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:35 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: Thanks Mel thats a very useful comment

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:44 PM

@Emma Dobbyn: being a medical expert is trumped by being an economics adviser.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:44 PM

@Peter McGlynn: ireland Inc.

Mute Tim Otoole
    Favourite Tim Otoole
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:56 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: if there was work in the bed Mel I’d say you would sleep on the floor, typical shinners comment

Mute Tim Otoole
    Favourite Tim Otoole
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:03 PM

@Peter McGlynn: Peter why are you always against main stream opinions? Do you have the inside scoop on how to fix the Covid 19 nobody knows, I for you need to have a job to pay my bills in “Ireland inc” as you call it! Unfortunately for the government to pay for the social welfare in this country they need tax payers not just tax spongers

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:07 PM

@Tim Otoole: Social or corporate?

Mute Tim Otoole
    Favourite Tim Otoole
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:10 PM

@Daniel Kelly: both!!

Mute Daniel Kelly
    Favourite Daniel Kelly
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:12 PM

@Emma Dobbyn: Have you got a medical qualification to state otherwise?

Mute The Exhibition Guy - Stephan Murtagh
    Favourite The Exhibition Guy - Stephan Murtagh
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:17 PM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: Great to see we have people who are on the journal who know more than the experts. The amount of armchair medics is staggering.

Mute John Condon
    Favourite John Condon
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:25 PM

@Emma Dobbyn: watch yourself here Emma. Lots of medical experts around these parts

Mute Joe Mc
    Favourite Joe Mc
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:28 PM

@The Exhibition Guy – Stephan Murtagh: what degree does harris have. Talk about being brain washed. Any fool could have told you that this was too late. Letting 3000 Italian fans here was idiotic. But yeah, why not blame the bystander that had the right to criticise.

Mute AJ McLaughlin
    Favourite AJ McLaughlin
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:47 AM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: Well said, Mel. In fact, when they cancelled the Ireland v Italy game, was the time to stop flights from Italy, and commence lockdown. Friends it Italy cannot understand why we waited so long.

Mute Frank Mc Caffery
    Favourite Frank Mc Caffery
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:29 AM

@Mel Fitzpatrick: Ah good old Mel.Can you also send me next week euro millions numbers? Only I live in the real world and the money trees don’t seem to be bearing fruit.

Mute Eugene Foley
    Favourite Eugene Foley
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:36 AM

@Emma Dobbyn: do you think all decisions were taken purely on a medical basis? All over the country people were worried about the people coming back from Cheltenham, if it was obvious to them it should have been obvious to experts. That’s of course assuming all decisions were taken on a, welfare of the people stance. It can even be brought back to the Ireland Italy game, and the fact the Italian fans still came over then. What was the expert medical advice then from the control of global paramedics committee.

Mute Eugene Foley
    Favourite Eugene Foley
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:42 AM

@The Exhibition Guy – Stephan Murtagh: what global pandemic experts are you referring too. This is of course assuming that all the experts contributing to the decisions made, came from a medical background. It’s a bit early in the day to start clapping people on the back when we don’t even know where this will end. When was it too soon to act.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Favourite Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:39 AM

@Emma Dobbyn: as much as the good doctor has experience of working on building sites ! Seen his press conference he stuttering and advising it was possible for social distance whilst working on building sites . That was the greatest load of bo##ks I’ve ever heard .

This contagion stays alive on surfaces form hours to days depending on the surface . Public transport was a mass spreader , the doctor was wrong just a mouthpiece for Leo .

This disease knows no boundary’s it’s unpredictable and you should never try predict the unpredictable , you do the unpredictable and the shut down has come too late and the contagion well out of control & watch the number of fatality increase daily ,the old in care homes , the sick , the homeless & the underprivileged . Leo and co have failed and failed us

Mute Chris OB
    Favourite Chris OB
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:28 AM

@Emma Dobbyn: Bull…you dont need to be an expert to see the obvious. This is clearly economics over the people who have and will die during the pandemic. The evidence from Italy was there for all to see.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:27 AM

@Eugene Foley: all the early cases were from Irish people returning from Italy. As for Cheltenham the irish people going to and from. The government doesn’t have the power to stop stupid

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Favourite Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:27 PM

I gave Simon Harris my Number two in the last election. I imagine he got a transfer off me. People were not happy when Wicklow returned him but maybe that tune is changing.

