You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí raid suspected shebeen in Offaly

A number of people were found drinking today on the premises in Edenderry.

Ewx36ZrXIAgBimp An Garda Síochána An Garda Síochána

GARDAÍ HAVE RAIDED another suspected shebeen – this time in Offaly. 

As part of Operation Navigation, the gardaí today searched a private premises in Edenderry.

The search came on the back of alleged breaches of liquor licencing legislation.

At the scene, gardaí found a number of people consuming alcohol. 

They will be issued with fixed penalty notices for an alleged breach of Regulation 4 of the Health Act, 1947 Regulations – Restriction on the Movement of Persons.

Ewx3-zcWQAIVGoS An Garda Síochána An Garda Síochána

A significant amount of alcohol, including six beer kegs, were seized during the operation. 

Investigations remain ongoing, and gardaí said a file will be prepared for the DPP. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

87 Comments
    Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:17 PM

Stop publishing these ridiculous stories as if they are national headline news, a few mates having a few beers in a shed, these are not national headlines and the fact that the journal thinks they are is very worrying about how far this covid thing has corrupted everyone’s minds.

Mute Colm Byrne
    Favourite Colm Byrne
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:47 PM

@Hugo Bugo: We’re a nation full of curtain twitchers.
    Some secretly delight in the lockdown so they can show just how good and compliant they are and give out about how many people they seen out walking when they went for a walk during the lockdown.
    Stories like these just provide them with something else to give out about

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:47 PM

@Hugo Bugo: Someone is driving this garbage, and I’d love to know who…. 300 at a funeral, nothing done. Looks like about 6 people having a sneaky pint in a home bar …. Embarrassing carry-on by the authorities, as usual.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:50 PM

@Hugo Bugo: Six kegs!!!! …. A few beers with mates in a shed… Does NOT make!!!! Fair dues to the Gardai, it’s selfishness like this that keeps knocking back the end of lockdown for the majority who are following the rules.

Mute Paul Mcnevin
    Favourite Paul Mcnevin
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:53 PM

@Hugo Bugo: Who says they are national headlines?

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:02 PM

@Jerriko17: Not the lack of quarantine? Not the fact that just about anybodies job can now be deemed essential so they can travel to the office?
    Not the stalling of a vaccine program which arguably should not have been stalled?

No? Lads drinking coors it is so.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:03 PM

@Paul Mcnevin: Considering The Journal can be accessed from anywhere in the world you could argue they are international headlines.

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:04 PM

@Jerriko17: C’mon stop with the drama …. Going by the photos, you couldn’t swing your mickey in that tiny set-up. Six taps = six kegs …. Do you know how a bar works …? Also, going by the CSI photographic evidence, there looks to have been 6 or 7 people there …. Big deal.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:24 PM

@Paul Mcnevin: Well I think this is the journal.ie and not the offaly independent. This story isn’t even worthy of the offaly independent even on a slow news week

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:27 PM

@Martin Galvin: @Martin Galvin: @Martin Galvin: Lots of small rural pubs wouldn’t have a setup much bigger than that….. I suppose they’re all from the same family too!!! You’re right, though, not much room to swing anything in there making it even more conducive to spreading the virus!!!!

Mute Gavin Mckenna
    Favourite Gavin Mckenna
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:42 PM

@Martin Galvin: Between the traveller funeral and now a recent one of their weddings, barely a word or fine given by Gardai, but a drink in a fancy garden shed is where the focus is, again. Not to mention today NPHET saying new variations have slowly increased in the last few week and almost all are related to….travel into our country. Shock horror, a full year on and still the elephant in the room, still our achillies heal, but yeah, shed bars our real problem.

Mute Keith O'Reilly
    Favourite Keith O'Reilly
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:44 PM

@Colm Byrne: I’m sick of that attitude. Nobody is ‘delighted’ about lockdown. For people who are always on about mental health, the likes of you always belittle those who are worried/anxious about COVID.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:58 PM

@JedBartlett: All of the above!!!!!!….. Each one giving the license to someone else to break the rules!!

