You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Nurses to vote on potential strike action as HSE and Government roll out new promises

The INMO Executive Council said that a fully funded staffing plan is needed to avoid the “catastrophic impact” of last winter.

NURSES ARE SET to vote on the holding of a national ballot on industrial action shortly, after the HSE announced €25 million in funding for 854 additional nurses in acute hospitals across the country. 

While the Irish Nurses and Midwives Organisation (INMO) has welcomed the announcement from the Department of Health, the Assistant Director of Industrial Relations Albert Murphy said that it doesn’t go far enough, and that a fully funded safe staffing plan “underpinned by legislation” is desperately needed. 

Murphy also spoke about nurses not having been paid increases agreed between the union and the HSE under the Momentum Agreement. 

Nurses from the retired section, and student nurses also spoke about how the payroll delays are destroying confidence in the health system. 

Ciarán Freeman, an intern nurse and EMT based in Galway, said that six month delays in staff receiving promised pay increases means that younger staff who may go abroad are losing confidence in “change within the HSE”. 

Emergency motion

In an emergency motion, the INMO executive council proposed that, in the absence of “significant progress”on the implementation of a funded workforce plan, members will “commence a ballot of all members for industrial action in mid-September”. 

While it has not been specified that this will mean strike action, it has not been ruled out. 

“The nature and timing of any action is to be determined by the Executive Council,” the motion reads. 

The motion sets out that the union is pursuing the implementation of legislation that will underpin the existing framework for safe nursing – which shapes policy on surgical, medical and emergency wards – and is also asking for that framework to all nursing and midwifery work locations. 

It further notes that the publication of a fully funded workforce plan has not happened since 2017 despite “numerous meetings”. 

Speaking ahead of the debate today, the new CEO of the HSE Bernard Gloster made a series of commitments on workforce planning. 

Gloster told the crowd of nurses and midwives that the HSE is moving away from the traditional winter plan, as the challenge facing the health service is now “continuous”. 

He further stated that he has asked for all senior managers within the HSE to provide a “plan for management of capacity for the rest of the year, not just for winter”. 

“If that plan means we have to redirect and reprioritise how we use what we have, then so be it,” he said. 

Gloster’s remarks received a round of applause in the room, as did his comments on the HSE being “too top heavy” as an organisation. 

Gloster further told the INMO delegates that he has appointed Dr Geraldine Shaw, Acting Nursing and Midwifery Services Director, as a member of the HSE’s expert review body, and as his advisor on nursing and midwifery. 

In response, INMO General Secretary Phil Ni Sheaghdha said that the appointment of Dr Shaw showed a level of commitment to tackling the issues that he has “inherited”. 

Ni Sheaghdha said that retention of nurses is now crucial, as the union wants to see those graduating in Ireland working in the country as opposed to countries like Australia and Canada.  

She also said that outstanding payroll issues within the HSE need to be resolved immediately. 

“With any ballot, the first question we are going to be asked by members is, what is the point if we won’t get [the increase] for eight months, resolving outstanding pay issues needs to be a priority,” she said. 

Ni Sheaghdha also said that INMO is attending the WRC in order to see an agreement brokered on the HSE’s obligation to look after staff who contracted long covid over the course of the pandemic. 

In conclusion, she told Gloster: “We welcome you, it will be a new dawn.”

However Ni Sheaghdha added that in order to deliver on patient safety, nurses have to be “given a seat at the table,” when it comes to making key decisions on workforce planning. 

Changes to urgent care planning

Speaking to the press at the conference, Gloster said that there needs to be a focus on “urgent care in Ireland throughout the year”. 

He added that the HSE is now focused on developing an urgent care plan “for the rest of this year, right through the summer and into the winter”, he added that he would like to see the plan finalised and “agreed with the Minister by the end of May.”

“By June of this year we want to finalise with Minister Donnelly a three year plan for unscheduled care, to be very clear that is not going to solve all the issues, or take away all of the difficulties,” he added. 

When asked how the HSE is going to recruit the hundreds of additional nurses it is aiming to have in place by the end of the year, Gloster said that the HSE is going to look at both additional domestic training places and recruitment abroad. 

“We know that an increasing number of nurses are being trained outside of Ireland, we welcome them, we have to look after them as well, but as we want to grow the nursing workforce between now and 2041, the imbalance will be too much in terms of our dependency on nurses coming from abroad, so we do need to add to the 2,000 or so a year that we are training in Ireland,” he said. 

Gloster also said that he would like to see more student nurses being guaranteed a permanent job before they graduate in Ireland. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Eanna Forde
    Favourite Eanna Forde
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:39 PM

I don’t see the need of posting this

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:43 PM

@Eanna Forde: the families would have been briefed I’m sure.

Mute Davy McSugarchops
    Favourite Davy McSugarchops

@Eanna Forde: All air accident transcripts when available are released. As upsetting and close to home as this is, it’s no differ than any other air accident investigation. Chilling words by heros.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:45 PM

@Davy McSugarchops: they’re all released. Doesn’t mean it has to be pushed by a website for click bait.

