You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe Alamy

Donohoe rules out Celtic Tiger style tax breaks for developers, putting him at odds with Taoiseach

Last week, Taoiseach Micheál Martin said the Government would look at tax breaks for property developers.

FINANCE MINISTER PASCHAL Donohoe has today strongly come out against the reintroduction of celtic tiger-style tax breaks for property developers. 

The comments from the Fine Gael minister signal that the two government parties are at odds in their approach to tackling the housing crisis. 

Last week, Taoiseach Micheál Martin told reporters that the Government is exploring possible tax breaks for private housing developers in a bid to boost supply.

Speaking today in Brussels, Donohoe appeared to push back against such proposals. 

“What I’m not going to do is reintroduce or propose the very tax reliefs that did such harm to our economy and the building of homes for many years in Ireland,” he said.

He noted that broad tax reliefs for developers, such as what is known as Section 23 relief, have proven to be “very, very costly”.

“And we’ve already acknowledged that it’s very difficult to identify how they can be targeted. I don’t believe those policies are the ways in which we will make progress in the delivery of more homes,” Donohoe said.

The Section 23 tax relief gave property investors generous tax breaks for renovating or buying properties for the rental market before the 2008 crash. 

These properties were largely in inner city areas. 

Investor and property groups have been lobbying the government to reintroduce such relief in recent times, arguing that it would help increase housing supply and the supply of rental properties specifically. 

Last week, when asked about what tax breaks are being explored, Taoiseach Micheál Martin made the point that he wants to see supply stimulated on brownfield sites in cities. These are sites that were previously developed but are no longer in use. 

Later today, a Cabinet sub committee on housing will meet to discuss proposed solutions to the housing crisis. 

Last week, Tánaiste Simon Harris revealed that a revised Housing for All plan would be published by Government.

The announcement signals a possible shift in Government policy after it fell short of its housing delivery targets for last year. 

The target was to build 40,000 homes in 2024, but only 30,300 were built. 

A recent report from Davy Stockbrokers found that 90,000 homes need to be built in Ireland every year to 2031 to meet demand. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

80 Comments
    Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Favourite Patrick Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:08 PM

Developers getting tax cuts won’t mean cheaper homes.

It means two things.

1) developer pocketing the money, but no decrease in property prices. But increased profits for them.

2) Politicians getting brown envelopes. Possibly a wasted tribunal in 5-6 years.

Developers don’t want to build houses they want to make money. If they can make as much money by not building and getting tax breaks that’s what they will do.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:37 PM

@Patrick Kavanagh: So, you can apply your negative ideology to every human activity. Working people no matter how serious and sincere they are about looking after their duties are “GREEDY MONEY GRABBERS” stop reading lefty psychological material and rejoin the goodness world.

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:45 PM

@thomas molloy: business is about making money,if you can make the same profit from half the amount of units then you will build half the amount of units

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:57 PM

@thomas molloy:

Yep and that’s what happens.

The Celtic tiger developers walked away owning billions. The state was left on the hook for this. When I say the state I mean the person on minimum wage paying USC.

Some of these developers are. Johnny ronan and Richard Barrett are back developing despite leaving the tax payer on the hook for 1.7 billion.

In my view the state should hire the builders directly to build on government land. Fix a price before going to contract.
    Take the profit out of social housing and some affordable housing.

Not all property developers are money grabbers some are honest decent people.

But the system is not set up in a manner the more expensive the home the larger the profit they make. They make appropriately 20% per home so on a 500k home thats 100k.

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:17 PM

@Patrick Kavanagh: in my experience in the industry that’s about right in terms of profit. But the govt won’t build directly on state labd (our land), no money in that for all the heads in the trough.
    As an aside, they just announced a 5m euro contract to refurbish officers barracks in Cork for 20 officers, that’s 250,000 per officer, the land is already provided, you could build a 2 bed house for each of them comfortably within that budget. A synic would say Brown envelopes modern style in the taoisechs back yard.

Mute Fionn Bohane
    Favourite Fionn Bohane
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:30 PM

@Eddie Garvey: it wouldn’t be the first time something smelled fishy…
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/arid-20144327.html

Mute Patrick MC Dermott
    Favourite Patrick MC Dermott
    Feb 17th 2025, 3:40 PM

@thomas molloy: It’s 164 to 10. I think you have lost the election.

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:03 PM

@Patrick MC Dermott: that’s sad. You’re counting the thumbs up here as a yardstick to who is winning an argument? Make up your own mind, don’t rely on this echo chamber of a place to take over your brain. Please DO NOT give me a thumbs up people. I don’t want them.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:14 PM

@thomas molloy: Property development is not some sincere altruistic pursuit conducted for the benefit of humanity.

