You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The poll suggests it's all to play for.

Opinion poll: Just four points between three parties as FF tops, FG drops and SF climbs

The Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll surveyed voters last week as the election was called.

A NEW OPINION poll has just four percentage points between the three largest political parties ahead of the 8 February general election. 

The Irish Times/Ipsos MRBI poll was published this evening and puts Fianna Fáil on support of 25%, Fine Gael at 23% and Sinn Féin at 21%. 

The previous poll in the same series was published over three months ago and today’s poll shows a decline in support of 6 percentage points for Fine Gael since then. 

By contrast, Fianna Fáil has remained the same while Sinn Féin has climbed by 7 percentage points. 

The state of the parties – when undecided voters are excluded – is:

• Fianna Fáil – 25% (no change)
  • Fine Gael – 23% (down six)
  • Sinn Féin – 21% (up seven)
  • Labour – 5% (down one)
  • Independents/others – 18% (no change)
  • Green Party – 8% (no change)
  • Solidarity-PBP – 2% (up one)
  • Social Democrats 2% (up one) 

The drop in support for Fine Gael is mirrored by a sharp decline in satisfaction with the government which has fallen from 42% in October to 27% now.

Taoiseach Leo Varadkar’s personal satisfaction rating has fallen from 51% to 35%. 

The poll is based on a survey of 1,2000 eligible voters and was taken last week after the general election was called. 

It contrasts with a separate opinion poll published on Sunday by the Sunday Times/Behaviour & Attitudes which gave Fianna Fáil a 12-point lead ahead.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

223 Comments
    Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Favourite Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:14 PM

And still no invite from RTE for Mary Lou. What are they afraid of?

Mute Maura
    Favourite Maura
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:16 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: Us having to listen to her

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:17 PM

@Maura: You don’t speak for everyone Maura.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Steph
    Favourite Steph
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:19 PM

@Maura: 21% of license payers certainly want to. Possibly more if she’s given a chance

Mute Mick Andrews
    Favourite Mick Andrews
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:22 PM

@Maura: Who’s us Maura. Numbers please

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:23 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: They are afraid of further enhancing them to a level that some more voters would see them as a more viable choice.

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine

@Maura: I’d wanna hear her.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B

@Ebeneezer Goode: The army council

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:26 PM

@TM B: How’s the tinfoil hat working out for you?

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:30 PM

@TM B: lol

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Favourite Angela McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:35 PM

@Maura: whos the us Maura – FG/FF HQ?

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:39 PM

@Maura: But you are willing to watch and listen to two parasites. One who facilitated in the economic destruction of this country. The other who made matters worse and ironically was kept in power by Martin..The leader of the blueshirts in debate with his deputy leader Michael Martin should be a cliff hanger. Like choosing between the plague and the black death.

Mute james foley
    Favourite james foley
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:45 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: like most people afriad those not jobs might actually get into any goverment

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:48 PM

@Steph: I’m certain of that 21%, not many pay their tv licence! It’s not free you know!

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:58 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: maby their anti women.

Mute Joan Kelly
    Favourite Joan Kelly
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:45 PM

@Maura: shut up

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:48 PM

@joe: Well done Joe. For those who never really gottit before, that is ‘Whataboutery’ in a nutshell.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Favourite Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:10 AM

@Maura Listening to her or having the public hearing about SFs good policies?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:49 AM

@Joan Kelly: stay classy Joan!

Jan 21st 2020, 8:20 AM

@Ebeneezer Goode: RTÉ is the propaganda wing of FFG. That’s why they are freezing out SF.

Jan 21st 2020, 8:21 AM

@Ebeneezer Goode: no she probably speaks for Leo the Langer

Mute BewaretheBeardies
    Favourite BewaretheBeardies
    Jan 21st 2020, 8:40 AM

@Donal Desmond: maybe a kangaroo court would be better….

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 21st 2020, 8:57 AM

@BewaretheBeardies: Well if you can recall the criminal trial of two high profile bankers whose criminal trial collapsed because of shredded documents by the state and inadmissible evidence. That’s your kangaroo court. The fact recent actions by Blueshirt/F.F. T.Ds. Claiming massive expences while not attending, A fraudulent insurance claim, Voting for T.Ds. who were apsent . You seem to have a short memory.

Jan 21st 2020, 9:27 AM

@Ebeneezer Goode: good question..

Mute Morning Gus
    Favourite Morning Gus
    Jan 21st 2020, 9:34 AM

@Maura: You come across as a fascist..

Mute Maggie May
    Favourite Maggie May
    Jan 21st 2020, 1:42 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: the truth…

Mute Rochelle
    Favourite Rochelle

I’m not a fan of SF but their exclusion from debates is an affront to democracy. 4 years ago we had 4-way debates on both, what’s changed and why?
    It’s really concerning to see our media endorsing political parties so directly like this while excluding the rest, like something you’d read about from China or Russia.

Mute Séadna O'Grádaigh
    Favourite Séadna O'Grádaigh
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:58 PM

@Rochelle: what’s changed is Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil (FF, Micháel Martin in particular) has promised RTÉ a new form of funding to be charged through the revenue, SF hasn’t promised this

Mute Séadna O'Grádaigh
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:01 PM

@Séadna O’Grádaigh: Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil have always stood by the rich and wealthy in this country, it’s time for change

Mute Chaos Ape
    Favourite Chaos Ape
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:11 PM

@Rochelle: we need to march into rte this weekend with a peacful protest to demand a fair debate thats open to all candidates. Personally i wont be listening to anything ffg have to say, ever again. Im done.