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:59 PM

@Eanna Forde: this is not a proper report. Releasing last words only to drive traffic. Vile on their part

Mute paddy
    Favourite paddy
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:01 PM

@Eanna Forde: it’s sensationalist, reductive and a vile attempt to drive traffic.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:03 PM

@paddy: it inspired me to donate to the coast guards, I’d suggest others do the same

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:33 PM

Eanna, the family and public want the truth not a cover up so this should go public.

Mute Fiona Melrose
    Favourite Fiona Melrose
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:47 PM

@Eanna Forde: Agreed. Sending as a push notification to those with the app also seems tasteless. It’s not breaking news, it’s clickbait

Mute Davy McSugarchops
    Favourite Davy McSugarchops
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:18 PM

@The Throwaway: its a story that’s been in the media for near on a month. Are you telling me if the missing Malaysian airlines plane suddenly turned up that you’d call it “clickbait”. It’s news. Like it or not. And in any country in the world it would be published.

Mute Paul Mc Nulty
    Favourite Paul Mc Nulty
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:45 PM

@Eanna Forde: Public interest.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:13 AM

@Eanna Forde: well that’s your problem so

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Apr 14th 2017, 7:54 AM

@Eanna Forde: I have no problem in releasing the cause of crash but to release the voice recordings is very insensitive to the families of those who lost their loved ones .

Mute David Murphey
    Favourite David Murphey
    Apr 14th 2017, 8:47 AM

@Eanna Forde: well it gives the Looney Left and the Shinnerbots an excuse to criticise the government.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Apr 14th 2017, 8:48 AM

So you would suppress it? It is of public interest or is it not?

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    Apr 14th 2017, 8:59 AM

@David Murphey: Give it a break for once.

Mute Andrew Matheson
    Favourite Andrew Matheson

God love them. Heroes.

Mute Sean Kelly
    Favourite Sean Kelly

Harrowing chilling…

Mute Fr Buzz Cagney
    Favourite Fr Buzz Cagney
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:40 PM

Was it really necessary to release this?

Mute Pat Price
    Favourite Pat Price
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:00 PM

@Fr Buzz Cagney: you seen the headline , did you then click on it , read it , and then write your comment

Mute Fr Buzz Cagney
    Favourite Fr Buzz Cagney
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:19 PM

@Pat Price: Yes Pat. Didn’t know what I was expecting to be honest. Just very sad.

Mute Just Himself
    Favourite Just Himself
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:27 PM

@Fr Buzz Cagney: These kind of reports are standard for the aviation industry, making these reports public is a necessary part of the process of identifying failures and preventing them from happening again

Mute dangermouse
    Favourite dangermouse

Rip ..these people put the life on the line every day

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Favourite John O'Driscoll
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:30 PM

OK now we know. It was a systems failure the crew are faultless. The enhanced ground protection warning system didn’t have the thing that downed them in its terrain database. They did not know that they were proximal to a lump of rock, or a “rock filled cloud” as the old pilot expression has it. They hit it, the smoke in baggage warning went off, and they were gone. Thank God it was over almost instantly.

I heard Capt Dara Fitzpatrick once speaking in one of the best radio interviews with one of the best people I’ve ever heard, about how she regularly flew into darkness and howling wind and rain. I recall sitting in my car listening and wondering how such utter courage was each day found to do what she had to do. I still don’t know. Few of us do. RIP may angels sing them to their rest.

Mute David Cagney
    Favourite David Cagney
    Apr 14th 2017, 10:15 AM

@John O’Driscoll: where were your angels at 13 seconds to go? running other errands perhaps? over worked?

Mute Michelle Ní Dhubhlaíocht
    Favourite Michelle Ní Dhubhlaíocht

Heartbreaking

Mute Paddy O'Brien
    Favourite Paddy O'Brien

:(

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:02 PM

Journal thanks for posting this – it’s very important that the public are informed to the full extent of what the causes to this & other such incidents are. It’s a tragedy, but the full extent has to be told, sooner than later.

Mute Joseph Healy
    Favourite Joseph Healy
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:44 AM

@Jonny:
    Spot on Jonny/ Tired of these self righteous individuals who think they have the right the speak on behalf of the bereaved.

Mute Datuk Don
    Favourite Datuk Don
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:53 AM

@Jonny: agreed

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:41 PM

Why post this article? Seriously, it brings no joy or answer to the family, it doesn’t develop journalism. It’s like sharing a picture of a dead body, just so everyone can look. I honestly don’t know how I could bear to read a family members last words just because it’s good click bait.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:48 PM

@The Throwaway: It’s an official release, get over yourself.