Mute Mark Edwards
    Favourite Mark Edwards
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:30 PM

@Modern Irish Dad: Speaking of maybe’s. Maybe he should have closed the airport’s and ports straight away after the first case reached our Island? Maybe this would have contained the spread in Ireland?

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:32 PM

@Mark Edwards: so who do you think is the right person for the job then?

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Mark Edwards
    Favourite Mark Edwards
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:42 PM

@Modern Irish Dad: I know lots of people who would do a better job than him. He’s been a complete disaster. Seriously you can’t remember several votes on no confidence in him? You can’t remember the cervical check or over run on the children’s hospital to name a few? This is typical Irishness. This could be a great country but people like SH waste so much with their foolishness.

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:43 PM

@Modern Irish Dad: not a time for points scoring. In my opinion he didn’t deserve to be re-elected but he’s still there now and handling this crisis as well as could be expected.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Mark Edwards: Mr Edwards you are correct. Yet he has shown some decorum in the last number of days.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:05 PM

@Aidan: I’m sorry if you thought I was trying to point score. I suppose my declaration of my number 2 vote was rather bold. But I was only trying to make the point that he appears to be doing a good job in regards to the ongoing pandemic. And that people from Wicklow took a lot of slack for putting him back in. He needed a lot of redistributed votes to get over the line.

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:12 PM

@Modern Irish Dad: All he’s doing is acting on the expert medical advice he is given. He then relays that to us and we act accordingly (or most of us do). Great. He can parrot information. Doesn’t mean he or his party should be forgiven for the absolute mess they have made of our health services over the past 8-10yrs.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:21 PM

@Tommy Roche: this is what I don’t understand then. If he is acting on behalf of the experts advice why are so many people giving out about the government only going into lockdown now?

Mute Frank Mc Caffery
    Favourite Frank Mc Caffery

@Modern Irish Dad: Thanks for sharing that MID ??????

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Mar 28th 2020, 4:53 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: They have failed us on so many fronts & it’s not up for debate.The reacted to late for a pandemic virus that knows no boundary’s , that’s unpredictable and now we pay with death . And that’s the bottom line . They failed us they didn’t lead from the front the way leaders do and make big decisions . They made late deceisions that will cost large numbers of our people passing on , and this should not be forgotten . Leo & Simon and Doctor Tony failed us the Irish people as whole .

I want to see the back of this Goverment after this and put a government in that actually works for the people.

Mute Pauline Fedigan
    Favourite Pauline Fedigan
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:28 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: Why????????

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:07 AM

@Seosamh Snr Nolan: Mr Nolan in your opinion then do you believe they are not following a plan that has been discussed with scientific experts from all around the world? Do you think they are that bad?

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:12 AM

@Pauline Fedigan: why did I give him my number 2?

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:15 AM

@Frank Mc Caffery: Hello Frank, not sure I understand what you’re trying to say. Not being rude or anything I just don’t get what mid?????? is. This may be my own fault as I find it hard to keep up with text talk.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:07 AM
    Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:06 AM

@Seosamh Snr Nolan: not sure many in Turkey would agree with some of the points made in this article.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:11 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: Also don’t forget it is a country that people may be fearful of a beheading if they break curfew. Not saying it would happen but it may be on people’s mind. So it’s not just solidarity that might be at play.

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:12 AM

@Modern Irish Dad: though I am sure it is solidarity too.

Mute Rocky Rocks
    Favourite Rocky Rocks
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:51 AM

@Aidan: after all simple Simon did get re-elected…after the 15th count!!! Only in Ireland.

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:29 AM

@Mark Edwards: and what would those isish doctors and nurses coming home to help with do, swim from Canada and Australia?
    The irish government have followed the medical advice every step on this journey yet you know better?

Mute Chris Mc
    Favourite Chris Mc
    Mar 28th 2020, 11:32 AM

@Tommy Roche: or he could do what trump and Boris done and ignored the advice.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:04 PM

@Modern Irish Dad: Saudi Arabia is the most progressive country in the world at this current time ! You can’t comment if it’s only the media you rely on !

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:14 PM

@Seosamh Snr Nolan: I think it’s sad it had to end this way Mr Nolan I was enjoying our back and forward but we are just miles apart now that no good will come from us continuing our conversation. I hope you stay safe and I wish you well.