Mute devils avacado
    Favourite devils avacado
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:30 PM

@Rochelle: people need to take this very seriously, it will be a cold day in hell before SF get my vote, but there exclusion from the RTE AND VIRGIN debates is an attempt to stop the public from hearing the views and policy’s of a party that has quite a number of followers in this country. Wouldn’t it be bliss for FF & FG for this country ending up like the American two party system. How much easier it would be for lobbyists to get things pushed into law when you are dealing with two parties that are almost identical in every way. Don’t for a minute think this a tin foil hat moment, we the people should be the only ones who get to decide who we want to hear debate,, anything else is an undemocratic attempt from unelected people to to give an unfair advantage to two parties.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:47 PM

@Rochelle: The recent 50m euro in additional funding for RTE by FGFF may have helped influence their decision

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:48 PM

@Rochelle: do not give the true opposition a voice

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:22 AM

@devils avacado:

Excellent comment man.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:26 AM

@devils avacado: I might very well vote SF , especially when the two identical twins are so afraid of SF. It’s looking to me like SF are serious competition and the school yard boys dont want them to join in the game, cos they might get the upper hand, interesting.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:08 AM

@Dave Hammond: imagine if the journal did a poll on whether SF should be included in the RTE debate, I know if I was to have a punt on it probably 70% yes.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:09 AM

@Séadna O’Grádaigh:
    Fianna Fail – the Labour Party policy, Party.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

NO excuse now not to let SF in on the RTE leaders debate

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:27 PM

@The Risen: really? A party who is up in only one or two polls, who always punch below their weight at the actual election, who have never been in power in three south, who have only managed tho grey back into govt in the north after 1,000 days and who used to be (and to many still are) associated with a murderous campaign that took the lives of over 3,000 people. RTE had plenty of reason tho exclude them.

Mute Peadar O'Comain
    Favourite Peadar O'Comain
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:32 PM

@lambda sensor: These numbers earn Mary Lou a spot at this debate. I wouldn’t be a Sinn Fein voter but we only have the polls to go on and it doesn’t look like a 2 horse race anymore

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:36 PM

@lambda sensor: It shoud not be RTE ‘s decision to make. They are supposed to be a public broadcaster, not the mouthpiece for FFG.

They interfered in the presidential election when Michael D won the first time and it cost the taxpayer hundreds of thousands.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:40 PM

@Peadar O’Comain: talking of numbers Provisional SF are only running around 40 candidates nationwide with likelihood of returning 14. 80 TDs needed to form a Government. The maths are surely simple enough even for the average Shinner to understand. Also Mary Lou will be at the leaders debate, the other debate is between those who could be Taoiseach. Numerous elections have shown how wrong polls can be, eg Trump and Brexit. What matters are actual election results and in last five elections Provisional SF’s 1st preference vote been between 10-14%

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:59 PM

@Stephen Kearon: Get with the times Stevo. Provos don’t do candidates, they used to do guns’n'stuff. Back in yer box like a good lad.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:05 AM

@Denis McClean: Provos have put 2,000 souls in boxes, 6 feet down

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:14 AM

@Stephen Kearon: how many have FF/FG buried, you heartless person

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:23 AM

@lambda sensor: this morning it was up in only one poll, now ye are saying one or two polls. What about the parties that are down or static in the polls?

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:33 AM

@lambda sensor: That stupid guFF is what censorship causes. The vast majority of targeting of unarmed civilians was perpetrated by British Forces [supported by FF/FG] & their “loyalist” proxies: Ballymurphy, Derry, Springhill, New Lodge, Newry, Miami, Dublin/Monaghan, etc.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:38 AM

@Stephen Kearon: Neither Tweedledum [FG] nor Tweedledumber [FF] will get 80 seats but they aren’t excluded. It is feasible to have a progressive [non-Tory] coalition on those numbers.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:40 AM

@Stephen Kearon: Wrong again. Actually it was the British Forces [who were supported by FF & FG] & their “loyalist” proxies who deliberately targeted by far the greater number of unarmed civilians.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 21st 2020, 1:03 AM

@lambda sensor: You conveniently fail to mention the murderous campaign raged by the British state . Of course when Sinn Fein entered the so called democratic process, The blueshirts /F.F. now come up with their version of democracy. The very same parties that have governed this state since it’s foundation. Two parties that replaced British conservatives with Irish conservatives. The plauge and the pox .

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:21 AM

@Stephen Kearon: You’re funny

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:26 AM

@Donal Desmond: And two of the three parties, that turned a blind eye, to the murder of innocent children, the enslavement of women, child trafficking, the dumping of dead babies in septic tanks and the sexual abuse of tens of thousands of boys and girls in this country.
    That’s a lot of blood all over the civil war parties hands. But sure, the merry-go-round gang, refuse to see that.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:49 AM

@Stephen Kearon: And don’t you forget that the Catholic church, aided and abetted, for DECADES, by Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour, put a lot more bodies in graves, although the vast majority of them didn’t get the luxury of a wooden box. But you ignore that fact, and focus on the people, that FFGL are running scared of. If you want to stay on the civil war merry-go-round – well that’s on you. The rest of us are going to give the swings a go.

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Jan 21st 2020, 5:55 AM

@lambda sensor: Try dragging yourself out of the dark ages!

