You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

King George III Wikimedia Commons via Wikipedia

'Violent outrages' and 'general humiliations' targeted as thousands of obsolete laws cut

Outdated proclamations, including one from King George III calling for a ‘general fast and humiliation’ are set for the chop as part of an overhaul of the statute book

THOUSANDS OF OBSOLETE regulations and laws are to be cut from the Irish statute book as part of major overhaul.

It’s part of an ongoing programme to cut the dead wood from Irish law and ensure the stock of legislation is simplified.

Amongst the passages destined for the chop is a 1764 proclamation “seeking the apprehension of a Kilkenny-based gang known as the ‘White Boys’”.

The group were convicted of “committing ‘the most violent outrages” only to be freed by an angry mob “while en route to the county gaol”.

Also in the firing line for officials is an order from King George III proclaiming that “‘a general fast and humiliation’ be observed throughout Great Britain and Ireland to celebrate the coming of the Union in 1801, so that his subjects may avoid ‘[God’s] wrath and indignation’ for their sins”.

Announced by Public Expenditure and Reform Minister Brendan Howlin today, the overhaul aims to build on the improved clarity brought by the Statute Law Revision Acts of 2007 and 2012 which reviewed all primary legislation enacted prior to independence and repealed sections which were spent or obsolete.

The ongoing simplification process has been praised by independent observers like the OECD.

Read: A pint in the Stag’s Head listed in top 50 ‘must eat experiences’ >

Read: Samsung to launch smartphone with curved display >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

46 Comments
    Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:24 PM

One would hope that this would see the excision of any reference to “blasphemy” from our Statutes, no matter how much Mr. Ahearne was in love with it. It is a provision just awaiting some extremist to avail of.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:28 PM

That’ll unfortunately require a referendum as Dev put that stupid crime in the constitution and then never defined what it was.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:51 PM

The blasphemy law was put in place by Noel Ahearne during the last administration

Mute Fiona Ryan
    Favourite Fiona Ryan
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:54 PM

Hopefully overhauling the equalities act to remove the religious public bodies right to fire someone for their religion (or lack thereof) and sexuality. If ever there was a backward law its one that technically allows a religious run hospital or school to fire someone for being gay or an atheist. Absurd.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:11 PM

Dermot not Noël I think. And the dope has since admitted it was a mistake.

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:32 PM

Niall…. That’s BLASPHEMOUS!

Mute Tomás O'Loughlin
    Favourite Tomás O'Loughlin
    Sep 25th 2013, 8:30 PM

Was it? Jesus Christ!

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Sep 25th 2013, 8:32 PM

Its hard to beat the brand new law in Sweden that makes it legal to w**k in public.

Mute Pharmyco
    Favourite Pharmyco
    Sep 25th 2013, 8:39 PM

Lol, you said, “hard to beat”.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 25th 2013, 10:35 PM

It’s the Defamation Act, not a ‘blasphemy law’. Blasphemy is a small part of it and the language is so watered down nobody will ever be convicted under it (I hope).

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Sep 25th 2013, 10:57 PM

Where did anyone call it a “blasphemy law”? Try reading the posts. Further the wording as it stands does admit of prosecution, whether or not your learned self thinks it would be successful or not.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 25th 2013, 11:02 PM

Dermot Lane, above, called it ‘the blasphemy law’.

Sep 25th 2013, 4:31 PM

Any chance they could knock that law preventing TD’s being stopped and breathalysed because they are on their way to the Dail?

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:41 PM

In the constitution as well. Broadly, TDs and senators can’t be impeded by police if they’re on the way to the Oireachtas.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:10 PM

Kerry, NONE WHATSOEVER,

Mute Eamonn Connaghan
    Favourite Eamonn Connaghan
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:44 PM

How about getting rid of the law banning the sale of alcohol on good Friday and Christmas Day?

