You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ceann Comhairle Seán Ó Fearghaíl. Maxwells

Ceann Comhairle seeks winding up of Oireachtas Golf Society

Seán Ó Fearghaíl said the society should be wound up “as a matter of urgency”.

CEANN COMHAIRLE SEÁN Ó Fearghaíl has requested that the Oireachtas Golf Society be wound up in the wake of the ‘golf gate’ controversy. 

Ó Fearghíl said in a statement this evening that the society be wound up “as a matter of urgency”. 

The move comes following the attendance of a number of politicians at an Oireachtas Golf Society event in Cliden, Co Galway. 

The golf dinner was attended by more than 80 people and has led to the resignation of Agriculture Minister Dara Calleary.

Acting chief medical officer Dr. Ronan Glynn has said it “seems clear” that the event did not adhere to public health guidance

In a statement this evening, Ó Fearghaíl said that the society should be disbanded.

“While recognising that the Golf Society operates independently of the Oireachtas I write to suggest that, in the aftermath of this week’s events in Clifden, the society as it is currently structured and named be wound up as a matter of urgency,” he said.

This I believe is a necessary action for the society in the aftermath of this week’s events. The event has seriously undermined and damaged public confidence in the Oireachtas and in what I hope is our mutual commitment to public health and to the people we serve.

The Clifden event hosted by the Oireachtas Golf Society was held to honour late Fianna Fáil MEP Mark Killelea Junior. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

102 Comments
    Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:08 PM

Ye might as well, because ye are winding the rest of us up fulltime.

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:42 PM

@Logan Shepherd: don’t see why they should wind it up we all like a game of golf

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:46 PM

@Logan Shepherd: but the whisky fase on your man in the pic

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:52 PM

@BriP75: Are you Scots?

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:52 PM

@BriP75: Not his good side methinks …

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:15 PM

@Val Doyle: no I’m very Irish not long home.

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:18 PM

@BriP75: Long day was it?

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:31 PM

@BriP75: I dont play but winding up isn’t required. The game of golf wasn’t at fault…..politicians feeling above the rules was.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:43 PM

@BriP75: I think my objection is to the use of “Oireachtas” in the name of the Golf Society. This gives some sort of “legit” suggestion to an unrelated organisation. In fact the work “Oireachtas” should be reserved for official institutions of the state. Maybe the “old codger’s golfing society” would be better – I can come up with 101 good names that would get me banned here.

Mute Tim Quigley
    Favourite Tim Quigley
    Aug 21st 2020, 10:28 PM

@BriP75: But he can spell FACE

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 22nd 2020, 3:44 AM

@BriP75: face whoops

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:15 PM

That’s my holiday booked now! I can just apologise when I return! Should be grand.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:17 PM

@Sean Walsh: or not in the case of Phil. Those words are not in his vocabulary.

Mute Kyle
    Favourite Kyle
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:33 PM

@Sean Walsh: not good enough sean. You need to UNRESERVEDLY apologise. Nothing else will do

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:43 PM

@Sean Walsh: kilmuckrige is it

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:07 PM

@Sean Walsh: have a time in the sun get outta here for a while

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:11 PM

I don’t think it’s the golf society that’s the problem here

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:16 PM

@Crocodylus Pontifex: incredible mindset these creatures demonstrate when caught out for what they are. They’ll be suggesting that all hole flags in all golf courses be replaced with tricolours so as to show national pride in something or something…

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:42 PM

@Crocodylus Pontifex: as I said

Mute Carol Farrell
    Favourite Carol Farrell
    Aug 23rd 2020, 5:01 PM

@Crocodylus Pontifex: They have a lot of responsibility to see social distance is in place and not to overcrowd the place. TECHNICALLY the Gov. said 5 is thE most for indoor meetings, but they said They thought it was 50, so 81 is still over 50.

Mute 6Shangan
    Favourite 6Shangan
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:29 PM

Its incredible to think of all the money we have spent on tribunals when the seating plan from one of these Oireachtas golfing society events could explain a lot of the corruption during the past 50 years

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:57 AM

@6Shangan: what ? Loads of work places have their own social clubs set up by its members , tax payer ain’t paying a cent for this club

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:09 PM

They should all be arrested and treated with the same threats of arrest they were gloatingly demanding for the Irish public who questioned this lockdown. There is no Pandemic – from Prof Neil Ferguson on to this the establishment have known all along there was no dangers. This is just a bureaucratic and mass media role playing game to train the public away from freedom and towards enslavement. If you can’t see this now, you deserve to be a slave.

