You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE GOVERNMENT HAS been called upon to bring in the mooted alcohol misuse strategy soon – and not delay it further.
That is according to the National Off-Licence Association (NOffLA), whose chairperson, Evelyn Jones, told TheJournal.ie that the sector is “on its knees” and in danger of dying out.
Last week, Primary Care Minister Alex White said that the Cabinet is “close to reaching agreement” on the strategy, which would include a ban on alcohol ads before the 9pm watershed, and minimum pricing.
Independent off-licences
Jones expressed her sadness over the closure of 11 independent off-licences in Dublin, Meath and Kildare, as well as the number of jobs lost in the past eight months.
She said that at least one business “has gone to the wall each month and over 60 jobs have been lost in a relatively short period of time”.
Describing the off-licence sector as “on its knees”, she said that “within a few years [it] will have died out completely”.
NoffLA believes that large multiple retailers “use alcohol as a footfall driver and sell alcohol in an extremely irresponsible manner” and that the government needs to introduce measures to eradicate this practice.
NOffLA expects a further five businesses to close by the end of December 2013 and a further 20-25 are expected to close in 2014.
Independent off-licences held 21.8 per cent of the market share in 2012 but it is estimated that they will hold only 16 per cent market share in 2014, said NoffLA.
Budget 2014
Jones said that independent retailers have had to struggle with the excise increases brought about by Budget 2013. The sector is appealing for no such increases in Budget 2014.
She said that any further increase “will surely sound the death-knell for our sector”.
Speaking to TheJournal.ie, Jones said that this is occurring against a “backdrop of negative press that alcohol has been getting recently” and that NoffLA is asking the government to act on this.
This includes bringing in the promised alcohol misuse strategy, as it “would be a real help to the industry”.
Jones said that the group have been appealing to Finance Minister Michael Noonan not to increase excise on alcohol in Budget 2014. She said they have engaged with the Department of Finance on a ministerial and official level.
“All our members are very anxious about the budget as are all our wholesalers,” she said.
“We just need some action,” she said of the strategy.
The Drinks Industry Group of Ireland (DIGI) has also expressed its concern about the budget, reiterating its call for the Government to reverse the excise increase.
It also wants it to retain the 9 per cent VAT rate for the hospitality sector and to set up a task force to address the “enormous challenges” facing small Irish drinks businesses.
The group also said it believes the Government “has reached a situation of diminishing marginal returns on alcohol taxation, where any increases in rates in the forthcoming Budget will not deliver the expected yields”.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
I see Hugh got his twopence worth in, on the Independence Day on RTE 1 this evening, was he there as a journalist for the Journal, or a spokesman for FG???
Caoimhin- SF were actually at 18%…..but really it’s the downward momentum that I was highlighting. And that was before developments in Greece highlighted the craziness of what passes for SF’s economic “policies”.
NO David Doyle in the SINDO poll they were at 21% , have you not got it upon your wall there ? 21% is more than double the vote Sinn Fein got in the last General Election
On the serious side you have to laugh at FF.. Their afraid SF will hijack the 1916 commeration so they can justify the PIRA campaign.. For starters their former leader was caught gun running for the provos… I think Irish people are more worried with FF trying to hijack the next election and try and make out they didn’t steer the Country into the rocks and then made off in the lifeboats with their golden handshakes and pensions…
Jim O’Callaghan has a brass neck. Barrister /Legal Advisor to #irishwater #siteserv #fiannafail Bertie Ahern Denis O’Bribe and sister to Miriam ‘Sincerely’ O’Callaghan. Back to the old way? NEVER! Congratulation to the very hard working Criona Ni Dhalaigh ……. she will make an excellent Lord Mayor to follow in the footsteps of another excellent Lord Mayor Christy Burke. Stuff the begrudgers! There are good people in every Politicial Party and Criona ni Dhalaigh is one of them
Luckily we live in a free country, one in which I’m quite entitled to give my opinion on someone’s journalism, which although should be objective, sometimes seems to carry a lot of bias. You keep clutching at them straws there…
Why would I go to what is most certainly a paper from a certain perspective. I tend to look at different sources, rather than having a closed mind. You should try it sometime
Maybe he’s saying he’s confident in all although she plays a minor role. Maybe it’s because she is playing a minor role that supernova is confident. Who’s to know. Either way, chill dude. Humble pie for tea maybe?