Mute Paddy Dunne
    Favourite Paddy Dunne
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:49 PM

Well done Leo ye are doing a great job and I’m not a Fine Gael man these are huge decisions that ye have been making ,
    At the start of this people were worried about the few bob they were losing on a holiday and some of them went to northern Italy looking back wasn’t it pathetic,
    All these health care workers doctors and nurses coming home to go to war with a killer wow ,
    Talk about pride in your country I salute ye ,
    Health care workers when this is over need their wages doubled true heroes ,
    Where are all these celebrities in hiding , perspective these people are the role models our kids should be following
    Regards

Mute Toon Army
    Favourite Toon Army
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:00 PM

@Paddy Dunne: what was more pathetic was government allowing flights back from Northern Italy without bothering to take any measures for those coming in.

Mute Ricky Spanish
    Favourite Ricky Spanish
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:06 PM

@Toon Army: If only you were running the country I’m sure things would be just great.

Mute Paddy Dunne
    Favourite Paddy Dunne
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:06 PM

@Toon Army: agreed that was a mistake but I’d be more furious with the people from Italy who came over how many people have they consigned to the grave , I would not like to have that on my conscience, also the parents who allowed their kids to go skiing to northern Italy , knowing that people were dying out there and bringing it home earlier than it should have , they will have to live with these decisions, government can only do so much people have to make decisions too we are not sheep

Mute Eugene Foley
    Favourite Eugene Foley
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:44 AM

@Ricky Spanish: would it be worse? You can wait a few weeks to answer. When the death toll will be clearer.

Mute Seosamh Snr Nolan
    Mar 28th 2020, 5:19 AM

@Paddy Dunne: Hardly

Mute Rocky Rocks
    Favourite Rocky Rocks
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:52 AM

@Paddy Dunne: whoever called us a nation of thick Paddys was right. Unbelievable.

Mute Maggie May
    Favourite Maggie May
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:25 PM

Stay safe and virtual hugs to everyone…its now we have to be there for each other

Mute Random_paddy
    Favourite Random_paddy
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:39 PM

@Damien: give Damien more green thumbs lads, that gave me a laugh

Mute Alison Corcoran
    Favourite Alison Corcoran
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:21 PM

Well why was people not tested as the head of WHO SAID TEST TEST TEST I HAVE FRIENDS AFTER 5 DAYS WAITING FOR TESTS ?

Mute Ciarán Barry
    Favourite Ciarán Barry
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:23 PM

@Alison Corcoran: what?

Mute Ciaran Ferrett
    Favourite Ciaran Ferrett
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:24 PM

@Alison Corcoran: WHAT

Mute Jason Pierce
    Favourite Jason Pierce

@Alison Corcoran: what are you talking about? We are testing 4,500 people per day. They changed they criteria because they were getting poor results actually beyond poor 6% positive. That means 94% of people tested didn’t need to be tested.

Mute johnny onion eye
    Favourite johnny onion eye
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Alison Corcoran: who is giving thumbs up to this

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter

@Alison Corcoran: When ranting, punctuation is your friend. Unless you particularly want to appear to be demented…

Mute Jason Pierce
    Favourite Jason Pierce

@johnny onion eye: I miss the old way where you could thumbs down a comment.

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:35 PM

@Alison Corcoran: STOP SHOUTING!!!

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:42 PM

@Jason Pierce: The Who want extensive testing to map the clusters. They know there’ll loads of negatives, they’ve been very clear about it.

Mute Lapsy Pa
    Favourite Lapsy Pa
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:00 PM

@Jason Pierce: they might have been waiting so long they no longer had it

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:01 PM

@Cormac Laffan: I saw them in the Marquee in 2007, some gig

Mute Nioe
    Favourite Nioe
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:20 AM

@Alison Corcoran: you should be on dublin live. You make journal.ie posters look good !!

Mute Cormac Laffan
    Favourite Cormac Laffan
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:06 AM

@Crocodylus Pontifex: Oops, the WHO. Obviously there’s no negative results with The Who.

Mute Stan Kowalskis
    Favourite Stan Kowalskis
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:24 PM

STAY AT HOME !!!!! Even the joggers and cyclists STAY AT HOME YE MUPPETS.!!!!!!

