You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
AN AUSTRALIAN MAN has lost a five year legal battle to have a drawing of a penis officially recognised as his signature.
Jared Hyams told the Sydney Morning Herald that the whole thing started as a joke when he scribbled a caricature of a penis in the signature box on a change of address form.
“I thought it would be a laugh; they would approve it and next year I would sign something different,” he said.
“But when I did this signature all of a sudden the shit hit the fan. I was receiving letters and phone calls telling me I couldn’t have it. I thought, that’s interesting, why not?”
Whoops!
We couldn't find this Tweet
His drivers’ licence application was initially rejected and the case was thrown out of court twice. Hyams was told his behaviour bordered on contempt and was accused of wasting the court’s time.
The 33 year old spent the next five years battling with state and federal government agencies as he decided to officially adopt the penis signature and started applying for a passport, drivers’ licence and proof of age card.
His passport application was refused because the Department of Trade and Foreign Affairs said it could “constitute sexual harassment”.
However the penis signature did slip through in a few applications. Two driver’s licences bear the penis doodle, as do his proof of age and health care cards.
The five year signature war spurred Hyams to start a law degree which he is due to complete this year.
Whoops!
We couldn't find this Tweet
“What a signature is comes down to the function, not the actual form,” he said.
“Generally, it’s a person putting a mark on a piece of paper by their own hand. As soon as you start defining what a signature is you run into problems – if it’s meant to be someone’s name how do we define that because most signatures are just illegible scribble.”
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
There’s a certain irony about the journal publishing an article about how it shouldn’t be an issue yet at the same time publishing multiple articles about the same.
Very few Ravens arrive at Castle Journal, that’s why you get that De ja vu feeling when reading every second article also I just found out Pat Kenny is gone to Newstalk
I was disgusted by what I learned about Leo varadkar yesterday. Found out he’s only 36(no idea), a doctor (I’d Forgotten) and he’s a cabinet minister(knew about this obviously). Feel like a bit of an underachiever now. Still at least I don’t have to listen to various vultures in the media discuss my private life for the next few days, at least I have that
I think that’s covered by politicial privilege. All Politicians can drink drive from work and all staggs have free access to the Phoenix park for mating.
I agree ..If i was clever I would be confused by two issues on his coming out …First off would be that it deflects from the disaster that is the HSE and second would be that if he and he will run to be the next leader of the FG party its better to get it out of the way now
I remember some survey or other back in the late 90s and according to this survey the most common name among lesbians at the time was Tanya.
#ronsdodgyfactoftheday
Agreed Ailbhe, I think you are right, comments in my house on the day were… “so? – Is that it” and this morning “why are the media still going on about it – do the press think there’s something more in the story?” Personally it’s a non event but the media do seem to be making a lot about it.
Not as many rights as you though. But we should be grateful for what we have and take the abuse you give on a regular basis. Sorry for speaking out of turn Lindabar
Anyway Finbar. Mean while back on the planet where there was enough oxygen and nobody ever wore tinfoil hats.
Everybody took a deep breath and were of the opinion ‘thats nice Leo but would you mind getting back to work as minister for health and bloody well do something about the HSE and its top heavy management.’
It also seems like the timing of the whole thing is very convenient.
I mean, a week ago he was the incompetent minister for health, who was missing when we hit record numbers on trolleys, now he’s a brave young man, who happens to like men, not exactly news, and not really a big deal, he isn’t the first in the Dail to do that, even this term.
My sexuality is irrelevant to anybody but my partner and the unfortunately those that poorly interpreted the constitution. Trust me, once I’m legally equal, my sexuality won’t be an issue.
It was a master genius public stunt by Leo .. Ppl need to be careful about criticizing him as minister or you could be accused of homophobia . Now all of a sudden the hse crisis is gone away cos Leo claimed something that no one gives a shit about .
What did Leo do? Being an arrogant self-obsessed tool? Ah no, the gay thing, no, being gay doesn’t excuse you from anything. So there, some non-gay bashing for Leo.
It is all clearly a distraction, trying to make FG like a modern-thinking party. I’m delighted he has come out, but I’m certain it was well known within FG, so this whole thing of coming out to Mr Kenny is obviously a joke.
We are living through an event of mass catharsis in Irish Society; the reality is that Ireland’s track record with regard to gay people has been less than glowing, and gay people in turn carry the societal scars of this; whether this generation of straight people fully appreciate that or not.
A few months of public bridge-building isn’t too much of a price to pay to right that wrong.