Mute Les Boyd
    Favourite Les Boyd
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:16 PM

@The Throwaway: because it’s of huge interest to the public to know what actually happened to these brave men and women and also it’s damning to say a big bloody lsland and lighthouse weren’t on the the terrain mapping system of a coastguard rescue heli

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:36 PM

@Les Boyd: it is important to know; so why not just wait to publish the actual findings instead of the last words. They make a point of saying this report doesn’t actually state any findings. Like I said, this is the equivalent of pushing a photo of a dead body & going ‘look look!’ Its not sensitive to the deceased, it doesn’t further journalism, & it doesn’t develop the story of what happened. Anyone & everyone could have told you in the final minutes & seconds that there was going to be fear, a likelihood of cursing, & so on. Simply not sensationalising the last words would not have harmed anyone; as it is I find it very difficult to accept that the family members are going ‘such a relief to finally have the terrified words of my daughter/sister in the media’.

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:40 PM

@Jonny: it’s sensationalist click bait taken from an official release. There’s a difference. If your able to see that though is another matter.

Mute Declan O'Brien
    Favourite Declan O'Brien
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:46 PM

@The Throwaway: Because it removes any doubt around pilot error. These brave heros were out doing an extreme job in difficult conditions with what they believed were the best tools. It appears the tools failed them not their training or skill. That’s an important reflection on this crew. RIP

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:58 PM

@The Throwaway:

It brings substantial answers. The effin island wasn’t listed on their maps. Absolutely a reduce helicopter which is expected to fly at low altitudes is this area and at night doesn’t have everything that even peeps out of the water on its maps. People should be criminally charged for this

Mute Joseph Healy
    Favourite Joseph Healy
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:40 AM

@The Throwaway:
    I disagree.While it is harrowing and sobering reading, it is important that the truth is known. There has been so much disrespectful speculation in the las four weeks, it is important that facts are made public.
    To me, what is more nauseating is the sanctimonious self righteousness of some of the posters here who seem to be only interested on jumping on a populist bandwagon and blaming the Journal for doing what any newspaper or news outlet would do

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Apr 14th 2017, 6:50 AM

@Joseph Healy: to be fair, the journal has substantially changed there article from when it was first published last night, when they had only published the last words of the article. It is important to know what happened and to set out the facts, however they can still do that without relying on publishing what the crew said. The same style of reporting as used in the courts would have been better, where the facts are reported without hearing the exact details of how someone pleaded with their life as they were been murdered, or what they said while been raped. Last night the journal published just the final words, and that was wrong. As appears evident by the fact they have massively and substantially changed the content of the article as it is now.

Mute Ken Curran
    Favourite Ken Curran
    Apr 14th 2017, 7:29 AM

@The Throwaway: the Air Acident Investigation Unit published this preliminary report. It is in the public interest its contents are reported. Other media outlets have also reported the findings. Those who disagree with publication should make their views known to the AAIU which released the report.

Mute Nial D
    Favourite Nial D
    Apr 14th 2017, 7:35 AM

@Jonny: d**khead.

Mute Ben Murphy
    Favourite Ben Murphy

Desperate to read and imagine. Heroes every one of them. RIP

Mute Michael O'Brien
    Favourite Michael O'Brien

Extremely sad. Hope the remaining crew are found soon.

Mute Mags
    Favourite Mags

That is heartbreaking to read, wonderful people that came to such a sad end. Cant imagine the fear they felt in those last moments. I hope their families take comfort from the national outpouring of love & respect shown over the past few weeks.

Mute Dick Finger
    Favourite Dick Finger

Who are all these holier than thous coming on here trying to dictate what’s good for the grieving families and the dead’s memory? How do ye know the families won’t take comfort from the fact that the country has been touched by reading those last few words and sharing just a small bit of their grief?

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:34 PM

@Dick Finger: I’m outraged at all the outrage.

Mute Alan Tormey
    Favourite Alan Tormey

Wow that’s heartbreaking stuff

Mute Keith
    Favourite Keith

Jesus Christ….God rest their souls

Mute Amanda Burns
    Favourite Amanda Burns

That actually made me burst into tears

Mute Ronan Gallagher
    Favourite Ronan Gallagher

Ok

Mute Barbara Edwards
    Favourite Barbara Edwards
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:40 AM

@Amanda Burns: me too

Mute Derek.b
    Favourite Derek.b

Trying to put myself in their seat, must have been horrifying, may they rest in peace

Mute Yvonne Nic Gabhann
    Favourite Yvonne Nic Gabhann
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:57 PM

Ciaran is my first cousin and while I can’t speak on behalf of my aunt and uncle or Ciaran’s wife or siblings or any of the rest of my family for that matter, I personally found this headline upsetting. I actually logged on to see what was happening with the bus strikes and I wasn’t expecting to see another headline about R116 as usually my mam rings me if she hears of any developments. Seeing the words “we’re gone” in the headline left me feeling like I had been punched in the stomach. You could have simply reported that the preliminary report was released. There are lots of people who knew and were close to the 4 crew members who are not family too and they probably didn’t expect to see this either.

