You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Hands image via Shutterstock

Nursing home owners to start knocking on politicians' doors over 'crisis in care'

Members of Nursing Homes Ireland will lobby TDs, senators and councillors to support the immediate establishment of a forum to discuss challenges in residential care.

NURSING HOME OWNERS will begin to visit every TD, senator and councillor across the country in their own constituencies this week.

Some 360 members of Nursing Homes Ireland (NHI) will push for the politicians to recognise the need for the immediate establishment of a Department of Health-led forum on long-term residential care.

This forum would bring together all of the relevant stakeholders involved in the provision of care for older people. NHI said today that the visits to politicians are part of a national campaign to highlight the “serious issues” facing the provision of private and voluntary nursing home care and the action required to plan ongoing and future long-term care requirements.

The campaign will also involve advertisements, postcards and letters targeted at politicians, key stakeholders and the wider public and aims to  set out the challenges in care delivery and the urgent need to address sector requirements to meet the growing demand.

Commenting today, CEO of NHII Tadhg Daly said the department must bring all of those who play a role in the provision of care around the table to map out the future of nursing home care.

“There is an obligation on all stakeholders to ensure that we plan now to meet the challenge of growing and funding the best possible residential care services for our older people,” he said. “Otherwise, we are going to be catapulted into a crisis in care.”

Daly said we “cannot keep dodging the issue” or it will cause major stress to older people and put the livlihoods of over 22,000 employees at risk.

“The number of older people in Ireland is going to rise dramatically in the years ahead,” he said.

“We need real and meaningful action from government now or there will be significant consequences for employment, for our residential care capacity and most importantly, for our ageing population.”

Read: Nurse accused of setting fire to nursing home pleads guilty to killing 11 people>
Read: “Excessive and problematic” drinking by nursing home residents>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 20th 2018, 7:45 AM

I wouldn’t say it would be that bad but it’s not going to be this utopia that they are reaching for. It’s not going to be pretty in the poorer areas which will lead to more inequality. But it will be grand cos he said so.

Mute Johnnathan Biskalero
    Favourite Johnnathan Biskalero
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:07 AM

European Union is a power grabbing scam…Britain are dead right to be leaving….at least they will still be a country in Ten years…..for us it’s bye bye Ireland…and hello Military and wars fought for the elite…..

Mute Cian Nolan
    Favourite Cian Nolan
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:22 AM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: Your tinfoil hat is slightly wrinkled, you may want to straighten it out there.

Feb 20th 2018, 8:26 AM

@Cian Nolan: Cian stop making a fool out of yourself for God’s sake and read up because you honestly do not have a clue….clueless….a perfect European Citizen…..

See 17 more replies ▾
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:29 AM

@Cian Nolan: Cian you might not remember but we voted FOUR times on two treaties until they get the right answer…and you have the brass cahonies to call me a tin foil hat conspiracy theorist….oh Lord..

Feb 20th 2018, 8:37 AM

@Cian Nolan: Cian is the European Union centralization of power ? Because last time I checked the commission proposed new laws not the people …..Soviet style if u like ….but I am nuts so all just in my imagination…lol…

Mute James Maloney
    Favourite James Maloney
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:54 AM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: All KFC’s closed in Britain yesterday… welcome to Brexit!

Feb 20th 2018, 9:03 AM

@James Maloney: and that’s a bad thing lol….

Mute Michael Hodges
    Favourite Michael Hodges
    Feb 20th 2018, 9:44 AM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: You’re talking about pesco. Permanent Structured Cooperation of EU member states military forces. I’d rather they cooperate with words then kill with weapons.

Mute Barra O Brien
    Favourite Barra O Brien
    Feb 20th 2018, 10:04 AM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: Because the Tories represent the common man… Privatised health care on the way, more deals being done with virgin to privatise railway lines. Tories love big business

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Feb 20th 2018, 11:15 AM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: got any more interesting conspiracy theories? Grow your brain beyond dumb nation state concepts.

