You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

'En Marche! Vive La France' - Barack Obama has weighed in on the French election

Obama says he won’t be getting involved in “many elections”.

https://www.facebook.com/EmmanuelMacron/videos/1959113784321198/

FORMER US PRESIDENT Barack Obama has released a video endorsing Emmanuel Macron for the French presidency.

Macron faces Marine Le Pen in Sunday’s run-off vote and today received the significant endorsement of Obama.

Speaking directly to French voters in the video, Obama says he will not be campaigning in “many elections” from here on out but has made an exception in this case.

“I’m not planning to get involved in many elections now that I don’t have to run for office again but the French election is very important to the future of France and the values that we care so much about. Because the success of France matters to the entire world,” Obama says.

I have admired the campaign that Emmanuel Macron has run. He has stood up for liberal values. He put forward a vision for the important role France plays in Europe and around the world.

In a sentence that would seem to be a direct accusation at Le Pen, Obama adds:

He appeals to people’s hopes and not their fears.

Obama concludes the video mentioning the name of Macron’s fledgling ‘En Marche!’ movement.

“En Marche! Vive La France,” Obama says.

It’s not the first time former Rothschild investment banker Macron has used Obama to promote his campaign.

Ahead of the first round of French voting on 23 April, Macron and Obama spoke to each other on the phone and Macron released a video of the conversation.
https://www.facebook.com/EmmanuelMacron/videos/1951062761792967/

Read: Macron tells Marine Le Pen her election would lead to a French ‘civil war’ >

Read: France had a presidential election yesterday…now what happens? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

88 Comments
    Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    May 4th 2017, 2:36 PM

More votes for Le Pen then…

Mute Chris Mansfield
    Favourite Chris Mansfield
    May 4th 2017, 2:42 PM

@canuckandgo: More likely it won’t change anything. Le Pen voters are certainly not going to be swayed and I can’t imagine any Macron voters saying they are going to change their mind purely because Obama backs him. There may be grumbling from Le Pen voters about interference, but they were always voting Le Pen anyway.

Mute Jimbo Jones
    Favourite Jimbo Jones
    May 4th 2017, 3:16 PM

@canuckandgo: if I recall correctly, a decent amount of French people signed a petition for Obama to run in their election.

I don’t think he’s targeting Le Pen voters, it’s more aimed at the 14 odd million people who wish to abstain.

This won’t make a considerable difference but I can’t see how it could hurt Macron. Anyone who would vote Le Pen simply because of this endorsement was probably already going to vote for Le Pen anyway.

Mute Lepanto
    Favourite Lepanto
    May 4th 2017, 3:57 PM

Wait a minute… I thought interfering in foreign elections was only something Russians did.

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    May 4th 2017, 4:09 PM

@Lepanto:

It’s OK when the yanks do it, because like Obama here, they do it with a sugary smile.

Mute canuckandgo
    Favourite canuckandgo
    May 4th 2017, 4:14 PM

Yep, best way to get 14m or so French abstainers is to get an American to try and convince them to vote for you….aye, the French will love that.

Mute Jimbo Jones
    Favourite Jimbo Jones
    May 4th 2017, 6:04 PM

@canuckandgo: literally no one here said that it’s the best way

Mute Big Lee
    Favourite Big Lee
    May 4th 2017, 2:41 PM

Not as opposed to interfering in elections as himself and his party would like us to believe.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    May 4th 2017, 3:33 PM

@Big Lee: Voicing an opinion is not ‘interfering’

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    May 4th 2017, 3:53 PM

@Dave Harris: nonsense, he is interfering in another countries election as he tried to do with Brexit and the polls then went in the opposite direction to his endorsement.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 4th 2017, 4:47 PM

@Paul Fahey: I don’t think you really understand what the issue is. He stated a preference, stood there and said it and left no doubt about where it was coming from, what allegedly happened with Russia is sinister and underhanded. Unless you believe that every article written by anyone that wasn’t American that expressed a preference was interfering with the electoral process

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan

God this all so transparent. We get it. The left doesn’t like her. Let the french decide themselves and shut the fùck up.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 4th 2017, 4:56 PM

@Matty kinevan: did you say the same about Farage speaking before the American election?