Mute Gerry Carroll
    Favourite Gerry Carroll
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:32 PM

@Yvonne Nic Gabhann: Yvonne I work at Dublin Airport and am sick at the insensitivity of this information being made public.
    My first thought was what about the families. God rest the brave selfless souls who knew the dangers of the job but did it willingly. You and your family are in my thoughts. God bless them and you all.

Mute Yvonne Nic Gabhann
    Favourite Yvonne Nic Gabhann
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:12 AM

@Gerry Carroll: Thanks Gerry and the same to you and your colleagues too!

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:30 AM

@Yvonne Nic Gabhann:
    I am so so sorry Yvonne, for the insensitivity of the article, it shocked me greatly, I can only imagine how it affected you and families and friends of the victims.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:37 AM

@Yvonne Nic Gabhann: I know it must be very upsetting for you. However, for the rest of us, it is a reminder of how heroic and selfless your cousin and his colleagues were. None of that will bring them back, I know, but they should be remembered for the sacrifices and risks they took to bring others to safety.

Mute danielplainview
    Favourite danielplainview

That’s heartbreaking stuff. Tough to here anyones last words…..

Mute Denise Daly
    Favourite Denise Daly
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:28 PM

@danielplainview: *hear

Mute Ciara Baines
    Favourite Ciara Baines
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:36 PM

@Denise Daly: Pathetic

Mute gary mullen
    Favourite gary mullen

:(

Mute Mairead Feely Traynor
    Favourite Mairead Feely Traynor

God love them

Mute Eoin Mulholland
    Favourite Eoin Mulholland

No need for that

Mute Mark Crowley
    Favourite Mark Crowley
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:44 PM

Horrific to read, may they all rest in peace. I hope the next report will be informing us that the two missing crew members are recovered.

Mute Jonathan Gildea
    Favourite Jonathan Gildea

Such brave people risking their lives to help others. RIP #heros

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Favourite Paraic McDonagh
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:14 PM

@Cozy: It’s not driving down the M50. It’s not like there are streetlights and headlamps. Maybe if the pilot didn’t see something, it couldn’t be seen. Flying at night in bad weather out to sea is ‘IMC night’ conditions, in other words, you are flying solely on instruments (because you see virtually nothing out the windshield) and you have to focus intently on interpreting them. You can’t trust what you think you see outside because optical illusions are 100% guaranteed under those conditions. It takes skill beyond you can imagine to fly like that. The rear crews comms might not have been switched to the pilot at that moment, who knows. All I know, it was nobody’s fault. Nobody set out to give up their lives that night, only to save lives and they were each and all heros. RIP

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:18 PM

@Paraic McDonagh:
    Read the report on RTE, more concise with none of the personal and heartbreaking details on it.

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:41 PM

@Catherine Mc: Thanks Catherine. Now that, I’ve read RTE, I can say the article above is disgraceful. No mention that the lighthouse wasn’t listed in the EGPWS or terrain avoidance databases. How is a pilot supposed to fly IMC with myopic instruments? Poor souls.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:49 PM

@Paraic McDonagh:
    The journal has a strange approach to reporting. I listened to a verbal report on 9 O clock news absolutely no mention of personal detail. Journal may have crossed the line here.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:43 PM

@Catherine Mc: the Indo has much the same. The report is official and there is a link to it if you want to read it. Even what the Journal says leaves a lot of questions but also clears up some. The earlier report of no technical problems must have been under pressure from the helicopter manufacturers.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:50 PM

@lavbeer:
    Cheers, quite possibly true, it just reminded me in a way of attending the inquest of a loved one who died tragically, but would have been held privately, chilling.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:57 PM

@lavbeer:
    I have just read the report on the Indo, certainly presented and reported so much better than on this site.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:00 AM

@Catherine Mc: The Irish Times also have a report up. They add a few key words which add to the unanswered questions. I think anyone wanting to throw comments as fact need to read the full report.

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:04 AM

@lavbeer: The issue I have is that the article here only refers to comms and nothing else. The circumstances are much more complex than what was captured on the voice recorder. Ineffective terrain avoidance, IMC workload, visibility, weather conditions, the shear unexpected presence and height of the lighthouse and numerous other factors are all likely to have contributed. Pilots who fly like this are at the pinnacle of aviation ability in my opinion and there were 2 in the cockpit let’s not forget. Aircraft have an envelope of manoeuvrability and it looks as though it was all too sudden to do anything about it, despite the tragic last second recognition that all was not well.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:09 AM

@lavbeer:
    Yes have also read that report now. I will never again rely on the journal for reliable information.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:28 AM

@Paraic McDonagh: I will only reply to your comment that the article only deals with comms. That is not true. As I said earlier there is a link to the report which neither IT or Indo give.

I haven’t read the report as I am not trained in any aspect of this like list here.

@Catherine the IT queries more than the journal click bait does. No?

Mute Datuk Don
    Favourite Datuk Don
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:58 AM

@Paraic McDonagh: very sad. I wonder if light houses are no use of they can’t be seen

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:43 PM

@lavbeer: I am using the android app and I see no link.