Mute JoeJoe
    Favourite JoeJoe
    Jan 21st 2020, 8:38 AM

@Stephen Kearon: mass suicides, mass evictions, mass emigration. FF owe this country over the lives it destroyed. No party has caused this state more hardship and heartache than FF

Jan 21st 2020, 8:52 AM

@Seán Marlow: your evidence?

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:05 PM

@Pád: those who fail to learn from history are destined to repeat it.

Mute nicknack
    Favourite nicknack
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:18 PM

I personally don’t know many people voting for FFG inthis election,everyone is fed up of them,time for change people

Mute BillyCroft
    Favourite BillyCroft
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:25 PM

@nicknack: Sounds scientific.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:35 PM

@nicknack: except there are people who will switch between FG and FF forever and they will never change

Mute One Direction
    Favourite One Direction
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:39 PM

@nicknack: there are plenty I can tell you

Mute Manbackonboard
    Favourite Manbackonboard
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:52 PM

@nicknack: You did the survey in the pub?

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:10 PM

@nicknack: Over 50% of the country will vote for FF and FG on a few weeks. Whether you personally know them or not. There is nothing else out there to vote for.

Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:18 PM

@M: I think you mean 50% of those who bother to vote. To those who don’t bother, shame on you.

Mute Engine No. 9
    Favourite Engine No. 9
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:25 PM

@M: Sinn Féin!? In a sample of 12k registered voters, 21% said they want them in government. That’s a clear representation that they are contenders. I’ve always been a swing voter with no allegiance to any party but I think a change is badly, BADLY, needed. The mismanagement of the health service as well as local government (i.e. housing) is crippling this country and our children have no chance of a brighter tomorrow. We’ve gone FFG for the last 100 years and the country is only getting better for those who are already doing well. We need to make it better for EVERYONE.

Mute Mark Murphy
    Favourite Mark Murphy
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:00 AM

@nicknack: I’m voting FG so even though you dont know me, believe me we are out there

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:32 AM

@Engine No. 9: There is typo in the article. The Irish Times Poll size was 1,200 people not 12K.

Again like yesterday poll very small sample size…. but improves on 923 .

The are approx 3.4 Million eligible registered voters, and if normal trends are followed about 65% of these will turn out to vote ie 2.2Million.
    Need Poll samples

If the left wing parties ever want to change political mix , those 1 Million who usually never vote need to , because are in general the target audience for their policies. That is why SF consistently come 2-3% lower in every GE Result compared with the pre GE polls…

The big issue the political left has in Ireland is that its totally fractured and is now represented by about 6 small parties & SF versus FF and FG which are centre or centre right.

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:44 AM

@XvSv: for example , every time the smaller left wing parties seem to have difference of opinion internally , they split off.. and run off to form a new political party ..

Aontu .. resulting split from SF
    Rise .. Paul Murphy abandoned PBP
    Social Democrats .. Rosin Shorthall split from Labour

There have splits from FG eg Renua but died away quickly … FF learned from the days of progressive democrats … so keep most political blood baths in-house , away from the media … well most of the time … but occasionally the likes of John McGuiness does go a pee outside the FF tent..

Bottom line it’s hard to affect change if your entire parliamentary party can fit into a Taxi or small mini-van ….that is not a SF problem agreed , but it is for all the other “Left wing” parties..

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:07 AM

@XvSv: There is a Renua candidate running in Dublin Bay South….they’re still skulking about

Mute Kevin Lawless
    Favourite Kevin Lawless

Just shows how disgraceful a decision by RTE and Virgin Media not to include Sinn Fein in the leadership debate. I am not a Sinn Fein supporter but I am fed up of how FF and FG get preferential treatment from the media.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:53 PM

@Kevin Lawless: of course you are! Anyone on here that starts with “I don’t vote/support Sinn Fein but” definitely support SF. The amount of posts they’re putting on social media must be the hardest they’ve ever worked!

Mute Séadna O'Grádaigh
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:12 PM

@joe: Typical clowns response. Maybe the people are sick of what they’ve been through the last 12 years. There’s no change in sight. Giving SF the chance will go one of two ways… either more of the same, or change in the right direction.
    There will however be one major advance if SF gets into power. It will be the introduction of a 3rd party candidate to be taken seriously for the future. The will introduce real competition. Competition drives performance and success.
    Voting SF has a lot more positives than people realise

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Ebeneezer Goode
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:28 PM

@joe: The same tired old rhetoric from the FG fraperoom. The same old stereotypes too. What frightens the FF snd FG crowd more than anything is educated SF voters.

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:43 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: they don’t exist. Anyone with an education would know that SF spout a load of crap.
    I’ll be voting FG, FF, Greens Labour Soc Dems and I’ll throw an independent on there too. I don’t know what order, but ABSF!!

Mute joe
    Favourite joe

@Séadna O’Grádaigh: really like what? Tax hard working middle class workers to give handouts to the lazy?

Mute Séadna O'Grádaigh
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:51 PM

@joe: No, your statement is actually based on nothing. SF policies actually want to give back to the people like you and me. One policy they want to introduce is to scrap USC on all income up to €30000. That includes you and me pal. And to fund this cut you might ask? Well they will increase USC for those earning €140k and more. Don’t overlook SF because you’ve become accustomed to it buddy

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:52 PM

@joe: you’re a howl stg

Mute Denis McClean
    Favourite Denis McClean
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:08 AM

@joe: I can actually see you throwing your toys out of the pram, even the FFG cuddly Teddy Bear with Leo lips and Micky Martin eyes. God Bless your innocence.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:17 AM

@joe: ‘Sinn Fein’s tax policies will ensure that no individual income under €140,000 will see any increase to their income tax rates’(SFs Alternative Budget 2020)

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:18 AM

@joe: the big jump in SF support in last two polls was undertaken by SF people too Joe? Wake up man!

