You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Penney’s, helping the Irish economy since 1979

It’s a reciprocated love is all we’re saying.

For larger image, click here.

PENNEY’S OPENED ITS first store on Mary Street in Dublin in June 1969 and since then, its parent company Primark, has expanded to the UK, Spain, the Netherlands, Portugal, France, Germany and Belgium.

Yes, French people get to experience the joy of the Penney’s overspend, the not bothering to return the ill-fitting top they didn’t try on because it was only a fiver and start receiving compliments with the response, ‘Thanks, Penney’s’.

Although these expansions are pretty fresh, it was way back in the 1970s that the company started making tracks to sell Irish goods abroad, government documents released recently have proven.

In May 1979, Managing Director of Primark Ireland wrote to the Taoiseach to bring to his “personal attention” those efforts being made.

For a larger image, click here.

He explained that an Irish/Israeli export company had been formed and that they had a “full time man” promoting Irish goods with trace contacts in the Middle East.

“At the moment, this is in its infancy,” he said, “And we hope to be selling whiskey, biscuits and cakes to Israel and Egypt within the next 12 months.”

In a five year period, the company exported goods worth over £2.5 million to the UK and Northern Ireland, he added.

Altogether now, “THANKS, PENNEY’S.”

DailyEdge.ie: 5 things the French need to know about Penneys

More: “Remarkable year” for Penneys as revenue rises by 22 per cent

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

90 Comments
    Mute Kevin Leon Shore
    Favourite Kevin Leon Shore
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:33 PM

If it wasn’t for Penney’s and aldi the people of Ireland would be naked and starving

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:14 PM

@ Kevin….. Hahaha.

Mute Joe McDermott
    Favourite Joe McDermott
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:45 PM

True lol

Mute Rachel Carroll
    Favourite Rachel Carroll
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:06 PM

Amen, amen!! It’s aldi aldi aldi alllll the way!!

Mute John Pepper
    Favourite John Pepper
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:33 AM

Legend. Most green thumbs I’ve ever seen.

Mute Kevin Leon Shore
    Favourite Kevin Leon Shore
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:58 PM

Haha wow! Never seen so many green thumbs!

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Jan 12th 2014, 2:38 PM

if it wasn’t for exploitation in Bangladesh and the likes ya mean!

Mute Declan Noonan
    Favourite Declan Noonan
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:43 PM

Penney’s got a whole lot of things for Christmas”
    Sing it now

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:08 PM

I don’t know what you mea..

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:23 PM

The part of my comment where I humorously sing the lala part of the tune was inexplicably deleted from the above account. Either the app needs an update or someone in the Journal is anal.

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:11 PM

Got a lot for the family. Falala lalalala lala la

Mute Shane Michael Condon
    Favourite Shane Michael Condon
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:38 PM

Fair play to them. And they do a lovely jumper

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:07 AM

They do a fair nice Christmas ad as well

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:38 PM

Don’t mention the sweatshops or collapsing factories. Thanks Penneys

Mute Huboy De Kiiid
    Favourite Huboy De Kiiid
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:48 PM

actually pennys was the only company to compensate the workers.

Mute Sian O Sullivan
    Favourite Sian O Sullivan
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:56 PM

The majority of clothes are produced in sweatshops whether we like it or not. We as consumers drive the prices down by what we are willing to pay. As far as I know penny’s were one of the few retailers to pay compensation after that horrific factory fire in Bangladesh.

Mute Mitch Connor
    Favourite Mitch Connor
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:58 PM

They paid money…. (Eventually) because it looked bad doing nothing to help their gament makers & their working conditions for so many years.

Mute Sian O Sullivan
    Favourite Sian O Sullivan
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:05 PM

Yes they probably did it because of the public perception , a lot of much more expensive brands chose not to . …

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:14 PM

Mitch can you name a clothing manufacturer that doesn’t use sweat shops? They all do, even the top designer labels. Penny’s, though not perfect, are far from being the worst offenders.