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 4:59 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: I didn’t say it but I certainly thought it, yes. Besides, farage is not nearly as well known and wouldn’t have the influence of Obama so it’s not a very good analogy.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 5:01 PM

@Matty kinevan: Also in that instance Trump was using Farage, in this instance, Obama is using Macron. Like I said, not a very good analogy.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 4th 2017, 5:20 PM

@Matty kinevan: how is Obama using Macron? There’s only one of them running for office. Also, it’s a perfect analogy, both retired politicians talking about an election in a different country

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Dave O Keeffe: On the surface the analogy seems fine, it’s the details that make it invalid. Obama is using Macron because he’s like an American rep for Merkel and the Eu at this point. Macron represents the establishment of which Obama, Merkel and Holland are a part. Also as I said, he is vastly more well known than Farage. Trump had to call him Mr Brexit so the yanks would know who he was. It’s simply not the same.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 6:23 PM

@Matty kinevan: *Hollande

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 5th 2017, 2:55 AM

@Matty kinevan: so it’s not a good analogy because Farage is a clown and an alt-right rep instead of a naive liberal? It’s the same thing just on different sides.

Mute Plus Prom
    Favourite Plus Prom
    May 4th 2017, 2:43 PM

Le Pen SKEWERS Macron “A Woman Will Lead France, Me or Mrs. Merkel”

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 2:49 PM

@Plus Prom: That was a very good line alright. She also brought up his accepting an endorsement from a pro sharia islamist group. He spent a lot of the debate squirming and looking flustered. People call her the french trump though in terms of experience… I think macron is more like Trump and her like clinton

Mute Plus Prom
    Favourite Plus Prom
    May 4th 2017, 3:11 PM

@Matty kinevan: she also had another great line – which anyone familiar with Macrons personal life will get – DON’T PLAY GAMES WITH ME, THIS IS NOT A TEACHER-STUDENT RELATIONSHIP

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 3:25 PM

@Plus Prom: She’s pretty sharp alright. I think she’ll win. Not by much, just enough.

Mute Plus Prom
    Favourite Plus Prom
    May 4th 2017, 3:28 PM

@Matty kinevan: Maybe, its (apparently) a big gap to close (if accurate or true) – certainly the riots recently with cops being set on fire have not hurt her case.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 3:41 PM

@Plus Prom: I disregard all polling I’ve seen on this. People can say one thing and think another, brexit, trump, shy tory etc etc. I’m going with my gut. People have a hierarchy of needs. Water, food, comfort, security etc… Most french people have all the basics i.e water, food and shelter. Security is near the top of the list. Macron says just live with the terrorism, le pen says let’s try do something. Most people who are concerned about security will vote le pen. Over 50% of french police have said they’re voting for her. France is in trouble and Macron is too weak to lead, in my opinion.

Mute Eamonn Hughes
    Favourite Eamonn Hughes
    May 4th 2017, 2:47 PM

The Irony of this is lost on the Democrats.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 3:03 PM

@Eamonn Hughes: Imagine the uproar if Putin did a pro le pen commercial. Not necessarily equating Obama and Putin but still…

Mute Lord Clanricarde
    Favourite Lord Clanricarde
    May 4th 2017, 3:29 PM

@Eamonn Hughes: Unbelievable!!..Only hours passed since HRC was complaining of countries interfering with the US elections!

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    May 4th 2017, 4:41 PM

@Matty kinevan: No,he just bankrolled her party.