Mute Colm Curran
    Favourite Colm Curran
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:36 AM

@joe: first time they ever worked

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:48 AM

@joe: Really? I have a PhD and I’ll vote SF. Just hope they don’t go into coalition with the FF/FG Tories.

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:02 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: This is not the case. SF 2020 budget made it clear they will eliminate / taper any PAYE tax allowance benefits if a person(s) , tax entity , earns over 100K . That means the a tax increase for a person on just over 100K of €660 while at 140K it will be €2500-€3000. Reason besides losing PAYE allowance they lose the benefit of Pension contribution offsets which means they 40% of 15K . Having got the space show all math ..

But the real sting in this policy is these thresholds apply to all Income tax entities .. and the vast majority of married couples and civil partnerships are accessed by revenue as jointly .. So a couple where one earns 60K and the other 45K they will fall into €100K bracket ..

Its the same tax policy which contributed to UK Lab loss..

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:18 AM

@XvSv: The UK Labour Party stated in Dec they would tax people more if they earned over £80K. But within 2 days of policy they had to admit that the policy would affect all jointly assessed couples .. so a about million people realised they going to be getting a severe tax raise even though they earned 45K/50K but their partner did also

SF policy is the exact same here and it has to be because the Revenue Commissioners have to a joint assess couple as such … so same basis of tax law in Ireland ..

can people solve yes , every couple should apply to RC to be separately assessed but you need to give them 12 months notice ..

However the result is the number earning over 100K will rapidly decrease probably by as much 100K persons.

So this is one of the major flaws in SF tax plan ..

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:36 AM

@XvSv: correction. Any couple can change their tax assessment from joint assessment to separate assessment if you inform Revenue before the commencement of the tax year. So it’s too late to change it for 2020 at this stage but you can change it in time for 2021.

Mute Nuala Mc Namara
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:12 AM

@XvSv: I’m quoting from their Alternative Budget 2020 which is fully costed and Pierce Doherty is excellent re finance:note :’no INDIVIDUAL income over €140,000 &NO increase in their income TAX RATES!Haven’t time to quote all of their Alternative budget.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:21 AM

@joe: with a statement like that i think it’s fairly obvious the level of education those willing to vote for the parties you have mentioned have.
    “SF spout a load of crap” i take it the rest of the parties are the beacon of truth and honesty?

Jan 21st 2020, 9:08 AM

@joe: bullshit! As someone who was anti terrorist organisation whatever the hue, someone who would NEVER consider voting for SF as they were were too near the gunmen. I have to admit that firstly all these parties have had their own gunmen and even supported the Nazi Party like FG. We have the situation that if we vote for FF or FG then there will be more of the same coming down the line. Homelessness, attacking ordinary families with their massive taxes, crime epidemic,looking after their wealthy supporters instead of all of their citizens. A health service that is third world… we have to break this stranglehold these two crooked organisations have on our country and if it means voting for SF then so be it. There is no alternative, we have to change things now.

Mute XvSv
    Favourite XvSv
    Jan 21st 2020, 10:22 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: I was referencing the very same document as well.

Taxation section ; page 21 ; here are the three key points relation to anyone earning over €100K.

x Introduce a 5% high income levy on individual incomes above €140,000 – €345 million
    X Taper out tax credits on incomes over €100,000 to €140,000 – €210 million
    X Introduce an additional 5% employers PRSI rate on portion of salaries over €100,000 – €352.75 million

Please note if married or civil partner couples are jointly assessed , they are treated as “ individual income”. There are over 100K people in this category most of which earn far less than 100K individually, but if their partner is working and they jointly assessed and their combined income is over 100K , then the Revenue will apply these proposed measures

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:18 PM

NO excuse now for not including SF in the leaders debate RTE

Mute Perlum Sprite
    Favourite Perlum Sprite
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:36 PM

@The Risen: frankly, I think SF would do better if they weren’t in it. In fact, they should disassociate themselves from it entirely

Mute Chaos Ape
    Favourite Chaos Ape
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:13 PM

@Perlum Sprite: we should all disassociate ourselves from RTE, full stop.

Mute David Corrigan
    Favourite David Corrigan
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:13 PM

Leo must be in an awful state over all of this. His posters are plastered all over Carlow tonight. I never seen party leader posters in this county before.

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:51 PM

@David Corrigan: that’s not unusual

Mute Alan McDonald
    Favourite Alan McDonald
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:56 PM

@David Corrigan: The man thinks he is the answer rather than the problem.

Mute Yvonne Clarke
    Favourite Yvonne Clarke

I hope the support for Sinn Féin continues to grow and is reflected in the ballot boxes.
    As for RTÉ allowing Mary Lou join the leaders debate? You have to ask yourself , what are they afraid of ?? A debate between FG and FF can be classed as nothing other than a cosy chat, as they’re the 2 cheeks of the same face. No difference.
    Bring on Mary Lou, RTÉ have no right to dictate politics.

Mute Perlum Sprite
    Favourite Perlum Sprite

@Yvonne Clarke: it would be better for SF to stay outside the FFG loop if they wish to be seen as an alternative to them. Personally, I believe if RTE do a turnaround and invite Marylou, she should refuse as a protest. That’s a better tactic imo.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:57 PM

@Perlum Sprite: I respectfully disagree. There’s no need for gimmicks. They should state their case openly and clearly and show the country how the finance ministry is better off in Pearse Doherty’s hands for one thing.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:39 AM

@Yvonne Clarke: Two names – Jim O’Callaghan and Simon Coveney. The former is Miriam O’Callaghan’s brother and Rory Coveney, Simon’s brother is the strategic advisor to the director general in RTE.