If you applied the same logic as currently exist in Irelands housing crisis to another human activity the delivery to market and sale of bread, you would have the existing population of Ireland, shops with bare shelves and the owners of those shops only opening occasionally throughout the year, to offer an annual total of 35,000 loaves of bread at €350,000 each, on a first come first served basis, with no limit on the number of loaves any one customer could buy.

And our goverment ministers issuing statements about they were now considering offering shop owners tax incentives to encourage them to deliver 50,000 loaves per annum until 2030, rising to 60,000 from then on..

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:23 PM

@Dvsespaña: that’s an accurate picture of USSR

Mute Eddie Garvey
    Favourite Eddie Garvey
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:26 PM

@Dvsespaña: very true, but you can make your own bread, it’s not a carefully controlled market so the produce has to be competitive or else consumers will go elsewhere, housing on the other hand is carefully controlled by govt and developers, so greed can flourish.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:30 PM

@sean weir: No. If that was the case there would be a scramble to build houses.

Mute thomas molloy
    Favourite thomas molloy
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:37 PM

@sean weir: If the GREED THEORY was valid then they would build twice as many not half. This is needed to create sufficient stock.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:51 PM

@thomas molloy: It’s not, but you don’t contribute fully formed arguments to any discussion, just glib soundbites or throwaway one-liners.

Fixed pure ideological regimes, such as capitalism, communism, socialism and even dictatorships, all suffer from the same flaw, the people that either find themselves in or gravitate towards holding the reins of power, sooner or later believe themselves to be a breed apart that is more deserving of reward and they hold everyone else in contempt.

The responses to and treatment of issues such as housing, health care, employment practices and income, education, and childhood poverty all illustrate the underlying contempt for their population regardless of the prevailing alleged ideology.

Mute Dvsespaña
    Favourite Dvsespaña
    Feb 17th 2025, 6:09 PM

@thomas molloy: You obviously don’t understand the current situation, property developers and builders are building less housing and by controlling the supply to market, they are not only maintaining current high prices, but they are inflating prices even further.

Meaning that they can build increasingly less housing and make the same or even more money for doing so. The only thing that would alter this situation as it stands without government intervention, is if the demand for housing dropped, but given the perfect storm of an ongoing housing crisis, and increasing population in need of housing and hedgefund speculation in the domestic and commercial property rental markets in Ireland, this situation will only get worse.

Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2025, 7:49 PM

@thomas molloy:
    This would destroy demand.

Demand 101 is keep supply low that creates a artificial high demand.

People sleeping in cars for weekends for the chance of getting a house.

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:11 PM

“Those who do not learn from the past, are doomed to repeat it”

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 17th 2025, 3:02 PM

@Brian Hunt: nothing new about that.
    The human race seems to a destructive steak. As was, As is, As ever shall be, world without end, amen.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 17th 2025, 4:06 PM

@offside again: good grief !
    *have a destructive streak*.

Mute TheGood Feign
    Favourite TheGood Feign
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:34 PM

@offside again: the human as a destructive steak…..reminds me of that old Twilight Zone episode with a young Richard Kiel in it.

Mute Patrick Newell
    Favourite Patrick Newell
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:51 PM

You can almost smell the stench of the recession at this stage….with FFG its a matter if when not if and how hard its gonna hit this time

Buckle up folks cos doesnt matter who ya voted for or agenda, we are all in it deep

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:57 PM

@Patrick Newell: that’s a conspiracy theory

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:58 PM

@Joe Willis: explain what you mean.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:59 PM

@Ross: his claims are a complete conspiracy theory

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:22 PM

@Patrick Newell: 100 %

Mute John Paul Long
    Favourite John Paul Long
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:30 PM

@Patrick Newell: This time, they can’t say we all “partied.”

Mute Shimo F
    Favourite Shimo F
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:33 PM

@Patrick Newell: hoop talk

Mute You Cant Be Serious
    Favourite You Cant Be Serious
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:37 PM

@Patrick Newell: global recession brought on by USA ?

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:42 PM

@Joe Willis: how can you say that?
    This govt hasn’t a clue how to run the economy,if the yank stop the corporate tax gift forcing massive tariffs and we lose major companies,the bunch we have in charge won’t know what to do , honestly Harris and Martin have never had to work in the private sector,they have no idea how to solve any problems that come along ,look at housing and health care fecked for years ,and Martin was the man the formed the HSE in it’s current form .