Mute Mark Walsh
    Favourite Mark Walsh
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Stan Kowalskis: cycling is basically banned. I guarantee you we will still see them out and about the place.

Mute Da Vid
    Favourite Da Vid
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:56 PM

@Mark Walsh: what if you cycle to work?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:26 PM

@Da Vid: are you employed in an essential role????

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:31 PM

@Mark Walsh: no it’s not

Mute Julian D'Arcy
    Favourite Julian D'Arcy
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:19 AM

@Mark Walsh: cycling is not banned Mark

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:33 AM

@Mark Walsh: can both of you not read basic english ? It is perfectly fine to go out and exercise within 2km of your home – but hey don’t let that stop ya having a good whinge – stay safe everyone – but consider maybe taking a break from social media if all ya wana do is have a moan and whinge about who or what you don’t like in the world

Mute Rocky Rocks
    Favourite Rocky Rocks
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:55 AM

@Dave Hammond: Unless yr cycling to essential work wtf is the point of cycling within 2km of yr home?

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:09 AM

It was time 3/4 weeks ago to stop Italian travel
    It was time 2 weeks ago to stop Cheltenham travel or very least enforce and fine or not followed self isolation for returning travellers
    It was time 2 months ago to ban Chinese Iranian and Korean travel

Mute Eileen O'Sullivan
    Favourite Eileen O'Sullivan
    Mar 28th 2020, 3:20 AM

@Sk19: hear hear!

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:08 AM

@Sk19: would you stop harping on about Italy Cheltenham. This was rampant in China, they covered up official figures, poor Italy first open country to deal with it, genie out of bottle at that stage. It was probably already in Ireland in Jan as patient zero in UK thinks he got it then from a ski trip in Austria. NZ are trying a lock down strategy but wolf is outside door and doors and windows are boarded up. You still gotta go outside. Buying time for a vaccine is best hope else 2 years of lock down release lock down cycles while ICU turns over new victims :-(

Mute Frank Discussion
    Favourite Frank Discussion
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:17 PM

I’m moving to skellig Michael nó. Kountz allowed

Mute George Salter
    Favourite George Salter

@Frank Discussion: Offshore island visits banned. Are you a good swimmer?

Mute Lyndsay Rehn
    Favourite Lyndsay Rehn
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:25 AM

Speaking to friends who are frontline in hospitals in Dublin and Cork please please stay home. They are working so hard under extremely difficult conditions. Yes the Government could have moved much more quickly as they knew since Dec but didn’t so we just have to deal with it and do our best. Doctors and nurses are risking their lives for us so the least we can do is simply do as they are asking us to do and STAY HOME

Mute Keith k
    Favourite Keith k
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:53 PM

Can anyone tell me is having asthma considered to put you in the group of vulnerable persons

Mute Paddy Dunne
    Favourite Paddy Dunne
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:01 PM

@Keith k: yes it is a lung issue

Mute Joanna JJ
    Favourite Joanna JJ
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:21 PM

@Keith k: yes

Mute Robc
    Favourite Robc
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:44 PM

@Keith k: severe asthma is on the list of people who should cocoon

Mute Julian D'Arcy
    Favourite Julian D'Arcy
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:21 AM

@Keith k: it depends if you have mild asthma or not. Best to phone your GP

Mute Katherine
    Favourite Katherine
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:41 AM

Tony Holohan doing a fantastic job.

Mute Rocky Rocks
    Favourite Rocky Rocks
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:57 AM

@Katherine: you mean the guy implicated in the cervical cancer and children’s hospital overrun scandals? Should have been sacked years ago. #nointegrity #nocredibility

Mute LD
    Favourite LD
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:25 PM

Right call.

Mute Karllye kripton
    Favourite Karllye kripton

Were is the list ??????

Mute Modern Irish Dad

@Karllye kripton: not being published untill the morning or so I am told

Mute Willie Murphy
    Favourite Willie Murphy
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:36 PM

@Modern Irish Dad: Should be out NOW… People going to work tomorrow, unsure whether they should be or not. Crazy really!!

Mute Modern Irish Dad
    Mar 27th 2020, 10:46 PM

@Willie Murphy: How right you are. gov.ie will put it up in the morning what time exactly, I am not sure.