Mute Shea Fitzgerald
    Favourite Shea Fitzgerald
    Feb 20th 2018, 12:55 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: I’m sensing a lot of anger here John. Regarding the treaties and the multiple polls, we kept voting no until they got them right for us. The UK people didn’t even get a vote.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 20th 2018, 1:44 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: “They will be a country in 10 years”. Sure they will, but what state will it be in, that is the question. After they leave they will by necessity (if it’s a Hard Brexit) have to trade under WTO rules. And that could be for over a decade while new trade deals are negotiated (they are not done in a few weeks). And in the meantime international companies have packed up and relocated back into the EU with its free market of 450 million. The cost of living will have resen exponentially due the now high cost of necessary imports. UK agriculture will have slumped due to no subsidies keeping farms viable. The UK fishing fleet will take another 30 years (after the decade has passed) to reach pre 50′s size. Sterling will have slumped even lower. But keep the rosey specs on.

Mute Harry Whitehead
    Favourite Harry Whitehead
    Feb 20th 2018, 1:48 PM

@Cian Nolan: No tinfloil here. Just the daily instructions from his troll handler in St Petersburg.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Feb 20th 2018, 1:55 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: Cian isn’t the one blathering rubbish from an anonymous account. Like the account you use so your friends and family don’t know it’s you making a fool of yourself. I’m sure he’s well read enough and that he won’t be convinced by the twitterings of anonymous cowards.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Feb 20th 2018, 1:58 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: Those treaties were substantially altered to our taste and enjoy significant majority support of the Irish people. It’s called democracy and we’re actually quite good at it. I know you may not like the outcome but you’re perfectly entitled to request another referendum if you think you can get the support.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:01 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: The Commission are representatives of the sovereign governments of the Union. If you want your sovereign government’s input changed or diluted you can campaign for that but I think you would lose support of people who want their government to have more direct input. Entertaining isn’t it?

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:13 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: You are on the sauce early today!

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:14 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: I think you might have super triggered this fool,Cian!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 20th 2018, 3:15 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: It appears that you are a prophet and can see into the future where others are baffled by the madness. Ten years is a very long time in politics especially as tories can’t seem to lay out a pllan for next week, never mind the future.

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Feb 20th 2018, 3:21 PM

@Johnnathan Biskalero: If you don’t believe in democracy then you are talking to the wrong people on this forume. We voted four times in two treaties to make things right for Ireland and its people. The UK never put a vote to the people on any of the treaties and ended up in this Brexit mess.

Mute DERRY1973
    Favourite DERRY1973
    Feb 20th 2018, 7:28 AM

2 men enter ,1 man leaves …….

Mute Joseph Devine
    Favourite Joseph Devine
    Feb 20th 2018, 10:53 AM

@DERRY1973: break the deal …. face the wheel

Mute Rui Firmino
    Favourite Rui Firmino
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:02 AM

It will be more like the hunger games

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Feb 20th 2018, 7:27 AM

He’s pulling the wardrobe down on top of himself

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Feb 20th 2018, 11:46 AM

My goodness, sooo much concern from the Irish on here on the UK leaving central government in Brussels. Let’s face it, it’s actually none of your concern, unsolicited and the average UK citizen really doesn’t give a Fiddlers F what you think. Neither do they care about the issues Ireland has/ will have, by remaining _ that’s a decision of yours. Instead of having concerns about UK citizens, should you not be channeling your energies towards your own democratically elected representatives to fix your own current crises ( sorry_issues), many of which have been carried forward from previous governments.

Mute wrong side
    Favourite wrong side
    Feb 20th 2018, 12:21 PM

@wattsed: You shouldn’t use this site as a barometer of Irish opinion. If there is concern for this it’s purely out of self-interest, not for the British. Admittedly though, there is a certain amount of schadenfreude!

Mute Ben Guy
    Favourite Ben Guy
    Feb 20th 2018, 12:23 PM

@wattsed:
    You’re absolutely right pal.
    The vast majority of us have become English hating racists and it’s a national embarrassment of which I am deeply ashamed.
    Please remember, we are not all like the xenophobic anarchists who constantly make ridiculous comments on here. They are contentious trolls who can’t move on… which could help explain why our country is so far behind the modern technological and vibrant world.
    I’m unsure if Brexit was right for you guys but I hope it all works out for you.