Mute Big Lee
    Favourite Big Lee
    May 4th 2017, 2:53 PM

“the only thing Macron’s mouth is good for is being Barack Obama’s c–k holster.” – Stephen Colbert

Mute Hakaman
    Favourite Hakaman
    May 4th 2017, 3:36 PM

@Big Lee: Ohhhhh, Lee put that in “Quotes” so that must mean Colbert actually said this …. which you KNOW he didn’t … because it was about Trump’s mouth for Putin, wasn’t it Lee?

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 4th 2017, 8:39 PM

@Big Lee: After the events of the last 2 years in France – terrorism – if the French vote for a Rothschild banker = Merkel’s/U.S. Bank’s kid then…zero sympathy.

Mute The Unknown Souldier
    Favourite The Unknown Souldier
    May 4th 2017, 3:10 PM

The arrogant American, doing his part to ensure the war monger ally France is led by someone who will continue the U.S / E.U friendly agenda. Like most of his potus predecessors, he should be on trial for war crimes, not promoted by media interests as a voice of integrity. The French have a difficult enough choice to make without further interference from the vested interests of the monopoly minority.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 4th 2017, 8:40 PM

@The Unknown Souldier: Libya. Shame on France. Shame on you.

Mute Void bringer
    Favourite Void bringer
    May 4th 2017, 3:32 PM

Where have I seen and heard this before?…Ohh yes Brexit, when you weighed in there too. Keep it up Obama. Let’s hope you can do it for Le pen too.

Mute Dreyfus
    Favourite Dreyfus
    May 4th 2017, 2:42 PM

Not appropriate – given the Democrats are currently bemoaning alleged Russian interference in their electoral process this stinks of hypocrisy

Mute Lean3L
    Favourite Lean3L
    May 4th 2017, 3:42 PM

Russian interference was covert and by means of illegal hacking, how does that compares with an ex-president openly voicing an opinion??

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 3:55 PM

@Lean3L: At least the Russians were trying to be discreet in their propaganda efforts.

Mute Plus Prom
    Favourite Plus Prom
    May 4th 2017, 4:19 PM

@Matty kinevan: the Russians only crime was giving the American public a view into how the Democrats REALLY think……that and hacking….but mainly the other thing.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 4:38 PM

@Plus Prom: I’ve said this before but they were basically calling the Russians tattle tales. They didn’t actually disavow any of the info the Russians gleaned from them. Pathetic

Mute Mark Fields
    Favourite Mark Fields
    May 4th 2017, 4:53 PM

@Dreyfus: Obama had Trump campaign people investigated and publicized it within his own party. He is experienced at interference in elections.

Mute David Cullen
    Favourite David Cullen
    May 4th 2017, 5:46 PM

@Lean3L: only by exposing and hi lighting truths that were to be kept hidden

Mute Government Sachs
    Favourite Government Sachs
    May 4th 2017, 3:20 PM

Macron met his wife when he was 14, problem is she was 34 at the time.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    May 4th 2017, 3:35 PM

@Government Sachs: And?

Mute Government Sachs
    Favourite Government Sachs
    May 4th 2017, 4:10 PM

@Dave Harris: well the whole teacher – student intimate relationship is generally frowned upon.

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 4th 2017, 3:38 PM

Will Obama be moving to Canada when Le Pen wins?

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 3:48 PM

@Jack Cassady: Someone told me that, I don’t know if it was trudeau. Boom boom

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 4th 2017, 3:52 PM

@Matty kinevan:
    Enjoyed your limerick earlier Matty.
    Is it true you’re applying for an Aosdana grant I’d be honoured to second you.

Mute Matty kinevan
    Favourite Matty kinevan
    May 4th 2017, 4:05 PM

@Jack Cassady: Thanks, yours was good too.

Mute Guybrush Threepwood
    Favourite Guybrush Threepwood
    May 4th 2017, 8:48 PM

Pardon me, I think I’ve mistakenly interrupted the Marlowemallow memorial party.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 6th 2017, 10:38 PM
    Mute Big Lee
    Favourite Big Lee
    May 4th 2017, 3:02 PM

Does Barry have a new crush?