Mute Paraic McDonagh
    Apr 14th 2017, 2:17 PM

@Datuk Don: Very cynical comment. Lighthouse beams are designed and directed to be seen by boats on the surface not by aviators. And I think many people imagine that you fly by sight the same as driving a car at night time but it’s simply not the case. It’s head down scanning of instruments because there is nothing to see out the windshield but blackness.

Mute Dara Mahon
    Favourite Dara Mahon

They hadn’t a hope. Heros

Mute Evan Cunningham
    Favourite Evan Cunningham

Devastating

Mute thomasina butterly
    Favourite thomasina butterly
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:42 PM

I think this is in really bad taste to publish this.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:52 PM

@thomasina butterly: Why? what would you suggest? a cover up . . .

Mute Randal McNally
    Favourite Randal McNally
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:03 PM

@thomasina butterly: I agree. And some of the comments are in even worse taste !

Mute Clodagh Flannery
    Favourite Clodagh Flannery

Very sad. Rip.

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:46 PM

Not the time to post this information, two men are still missing, their family’s are heart broken they don’t need to hear the emotional last words of their loved ones,

Mute Karen
    Favourite Karen

@paddy: I have done, shame on the journal,

Apr 13th 2017, 9:48 PM

@Karen: have you contacted every other media outlet to let them know too ?

Mute Patrick Riordan
    Favourite Patrick Riordan
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:23 PM

Am I the only one who simply cannot get my head around how a rescue helicopter operating off the west coast cannot have blackcock island on its systems, an island very close to one of the main refuelling points for helicopters operating off the west coast (at Blacksod)…I just cannot get my head around how that could be, just incredible and so sad.

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Apr 14th 2017, 11:33 AM

@Patrick Riordan: I given great allowances of consideration for government cut backs. But at some stage they go too far. These untimely deaths bring a few tears but will be not long forgotten because cut backs killed those people. Enda Kenny our Taoiseach and the minister responsible for getting the soft ware. I recall came out after this tragic preventable accident and he told the media , they could not recruit pilots to give cover. He should have told us they cut back on software purchases. A young mother now has left her son behind because of this.

God help us all were all doomed because of cut backs. That young boy left without hims mom will carry this negligence for the rest of his life. Why because we could not spend an extra few euro on software. Crazy.

Mute B Collins
    Favourite B Collins

Terrifying. Hard not to be upset by that. God love them. And their families.

Mute Ben Walshe
    Favourite Ben Walshe

I don’t know anything about Helicopters, but I was talking to a pilot recently and he said – “the only difference between and plane and a helicopter is when a helicopter is about to go down you know about it”. Black box analysis must be a tough job.

Mute bopter
    Favourite bopter
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:05 PM

@Ben Walshe: clearly the person who said that to you wasn’t a helicopter pilot because it’s a load of horse. Or more likely you made it up.

Mute Ben Walshe
    Favourite Ben Walshe
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:30 PM

@bopter: Nope. Pretty sure he knows what he is on about too.

Mute Ben Walshe
    Favourite Ben Walshe
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:31 PM

@bopter: fake profile calling me out too? Wtf is that about

Mute Shane Gubbins
    Favourite Shane Gubbins

How in the name of god is this news? Focus on the report, not their last words. Enough with the sensationalistic rubbish journalism.

Mute Chris O'Sullivan
    Favourite Chris O'Sullivan
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:47 PM

The realisation that they were going down and would most likely be killed must of been awful. They would of known their odds on surviving were slim. Rip to that brave crew

Mute Susie
    Favourite Susie

Such a tragic and sad ending for this crew to what was probably a regular day for them helping to keep people safe. They would have fought hard to keep control, to keep safe so they could go home to their families. May they rest in peace

Mute Patrick j Brady
    Favourite Patrick j Brady

One can only imagine what went wrong.. such a sad loss…. God rest them all

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:54 PM

Is it true that the data for Blackrock wasn’t in the computer navigation system they used?

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc

@sean o’dhubhghaill:
    Yes, that is what RTE is reporting, none of the above details !

Mute Tim Canny
    Favourite Tim Canny
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:35 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: yes

Apr 13th 2017, 9:54 PM

@Catherine Mc: that’s shocking !

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:56 PM

@Suzie Sunshine:
    Yes

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx

Wow, Powerful. RIP

Mute Hugh Chaloner
    Favourite Hugh Chaloner

Sad.

Mute Chris Creagh
    Favourite Chris Creagh

Piece of news I didn’t really want to know, poor family’s

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:12 PM

The island and the lighthouse were not in the terrain database. By the time the rear crew member had visual sight of the island it was too large of an obstacle to avoid. Not having the island and light house in the terrain database was at least the primary contributor to the tragedy. The crew were effectively flying blind on instruments with inadequate obstacle identification. The first step is to ensure that all potential obstacles are immediately included and the next step is to identify why the obstacle was not in the terrain database.