Mute Colm Byrne
    Favourite Colm Byrne
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:59 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: I’m sick of the attitude that we should all put our lives on hold indefinitely as some are worried.
    Not only will we have the strictest and longest lockdown in Europe, that lockdown seems to have more cheerleaders that elsewhere.

We’ll see what kind of a country we’ve left ourselves with when this is all over

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:13 PM

@Colm Byrne: Our lives are not “on hold” because some are worried!!!!!!…. They’re on hold because there’s a deadly virus in our midst. More cheerleaders than elsewhere?… Where did you dream that one up? The only thing prolonging the lockdown is those not following the rules.

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:41 PM

@Jerriko17: I feel so sorry for you if you genuinely believe that, so the virus can’t be spreading by hundreds of people working together in factories up and down the country, it can’t be spreading in schools or supermarkets, only by a handful of lads having a few beers together in a shed, God love u.

Mute Nigel o'Neill
    Favourite Nigel o'Neill
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:46 PM

@Hugo Bugo: here here!!!! What a load of codswallop… Divide and conquer again..

Mute Tom Leddy
    Favourite Tom Leddy
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:55 PM

@Keith O’Reilly: Do you mind if I ask you, have you been in full time employment throughout lockdown?

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Mar 18th 2021, 11:12 PM

@Hugo Bugo: In case you can’t read!!!!!! This article is about an illegal sheebeen….. Not about schools, supermarkets, workplaces or factories…. all are legal but have the potential to cause spread of covid. That’s why the schools have been closed, people are working from home, restrictions apply in supermarkets. Pubs, restaurants, churches…. ie ENCLOSED spaces where people gather are lethal for the spread of the virus….. Just like this sheebeen. I feel sorry for you if you think breaking the guidelines AND THE LAW is OK!!!!

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Mar 18th 2021, 11:41 PM

@Jerriko17: 1 person agrees with you, im sorry but the people have had enough of this. Don’t feel sorry for me at all, I’m very comfortable with my choices and decisions regarding covid 19. I understand some of u would tolerate these draconian laws and stay locked up for another 5 years if this government asked u to but most of us want to get our lives back and as for the “breaking THE LAW”, I’m sorry to disappoint u but these covid laws won’t be around much longer, the people of this country won’t tolerate it, POWER TO THE PEOPLE.

Mute Colm Byrne
    Favourite Colm Byrne
    Mar 19th 2021, 1:05 AM

@Joe_X: manslaughter? People are really starting to lose their minds :)

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 19th 2021, 1:17 AM

@Colm Byrne: say that to the families of the 4500+ people who have died so far due to this virus! How many needlessly caught it as a result of the narrative being put out by hugo bugo and their like? So yes, manslaughter!

Mute Hugo Bugo
    Favourite Hugo Bugo
    Mar 19th 2021, 2:46 AM

@Joe_X: wow Joe, that’s some rant. Please feel free to list the restrictions I’ve broken personally, a few people who live 100s of kilometres away from me who I don’t know from Adam decide to have a few beers and I’m personally responsible for manslaughter, that’s some reach, not sure that would hold up in court, the 1000s around the country the last few weeks who have decided to start getting on with their lives, again not sure I can claim responsibility for this, I don’t think 5 million people read the journal comments section, we have all witnessed how much busier the roads and streets are, this is just people saying 1 year of being locked up is enough, vaccinate the vunerable, anyone who needs to isolate themselves for health reasons do so and let the rest of us get on with our lives

Mute Trevor Connolly
    Favourite Trevor Connolly
    Mar 19th 2021, 7:12 AM

@Hugo Bugo: sure it’s on RTÉ, independent and loads of papers

Mute NotMyIreland
    Favourite NotMyIreland
    Mar 19th 2021, 10:19 AM

This thread is a sad reflection of what the extremists on both sides of this argument in this country have become.

Mute Joe_X
    Favourite Joe_X
    Mar 19th 2021, 11:59 AM

@Hugo Bugo: I challenge you on your rhetoric and all of a sudden you are a law abiding citizen. I’ve read your comments and you are contantly encouriging people to defy the restrictions, and unfortunately some will follow your lead. That in turn results in people catching the virus. More people have died from this thing since christmas than the 9 months previous to it. And why? Because the government bowed to pressure from your likes calling out for restrictions to be lifted. The thing is when they do, people think it’s all over and done with. But go on…believe what you want. And BTW…. if you want to see a rant….reread your own comments! You must think you are Robin Hood or something!