It’s not just that. she’s well respected, and from what what I’ve heard she’s an astounding councilor. And anyway I’m a blueshirt die hard young fine Gael man.. Haven’t you noticed?
Iv’e said before to you that I’m not a blueshirt or any other shirt. What saddens me is the blind party loyalty that goes on here and elsewhere. It’s party above all else with you all
So by your logic since SF won the most seats on the council, a directly elected SF mayor more than likely would have won that election too. I would say if that did happen you would still be on here giving out. Its great that SF wi hold this post for the commeration. The events of Easter week where ment to free all this island. Only one party since partition have done anything to try and help the Irishmen and Women from been shot off the streets up North.
If it was done by PR, Sinn Féin would never hold a directly elected Dublin Mayor position. They might poll well on the first count, but that’s about it.
By supporting thieves and murderers? Well I believe those men and women died so the like of Gerry McCabe could go to work serving his country and protecting its citizens. They don’t deserve to be in anyway connected to a shower who would support the people who gunned him down and seriously injured his partner.
“seriously injured his partner ” Jane what are you on about, i know you do not like the fact that there now is a Sinn Fein mayor of Derry, Belfast , Cork and Dublin but steady on a bit, or do you just think domes
Poor Jane, if that is your name bringing domestic violence into making your argument now how noble and concerned you are showing yourself to be
@Caoimhin – so are you stating that you support the murder of Jerry McCabe? I couldn’t care less about the English titles your party covet, but I will never reconcile with the classic atonement of your ironically anti-british brigade.
Detective Ben O’Sullivan, Gerry McCabes partner was also shot and seriously injured by those thugs your party tried to have released from jail. You seem to find this amusing. You make me sick.
Yes I did. These thugs were convicted after that agreement was signed and the government of the day that negotiated the agreement said it didn’t cover them. They shot a man in cold blood who was doing his job. These weren’t lads out defending Ireland from the English or anyone else, they were thieves robbing a bank.
Det Sergeant Gerry McCabe was one of over 3500 victims of the conflict & all that it brought – no more a victim than my Uncle or anyone else who lost there lives. May they all rest in peace & let peace be the prize for decades of division.
Malachi I don’t know the circumstance of your uncles death but I am sorry for your loss. Detective Gerry McCabe was shot dead in the street by thugs robbing a bank. He was not a victim of conflict, he was a victim of greed and lawlessness. Det Gerry McCabe is a hero in my eyes. He was out doing his job protecting society from those who don’t believe the law applies to them. He was the one serving his country with honour, don’t even dare to make out they killed him because of a struggle to free Ireland.
Their release, despite what Ahern & Michael McDowell claimed, was demanded by the Good Friday Agreement. It doesn’t matter in the slightest that they were convicted after the Agreement was signed. People to this day are being convicted of offences carried out before the Agreement and, under the terms of the Agreement, must be released early. A quick google will give you a list of news reports as long as your arm of people in such circumstances.
The Irish Government claimed it was negotiated otherwise for the Castlereagh prisoners without once providing any hard written evidence to back up that assertion. There was no footnote about the Castlereagh Prisoners in the Agreement. You can’t pick and choose which eligible prisoners should be released. The Irish government’s refusal to release the prisoners was, quite simply, totally contrary to the agreed terms of the GFA. I’m not condoning what happened in the slightest, but just stating that you cannot pick and choose which parts of the Agreement (which you voted for) that you’d like to cherry pick out and not see implemented as the Agreement demands. That’s not how it works.