Mute sean weir
    Favourite sean weir
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:46 PM

@Luke Littler: wtf are you talking about

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:54 PM

@sean weir: Oh,and you think if Sf or the Sd’s were in charge they would steer us out of a global recession without anyone making any compromises….please.Im not a fan of this government but they would be better placed if we do hit a recession than the other lot……The other lot have never ran a country so I’d prefer a crowd that have.

Mute Ross
    Favourite Ross
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:04 PM

@Joe Willis: that’s not an explanation.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:08 PM

@sean weir: according to a book I read, the Irish have plenty of talent ; unfortunately ; running a country isn’t one of them.

Mute Brian D'Arcy
    Favourite Brian D'Arcy
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:29 PM

@Joe Willis: No, our economy is boom to bust, basic fact. Yet the bist never hits the rich because the ordinary people are faced to bail them out. Let the banks and the rich fall this time.

Mute offside again
    Favourite offside again
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:32 PM

@offside again: Ireland is too small to be a republic, and too big to be a lunatic asylum. We walk a fine line.
    My youngest wasn’t too impressed with Waterford but loved Cork, Kerry, sligo and Mayo. He visited Donegal and Northern Ireland and loads of other places. He loved Ireland. Thankfully he knows nothing about the journal.ie and the comments.
    But he did say that he that he wouldn’t want to live there. Like me he prefers France but he’d also like to spend some time in Canada. He’s in the forestry trade, but I’m trying to dissuade him. Plenty of forests left in Europe, especially France, Poland etc and Scandinavia.

Mute Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterford hurlers
    Favourite Mayo seem to be the football equivalent of Waterford hurlers
    Feb 17th 2025, 3:42 PM

@Luke Littler: I can only assume if the government is working hard to keep its promises to you, you must be a refugee or a pretend one. This government isn’t helping Irish people in any way

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Feb 17th 2025, 3:45 PM

@Patrick Newell: Some of ye just want us to be in a recession.Just to say ye are right.

Mute Philip Kennedy
    Favourite Philip Kennedy
    Feb 17th 2025, 4:13 PM

@Patrick Newell: another soothsayer.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Feb 17th 2025, 4:51 PM

@John Paul: Good one ha ha, I’m not a fan of this government yada yada and then slates the opposition.

Mute PhiBo
    Favourite PhiBo
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:24 PM

@Patrick Newell: What goes up must come down. That’s a fundamental law of capitalism. The trick is to be able to make enough to tide you over and get out before things go bad.

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:49 PM

@Seanie: yes,exactly like I said,can you not understand?….i don’t like this government but I like the opposition less.very easy concept to understand really.

Mute John Paul
    Favourite John Paul
    Feb 17th 2025, 5:50 PM

@PhiBo: We’ll it’s all down with socialism….so I’d rather capitalism…..until something new comes around.

Mute Seanie
    Favourite Seanie
    Feb 17th 2025, 8:07 PM

@John Paul: like I said…ha ha, yeah, good one.

Mute mark sheehan
    Favourite mark sheehan
    Feb 17th 2025, 8:45 PM

@Patrick Newell:
    last recession was world wide, but the 99% of anti government posters on this site tend to paint a picture to suit their own narrative.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:40 PM

Fine Gael handed our blocks of apartments to the vulture funds for a song ,gave them rental income tax exemptions so the can now rent 2 bed shoe boxes for 3k a month tax free as Enda Kenny used to say “a great little country to do business in” it sure is

Mute Dere
    Favourite Dere
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:56 PM

Good cop, bad cop….all for the pantomime show.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:59 PM

Martin, he never lost it he is itching for the Galway tent again

Mute Gerry Lamont
    Favourite Gerry Lamont
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:59 PM

Martin was in the very government that facilitated this to their building mates during the boom. When the economy imploded he had the brass neck to publically state that there had been no bank bailout. It just shows that this effing clown has learnt nothing. Private bank debt was put on me, my children and their children because of this pig and his FF party. It would be nice for once if Donohoe stuck to his guns and didn’t buckle under pressure from a twit with no economic knowledge.

Mute Clau O'Riordan
    Favourite Clau O'Riordan
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:24 PM

Joke as always

Mute Joe Willis
    Favourite Joe Willis
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:59 PM

Just bring in more immigrants. It’s that simple. More immigrants equals a better economy we were told. So what are you waiting for FFG? Last year we brought 149,000. This year let’s make it 500,000.

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:16 PM

@Joe Willis: The Healy Rae’s welcome this

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:21 PM

@Joe Willis: Let’s put the IPAS army to work!