Mute Peter Kelly
    Favourite Peter Kelly

May they rest in peace

Mute Fiona Sheridan Nunan
    Favourite Fiona Sheridan Nunan
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:48 PM

Absolute gutter journalism with no regard or sensitivity to the two remaining missing crew members or their families.Reporting sensational snippets of a report with ‘ more to follow’ is incorrigible. Shame on you but then again would expect nothing less of the journal.ie.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@Fiona Sheridan Nunan: It’s an official release form the AAIU, it will be in all the media outlets not just the journal

Mute winston smith
    Favourite winston smith
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:40 PM

Fiona, grow up, this country has hidden too many horrors over the years behind ‘righteousness’ we all deserve the truth no matter how difficult. Time is the healer in all this

Apr 13th 2017, 9:51 PM

@Fiona Sheridan Nunan: every other news media outlet has reported the exact same thing . .

Mute Tim Thethird O'Hanrahan
    Favourite Tim Thethird O'Hanrahan
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:57 PM

Thumbs down

Mute Philip Kelly
    Favourite Philip Kelly

Think its rather insensitive to have a add for a credit union across this article please remove !!

Mute Vinny Healy
    Favourite Vinny Healy

Absolutely tragic

Mute Colm Clarke
    Favourite Colm Clarke

God love them… must be an awful feeling.

Mute Tim Canny
    Favourite Tim Canny

So sad. Please journal remove ads in the middle of this report. Maybe at finish maybe more appropriate.

Mute Agrippa
    Favourite Agrippa
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:01 PM

Truly heartbreaking, hopefully the remaining crew found soon and brought home to their loved ones. I dont understand what is meant by “smoke in baggage” .

Mute ger power1
    Favourite ger power1
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:56 PM

This is very upsetting reading, , , again RIP crew R116 ,

Mute Derrick O Neill
    Favourite Derrick O Neill
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:55 PM

Why bother posting something like that, i think its a ‘click bait’ post maybe i am being a little bit sensitive due to the fact that i know members of the crew, remember that 2 crew members are still missing, a little bit of ‘savvy’ lads/ladies.

Mute Lorcán Ó Broin
    Favourite Lorcán Ó Broin

No need to send a special alert on the journal app for this story. Grief-vultures is what you are, desperately for clicks. No shame. Disgusting.

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:44 PM

in all honesty why would the journal allow people to comment on this. these are the last words of people whose bravery you can’t understand. at some point some moron is going to make some reference to this being someones fault. leave their legacy alone. utter unconscionable morons.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

@paddy: Don’t be asking for information like this to be censored, if this becomes the norm, the true reasons for these crashes will never be revealed.

Mute David Byrne
    Favourite David Byrne
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:15 PM

@Jonny: we don’t live in Soviet russia. air accident investigations will always be made public. imagine if their families read some of these comments about pilot error. if you open articles about tragic and hugely upsetting accidents like this you are giving a platform for morons to comment. it’s not censorship it’s decency

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Apr 14th 2017, 4:10 PM

@David Byrne: I haven’t seen anyone say that it was the fault of any of the crew members. Have you? The absence of a crucial piece of terrain data that ultimately was responsible for taking the lives of these selfless heroes is certainly somebody’s fault, but that is for the investigation to determine.

That’s makes a for a heart breaking read .. very sad indeed .

Mute Donal Proctor
    Favourite Donal Proctor
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:36 PM

As insensed at this as I am for the Journal in reporting these harrowing last moments. Everyone including myself wanted to know exactly what happened. Now we know. Not nice at all is it. Brings it home the risk these humans take for others and how reliant on technology and machinery we are. Heros

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:31 AM

2 vital pieces of information: The island wasn’t mapped on the crews database & Homing gps beacons were not fitted to the coastguard life jackets – utterly disgraceful & beyond understanding Rip

Mute Warren McAllister
    Favourite Warren McAllister
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:07 PM

No need to report these words, there are families out there still waiting for news of their loved ones.

Mute Trevor Beale
    Favourite Trevor Beale

I must say, that transcript was really tough to read. The people that provide those services really are beyond brave. Those final moments don’t bear thinking.

Mute Diar O Doc
    Favourite Diar O Doc

Those poor souls. RIP.

Mute Derry Seery
    Favourite Derry Seery
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:58 PM

Was it really necessary to put this “article” out as an alert? It’s very insensitive that this just popped up on people’s phones when it’s of absolutely no substance other than to garner morbid clicks.

Mute Gerry Fallon
    Favourite Gerry Fallon

Must have been horrible for them.

Mute Neil Connolly
    Favourite Neil Connolly
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:57 PM

Inclined to agree you should take this down. Publish the preliminary report in full at least.

Mute Catherine Mc
    Favourite Catherine Mc
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:51 PM

RTE has a proper report on their site !

Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:25 PM

@Cozy: I’m an ape for expressing an opinion. They’ve already ruled out mechanical failure. They also know that the helicopter struck the rocks on the Island. Going by the recording just released it sounds like a lot of confusion brought on by a sudden impact with the rocks that obviously the pilots didn’t see..