Mute Noola Kent
    Favourite Noola Kent
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:32 PM

I agree cheap goods means some poor child is pretty much working for “Penny’s “

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

Moola name me a clothing manufacturer that doesn’t use cheap/child labour or sweatshops? It’s a disgrace, I know, but we in the west don’t want to pay the true value of anything be it food or clothes

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane

*Noola

Mute Noola Kent
    Favourite Noola Kent
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:01 PM

I can of course… blackfield clothing…. arran island hand knits…… and any other clothing company that operates in Ireland ….keeping jobs in Ireland.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:43 PM

Noola I don’t mean to argue with you, I believe in supporting home/irish based industries and I spent a large part of my working life in the “rag trade” as they call it, but those businesses you name are very much niche industries. I wish them well, really I do, but mass produced clothing, be it designer stuff eg in debenhams by ‘Irish’ designers or not, is made by the cheapest labour possible. And that’s what people want. Cheap.

Mute Noola Kent
    Favourite Noola Kent
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:54 PM

It’s like any goods clothes, meat, turf, coal, any brand,…. some want quality some want quantity some think about the product beginnings
    ..it’s consumer choice that keep the likes of the Penny’s sweat shop going…. do you remember the ladies who went on strike from Dunne’s stores in the 80′s over oranges??? No striking these days and it’s human life at risk……

Mute Stacks
    Favourite Stacks
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:54 AM

I don’t think they went on strike ‘over oranges’ lol

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 12th 2014, 2:52 AM

Noola, the wages in this country wouldn’t get u far in BTs. Fair play to Penney’s a great Irish success story. My 2 dauters shop there frequently and njoy der day out snapping up good looking and well made gear.

Mute Catherine Cooley
    Favourite Catherine Cooley
    Jan 12th 2014, 4:57 AM

Oh sorry there. I work for Primark this past 7 years… Being part of the ethical trading initiative they have been a great support to the Bangladesh families affected by what had happened… http://www.npr.org/blogs/parallels/2013/09/13/222056713/no-deal-on-bangladesh-garment-factory-compensation-fund
    Also. Manys a time I have been putting stock out and found tops and dresses labelled with other high street shops with minimal difference to our own goods yet sold for over two thirds the price. I am a Primark sales assistant not a troll, manager or bound to show my loyalty to my employer but Primark is high up and running with the ‘big dogs’ and doing the best out of all high st stores… Stubbornness is a horrible thing x

Mute Simon Eales
    Favourite Simon Eales
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:44 PM

No mention of why it’s called Primark outside Ireland?

Mute Linda Futury
    Favourite Linda Futury
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:59 PM

As far as I know, JC Penneys holds Penneys copyright name in the UK thus the name change to Primark in the 70′s outside of Ireland.

Mute Collette Butler
    Favourite Collette Butler
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:36 PM

I’m just going into have a look, I don’t need anything shur………A big fat lie I tell my young lad when we’re out shopping!! Half hour later walks out with shopping bags having just spent €20/30 on more stuff I don’t need but they were reduced but I really do need another belt/bag/bracelets/scarve/Sally Hansen & that “€5 jumper will fit you next year” I tell my crying child :D

Mute Paul Shannon
    Favourite Paul Shannon
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:53 AM

Actually with penny’s your wages get capped at around €15-€16 per hour but you get a bigger bonus with the longer you are with the company.

Look at Aldi and Lidl managers get around €60k + bonuses a year. Funny how some people a few years back used be too good to been seen in Aldi or Lidl .. Oh how the times have changed.

Mute Timothy Bryce
    Favourite Timothy Bryce
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:34 PM

Did I really just read that? Wow.

Mute Siobhan
    Favourite Siobhan
    Jan 12th 2014, 6:51 AM

I live in holland, and penny’s has taken the Netherlands by storm. I’ve seen queue’s to just get into the shop! Definitely an Irish success story.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:35 PM

Meant to have a lot for the family, surely helps.