Mute You Cant Be Serious
    Favourite You Cant Be Serious
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:38 PM

@Chop Chop: in Ukraine as peace keepers

Mute Chop Chop
    Favourite Chop Chop
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:07 PM

@You Cant Be Serious: Or better yet, in their own countries.

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:35 PM

Just more dithering and stalling by Government the same as their so called crack down on the number of Airbnb short term rentals, all talk about a property registration and planning permission.
    The solution is just a simple two questions
    Do you charge a daily rate on your property for maximum profit if so then you pay
    60% tax on rental income
    Do you offer a long term lease on your property for a minimum of one year or more then you pay 25 % tax on your rental income – The Spanish and other European government’s are taking action short term rental properties and so should the Irish government

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:17 PM

Lol! “A recent report from Davy Stockbrokers”.. open you wallets livestock

Mute Helena Camella Cummins
    Favourite Helena Camella Cummins
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:34 PM

I would trust Paschal. He knows all the bills waiting to be paid.Just the deportations alone wiĺ cost a fortune. The mental health time bomb coming down the track will.need to be paid for
    If Mr
    O Donoghue turns out to be our Musk and cuts waste in Co.Councils OPW and other Quangos I”ĺl be a happy bunny.My favourite annoyance is Womens National Council. Who are they. What strata of women do they purport to represent. Have they been elected. The other is the Arts Council
    Ran away with themselves under Catherine Martin.

Mute Gerry Caden
    Favourite Gerry Caden
    Feb 17th 2025, 7:01 PM

The obvious solution is for the Government to build the houses.

Mute Pauline Cahill
    Favourite Pauline Cahill
    Feb 17th 2025, 6:19 PM

Here we go again government looking after the developers again pity they don’t look after the ordinary workers

Mute Thesaltyurchin
    Favourite Thesaltyurchin
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:46 PM

If you want something done? you have to do it yourself.

Mute sakk sa
    Favourite sakk sa
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:57 PM

Quam Babatunde.

Mute Jack Hayes
    Favourite Jack Hayes
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:28 PM

@sakk sa: RIP

Mute Ronan Mc
    Favourite Ronan Mc
    Feb 17th 2025, 12:49 PM

BRING BACK THE BOOM!!

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:02 PM

Nothing wrong with developers making money, as long as lending is under control? Better the developers get it than the landlords?

Mute Ckeego
    Favourite Ckeego
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:05 PM

@brian o’leary: And sure if they lose their shirt, we’ll just bail them out, right? Can you imagine gambling it all in Cheltenham in March and coming home and asking for a hand? Only in Ireland

Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:10 PM

@brian o’leary:

Thats the problem the just want to make money not build houses.

Hence they are throttling pipeline to decrease supply and increase profits.

Less work more money.

Mute Sean Buckley
    Favourite Sean Buckley
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:24 PM

@brian o’leary: I think you’ll find a lot of developers are also landlords.I remember during the boomtimes a local developer used to keep a few houses in each estate and put them into their sons&daughters names, so they could not be touched when things went pop.Now they want to offer a lot of the same developers tax breaks, we’ve already bailed them out once.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:29 PM

@Patrick Kavanagh: that would require them working together, which would be impossible as they tend to be very self centered.

Mute brian o'leary
    Favourite brian o'leary
    Feb 17th 2025, 1:30 PM

@Ckeego: ‘as long as lending is under control ‘

Mute Patrick Kavanagh
    Feb 17th 2025, 2:05 PM

@brian o’leary:
    My local town all the petrol stations charge the same.
    It is in there best interests to do so.

If you build 10 houses at 400k that’s 20% profit.They make 80k per home 800k total.

If they build 8 homes at 500k at 20% profit that’s 800k profit.

What would you rather.
    Same money, less work, it’s human nature. What’s more if you keep demand high you keep profits high.

Mute Ckeego
    Favourite Ckeego
    Feb 17th 2025, 3:53 PM

@brian o’leary: For sure! But has it ever??

Mute Tony
    Favourite Tony
    Feb 17th 2025, 6:51 PM

He’ll be put in his place. Meehole will see to that. Roll on Tiger 2

Mute Andrew R
    Favourite Andrew R
    Feb 17th 2025, 6:21 PM

Let 1st time buyers claim back the vat on a new house and put a minimum time limit on it that they have to own it.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Feb 17th 2025, 7:58 PM

Build the bloody houses and stop cribbing. Either build or shut up the construction industry is not the St Vincent de Paul whose employees deserve a decent wage

Mute Scott Milne
    Favourite Scott Milne
    Feb 18th 2025, 8:43 AM

Good, we are looking as though our economy is overheating, don’t add more fuel to the fire