Mute sean o'dhubhghaill
    Favourite sean o'dhubhghaill

@BeyondRoom313: Go Away.

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:19 PM

@sean o’dhubhghaill: fascinating, so it’s now somehow my fault and people like me?

Will you be having a candle-light vigil for the former Minister of Agriculture tonight? How about a Tik-Tok dancing video?

See 16 more replies ▾
    Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:25 PM

@BeyondRoom313: conspiracy theory’s and tin foil hat people like you do more damage than any government could. Jog on.

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:27 PM

@Peter: So pointing out the politicians are pathologically lying potential virus spreaders are a bigger problem than the politicians who pathologically lying potential virus spreaders!

So how long have you worked in the civil service then?

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter

@BeyondRoom313: ah if only I did. I’d have a cushy job for life.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:30 PM

@BeyondRoom313: Muppet or maybe just no brains

Mute Elaine Phelan
    Favourite Elaine Phelan
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:31 PM

@BeyondRoom313: the fact that they broke the rules doesn’t mean there isn’t a global pandemic

Mute Kyle
    Favourite Kyle
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:36 PM

@BeyondRoom313: the earth is flat lad. You tell em

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:39 PM

@Elaine Phelan: of course it does, if their lives were in danger and the danger of infecting their own families upon return was real they would not have went. Simples! Try to think using logic and not not Varadker’s LOTRs speech.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:45 PM

@BeyondRoom313: I agree….all these deaths just made up. Doctors are being forced to put covid on death certs. It’s all a giant conspiracy to benefit the large multinationals who really control everything. Or is it the aliens? Let me just check my “conspiracies for beginners” manual.

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:50 PM

@Sal Paradise: The virus is real. the hysterical predictions of the pandemic is not. the death were mostly people dying of other conditions anyway. the human population of Sweden still exists.

it was a nasty virus which took out people who would normally die from such a virus. For 98% of the population it was not dangerous. The politicians and civil servants just developed a taste for terrorising the population is all.

Mute Sal Paradise
    Favourite Sal Paradise
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:07 PM

@BeyondRoom313: I somewhat agree with you but your initial comment above made out that you felt the virus as a whole was a hoax.

Mute Kem Trayle
    Favourite Kem Trayle
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:26 PM

@BeyondRoom313: Look at the Journal headlines when 80 of them tried to be sneaky and you think 100s or 1000s of them have a secret hoax-pushing cabal that no one outside it knows about? LOL!!!

Mute Dixieblue
    Favourite Dixieblue
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:27 PM

@BeyondRoom313: GROW UP FFS!!!

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:09 PM

@BeyondRoom313: ill give it to you, after a crap week, you gave me a good laugh to lighten my mood, especially the “you deserve to be a slave ” part. Keep the madness coming its helping

Mute Fabio Dillon
    Favourite Fabio Dillon
    Aug 21st 2020, 11:50 PM

@BeyondRoom313: learn English and write correctly before you dribble. Christ.

Mute David Kearney
    Favourite David Kearney
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:20 AM

@BeyondRoom313: oh I hope I don’t actually know you .. that would be depressing you made it into my circle .. you know he was part of the establishment right ? On the uk committee .. helping them deal with the pandemic you say he says is not real .. and then had to resign when he broke his own suggested rules .. any chance of you lot heading to an island and mingle together and see how you fare against this make believe conspiracy theory .. any chance

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:59 AM

@BeyondRoom313: find a bog hole and jump into it . Make sure that you put some weights into the pockets

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:24 PM

Wind up this shambles of a government pronto

Mute Enda Loughney
    Favourite Enda Loughney

And no mention of the banking big wig Brian Hayes whose decision affect peoples mortgages, raising interests and I’m sure his logic has to be questioned, he makes decision that affect thousands of families its a spit in the face if he gets off Scott free. Remember the meeting Leo missed the minutes of the meeting, 2 months ago. Lads this is not good enough.