Mute Paul FitzGerald
    Favourite Paul FitzGerald
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:18 PM

Penny’s – and Primarks – parent company is Associated British Foods.

They are about as Irish as Obama.

Mute Crocodylus Pontifex
    Favourite Crocodylus Pontifex
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:24 PM

They have put up a sign on the M7 before Monygall telling is Obama is Irish. Q.E.D.

Mute Anne Finn
    Favourite Anne Finn
    Jan 12th 2014, 9:40 AM

They are Irish. They were established here and their long term CEO, the person responsible for their success, is Irish. They are part of Associated British Foods for strategic funding purposes, a public company listed on the London Stock Exchange that anyone can buy shares in – including Irish people if they wish, but it doesn’t make the brand any less Irish.

Mute Seamus O'Conner
    Favourite Seamus O'Conner
    Jan 11th 2014, 8:41 PM

AHh penny’s what haven’t you done

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:34 PM

Penny’s. Helping Irish people dress cheap and tacky since 1979.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:32 AM

That is oh so true, Margaret.

Mute Jackie Carvill Caruana
    Favourite Jackie Carvill Caruana
    Jan 12th 2014, 8:38 AM

It depends on what you choose to buy there. If you choose tacky stuff you get cheap and tacky, if you choose classic simple items, you get cheap and classy.

Mute Joseph Siddall
    Favourite Joseph Siddall
    Jan 12th 2014, 11:17 AM

Margaret, there’s a lot of cheap, tacky looking stuff in BT as well; just with fancy labels and ridiculous price tags. Almost certainly made in the same, or similar, factories as well. Just read some of the “Made in…….” Labels sometime.

Mute Abby Garcia
    Favourite Abby Garcia
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:00 AM

I’d say most kids hate to go into Penneys with their parents as they know they’re going to be in there for ages..
    Though having said that I was delighted yesterday to get my daughter 3 pairs of gloves for €2, & she’s happy too.

Mute Peadar O Buaigh
    Favourite Peadar O Buaigh
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:16 PM

Have we really come to the point where we are genuflecting before the altar of consumerism?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:00 PM

Penneys kids clothes are pretty damn good. As a broke mother i love to bring my clothes obsessed 6 yr old girl in to Penneys every now and then for a treat . To see the smile on her face is great.. Top, skirt, handbag, shoes, bling for €25/€30.. Thanks penneys..

Sadly they dont do clothes for my size which is….. ahem… not that slim anymore…. But the nail varnish fits me perfectly!!!

Mute ken walsh
    Favourite ken walsh
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:42 PM

Erra grow up Peadar, it’s a bit if a discussion that’s all.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:06 AM

Apparently so Peadar.

Mute Gearoid O Machain
    Favourite Gearoid O Machain
    Jan 12th 2014, 2:45 PM
    Mute Ashling Fenton
    Favourite Ashling Fenton
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:14 PM

Got to love Penneys

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:49 PM

Maybe it should be renamed cents.

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:01 AM

That’s a bold statement

Jan 12th 2014, 8:34 AM

Ha

Mute Oreena Lawless
    Favourite Oreena Lawless
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:35 PM

Have they helped the Indian and Bangladeshi economies as much??? Cheap clothing = low wages.

Mute Ib Jorgenson
    Favourite Ib Jorgenson
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:12 AM

Does anybody really care about India or Bangladesh of yheyrreally fid nobody would pass the door of Pennys to spend and that goes for everybody you will see every race colour snd creed shopping there so who gives a hoot, these are the facts

Mute Ana Nonymous
    Favourite Ana Nonymous
    Sep 18th 2016, 10:38 PM

And I bet neither you or your daughter shop there?

Mute Colette Kearns
    Favourite Colette Kearns
    Jan 12th 2014, 3:19 AM

Just finished the last of the Aldi xmas pudding, God it was amazing! GO ALDI :-)

Mute dannykiernan
    Favourite dannykiernan
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:55 PM

Don’t mention the fact that their profits now are as high as ever yet they use the recession as an excuse to cut staff wages and work with a reduced staff. To be fair they are not the only ones doing this!