I hope that clears it up for you. This keeps the media firmly in the pockets of politicians, and they are intimate friends

Mute Nuala Mc Namara

So unlike some comments suggesting last poll was ‘only 1 poll’,this poll shows a huge swing towards SF & slight increases for SDs, Solidarity/PBP!!
    I hope that ALL voters are equally respected and that RTE,etc allow all Leaders of political parties on ….in the public interest, shameful to exclude them.!

Mute joe
    Favourite joe
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:55 PM

@Nuala Mc Namara: haha, what do the SF supporters say when the polls don’t suit them?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:37 PM

@joe: You’re not a Democrat then!

Mute Nuala Mc Namara

@joe: First of all ,it’s not up to you who people vote for,you do know we’re supposed to be a Democracy!
    Secondly,actually I’m a former Labour supporter.
    Thirdly as I’m impressed by SF’s policies & many of their TDs in the Dail & Oireachtas Committees eg Pierce Doherty,Eoin O Broin,etc I will vote for SF.Also impressed by SDs,I4C.Im not a member of SF.
    Lastly,it’s amazing the number of ‘new’ commentators that have appeared once General Election called,many posting under pseudonyms!

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:24 AM

@joe: shut up Joe Stalin!

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:28 AM

@Nuala Mc Namara: – Ógra FFG.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen

NO excuse now for RTE to block SF taking part in the leaders debate

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B

@The Risen: hand over their guns and tugs first and disband the army council

Mute Conan Campbell
    Favourite Conan Campbell

@TM B: Yawn

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow

@TM B: IRA guns decommissioned ages ago. Those of British Forces [who FF & FG supported] & their “loyalist” proxies, who deliberately targeted unarmed civilians, have yet to be decommissioned.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:44 PM

@TM B: Leo and Micky should debate that with Marylou on TV!

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:46 PM

@TM B: Perhaps Leo and his deputy leader Michael Martin should hand over the real criminals, The bankers who where never held to account for the economic destruction of this country . The politicians who facilitated in this gangsterism. Perhaps this would be a start.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B

@Seán Marlow: any your that gullible

Mute Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Favourite Lesley Harpur O Connell
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:17 PM

@TM B: tugs…

Mute TMcMahon
    Favourite TMcMahon
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:28 PM

FF = IMF, we can’t go back to that, even SF would be better. Onwards and upwards.

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor

@TMcMahon: no, no they wouldn’t

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:20 PM

Election 2020: FF edges ahead of FG as SF surges in new Ipsos MRBI poll

Mute Perlum Sprite
    Favourite Perlum Sprite
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:28 PM

@Dave Stewart: SF have surged before but it didn’t materialise on the day.

This time is a little different though, as it looks to me FF are stagnant, FG taking a relative hammering and SF possibly picking up FG deserters.

Independents are also stagnant – that imo, should help SF this time.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B

@Dave Stewart: SF will not get anything near 20% this Pat Leahy’s Dublin centric newspaper FG fall 6 % pts and the headline is 2points behind FF
    Opinion polls in all my 50 years never once have I or know anyone who has been

Reality is Leo will be Taoiseach as Dublin’s wealthy elite will decide

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B

@Dave Stewart: SF will not get anything near 20% this Pat Leahy’s Dublin centric newspaper FG fall 6 % pts and the headline is 2points behind FF
    Opinion polls in all my 50 years never once have I or know anyone who has been polled

Reality is Leo will be Taoiseach as Dublin’s wealthy elite will decide

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:25 AM

@TM B: do you do a stand up act, I’d say it’s hilarious

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:43 AM

@TM B: I have taken part in IPSOS , Red C and Amárach polls…just sayin’

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:51 PM

Not a massive SF supporter but WHAT choices have we been left with. It’s impossible to vote either of the top 2 parties taking into consideration their performances during their recent terms in power, if either are successful it will be ‘more of the same’ for sure. So I’m taking a leap of faith and giving SF my vote. Up 7 points in the opinion polls, it looks as though it could be a good election for them. We need them to sort out the pensionable age, bring it back to 65 (before this coming June please!!)

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:39 AM

@Paul Dooley: I’ve read their policies this time, I’m taking a jump of faith too an voting SF, something has to change, we cant keep this more of the same, it’s been 100 years of FF/FG. I’ve had enough.

Mute rumug
    Favourite rumug
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:41 AM

@Paul Dooley: And the only party that will do it.

Mute Chantelle
    Favourite Chantelle

Yup the Sinn Féin geddddupppp

Mute Conan Campbell
    Favourite Conan Campbell
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:46 PM

Stephen Donnelly is a weapons grade spoofer

Mute Ann Morris Doolan
    Favourite Ann Morris Doolan
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:41 PM

@Conan Campbell: oh God tonight on Clare Byrne he really did himself no favours.

Mute Conan Campbell
    Favourite Conan Campbell
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:07 AM

@Ann Morris Doolan: The entire panel, audience and Claire herself were laughing at him. It was glorious.