Mute dublindamo
    Favourite dublindamo
    Aug 22nd 2020, 1:11 AM

@Enda Loughney: haven’t seen Brian Hayes mentioned as attending anywhere. Also it’s not his fault that the banks charge so much interest. It’s because we all those that repay have to cover those who don’t and the banks spend years trying to repossess the security the loan was granted for as per the agreement.
    And FFS now you made me feel dirty for mansplaining that to you..shame on you

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:44 PM

Members of Government and judiciary as well as bankers all at a piss up together ignoring the rules that apply to the rest of us. Ireland in a nutshell. How is a judge or a banker at an oireachtas golf outing? We really really need to clear the decks urgently. The whole thing is rotten.

Mute Mattress Dick
    Favourite Mattress Dick
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:11 PM

Too many bogeys?

Mute BriP75
    Favourite BriP75
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:44 PM

@Mattress Dick: who got nearet to the pin on the par tree

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin

No need to wind up the society – not unless there are skeletons in the cupboard they don’t want getting out

Mute Michael Byrne
    Favourite Michael Byrne
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:21 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: agreed, there should be a full open audit done on this elite golf society.

Mute Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Favourite Niall Ó Cofaigh
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:47 PM

@Anne Marie Devlin: I do think that the name should be changed from “Oireachtas Golf Society” to something else as using the word Oireachtas in the title suggests it is related to the Oireachtas which it is not.

Mute Phil West
    Favourite Phil West
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:36 PM

Does taxpayer contribute to this Golf Society?

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:46 PM

@Phil West: well at only 140 euro for 2 nights hotel and meal something is being subsidised somehow

Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:00 PM

All political junkets should be banned. Politician’s should not be having friendly dinners/meetings with the judiciary, gardai or businessmen. This leads to nepotism and cronyism, which is rife in this country. Only meet these individuals on a professional basis. This is FF and the Galway races tent again, just in a different guise. Politicians are too arrogant and thick necked to care, so it’s important to force them to behave in a manner appropriate to their office and the people they SERVE, which they are paid handsomely for.

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:08 PM

@Seán Dillon: 100% of the population would agree with you, making that change happen is another thing, this country would be 10 times the country it is overnight if these rules were applied

Mute TheCraftyCulchie
    Favourite TheCraftyCulchie
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:21 PM

Ridiculous, having a golf society is perfectly ok and normal, what happened this week is proof that the arrogance of those who have run this state since its inception knows no bounds!! The ceann comhairle is simply deflecting from that fact!!

Mute Logan Shepherd
    Favourite Logan Shepherd

@TheCraftyCulchie: Expect many more of these types of statements, for exactly that.

Mute Brian James Moss
    Favourite Brian James Moss
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:22 PM

Their in the rough now!

Mute dublinsnap
    Favourite dublinsnap

@Brian James Moss: better than the trough lol

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:57 PM

I think the chap is missing the point but it would be nice to understand the funding underpinning these societies, what criteria needs to be met to become a member of such societies etc. I mean if Philo, Briano and Seanie can attend, can we all not get on this gravy train? It seems to be open to anyone, even those flying in from European countries like Belgium that are struggling to control a virus in a global pandemic and those that then spend time in counties that are locked down due to said virus. Let’s all get our application forms in and get on this choo choo.

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:03 PM

@GrumpyAulFella: commoners need not apply . Outsiders are only in on invitation of the members . Members are current and former members of the Oireachtas as staff. It’s self financed

Mute Syl Farrell
    Favourite Syl Farrell
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:33 PM

Interesting that none of these were afraid of Covid making them sick given the political system has been telling us we are all going to die unless we obey their guidance. Clearly they know what some of us have been saying all along that the virus is only a threat to a vulnerable few.

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:04 PM

@Syl Farrell: “we” as in commoners . They ain’t commoners

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:38 PM

I’m sure the winding up of a golf socitey will be a relief to Martin and Varadkar. That’s all the three ring circus of a government problems solved. Only problem is the next minister for agriculture…If Martin does not like you ..Well that job is the kiss of death. Christ you couldn’t make this up. A shambolic government led by a man who sold his soul for the position of part time Taoiseach and is clearly not up to the job.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

FF/FG/GP CARTEL lookin after their m8′s as usual, sure we’ll be Grand we’ve a High Court Judge here, mean while the Shinners sit back & keep the Powder Dry ;-)

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:08 PM

@Joe: be far more concerned about the exclusive club many SF members are associated with . Said club seems so clouded in mystery that it’s former leader route only denies being a member of it when everyone knows that he was

Mute Adrian O'Donnell
    Favourite Adrian O'Donnell
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:16 PM

That horse has bolted. Having a golf society isn’t an issue. Flouting the rules around the pandemic they way they did is the issue. All of them should be held accountable, especially Phil Hogan. If there’s truth to his traveling from Kildare to Galway, that should be the end of his handy number, as useful as her may well be to the top brass. It’s matter of principle.