Odd that you claim Garda McCabe was your hero yet you can’t as much as spell his name correctly. FYI, it’s ‘Jerry’, not ‘Gerry’.
Funny that the high court who went over the agreement in detail didn’t seem to agree with your interpretation.
I said Det. McCabe was a hero not my hero. He was protecting money, all of our money from thieves. In any decent persons eyes he is a hero.
Jane notice that little personal attack at the end by Tír Eoghain Gael.
Typical SF, they always make an attempt to ridicule, smear or embarrass you, to shut you up.
“Funny that the high court who went over the agreement in detail didn’t seem to agree with your interpretation.”
It did. After it’s judgement was based on a factual error where it believed no precedence in the 26 counties for prisoners convicted following the signing of the Good Friday agreement being released early. However this was not the case. For example John Carolan from County Cavan was convicted in in 2000 (more than two years after the agreement was signed) of possession of firearms before the GFA (almost two years after the killing of Garda McCabe). He was sentenced to four years imprisonment and released seven weeks later under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement.
Padraig Steenson was convicted by the Special Criminal Court in 2000 of having possession of semtex explosives, incendiary devices, bomb parts in 1997 (a year before the GFA). He was sentenced in 2000 to seven years imprisonment and released within two months under the terms of the Good Friday Agreement.
The Court was invited to reverse it’s decision considering it’s verdict centered on an argument which turned out to be false and it refused to do so. The refusal to grant early release ran totally contrary to the plain black & white text of the Agreement for no other reason that it suited Ahern to use them as political leverage/pawns.
“Det Gerry McCabe is a hero in my eyes”. Doesn’t that mean he is your hero too? No? Fair enough.
“They shot dead a Guard on duty. There was no precedence.”
Not to sound cold but Jane, and I know the people of the 26 counties, given a chance regularly elevate Jean McConville and Jerry McCabe right to the top of a clearly defined hierarchy of victims (though I’d safely say most in the 26 counties would genuinely struggle to name two more victims of the 40 year conflict, and would certainly struggle to name two victims of the British state forces throughout), the reality you have to accept is that the GFA doesn’t differentiate between victims. It doesn’t outline a hierarchy of victims.
” I don’t know how anyone could think they should have been released early.”
It’s not rocket science. They should have been released early because 83% of the people of Ireland (including yourself) voted for an Agreement which granted them the right to early release. Like I say, you cannot cherry pick out the part of the Agreement that you don’t like. If you voted for the Agreement, you voted for it in it’s entirety.
You can get emotional and angry about it all you want but it was still a paramilitary action carried out before the GFA and as such comes under the terms of early release as voted for by yourself and most of the people of Ireland. Like it or not, you voted for it.
Well then why weren’t they released? Seems strange to me. These thugs should never have seen the outside again. Killing a Guard on duty should mean life in prison, no excuses and no trying to use a peace process to worm your way out. It’s disgusting.
It was not a sanctioned paramilitary/terrorist act, it was a brutal crime committed individually outside of paramilitary “orders”. The individual should still be in prison.
“Well then why weren’t they released?”
Because the High Court made a decision based on misleading information, as I already outlined.
“These thugs should never have seen the outside again. Killing a Guard on duty should mean life in prison, no excuses and no trying to use a peace process to worm your way out. It’s disgusting.”
Should’a, could’a, would’a. Changes nothing. Fact remains that you and the people of Ireland voted for the GFA. You can’t pick and choose what bits you can keep and what you can change.
OK then bearing in mind that the High Court’s judgement was based on incorrect information, you will have no problem quoting the GFA’s section outlining why these prisoners were inelligable for early release. Stick it up here for us to read.
I’m not a high court judge and as I said earlier they did go through it in detail so I’m going to go with them.
This is all aside to the fact that an innocent man going about his days work was gunned down by thugs and SF campaigned for the killers release. Shame on them.