Mute John Hearne
    Favourite John Hearne

And still the media section 31 Sinn Fein

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:03 PM

@John Hearne: let’s hope they run you as number 2 in Waterford- David will get a record no1 vote – so enough to help you get the second seat – great chance of getting that 2nd seat for you

Mute Willy Mc Entire
    Favourite Willy Mc Entire
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:44 PM

Fear is in the air. RTE and FFGnzw1

Mute Ken Hickey
    Favourite Ken Hickey
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:43 PM

I don’t like sinn féin or their politics but they should be included in any debate.

Mute TM B
    Favourite TM B

52% available for a government led by SF

Mute Peadar O'Comain
    Favourite Peadar O'Comain
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:29 PM

Mary Lou is a fantastic speaker and would give Michael and Leo a good fight in a debate. Last week, at 11%, Sinn Fein were out and I see why RTE wanted the 2 Taoiseach candidates head to head. However, these numbers tell a different story…..Mary Lou and Sinn Fein deserve a podium for this debate!

Mute BillyCroft
    Favourite BillyCroft
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:27 PM

It’s going to be hilarious to see how badly all of the far-right parties like Renua, National Party, Irish Freedom Party and Aontú do!

Mute Conan Campbell
    Favourite Conan Campbell
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:37 PM

Was Alan Kelly drunk on Claire Byrne Live?

Mute Badger the witness
    Favourite Badger the witness
    Jan 21st 2020, 10:40 AM

@Conan Campbell: Drunk with power, I’ll never forget that image of him when he scraped in at the last election, not a nice person.

Mute Chantelle
    Favourite Chantelle

Yup the Sinn Fein geddddupppppp

Mute Joan Kelly
    Favourite Joan Kelly
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:47 PM

Come on Mary Lou ….

Mute One Direction
    Favourite One Direction
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:42 PM

The day SF get a day in this country will be a very sad day. Take my word for that. They operate in a totally different way.
    They can’t have it every way

Mute Angela McCarthy

@One Direction: Ya we’ll take your word for it as you asked!

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe

@One Direction: A lot of us are having very sad days now. People are literally mourning the loss of loved ones as a direct result of FFG’s botching of the health system. The day we’re free of their stranglehold on democracy will be a very good day

Mute Chantelle
    Favourite Chantelle

@One Direction: what difference will it make the country is already a mess

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:06 AM

@Chantelle: courtesy of FG/FF 100years and it’s about time it ended

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:33 AM

@One Direction: how would u know how they operate in political circles if they are excluded ? Makes me more interested in them, politics isnt a closed club for the boys as RTE seem to think it is.

Mute Do Vóta, do Rogha!
    Favourite Do Vóta, do Rogha!
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:27 PM

Hello voter Registration events (the freepost form, that doesn’t require a garda) tomorrow.

Time: 0900-1000.
    When: Tuesday, January 21st, 2020.

Time: 1300-1400.
    When Tuesday, January 21st 2020.

will be doing this as a private citizen, and not a soc dem!

Mute Brian Purcell
    Favourite Brian Purcell
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:40 PM

I genuinely believe that sinn Fein wont run enough candidates to realise their opportunity in this election – vote no1 – vote no.2 let’s see next election what da numbers look like – strike now whilst the irons hot

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:50 PM

@Brian Purcell: that could be a problem for them alright as callers to radio stations over the last week have gone crazy with people saying no more FG/FF and there were going sf this time. Theres definitely something going on with the public mood and last two polls seem to be reflected this!

Mute Jerriko17
    Favourite Jerriko17
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:09 PM

@Brian Purcell: They have 4 or 5 excellent TDs but that’s it. The rest are on the level of yer man, the mma guy up in Tallaght. They are destined for the opposition benches because they can’t agree with anyone and no one can agree with them.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan

@Jerriko17: Can you name 4 or 5 excellent TDs in FFG?

Mute Ebeneezer Goode

@Teresa Ryan: Can you name one?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:39 PM

@Ebeneezer Goode: No.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:53 AM

@Jerriko17:
    As opposed to FFGLab, who don’t even have 1.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:50 PM

The public are correct when they say RTE do not want a government without FG or FF in it.

Mute Giller
    Favourite Giller

Imagine if SF/ IRA through some miracle got into government. With their hands on sensitive departments like Justice/ Defense god knows what they would do. Their stated policy is to abolish the Special Criminal Court which shows the the way they think on justice.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:00 PM

@Giller: Shock horror. They want all trials to be held in the same fashion with the same judicial processes. Burn the heretics!

Mute rumug
    Favourite rumug
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:00 PM

@Giller: what would they do FFG troll?

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:01 PM

@Giller: and it’s not a miracle that’ll get them in. It’s the arrogance and ineptitude of their rivals

Mute Chantelle
    Favourite Chantelle
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:02 PM

@Giller: the justice system is as messed up already as it can be we need stricter sentences

Mute Seán Mac Brádaigh
    Favourite Seán Mac Brádaigh

@Giller: That isn’t their policy. Do keep up.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:27 PM

@Giller: if SF won the election, I’d imagine justice and defence departments being up all night burning incriminating documents.

Mickey D woud have to set in the army to stop it.

Mute Conan Campbell
    Favourite Conan Campbell
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:42 PM

@Giller: The Journal did a fact check in 2016. Claim: Organisations including Amnesty, the UN, and the ICCL want the Special Criminal Court abolished – Sinn Féin

Verdict: TRUE

Should the UN be abolished? Please educate yourself before making a fool of yourself.

Mute Giller
    Favourite Giller
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:11 AM

@rumug: Didn’t take very long to get permission from your army council to comment. I presume they’re on 24/7 alert. Careful now you don’t blow their cover.