Mute Jo Grant Fahey
    Favourite Jo Grant Fahey
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:38 AM
    Mute Jo Grant Fahey
    Favourite Jo Grant Fahey
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:39 AM
    Mute Jo Grant Fahey
    Favourite Jo Grant Fahey
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:40 AM
    Mute teddyzigzagbigbag
    Favourite teddyzigzagbigbag
    Mar 27th 2020, 11:02 PM

Can anyone tell me why orthopaedic implant manufacturing is deemed essential? Surely no ortho implant surgery’s are taking place anywhere at the mo? And most likely after this, with the downturn in the economy will not be top of any priority list??

Mute Jo Grant Fahey
    Favourite Jo Grant Fahey
    Mar 28th 2020, 12:38 AM
    Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:04 AM

I wonder how many big companies will consider themselves “essential”. Was talking to a friend a couple hours ago, and he was spitting tacks because he works in a hanger in Shannon and they are staying open because the higher ups have determined that they are an “essential” service even though there is no aircraft in there fit to fly for at least a few weeks

Mute Nioe
    Favourite Nioe
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:23 AM

@Joe_X: supply chain. The key is in the second word, chain. Lots of essential businesses to keep society and hospitals going. Not just the obvious

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:40 AM

@Nioe: I understand that, but it has to be useful link in the chain. In my friend’s case, if I understood him correctly, most of the airlines have parked many of their planes, except the likes of DHL freighters etc. He said the planes where he is would not be in a position to fly for a couple of weeks and the owners have planes parked up that they can use sooner if they needed, so his company is not actually a useful link in the chain. A taxi driver would be a useful link if taking a doctor to the hospital where he works. The taxi driver’s mechanic would then be a useful link as he keeps the car going if needed. But if the mechanic said that the parts for the taxi would not be there for a few days, he is no longer a useful link, unless working on another car that provides a useful link.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:45 AM

@Joe_X: So if that was to happen, the mechanic should stay at home and not work on say the local ice cream man’s van. A lot of big companies might try staying open under the “essential” banner, but if really looked at, are not essential and are really trying to minimize losses.

Mute David Glynn
    Favourite David Glynn

@Joe_X: Need to fix airplanes for step down. For example deflate tyres. GOOGLE it.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 28th 2020, 2:43 AM

@David Glynn: what are u on about?

Mute Frank Flanagan
    Favourite Frank Flanagan
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:33 AM

And the airports STILL open

Mute Sk19
    Favourite Sk19
    Mar 28th 2020, 1:38 AM

@Frank Flanagan: absolute joke
    If we had any border control we would be in a better position
    Who is enforcing the isolation of returning travellers

Mute rockmast
    Favourite rockmast
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:09 AM

The people working in shops on the minimum wage are considered an essential service. These people also deserve a lot more pay if they survive this pandemic.

Mute Carryyourowncanou
    Favourite Carryyourowncanou
    Mar 28th 2020, 9:37 AM

Kbc bank opened as a essential service. Haha the only customers in, are bored people checking their balance.

Mute Marg FitzGerald
    Favourite Marg FitzGerald
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:34 PM

Maybe the time for these moves was before italian fans came in their hundreds to Dublin and gombeens in their thousands went to Cheltenham.

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Mar 28th 2020, 8:59 AM

I hope these experts are right and do not make a bad situation worse

Mute Geniusguy*
    Favourite Geniusguy*
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:36 AM

My mother was in extreme pain for 2 years until she got her hips replaced. If people have to wait 6 months longer in her condition after the dust settles when this is over then yeah I’d say its essential.

Mute Rocky Rocks
    Favourite Rocky Rocks
    Mar 28th 2020, 10:48 AM

Only in Ireland. This guy should have gone after the #cervicalcancerscandal.

Mute Suzanne Bell
    Favourite Suzanne Bell
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:07 AM

Would anyone know, I live in Donabate but my nearest Aldi/Tesco is in swords which is further than the 2km we’re allowed travel, does that mean I can’t go to those shops now?

Mute A Pop Fan's Dream
    Favourite A Pop Fan's Dream
    Mar 28th 2020, 7:24 AM

@Suzanne Bell: The 2km limit applies to people leaving their home for exercise. You are allowed go out to shop for food.