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:04 PM

Any sign of a Cowan?

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:30 PM

@Wayne Scales: You mean like, out in the fieldan?

Mute Theportobello
    Favourite Theportobello
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:24 PM

Imagine setting up your own pub and putting that muck on tap. Coors Light shouldn’t be even considered beer.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:39 PM

@Theportobello: And Budweiser, worse again. Piss water the both of them.

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:58 PM

@Kevin O’Brien: the king of beers

Mute Hector Son
    Favourite Hector Son
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:14 PM

@Tom kenny: reminds me of the Waterford Whispers headline, “Man trapped in Budweiser warehouse forced to drink his own p1$$”

Mute Tom kenny
    Favourite Tom kenny

@Hector Son: yeah I laughed at that one, unfortunately it will take a couple of generations to get that muck out of the country.

Mute Alan McArdle
    Favourite Alan McArdle
    Mar 18th 2021, 11:21 PM

@Hector Son: a classic story! I remember reading it while I was at work and nearly splitting myself laughing.

Mute Spongetron
    Favourite Spongetron
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:07 PM

Jaysus lads keep your vodkas, whiskeys and gins separated, makes for quicker service during a rush and easier stock take.

Mute Earth Traveller
    Favourite Earth Traveller
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:19 PM

@Spongetron: They’re amateurs.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Favourite Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:33 PM

In normal times I would be applauding the creativity an ingenuity of these. In my dad’s house growing up, he had a little bar just off the sitting room, had the proper setup, cooler unit the works,

I remember the summer of 94′ USA, my dad would invite everyone over, television in the back garden, extension leads running from the house. My brother working the BBQ, The BBQ was built out of a hode podge of random bricks thrown together.

My dad taking pride in serving the pints, everyone enjoying themselves in the garden, neighbours came over, myself and my friends running around the place, we had those inflatable hammers that squeeked when you hit someone, decorated in usa 94 theme if anyone remembers those? Just a lovely Summer, memories to cherish as a kid.

Are shebeens legal even? forgetting covid times, to have a little bar setup in your home with proper pumps and a keg of beer from the local pub?

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin

@Ally Mc Culladgh: So what is your opinion exactly…..? Do you regard it as being worthy of Garda resources targeting these ‘dangerous illegal dens of sin and debauchery’, or is it simply someone having a few friends over in a home bar ….?

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Ally me thinks you should write a book you deffo have a book in you. I can see your creative side shine through.

Mute Seán South
    Favourite Seán South
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:40 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: forgetting covid, yes, I believe they are legal providing you are not charging people for the drink.

Mute O'Cinnéide Pól
    Favourite O'Cinnéide Pól
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:43 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Of course it’s legal. You can’t sell alcohol on your premises but it’s totally legal to have your own set up.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:45 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: My brother only finished building a bar out his back garden, loads are doing it & 100% legal. I think it becomes illegal if money for drinks changes hands.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:11 PM

@Aidan Dorney: You know Aidan, there is a writers saying that is old as a Summer’s breeze, that there is a book in everyone one of us.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:18 PM

@Martin Galvin: I like alot of people Martin is doing my best to adhere to the guidelines, I personally think it’s not appropriate at this time. I’m not outraged, I wouldn’t call it a den of sin and debauchery. Issue the fines and move on, simple. The Gardaí can do more than 1 thing at a time. This was an operation setup back in July of last year, it’s not something new.

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:37 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh:I honestly appreciate you trying to adhere to the guidelines, but when will you, and your ilk, realise that the guidelines are causing more damage than they were designed to prevent. They are too subjective…Your selfish and my selfish are two different things … Your essential and my essential are two different things …. The rules have been a farce from day one, and the youth of this country have lost a year from their childhood / teenage years, people have lost their livelihoods. And before you start quoting death figures etc, this virus will claim who it’s going to claim, and our ‘finger-in-the-dyke’ policies won’t change that, unfortunately.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:58 PM

@Martin Galvin: Me and my ilk, the reason I support the guidelines is because I don’t want the virus to take anyone if it can be helped, I want the vaccine rollout the best possible chance to succeed I remember the chaos in Dec/Jan. Countries all over the world are suffering and hospitals in chaos. We have the vaccine and yes I do believe there will be a tipping point when cases become irrelevant when it doesn’t lead to ICU increases and hospitalisations, until that point I’ll adhere to the guidelines.