“President Obama considered pursuing a homosexual relationship”

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-4470550/President-Obama-considered-pursuing-gay-relationship.html

Mute Johnny Maloney
    Favourite Johnny Maloney
    May 4th 2017, 3:15 PM

@Big Lee: He did with three choir group members, who miraculously all turned up dead in Chicago within a few weeks of each other – not long before it was announced he would run for presidency..Fact..

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    May 4th 2017, 4:44 PM

@Johnny Maloney: Baloney! Show your sources,outside of Shitebart.

Mute Big Lee
    Favourite Big Lee
    May 4th 2017, 5:07 PM

@Seamus Mc Meel: it’s true, Alex Jones did some fantastic investigative reporting on the matter at the time.

Mute Johnny Maloney
    Favourite Johnny Maloney
    May 4th 2017, 7:08 PM

@Seamus Mc Meel: You’te a victim of where u live. U buy into the Liberal rubbish you’re fed there. Not much local commentary on the abuse suffered by that Baltimore Oriels batter this week?

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    May 4th 2017, 3:08 PM

Obama endorsing Macron! Surely the kiss of death.

Mute Aidan O'Leary
    Favourite Aidan O'Leary
    May 4th 2017, 2:40 PM

He looks a little star struck. It really shows his lack of experience and that could be his downfall. I hope he wins but not sure this video makes him look like a strong and powerful leader, which people want.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    May 4th 2017, 2:50 PM

Let’s see how Macron gets on with reducing public spending by €60 billion and cutting public service by 120,000 as he has promised ….Think Le Pen might prefer not to be in power at the moment….Better chance of winning in 5 years….

Mute Johnny Maloney
    Favourite Johnny Maloney

Will he spy on Me Pen too?

Mute Big Lee
    Favourite Big Lee
    May 4th 2017, 3:01 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: ye super nice of them after leaving them to the slaughterhouse for eight years.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    Favourite Francis Mc Carthy
    May 4th 2017, 3:06 PM

@Big Lee: Obama was never the Governor of Chicago.

Mute Lepanto
    Favourite Lepanto
    May 4th 2017, 4:01 PM
    Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 4th 2017, 4:05 PM

@Lepanto:
    400 grand…..no change.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    May 4th 2017, 4:45 PM

@Lepanto: Would you like me to tell you a story about that talk? Don’t care if you don’t as I’m going to tell you anyway ..

Here goes : The firm that has asked Obama to give a speech,it’s building took one of the biggest impacts when the planes struck on 9/11.The CEO of that firm was off that day as he had to take his child to Kindergarden ,and that is why he survived..Afterwards,he gave the victims families 25% of all of their profits for the next 5 years and paid their health insurance for the next 10 years. To this day he still suffers with nightmares..Who knows what Obama will donate this money towards ..Whine,whine,that is all you get from the whine merchants ..

Mute Lepanto
    Favourite Lepanto
    May 4th 2017, 7:08 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy:

Liam, no one takes you seriously, you’re just an Islamo troll, even Clonskeagh don’t take you seriously ffs

Mute Jack Cassady
    Favourite Jack Cassady
    May 4th 2017, 3:53 PM

Democrats always support the gay guy.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    May 4th 2017, 2:52 PM

It was a wonderful gesture of Obama & Michelle to personally donate $2 million dollars to the youth in the city of Chicago.Well done.

Mute Joe Caulfield
    Favourite Joe Caulfield
    May 4th 2017, 4:03 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: What a shocking waste of 2 million dollars.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    May 4th 2017, 4:41 PM

@Joe Caulfield: What an awful thing to say.This money is going towards summer jobs in Chicago,with 1500 jobs being created during the construction of the Obama Presidential centre .Shame on you for being so miserable!