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:11 PM

They haven’t cut wages? Penneys staff start off on 9.41 and receive a raise of 2-3 euro every year, time and a half on Sundays and bank holidays. Plus they get a couple of hundred for a Christmas bonus and double time on Sundays for staff over three years. They recently received a pay rise too with backpay from June last year. They’re a great company to work for, dunno where you got your facts from!

Mute Denise Cronin
    Favourite Denise Cronin
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:52 PM

How can you get a €2-3 raise each year?

Mute Sarah O'Sullivan
    Favourite Sarah O'Sullivan
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:34 PM

Each year you work there your wage goes up by a few euro an hour. For example, after five years you get 15 an hour plus double time on a Sunday. The raise varies year on year.

Mute Denise Cronin
    Favourite Denise Cronin
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:45 PM

I should have started there instead of the ESB 11 years ago, I would be on more money for sure by now :-(

Mute Pauliebhoy
    Favourite Pauliebhoy
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:06 AM

If you start at €9+ and get a couple of euro increase every year, surely after 5 years you’re on at least €19? Also if you’re there 10 years working off a 40 hour week you’re on about €30 an hour? €1200 a week? €60k+ a year? Feck that where do I apply?

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jan 12th 2014, 1:12 AM

Do you work for Penney’s Sarah ?

Mute Gav nolan
    Favourite Gav nolan
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:19 PM

i hate bay95.com

Mute Mark Dowling
    Favourite Mark Dowling
    Jan 12th 2014, 4:53 AM

Penneys and Brown Thomas are owned by the same Family.

Mute Máiréad O'Brien
    Favourite Máiréad O'Brien
    Jan 12th 2014, 6:38 AM

Brown Pennys ?

Mute John Swan
    Favourite John Swan
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:51 PM

This article isn’t news, they just want to get the words “helping the Irish economy” on the front page and the only way they can do it is by talking about the past.

Mute steven callaghan
    Favourite steven callaghan
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:19 PM

M and S is better.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:39 PM

M&S are 4 times the price at least.

Mute steven callaghan
    Favourite steven callaghan
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:48 PM

exactly pennies keeps peasants alive

Mute Stephen McMahon
    Favourite Stephen McMahon
    Jan 11th 2014, 10:27 PM

S&M is best though

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Jan 12th 2014, 2:10 AM

What does S&M have to do with any of this??………yuck yuck, it’s a joke

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Jan 11th 2014, 9:21 PM

Dunnes Stores is better

Mute Steve Ryan
    Favourite Steve Ryan
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:23 PM

There’s a Penneys opening up here in Toulouse next month. fierce excitement!!

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Jan 12th 2014, 2:16 AM

If you buy green beans at Aldi, watch out for catapillers..true story….just sayin

Jan 12th 2014, 8:39 AM

Mmmm, meat and veg.

Mute dannykiernan
    Favourite dannykiernan
    Jan 11th 2014, 11:01 PM

Friend is a manager of a Penneys store. Presume he might know. ……

Mute Adrienne Lyons
    Favourite Adrienne Lyons
    Jan 12th 2014, 11:08 AM

Wish Penneys would come to Tallaght

Mute Brigid Leahy Dunne
    Favourite Brigid Leahy Dunne
    Jan 12th 2014, 12:29 PM

Shoplifters would have it closed within a week.

Mute rmcd66
    Favourite rmcd66
    Jan 12th 2014, 2:49 AM

Uuuuummmmmm!. Catapillars

Mute Mattie Kelly
    Favourite Mattie Kelly
    Jan 13th 2014, 8:43 AM

Love penneys. Greatest place in ireland. My wardrobe is penneys. Right down to my socks. :-)

Mute Peadar O Buaigh
    Favourite Peadar O Buaigh
    Jan 12th 2014, 3:37 PM

Well Ken Walsh in a discussion there is supposed to be pros and cons, anti and fors, advantages and disadvantages get the drift.