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Feb 20th 2018, 12:43 PM

@wrong side: Yes, now I understand. Just to clarify, my comments were thankfully directed only towards the anti UK diatribe on here and elsewhere. Current generations simply don’t understand this pervasive apparent dislike for UK citizens or the hope that in what the we voted for, rightly or wrongly, will have a negative outcome for the people of the UK. It’s distasteful at the least and serves no constructive purpose in modern society.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 20th 2018, 12:51 PM

@wattsed: Actually we are watching in horror as a neighbour drives their economy off a cliff, just to stop a civil war in one political party. And unbelieving that half the population are cheering them on!! You do know that the Emipre is long gone and the Commonwealth countries are no longer beholden to the UK? And that new trade deals can take up to a decade to complete? So from the time the UK leaves the EU to the time that you sign completed trade deals, what happens to the UK economy? Stagnation, depression, recession? Because until then you will be trading under WTO rules.

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:20 PM

@wattsed: Oh,judging by your mutterings,I think you understand very little.Now,best of luck with the Brexit thing,you are going to need it! If only Margaret Thatcher was still alive,she’d know what to do!

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:22 PM

@wattsed: The average UK citizen is too dumb to know nor care what is going on in Ireland nor anywhere else for that matter.Too busy navel gazing,and dreaming of Empire!

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:23 PM

@Ben Guy: I wonder why a lot of Irish hate the British so much? After all,they have done so much for us…..

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:24 PM

@wattsed: Ah look. An anonymous Brexiter casting insults and factually incorrect rubbish about. Imagine that.
    1. It is our concern. It will damage our economy and the political stability enjoyed on both sides of the border for 20 years.
    2. Current Tory Brexit policy is led by the DUP and Fine Gael so it’s only natural we would have an interest.
    Mentioning currency issues probably isn’t wise considering Sterling’s woes, but that’s your call.
    Also, your phone probably has grammar and spellchecking functions – you should give them a spin.
    You have a good day now Wattsed. I hope you and your brethren get what you want.

Mute Ben Guy
    Favourite Ben Guy
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:39 PM

@Seamus Mc Meel:
    Our own country and economy have treated you so well that you decided to move to USA?
    You are a pure embarrassment to the entire Irish race. Please keep your vile comments to yourself.
    On behalf of the nice Irish lads living in Ireland, I profusely apologise to any British offended by this troll.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Feb 20th 2018, 3:09 PM

@Mick Jordan: Just to clarify. The voting public voted to leave the EU not simply because of economic arguments. Yes, we will face challenges and arrive at a point whereby a negotiated compromise will be reached. Not to do so would cause anarchy in a European country, no political leader in the EU would want that, surely. That’s how wars start.
    Yes, the Empire has, thankfully gone, now you need to mature and believe the mindset that created that “Empire” no longer exists in the current generations of UK citizens. Don’t mistake National Pride for anything other than what it is. I’m Scottish, proud of it. I’m British, proud of it. I don’t blame English citizens for what happened at Bannockburn.
    Trade deals at 10 years, nonsense. With whom ? – the EU ?, with the political clout that self serving trade and industry bodies all over the EU have, don’t bet on it.
    Economic depression is the result of a recession and subsequent stagnation only if the first is not corrected. They don’t occur overnight. And we wouldn’t be the first country West of Continental Europe to have had that experience now would we ?

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Feb 20th 2018, 3:15 PM

@Seamus Mc Meel: Too young to remember her. I read the biography at Uni about her profound statement that there is no such thing as a society though. Distasteful that.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Feb 20th 2018, 3:17 PM

@Seamus Mc Meel: Far too profound a statement for me to respond to. Sorry, that may not quite make your day.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 20th 2018, 3:27 PM

@wattsed: A decade for a trade deal is standard. Take deals the US has done with Asian and other Pan American countries . On average 8-10 years and they are the world’s biggest economy. So if the UK is willing to fore go any advantage for their side and will accept all the conditions applied by their new trading partners unconditionally, then yes you can do it much quicker.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Feb 20th 2018, 4:01 PM

@Mick Jordan: Well, we have a go. We give it our best shot. Simple. We control the controllables. That’s life, and that’s what the majority voted, to regain control. If we falter, we’ll turn once again to the IMF for a few quid. We did repay them before.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 20th 2018, 4:13 PM

@wattsed: And this is why we and the rest of the EU are looking at your economic suicide aghast. The Brexit sold to the UK public was a lie, pure and simple. And why hard core Brexiteers are terrified of giving the UK public a second referendum now that they can see what Brexit will actually be.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Feb 20th 2018, 4:43 PM

@Mick Jordan: Well, we agree to disagree. Like Barnier and Davis. But let’s hope the sweeping and at times derogatory comments about “Brits” on this and other sites diminish. They only play in to tabloid media on both sides of the Irish Sea. And yes, it offends.