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    May 4th 2017, 5:16 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy:Nice try . He gives $2million yet he will earn $50 million on his autobiography and charges $400,000 per speech for the wall st mob so thats 5 speechs . Its a win win for him and his Chicago base and is seen to be doing something . $2million will be written off for tax reasons . Why no action when he was President Chicago’s murder rate soars 72% in 2016; shootings up more than 88%

https://www.usatoday.com/story/news/2016/04/01/murders-shootings-soar-chicago-through-first-three-months-2016/82507210/

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    May 4th 2017, 5:56 PM

@Robert Preston: Eh? He gives two million of his & Michelle’s money,what part of that are you struggling with ?

He has been asked to give a speech and is getting $400,000 for it,have you heard anything about the firm that has asked him? Has he said what he will do with the money>do you know? What was he supposed to do about the murder rate in Chicago,it was the governors problem.Do your research on the topic or else you will bore me senseless..

Mute Donal O Cofaigh
    Favourite Donal O Cofaigh
    May 4th 2017, 7:04 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: Francis what’s it like up obamas ass

Mute Robert Preston
    Favourite Robert Preston
    May 4th 2017, 7:07 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: Ah… Franny bored with the truth . No but as president he DID nothing for the people of Chicago under his watch over 800 murders last year . Surely as President he has way more power than the governor??? Stop making excuses

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    May 4th 2017, 7:39 PM

@Robert Preston: “He did nothing for the people of Chicago” -Hmmmmm isn’t he the President of AMERICA,yes? Did he invest money in Chicago,yes? You will agree with me in saying that he did not control the purse strings in Congress,yes? The person that needed to ‘clear’ up Chicago would have been the Governor of Illinois,but he would have had to ask Obama for his help…that help would be by sending in the National Guard….but you see Robert,that is all fine and dandy,but one would need a long term plan for the area afterwards..which there is none..And if you think for one second that the Republicans are going to invest in poor,segregated areas,you would be one gullible lad..And,I don’t make excuses,I provide facts..

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 4th 2017, 8:48 PM

@Francis Mc Carthy: He exported the U.S. car manufacturing jobs to slave wage Mexico – NAFTA. Race to the bottom- unemployment en-masse.

Mute Francis Mc Carthy
    May 5th 2017, 7:06 AM

@gregory: take it easy on the out of date kool-aid as it’s supposed to be deadly stuff…..the man ‘saved’ the auto industry in America…and there is currently a 5% unemployment rate…look it up…and what has Obama got to do with NAFTA-you muppet!

Mute Kevin Higgins
    Favourite Kevin Higgins

Stop it Obama, we want to make sure Macron gets in not Le Pen

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant

@Kevin Higgins: *you

Mute Seamus Mc Meel
    Favourite Seamus Mc Meel
    May 4th 2017, 4:46 PM

@Revolting Peasant: We

Mute Plus Prom
    Favourite Plus Prom
    May 4th 2017, 4:47 PM

@Seamus Mc Meel: they

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    May 4th 2017, 8:44 PM

@Kevin Higgins: So the banks continue their hegemony.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 5th 2017, 12:33 AM

@Kevin Higgins: Macron. Let them eat the bread crumbs from my table or cake crumbs lol.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    May 4th 2017, 3:11 PM
    Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    May 4th 2017, 3:48 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: Funny how it doesn’t translate, you’d think that if ever there was a people who could identify with the plight of the ethnic Kekistanis it would be the French.

Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    May 4th 2017, 2:49 PM

The only surprise here is that he got involved at all. He was never going endorse Le Pen. Mind you more than 40,000 citizens did sign a spoof petition for Obama to run for President in France.

May 4th 2017, 6:45 PM

Yanks like to stick their noses into other peoples businesses a lot lately.

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    May 5th 2017, 12:31 AM

The man who made a bill to look after Monsanto, who used drones to kill children in 7 countries, who let the NSA spy on everyone, a man who spun Russian nonsense to NATO countries to sell more arms to them and the man who risked war with Russia to cover Hillary’s rear because people didn’t like her as much as she loved herself…
    And the POTUS who supports a banker to be the leader of France… Are people crazy?