Mute Martin Galvin
    Favourite Martin Galvin
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:32 PM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: So when Leo, Michael & co. told you that you could ‘stick your hand in the fire’ last December and shuffle into Penney’s, did you do your essential Christmas shopping….?

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:47 PM

@Martin Galvin: No. Did my online shopping like alot of people, supported local as best as I could. It was a quiet Christmas, I switched off as much as I could at home.

Mute George Vladisavljevic
    Favourite George Vladisavljevic

I’d that is a suspected shebeen, what does a real one look like?

Mute Michael Maher
    Favourite Michael Maher
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:28 PM

Somethings will never change remember the 70s_80′s RTE special news reports the Irish police smashing the poitin stills in the west of Ireland. Harmless type crime. Pitiful stuff

Mute Irish Sean
    Favourite Irish Sean
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:15 PM

Surely the gardai are able to trace where these premises are getting their draught beer. If these suppliers were fined/punished these shebeens would disappear

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:38 PM

@Irish Sean: selling the kegs and all the equipment etc isn’t illegal, neither is buying/renting it.
    It’s the equivalent of the off-licence being fined because they sold you a bottle of vodka and you had friends over in your house for a party.
    Gathering in numbers is prohibited and money changing hands without a licence is illegal.

Mute Fachtna Roe
    Favourite Fachtna Roe
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:52 PM

@Irish Sean: Would you get a grip. Put away the pitchfork, sit down, and relax.

Mute Irish Sean
    Favourite Irish Sean
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:54 PM

@JustBEERbarry:
    If the supply was cut off by gardai punishing suppliers for selling kegs to places that are unlicensed and making illegal money these shebeens wouldn’t last long.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:59 PM

@Irish Sean: so where does it stop? Who’s to say if a keg sold is going to be consumed by 1 person or 100.
    It is not the responsibility of the supplier to police this, it’s not the job of the gardai to police suppliers. Its the responsibility of the keg buyer to ensure they aren’t up to divilment – or at least don’t get caught.
    It’s like the gardai calling into car show rooms and telling them to stop selling cars because people crash them.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:59 PM

@Irish Sean: it’s not illegal to buy a keg or sell one.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:07 PM

@Daniel Roche: Sean wants it to be illegal. Wait til he hears how you can still get your hands on illegal drugs despite the best efforts of lawmakers

Mute Irish Sean
    Favourite Irish Sean
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:13 PM

@JustBEERbarry:
    There’s a big difference between a home bar and this kind of set up. You’d have a good idea of what was going on by the amount of kegs and how often they’re buying them. Suppliers in these cases are more than likely pubs so they can’t pretend that they don’t know what’s happening.

Mute Irish Sean
    Favourite Irish Sean
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:14 PM

@Fachtna Roe:
    Why ? It’s because of things like this that are prolonging lockdown for the rest of us.

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:25 PM

@Irish Sean: why can’t you legitimately buy (let’s say) 3 kegs of a beer at a time? Or 10 kegs? What’s the indication that you might break the law after buying them?
    Should the supermarket stop you buying 5 cases of cheap bottles of Heineken too? Wheres the line? What’s the indication something is going on? I’ve worked in an offy where it wouldn’t be unusual to get customers buying a few cases of wine at a time – is that OK? What about a case of TK red lemonade potentially for mixers? Should that be investigated?

Mute Contrary Mary
    Favourite Contrary Mary
    Mar 19th 2021, 2:15 AM

@JustBEERbarry: Out of curiosity, how is one reimbursed for all the alcohol? Donations to a charity box? Do folks bring their alcohol and leave it there?

Mute JustBEERbarry
    Favourite JustBEERbarry
    Mar 19th 2021, 7:50 AM

@Contrary Mary: your guess is as good as mine, Mary.