Mute Giller
    Favourite Giller
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:16 AM

@Conan Campbell:Careful now the army council may not approve.

Mute Angela McCarthy

@Giller: or you could leave the justice ministry with a fella who wants the RIC back.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene

@Giller: lol the fear all you FF/FG try to whip up, ur hilarious.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:53 AM

@Giller: Maybe stop MI5 running the Justice/ Defense Depts and the Gardaí?

Mute Michael Sage
    Favourite Michael Sage
    Jan 21st 2020, 1:00 AM

@Giller: ask Maurice Mc Cabe!!!

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:57 AM

@Giller: And imagine if FG/B&Tans got back in….but there is not much chance of that happening.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 3:58 AM

@Teresa Ryan: All of the departments would have the shredders going round the clock.

Mute Giller
    Favourite Giller
    Jan 21st 2020, 6:52 AM

@Michael Sage: Ask Gerry Mc Cabes family.

Jan 21st 2020, 9:16 AM

@Angela McCarthy: and whose father wanted Jews to be expelled from Ireland when he was in the Dail.

Jan 21st 2020, 9:16 AM

@Seán Marlow: MI5 would do a better job than the present lemons

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:13 PM

@Giller: think suffer from scary monster syndrome

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:44 AM

So they black list SINN FEIN and people call them murderers.What about all the suicides caused by FF/FG because of the banks? what about the people who took their own lives because the mental health service is non existent?.What about all the people dying on the streets.? What about all the old people on trollies and no home help funding to bring them home,dying from neglect and depression.
    Do not preach about murder,we have a dying society and it’s all down to “the saintly” angelic FF/FG who only favour the rich.They even put an enormous tax on vitamins.Its Dickensian,keep the poor down and unhealthy and they will have a short life expectancy.

Mute United Ireland
    Favourite United Ireland
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:14 PM

Time for change FG/FF out to f#ck with them…… Sinn Fein all the way hope all the young people get out and vote they can’t be any worse then what’s there now

Mute David Smith
    Favourite David Smith
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:32 PM

SF got my vote sick of the same old waffle let’s have some new waffle and why can’t young people have free transport old people have it and they have a pension to pay for it.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:42 AM

@David Smith: Come on Davy, surely they dish you out huge big waffles in the FF/FG waffle parties

Mute Dwayne Jordan
    Favourite Dwayne Jordan
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:16 PM

What stupid people did they poll who said they would vote for FF

Mute Gordon Walsh
    Favourite Gordon Walsh
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:20 PM

@Dwayne Jordan: Not stupid, given it’s an Irish Times vote it’s generally going to be affluent voters – FF/FG love the rich!

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:31 PM

@Gordon Walsh: Having money doesn’t mean your not stupid……

Mute Brendan McNeice
    Favourite Brendan McNeice
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:55 PM

Time to get send the West Brit Tories an unambiguous message from the people.
    The crap you are currently serving up is not acceptable by every benchmark.

Mute Sheila Hurley Earls
    Favourite Sheila Hurley Earls
    Jan 21st 2020, 5:43 AM

And still no invite to RTE, they are excluded from debate and I wonder why ???? Are they all afraid of something…

Mute Jono
    Favourite Jono
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:02 AM

This is doing rte some damage indeed,if ever there was a reason to bin your tv license this is it

Mute Thomas Corrigan
    Favourite Thomas Corrigan
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:51 PM

So who’s going in to coalition with Sinn Fein

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:54 PM

@Thomas Corrigan: everyone who said they wouldn’t!.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 4:06 AM

@Angela McCarthy: The oul’ gravy train is far too appealing for politicians to decline and they’ll jump into bed with anyone, when the chips are down.

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:49 AM

The media may block them at their peril…SF are getting some great publicity from it.

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:25 AM

Nobody ever imagined a day when Trump would be president or Johnson would be PM yet here we are. Our national broadcaster may want to try and supress the biggest threat to FF/FG but like it or not SF need to be taken seriously.

Mute JustJack
    Favourite JustJack
    Jan 21st 2020, 8:13 AM

No surprise re the SF surge. The key concerns of the electorate are being articulated by their best performers, Doherty and O’Broin, who are miles ahead of anything offered by FFG.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Jan 21st 2020, 8:47 AM

From RTEs own Commitment Statement “
    Deliver content relevant to all Irish
    audiences, serving everyone, everywhere“ and
    “Put the audience at the centre of decision making”.. to ALL IRISH AUDIENCES etc. etc. to me excluding SF from the debate is excluding said audiences and breaking their own commitment!! Let the audience and the wider audience decide and include SF.. what are they (RTE) hiding or are they just proving they are pyppets for FFFG??

Mute Sheila Hurley Earls
    Favourite Sheila Hurley Earls
    Jan 21st 2020, 5:40 AM

And still no invite to RTÉ this is not fair, what about freedom of speech

Mute Niall Moonan
    Favourite Niall Moonan
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:32 AM

Time now for RTÉ to run an anti SF prime time special

Mute Dave O'Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O'Keeffe
    Jan 21st 2020, 6:49 AM

What happened to the 12 point gap? Oh right, small sample size and a poll done during the RIC Commemoration debacle.