Mute BeyondRoom313
    Favourite BeyondRoom313
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:17 PM

I used to laugh at John Waters and think he was a conspiracy theorist. I know see that I was an idiot for not listening to him. He was right all along. ‘visible signs of terror’

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:19 PM

@BeyondRoom313: no, you were still right to laugh at him

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:51 PM

@BeyondRoom313: hahahahaha!!!!!! If you’re agreeing with Jihn Waters then you urgently need a sanity check!!!

Mute Rory J Leonard
    Favourite Rory J Leonard
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:37 PM

The Oireachtas brand is priceless within our country, and nothing as trivial as a Golf Society for washed up old establishment codgers – many of whom played some part in effing up our great country over the years – should be associated with that brand.

Hats off to C.C. Sean O’ Fearghail this evening for taking out a 40 ft barge poll in protecting a precious sovereign intangible!

Mute Gerard Cummins
    Favourite Gerard Cummins
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:32 AM

@Rory J Leonard: are you for real, the only reason he wants it rebranded and fast is he’s afraid somebody will investigate it and find that golf is only a front for the establishment to get close and make cosy cartel type deals with bankers , judiciary , big business , and wouldn’t surprise me if the insurance industry have had their days and nights at this society. We may be one of the smallest countries in Europe but we are right up there top of the league when it comes to corruption.

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:18 PM

@Gerard Cummins: what ? You seem to think and expect that all important meetings with big business etc and industry should be held in the board room or a stuffy office

You clearly know nothing about business or making decisions

Parliament , when making decisions have to that in to account many different groups such as banks , building industry, farmers associations and even trade unions … you know the groups that actually keep this country moving . Not every group in society matters nor should be heeded

Lobbying is permitted ya know . When Anto goes to his local TD , rather than his local councillor or the HSE itself for medical card etc that’s lobbying . Rarely hear the commoners whinge about that

Mute Tim Oconnell
    Favourite Tim Oconnell
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:31 PM

Gas thing,just shows how cosy FF &FG are , in normal course of events

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:24 PM

Really. Why now.
    Punch and Judy show unveiled. Tv presenters , judges , politicians from different parties..

Mute Hughie O'Donnell
    Favourite Hughie O'Donnell

Is that a wind up?

Mute Richie
    Favourite Richie
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:36 PM

I don’t think they should have to wind it up it’s fairly normal thing in normal times.

But all must account for themselves and pay the piper for the decision to go during these restrictions – spat in the normal member of societies face.

Head of the Irish banking federation Brian Hayes sitting beside the former attorney general and now Supreme Court judge, this needs real clarification.

Didn’t the same man as AG say it would be unconstitutional to continue a rent freeze during covid ?

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 12:23 PM

@Richie: why ? It’s a small country , they could easily bump into each other at mass , the races or in a pub . A Supreme Court midge doesn’t make judgments alone but with other colleagues in open court and their reasoning is put on paper for the the world to scrutinise . Each judge often has their own different view on what’s Constitutional or not . Hayes is also a former member of the Dail . The judge is a former AG . The golf club is open to such folk

Mute Bernard A Kavanagh
    Favourite Bernard A Kavanagh
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:48 PM

I don’t trust the Intentions of Sean Ó Fearghail. He is one of the gang. He always reminds me of a well fed p..let sitting on his throne

Mute PR Probe
    Favourite PR Probe
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:28 PM

Sets of golf clubs for sale. No reasonable offer refused. Several careful owners.

Mute Stephen Byrne
    Favourite Stephen Byrne
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:12 PM

Yeah, this’ll keep those plebs happy until we find something else to distract them

Mute Michael Heffernan
    Favourite Michael Heffernan
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:23 PM

Ah that’s gonna solve all the problems

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 3:19 AM

Maybe winding up the vulture funds might be more appropriated at this stage rather than winding up a corrupt golfing society ~ and why are they doing that ~ Is there more than corruption ~ Is there something darker within ~ They are running ~ So what’s there is it financial or is it even darker ?