Mute John O'Driscoll

The pilots could never have seen them all was in total darkness. It was the avionics couldn’t see them, and that is down to a technical lack of data the cause of which lack is as yet unknown but that it appears clear was what killed them.

Mute Richard Costello
    Favourite Richard Costello

Shame on them for distributing the voice recorder evidence at this stage, it takes a long time to piece everything together and to know exactly what happened and the full circumstances of the incident
    Only then, if appropriate should this be made public
    This will give the families and friends of those who died no peace whatsoever

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Apr 14th 2017, 3:39 AM

@Richard Costello: how do you know?

Mute mick scanlan
    Favourite mick scanlan
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:20 PM

So Sad So sad . but True .changes hopefully will be made for it never to happen again . God Bless all of the Crew.

Mute Brian Dillon
    Favourite Brian Dillon

Please take this down!!

Mute Niall Cunneen
    Favourite Niall Cunneen
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:21 PM

It’s chilling to read the last words of these poor people..it puts a lot of life’s trivialities into context..may they rest in peace

Mute Joseph Timmons
    Favourite Joseph Timmons
    Apr 13th 2017, 8:53 PM

So sad :-(

Mute Mary Clarke
    Favourite Mary Clarke

So so sad, 4 hero’s lost , 2 souls still missing.one a son of Ballyfermot.

Mute Tim Fitzgerald
    Favourite Tim Fitzgerald

So sad. :(

Mute Elaine
    Favourite Elaine
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:24 PM

Hard to read..hard to comprehend.. my heart is with them and those left behind x

Mute Annie Dowd
    Favourite Annie Dowd

God rest them so terribly sad for their poor families

Mute Jim
    Favourite Jim
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:03 PM

Heartbreaking read…..RIP.

Mute Teddyzigzagbigbag
    Favourite Teddyzigzagbigbag
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:34 PM

No need for this now. Is the journal now the online version of The Sun?

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix

Not that it matters a fig now but I’ve noticed that all the reports since the accident have never mentioned who was the PIC, pilot in command or commander and who was the co-pilot. I was just wondering why.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:38 PM

Those data should not be revealed until the official findings are made. But whoever it was they hadn’t a hope out there in the storm in a whirlybird with bad avionics. Specifically, a bad terrain database in their ground warning system that didn’t know a lump of ground was in proximity because the map said there wasn’t any ground there.

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    Apr 13th 2017, 11:43 PM

@John O’Driscoll: There was no storm, a bit misty, otherwise good conditions. I just read the report on aaiu.ie. Any way, it was unfamiliar territory for both pilots as they asked each other when was the last time they landed there. That but mainly the missing obstacle hight profile information in their tcaws, that is just unbelievable.

Mute John O'Driscoll
    Apr 14th 2017, 10:14 AM

@Declan Mannix: I know. I was using a bit of a metaphor. But given they were effectively blind thanks to bad data there may as well have been.

Mute grace-ann
    Favourite grace-ann
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:14 PM

There are no words. Heartbreaking. Rest in Peace heroes.

Mute Maurice Quille
    Favourite Maurice Quille
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:48 PM

Grainne ni Aoadh, whilst this may be an official release and serve purpose in certain circles what possible good can it do on a socail media platform. With open commentry. At least journal show some remorse by closing the comments section. There are still missing crew members to be found.
    Consider it out pf a mark of respect.

Mute Jerry Slattery
    Favourite Jerry Slattery
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:12 PM

@Maurice Quille: Sadly Maurice this site works lives and the young Journos on contract to get paid on click bait which you and me have just fallen for …#RaceToTheBottom

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Apr 14th 2017, 4:13 PM

@Maurice Quille: Have you seen any comments on here that were in the slightest bit lacking in respect for the selfless crew members whose lives were lost in this tragedy?

Mute Breda Liston
    Favourite Breda Liston
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:03 PM

Tact would not have gone amiss here…!
    Ar dheis De go raibh a Anamacha

Mute Paul Freeman
    Favourite Paul Freeman
    Apr 14th 2017, 8:59 AM

How was this huge rock obstacle not on the flight database?

Mute Jerry Slattery
    Favourite Jerry Slattery
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:24 PM

I just hope and pray that the families of those on board were given a few days to digest this information before the parasites & vultures in the media were given it for us all to gore over
    May the brave souls who were up in that machine at 2AM Rest In Peace and may those dissecting there last moments rot in hell

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:42 AM

It seems there was confusion between , ` Blackrock` and `Blacksod`, and this is what led to the tragedy.

Mute Y U no spell good?
    Favourite Y U no spell good?
    Apr 14th 2017, 7:35 AM

@Patrick James Walsh: it seems you haven’t read the report or the article. There is no indication anywhere that there was any confusion except in your own mind

Mute Patrick James Walsh
    Favourite Patrick James Walsh
    Apr 14th 2017, 11:13 AM

@Y U no spell good?: Read between the lines, it`s obvious, it will come out.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Apr 14th 2017, 4:18 PM

@Patrick James Walsh: There was no confusion between the two. Read the report. Vital terrain information was missing from the onboard EGPWS. “Honeywell’s selected terrain and obstacle source data do not include Black Rock.”