There is a greater point here though, and that is that open discussion of “gay issues” in the media is providing our other minorities with tangible hope that we as a society in Ireland are coming of age, and that we all can share an equal place in this Republic. It is important that this happens. not just for gay people, but for many others in society who have felt marginalised for a long time – like disabled people, the travelling community etc. So hopefully when we’re done “getting over” gay people coming out, we can move on to righting our societal wrongs against other minority groups who are most deserving of a big group hug from the rest of the Nation.
Now this comment I find very interesting. It is framed to paint the past, present and any future wrongs afflicted on the gay population. I was conversing with two different gay man at the weekend, and this issue came up. Our conclusion was that Ireland is not at all a bad place for gay persons to live, one might even say it’s up there with the best of them. But what we do have in Ireland, is one massive guilt complex, for all the wrongs our society inflicted on the gay populous historically. One effect of this is that right or wrong, we will do anything to appease our guilt. The next victim of this guilt, could well be marriage itself. We must stop and think, is marriage, that institution which joins a man, a woman, and their children together, fair game!
@Paddy: You were making so much sense until you went off on your tangent about marriage equality… the “its not bad, ergo its good enough” attitude is not a robust point of view for the majority to adopt about a minority, especially in a Republic. Societal healing won’t properly occur until all of citizens are equal before the law.
Besides, my broader point wasn’t about gay people, it was about the need to rehabilitate Irish society in light of our treatment of marginalised sections of it – of which there are too many. The gay population just happen to be today’s poster boy – before Christmas it was the elderly in State care, before that the victims of institutional abuse etc etc. There are many, and Irish society rightly has a massive guilt complex to address. Its not about “appeasing” anything; the connotation of “appeasment” is entirely wrong here. Its about righting the wrongs done in all of our names, learning from them and moving on to a more just and equal society. Lofty I’ll admit, but this generation in Ireland is coming closer than ever before to achieving that.
Many people already knew and couldn’t care less. Private information should remain private unless someone wants to make it public. Leo announced it and the world hasn’t ended.
With that in mind, I can’t help but ask myself why the media (who know according to Leo) afforded him his privacy on that matter, but where for example Ursula Halligan refused to respect Brian Lenihan’s privacy with respect to his health, where Ursala announced it on the news before Christmas of 2009, and before Brian had not even shared it with all of this family.
Fair play to Leo. He is a straight talker and a very good politician and his sexuality has feck all to do with his public job.
His sexuality doesn’t make a blind bit of difference these days. It’s his ability to do his job that counts. Sadly, for ordinary people FG has sold out the country and let everybody down. They promised us loads, they delivered nothing, except for lies and and spin.
Haha “potentially become Taoiseach”!! what dimension are you living in? Hopefully by this time next year Fine Gael will have died a death. Is the journal another government propaganda rag?
Take one look at our president and now we could have a gay leader I’m not going 2 bother voting anymore it just gets worse laughing stock is all we are.
If anybody thinks that a gay person in the Fg party will ever become leader of that party then they don’t understand the blue shirts and what they stand for
Leo Varadker gay? Bet he’s the straightest guy in the cabinet after watching Charlie last night, corrut irish politics should now be called a bunch of Charlies.
TBH I don’t think Leo had much of a choice either way but to come out.Its not exactly like he’s been in the closet or was going out of his way to hide it.Considering the fact we are coming into a referendum on same sex marriage if those who are against it had found out during the debate they would have screamed blue murder about him being biased.Also he must make decisions about allowing gay men to donate blood and given his position again the usual shills would be screaming about a conflict of intrests.I wish him well in his private life and hope he’s happy with his decision.I’ll be voting yes in the referendum however there is not a hope I’ll be voting FG or Labour in the GE.
I love the way all the people who are really uncomfortable with the idea of homosexuality always greet this kind of news with phrases like “Who cares? Nobody gives a shit”. Get over yourselves.
As Leo said he is not in a relationship, I have a brilliant idea for a reality show;
LET’S FIND LEO A LOVER!
It would be ‘Big Brother’ meets ‘The Bachelor’.
Leo would be introduced to potentially suitable partner, spend a week living together and we could all watch to see how they get on. I think the program would be a winner!
Woman (30s) seriously injured in two-car crash in Co Clare
10 mins ago
the vatican
Pope Francis ‘very lively’ as he continues recovery after Vatican return, doctors say
37 mins ago
arctic reception
JD Vance says US take over of Greenland ‘makes sense’ during scaled back visit
Updated
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say