They campaigned for their release because, like it or not, you along with the overwhelming majority of the Irish people voted for their release. I’m not asking you for the High Courts ruling in detail since it transpired afterwards that it was a ruling based on incorrect information so it is of no consequence. You are claiming the GFA doesn’t cover their early release. I’m asking you to post up the line from the GFA to prove this claim. You argument would be watertight if you just put up the line from the Agreement to back it up so why don’t you?
Because they refused to allow an appeal without stating a reason so you can’t really “go with the High Court” since they have no judgement based on facts to “go with”. All that remains therefor is for you to simply quote what part of the GFA that marks them down as inelligible for early release. I’m waiting…
According to you it wasn’t based on facts. As I have said over and over I haven’t studied the agreement but the high court judges did. You can keep asking I’ll keep giving the same answer.
You feel the need to keep reminding me, I know I don’t like SF, I haven’t forgotten. You were fairly select yourself on the questions you answered last night so maybe sort yourself out before ranting about me. I answered the question repeatedly. If you can’t understand my answer well I can’t help that.
I don’t know why the bitter loyalist here is so upset,Easter 1916 and the Zulu wars are the only events in British milliitary history that the Orange order and uvf/uda don’t pound the roads all Summer long commentating.
What’s buggibg me is it seems to me the only people trying to wreck our commemoration is ff etc.. they are trying to put a negative tag on it by not supporting sf and their mayor and wishing her well and helping out. We are all Irish and SF have as much right as next to be in the position they are in.
Best of luck Criona and SF. I would say dream come true for Gerry to be apart of all of Ireland and to be serving TD in his country especially with 2016 coming around.
Embarrassing, disconcerting, shameful, incommodious, mortifying, unseemly, distressing, disturbing. I just cannot find the right word to fit this catastrophic event.
Actually, In The Name Of…….I wouldn’t care if they had a Polish or a Nigerian name as long as they were good in the position as Lord Mayor but I wouldn’t be looking for trivial stuff like name pronunciation to try to knock them down before they even start.
catastrophic event i think you need to calm down have a wee cup of tea and collect yourself. don’t be drinking the bitter orange stuff we all know what that does to you.
I have a problem with people being shot because they disagree with my political viewpoint.
In the absence of that, I haver a problem with cowards that can’t state it.
You’ve a problem with people being shot yet you’ve no problem with making what I hope was a joke in regards to increasing our suicide rates. Your moral compass seems to be a tad off, but then that’s not a shock to anyone
A party that wants to protect the most marginalised in this country? Madness alright. I was born in 1991, so unfortunately you can’t tar me which that brush that you’d like to…
JOC thinks his stunt to hijack proceedings for publicity will give him a PR boost, a slimy sneaky political stunt that is all to typical of the FF party.
Pahahahahahahahahahahahaha…………………we will have a right bit of craic with the Journals pet bitter loyalist for the rest of this year,next year and probably part of 2017
Great news for Dublin. We should al be proud to have a member of a progressive party in the Mansion House.
The men and women who fought for our freedom in 1916 deserve to have a true republican as Mayor of Dublin standing outside the GPO representing all of us at centenary celebrations.
However, we will have nothing to celebrate if the Irish are stupid enough to elect a Fianna Fail and/or Fine Gael government. 1916 was a fight for equality. Sinn Fein can bring equality with prosperity for all. Respect our Mayor, respect our city, respect our republican tradition and respect our country and vote Sinn Féin.
they should really call themselves ‘Sinn Fein 2.0′ or ‘Sinn Fein Re-imagined’ if they were being honest about their founding in the 1970s, but taking on the name as a sort of homage to a party that existed 45 years before that.
Alan you are very misguided. Do you know SF send out emails to their members( like if you were) for jobs that are available in their party? They don’t do jobs for the boys. That’s fg ff labs.
@ fuve Anyone who criticises or disagrees with the SF brigade is misguided.The possibility of one of ye ever having an individual thought is almost zero.Ye jump .sit and roll over for your masters like the institutionalised persons ye are in general.Hiding behind stupid names and ridiculous avatars.I do not know why I bother…..carry on….I like a good laugh….Lord knows SF are not short of providing them…..