Mute Paul Brophy
    Favourite Paul Brophy
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:50 PM

Because it would lead to violent outrages and general humiliation. #coppers

Mute Mel Finn
    Favourite Mel Finn

The penalty for suicide up until 1964 was death by hanging.i wonder could you appeal for leniency

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Sep 25th 2013, 6:20 PM

So they rehang a poor suicide victim … That’s overdoing it a bit don’t you think

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Sep 25th 2013, 7:14 PM

Yeah. A bit like flogging a dead horse. Hung as a sheep AND a lamb!

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1

Is it still legal to take a dump but not a piss on a public street?

Mute Denise Houlihan
    Favourite Denise Houlihan
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:42 PM

I think you’re allowed to do your wees as long as it’s against the wheel of your carriage.

Mute John Dobermann
    Favourite John Dobermann

It is illegal to take a piss on a public street. My “friend” got done for it.

Mute Scrap Croke Park1
    Favourite Scrap Croke Park1
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:03 PM

@Denise. I’m trying desperately to imagine the anatomical position that would render that possible

@john. My “friend” got away with the former

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:12 PM

I think it’s still legal for pregnant women but I stand open to correction on that.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Sep 25th 2013, 6:36 PM

Beat me too it…

Mute Shirley Boshell
    Favourite Shirley Boshell
    Sep 26th 2013, 1:04 AM

It’s legal to pee in the street if you are a pregnant woman. Can anyone confirm that it is legal to ask for a police mans hat if you are caught short to crap in. I can’t remember where I heard it but it would be interesting to try

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:24 PM

Does this mean that ye can marry yer horse without being hung drawn and quartered?

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim

Well I married mine.

(hi honey)

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:03 PM

Has the ‘Kings Birthday’ been removed as a day off for public servants?

Sep 25th 2013, 4:32 PM

Fair play to the angry mob.

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:57 PM

“A general fast and humiliation”: Troika anyone?

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:27 PM

Fast and humiliation…? The chap really was off his rocker.

Mute YourName
    Favourite YourName
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:04 PM

Say theres a few Clare lads getting fierce excited the ‘obscure’ references to copulating with siblings will be removed from the books.

Mute Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Favourite Joey JoeJoe Shabadoo
    Sep 25th 2013, 5:10 PM

Clare folk have to have a hobby.

Mute Colm McCormack
    Favourite Colm McCormack
    Sep 25th 2013, 4:52 PM

Once I can continue to play games of chance in the town market square I dont mind what they do

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Sep 25th 2013, 7:06 PM

Isn’t fast & humiliation just another way of saying AUSTERITY!
    Not much has changed!

Mute Solbank Sabadell
    Favourite Solbank Sabadell
    Sep 25th 2013, 7:48 PM

There must be something they are tring to take on the sly. Between that and potential loss of sheanad and Supreme Court under their control we might not know it yet but we are doomed slaves and fools for letting the pigs run the farm!!

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 25th 2013, 10:37 PM

I think you can relax: I don’t think the Supreme Court is being abolished any time soon.

Mute a
    Favourite a
    Sep 25th 2013, 6:35 PM

How about laws for victimless ‘crimes’

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Sep 26th 2013, 12:45 AM

Nice one!! The White Boys get away with it! It was worth the wait…

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Sep 25th 2013, 8:01 PM

I wonder what theGuinness Estate Act1883 , is?

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Sep 25th 2013, 8:53 PM

Now I am as well.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Sep 27th 2013, 11:49 AM

We did this in Colorado about 30 years ago and there was an uproar from the clergy about removing adultery from our criminal laws. The Chief Justice said at the hearing, “I know a married man who tried adultery, and he said he couldn’t tell the difference.” It cracked up the proceedings. They left it on the books, but they removed the penalty associated with it, making it non-criminal.
    Blasphemy is what last year’s leaf screams at this year’s bud. All laws associated with it are repugnant to human development. Let the clergy tear their sullied gowns over it while we laugh at their all powerful gods needing the help of the legislature, so they won’t be toppled over by reason and true compassion.

Mute orla
    Favourite orla
    Sep 25th 2013, 7:59 PM

I wonder what the Guinness Estate Act 1883 was.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Sep 26th 2013, 12:17 AM

Have you tried here? http://tinyurl.com/GEA1883