Mute Lucille Ball
    Favourite Lucille Ball
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:46 PM

Heartbroken

Mute Bill ORourke
    Favourite Bill ORourke
    Apr 14th 2017, 11:16 AM

RIP. The blame game has commenced. Expect a lot of deflection both emotive and commercial. Hopefully the facts will get out in the interest of future coast guarding.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Apr 14th 2017, 4:18 PM

@Bill ORourke: I don’t see any blame game. Do you expect such tragedies to go uninvestigated?

Mute Warmfartrises
    Favourite Warmfartrises

Poor tasteless need for the piss poor click bait hungry immature editorial challenged Journal staff. Harrowing in fact. I hope it was quick and painless is the only intimated comfort that could be garnered from that sensationalist gossip

Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:48 AM

Huge loss to family and country,genuine innocent question but why would you fly so low?Flying over the water in daylight is difficult so why fly low altitude at night?It wasn’t like a military flight off radar.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    Apr 13th 2017, 9:04 PM

Very poor taste.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:32 PM

Sad to read ,why no homing beacons on life jackets ? God help the families hope the remains are recovered of the two crew members .Those that put their lives on the line to save other people must be equipped with the most modern items to help them do their job safely .Should be no question about cutbacks or average equipment .Also i include all the volunteers who give up their time to help others without reward or recognition.

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Apr 14th 2017, 8:46 AM

The headline on the article is completely tasteless. Sensationalist like you’d find in “the sun” or equivalent type of rag. It is an important story, and should be treated with respect. A headline referring to the incomplete map data or some other technical aspect might be more appropriate.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Apr 14th 2017, 3:31 PM

A lighthouse and island not in a database for rescue aircraft!!!!How in this day and age is this even allowed to happen. Heads should roll for the sheer incompetence shown here. This was a tragic waste of life. These people put their lives on the line everyday doing their job. They didn’t have a chance if equipment they were using was not up to speed.

Mute Anthony Byrne
    Favourite Anthony Byrne
    Apr 14th 2017, 8:30 AM

I can’t help asking, was the lighthouse not shining ? If it was, surly it could have been seen from miles away, or at least many hundreds of meters ? If it wasn’t shining, why not ? Listening to the radio this morning, there is much analysis going on, what the status of the lighthouse has been glossed over as simply “operational”. I think this is an important question.

Mute eastsmer #IRExit
    Favourite eastsmer #IRExit
    Apr 14th 2017, 8:46 AM

@Anthony Byrne: If it was it would be a ‘sector light’, shining only in a specified arc which can be seen by vessels at particular co-ordinates.
    If you are out at sea and you check the chart and then see the correct light flash sequence it assures you that you are in the correct position.

Mute Fin~Dublin
    Favourite Fin~Dublin
    Apr 14th 2017, 7:06 PM

The island is 80M elevation asL. Crucial to have that topographic Data on Nautical mapping system. One of major contributing factors to the impact.

Mute wiggy
    Favourite wiggy
    Apr 18th 2017, 9:33 PM

Do pilot error according to transcripts

Mute Rachel Didleu
    Favourite Rachel Didleu
    Apr 14th 2017, 3:25 PM

Sweet Jesus, there is something macarbe about giving pilots maps that delete obstacles that can lead to the planes colliding…..Lily of the Valley give comfort and solace to all concerned.

Mute Teddyzigzagbigbag
    Favourite Teddyzigzagbigbag
    Apr 13th 2017, 10:33 PM

@Cosmo Kramer: are you simple or have you been living under a rock?

Mute Mark Dunne
    Favourite Mark Dunne
    Apr 14th 2017, 5:25 PM

What hasn’t the actual reason for the mission been released? I just hope that whatever “emergency” there was, it genuinely necessitated the mobilisation of a rescue helicopter.

Mute Hugh Chaloner
    Favourite Hugh Chaloner
    Apr 15th 2017, 1:06 AM

@Mark Dunne: it was. They were top cover for a medical emergency.

Mute Maire Ni Fhaolain
    Favourite Maire Ni Fhaolain
    Apr 15th 2017, 12:04 AM

So terribly sad– god help all the families..

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Apr 14th 2017, 1:29 PM
    Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Apr 14th 2017, 12:35 PM

R.I.P.

Mute Niall Concannon
    Favourite Niall Concannon
    Apr 14th 2017, 4:22 PM

For those arguing everyone should be able to read final moments of the crew, there seems confusion with the expression ‘ public interest ‘ . ‘In the public interest’ should by no means be synonymous with ‘whatever interests the public’ .

Hard to argue the actual transcript is something the public need to know.

Mute Silversalmon
    Favourite Silversalmon
    Apr 14th 2017, 3:11 AM

Heroes all – RIP