Mute Padraic Burke
    Favourite Padraic Burke
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:28 PM

There’s at least 4 pubs open in my town of around 5000 people the dogs on the street know about it… Gardaí couldn’t care less… The most inept police force in the planet.

Mute Darren Lambe
    Favourite Darren Lambe

@Padraic Burke: Where is this town you speak of?

Mute john deere
    Favourite john deere
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:32 PM

@Padraic Burke: how would one find these bars and what time do they close? Asking for a friend.

Mute Macca1986
    Favourite Macca1986
    Mar 18th 2021, 11:09 PM

@Padraic Burke: where? I’m off and looking for somewhere to go for the gold cup tomorrow.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Mar 19th 2021, 2:29 AM

@Padraic Burke: pm me details of your town, would glady “risk” the 5k just for a visit & a quart or 10. There will be a quart in it for you too.

Mute southside
    Favourite southside
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:43 PM

Great work lads. Anything to keep you away from Dublin city centre

Mute Larry Williams
    Favourite Larry Williams
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:49 PM

Has anyone from these suspected shebeens caught covid at them ?
    Not being negative, just curious.

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:02 PM

@Larry Williams: A gathering in any small enclosed space, sheebeen, house, office, church, gym etc, has the potential for an outbreak that can spread the virus….. That’s why they’re banned!!!!! Plus….apart from Covid, it’s illegal to operate a “sheebeen” without a licence.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:12 PM

@Larry Williams: I’d say it’s more the illegal sale of alcohol rather than Covid concerns that the Gardai are investigating.

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:23 PM

Suspected

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:08 PM

@Aidan Dorney: until proven in court.

Mute Declan Doherty
    Favourite Declan Doherty
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:43 PM

The Gardai have spent a lot of this lockdown chasing people for enjoying a drink and a toke. I appreciate they’re just doing their job but it seems like such a waste of time and resources when there are far more serious crimes to go after.

Mute Seán O'Connor
    Favourite Seán O'Connor
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:41 PM

That flag is a disgrace. Have you no iron? The 1916 leaders turning in their graves!

Mute Peter Bell
    Favourite Peter Bell
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:56 PM

No Columbian MARCHING powder found…………Asking for a friend.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent

@Peter Bell: only report came from the one in Monkstown.

Mute Mark Reilly
    Favourite Mark Reilly
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:40 PM

Where do the come up with the operation names.

Mute Kevin O'Brien
    Favourite Kevin O'Brien
    Mar 19th 2021, 2:35 AM

@Mark Reilly: operation shebeen, hebeen, gonebeen, taken down by gombeens. I think they missed a trick there.

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Mar 18th 2021, 10:41 PM

A sheebeen was in operation in the town I’m from over Xmas. It led to a big wave in the town and people died as a result. The organizers have really felt the chill from locals once people began to get really sick. Those deaths are on them. Fools

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney

Ally me thinks you should write a book you deffo have a book in you. I can see your creative side shine through.

Mute Ally Mc Culladgh
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:24 PM

@Aidan Dorney: Thanks Aidan, as I said to you before, there is a book in every one of us, I look forward to reading your book Aidan. Do you mind if I use your comment in my book a sort of acknowledgment on the first page.

This wouldn’t be possible without the support of Aidan, a true inspiration and guiding light.

Mute Aidan Dorney
    Favourite Aidan Dorney
    Mar 19th 2021, 1:19 AM

@Ally Mc Culladgh: Of course not an issue maybe though a small percentage as a token of your appreciation for my encouragement.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Mar 18th 2021, 9:19 PM

Well stocked.

Mute JedBartlett
    Favourite JedBartlett
    Mar 18th 2021, 8:22 PM

@Philip Cooper: I don’t think you understand what gombeen means. Was there a lending of money going on in this shebeen too?

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Mar 19th 2021, 4:41 PM

They are dead right tbh. We allowing 11k a week into Ireland on planes with no checks in place.

Mute Mark Reilly
    Favourite Mark Reilly
    Mar 19th 2021, 4:35 PM

Offaly is some kip