Mute camio55
    Favourite camio55
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:32 AM

Opinion Polls are not what determines participants in a Pre-election debate. SF does not warrant inclusion at this point, there share of the election results over the passed number of years leaves them to be a small minority party. No noise and victimhood status makes the position any different.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:44 AM

@camio55: yaw loike

Mute Garbhán Ó Ruis
    Favourite Garbhán Ó Ruis
    Jan 21st 2020, 8:36 AM

We’d all hate to FG get back in. The main parties have mindsets that are too insular and temporal. Remaining isolated, failing to learn from other countries and not considering the future led to our cultural downfall to the English. The only party that doesn’t have this narrow mindset is the Green Party. They consider the wider world and Ireland’s part in it. Their timeframe is not 5yrs. Ireland could easily become a world leader in wind and wave energy technology. Ireland needs to learn from properly-run countries like the Scandavian countries and the Netherlands rather than just the UK and the US world. The Green Party are not without their problems, but I think we all agree that FFG got us into these problems and they’re not gonna get us out.

Mute padr4
    Favourite padr4

Ok let Mary Lou participate, but let Brendan Howlin & Rosin Shorthall and Eamon Ryan participate also as,they are all potential coalition junior partners, not potential lead party coalition contenders,.The suggestion that the shinners could lead a govt is nonsense, just another media stunt.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:52 AM

@padr4: Yes- let all those leaders participate – that’s what everyone has been saying, you poor fella.

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:17 AM

The irony is that a vote for SF is a vote for “FFG”, because with Sinn Fein as the third biggest party, the king maker who’ll eventually take the fall, as is the way in Irish politics, neither of the other two parties will go into government with them and there’s no one else to go into government with, so the options are perpetual elections with no government able to form, given the tribal nature again of Irish politics, or for FF and FG go into government together, rotating who gets Taoiseach.

This is the feedback loop created by the rise of SF.

If you really want to remove at least one of FF/FG from government, you should be voting labour/green/social democrat.

Mute Sam Greene
    Favourite Sam Greene

@Sean Fahey: Haha anything to stop people voting SF.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:49 AM

@Sean Fahey: and to think I took you as a serious commentator. You really think either of the three FF/FG/Lab who said they wouldnt touch SF, will say the same after the election? You think Leo or Micky would prefer to operate as a confidence and supply option to the other, with out the ministerial posts, as a preferred option to coalescing with SF?

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Jan 21st 2020, 1:36 AM

@Angela McCarthy: I’m not taking a position, just stating a fact, neither FG or FF will go into government with SF, so it’s inevitable they’ll just go back into government together again unless there’s what they perceive to be a viable junior coalition party.

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:41 AM

@Sean Fahey: Election 2020: FF edges ahead of FG as SF surges in new Ipsos MRBI poll

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:15 PM

@Sean Fahey: the green party they with the help of ff kiboshed were the hell have u been

Mute Punters Pal
    Favourite Punters Pal
    Jan 21st 2020, 7:20 PM

Out out FFFG

Mute John McSweeney
    Favourite John McSweeney
    Jan 21st 2020, 6:55 AM

Is everyone in this comments section a Simm Féin supporter? Based on the numbers they do have an argument but it seems very suspicious that there is such a volume just here all at once. Like it is a campaign to flood the comments.

Mute Chantelle
    Favourite Chantelle
    Jan 21st 2020, 1:10 PM

@John McSweeney: nope we’re just sick of how the country is operating the last couple of years and we want change

Mute r-k
    Favourite r-k
    Jan 20th 2020, 11:59 PM

I hate ff/fg but as for sf, the feminist, gay Muslim party, they can get f#*cked

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jan 21st 2020, 4:13 AM

@r-k: And what your comment clears up, is the fact that you are misogynistic racist

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Jan 21st 2020, 6:47 AM

Vote Independent, do the right thing. Your country needs you to

Mute jnulty17@gmail.com
    Favourite jnulty17@gmail.com
    Jan 21st 2020, 10:24 AM

@Christopher Byrne: independebt eh

Mute John McSweeney
    Favourite John McSweeney
    Jan 21st 2020, 6:55 AM

Is everyone in this comments section a Sinn Féin supporter? Based on the numbers they do have an argument but it seems very suspicious that there is such a volume just here all at once. Like it is a campaign to flood the comments.

Mute miju irl
    Favourite miju irl
    Jan 21st 2020, 8:06 AM

@John McSweeney: I’m a FF voter and I think exclusion of SF is actually disgraceful.

Debates should always be leaders of all parties because all parties have potential to be junior coalition / tanaiste at least.

Mute Angela McCarthy
    Jan 21st 2020, 9:39 AM

@John McSweeney: John, you can be lazy, even paranoid and excuse all this anger and say all the posters on here are SF members, Or you can alternative wake up and realise that more and more members of the public are opening their eyes and can see whats going on.

I would suggest this matter of TV censorship has created an increase in new SF supporters and that’s probably what you are witnessing!

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner

Big change from yesterdays poll

Mute Sean Byrne
    Favourite Sean Byrne
    Jan 21st 2020, 9:33 PM

25+23+21+5+18+8+2+2 = 104% “when undecided voters are excluded”?

Mute Nicholas O'Halloran
    Favourite Nicholas O'Halloran
    Jan 21st 2020, 12:47 AM

Where does this polls exist?

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:39 AM

@Nicholas O’Halloran: ha ha

Mute Dave Stewart
    Favourite Dave Stewart
    Jan 21st 2020, 2:42 AM

@Nicholas O’Halloran: Election 2020: FF edges ahead of FG as SF surges in new Ipsos MRBI poll

Mute Connoroconner
    Favourite Connoroconner
    Jan 20th 2020, 10:43 PM

Big change from yesterday’s