Mute 8-Bit-Relic
    Favourite 8-Bit-Relic
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:17 PM

I think that it would be more useful to have something else wind up by the electorate. Ah well, it’s anyway forgotten until the next election

Mute Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Ranghaill
    Aug 22nd 2020, 1:37 AM

There are many social and sporting recreation clubs in operation funded by taxpayers money which are created for retired politicans civil servants and public services employees. The funding that is provided each year by the government for these activities must be made public knowledge now.

Mute Paddy Dunne
    Favourite Paddy Dunne
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:30 PM

Phil hogan has a great job in Europe there is going to be knock on effect for Ireland , it would be a disaster if he. Had to go

Mute Derek Poutch
    Favourite Derek Poutch
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:56 PM

@Paddy Dunne: How De foc do you make that out, it would be a disaster if he stays. He is just a big smelly bully.

Mute Roger Dawson
    Favourite Roger Dawson
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:01 PM

@Paddy Dunne: Do you still have a terrible empty feeling– in your skull?

Mute Eddie O'Neill
    Favourite Eddie O'Neill
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:04 PM

@Paddy Dunne: Phil Hogan only cares for himself, I doubt he does anything of substance for Ireland so no. Great loss

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:25 PM

@Paddy Dunne: Taps will run at a trickle if you do not pay water charges… When people took to the streets Kenny knew it would be stopped. Hogan sent to Europe…If the arrogant paracite resigned he will be no loss to Ireland or Europe.

Mute Paddy Dunne
    Favourite Paddy Dunne
    Aug 22nd 2020, 6:34 PM

@Donal Desmond: hey donal where I come from we pay for water , otherwise we won’t have it , and this there is loads of people paying for their water as well , count yourself lucky that you don’t have to pay , the big problem in this country is services and value for money,if you ask me these people were foolish and that hotel’s was well out of order , at the end of the day they were the ones who knew the numbers and fudged they issue with their two room strategy, that’s what’s wrong with knee jerk laws they are not thought properly and some people try to take advantage of that , with regard to calleary I applaud what he did after his boo boo , hopefully we will see more of that in politics, with regard to hogan I’d forgive this one not the next if there is a next
    Regards

Mute John Hetherton
    Favourite John Hetherton
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:21 PM

Arrest Donnie Cassidy…..

Mute Joshua Walsh
    Favourite Joshua Walsh
    Aug 22nd 2020, 8:40 AM

The key word in his quote is “named”, they’ll just rename it as something else and carry on as normal.

Mute Emmet De Courcy
    Favourite Emmet De Courcy
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:24 PM

Who won the outing ? What score and playing off what handicap??

Mute Tom Kennedy
    Favourite Tom Kennedy
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:31 PM

Balls…

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Aug 21st 2020, 9:00 PM

@Tom Kennedy: yeah they have a society for those as well.

Mute Tony Shaw
    Favourite Tony Shaw
    Aug 21st 2020, 8:42 PM

OTT & ridiculous. Jumping on bandwagon & not measured.

Mute Drunk in Dublin
    Favourite Drunk in Dublin
    Aug 22nd 2020, 9:59 AM

They’re just a bouquet of pink chubby animals that make oinking noises

Mute Christy Dolan
    Favourite Christy Dolan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 11:52 AM

Reactionary nonsense ,

Mute Jimmy O Callaghan
    Favourite Jimmy O Callaghan
    Aug 22nd 2020, 10:36 AM

Open the pubs

Mute Lisa Keenan
    Favourite Lisa Keenan
    Aug 23rd 2020, 3:30 AM

just open up the pubs and other businesses and let us get on with our lives …stop telling us what we can cannot do…it will all be grand. We are all fed up now. And if this was really serious and I mean as serious as they were making it out to be…these politicians would have run for the hills in fear of catching it. They have inside information after all. This is a sign that its not that bad after all. I bet they were giggling and laughing while ordering bottles of Corona.

Mute Sheila McDermott
    Favourite Sheila McDermott

Who paid for this meal and accommodation

Mute Sheila McDermott
    Favourite Sheila McDermott
    Aug 21st 2020, 7:13 PM

Who paid for the Golfgate meal and accommodation for any of the attendees that stayed over?