Nobody took cash. Don’t be overly quick to jump to conclusions. God knows if you did your research you could find out, rather than riding on the back of the odd journal article
Ye I agree it is a slight bit weird, mind you the person at the centre of all this said the party couldn’t have handled it better and were very helpful and quick to act
I would wager that there may be a slight difference in the number of members who the Journal.ie state have resigned and the number of actual written resignations, but sur Jane as you say yourself ” I just dont like Sinn Fein” so your concern is touching
No Caoimhin I don’t like political parties who support the murderers of Detective McCabe. Your party leader actively campaigned for their release. Shame on him and shame on you.
Great news for Dublin. We should all be proud to have a member of a progressive party in the Mansion House.
The men and women who fought for our freedom in 1916 deserve to have a true republican as Mayor of Dublin standing outside the GPO representing all of us at centenary celebrations.
However, we will have nothing to celebrate if the Irish are stupid enough to elect a Fianna Fail and/or Fine Gael government. 1916 was a fight for equality. Sinn Fein can bring equality with prosperity for all. Respect our Mayor, respect our city, respect our republican tradition and respect our country and vote Sinn Féin.
Another step down the slippy slope. Maragret Thatcher once said “The problem with socialism is that you eventually run out of other peoples money”. The Greeks are now discovering this. SF would have us in the same boat.
Really Tony………Socialists and other peoples money? …..the capitalists are having a fine time plugging the holes in their poor financial decisions with other peoples money. At least be balanced with your thinking.
maggie thatcher the embodiment of humanity. when trying to insult people don’t use quotes from a woman who would of give oliver cromwell a run for his money.
Haha the sour losers, they sound like the Brazil manager who called the cup worthless straight after they got knocked out, and as for that despicable little runt Mannix and his disgraceful comments afterwards, he is a sore loser as well.
I love the idea of a mayor to represent the people, personify the pride of Dublin – stand as a beacon of light against our miserable history of conflict and backward thinking. Someone that abhors murder and criminality. Unfortunately, we didn’t get that. We have what’s it’s face
Can we not just fast forward to 2017. My head hurts. Not looking forward to Easter 2016 and all the Political Parties trying to outdo each other for importance before the General Election. Already ruined.
Poor “RICH” Fianna Fáil Councillor Jim O’Callaghan is very upset over Sinn Féin’s Criona Ni Dhalaigh getting the Lord Mayor of Dublin. I’m sure his good friend Denis O’Brien can get him a gold chain to go around his tick neck. Congratulations to Lord Mayor Criona Ni Dhalaigh and to Sinn Féin.
ah well – I suppose it was too much to hope for that we wouldn’t have a terrorist sympathiser at the forefront for the commemoration. With any luck, Tunisia may be forgotten by the time this comes around.
We will be force fed Irish, and it may even be better as their English speaking is embarressing it is so bad. Going out to a world audience it is cringe worthy.
Laughable! You do realize there are countries inspired by the events of 1916. So the idea of the celebrations going out to a world audience “cringe worthy” is just your deluded opinion.
you realise that the people that participate in 1916 were ordered to stand down and as a result, actually were traitors? Perhaps you should read up on your history…
Very little to celebrate from 1916. A couple of hundred”Fenians” acting against democrats of the time.
By the way, best of luck to the new Dublin mayor. FF are as likely to be against her gender than her political badge.
Thousands of rental properties in Dublin found in breach of minimum housing standards
32 mins ago
Israel and Hezbollah ceasefire
Israeli military begins withdrawing from Lebanon hours before ceasefire deadline
55 mins ago
Fatal Stabbing
Gardaí make third arrest in connection with fatal stabbing on South Anne Street as victim named
Updated
1 hr ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 148 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 102 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 133 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 103 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 75 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 74 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 36 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 32 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 124 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 59 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 72 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 79 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 42 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 24 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 82 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 65 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 48 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 81 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 60 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say