Mute Róisín Daly
    Favourite Róisín Daly
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:01 PM

@wattsed: what I am worried about the brexit is the Northern Ireland. And i find it interesting that you think that since we (ireland) are stuck in the middle of this divorce you are having with the EU and that we are not to interfere or have an opinion. I would advise you to learn some history (northen ireland history) before you comment on something you know nothing about.

Mute Ben Guy
    Favourite Ben Guy
    Feb 22nd 2018, 11:35 AM

@Róisín Daly:
    You’re a fine example of an ultracrepidarian yourself.
    Now do yourself a favour and go google what that means. Tool

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:32 AM

Can imagine Teresa May grimacing, ala Tina turner, before announcing ‘Jeremy corbyn runs bartertown!!!!

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:28 AM

This is going to be so funny. Can’t wait for the anonymous Brexiters to get on.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 20th 2018, 11:18 AM

The fact that he even thought of that scenario just shows that they are preparing the UK public for hard times ahead. By citing the worst possible and most nightmarish scenario and saying that it won’t be “that” bad, he is basicly accepting that anything else will be much better. They have run the figures, done the analysis and know that it is not going to be pretty. But purely to prevent the breakup of the Conservative Party they are willing drive the UK economy into recession for years if not decades.

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Feb 20th 2018, 7:57 AM

Britain’s very own thunder dome

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Feb 20th 2018, 9:49 AM

@dick dastardly: They can use that white dome in the opening credits of Eastenders…………

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Feb 20th 2018, 11:14 AM

No… as it’s already there. The land of wonga and food banks and charity shops. Vast impoverished council estates. Cctv everywhere and a government that can snoop on every aspect of citizens lives all propped up but 2 trillion of debt supported by a sub standard overpriced housing market.

Mute Ben Guy
    Favourite Ben Guy
    Feb 20th 2018, 11:52 AM

@Marc Power:
    Are you talking about us in Ireland?
    It’s just you mentioned advanced CCTV. That’s far too technical for us

Mute Ruairi Gagarin
    Favourite Ruairi Gagarin
    Feb 20th 2018, 8:35 AM

I expect more of the crazed rant from the German Movie ‘Downfall’, when Prime Minister Rees Mogg realises that Minister Fox has been unable to reach any trade deals.

Mute Larry Doyle
    Favourite Larry Doyle
    Feb 20th 2018, 9:53 AM

@Ruairi Gagarin: ” Why has he not yet sent an envoy to the Persian Empire to negotiate a trade deal involving whelks and saffron?”

Mute David Dineen
    Favourite David Dineen
    Feb 20th 2018, 7:59 AM

It won’t, but there’s enough of a colonial backlash to equal the thinking of britaina rules the world

Mute Pól O'Dochartaigh
    Favourite Pól O'Dochartaigh
    Feb 20th 2018, 9:58 AM

It will be a Utopia to live in , a wonderful place to live for tax dodging Tory millionaires, now for you racists and little Englanders , who think they are equal toryies with your hire leased ford Mondeo and mortgaged semi detached ,I hope it is aslainfu as can be , you voted for it , thinking YOU where taking back control , being rid of Johnny foreigner, you where we’ll conned, as for the rest , the EU is open for refugees and political asylum seekers.

Mute Erich Butler
    Favourite Erich Butler
    Feb 20th 2018, 10:19 AM

What everyone needs to do is just take a deep breath, calm down, and start preparing their bodies for the Thunderdome. That is the new law.
    Devil’s avocado here, I think people should freak the geek out. Withdraw all your money and hide it

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Feb 20th 2018, 11:09 AM

@Erich Butler: Where can I order a crushed Devil’s Avocado toastie?

Mute Gary Casserly
    Favourite Gary Casserly
    Feb 20th 2018, 2:01 PM

That’s like me setting my house on fire and saying ‘it’s not going to be the towering inferno’. Well….no but that’s a stupid point aimed at a certain reader

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Feb 20th 2018, 3:56 PM

@Gary Casserly: And asking your neighbour to set his alight too.

Mute Tony Maher
    Favourite Tony Maher
    Feb 20th 2018, 9:56 AM

O yes. it will!!!!!